X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Zackry Guest House Reviews

Lot.735 Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Langkawi, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
911 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Decent stay, rooms feel like a bit like a motel room. About 15-20 min walk to main beach but not far from decent bars. Owner always in a good mood, could get some fishing done as well!


80%

Room was cleaned every day. Good sheets and towels. Free water and coffee. 5 minute walk from a almost desert beautiful beach. About 20 minutes walk to cenang beach, where all people, restaurants and shops are. Some restaurants near the guesthouse.


89%

I had a great time when I stayed at Zackry Guest House. Ill definitely recommend it for anyone on a budget. They were very accommodating and we actually extended our stay by two nights.


100%

Close to a beach, very friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome. Lovely and social place, a fan room did not get too hot (unlike many other places).


34%

By far the WORSE hostel my partner and I have stayed in. We were in the double room, the stench was awful, the bath towels provided dirty and smelly, the wifi was temperamental, the bed was old and falling apart, couldn't sleep due to hard mattress/pillow. To top it off, just before check out the toilet started to regurgitate feces, water within bowl went brown and started to leak out of drainage system so the stench was unbearable, thank god we were leaving to stay somewhere else up the road!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Seems pax always had bad experience even else where - per pax reviews anyway. We enjoyed happy customers so far. The toilet was blockage to pax doing the previous night. We need to replace the whole toilet and plumbing and lucky we did not charge pax for that. We are the cheapest option in the island. Having said that we will endeavor to make all guests' stay as comfortable as possible. Please remember we offer basic place at an affordable cost, which is why you chose to stay here at first.

97%

The hostel was clean and lockers were provided for valuables. Staff are really very friendly and there's always something going on, and everyone is invited and made to feel included. Thank you for being so friendly and weloming, and for always making us laugh - we have fond memories of our stay!


80%

Great place to stay for meeting other travellers. Sam, the owner (I think) is very sociable and gets everyone talking to each other and is extremely helpful, although he does seem to like the ladies and can be a little overbearing at times. The guesthouse is basic but clean and has a good communal area. The only downside is that it is on the road of the quieter beach (Tengah beach) which is great if that is what you're looking for. On the plus side there are lots of restaurants and bars close by


83%

Excellent staff. Sam even brought us out to fly kites one afternoon. Great hostel environment! Great value for money!


77%

The place feels pretty dated but it's got everything you'd need and is a comfortable enough place to stay. It's quite cheap for a private room, particularly in langkawi. Nice and close to a major beach - pantai tengah.


57%

Zackry's is a guest house with a real backpackers vibe. It is close to the beach but a bit remote re 'city' center and bars. It is as clean as you may expect for the money you pay. Room with double bed and fan has a good size, but the smell was awful (maybe replace the matrass). The owner, Sam, is a nice guy trying to create a family atmosphere and involve everyone in activities. For some (younger) guests this is great, for us (~30y couple and more 'independent') it felt a bit too much.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The mattress is actually new and hence might have the smell from the factory. We are the cheapest option in the island. Having said that we will endeavor to make all guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We wish we could provide all our guests with high thread-count bed linens, over-sized, plush bath towels and feather beads, but please remember we are offer basic place at aat an affordable cost, which is why you chose to spend your money here at the first place. a budget hostel.

69%

The guest house is fine, location and facilities good. Only the staff, the guy managing it, was poor. He didn't give any service, had often to wait till he finished his food or drink. Instead of giving the guests a great time it was more important he had a great time. Resulting in inappropriate seksual comments to girls continously. If he changes his attitude, then Zackry is great.


80%

We enjoyed our stay overall, however the main reason we relocated were that the room was really dark and smelly. We're guessing it's just because it was only the beginning of high season and maybe the room hadn't been used in months, but after 3 days of airing it out, it was still incredibly strong, like a musty, moldy smell. Also the AC kept spitting freezing water on to the bed (which may also be the reason for the smell.) We didn't complain as everything was fine otherwise.


94%

This is a brilliant place to stay if you like seeing an area with other people staying at your hostel. For a small petrol fee, Sam showed us all of the sights on a two day minibus tour. It was an amazing weekend and I look forward to returning with my partner to do some fishing.


66%

There's a weird smell in the rooms and the toilet facilities. The look of the place is a bit outdated. Not so clean - found dirt on my towel. Staff was nice, though. Very simple place. Somewhat close to beach and good (but pricey) restaurants next door. Cheapest option we could find and we were pretty satisfied with our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As mentioned, we are the cheapest option in the island and glad that pax were satisfied with their stay. Having said that we will endeavor to make all guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We wish we could provide all our guests with high thread-count bed linens, over-sized, plush bath towels and feather beads, but please remember we are offer basic place at an affordable cost, which is why you chose to spend your money here at the first place. a budget hostel.

100%

We really liked staying at this guest house. Our group stayed in two rooms - both rooms were very cleaned, and were cleaned daily during our stay. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the beach. The staff were really friendly, and there is a good common area for socialising. I would definitely recommend this guest house, if you are looking for a fairly cheap place to stay in Langkawi.


86%

The hostel is good! Langkawi is a really hot place, so, my advise for you is, book a bedroom with ar conditioning. Me and my friend stayed there for 2 days, and we didn't have any problems. They try to be as clean as they can in the bedrooms. The wifi is good and close to the hostel there is a place with good breakfast (cheap as well) and the hostel gives 10% of discount in this breaksfast.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Okay guesthouse, Wifi is very poor!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Quoted from TM's announcement dated 18 September : Telekom Malaysia Berhad (TM) wishes to announce that our consortium members have detected a fault on the Asia-America Gateway (AAG) submarine cable in Hong Kong segment linking Malaysia to the United States and North Asia. During this period, Internet users may experience some degree of service degradation such as slow browsing and high latency while accessing international websites mainly hosted in the United States (US), North Asia and Europe.

83%

We would like to thank Sam and Pita for the wonderful stay we had at Zakary's, their attitude went a long way to making the end of our holiday both relaxing and enjoyable. The place is well managed, clean and friendly and this rubs off on everyone who stays there. We met some great people and shared some fun times in and out of the guesthouse. We were travelling with our two grandchildren (12 and 10) and they thought it was the best part of their holiday (especially the dogs !!).


100%

I had a very good time there with very friendly staff.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Would not stay again or recommend


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Langkawi Hostels

Please give us your feedback