Hostelworld.com

Youthhostel Zermatt

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Youthhostel Zermatt Located at Staldenweg 5, , Zermatt.
Youthhostel Zermatt
Switzerland
Zermatt Wallis 3920 Staldenweg 5
88% 572
46.0157109 7.7485799
Youthhostel Zermatt
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall, is a nice and clean hostel but is really far from the train station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

My first stay in a hostel. All others have a high standard to be compared to! Perfect place for families to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
9.4

The hostel is comfortable and clean with friendly staff. They offer free breakfast (and free coffee until noon) but dinner is 17.60CH. That being said, you get a great home cooked meal and it will be cheaper than you can find anywhere else in Zermatt. The one drawback is that the hostel is on the opposite side of town from the train station and up a large hill. Can be exhausting after walking the whole way with your bag! Luckily Zermatt is small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
7.7

Switzerland is expensive in general so you won't find much better value than here but price can still be considered in relative terms. The breakfast here was probably my favourite of the maybe 20 hostels I've experienced in the past couple years, as well they allow you to make sandwiches for takeaway for €2.5. The rooms and showers are top notch and it really has a hotel vibe. My main gripe is how far/high it is to trek from the station. However it is also closer to the trails because of this

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
9.7

Very nice and clean. The breakfast was good. Lockers kept everything safe. Only bummer was that we had to make our own bed and wifi was not in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
10.0

LOVED this hostel. My room was clean, not too crowded, and the lockers were huge. The bathrooms and common areas were also clean. The staff were very helpful from directions, recommendations, to laundry. Beautiful view of the Matterhorn as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2016
9.7

The staff is really nice and give ususedul information. The whole environment is very clean and tidy. It also include a good breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2016
7.1

This place was just OK for the extreme prices we paid. When we got to our bed, we had to strip the previous occupants sheets (ew) and make up our own. The ensuite toilet had no ventilation. The shower was good though, with hot water. Free breakfast was great, although there are no other cooking facilities. Security was good with each person having their own locker, and the common areas were warm with a nice atmosphere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grfweb5924
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
9.4

The only missing thing to make this Hostel perfect : WIFI available in the rooms/dorms. It is currently available just at the reception and the cafeteria.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
8.3

Nice place! A little expensive, but I guess that's to be expected in Zermatt. We could see the Matterhorn from our window! Outlets by each bed and lockers in each room (although they are count operated with francs, which we didn't have). Nice buffet breakfast included in price, and they were good about giving advice for places to hike and such. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.