X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Young & Happy Reviews

80 rue Mouffetard, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1976 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I have stayed at the young and happy hostel several times and i would not bother staying anywhere else as i am always happy to stay there. The staff are great especially Joquim, Justin, Ante and Marco. Even though i have been staying a whole year ago they remembered my name and other things. I am 64 and not so young I always feel eelcome and that makes me happy.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

We got a private room and it was horrible...For 10 euro more a night we were able to stay in a nice hotel. I would not recommend this hostel. Super small rooms, no elevator, small stair case and there isn't a bathroom and shower on each floor.


94%

Excellent staff! so helpful and really accommodating. loved the setup and the common area really lets you meet other people. AMAZING location, the road its on is always bustling and full of food and little boutique shops. Definitely no other hostel like this in Paris.


71%

Friendly staff but small basic rooms


57%

Staff were great and great location but the hostel was not very clean and quite run down. Showers were not good, button shower and the water only runs for 20 seconds max. Rooms were very noisy and extremely hot. Our room was just above the front door and heaps of people sat outside the front door on the footpath all night (still there at 4am when we went to the airport) drinking and smoking and making noise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay housekeeping is done from 11 am to 4 pm everyday and we keep in mind it could be necessary to emphasize cleanliness in common areas with the use. One more time, sorry youy didn't enjoy your dorm, even if you were upgraded with no extra fees in a twin room, we thought it could be a better dorm. Feel free to contact us for other requests. The Manager

83%

I really enjoyed my stay at young and happy, but that's mainly to do with the staff and just how awesome they were. It's by no means the most modern hostel or has the best facilities, but it's got a great atmosphere. Staff remember your name and no task is too much. The only thing I wish is they had an outdoor area or something to drink and smoke in.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It would be better if Wifi is accessible also in the rooms.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear friend, First of all, we wanted to make a good atmosphere into the dorms and helps everyone to meet each others that's why the wifi is only in the lobby. However, in order to take into accoount our guests' requests, we will put soon wifi into the dorms, We hope it will suit everyone ! The Manager

86%

I had a great stay! All the staff were so friendly, there was a good social atmosphere and the neighbourhood is fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Friend, thanks a lot for your review. we hope to welcome you soon ! The Manager

89%

Great hostel with 2 mains problems: really bad internet wifi and kitchen dont provide important things like knife.. But if you dont pretent to cook so often and dont care too much for internet is perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Friend, Thanks for your review. I'm surprised because of course we do have knives ! Did you ask at reception ? Do not hesitate in this case to ask ! Wifi will be improved and soon into the dorms. If any problem with it, we still have computers at your disposal. Let us know if you come back ! The Manager

80%

I like it because it is in the srea that very easy to find food, near the metro. Breakfast was okay. I did not like the bathroom that we have in the dorm room, the water was too hot when shower. No Internet in any room but the reception area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for your review. Did you try to adjust water ? The mixing valve is ok for this. Wifi will be soon into the dorms as we received many requests. We hope you will be able to enjoy this new service soon. The Manager

60%

This place was kind of gross.. When first arriving other guests said they had bedbugs, we did not but at 1:30am a staff member came in and accused my boyfriend of my belonging there; another guest was in our room by mistake..not making me feel secure. Great location and neighborhood but not very clean bathrooms.. I wouldn't stay there again. Wifi was a joke barely worked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay with us, the team is in charge of your security and has to make controls into the dorms at night if necessary. We do not have any problem with security, and about bedbugs, unfortunately, it could happen everywhere because of the guests' luggages. However, we deal with this if necessary. Wifi will be soon into the dorms for more confort. Our advice, connect early in the morning for a better signal. The Manager

89%

The location is great right in the Latin quarter great bars and cheap food. The hostel was really nice the staff were really great they always willing to help you out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Friend, Thanks a lot to take time to let us a review. It helps us to improve, to make us better know and think about new services. We hope to welcome you one more time in Paris ! The Manager

80%

I was missing lockers with a lock, now you had to leave your bags under the bed or somewhere in the room (not so nice). But room doors and a corridor door with a key card made feel more secure. Now you just have to trust to people living in the same room. Staff and atmosphere were great, and also the breakfast was nice! Because of the location the noices from the street disturbed but ear plugs for free were a great innovation.


91%

Brilliant value for money in a great area of Paris! We tried to book an extra night as our train got cancelled when we were supposed to leave. Unfortunately it was fully booked but the member of staff that was working was brilliantly helpful and tried to do everything she could to help. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it anyone visiting Paris


80%

Very welcoming and friendly place located near affordable supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. The nearest metro station is minutes walk away although, thanks to assistance from the staff I often found myself making the 15 minute walk through the latin quarter to Île de la Cité and beyond. The rooms were basic and somewhat small but for the price and location this should come as no surprise. Facilities were easy to use and I was even encouraged to drink my own wine in the hostel bar. V. pleasent

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • simoncullen1996
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for your review. in fact we are more specialized in beers than in wine, even if we organize tasting of French wine sometimes. We hope you will be able to come back soon ! Let us know The Manager

83%

The location is very good, latin quartier. Have bars nearby and it is also mear sightseeing places

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi thanks for your review! we hope you enjoyed your stay and took benefit from our services such as our bar with bieres, and ice cream ! Let us know if you come back ! The Manager

80%

Location for this hostel was perfect. Friendly staff. But 1 thing I dislike is the WIFI connection didn't reached to the 1st floor, so you have to go downstairs to get the WIFI.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for your opinion. We work at this moment on a new project about wifi, you will be informed as soon as it is ok ! Hope you will be able to come back to enjoy! The Manager

77%

The best thing about this hostel is the location, which is on Mouffetard, a street with many good bars and restaurants. A lot of the major tourist attractions are maximum 20-30 minute walk away, and there a number of metro stops nearby. The atmosphere is good, with a common area in the lobby and also in the basement. One major downside is the showers, which have draining problems so you'll likely have to shower in 4 inches of water. No wi-fi in the rooms, and very slow in the lobby as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest thanks for your review, it will help us to improve. Good news ! Wifi will be soon into the dorms, following to many requests we received, we have thought it is a good way to make our guests enjoy more their stay with us. We hope you will be able to come back ! Let us know ! The Manager

80%

A short but nice stay. Close to Metro, easy to CDG airport and the city center. Nice and helpful staff. Quick check-in. Decent breakfast. The girl's dorm is clean and quiet. So very good sleep, especially compared with another hostel I stayed the night before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks a lot for your review, it will help with no doubt any other guests coming into Paris and in our hostel. We hope to welcome you another time with us ! The Manager

89%

Excellent location and staff, all I could wish for would be WiFi in the rooms, but I will admit only having it in the lobby does get people to mingle!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback