Hostelworld.com

Youthhostel Zurich

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Youthhostel Zurich Located at Mutschellenstr. 114, , Zurich.
Youthhostel Zurich
Switzerland
Zurich Zurich 8038 Mutschellenstr. 114
81% 1847
47.3475756 8.5276222
Youthhostel Zurich
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel offers a good value accommodation, especially considering that Zurich is not the cheapest city most people will visit in their travels. Good facilities, however not in the city center, but the place can be fairly easily reached with a public transport in about 20 minutes. The hostel provides great complimentary breakfast. Not the most social place and Wi-Fi does only work in the common area, which was a bit puzzling to me. All in all it´s a good option to consider.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
8.6

Just stayed for one night and it was good overall. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and tidy and so are the toilets. From the railway station either take wollishofen bahnof stop or Morgental stop. I found the former one easier. Note: You need some swiss francs (CHF 2 or 5) to use the locker. It is used to lock the locker, you will get it back when you open it again. If you are travelling to Zurich for the first time. Please look into different options for the tram tickets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
8.9

This property feels like a hospital. Four bed dorm feels stuffier than the 6 bed dorm. I suggest if u are claustrophobic stay in the 6 bed dorm. I was verry disappointed there is no shared kitchen. This is not cool when u are trying to save money by eating in especially in a country where everything is super expensive. If I stay there again it's because I couldn't find a hostel with a kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were okay. Little small for four people. The hostel location was a little far from the main part of town but it was super easy to catch a bus. The atmosphere was super chill. Not a lot of people taking to each other though, more staying in their group. If you're traveling alone (like I was) just find someone else alone and talk with them! Overall, a good stay. I would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.4

The room's plugs are loose, almost everyone in the room couldn't use it because the adapters kept falling! Breakfast in amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

Facilities were great. Staff was amazing. Food in the morning was top-notch. The location is pretty far from the stadtzentrum, but the bus ride is about 15-20 minutes and the bus stop is rather close to the hostel. The room wasn't huge, but they left a cool little candy on the pillow, which was cute. The pool table was the best I've ever seen in a hostel...ever. I would definitely come back if I were ever willing to spend an arm and a leg again to come to Zürich.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jaspforever402
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.3

The breakfast compensates the distance to the city center. Really cool and helpful staff. Quite big hostel so don't expect much interaction between guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
5.4

I eats aware of the hostel's rather "rremote" location so no complaints there. The place was very clean and in good repair -- almost too good. It lacks any semblance of character -- all the charm of a hospital or retirement home. And don't get me started on the wifi. It just plain does not work. (15 minutes to send one email, pages very slow to load, no shot at photos or video). The staff said they complain to the regional manager all the time but nothing changes.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • azzacalvin6170
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
18th Mar 2016
6.0

Compared to other countries you really don't get what you pay for but it's Switzerland everything is expensive. Is a really nice hostel but just is super expensive for how little you get. Also really annoying that you can only use wifi in common area. Kinder killed the atmosphere as everyone was down there just to be on technology and no one socialised

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aksahlodha
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.9

Was a very nice play to stay at. The only problem was that wifi was available only in the reception area and not in the rooms. Staff was really helpful and welcoming

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.