Hostelworld.com

Youthhostel Zermatt

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 565 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 565 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Youthhostel Zermatt Located at Staldenweg 5, , Zermatt.
Youthhostel Zermatt
Switzerland
Zermatt Wallis 3920 Staldenweg 5
86% 565
46.0157109 7.7485799
Youthhostel Zermatt
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2016
7.1

This place was just OK for the extreme prices we paid. When we got to our bed, we had to strip the previous occupants sheets (ew) and make up our own. The ensuite toilet had no ventilation. The shower was good though, with hot water. Free breakfast was great, although there are no other cooking facilities. Security was good with each person having their own locker, and the common areas were warm with a nice atmosphere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grfweb5924
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
9.4

The only missing thing to make this Hostel perfect : WIFI available in the rooms/dorms. It is currently available just at the reception and the cafeteria.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
8.3

Nice place! A little expensive, but I guess that's to be expected in Zermatt. We could see the Matterhorn from our window! Outlets by each bed and lockers in each room (although they are count operated with francs, which we didn't have). Nice buffet breakfast included in price, and they were good about giving advice for places to hike and such. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
6.9

Instructions on how to get there are poor. It has a go to bed early policy so the atmosphere is not great

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.3

For Zermatt, it's ok

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Good well run hostel. However book directly with the hostel if you are a member of the YHA as you don't get the member discount if you book thro Hostel World.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
8.0

This is very convenient place if you're planning to stay for couple of days

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
9.7

Every staff member was so kind, outgoing and extremely helpful!! I am a hiker and not a skier so they helped me by giving me many different hiking options within the area - with no need to take a train outside of Zermatt. They even let me use an extra set of poles for trekking which was a relief for my knees. The breakfast was GREAT, the hostel was always clean and had nice hot showers! Met a lot of cool travelers, but the best part...the views of the Matterhorn from the hostel was AMAZING!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.7

Youthostel Zermatt was an amazing stay! The staff were so accommodating- when i initially tried to book a room they only had 4 beds available, yet we had 5 in our group. When I emailed them asking for any possibilities, they threw an extra cot in a 4 person room for us. The Breakfast is also great, probably one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a hostel. The only downside is that it's a slight trek to up some stairs to get to the hostel, which is on the edge of Zermatt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.3

Staff is very friendly. Rooms and toilets are clean and tidy. big lockers. good view. good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.