Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.6
Youth Shack Located at 69 Mitchell St, , Darwin.
Youth Shack
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 69 Mitchell St
62% 242
-12.4625474 130.8390368
Youth Shack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Oct 2016
5.1

Kitchen was apalling. all utensils, pots and pans ned to be readily available b4 10pm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th Sep 2016
8.0

Was pretty worried about staying here after reading lots of bad reviews but I have to say our experience was not bad at all. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was pretty clean and had good size lockers. Could hear the nightlife on the street but not enough to disturb sleep. Bathrooms and kitchen are not the nicest I've been in but still perfectly liveable. Didn't use the pool but looked nice. Staff were very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
4.9

Stayed here as a friend recommend it, the guy who checked me in didn't have a clue about anything. Room was below my standard air con didn't work, only two plug sockets in the room that nothing could reach too. When I asked for a extension lead was told no. On checkout when I asked for a spoon the owner shouted at a staff member for almost giving me this free of charge absolutely ridiculous save your money go elsewhere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
4.6

I stayed at Youth Shack for one night after staying at its sister hostel Chillis for a week and a bit. I had to change hostels due to the overflow of people who were attending the Darwin Cup. The staff were very friendly during check in and check out. The bathrooms and showers were disgusting it felt like you were in an abandoned building that hadn't been cleaned in weeks. The bed was uncomfortable and cheap (plastic bunks).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
6.6

Had a reservation for two beds in an all-female 4 bed dorm. For some reason, they were unable to put us in the same room, which was unfortunate (we had to wake 2 groups of people up instead of just one, also made our early morning wakeup a little more difficult). Was also woken up at 5:00 AM by a fire alarm, which the girls in my room said had been happening all week. Otherwise, exactly what you'd expect from a youth hostel. Was fine for my short, one night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
6.0

This hostel is exactly like a college dorm. Noisy, smelly and dirty. Abundance of drunk 19 year olds. Room was missing a curtain.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
6.9

Many of the guests were staying long term, and as a solo traveler I found it difficult to meet people. The facilities are not particularly clean, and the 4 bed dorm I stayed in was messy with the other guests' belongings strewn about. That being said, it has a bar, is centrally located and is one cost effective given the area. They also have a bag room that I was able to leave my backpack in while on a camping trip in kakadu.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
4.3

Dirty and run down. Angry staff at checkout. Did not feel safe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.