Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Yakushima Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2
Yakushima Youth Hostel Located at 278-2 Miyanoura, Yakushima-cho, Kumage-gun, Kagoshima-pref., Kagoshima Yakushima Island.
Yakushima Youth Hostel
Japan
Kagoshima Yakushima Island 278-2 Miyanoura, Yakushima-cho, Kumage-gun, Kagoshima-pref.
95% 264
30.4287512 130.5720484
Yakushima Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2016
8.9

The location was perfect, close to Miyanoura port, the bus stop, restaurants, and a supermarket. The staff were friendly and helpful and the common room was big and welcoming. This made for a very nice atmosphere and it was easy to meet people. The veranda had a nice view also! There were also convenient laundry facilities that were easy to use. If you are desperate for food you can pay around 100-200yen for pastries or cup ramen. There were ants and huge spiders in the room... the only problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the review. we are very glad you had nice time here in Yakushima and the hostel. We are sorry about the ants and spiders we can not help much.. (we prefer not to use any insecticide) the spider is big but they are not poisonous and eat cockroaches!!!

29th Jun 2016
9.1

Miki is a very nice person, you basically can get whatever information you want from him, also he is knowledgable. The price is 3600 per night approximately, but if you have yha member card, then it's less than 3000, so it's pretty acceptable. Room and facilities are super clean, beds are comfy, there are also some food and drinks you can buy from there. Location is ok, very close to ferry port, so you won't miss the ferry, around there are also plenty options of restaurants. Overall, it's worth

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for stay with us and nice review. we are glad that you had great time with us here! Hope you could come back here one day in different season to explore the island more :)

  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2016
10.0

Everything was fine. Location near port and bus stop is perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the nice review ! It was great we had 'sushi work shop' and the liquor :) it was really fun! Enjoy and safe travel!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
31st May 2016
9.7

Pretty much there's nothing you can't complain about this hostel. Location is perfect if you take the slow ferry, facilities are spotless clean and the staff is super helpful. Shuko was a champ recommending us what to do, where to go and helping us to rent a motorcycle. Thank you! Would definitely come back and recommend to other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the great reviews! We are glad you have great time in this island and the hostel:) Hope we can meet again in Argentina or somewhere in the world!!! safe and enjoy your travel!!!

26th Apr 2016
10.0

A very nice place to stay to explore the wonderful Yakushima island! Good location (7 minutes from the port, 2 minutes from the bus stop, 5 minutes from the supermarket), very clean, hot bath from 5 pm, wide dormitory with japanese tatami, free tea and coffee... Just thank you and hope to come again someday. I strongly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the nice review :) we are glad you enjoyed the stay and the island! Yakushima has different scenery each season so please come back on different season as this time! I believe you will be amazed the scenery !!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.7

This was my favorite hostel during our time in Kyushu. The location was within walking distance from the port & was near the bus stops that could take you around the island. The hostel is a one story compact building, but had a big rooms, comfy beds, a beautiful view of the port, & very nice common areas & bathing facilities. The staff was so so warm & welcoming. They helped us plan everything so that we could utilize each minute of our short day on Yakushima. We would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and great review ! We are glad that you had wonderful time here in the island and of course with us :) Hope you come visit here one day again (at least 2 nights!!!) and explore the island more!!!

12th Apr 2016
10.0

The hostel was great, the island even better, and I wanted to date 周子 so badly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the review:) staying one night is too short to ask me date :p haha just kidding :p Hope you could visit the island one day again with out catching super early taxi in a morning!

5th Apr 2016
9.7

Being very close to the ferry port once you arrive on the island. The lady running the hostel is very friendly and will give you plenty information on arrival regarding buses and places to see and eat. They have a hot bath ready from 5pm which is just excellent after a long walk. Good washing and drying facilities, just wished I stayed for longer. Only downside is the lack of cooking facilities but I recommend you go out and enjoy the local food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the review :) We are glad you enjoyed the island and our hostel. we are planning to make a kitchen area now so hope is will work out sometime soon.. Hope you come back the island one day and explore the island more!!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Everything is excellent. Staff was so nice, they treated us with buttom of heart. I got my birthday card from them, it was very impressive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and the review! we like making our visitor happy so we are very happy to hear that :) Hope you will have chance to came back this amazing island one day again!

27th Mar 2016
10.0

I'm very particular about cleanliness, so I was very pleased with the maintenance of this hostel. I definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.