X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youthhostel Geneva Reviews

Rue Rothschild 30, Geneva, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
317 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent hostel, one of the best I've stayed at so far !!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A small issue with the payment. No enough information about the taxes on the moment of the check in, bathrooms are not good.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff was not very helpful and not friendly. A lot of school trips come here so it's very crowded with large high school groups. Lake is a 2 minute walk away, the hostel provides free geneva public transportation which covers busses, trains, and ferries.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was really great, except the girls i shared the room with, made a lot of noise really in the morning

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfectly organized. Clean rooms/beds/toilets. Good breakfast. Silent. In March, low-season, we were the only 2 persons in the room. Free lockers. Hair dryer next to the showers. WiFi only downstairs in the lounge. The atmosphere is a bit army like, student campus, but I liked it.


74%

Great hostel although over priced for what it is. Staff Very helpful. Make sure you read your payment they charged me for Taxs and it did not say in the total amount. Nice breakfast and wifi works great. Great safety storage. Bathrooms average not overly clean. Over all pretty sweet hostel just not worth the price.


31%

Even though the location is great, two minutes away from the main station (Gare Cornavin), the hostel is definitely a mess and dirty. I've been staying at the hostel 7 days and the last 3 nights there were 7 people sleeping in my room (instead of 6). In the corridor there was a weird old man taking pills and making loud noises every night. The lounge/saloon was closed during the night since somebody was sleeping inside of it. no working wifi.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It´s not really a hostel, and because of that you don´t get that atmosphere with people. Rooms were ok, eventhough lockers were outside of it. Staff was ok. Breakfast was also ok. The thing is you do not have so many places to stay in Geneva, that are not hotels. But Geneva is a city for a short stay, so...


97%

Member charge was disappointing

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The receptionist could've been a lot friendlier. And Internet more accessible in the rooms. Free breakfast but options were limited.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very big hostel, lots of facilities, good staff. Security is kinda annoying, you must use your card everywhere in every door even for bathroom/showers. The night we stood there it was very noisy all night long...people screaming and running everywhere...doors banging in every floor...you could hear doors opening/closing everywhere...bad for a peacefull sleepy night. In the morning, there was a huge line to wait for the breakfast...could improve that a lot.


71%

There was a funny smell in the downstairs lobby. The hangout areas were hidden. A really huge hostel it was hard to actually meet people.


100%

Good food on sight, clean, very close to Cornavin, get your own (large) locking locker so you don't have to worry about leaving your stuff out when you are in a shared room.


74%

Expensive for a Youth Hostel, but has lots of facilities (transportation card, breakfast, etc...)

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The location is close to the train station, so that was nice. However, there is not much to do in Geneva... The hostel was a bit on the expensive side, but I was able to get a good night sleep every night. Security is fine. the hostel is popular among larger groups, rather than solo travelers.


37%

First, just during my checkin, the female staff there was not nice in attitude, not rude, but she was not as friendly as a hostel-staff should be. Maybe they would think it's wonderful to make everything with the electronic lock, even the toilet and kitchen. More, i cannot understand the meaning of male or female toilet or bathroom, i was on the 3rd floor, i dun know there were all male on my floor or not, but i saw more than once that a male entered a female toilet. No tool in kitchen.


54%

The washroom is not clean at all... without a comfortable shower ! And the bedding should be patched :(


100%

Youthhostel Geneva was the nicest hostel I stayed at during a recent holiday around Europe. It's very secure, with electronic key cards that open the lobby door, your room door, the toilets, and your huge locker. The staff is friendly and speaks English well. There's really good hot chocolate drink at breakfast, which is yogurt and cereal and toast with meats and cheese and jam. It's only a few hundred meters from the lake, and there's plenty of shops and restutaunts within a very short walk.


86%

Nice hostel, nice rooms ! Price is a bit expensive but it's hard to find a better option in Geneva.


77%

The cheapest accommodation in Geneva (however still more expensive than many other hostels). Breakfast wasn't included either. Location is good and not long walk to centre of tour, clean rooms, comfortable beds and your own locker. Quite a few school groups were staying there though, so had more of 'school camp' atmosphere than a hostel (and kids were playing and making noise on the stairwell most nights until 11pm!) Anyway was overall pretty good, would stay there again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Geneva Hostels

Please give us your feedback