Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Yakushima Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2017
8.6

V.good location, friendly staff, nice facilities, good place to meet people. A tiny bit pricey for a dorm, but it's Yakushima. Reception opening hours are scarce, so virtually no staff most of the time, anybody can walk in and out at any time of the day or night, front doors open and most rooms can't be closed from the outside. The island is super safe though so I guess it's ok. Also one stove and two showers isn't much for a hostel this size. Still had a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • willrrowe3768
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.7

We had a really great time here. One of the best stays in Japan. The staff were really helpful, even going so far as to offer to help plan our stay before we asked and their advice was brilliant. We also had a great barbecue at the hostel one night organised by the owner and staff, it was really good fun to meet everyone. Everything was kept incredibly clean and the kitchen facilities were really useful. I highly recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

Stayed for 4 nights here, it was very peaceful and I miss it already. Perfect place to start your hike from! (Make sure you pick the right season!) + This hostel has a great porch with a sea view, perfect to watch the lightning and enjoy the warm breeze from the pacific ocean. + wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. + dorms are spacious, comfortable beds. + close to ferry terminal and bus stop -/+ atmosphere was a bit quiet (maybe due to season) -/+ Japanese style bathrooms -/+ wifi not great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th May 2017
8.0

Nice location, good beds and good location to take the bus to the other parts of the island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th May 2017
9.1

Here the location could not be any better - literally next to the Miyanoura port. Staff is extremely friendly and will help you with planning of your trip around island. There is always someone to chat with in common room. Rooms are very spacious, with bunk beds, but you can sleep on tatami, if you want. Definitely recommended.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

Very cute spacious hostel. Great location just a few minutes walk from the ferry and from bus station and information center. The rooms were exceptionally large, a nice change from most hostels in Japan, and there was a very good atmosphere. Downside is the kitchen which is very small so only one person can cook every time which was inconvenient as most people wanted to cook. The shoe drier was an absolute life saver! Would gladly stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

The hostel location is excellent, close to ferry port, supermarket, bus stop. It has all facilities you need such as kitchen, fridge, shower and japanese bath and also an enjoyable terrace. Rooms are quite big (compared with Japanese standards) and very clean. I'll will go back there next time we visit Yakushima.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • TravelingSnacker
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.0

The property is nice and bright and the patio was fun even though I didn't use it much. Basic kitchen. I only stayed 2 nights and would have a hard time staying longer due to the lack of comforts, when hanging out at night there isn't any cushions to sit on or against. Is just nice to have somewhere to be comfy. Was also frustrating coming back from hiking and having to wait until after 4pm for a shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
9.7

I had a great time there. It's super close to the port, restaurants, super market and bus stops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.