Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Luzern

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 775 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 775 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Youthhostel Luzern Located at Sedelstr. 12, , Lucerne.
Youthhostel Luzern
Switzerland
Lucerne Luzern 6004 Sedelstr. 12
77% 775
47.0615860 8.3014583
Youthhostel Luzern
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Overall, it wasn't a bad hostel. Only complaint is that there isn't much around it and that it's quite a walk from the downtown area. I didn't really meet many people there, which was kind of a bummer considering that the city itself didn't have much going on so it would have been nice to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
10.0

We found this to be really convenient & we had an enjoyable stay in Luzern. Will definitely stay whenever we are in Luzern again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
4.9

No wifi in the rooms, bathrooms were not clean, there was only one shower for women and one for men on our floor, and wifi was not available in the rooms. In addition, we arrived late and had to make our own beds, which was disturbing to the other people in our room who were already sleeping. Breakfast was average, mainly consisting of bread and some sliced meats. In general the hostel had all ages, so the atmosphere was strange. As a whole, very expensive for what you get. Staff was nice though

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Aug 2016
5.7

Staff were great, breakfast is really good, and everything is clean and comfortable. No atmosphere and quite a family vibe. CHF 40 for a 20 bed dorm, only 2 showers for guys, no kitchen!!, location at the outer edge of town (which is still only 30-40mins walk away but still) and having to put sheets on your own bed is just 100% not worth the money you're paying. Classic Switzerland maybe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel was a little far from the center, but you can take a bus there. Breakfast was good and staff was nice. Overall a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.0

Very friendly staff, fine and clean and was nice to have a card to open the door. Location was quite far out but can't say that's a bad thing as it was clearly stated where it was... Had to make our own beds which wasn't great And the atmosphere there wasn't very welcoming in regards to the people staying there, there wasn't much general interaction

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
7.4

Kind of far from the center, but the city is so small that even being far it only takes a 20-min walk to get there. Breakfast was really good and complete. Only a few showers per floor (2 for guys) but it seems to be enough as I did not have to wait for it. It would be great if they could clean the showers during the day as there were water puddles all over. I would stay again since I did not see any cheaper options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
8.6

Not enough bathrooms or showers. Wish they had wifi in the rooms. Overall though enjoyed my stay and love the city of Lucerne!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

Good free coffee at breakfast, large lockers are free with a CHF 2 deposit, clean place, friendly helpful staff. Take the 18 or 19 buses from Luzern station to Jugendherberge or Rosenberg stops

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.0

Location a bit out of the centre of town but easy enough to get to and from with the bus. Not much atmosphere - I was lucky and met some great people in my dorm but it's more of a family friendly (ie. lots of young children) and large tour group type hostel. Breakfast had a great selection and lockers were big enough to fit a decent size backpack in. Wifi reception only available in reception area and breakfast room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.