X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Young & Happy Reviews

80 rue Mouffetard, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2174 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I made this compared to the hotels I stood in Spain, I don't know what's the average for a hostel in Paris.


69%

I think the bathrooms were really really bad since they are not clean, i mean at least visually! when there were someone finished taking shower, the floor was always wet and dirty. Also the bathrooms are really small that you can hardly get change. There are lack of electric sockets.


83%

Awesome friendly service, good price and cheap beers! Tiny spiral staircase to drag my suitcase up to my floor wasn't what I wanted to see after a long day of travel.... Getting an ensuite room only to find it didn't have a toilet in it, and that there were no toilets on the entire floor was disappointing as wandering up or down stairs at 2am isn't desirable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest sorry for the hard stairs. We have well mentionned we do not have any elevator for no confusion and that's right, the Parisian architecture is typically like this. However, a free and secure luggage room is still at your disposal to store your bags downstairs. Our facilities are shared and splitted in different levels of the building which is a four_storey building, compared to other bigger hostels, less friendly. We'll be happy to see you soon ! The Manager

77%

The hostel is very good located and the ambience is really nice and agreable! However, the showers were a little dirty. Except for that, it's an appealing place for people who want to visit Paris and have fun!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks for your review. We still work on the cleanliness for your comfort and make our best to improve this point. We take into account all suggestions and hope to see you soon with us for another good stay with us ! The Manager

91%

Stayed at Young and Happy for 3 nights and really loved it. Front staff is super helpful and sweet. Also, if you arrive early and need somewhere to keep your bags til you check in, they have a locked room where you can store your luggage. Free breakfast (nothing out of this world but it's free!) Also the rooms are very typical hostel: bunk beds, tiny, nothing special but perfect for your low-budget travelling needs. I stayed in a 5 female dorm and we had our own shower & faucet. Awesome loved it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest we're very glad you shared with us and all the other travellers your feelings about our hostel, the staff and our friendly atmosphere. We hope to see you soon with us ! The Manager

49%

The only good thing about this hostel was the location. This is the most filthy place that I've ever spent money to stay in. Toilets were left unclean for days on end, all showers grimy and caked with black. Staff don't care at all. Atmosphere mediocre at best. Although Paris is well known for being expensive, I was shocked at how few facilities were available for the price I was paying. Wouldn't recommend, wouldn't come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest very sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay even if we are making efforts to keep the place warm and friendly ! Cleanliness is organized like this : from 11am to 4 pm, after this, everyone has to be respectfull with the common areas and we're still at your disposal to find solutions if any request ! That's pity you shortened your stay (and even it was not made in time frame, you were refunded for your last night.) Keep in mind inner city is more expensive than other districts.

97%

Great hostel, really nice atmosphere. Breakfast is great and free. Kitchen is ok. The rooms are small but enough. Bathrooms seems to be few for so many rooms, and showers too. It is very well located.


86%

Great hostel. Nice location, good price and excellent vibe. Would (will) definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for your positive feedback, we're happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to welcome you soon ! The Manager

57%

The only good thing about this place is the staff (specially Joaquim) and the location. The room for 8 people was really really small, similar to a prison to be honest. The space between the beds was incredibly short and there is no space for anything in the room. There is only one bathroom for everybody in the room, which make things difficult. Plus, the shower is the "saving type" and is hard to take a shower in the small space. The water wasnt hot in a -2 cold.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest very sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay in this refurbished bed dorm. The 8 bedded dorms have their private facilities. However, you're right, we have different kind of dorms with more or less space, in these, you could enjoy lockers, cubicle showers and there are 2 toilets. We hope this is still a good value for money to be accommodated into the Latin Quarter ! Well, we hope to have opportunity to make a next stay much more better. The Manager

71%

u have to clean shower room... HAVE TO.


80%

It may seem expensive and that's because things are expensive in Paris, including hostels. That being said, it's located on a very nice street which has a classic Parisian feel to it (narrow road, cobblestones) and is very close to the Place Monge metro station. The Greek crepes place a couple doors down is a must frequent and there's a grocery store right next door. The bathrooms are a little dingy and smelly but whatever. The staff is friendly and helpful. Discounts through their website.


80%

The staff is wonderfully prepared. Joaquim was the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks a lot for this very positive feedback. We hope to welcome you soon for a new stay with us ! The Manager

86%

Really liked the hostel and the location was great. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. My only complaint is about the number of plugs in the room, my room was for 5 and there were only 2 plugs. That's something that could definetely be improved.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello We take into account your feedback and hope to be able to improve this very soon ! Meanwhile, many plugs are at your disposal downstairs in the lobby to make your stay a better one. The Manager

80%

good location and the staff was very friendly! But the bathroom is not very clean. Overall the hostel is worth to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for your feedback, we take into account all the reviews we received. We have improved a lot the way we work to make shared bath and toilets much more cleaned and we still work for this. Let us know if you come back, we will be happy to welcome you once again ! The Manager

86%

Fantastic atmosphere and people when I stayed. The price was kind of steep, but I guess that's a part of staying in Paris. Staff was super helpful and helped me find out how to get to the tourist spots. My pillow seemed like it maybe hadn't been washed in a while, bit I could be wrong. Overall very good stay

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback. We take into account all your comments in order to improve our services. That's right Paris could be expensive at this time, we advise to book in advance to benefit from special offers. The Manager

94%

Everything is excellent except for the shower and toilet. There are only 2 showers and 3 toilets in total, in different floor than my room. The staff are all super nice and helpful, just on the first day they can remember our names and room numbers. Location is great, 2 minutes' walk from a metro station, and Notre-Dame, Parthenon, and Luxembourg are within 15 minutes' walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks a lot for sharing with us your experience ! In fact, even if the building is difficult to refurbish immediately, we take into account your feedback. At the moment, you're right, we have 4 showers and 3 toilets plus one downstairs. For more comfort, we also have dorms with their own bath and toilets, do not hesitate to test them if you come back ! See you soon ! The Manager

80%

Was a little bit dirty- found a packet of Oreos in bed on arrival. Good location and social atmosphere. Plus best crepe shop a few shops down!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing with us your feedback. Sorry for this mistake, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us as a whole. Let us know if you come back for a new experience ! The Manager

91%

Really nice hostel, staffs rraly friendly and helpfull the location is also good, i do recomend


86%

Really liked this place, they had a bag storage place which was great and seemed very safe. great location, I walked everywhere. Really helpful staff. Good breakfast. Will definitely be back next time im in Paris.


91%

My second stay at Young and Happy. Very friendly staff. The location is very nice as well. Cleanliness can be improved but good value for money.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback