Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Youthhostel Zermatt Located at Staldenweg 5, , Zermatt.
Youthhostel Zermatt
Switzerland
Zermatt Wallis 3920 Staldenweg 5
85% 638
46.0157109 7.7485799
Youthhostel Zermatt
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2016
8.0

We stayed in Zermatt for only a few days. We liked the hostel. The staff is nice and they keep the hostel very clean. Everything in Switzerland is more expensive but I feel like I got a good deal by booking through Hostelworld.com.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
10.0

It's great hostel warm and cosy and in budget. Staff is helpful and greets every guest with free chocolate (toblerone) and help out with stuff. I also got discount on snowboard rental at the shop since I was staying here. I had great time here and will be coming back again for next season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
8.3

Don't expect anything cozy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Oct 2016
8.3

The hostel was nice, it's at the top of a giant hill which was slightly inconvenient if you have a heavy pack. The hill was worth it because you have views of the Matterhorn from a lot of the rooms. The staff was okay, sometimes they would disappear and there would be no one to help at the front desk. If you're solo like I was it is not a very social atmosphere, there were mainly families staying there. The free breakfast was great though and overall it's a good place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2016
8.9

The place is around 15 mins walk from the station. First I thought it was pretty far but then I realized that there were several apartment that further than this. The place was quiet, staff was helpful, the breakfast was nice. In general it was worth the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.4

The hostel was okay. There was no kitchen facilities which made an already expensive place that much more expensive. The room had lockers but three were unusable so I couldn't lock my stuff away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • youaremyrock7020
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.7

loved the veiws.Buses stopped a bit early,hill to walk a a bit steep at end of the day,my legs not very good at times.Loved little village at the top.Everyone freindly. one school group senior some girls screaming,did not think of other guests staying there,group leaders should have more controll over the group and should have taken the to 1 side and spoken to the girls involved.Enjoyed OUR time in Zermatt and Hostel.Would Like to Visit Zermatt and stay in Hostel again.Would recommend to freinds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.0

Nice affordable place, I have nothing bad to say about it except that there is a big hill to get there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
9.1

Walk from the train station isn't bad. Hostel is situated pretty much halfway between town center and hiking trails. Facilities were nice but more lights in the girls bathroom would certainly be convenient. Lots of families and groups, but I didn't have a problem finding some solo travelers to befriend. Front desk was super nice. He asked if I liked stairs and when I replied that I'd been hiking all day he upgraded my room from the 4th floor to a smaller one on the 2nd, no extra cost!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.9

The hostel is pretty far out from the centre of the city and the station, it requires about a 15 minute walk. Please note reception is closed from 10am-4pm. You can store your luggage in a locker but make sure you have a 2 Swiss Franc coin otherwise you can not access the key and since there is nobody at the reception you will be unable to swap any money. The bottom sheet this hotel gives you is made out of towel material and is not particularly comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.