Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youthhostel Zurich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
6.9

Great staff and fun atmosphere, but the rooming and living was miserable. Broken AC, Broken charging ports, mediocre breakfast with no real subsistence and then $20 lunch and $20 dinner options give you expensive and average meals.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.9

I enjoyed my stay at Zurich Youth Hostel. No dramas at all, staff were friendly and lots of good advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.0

I had a nice stay in this hostel - bedrooms were comfortable and bathrooms were very clean. Location was good, in the central zone of Zurich (110), but not right in the city. Zurich transport is very efficient and getting to and from the hostel into Zurich was very easy. Only downside is that wasn't particularly good for meeting new people which was a shame for me as I was travelling by myself and was hoping to meet other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
2.9

This was my first truly bad experience with a hostel. The staff wasn't helpful AT ALL- couldn't answer any of my basic questions, and one woman was actually quite rude. The room was nothing special, but it was LOUD. Roommates didn't help (turning on lights at 2 am, snoring, talking, etc), but noise from outside was even worse. The bed was also very uncomfortable & wobbly. The food was so bad that I didn't even finish one meal, & another made me sick. Both of which were served cold.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

The staff was super helpful and friendly, and overall extremely accommodating. It's a short 5-minute walk to the train station that takes you right to the heart of Zurich and the staff is extremely helpful in giving you ideas of what to do/how to get around. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean, and the showers are much nicer than expected. Overall, I'd absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mitchellbjansen4594
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.9

It's a massive hostel and feels a bit like a hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • DDickson
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2017
8.3

Very nice and helpful staff, rooms were clean an tidy as where the facilities. Breakfast buffet included. Not much to do in that area of town. Main reason for choice was the 24hr check in. Felt overpriced overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annerobinson31951869
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
28th May 2017
7.1

Staff were very friendly, beds were comfy and clean as well as the bathrooms. The hostel was a long way out from anywhere so you do need a tram ticket for the duration of your stay here. The common area was cosy but very lonely for a solo traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
9.4

This hostel is amazing! It's a bit out of the way from city center but all you have to do is hop on a train from Zurich HB and its three stops. Then it's like a 5 minute walk from the train station. It's in a residential area. There's free breakfast which is amazing. The staff is soooo friendly and welcoming. The showers were some of the best I've stayed in. They have so much to do like ping pong tables, pool tables, a bar, arcade games and a nice patio. Definitely stay here if you're in Zurich!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
7.1

Too expensive but otherwise a nice place to stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.