Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Luzern

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 871 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 871 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
2.0

This was one of the most horrible stay I've had in a hostel. It rained heavily and the hostel got flooded in, even though I was on Level 2!!! I had to help with the clean up along with the few girls there, a guy walked into the girls' dorm without apologising or any notice. I was very disappointed and they didn't even try to compensate. The staff just ignored me even when I asked for free breakfast as I had no sleep at all. No wifi either except in common room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
9.1

Friendly staff, no A/C which was an issue in July. Breakfast is nice, but 10Euro. Good location, 15 min walk to kapellen Bruecke. Bus ticket included with your stay. Grocery store 5 minute walk. Beds are made of concrete (I thought!).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
9.1

Nice trip, wonderful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • b-stockdale
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
9.7

We loved our stay at the Youth Hostel. The whole building was really neat and clean. The rooms were really comfortable and the bathrooms were nice. The free breakfast here is also really good. Would definitely recommend staying here when visiting Luzern.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.9

easily accessible via public transport (metro 2 stops then a bus 7 stops) aqesome location near the lake. will def come back and stay again. The rooms were clean and tidy good facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
4.9

Unfortunately had to leave this hostel early due to the staff being unable to be flexible in moving rooms. Never had to leave a hostel early before but unfortunately had booked a mixed room (traveling with partner) and due to their "automated system" I was the only women in the room with 5 other men. Men being middle aged men who made me feel very uncomfortable and awkward. Thought this was a "youth" hostel. Clearly not. The staff did not understand my discomfort so had to leave.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
7.1

This hostel was ok. The rooms were very hot at night so the windows had to be left open. Unfortunately, the hostel was next to a busy street and we heard many cars buzzing through in the night. I did not sleep well at all because of this. I also noticed that their were much less women's bathrooms then men's bathrooms, and the men many times used the women's bathrooms which was very frustrating. We did not eat breakfast as it seemed a little overpriced. It was a clean hostel with friendly staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
5.7

No WiFi at the rooms. The floor on the Showers were always wet. A girl opened my door with another keycard(she was not in my room). Very small fridge to leave food. And don't go walking, is uphill and far from the center/train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
5.4

Very far from center, prepare to hike up hills o get there. They did offer a free bus pass once you get there which is nice. I stayed in a 20 bed dorm, it was awful. No AC, very hot. Didn't get any sleep so I left after one night. Only two showers on my floor and one toilet on the floor above me. Switzerland is expensive and this was a last minute booking, next time I would do more research and spend a little more money for someplace better. My charger adaptor wouldn't fit anywhere!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2017
2.0

Told we could check in at 3. Went up to the room at half 3 and rooms still were not ready. Beds were very dirty! crumbs and hair all over the beds that we had to ask the staff to clean the beds. There was also a stain on one bed and cigarette burn on another. Cracks and stains all over the walls. plug sockets barely held the plug in place so it kept falling out. large noisey schools group took up most of the hostel. Seemed to be no age restriction despite being a "youth hostel".

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.