Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 752 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 752 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

A fantastic and convenient spot for a family traveling to zermatt. Family meals were tasty and affordable compared to other options in zermatt. Staff were extremely helpful. And the rooms were comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
7.1

Rude staff, pretty far from main station and up a large hill. The "youth" part of youth hostel is not very founded, either. Lots of older people. And there's a lackluster social atmosphere. Bathrooms are clean. Rooms are clean. Dinner nightly is decent for around 20 CHF, which isn't bad for Zermatt.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.0

We had a beautiful view of the Matterhorn from our room and enjoyed our time in Zermatt. Our chief complaint was that during our stay there were many families with small children and the staff did not seem to enforce noise volumes to be at courteous levels in the common areas. While we were trying to eat or sleep, many children were screaming. Overall, a good value for Zermatt. I hope this can be a reminder to staff to perhaps remind families with children to be respectful of all guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
9.4

The place is very clean and tidy, meals at reasonable price, staff friendly. It's worth all the walking up there from the station. We are very lucky to have a room with clear view of Matterhorn, you could just sit in front of the window watching the clouds move by and appreciating the beauty of nature.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jul 2017
9.4

Very clean. Comfy beds. Reading lights. Friendly staff. Standard continental breakfast. Can see Matterhorn from some rooms which is great (which of course means it is up a hill). Short walk to restaurants shops etc. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2017
5.1

Too expensive

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.3

Hostel was great! Zermatt is small enough that walking anywhere is easy. The rooms were spacious enough and it all felt pretty secure. The free breakfast is a bonus. Value for money wise: the whole town is extremely expensive so it's no surprise that you feel like you are spending an arm and a leg here, but it's good enough.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • satishbahl9326
  • India, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jun 2017
8.3

Good place to stay peace& calmness, food quality is very good lots of options in vegetarian meal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
6.6

Good place to stay if you're in Zermatt for a few days. It's very expensive though, and, like many YHA hostels, it lacks any sort of social area. The staff are good, although the Spanish-speaking guy at reception is rude and aggressive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • BlondeOnTheRun
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.3

Lots of kids and families. It rained while I was there so couldn't see the Matterhorn but it was nice and comfortable to relax.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.