Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youth Hostel Plakias

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
Youth Hostel Plakias Located at Plakias, Rethymno, Crete.
Youth Hostel Plakias
Greece
Crete 74060 Plakias, Rethymno
96% 421
35.1933925 24.3951402
Youth Hostel Plakias
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Nov 2016
10.0

first 10/10 after a year of hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ruchietshrishrimal
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.1

It's an good and a quiet place to stay if u wanna relax urself for few days. Lot of facilities and the manager was really helpful and recommended good places nearby. The only negative thing was the hostel name is youth hostel but very few young people were there, so ya otherwise everything was perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Oct 2016
10.0

Other comments have summed up pretty well what's excellent about this place. Awesome staff, plentiful hammocks, free snorkeling gear to borrow. This is a great hostel. Thanks for having us!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
8.0

Very nice place, the rooms are located in several separate houses, surrounded by a garden with sunbeds and lush trees. All dorms have 8 beds, so you'll always get in touch with other travellers. A bit disappointing was the fact that in late summer/early autumn (September/October), the average traveller's age is 45-65 years! I have never ever met so many old people in a so-called "youth hostel", confusing. In June/July this seems to be quite different, referring to the friendly & helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very happy that we have a multi-gerneration hostel in March/April and September/October - the age range is at this time from about 18 to 70 (currently about half our guests are still below 30). This mixture creates the unique and tolerant atmosphere that most of our guests love so much. Staying in a "Youth" Hostel doesn't necessarily mean a young physical age - we are open to anyone who is "young at heart"

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.7

Very central, friendly hostel run by well-informed and welcoming staff. A very relaxing place to stay and meet other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Incredible hostel. Only wish it was beach front! But Uli the manager is everything the reviews make him out to be. Friendly, accommodating, helpful, and actively participates in local activities with the guests. He brought us grape picking at a local tavern in the mountains which was an incredible experience! He puts you in a room he thinks you will he most comfortable in! The people there are all super chill and easy to meet, though in September the average age of guests definitely increases.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.7

The best hostel I've stayed at! Really chill and relaxed community atmosphere. Great value for the price and also the breakfast was very affordable and delicious. Location was great, lots of things to do in the area. I can understand why people go back year after year-- I hope to be back there again as well someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.7

What a lovely hostel! I travelled alone but I was never alone. The atmosphere is the best. I have no words to describe how happy i was every single day I stayed there. I will definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Just book in for a week and never leave. Everything great you read/hear about this place is true.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.4

We had such a great time at Youth Hostel Plakias. Would recommend to anyone! Thank you Uli!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.