Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youthhostel Luzern

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Youthhostel Luzern Located at Sedelstr. 12, , Lucerne.
Youthhostel Luzern
Switzerland
Lucerne Luzern 6004 Sedelstr. 12
78% 736
47.0615860 8.3014583
Youthhostel Luzern
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jul 2016
5.4

Everything in terms of cleanliness and all is great. But there is no atmosphere what so ever. If you're a solo traveller I would not bother coming here at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
7.4

This was an interesting/eclectic hostel. With a name like Youthhostel I had expected more people my age (18-24) traveling. Instead the hostel was largely dominated by Asian families that were not exceptionally considerate of others. Also, we had booked a 6 bed male dorm but unded up with a young couple who made it uncomfortable. Overall the staff were amazing people and super helpful! They can direct you on all the sites to see.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
12th Jul 2016
5.4

Very basic accommodation, a big walking distance to town, included breakfast is really good but as all things in Switzerland are quite expensive it felt like really poor value. Rooms are basic, there are lockers but they are outside the rooms in the hallways where anyone can access so not a great feeling of security. Overall, if there is a cheaper option closer to town - take it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.7

Lovely hostel, a little out of the centre of lucerne but easily accessed by one bus ride. Staff were friendly when checking in, rooms were clean and there was a lovely included breakfast in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
6.9

The breakfast is outstanding, staff polite, amenities clean and excellent locker space provided. Buses very regular so hostel location never bothered me. Things to improve: checkin perfunctory and not enough info provided (eg nearest supermarket). Too many old ppl wandering around for a youth hostel, including smelly guy in my room who seemed drunk. And atmosphere a bit lacking, lots of elderly, lots of kids, family groups but not so many 20s/30s in between. no cooking facilities a nuisance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
3.4

Booked female only room, given us mixed room without any explaination. It is totally shocked when a man came in while we changing our clothing!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.3

Not the worst Hostel I've stayed at, but not the best either. Everything was pretty good, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, facilities were pretty clean, and the location wasn't bad with the bus system.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Jun 2016
6.6

Emphasis on YOUTH hostel. Lots of kids always being loud- if we had known about this we would have gone somewhere else. It was very hard to go to sleep with all the noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
6.9

- computer was broken - wifi doesn't work in rooms or outdoor patio - no kitchen - cold shower - screaming school children at 7am

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Overall, it was a decent hostel. The included breakfast was worth while, and they served a three course meal at night for 17 francs, which was good. About a 20 minute walk to the city center. There were a lot of young kids, so it was quite noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.