X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Young & Happy Reviews

80 rue Mouffetard, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2112 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great hostel on a very young, very French party street. It was a great place to relax, drink, and interact with the locals after a day of sightseeing. Next to the hostel is a supermarket and on the other side is an amazing late night crêpe vendor. I will stay here again my next trip to Paris!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we're happy to share with you a good time. We hope to welcome you once again for a next trip in Paris ! The Manager

97%

The stay in this hostel was very nice. One very positive thing is that it has its own kitchen, so you can simply buy some supplies in a near-by shop and cook something yourself instead of going out to eat (speacially helpfull if you want to save some money). Besides that-what can I say-the staff is friendly and always ready to help you out, the location is excellent and the hostel is clean. I have no complains.


100%

Really friendly staff and warm environment. Easy to meet people.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing location - everything is very walkable. Very close to Notre-Dame, Ile de Saint Louis, Marais, etc.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi We're happy to share with you a good experience. We hope to welcome you for a next trip. The Manager

83%

Great time overall! Really appreciated the staff and breakfast. Nice environment.Excellent location. Did think that mirrors would be a definite improvement to the en suite bathroom rooms to save time while sharing one mirror with 8 people.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thnaks for your review. we'll take into account your feedback. Let us whether you come back in Paris, we'll be happy to make you enjoy a new experience with us ! The Manager

97%

Loved my stay at Y&H!! On a very cute street in a great part of Paris, lovely restaurants and near square. City very accessible: 20 minutes walk from Notre Dame and the Seine, easy access to the Metro. Expensive, but what isn't in Paris? Key card access for doors, need your own lock for room lockers. Stayed in 8 person room with only one sink/shower, which made queues in the mornings frustrating: not much room. Staff very friendly, free breakfasts are amazing!! Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your review. we will have very soon locks to buy to use the brand new lockers in the 8 bedded dorms. In fact, the 8 mixed dorms with ensuite bath are the only ones with private shower, and 2 toilets. Maybe more shared showers will be done in the other building in order to waste less time in the morning ! let us know if you come back, we'll be very happy to welcome you The Manager

100%

Very friendly staff, beautiful neighborhood and location. I would recommend young and happy to anyone traveling to Paris

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for your review, it helps us all the time. We hope to welcome you once again ! The Manager

66%

The beds are made by metal pipes, so every time someone moves in the bed a big noisy is produced and almost everybody wakes up. I did not sleep more than 2 hours. I do recommend the hostel to change for a better material.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello We have chosen metal instead of wood for health and other security reason and maintenance. We hope you could come back to exprience a better stay with us. What about the other services ? The Manager

97%

Excellent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello see you soon with us ! The Manager

69%

no elevator, and stairs room is so narrow; bathrooms are sharing.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello in fact we have no elevator in our building but it is well indicated and Parisian buildings in the heart of the city are used not to have elevator. However for more comfort a free luggage room is still at your disposal all along your stay. The Manager

71%

I'm glad to have stayed at Young and Happy though I probably would not stay here again. First major complaint is the extreme inconvenience of getting to your room. My room just happened to be on the very top, 4 floors and I had a massive 50 pound bag (though my fault) the stairs (no elevator or lift) were tiny and very narrow. The space walking up is very limited. It was an extreme pain to haul my stuff to my room. Not to mention having to make the same trip multiple times throughout the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello sorry you didn't enjoy more that's right Parisian buildings have no lift and we are well marked as a hostel with no lift, not to be disappointed at checkin. However, we have free luggage room in the lobby if you want to let a big bag downstairs , it is still possible The manager

86%

We stayed 4nights. This hostel is well located (a few meters from Metro station Place Monge), in a student's neighborhood (so you can find good prices to eat outside or buy food at the mini market next to the hostel). Has a great atmosphere. The rooms are very small and the price high (compared with other cities in Europe)...but anyway...Paris is expensive, but the staff is always trying to give you the best advices. Thanks Marco (Italy), Ante (Croatia), Joaquim (Portugal) & Justine (breakfast).

