X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Zing Reviews

156 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
257 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Had to ring a member of staff to actually check in, the hostel is not very clean. I seen cockroaches around. One room I stayed in had no air con just a fan.


83%

It is close to everything, had a nice vibe. Only complaint was no curtins on the windows.

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Too much heat in the night makes the sleep very difficult. Some of the roommates were not very friendly and made too much noise. The staff didn't explain how breakfast was served (if shared or everyone had to buy their own food)

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Didn't like this hostel. Arrived 6pm, the reception guy was so slow, said there was no bed sheets available and would bring us some, he didn't. had to go find staff to get some at 10.30pm (reception was closed) room was fairly clean, sink was rank though. Cleaning staff were so rude. Often shouted at me for using the shower before she wanted to clean it. Very limited amount of toilets/showers. Had to always wait and look all over the hostel. Wifi didn't work. Free brekky, no atmosphere,no aircon


86%

A good hostel for sleeping. You can't hang out outside past 930 or ten because of neighbours so no music or alcohol there. Same for inside tv area of its loud you get kicked out. However. The rooms are nice, the kitchen is good, standard breakfast, clean place with plenty of security. Oh and limited wifi


60%

I found the staff at zing unhelpful. We were repeatedly sent next door to th original backpackers when we requested help.


80%

The hostel itself is a liitle grubby and outdated despite the efforts of the cleaning team and staff. There are a number of things that need seeing to, and it could do with a lick of paint. Some of the rooms are a bit cramped and it was over-priced during the holiday season. BUT - Having said this, the staff are lovely. Very helpful and kind. Great atmosphere over Christmas and New Year. Good facilities. Beds are comfy but squeaky!

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

There were cockroaches in the private room! Sink/washing area (in the room) was not cleaned. Lastly internet charge is over-priced.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Close to station, clean but small kitchen & clean showers. Atmosphere a bit 'cliquey' as hostel is full of long term guests. Lots of rules & regulations which make no sense, courtyard closing at 9.45pm so there is nowhere outside to chill of an evening. Rats seen in the courtyard too. Staff hoovered rooms every morning (even Xmas day!) which is not welcome when laying in bed! With the exception of the guy who checked us in, staff were rude unhelpful & reception is not manned at times stated.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Cute little hostel in a convenient location. Stayed in a double room which was clean and comfortable- shower facilities could do with a little updating but perfectly usable.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Horrible beds, no ventilation whatsoever or fan in rooms, cockroaches everywhere.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Pretty good hostel centrally located in potts point. Great atmosphereamong staff and guests! It is a litte cramped and narrow and alsofilled withcockroaches. However both thesethings seem tobe true for all of kings cross. Overall i would recommend zing


63%

Not the best location if you are in for holiday and wanting to see all the touristy attractions. The bathrooms weren't very clean, nor was the hostel itself. The staff was friendly. Check-in wasn't until noon and our plane landed at 10:30 am, so we couldn't even settle in for 1.5 hours, which was a little inconvenient. The street life outside was very busy.


80%

There was free breakfast but only about three spoons! The people were very friendly. The room had a mini fridge and lots of storage space, which was very convenient, but the bunk beds were very creaky.


86%

Convenient location in Potts Point near Kings Cross. Comfortable bed and my single room was clean and big with a in-room sink which is very handy. Tad bit on the expensive side in terms of price though. But it's a pleasant hostel to stay in.


94%

Stayed here for 2 weeks and had a great time. Rooms were clean, staff were very helpful and the hostel had a great atmosphere.

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Hostel is quiet and very clean and secure. Nice staff.


77%

I really like this hostel! Every time I'm in Sydney this is my hostel!




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback