X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Young & Happy Reviews

80 rue Mouffetard, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2149 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The staff is wonderfully prepared. Joaquim was the best!


86%

Really liked the hostel and the location was great. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. My only complaint is about the number of plugs in the room, my room was for 5 and there were only 2 plugs. That's something that could definetely be improved.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello We take into account your feedback and hope to be able to improve this very soon ! Meanwhile, many plugs are at your disposal downstairs in the lobby to make your stay a better one. The Manager

80%

good location and the staff was very friendly! But the bathroom is not very clean. Overall the hostel is worth to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for your feedback, we take into account all the reviews we received. We have improved a lot the way we work to make shared bath and toilets much more cleaned and we still work for this. Let us know if you come back, we will be happy to welcome you once again ! The Manager

86%

Fantastic atmosphere and people when I stayed. The price was kind of steep, but I guess that's a part of staying in Paris. Staff was super helpful and helped me find out how to get to the tourist spots. My pillow seemed like it maybe hadn't been washed in a while, bit I could be wrong. Overall very good stay

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback. We take into account all your comments in order to improve our services. That's right Paris could be expensive at this time, we advise to book in advance to benefit from special offers. The Manager

94%

Everything is excellent except for the shower and toilet. There are only 2 showers and 3 toilets in total, in different floor than my room. The staff are all super nice and helpful, just on the first day they can remember our names and room numbers. Location is great, 2 minutes' walk from a metro station, and Notre-Dame, Parthenon, and Luxembourg are within 15 minutes' walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks a lot for sharing with us your experience ! In fact, even if the building is difficult to refurbish immediately, we take into account your feedback. At the moment, you're right, we have 4 showers and 3 toilets plus one downstairs. For more comfort, we also have dorms with their own bath and toilets, do not hesitate to test them if you come back ! See you soon ! The Manager

80%

Was a little bit dirty- found a packet of Oreos in bed on arrival. Good location and social atmosphere. Plus best crepe shop a few shops down!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing with us your feedback. Sorry for this mistake, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us as a whole. Let us know if you come back for a new experience ! The Manager

91%

Really nice hostel, staffs rraly friendly and helpfull the location is also good, i do recomend


86%

Really liked this place, they had a bag storage place which was great and seemed very safe. great location, I walked everywhere. Really helpful staff. Good breakfast. Will definitely be back next time im in Paris.


91%

My second stay at Young and Happy. Very friendly staff. The location is very nice as well. Cleanliness can be improved but good value for money.


86%

Great hostel on a very young, very French party street. It was a great place to relax, drink, and interact with the locals after a day of sightseeing. Next to the hostel is a supermarket and on the other side is an amazing late night crêpe vendor. I will stay here again my next trip to Paris!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we're happy to share with you a good time. We hope to welcome you once again for a next trip in Paris ! The Manager

97%

The stay in this hostel was very nice. One very positive thing is that it has its own kitchen, so you can simply buy some supplies in a near-by shop and cook something yourself instead of going out to eat (speacially helpfull if you want to save some money). Besides that-what can I say-the staff is friendly and always ready to help you out, the location is excellent and the hostel is clean. I have no complains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks a lot for your time to let us a good review. We're happy you had a nice stay with us and feel at ease in our hostel. We' d be glad to welcome you once again, let us know. The Manager

100%

Really friendly staff and warm environment. Easy to meet people.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks a lot for your great review ! We're happy you had a very good time with us, let us know if you come back ! The Manager

89%

Amazing location - everything is very walkable. Very close to Notre-Dame, Ile de Saint Louis, Marais, etc.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi We're happy to share with you a good experience. We hope to welcome you for a next trip. The Manager

63%

The breakfast is so-so, it is not worth the value


83%

Great time overall! Really appreciated the staff and breakfast. Nice environment.Excellent location. Did think that mirrors would be a definite improvement to the en suite bathroom rooms to save time while sharing one mirror with 8 people.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thnaks for your review. we'll take into account your feedback. Let us whether you come back in Paris, we'll be happy to make you enjoy a new experience with us ! The Manager

97%

Loved my stay at Y&H!! On a very cute street in a great part of Paris, lovely restaurants and near square. City very accessible: 20 minutes walk from Notre Dame and the Seine, easy access to the Metro. Expensive, but what isn't in Paris? Key card access for doors, need your own lock for room lockers. Stayed in 8 person room with only one sink/shower, which made queues in the mornings frustrating: not much room. Staff very friendly, free breakfasts are amazing!! Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your review. we will have very soon locks to buy to use the brand new lockers in the 8 bedded dorms. In fact, the 8 mixed dorms with ensuite bath are the only ones with private shower, and 2 toilets. Maybe more shared showers will be done in the other building in order to waste less time in the morning ! let us know if you come back, we'll be very happy to welcome you The Manager

100%

Very friendly staff, beautiful neighborhood and location. I would recommend young and happy to anyone traveling to Paris

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for your review, it helps us all the time. We hope to welcome you once again ! The Manager

66%

The beds are made by metal pipes, so every time someone moves in the bed a big noisy is produced and almost everybody wakes up. I did not sleep more than 2 hours. I do recommend the hostel to change for a better material.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello We have chosen metal instead of wood for health and other security reason and maintenance. We hope you could come back to exprience a better stay with us. What about the other services ? The Manager

97%

Excellent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello see you soon with us ! The Manager

69%

no elevator, and stairs room is so narrow; bathrooms are sharing.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello in fact we have no elevator in our building but it is well indicated and Parisian buildings in the heart of the city are used not to have elevator. However for more comfort a free luggage room is still at your disposal all along your stay. The Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback