X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Young & Happy Reviews

80 rue Mouffetard, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2271 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Location is in a great little neighborhood with lots of local markets bars and restaurants but not a loud club downtown seen which is great. Older building but still well kept. Breakfast wasn't bad although it was odd to only have jelly for crepes. But still a rad place and good price for Paris.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. Well, we offer jam at breakfast time but we keep your suggestion for next time ! See you soon ! Sabine_Manager

63%

We had a good stay here and it wasn't hard ti get around, just had to catch the metro. The staff were friendly but the rooms and bunk beds were very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. In fact, the architecture of the old latin quarter is like that, with many attic rooms. In any case, we're happy to know you had a good stay with us. See you soon in the city. Sabine_Manager

94%

Great place, great staff, good location, great value. Thank you very much for an awesome stay

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks for your comment, we're glad to know you had a good stay with us. See you soon once again for a new experience and turn your trip into a real Parisian immersion ! Sabine_Manager

77%

Staff was great. Friendly, helpful, understanding and always had a smile. I believe his name was Joachim, man, that guy was super. Good location with a lot of restaurants, bars, cafes, stores nearby. Only drawback was that the bathrooms and showers were only on the first and second floors and the showers were on a timer, but I guess I understand why. Overall, good value for the cost.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you to share your feeling there ! In fact, we keep suggestions in mind and hope to have the possibility to improve the bath and toilets facilities during a refurbishment that we plan soon. You're right, the timer is mainly to prevent from any "oversight" with water and also to prevent from waste. But we think about a new system soon ! so we hope you'll be able to come back ! See you ! Sabine_Manager

80%

Staff were amazing as was the breakfast. Amazing location right in the Latin quarter, and right next to a metro station. Which is a big deal when you consider how good the Paris metro is. Only downside was the lack of atmosphere compared to other hostels. Would define stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. We 're happy to know you enjoyed your stay on the whole. I recommend you to come back soon, in order to feel how good the atmopshere could be, especially at night - all day long, usually the guests visit the city - and for sure, it is more welcoming during happy hours or all along the week end. However, we're not a party hostel but a good deal to be accommodated in the Latin Quarter as you wrote it. See you ! Sabine_Manager

91%

We loved the atmosphere of this hostel - it felt very homely, modern and youthful and the staff were hilarious, friendly and helpful. Only slight complaint would be having to go down two/three flights of stairs to use the toilet (we were on the very top floor) but everything else was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your time to share with us and the others your experience within the hostel. We hope to make the common areas more practical in the future and make you benefit from all the enhancement. See you soon with us ! Sabine_manager

46%

I stayed in a 6 bed fml dorm room on the 1st floor.It was dirty and dingy, had only 2 outlets for 6 girls,no lights in bunk. There is a bathroom in the room with only a sink and a dirty looking shower,no toilet.Across the hall is a bathroom with 4 unisex showers and a few sinks again no toilets;you had to go up to the 2nd floor which had both showers and toilets,why are there no toilets on the first floor?Dirty carpet, low end squeaky cots and the blanket is gross I had 3 ngts left after 1 ngt

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. As you may know, the building is an historical one and the place is reduced, so that's mainly why there are 2 showers on 1st floor, and 2 more on 2nd with 3 toilets. we have included showers in female dorm while our last refurbishment for more comfort and most of the time, girls are happy to have their own shower. We hope to make new works soon to improve the comfort step by step (ps: no carpets and housekeeping is done every day)

80%

Great location and staff very nice. The "major" problem is still there arent enough plugs in the rooms. Just 1 or 2, for 6-8 people. I believe nowadays 90% need to recharge some electric based device. They promised these renovations last year, but remains the same.


66%

Was okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, we thank you to take time to let a little review about your last stay. Don't hesitate to contact us in order to let us know with more exactness what was okay for you, and what need to bve improved in order we take into account all suggestions ! let us know if you have opportunity to come back and visit us ! Sabine_manager

100%

Amazing hostel in a great part of Paris. The staff was very friendly and were always happy to answer any questions I had. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting Paris.


94%

The staff Joaquim are the best! The hostel are just perfect and have a very good atmosphere. It is quite near to a underground station. Our stay there were very good, however, the bathrooms should be cleaned more often.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for this feedback. That's right, after the daily cleaning service into the common areas, the guests are all in charged with the cleanliness and are asked to do a respectful use of the shared toilets, showers as well as kitchen area, that is, unfortunately, not done all the time. Exzecept that, we're happy to know you had a great stay with us and hope to welcome you soon another time to enjoy the news ! Sabine_manager

66%

I feel like this place has pretty cool atmosphere, but it was so hard to look past how dirty it was when we stayed here. There are only two bathrooms that the whole hostel shares and the showers were pretty filthy. The dorms smelled mildewy and the basement bathroom was pretty gross when I had to use it to. Other than that, we enjoyed the free breakfast and the directions around Paris from the staff. The locked luggage room and secure access to the dorms is also nice!


91%

Very polite staff and always there to help you. Great location, close to city center. clean and secure, great breakfast. I believe it's a really good hostel, value for money and would definately recommend it.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest we thank you for this great review you shared with us . We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay and our services. Let us know if you visit us once again! Sabine_manager

91%

The reception is 24/7 so you don't need to worry about your arrival, for example I arrived there at 7:00 am , and they kept my bag in the room, also the people in the reception are so kind, and they always want to help you, the hostel has a good location you can arrive by walking to notre dame in 30 minutes, also in the neighborhood you are able to find supermarkets and good restaurants for a good price...If I have the opportunity to return I would choose this hostel

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest thanks for this feedback. we hope you will be able to enjoy a new stay with us soon in order to benefit from the news and our next refurbishment we plan soon ! Sabine-manager

74%

Good location, I was able to walk everywhere. Went with the ensuite option, so didn't really have issues with lockers and washroom situation. Biggest negative: small shower (no room to move, but it's an old building) and smell around kitchen area (smells okay early morning. most likely cause by messy patrons. could consider putting in disposable tablecloth or installing milk dispenser). Overall, good hostel. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks for your feedback. In fact, we would like to emphasize the point you spoke about, that's right, our building is located into the old latin Quarter and the architecture is historical and typical in this part of the city. That's main reason why our guests choose to stay there, in order to be immersed into a parisian life and student neighborhood to enjoy day and night atmosphere. So see you soon with us ! Sabine_manager

89%

I recommend that one, the localization is really good, close to undergroud station, Pubs and more...


71%

The room (3th flor) with 8 beds was very small, without spaces to the lugagge and only some plugs in the bedroom. the stairs to the room are narrow and small


80%

Not a bad hostel. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks for your feedback, we hope to share a new trip with you soon ! Sabine_manager

97%

The staff were so friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your very positive feedback, it seems you had a very nice stay with us and we're happy you shared your feeling here. We'd like to see you soon for another great experience ! Sabine-Manager

91%

Absolutely fantastic service, wonderful staff and great breakfast. Loved every minute of it, will definitely visit again.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we thank you for your time sharing with us your feedback about your stay. It is also important for everyone to know us better. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us once again ! Sabine_manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback