Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Zurich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • benphillipson22533
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
14th May 2017
8.3

Overall it was a good place to stay staff super helpful and everything felt safe. It just that their wasn't anything happening in the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.4

Good place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2017
8.9

Very modern and clean. Free wifi throughout building, which was great. Sink/locker room attached to our bedroom was very convenient, especially to not disturb our roommates when we woke up early in the morning. Biggest variety breakfast I've had at a hostel, and very good. Seemed like a very social atmosphere. 10 minute walk from an S-Bahn stop that got us where we needed to go. Seemed more on the expensive side, but everything seemed expensive in Zurich, and at least the hostel was quality.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th May 2017
7.4

Very expensive hostel but it’s Zurich. The location was 20 mins by tram from the centre, trams run often so it wasn’t a problem. Breakfast buffet was included which was good. Room had a sink and the showers outside were clean. While it’s called a “youth” hostel there were a lot of older men (50+) staying here and it had a hotel vibe. Wifi didn't work in my room. Also, you have to make your own bed when you arrive, check out is 10am and no kitchen, when you’re paying so much I expected more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.9

Selected a private four-bed dorm, which was very cozy and clean. We thought the bathroom was part of the private dorm but it wasn't; however, it was right across the hall and it seemed like we were the only ones using it. The staff was nice and the breakfast was good. It is kind of far from the center but it's easy to get there by team (though trams are €4.40 one way, which isn't fun for the budget). Very safe, and it was very quiet while we were there--even with a lot of young kids there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
10.0

I have nothing at all to complain about. The breakfasts and evening meals were much appreciated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Staff were awesome and friendly. Location was definitely out of the way, but it's next to some tram and bus stations. The atmosphere is SUPER sterile, like being in a large university or hospital. Other than that there were really nice people and I enjoyed my EXPENSIVE stay in Zurich

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

The youth hostel is good for the price, and is one of the only reasonably priced hostel in Zurich. When i stayed, the atmosphere was quite boring and hardly anyone hung out in the lobby or bar. I had the worst dinner of my entire trip at the youth hostel, my pork was basically spam, french fries were cold, sweet potatoes were bland, and they somehow messed up the pudding too. Plus they charged me 20 franks for a bad meal. So i would not recommend eating at the hostel. Staff were nice though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Awesome is the word

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
8.0

This hostel was nice. The staff were great, the free breakfast was okay, and your only 10 minutes by tram from the old town of zurich which has great places to eat drink and take pictures. We had a great time drinking at the in-house bar at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.