X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Youth Hostel Villa Marija Reviews

Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
460 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Hostel was loads of fun only downfall was the walk up the hill with our bags - if I had known I probably would've gotten a taxi. Although we had to be out by 10.30, everyone gathered together outside to go to a pub crawl and this gave us the chance to get to know other people in the hostel

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel was clean and the staff was very enthusiastic and helpful. It's uphill from the city center so carrying your bag to the hostel is a little unpleasant but a great workout. There was a great common area on the outside patio. The keypad to enter the rooms was very convenient. I had a great time here.


69%

Nice hostel! The girl helping with the check-ins on reception was really friendly and lovely. The rooms were fine, a bit small given the number of beds squashed in, but clean and neat/tidy and the staff checked them everyday (perhaps a few times per day) to make sure they were still clean. Location wasn't great, especially lugging a heavy backpack up a hill, but if you would like a quieter location it's fine. It's only about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the main area.


69%

The Hostel staff were really helpful at all times. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the place could have been better and although there is a pool on the premises it was FILTHY! The hostel is a decent hike away from any of the beaches so it would have been nice to have a clean useable pool to cool off in after all the stairs. They may as well not even have the pool and just have more patio space.


83%

The hostel is nice, a lot of people and easy to meet them because of a nice terrace. However they have a pool that nobody went in because it was dirty


54%

The location is really bad! The environment is nice but it is really hard to sleep because everyone is very noisy getting back to the hostel in the middle of the night. Me and my friend stayed in the private ensuite room and it was in the building in front of the hostel. The room has nothing to do with the pictures, no AC, no fan and the linen were very itchy, smelly and old. The staff was super nice and very helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback.You've booked Budget Double-the cheapest available private room. Air conditioning is provided in every room, including yours but it seems the only problem was that you didn't know how to turn it on. All the rooms has been newly renovated just before the beginning of the summer so your comments doesn't make much sense. However, checking your comments for other hostels you were staying at, we can come up with conclusion that nothing is good enough for you. Happy travelling

83%

The pool was very dirty our entire stay that you could not swim in it. We were told that it is common that the pool is in that condition. Also wifi was not the best. However, the staff were wonderful and very friendly and the bar crawl at night was a lot of fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we already apologised upon your check in and explained you, the problem with the pool was in a cleaning filter system that has been broken. We were waiting to be fixed right at the time of your stay with us. Fortunately, we managed to fix it so the swimming pool is now again available for use. Once more, we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause to you.

91%

We were 5 girls and stayed for 2 nights in a 6 bed room. The atmosphere is great! The receptionnist very nice and helpful. The sheets were changed every night. The only thing is that the hostel is up on the hill which is good for a nice view and to see another part of the town but a little long according to us


94%

We really enjoyed staying here. We made some really good friends and had an amazing time.


97%

The staff was more than friendly. Upon check-in, they gave us so many suggestions of bongs to do and knew the details about the time and price of them. The patio was amazing with long patio table for everyone to meet other people. There's a nightly bar crawl that starts there so you have a strong point and a group of people to go out with. The hike from the harbor to the hostel with a suitcase is rough, but walking to and from normally isn't so bad. I loved this hostel and everything in Hvar.


74%

The day staff are amazing and very helpful! The beds are comfy and the rooms are all well equipped! There's a great outside area to chill as well! But the pool was filthy and the guy who works the night shift was very rude which was such a shame as the rest of the staff are brilliant! It's definitely worth getting a taxi to the hostel if u have heavy bags as it's a steep up hill climb to get to!


91%

Had a really great time there. Very friendly staff and nice facilities. Great place to meet new people and party.


69%

This is definitely a party hostel, as is all of Hvar! Will meet lots of other staying at the hostel every night with the pre-bar games and the pub crawl. My room had two private bathrooms and it's own kitchen and 4 bunk beds (8 people). The sleeping area was small and crowded with bags but your never in there except sleeping. Wifi only works by the reception and common outside area, no wifi in my room. They have storage lockers but too small to fit bags. Quite a walk uphill to get to.


100%

Great hostel and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Hvar


86%

This is a great place to meet people as they have a massive terrace where people are often drinking outside to start their night. Staff were nice, facilities were clean and they provide 24 hour security. The location is quite far from the happening areas of Hvar and it is all uphill. I booked a room of 4 and paid 340 kuna a night which is expensive for what you get. Rooms and beds are tiny! I barely had any space to put my luggage. I wouldn't go back for that reason.


86%

The staff is really cool, vet nice and super helpful

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff! Great atmosphere day & night. Will definitely be coming back one day.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great if you want to meet people and go out for drinks


100%

Fantastic, friendly and accommodating staff!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best atmosphere of all the hostels I have stayed at!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Hvar Hostels

Please give us your feedback