Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2017
9.1

Can't beat the views! Be aware that some rooms it's just beds in a row touching one another. This may not be ideal if you have a snorer in the room. Great free breakfast. Walk from station is pretty easy if you aren't loaded with a lot of luggage. Close to the town proper- easy to get around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place with an incredible view and a wonderful staff that answered the myriad of questions my friends and I had about hikes, restaurants, etc. On top of that, we were even greeted with Toblerone chocolates! Highly recommend this hostel :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
7.7

The "dorms" are several beds in a row, touching, so if you don't know the person next you you're basically sleeping with strangers. Staff was friendly, free breakfast and fast wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
8.9

Stayed on my own in female dorm. Place was nice. Outlet near each bed. Lockers you can rent in room with coin and get back. The view of the Matterhorn outside and from the dining room was beautiful. Very social atmosphere too. People were friendly. Only one sink in communal bathroom but there was a sink in our dorm room. Hike up the hill is a little rough with suitcase. Also a little hard to find as the signs call it something different but I'm overall pleased with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarachan021483
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.7

Everything of the hostel is good. I will also recommend the dinner provided as it is really valued for money and economic (3-course costs CHF 17.5) when comparing any restaurants on the street (but remember to book it one day before). Just people usually close doors (room, washroom, etc) heavily so you will hear "pum pum" sounds but this is just human behavior and not problem of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

This was a great hostel! My suitcase didn't fit in the lockers which was frustrating, but everything still felt very safe. The beds are set up sardine style - at least in our room - which was fine but some people might not like sleeping so close to one another. It was a great location, lots of reviews complain that it's up a hill, but everything is up a hill in Switzerland! Would highly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel and the atmosphere is very homey

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

I really wish it was sunny! The walk from the train station is quite a bit, but you can see Matterhorn from the hostel. It was the most expensive hostel I've stayed at, but I think it was still cheap for Zermatt and there was free breakfast so I couldn't complain. The staff was nice, and there were time tables for trains to major destinations so it made it easier to plan my trip.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.7

Pleasant stay, great views, exhausting walk from the train station but worth every step

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th May 2017
8.3

No really complaints but I think the directions to the hostel from the station should let travelers know that although it is a short walk, the last bit has an incline and a series of stairs that can be tiresome after a long day of travel and with heavy luggage. The view out my window as of the Matterhorn so who can really complain. The front desk guy was pretty blah and not at all friendly or welcoming, just down to business and only spoke when absolutely necessary. Smile a bit please.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.