X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youth Hostel Villa Marija Reviews

Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
242 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel experience for a few years!! This is the best place to meet fellow travellers, the luxury terrace is great. It's so big, the whole hostel can all hang out, pre drink, socialise and make new friends. Staff are super friendly, go above and beyond to make your stay good. Shout out to Ivan! (your hostel is amaze!) So close to the best beach on the island and a short 10min walk to town. Comfortable beds and very clean rooms. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Hvar!

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. Nice walk to the beaches and into town. Pick up service from the port. Organised pub crawls for free and a kitchen. Beautiful hostel too with a big common area on the balcony. Helpful staff.


91%

Brilliant hostel. Lively at night and had a guide to direct the bar crawl every evening. We even had our own fridge and bathroom. You get a lot for your money. Would definitely stay here again next time I visit Hvah.


97%

Great hostel, suitable for everyone. Had great security, made me feel a lot safer with my belongings. Staff were really friendly and spent time giving information and advice


69%

Mixed feelings. The large terrace was great for meeting people and the coded security was very reassuring touch. It must get tiring at times with such a high turnover of guests but the staff seemed oddly cold beyond a thorough map rundown upon arrival. Just a couple of welcoming questions would go a long way to creating a friendlier atmosphere. The bathrooms could do with a more regular cleaning given the beach location and oddly the kitchen was closed at night when I was after a glass of water.


74%

Party hostel which was a lot of fun, but take you to same place every night which got a bit repetitive. Dorms were a tight squeeze and they only drop you in town upto 11am on day you are leaving, but otherwise friendly staff and clean hostel. Although they seemed to remove beer bottles (which we had a deposit on at te shop) and water bottles from the room after everyone goes out, which felt an odd time to 'clean' the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Maybe you are just disappointed because you've tried to steal bottle of vodka from our bar, but you were caught by our staff :) :)

83%

had a great time at this hostel, its about a 10-15 minute from hvar old town. the rooms were a little small but everyone was so friendly it didnt matter. The only place that wasn't clean was the main kitchen area but that isn't the hostels fault!


86%

The terrace is great for socialising in the evenings. the woman who runs it is very nice and we were able to have a free transfer to and from the hostel from town. However it is quite a walk from Hvar town but it is positioned half way between town and the best beach in Hvar so this made up for the long walk to the bars in the evening. The bar crawl was disappointing and the 'discount' they said they could offer was rubbish. Be warned the air con only comes on at 9pm under certain circumstances

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Location was OK for Hvar but it is up a steep hill so be prepared. The cleanliness of the room wasn't as good as we would have liked but there was a good atmosphere in the hostel and good communal facilities although we had a kitchen area within our apartment.


83%

The hostel overall was clean and relatively secure, however because each room is quite separate the cleanliness and security depends on the people hating in the room. The hostel staff were helpful and organised pub crawls at night with free shots and transfers to and from the ferry. The hostel is a little bit out of town however it means it is closer to the better beach. The walk to town is about a 15 min downhill walk.


97%

These guys pick you up from the ferry stop and take you up the hill to the hostel! Great social area on balcony / great relaxed atmosphere during day to chill under the giant sun umbrellas or sunbath on the balcony beds


97%

Best hostel we stayed in on our travels. Definite recommendation. Very fun.


94%

I stayed here with my boyfriend in a double bedroom with ensuite! The room and bathroom were both a good size and the air con was amazing!! All of the staff we encountered (Chris, Anita, Antonia) were so lovely


71%

I stayed with my boyfriend in a 1 bed suite. It was clean, with comfortable beds and had nice showers. All things I value during my stay. The staff is very friendly, helped me with a lot of things. They even had someone drive us to the port at 6 am. It is a 10 minute walk from the center, which wouldn't be an issue if it wasn't a hill up. It only bothered me when I was tired or after a night out. Otherwise, it isn't too bad. The island is too beautiful to stress about anything else.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Bath towels were not cleaned; They don't clean the room daily; the comon balcony was a mess and not cleaned;

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, you have cancelled your booking. However, you've arrived and asked to accommodate you. We were fully booked and were so kind to help you to find another place to stay. This is absolutely unfair and ungrateful from your side. To be clear, this review should not apply for our hostel as we were already wrote; you didn't stay with us. Muito obrigado!

91%

It was the best hostel that i stay during my entire trip. The hostel combine a very good atmosphere of people that justa wanna have fun, bringing people together, specially with the pub crawl every night. The staff was really great and caring , giving us free rides to the center, so we could look after the stitches that she got in her foot.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We booked a room for 8 but instead we had a room for 10 the 1st night and a room for 6 the other two nights. They gave us a small discount for that which was nice of them. Staff was very friendly in general. The room and bathrooms were clean enough. The kitchen is not so clean and poorly equiped, there isn't much to cook with. The rooms were very noisy and we didn't sleep much for 3 nights, but that was mostly because of our roomates those nights. The terrace is great and comfortable.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really cool and helpful staff- friendly and accommodating. The terrace outside was great to have as a common area- allowed everyone to mingle and chill. Good cooking facilities and clean bathrooms. Also great to have air con.


83%

Summer destination to a 'T' and the free burgers were great, credit to the chef.


74%

It's the most comfortable youth hostel that I've stayed at. Each dorm room has his own bathroom and kitchen and for the luckiest even a table and chairs, which is really unusual. But however it's pretty far from the city center and on the top of a hill, people'd better be ready to use their calfs !


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Hvar Hostels

Please give us your feedback