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello That's right, Paris could be more expensive than other countries. we have special deals all long the year if you book in advance. Let us know if you come back Sabine (manager)

91%

Great hostel! I've tried a couple of different hostels in Paris, and this one is by far the best. The neighbourhood is great and the hostel is near the subway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks a lot for your feedback it is very important for us. we hope to welcome you soon ! let us know ! the Manager

86%

Located in a student area so lots of cheap places to eat/ bars around which was handy.We were able to walk to all the main attractions(though some are a little far)There is a lockout 11am-4pm which didn't bother us as your there to see paris not the hostel.8 bed ensuite dorm had two toilets was very clean but shower only ran 20 secs at a time which was very frustrating.Breakfast was very good w/ croissonts cereal coffe juice ect. Kitchen had hot plates microwave plenty of utensils. Would return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, sorry for the shower, that is the system you can find in hotels and hostels for security. We're taking into account your advice. Let us know if you come back ! The manager

80%

Great location, good staff (specially the portuguese guy hehe), good breakfast. No lockers in the room, awfull shower, not enough contact boxes (only 2 in my room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your review. We have lockers into the 8 bedded dorm with private bath also for more comfort. let us know whether you come back ! The Manager

34%

Very tiny hostel. Not much in terms of community area or kitchen. Small, mouldy rooms with dirty linnen provided as clean. Only three toilets and five showers for all dorms. Staff, with the exception of the Portuguese chap who was great, are all very unprofessional and more interested in their own affairs than the wellbeing of their guests. My camera was stolen, and all the girl at reception said was: "Well gotta take more care of your stuff" and then she smiled and walked off. Avoid if you can!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay. We are a little but warm hostel. The linens are cleaned by a professionnal supplyer everyday but a mistake could happen. If so, we still have others to bring you ! I'm a little surprised about your camera because we found it twice in the lobby all along your stay and it is right that we had to advise you to be careful with your stuff. Let me know if i could do something else for you. The Manager

57%

Great location in the Spanish quarter. Cheap food and cheap bars around, great! Breakfast was ok. I arrived to a debit machine being down due to a water leak. The 1st floor bathrooms shut down due to leaks. Fire alarm went off late at night. Wifi crashed for a day. Two plugs in a room for 6 people. Charging arrangements had to be negotiated every night. I would not stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sorry if technical problems occurred, they are out of our control and we dealed with the problem as soon as we could. All is okay now, we have worked on every point, wifi works well everywhere in the building, and the boiler is new. i suggest to test a new stay with us to see the improvement. The Manager

89%

Very friendly and helpful staff, specially the portuguese guy of the morning shift. Very nice location, in the middle of the Quartier Latin, 5 minutes walk to the Phanteon, 10 minutes to Notre Dame Cathedral. Surprisingly quiet although it is surrounded by bars. There's just a single spiral staircase to go to your dorm, no lifts, so travel light! I hated the showers, a little dirty, with no temperature adjustment and no place to put your shower stuff, but everything else was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello in fact our street is a very lively one, especially at night. All day long, it is more quiet and you can easily enjoy the neighbourhood. Thansk for your feedback, it will help other guests to know us better. The Manager

69%

When i first arrived, my first night was with an older woman and her 4 kids. I thought this was extremely inappropriate, especially for a hostel called "Young and Happy." The staff could not switch my room and were unfriendly about it. Will not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sorry you didn't enjoy the shared dorms with the other guests. However we do not want to put age restrictions, this is our spirit too. if the hostel is fully booked it could be difficult to move you from a dorm to another, and we cannot guarantee you will share with youngest people. That's the deal in an hostel, you may meet different backpackers, families as well and share dorms and facilities with them. The Manager

71%

Good location and for Paris not a bad deal. but the atmosphere was not that good. rooms tiny but probably normal for Paris as well. Staff great and a lot of possibilities just around the corner!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for your feedback. Sorry the hostel wasn't so lively at the time you came, but we hope to welcome you soon for a nother stay with us and enjoy all the new services... happy hours... free tours and so on. The Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback