X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youthhostel Geneva Reviews

Rue Rothschild 30, Geneva, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
330 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel was great and I met lots of nice people. Good location and clean. The day time staff were friendly and pleasant, however the nighttime staff were not. Several of the guests noticed this and it was discussed between us. This was a shame as otherwise the hostel was perfect.


83%

We had an excellent stay at Youth Hostel Geneva. However, we weren't aware of something that increased our bed prices: if you do not own a "Youth Hostel Card" you'll pay about 6 CHF more per night. Pros: Breakfast is great, and bedrooms and bathrooms are quite clean; it's not difficult to find the hostel and all the personal was really kind Cons: the kitchen is really small (it's a big hostel) and you can not cook inside of it; anyway, there's a microwave and two small fridges.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Would be great to have the wifi inside the bedroom and not only in the hall


100%

Excellent hostel, one of the best I've stayed at so far !!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A small issue with the payment. No enough information about the taxes on the moment of the check in, bathrooms are not good.


63%

Staff was not very helpful and not friendly. A lot of school trips come here so it's very crowded with large high school groups. Lake is a 2 minute walk away, the hostel provides free geneva public transportation which covers busses, trains, and ferries.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was really great, except the girls i shared the room with, made a lot of noise really in the morning

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfectly organized. Clean rooms/beds/toilets. Good breakfast. Silent. In March, low-season, we were the only 2 persons in the room. Free lockers. Hair dryer next to the showers. WiFi only downstairs in the lounge. The atmosphere is a bit army like, student campus, but I liked it.


74%

Great hostel although over priced for what it is. Staff Very helpful. Make sure you read your payment they charged me for Taxs and it did not say in the total amount. Nice breakfast and wifi works great. Great safety storage. Bathrooms average not overly clean. Over all pretty sweet hostel just not worth the price.


31%

Even though the location is great, two minutes away from the main station (Gare Cornavin), the hostel is definitely a mess and dirty. I've been staying at the hostel 7 days and the last 3 nights there were 7 people sleeping in my room (instead of 6). In the corridor there was a weird old man taking pills and making loud noises every night. The lounge/saloon was closed during the night since somebody was sleeping inside of it. no working wifi.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It´s not really a hostel, and because of that you don´t get that atmosphere with people. Rooms were ok, eventhough lockers were outside of it. Staff was ok. Breakfast was also ok. The thing is you do not have so many places to stay in Geneva, that are not hotels. But Geneva is a city for a short stay, so...


97%

Member charge was disappointing

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This place is a bit off the way. The staff was pleasant at times. It was ok!


91%

The receptionist could've been a lot friendlier. And Internet more accessible in the rooms. Free breakfast but options were limited.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very big hostel, lots of facilities, good staff. Security is kinda annoying, you must use your card everywhere in every door even for bathroom/showers. The night we stood there it was very noisy all night long...people screaming and running everywhere...doors banging in every floor...you could hear doors opening/closing everywhere...bad for a peacefull sleepy night. In the morning, there was a huge line to wait for the breakfast...could improve that a lot.


66%

I'm a solo traveler, and pick hostels based on price, and chance of meeting other travelers. I stayed here because it was a cheap option compared to other hostels in the city, and although it's one of the nicest hostels that I've stayed in based on cleanliness and such, it lacked the atmosphere that I look for in a hostel. Do not stay here if you are hoping to meet people. When I stayed, it was full of groups of kids on school field trips. Not a place for backpackers.

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

There was a funny smell in the downstairs lobby. The hangout areas were hidden. A really huge hostel it was hard to actually meet people.


100%

Good food on sight, clean, very close to Cornavin, get your own (large) locking locker so you don't have to worry about leaving your stuff out when you are in a shared room.


74%

Expensive for a Youth Hostel, but has lots of facilities (transportation card, breakfast, etc...)

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The location is close to the train station, so that was nice. However, there is not much to do in Geneva... The hostel was a bit on the expensive side, but I was able to get a good night sleep every night. Security is fine. the hostel is popular among larger groups, rather than solo travelers.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Geneva Hostels

Please give us your feedback