Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.7
Youth Shack Located at 69 Mitchell St, , Darwin.
Youth Shack
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 69 Mitchell St
67% 233
-12.4625474 130.8390368
Youth Shack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jul 2016
6.0

This hostel is exactly like a college dorm. Noisy, smelly and dirty. Abundance of drunk 19 year olds. Room was missing a curtain.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
4.3

Dirty and run down. Angry staff at checkout. Did not feel safe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th May 2016
8.3

Large hostel with everything that is needed. Nice pool and bar area to hang out in and right in the middle of town for ease of access to everything. Bed wasn't too bad though the bunks weren't overly sturdy and so knew each time the other person moved. Kitchen was choas and a bit gross at peak times but the cleaners did try to keep it clean. Overall it was a good stay at a fraction of the price of hotels so more could be spent on sightseeing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • philipschiele
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
7.4

Appart from the before mentioned rule to only get a cooking pot after leaving you room key as an deposit its a nice party hostel in an excellent location. Alcohol is strictly forbidden in all rooms though and can only be bought from the bar (which is a bummer if you're on a budget but brings people together I guess). Only thing that struck me as really odd was that they wanted the Credit Cards Security number on paper - which then lies around on the counter - HORRIBLE DATA SECURITY!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We do require a key as a deposit for cooking utensils as we have found this is the best way to ensure pots and pans are returned and not left lying about the kitchen after being used by guests in our large kitchen. As for credit card details, we do require them to cover against damages that may occur. They certainly are not left lying about the counter and are stored in a registration slip drawer which only staff have access to. When the guest leaves they are shredded or the guest may ask for them on checkout and dispose of them themselves. Data security is a priority we can assure you of that. Regards, Brett. Reservations Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
4.9

Could have done with some locks on shower doors, more toilet and shower areas needed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
5.4

This is a party hostel, pure and simple. Needs a real good clean and upgrade across the board. Wifi never worked, my room was double booked for one of the evenings and I arrived back to someone new in bed and having to go down and sort out new sheets etc., for myself. Unfortunately it doesn't look like you have too many other options in town, so might just need to bite the bullet if you're staying in central Darwin!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2016
7.7

Requested CVV number when checking in which isn't really acceptable. Beds really uncomfortable. Plates and cutlery have to be bought from the hostel for $1.50, which is very annoying - we only wanted to use plates for one night but there was no option except eating out of old saucepans. Good wifi, nice size pool, great location for Darwin.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
9.4

I stayed one night and it was great. The only downsides were the amount of plug ins in my room and the lack of counter space in bathroom. There was 1 outlet in room and only sinks in bathroom. The rest was great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.