Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Luzern

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
Youthhostel Luzern Located at Sedelstr. 12, , Lucerne.
Youthhostel Luzern
Switzerland
Lucerne Luzern 6004 Sedelstr. 12
77% 794
47.0615860 8.3014583
Youthhostel Luzern
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
24th Sep 2016
8.3

Really clean hostel with super friendly staff but lacked a few things to suit backpackers such as a kitchen and decent living area. There seemed to be a lot of deposits required for things such as tv remotes, towels, adapters etc. Atmosphere wasn't that great, more of a family hostel. Location not central but Lucerne is small so still within walking distance from city centre. A nice lake and bushwalks nearby with a bit of a country feel. Would most likely stay again with few alternatives.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.1

Overall this hostel was okay. The staff were lovely and it included a great breakfast. One of the nights a school group stayed and unfortunately they were ridiculously noisy until late and were even banging our door which we weren't happy with. The hostel is also quite far out of the city, not walking distance, but is only a 10 minute bus ride with the stop fairly close to the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
5.7

No wifi access on 2nd floor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Nice hostel in Luzern with parking space. Staff were amazing, the lady at the front was fluent in a lot of language. Would recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.4

Adequate hostel, just a bit dull compared to most of the others I stayed in with more of a social aspect. Bedroom was OK but could have done with some more places to put stuff. Kitchen access would have also been good, especially as there aren't many affordable restaurants. good visit though and enjoyed walking around Pilatus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Overall, it wasn't a bad hostel. Only complaint is that there isn't much around it and that it's quite a walk from the downtown area. I didn't really meet many people there, which was kind of a bummer considering that the city itself didn't have much going on so it would have been nice to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
10.0

We found this to be really convenient & we had an enjoyable stay in Luzern. Will definitely stay whenever we are in Luzern again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
4.9

No wifi in the rooms, bathrooms were not clean, there was only one shower for women and one for men on our floor, and wifi was not available in the rooms. In addition, we arrived late and had to make our own beds, which was disturbing to the other people in our room who were already sleeping. Breakfast was average, mainly consisting of bread and some sliced meats. In general the hostel had all ages, so the atmosphere was strange. As a whole, very expensive for what you get. Staff was nice though

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Aug 2016
5.7

Staff were great, breakfast is really good, and everything is clean and comfortable. No atmosphere and quite a family vibe. CHF 40 for a 20 bed dorm, only 2 showers for guys, no kitchen!!, location at the outer edge of town (which is still only 30-40mins walk away but still) and having to put sheets on your own bed is just 100% not worth the money you're paying. Classic Switzerland maybe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel was a little far from the center, but you can take a bus there. Breakfast was good and staff was nice. Overall a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.