X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Youth Station Hostel - Rome - Reviews

Via Livorno n� 5, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
1174 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

An ok hostel. Staff weren't very friendly at all and the facilities weren't as good as they make them out to be. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and noisy, so I'm glad I only spent one night. Would be 100x better if they paid attention to the small things.


54%

No AC, shower sucks, and internet was terrible, mostly due to the fact that they don't know how Internet works. Just because you plug another router in the wall and lights turn on, your WiFi isn't any better morons... And when you have a limited network, when someone complains about it not working, hitting reset does nothing but kick everyone off, then redistribute IP's. Please get someone educated to set up your second router. No ethernet cord = no point in having it.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Cool location...nice staff and cheap price. It worths the price.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Especially the loud boss of the Hostel enjoyed me. He came each afternoon and shouted at his employes although I wasn't sure he was cross or just a VERY loud person! Otherwise the hostel was very quiet and the receptionists seemed quite friendly, but they did seem very intimidated by their boss. I felt a little sorry. Generally the atmosphere wasn't very warm or welcoming and these fights made it even less. Otherwise the hostel offers what a hostel should. bathroom in each room, wifi, kitchen..

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Very disappointing hostel. The kitchen was very dirty and small. Only one person can cook at a time. Hardly any appliances. This hostel is nothing like what the website shows. So false advertising. The only good thing is it's in a good location, right on the subway that takes you to the main tourist attractions.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Room and walls were very dirty. Air conditioning didnt work and only one window in a room of 8 wasn't enough. Bathroom very small with no ventilation. "Kitchen" was filthy. Wifi was terrible in the common area and non existent in the room. No working desktop computers. Can't take keys out of the hostel b/c apparently people would lose them (hint: just charge a deposit for them). Beds very small, high bunks with no ladders. Staff was atrocious, didn't seem to care. Don't waste your money here!


46%

Rooms smell so bad and nobody cares about it.There are too many things but the only good thing about this hostel was it was close to collesium 10 mins by METRO


69%

When we first arrived, the woman who works here was great! There are two Indian men, one who is extremely rude, and the other is just quiet. If you are planning on staying at this hostel and want to stay up late in the kitchen, the staff doesn't let you. They turn the lights off and tell you to go to sleep. Location wise, it is right outside of the Bologna train station. Just make sure you go out of the correct stairwell. There are a lot of stores to go to and a cool bar across the street.


100%

Very nice place to Stay. Cheap and confortable. Wifi and free computer available. Thanks to the helpfull staff for the great advices about the night life.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

I reserved 6 dorm but thry gave me 8 dorm without any explaination. He said he cant give a refund or change room. I had to listen others review worst hostel ever

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We read a lot of bad reviews from this hostel but we absolutely loved it. Anyone who says it isn't clean clearly has unrealistically high standards of hostel! The owners are lovely, the wifi is great, and it is a perfect location, right next to bologna station, so incredibly easy access to the coliseum and the vatican. Great priced food around the area of the hostel as well. Overall we couldn't have had a better stay in rome, we would definitely recommend youth station hostel to any friends!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice place to stay. Close to a subway line.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Can't say I've been to too many places around the world, but this ranks on the bottom of my list. While it might be located near a station, it's pretty far off from anything you'd want to see or do. As for the staff, they won't go out of their way to do anything for you. We got downgraded without any explanation or apology. They got WiFi but it doesn't work at all. The rooms have no form of ventilation so coming for a summer stay is just awful. Really, this place is a must avoid. Really.


74%

The staff is realy nice and the beds are good. The only problem is that the bathroom was dirty, but its not the worst.


54%

It was a good hostel, but far fron the turistic staff. You are obligated to use the subway all the time and it does not run at night. The wifi was really good, but the kitchen didn't work properly, it was poorly equipped, only an electric heater.


86%

The staff is extremely helpful. But the wifi is not working from the room, you need to get to the common area, and the kitchen is too small


57%

It's ok for a short stay and very close to the metro station, at 3 stops to Termini station. I slept in a dorm and it was ok, though the staff could be nicer, they weren't flexible enough to solve an issue i had.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

I have stayed in hostels all over the world and this was the worst. I was forced to attempt to book another night here, and the staff tried to cheat me. After bringing up hostelworld to show them the price they logged on and removed their listing and said "it's last minute so the price went up". When I said I was leaving they immediately asked what I wanted to pay. I checked at my next hostel and they had reopened their hostelworld listing with the original low price. Pathetic.


46%

All we need from a hostel is a bed, and in this hostel beds are like swings.


51%

lockers were not safe/ the locks were broken, room was untidy and location out of the normal city map


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback