Hostelworld.com

Zing

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
Zing Located at 156 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Zing
Australia
Sydney 2011 156 Victoria Street, Kings Cross
72% 264
-33.8728385 151.2226867
Zing
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
6.6

Value for Money. Near Kings Cross Station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
4.9

I ended up staying just the one night at zing because it was not the most pleasant of experiences. To begin with a lot of the time there is no staff on hand and the front desk is closed. Second the internet is very limited and only worked in the common area. There is only one very small common area that is available after 9:30pm, which means if you want to have a late meal and don't want to eat it in your room you will have to fight for a bit of space on one of the couches.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jan 2016
6.0

Had to ring a member of staff to actually check in, the hostel is not very clean. I seen cockroaches around. One room I stayed in had no air con just a fan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • helenharts
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Jan 2016
2.0

I'm sorry to do this, but this was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Room was double booked, so I had to move rooms after first night. Staff were openly arguing with each other and so unhelpful. Dorm was absolutely filthy, ensuite hadn't been cleaned in a long time. Top bunk had no sides. Very messy room, and did not feel secure. Very cliquey - mostly long termers. Breakfast just white toast. Was supposed to be staying 3 nights but left after 2. Don't bother with the airport shuttle bus.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2016
8.3

It is close to everything, had a nice vibe. Only complaint was no curtins on the windows.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2016
8.6

Too much heat in the night makes the sleep very difficult. Some of the roommates were not very friendly and made too much noise. The staff didn't explain how breakfast was served (if shared or everyone had to buy their own food)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Jan 2016
5.4

Didn't like this hostel. Arrived 6pm, the reception guy was so slow, said there was no bed sheets available and would bring us some, he didn't. had to go find staff to get some at 10.30pm (reception was closed) room was fairly clean, sink was rank though. Cleaning staff were so rude. Often shouted at me for using the shower before she wanted to clean it. Very limited amount of toilets/showers. Had to always wait and look all over the hostel. Wifi didn't work. Free brekky, no atmosphere,no aircon

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2016
8.6

A good hostel for sleeping. You can't hang out outside past 930 or ten because of neighbours so no music or alcohol there. Same for inside tv area of its loud you get kicked out. However. The rooms are nice, the kitchen is good, standard breakfast, clean place with plenty of security. Oh and limited wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2016
6.0

I found the staff at zing unhelpful. We were repeatedly sent next door to th original backpackers when we requested help.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2015
8.0

The hostel itself is a liitle grubby and outdated despite the efforts of the cleaning team and staff. There are a number of things that need seeing to, and it could do with a lick of paint. Some of the rooms are a bit cramped and it was over-priced during the holiday season. BUT - Having said this, the staff are lovely. Very helpful and kind. Great atmosphere over Christmas and New Year. Good facilities. Beds are comfy but squeaky!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.