X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Youth Hostel Plakias Reviews

Plakias, Rethymno, Crete, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
215 Total Reviews
  • 99%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 99%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Such an amazing hostel. I booked for 2 nights and stayed 5 - could have easily stayed longer if it wasn't for prebooked flights. After travelling for a month through Croatia and Greece this was by far the best vibe. Don't take my word for it - go!


91%

Loved this place, would happily have stayed longer.


86%

Such an awesome vibe at this hostel!


100%

Such a great hostel. We will definitely come back :)

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a such cool hostel, my best hostel experience ever~


100%

I couldn't recommend this enough! I had such a great time even when we had 2 days of rain and stormy weather there was plenty to get entertained with at the hostel.. Lovely atmosphere, lovely surroundings. Def coming back!


97%

Amazing hostel, in the middle of olive trees...beautiful people, and perfect location if you want nice beaches at walking/biking distances and hiking.


100%

I checked every evaluation box as "excellent" for a reason. Stepping into this hostel is like coming home for those of us who have been on the road for a while. The atmosphere is immediately welcoming and fun. Many of the folks that we met had come to the Plakias Youth Hostel once, and then never stopped coming back, year after year, and are the best travel guides on the whole island. Stay here, chat with people, hang out with Uli the manager, and you will have an amazing time.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best stay ever! The only thing i regret is not booking a longer time to stay! The hostel was perfect, very friendly staff and guests who keep coming back, like i probably will too! Breakfast is really good and cheap, there's a bunch of cool stuff to do very conveniently easy to get to from the hostel, and there's always a group of people about to go and do something crazy and amazing, anything goes in Plakias.. !

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I'd go back for sure. And it was easy to find on the website. Only suggestion would be for there to be more indication as to where the Hostal is in Plakias. Signs, information board etc. thank you Hostal World!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really lovely environment, beautiful surroundings, very relaxing.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome beach hostel! Uli the manager was great and shared his insight to the local area. 5 minutes walk to a beach, river walks and other beaches within an hours walk. Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean. Can get a little hot in the midst of summer without AC but thats just obvious. Highly recommend!


100%

Amazing hostel experience! I was a bit hesitant at first, traveling as a single female, but immediately felt comfortable. Everyone was wonderful and I felt very safe. I loved Plakias and will be back!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great! The perfect place to relax.


97%

hostel was great- outdoor living, all hanging out together. very close to the beach and with so much to do in Plakia! Uli was excellent and helped be a tour guide for our day hiking trips. would reccommend and 100% go back and just stay there for 2 weeks. loved every minute


94%

In the hostel you´ll find a very relaxing and positive atmosphere, many independent travellers and travellers who come back again sometimes every year. There´s a nice terracce for everyone to sit outside, hammocks and many opportunities for day trips to beaches like Preveli Beach and for walks starting right at the hostel, like "The River Walk". The value for money is extremely good and Uli is eager to make everyone feel comfortable!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic hostel set in a great location. Would certainly recommend it


97%

Good location and lots of space.


100%

Travelled all the way from NZD to this beautiful spot In Crete, originally booked for 2 nights and stayed 6, it's that good. €1.5 scrambled eggs for brekkie and €10 a night this place, the staff and it's location was absolutely superb. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone. Love and peace Kohan J Wilson.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Absolutely enjoyed my time. Wish I would've had more nights to spend on this property! This is a safe and fun place to hang out for days and weeks and for some people, months.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Crete Hostels

Please give us your feedback