X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Yapinghouse Reviews

79 Owens Rd Epsom Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

No Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 0%Value For Money
  • 0%Security
  • 0%Location
  • 0%Staff
  • 0%Atmosphere
  • 0%Cleanliness
  • 0%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
37%

Nice house, could do with a make over though and maybe a heating system as the place was freezing all the time. The Asian guy on reception when we checked in was really nice though and gave us directions around etc!

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Not a fancy one but you'll find everything you need as a backpacker. Location is fine, very quiet but convinient, just off Mt Eden Road, 20 mins to big supermarket. Kitchen was a bit small so you may need to wait to cook. Bathroom was ok. It's a family run hostel and the owner's family do their very best to make sure everthing is fine! All staff are extremely nice and helpful, we appreciate it very much! We oroginally booked for 4 nights but eventually we stayed for a week! We enjoyed our stay

  • 20th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Finaly we didn't went there. It was overbooked so the girl pick up us and went around to find another hostel. Finally we find It and everything ok . Regards.


20%

no heat, no wifi, no parking without being blocked in, chinese up all night, then complained when i needed to leave,,,the place looks awesome, it is not,,,,be careful


77%

Enjoyed my stay very much at yapping house, It has a real homely feeling about it. Good location just outside the city about 10 min drive! Awesome view from here as your on the side of a volcano! Staff has been more than helpful. free car parking is good, hard to get hostel as close to the city with free car parking, id def stay here again.

  • 23rd May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

refused to stay even though we lost our money. worst hostle in NZ. wouldnt have stayed if you'd payed me. website give false image.

  • 2nd Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Worst Hostel Ever.


37%

The entire place was an utter dissapointment. Our daughter had booked for a dorm, but seeing the clientel on arrival, opted for a single room. both rooms were absolutely minimal, ours had a full size frige, not turned on, and it stank. The corridors are so narrow, it is hard to turn around, lighting is minimal and/or switched off, bathrooms are a disgrace (not even a mirror). We stayed only one night & could not wait to leave. We have stayed in many places but this is the worst ever.

  • 12th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Character:people who worked there sure was. Security:Front door not locked, we had private room but it was okay. Location:we were there for the world cup final so location was fantastic! close to restaurants. Staff: Friendly and very interesting. Fun: had a lot of fun leaving this place. Cleanliness:more cluttered than dirty, all and all not bad, BUT curtains need a wash, quite moldy, sink blocked etc. If a some money was spent to spruce this place up it will be quite, loads of potential.

  • 22nd Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


67%

You will either love this place or hate it!! If you like the newer mega hostels you will hate this place. If you want something a little more unusual then this is the place. Its a short walk from Eden village which has some great cafe's and is a short bus ride from the city. Its also very close to Eden park and to Mt Eden itself. Was very inconvenient the computer not working at the time we were there. Its a bit mad in general but has a nice charm to it and the owners are very nice indeed.

  • 15th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Someone took a 200gm packet of my coffee from Kitchen and this was very disappointing as i was led to believe my things in kitchen would be safe.


43%

A $20 taxi ride from city centre; bit far out. Very old and dated building/interior. Reception upstairs, a bit awkward. Room was very small and separate to the rest of building, which held the shower facilities. The bedroom seemed clean enough but the bedsheets and duvet cover left much to be desired. The computer didn't work. On the upside, it is close to Mt Eden village and One Tree Hill and has a lovely view of the southern side of the mountain. Would recommend somewhere nearer city centre.

  • 17th Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


50%

Friendly staff, good location but filthy. Smelled strongly of damp, room hadn't been vacuumed or cleaned in a while. Sink in room blocked with hair, shower drain blocked and filled up. No heating. Don't stay here if you have allergies or don't want to get sick. Bathmat soaked and dripped brown muddy water. Booked for 4 nights, stayed 1. Would never stay here again. Shabby and dirty.


53%

Absolutely ridiculous. Booked this hostel over others because both hosel world and independent website clearly stated it had 24 hour check in. Arrived off a plane late, got dropped off at hostel only to find reception closed, no number to ring and no one around who knew if we even had a room there or not. Was forced to find alternative accommodation in the middle of the night, in the rain, in a strange city. According to people staying there this isn't the first time it's happened either.


27%

room with high huminity and moldy smell


60%

Perfect location for what i needed and nice and quiet way off street. Good parking. My room was pretty depressing and smelled stale and musty

  • 8th Apr 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Not the best location but when you know the surroundings that doesnt matter. We got a betterprice when we stayed for a week :). Reasonable clean. Best view in town!


80%

Nice hostel - not a "partaay" pklace but that's what we wanted. Loads of nice folk!


67%

The hostel was a big house and it was nice and our twin room was good and the beds very comfy. The common area was a bit too small (for tv watchers and internet users and diners the same space) and people liked to watch tv quite loud. There was no certain time to quiet and let people sleep so it was a bit noisy. Free wifi and free phone was nice. The location was ok, quiet and peaceful but the nearest bus stop was 10min walk from the hostel. Bus to the city center took about 10 min as wel


77%

Great views, free internet (wifi and one old computer). Messy, but clean. Interesting mix of people to meet. Lovely staff/owners. 10 min walk + 10 min bus to city. Great value, would stay again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback