Hostelworld.com

Yellow Submarine Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.3
Yellow Submarine Backpackers Located at 66 Quay Street, , Brisbane.
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 66 Quay Street
60% 124
-27.4673880 153.0126110
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
2.9

We have never in our lives experienced as poor customer service as we did in Yellow Submarine. As backpackers we don't expect much but common courtesy and friendliness. The staff was extremely rude not only to us but to all the other guests as well. Additionally, the facilities are definitely not up to the standards they should be. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
4.9

Very unclean everywhere. Don't think sheets or bedding had been washed. Staff a little rude in places. But very cheap on the other hand. Some permanent strange residents around all the time. You pay what you get for, super cheap and dirty. Needs cleaning and painting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
5.7

two electric port in a room for three person, lock of a door of a bathroom in second level broken, can't eat and drink things in cold space up to 7 am (9am rarely),

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.1

You get what you pay for. Our room didn't lock so we spent the week without a key. Quite an old building but thats okay. The train track runs behind it and if you're a light sleeper it will wake you up. A lot of the hostel users don't clean up after themselves in the kitchen so the cleaners have a heck of a job, but they do it well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
2.9

The place is full of spiders. The building is old and not maintained at all. All the facilities except the shower and bathroom are not in use because its all dusty and full of spider web. After a sleepless night because of the heat, Me and my girlfriend was attacked by a staff member called Amish because we ate at the "reception". We respond politely that we will leave and he attacked us and cursed us. Its a shame this place looks like this. The land has so much potential.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
8.6

The Yelloe Submarine hostel is in a really good location as it's an easy walk to both the city centre and south bank! The staff were friendly! The hostel seemed to be clean! The kitchen actually had 2 ovens which was a pleasant change as most hostels do not have them! The room was sometimes a bit warm as we only had a fan

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2016
6.9

We were upgraded to a 4-bed room (we had originally booked 8 or 12). However, the pillows and showers were dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2016
2.0

THE WORST PLACE EVER!! NEVER STAY HERE! They shouldn't be allowed to be on hostelworld.com at all! It was dirty, smelly, old, spiders in the bed, mugs and mold in the showers and the toilet, rude staff and very poor english! Couldn't understand anything about what we was telling her. And we wasn't allowed to talk to the manager about our problem with the hostel! And they didn't allowed us to cancel our stay without having us pay for 2 extra days, even when we cancel it early! Never stay here!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.