Hostelworld.com

Youthhostel Luzern

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0
Youthhostel Luzern Located at Sedelstr. 12, , Lucerne.
Youthhostel Luzern
Switzerland
Lucerne Luzern 6004 Sedelstr. 12
82% 710
47.0615860 8.3014583
Youthhostel Luzern
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Overall, it was a decent hostel. The included breakfast was worth while, and they served a three course meal at night for 17 francs, which was good. About a 20 minute walk to the city center. There were a lot of young kids, so it was quite noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
7.7

Eggs in the morning would be great, although the rest of the food tasted very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.3

We stayed in a 20 bed dorm, and were apprehensive about the cleanliness and privacy. But it turned out to be pretty good. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, and the complementary breakfast was great. A few minor complaints - the charging unit atop each bed doesn't work if one is using an international adapter, as the units face downward, and the adapters fall off; No WiFi in the rooms, only in the public areas; and the number of bathrooms are insufficient when the hostel runs at full capacity.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.6

The players at the fuseball table were often unnecessarily noisy which made it uncomfortable to be in the common room. Having a congenial place to visit or be on one's own is essential to travelers. Removing the fuseball table from this room would make a difference. I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. However, it is quite dark inside, even with the lights on. The breakfasts were very good! And all the staff were caring and lovely. It is easy to get to by bus and the neighbourhood is pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.3

It's a good hostel as it provides you really good breakfast. The location is kinda off from all major points of interest but still in 30 minutes range by walk. The other downside is 20 people in a room is a little bit too much... But the hostel is really clean and staff are nice. Overall it's worth staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Romydpogi
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th May 2016
8.6

I stayed in a 20 bedroom. It was quite good enough because the room was not full. Pretty good environment but far from the city center. The staff are nice and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
8.3

Great hostel, very clean, and with a great breakfast. A little on the expensive side (but that's Switzerland), and a little far from the city center, but you get get around pretty easily with the bus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
5.4

Our stay was okay. The breakfast is really good, but after 10am they wanted to charge me 3 francs for a tea bag which I thought was excessive. Also, for $40ish a night in a 20 bed room, I think they could make the bed for you (although not a big deal). Wifi doesn't work in the rooms. The upside - the girl at the front desk gave us excellent directions for a hike.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
9.4

Do be sure to get a map before you walk to the youth Hostel. The route that Google Maps gives, while scenic, is steep and roundabout. Call the youth hostel for better directions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2016
8.0

The room was nice. Good access to plugs for charging phones. The washroom wasn't great though. Only one on our floor and it was a bit dirty. The toilet seat wasn't attached properly. The breakfast was good though. Their homemade museli was yummy! It is situated on a major road which our room was facing so there was a lot of noise from the cars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.