Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Yamen Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 735 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 735 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
Yamen Hostel Located at 69 Yamen Street, , Pingyao.
Yamen Hostel
China
Pingyao Shanxi 031100 69 Yamen Street
73% 735
30.7418357 120.0640869
Yamen Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.6

Great location and OK staff but the place could have done with a renovation...twenty years ago. Good for a night or two. Separate vegetarian buffet for 10元 twenty meters to the left early in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.1

Very Nice Hostel in a traditional old building with three courtyards. The staff is very helpful, they booked a driver for me to go to the highspeed station and the y even wash and Hang your clothes for you. The 4 beds dormitory is clean, very calm because it is in the 3rd courtyard away from the busy street. The location is perfect, in the center of the pedestrian area. Only anoying thing was the broken end of the shower

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2016
8.3

The hostel was in a great location. The rooms were functional and what we needed as backpackers but the floor were very dated, the walls were thin and the streets outside pretty loud but we were tired enough and slept through it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th May 2016
6.9

Okay but not fantastic. Great location and will do the trick.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2016
5.4

Great location and food. The architecture of the hostal is amazing however the facilities are not the best. The bathroom and toilets are really inconvenient and extremely cold, the staff was not helpful at all and the rooms can be improved. Everything you read in the other reviews is true, if you still want to book a bed here DO NOT book the cheapest one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kmdiggle7029
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.0

It truly is a stunning building and a pleasure to stay in. I emailed the hostel to arrange a free pickup from the station, but heard nothing back. To my surprise somebody was waiting for us when we arrived! The staff weren't particularly helpful but they provide a map of the city and as long as your competent, it's easily navigated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2016
6.0

- no working air condition in our room with -7*C - the electrical bed sheets didn't work either - the windows are not isolated so the wind literally goes through the building - there is a constant shortage of toilet paper - the toilets themselves should be renewed => if you want to live as Chinese did in the past, go for it - there are no safe deposit boxes - the internet computer does not work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
31st Jan 2016
3.4

The dorm was freezing cold, the heater did not work, of the 7 beds only 2 had working electric blankets. The bathroom was across a courtyard and again freezing cold, as well as being very dirty and in need of a refit. The lock to our room broke and was not replaced, plus it could not be locked from the inside. It's only positive was the price, be prepared for what your getting into, it might be ok in summer, but I would not suggest anyone stay in winter!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.