X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

eHostel Reviews

Rua Pompeu Loureiro, 110, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
133 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel was in a good location, clean and the staff were welcoming and very helpful.I liked the birightness of the hostel with no clutter just the minimum that is required. The Breakfast was served like a buffet with plenty of coffee juices yogurt,bread and cake and local fruit. the bunk bedding in the dorms was comfortable and clean with hardly any privacy, but cosy.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is probably the best value hostel (or any accommodation) in Copacabana. eHostel is 4 short blocks away from Copacabana Beach and 1 block away from the Metro/Subway. It has very clean facilities and free breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • PJose
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Hostel, clean, the suite is awsome, better than many hotels I've stayed in my life, the staff is friendly and is reasonably close to the beach, I will sure to go back there.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good all round. No control of noise. Some people listening to music and talking very loudly in the lounge until late at night. But otherwise, all good!

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Good Hostel, very clean, nice people and good location!!

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean , great location and good breakfast!!!


86%

Not only extremely clean and confortable, but also with a good vibe. only recently opened, the facilities look flawless. staff could be friendlier and more outdoors services and tours could be provided, though. well located in the end of copacabana, close to ipanema. I would definitly recomend it. value for the money.


97%

We stayed in 6 hostels in rio and this one was BY FAR the best. The bunk beds are the most spacious that we have stayed in with actual comfortable mattresses and pillows. You have ur own electric port and bed light. The showers are amazing (really clean with actual strong pressure). They have a open plan kitchen / bar. A TV room which is decorated so nice like a home rather than a hostel. There's an outside patio with comfy chairs to chill and smoke outside. Also the staff are really chilled out


94%

Nice hostel, new furniture. Great location, it´s in the best part of Copacabana and quite close to Ipanema (15 min walk). The staff is very helpful and gives lots of tips about places to visit.


69%

The kitchen is only availble until 1900 as it turns into the bar after that. No direct access to fridge- have to ask staff to put stuff in and take it out. Hard to know who is working there sometimes as there can be lots of non guests hanging around watching tv. Very nice bunks with reading lights and sockets. Good air-con (though only on at night). Laptops for guest use is good. Breakfast is ok but there are no tables or space to eat it. Good location only a few blocks from the beach.


83%

Nice hostel. Very clean. People helpful. Breakfast not too good.


66%

The friendliness of the owners made up for a lot of things.The hostel is relatively new but has a big problem with mold. If some small things would be changed a stay would be a lot more comfortable:Please change the doors of the dorm.It is impossible to shut the quietly!With 12 people going in and out especially at night this is kind of annoying!Breakfast starting at 8.30 is too late!And please tell the cleaning lady that light and noise at 8.30 is too early!!! And open the door when it rings!

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The problem with this hostel is that they don't have wifi in the rooms, but only in the small lobby area. They have way more beds than the few seats/sofas in the lobby area, so it is a huge draw back for me. Another issue while I was staying there was that they have this movement-sensor light activation installed in bathrooms. But not in the shower area, so when I went to shower in the night and nobody came into the bathroom, the bathroom turned completely dark. That left me quite shocked.


77%

Nice and modern. Avoid the top bunk though. Some of the staff are friendly but others are not. I found it to be mostly clean, could improve but nothing terrible.


57%

We stayed in a 12 person dorm where the bunk beds were 3 beds high!!!!! Absolutely ridiculous!!! The room was absolutely jam packed as there was 12 people in there at once. The showers and toilets were all in one and could be locked from the inside and regular waits for the toilets / showers was expected. Only stayed here one night thankfully. If nothing else is available book here.


86%

Very recomendable fr staying in copacabana, near the metro, beach and good bars around. I would turn off the tv to crate more atmosphere. Perhaps it could be moved to 1st floor and make downstairs a friendlier space. But for sure is a place to recommend, good staff, very clean, amazing breakfast, and nice bar to have a drink before goint out.


66%

The bed are great, the blankets are awesome. The AC may be a lil bit too strong. Two cons: there is no real space for breakfast, since the bar is occupied with food and there's no pshysical space for sitting down and placing a cup. This can be real uncomfortable. Thay rent bikes, but they don't have locks to them. (...)


94%

I'll recommend e Hostel to my friends, because the staff is very friendly! Every morning you have fresh breakfast. When you arrive, you feel immediatly at home. Hope I can go again there in the future! Thanks all the staff for this week!

  • 4th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Loved everything : friendly staff, good location, yummy breakfast, awesome carioca atmosphere, nice eco-friendly design, etc

  • 2nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent place! It isn`t a very big hostel so the staff always know all the people and is concerned with them. The place is very pleasant, clean an cosy. Breakfast is great, with fruits, bread, juices, yogurt, and lots of other things. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable! All rooms have air conditioning, that make all the difference! Bathrooms are always clean. The staff speaks english a spanish very well! I just love it and I pretend staying there again!


(62 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback