X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Zackry Guest House Reviews

Lot.735 Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Langkawi, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
937 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Had a good stay here, there's always the opportunity to socialise etc in the common bit and Sam puts together nights that gets everyone involved (and makes a VERY strong rum and coke) it's in the quieter area of pantai tengah, but it never takes too long to walk anywhere.


83%

Really nice staff, friendly and helpful and always inviting us to join them at dinner, to drinks or to a trip. Good social environment. Nice location, walking distance to the beach, and to the many shops.


71%

We stayed in a double bed room with AC for 4 nights. Overall it was good, it does what it says. Just like anywhere on Langkawi one needs a scooter/car to move around. This place is not far from the beach. Someone on a budget this is place is great. The island is duty free so shopping is must, drinking is cheap and the staff can help. But the staff person was bit too chill, and not as pleasant as some of the other hostels we been. Eg playing videos on mobile phone loudly is not cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
“It is hard work and great art to make life not so serious.” ― John Irving, The Hotel New Hampshire We are so sorry that we do not offer conventional way where staff has to go behind reception desk all day and night long and to greet the guests whenever they pass by or even - as much to so many people disappointment to carry guests' luggage to/fro their rooms.

54%

probably my least favorite place in 3 months of travel. I didn't find it clean, there was dust and cobwebs in my room, the whole place feels a bit dark, dingy, run down and in need of some tlc. centipede crawling through my room on the first night. the owner was friendly but made inappropriate comments to me. as a solo female traveler, this made me feel uncomfortable. I realise it's budget but I left and found a nicer, cheaper clean dorm room near cenang beach which was a lot better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Not everybody suitable to stay in our place, however to make up a review is another story. Our place enjoys a very high occupancy all year long. Dust and cobwebs present in a place that has no occupant for long times. Obviously dorm bed can be cheaper than single room that pax takes. Ones should book the accommodation that suit themselves easily chosen through hostelworld by reading explanations and reviews carefully by comparing the prices that suit their budgets.

83%

Great community vibe. Shared dinners and a very social atmosphere. Staff are sometimes inappropriate with girls.


97%

Had a great time at Zackry! Given clean towels and sheets regularly, wifi is good and lots of help given from the owners when needed, who are all lovely! It's 5-10mins from the beach too. Can do your own thing or join in with organised social events if you want...very easy to meet people!


89%

We stayed at the double room with air conditioning. Very basic, but very clean and tidy. Close to two beaches and many restaurants and stores.


91%

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Zackry and always a great visit. Great atmosphere, Sam organizes live music, meals, and always gets everyone to get together and join in., A great backpacking venue.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Probably the best place to stay in Langkawi if you are on limited budget. The room was clean and the facilities well-functioning. Hot water in the shower and wi-fi in the room. The location is also good. Just 10-15 mins on foot to the Pantai Cenang beach and restaurant/shopping area.


91%

Great atmosphere and very friendly and welcoming staff. Would come back there again!


91%

Really enjoyed our stay here, the staff (especially Sam) are amazing. They really wish to include everyone, to feel at home and at ease. The rooms are simple and the bathrooms are always very clean. The location is not where the action is, but very pleasant. It takes just 15 min walk to get to the "center". Great spot.


71%

Decent stay, rooms feel like a bit like a motel room. About 15-20 min walk to main beach but not far from decent bars. Owner always in a good mood, could get some fishing done as well!


80%

Room was cleaned every day. Good sheets and towels. Free water and coffee. 5 minute walk from a almost desert beautiful beach. About 20 minutes walk to cenang beach, where all people, restaurants and shops are. Some restaurants near the guesthouse.


83%

A good hostel a little far from the main drag, although several places hire scooters, which makes it easier. Owner tends to be a little abrupt and offhand. He sits in the common area watching anime loudly on his phone. Otherwise nothing much to note.


89%

I had a great time when I stayed at Zackry Guest House. Ill definitely recommend it for anyone on a budget. They were very accommodating and we actually extended our stay by two nights.


100%

Close to a beach, very friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome. Lovely and social place, a fan room did not get too hot (unlike many other places).


34%

By far the WORSE hostel my partner and I have stayed in. We were in the double room, the stench was awful, the bath towels provided dirty and smelly, the wifi was temperamental, the bed was old and falling apart, couldn't sleep due to hard mattress/pillow. To top it off, just before check out the toilet started to regurgitate feces, water within bowl went brown and started to leak out of drainage system so the stench was unbearable, thank god we were leaving to stay somewhere else up the road!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Seems pax always had bad experience even else where - per pax reviews anyway. We enjoyed happy customers so far. The toilet was blockage to pax doing the previous night. We need to replace the whole toilet and plumbing and lucky we did not charge pax for that. We are the cheapest option in the island. Having said that we will endeavor to make all guests' stay as comfortable as possible. Please remember we offer basic place at an affordable cost, which is why you chose to stay here at first.

71%

The staff is very friendly. Unfortunately the bed and pillows were very hard which make it hard to sleep at night.


69%

This place is pretty run down and not so clean, but if you want cheap and close to a good beach then this is the place to go. The owner sometimes makes weird comments (that I had captured his heart, for example) but is otherwise nice and helpful. There are usually people hanging out in the common area which is nice.


97%

The hostel was clean and lockers were provided for valuables. Staff are really very friendly and there's always something going on, and everyone is invited and made to feel included. Thank you for being so friendly and weloming, and for always making us laugh - we have fond memories of our stay!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Langkawi Hostels

Please give us your feedback