Hostelworld.com

Youthhostel Bern

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 889 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 889 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
Youthhostel Bern Located at Weihergasse 4, , Bern.
Youthhostel Bern
Switzerland
Bern Bern 3005 Bern Weihergasse 4
84% 889
46.9455161 7.4452972
Youthhostel Bern
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th May 2016
9.7

Stayed here one night passing through Bern; overall positive experience and no major issues to report. Hostel in nice location by river and not far from main sites; they also serve a great breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th May 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Could be cleaner but it was not dirty. Looked kinda old but in general it was a good stay. I didn't encounter any problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Friendly & helpful staff, very kind of them offering me & a new friend 2 coffees =) Clean bedsheets, hair dryer, adapter, lockers are available. No shower doors, only curtains but generally didn't cause any problems. Took me a while to find the hostel though, especially in the dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Super friendly staff, delicious food (and coffee!!!), very well located in the heart of the city. Remarkable cleanliness. Definitely one of the best hostels in Europe I've known. Totally recommendable!!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.0

Honestly I was shocked when I saw a man taking shower in women's shower and walking out nakedly to his room. I was even more shocked that he obviously saw me and he didn't even bother to cover his ass. I'm not saying it's the fault of the Hostel. But I do hope they could pay more attention to security and the guests could mind more about their behaviors in public area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.7

Had a free upgrade to a private 4 bed dorm. But it was really tiny, hardly any space to walk in. The showers were clean but didn't have any doors, only a shower curtain and hooks to hang your clothes were outside the shower curtain. Free breakfast was good though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
7.7

Expensive but for Bern quite enjoyable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2016
7.4

The hostel was ok - a place to sleep, have a shower and eat the breakfast. Not that many facilities for that price, but still this is quite good deal for Switzerland.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2016
8.9

We had a very short stay here but it was pleasant. Staff are very helpful and the location is very good, just a short walk and cable car ride from station. If you walk up to the cable car and tell the attendant you are checking in they'll probably give you a free ride down the hill

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.