X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Young & Happy Reviews

80 rue Mouffetard, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2320 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Upon arrival they even upgraded us to our own room. the hostel is within walking distance of the notre dame and on the same street as many bars and restraunts. Keep in mind that this place in town is very noisy , especially on the weekends, difficult to sleep at times...but well worth it. The hostel was clean for a hostel. Would go back for sure !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we're happy to know you had a very pleasant stay with us. We have to notice that Mouffetard street is famous for its lively student night and day life so it could be noisy, especially during the week end, this is also the appeal of this very attractive street with bars and restaurants all along ! we hope to welcome you for another visit ! Sabine_manager

80%

Great place to stay in a great location with a wonderful crepe place near by. Centrally located to a lot of great attractions as well as good proximity to transit. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we're happy to know you had a great stay with us and you appreciated the neighborhood also. We hope you'll be back soon ! Sabine_Manager

71%

Location was great and I had a nice stay. The only thing I didnt really appreciate was how many bunk beds were crammed into the room, we could barely get to our bunks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, we'll try to take into account your suggestions for more comfort. Let us know whether you come back in the city ! Sabine_Manager

91%

Great hostel in a fantastic location. Staff are extremely friendly and always happy to help! Had a slight problem with our room on the first night and they were very accommodating and moved us into a dofferent room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, thank your for your feedback, we're happy to know you had a nice stay and aof course, are still at your disposal to turn your trip into a great Parisian experience ! See you soon with us ! Sabine_manager

60%

Not too bad, but that was probably because I read other reviews and had low expectations.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback and we hope you had a nice stay with us on the whole. see you soon ! Sabine_Manager

86%

Nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was what can be expected from a hostel. The foosball table was fun. Our room was facing a noisy street, but closing the windows blocked it out sufficiently. The kitchen was not used much by us in the days we stayed there but it could have been more well equipped. It had two cooking plates and a quite small refrigerator. A good hostel to stay at for a few days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We keep in mind your suggestion and plan to refurbish kitchen area for the end of this year, so we hope you'll be able to come back to enjoy the very entertaining atmosphere of rue Mouffetard. See you soon ! Sabine_Manager

80%

A cool hostel, located of on awesome street, loads of great places to eat & drink. Only problem was the noise, although you can get earplugs from reception... You'll need them!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for your feedback ! In fact, we may note that the neighborhood is famous for its lively student atmosphere especially at night and our guests choose especially our hostel in order to be immersed into nightlife of rue Mouffetard, a fantastic one ! Let us know whether you come back ! Sabine_manager

71%

decent hostel over all. located in a cool neighbourhood..latin quarter and walking distance from pantheon, luxemburg gardens and grand mosque. facilities and cleanliness was average; only one set of toilets for the building. the main problem was all the noise coming from the pub opposing the hostel which made it challenging to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. That's right, Rue Mouffetard is famous for its nightlife and usually, backpackers choose this district of Paris especially for this atmosphere ! This is one of the main attractive feature of our hostel. Feel free to share more suggestions with us about cleanliness and facilities. We're aware about the setup, even if you could also book a dorm with ensuite bath, we have both. See you soon ! Sabine Manager

80%

The hostel was overall really nice. The bathrooms were clean, my bed was good, the breakfast was nice and the staff helpful. Only negative point was the lack of wall sockets in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for everything. Of course, we're aware of the lack of plugs, and hope to add more very soon ! We're waiting for you for another great Parisian experience amongst us !

66%

Pros: Fantastic location (seriously, it was close to the subway and tons of cafes and bars, ideal for visiting Paris) decent breakfast, safe Cons: Cramped room and showers, no bathroom on some floors, they kick you out from 11-4 for "cleaning" but we could see no evidence that they even came in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for sharing with us your first feedback. About your observation about the way cleanliness is organized, in fact, cleanliness and maintenance are done from 11 to 4pm. We do not make beds, don't touch to personal stuff but take care about common areas, (showers and toilets...), trash and bassin into dorms and everything else you may need. You're stiil welcome during your stay to ask us for more questions about how it is done and if you need something. See you soon!

66%

This place was fine (average). Overall, what you'd expect from a hostel. No A/C, but that's standard in Europe. Disappointed you couldn't change the temperature of the shower (especially during a heat wave, but I suppose that's understandable being a hostel).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thanks for your feedback. We take into account your suggestions and more plugs will be included into our next refurbishment. Meanwhile, several are at your disposal at reception desk and into the lobby dowstairs. As for showers, the system is a common one in public areas, but we are also thinking about a more comfortable for the future. See you soon in Paris !

89%

The best part about Young and Happy is the staff, especially Joaquin. Joaquin does everything he can to make you stay better and learns the name of every guest. I truly felt welcomed by Joaquin. Definitely check this hostel out, but in all fairness I must mention that the wifi is a little weak at times so if you are a digital nomad this place may not be for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback ! Well, we are used to get very positive feedbacks about the wifi, since we have put it in every dorm. Of course, with the use, the network could be a little slow, but honestly, it rarely happen. In any case, we were happy to share with you a Parisian experience and hope to see you once again ! Sabine_manager

57%

There is supposed to be an age restriction on guests at this hostel, which was not enforced. There was a family with 3 little boys in our room, which was really awkward, and we even walked in on them totally nude. The Fem. receptionist lied to us and told us they would only be there 1 night, but they were there 2. She also lied about checking on opening hours for the catacombs, which we wasted time walking to when it was closed. Also, they don't clean the blankets that are left on the beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, sorry you didn't feel at ease with us. In fact, we accommodate families and groups of friends, that is the spirit of an hostel!We still have private rooms for those who don't want to share mixed dorms. And our guests are totally free to book more nights at last time if we have availabilities, i suppose the family extended its travel ! Sorry for the wrong timetable you get about the catacombs, the inner way their work could be out of our control, we only have the usual timetable.

94%

Location is in a great little neighborhood with lots of local markets bars and restaurants but not a loud club downtown seen which is great. Older building but still well kept. Breakfast wasn't bad although it was odd to only have jelly for crepes. But still a rad place and good price for Paris.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. Well, we offer jam at breakfast time but we keep your suggestion for next time ! See you soon ! Sabine_Manager

63%

We had a good stay here and it wasn't hard ti get around, just had to catch the metro. The staff were friendly but the rooms and bunk beds were very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. In fact, the architecture of the old latin quarter is like that, with many attic rooms. In any case, we're happy to know you had a good stay with us. See you soon in the city. Sabine_Manager

94%

Great place, great staff, good location, great value. Thank you very much for an awesome stay

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks for your comment, we're glad to know you had a good stay with us. See you soon once again for a new experience and turn your trip into a real Parisian immersion ! Sabine_Manager

77%

Staff was great. Friendly, helpful, understanding and always had a smile. I believe his name was Joachim, man, that guy was super. Good location with a lot of restaurants, bars, cafes, stores nearby. Only drawback was that the bathrooms and showers were only on the first and second floors and the showers were on a timer, but I guess I understand why. Overall, good value for the cost.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you to share your feeling there ! In fact, we keep suggestions in mind and hope to have the possibility to improve the bath and toilets facilities during a refurbishment that we plan soon. You're right, the timer is mainly to prevent from any "oversight" with water and also to prevent from waste. But we think about a new system soon ! so we hope you'll be able to come back ! See you ! Sabine_Manager

80%

Staff were amazing as was the breakfast. Amazing location right in the Latin quarter, and right next to a metro station. Which is a big deal when you consider how good the Paris metro is. Only downside was the lack of atmosphere compared to other hostels. Would define stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. We 're happy to know you enjoyed your stay on the whole. I recommend you to come back soon, in order to feel how good the atmopshere could be, especially at night - all day long, usually the guests visit the city - and for sure, it is more welcoming during happy hours or all along the week end. However, we're not a party hostel but a good deal to be accommodated in the Latin Quarter as you wrote it. See you ! Sabine_Manager

91%

We loved the atmosphere of this hostel - it felt very homely, modern and youthful and the staff were hilarious, friendly and helpful. Only slight complaint would be having to go down two/three flights of stairs to use the toilet (we were on the very top floor) but everything else was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your time to share with us and the others your experience within the hostel. We hope to make the common areas more practical in the future and make you benefit from all the enhancement. See you soon with us ! Sabine_manager

46%

I stayed in a 6 bed fml dorm room on the 1st floor.It was dirty and dingy, had only 2 outlets for 6 girls,no lights in bunk. There is a bathroom in the room with only a sink and a dirty looking shower,no toilet.Across the hall is a bathroom with 4 unisex showers and a few sinks again no toilets;you had to go up to the 2nd floor which had both showers and toilets,why are there no toilets on the first floor?Dirty carpet, low end squeaky cots and the blanket is gross I had 3 ngts left after 1 ngt

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. As you may know, the building is an historical one and the place is reduced, so that's mainly why there are 2 showers on 1st floor, and 2 more on 2nd with 3 toilets. we have included showers in female dorm while our last refurbishment for more comfort and most of the time, girls are happy to have their own shower. We hope to make new works soon to improve the comfort step by step (ps: no carpets and housekeeping is done every day)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback