Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youth Hostel Plakias

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2017
10.0

Hands down the greatest hostel in existence. If you're staying in Crete, stop looking and book here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel - very green and calm! Uli was really friendly and knowledgeable! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
10.0

This is by far the most incredible place I've ever stayed, hostel or not. I immediately felt welcomed into a family and way of life that is hard to describe. Take advantage of the the opportunities to meet new people and enjoy paradise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • camilovargas92
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever! STAY HERE

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Super relaxed, in a beautiful location, close to the beach and shops. The manager Uli is incredibly, he goes over and beyond to make feel welcome and show you all the unreal attractions, like beautiful waterfalls and local restaurants. Such good vibes Definitely would come back and recommend to anyone traveling to Crete!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2017
10.0

You wouldn't want your stay at Plakias Youth Hostel to be your first hostel experience. It would be like having your first kiss with a supermodel. Everything from thereon in would be extremely average and disappointing. I sat at a dinner table with the whole hostel present and one of the hostel guests said "out of 400 hostels, Plakias Youth Hostel was the best." I'd say that statement is accurate. When you first walk in, you feel part of something greater. Uli the manager is the magic!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
9.4

I absolutely loved this place! It is like a campsite with the friendliest manager and you can even sleep on the roof and look at the stars. There is such a family vibe here and off season the area is full of locals, you can also hitch a ride with them to the beach! A*****

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lgbrough8179
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
10.0

I never bother writing reviews but YH Plakias was so great that I felt I had to. It's in a great area for hiking and swimming, the manager, Uli, is really great, and the hostel itself feels like it's in an olive grove--it's everything I wanted in a Greek getaway. These superficial things are great but what really sets this place apart is the friendly atmosphere. I felt like I was just visiting my friends and there happened to be 30 other people staying there too. Stay there you--won't regret it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

This is the best place in all of Greece to stay (and I have stayed in 5 other hostels)! Felt immediate at home and at peace in this little paradise by the beach. Great facilities for cooking. Lockers. Nice clean and spacious rooms, even for rooms with 8 beds! There are even beds on the roof! Hammocks everywhere underneath the trees. Super social friendly environment. Walking distance to beautiful beaches/coves. Super friendly owner ready to answer any questions. 10/10 would strongly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

My original plan was to stay in Plakias for about a week, but that changed within the first few days. I ended up extending my stay to over a month. Plakias was exactly what I was looking for...between the magical waterfalls, beautiful beaches, hiking, family atmosphere, and nightly trips to the local farmers tavernas...I couldn't have asked for anything more!. You will get a truly authentic Cretan experience...just be prepared to extend your stay longer than expected!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.