Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Montreux

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
7.4

THe hostel was pretty clean and nice. The rooms were a little noisy, though , and the reception was closed from 10-17 which made the check in a little difficult..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
6.9

Only stayed there for one night. I guess it would be a good place to crash for a night or two. Activities there are close to none. Anyway, a quiet place for sleeping.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

Great little place. Not extremely close to the centre, but right on the lakeside and easily reachable by Bus 201 which is free for you once you get there, because you will get a Montreux Pass for the time you are staying there. Staff were great. Watch out for the reception opening times though. From 10am to 5pm you can't check in, but can leave your luggage in lockers downstairs. Rooms were clean. Showers and breakfast were good. Wifi only works downstairs. Very pleasant experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
5.1

Our room was so hot and stuffy from the moment we arrived, despite the window being open and a portable fan in the room there was no air flow and neither of us could sleep all night. I understand it's probably rare for Montreux to get this warm (it was 30-32 degrees during the day) but I really wouldn't recommend staying in Summer unless they install air con. The wifi also did not work at all except in the reception area. Redeemed by the beautiful location on the lake, lovely walk into Montreux.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.3

Overall our stay was pleasant. Unfortunately we stayed while construction was right outside & continued through the night. Due to the hot weather we kept the window open but it was loud. The hostel had earplugs if asked which helped. We arrived & hoped to drop our stuff before check in, but the hostel closed for the weekend due to the construction. We luckily got a 6 room for 4, otherwise it probably would have been packed. A bit expensive, but ok considering the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
9.1

The hostel is in a stunning location, about a half hour walk from the train station or you can take a bus to a stop two minutes away. The staff was very helpful and friendly and gave us lots of good tips about what to do as well as free bus passes for the city. The shower isn't great because the light times out and you have to press it multiple times throughout your shower. The water also times out after a minute so you have to keep turning it on. It's still great if you're on a budget!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
8.9

Switzerland is expensive, so this was a great price. We are very close to the lake and to the train at Territet and the bus. The Hostel gives you a bus pass so everything is close. Walking distance to Chillón castle an absolute must. The hostel card discounts that too. When a school group is there it can be noisy, but such is life. If you are traveling with your child ask about a Swiss junior pass for 15 CHF. This will get your child on everything for free if they are with you!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.1

This is a really good hostel too stay in! It's in a good location as it is right next too the lake so you can always go for a nice walk along the lake to get too town. The free buffet in the morning is really yummy! They put on a good spread and you can have as much as you want. The hiking around here is also super super good! And what is great is they give you a free pass for the buss and the teams to get you up the first part of the mountain and around town! Great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
2.0

The property was not well Maintained and it was stinking ..the price is higher than what facilities are provided

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2017
2.0

Staffs weren't nice, came late. Check in should be 5 PM, but they were open about 6. Location farrrr. Security was't good, everyone can enter the building. so unworthy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.