Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel Located at Swoyambhu -15, Kimdole Kathmandu, Buddha Park, Kathmandu.
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Nepal
Kathmandu 7265 Swoyambhu -15, Kimdole Kathmandu, Buddha Park
84% 251
27.7135840 85.2844190
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Jul 2016
10.0

Great to be out of the hassle of Thamel. Great helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
8.0

Great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
9.4

This is the best option for those who want to be away from the chaos of the Thamel Centre, but still be able to get in and out of there easily, plus you're next to the Monkey Temple and amazing view of whole Kathmandu. The atmosphere and staff are great and definitely add a charm to the place; they're always with a smile on their faces and willing to help. The facilities and cleaningness are not of a 5star hotel, but you "get what you pay for", and should understand different cultural habits

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
6.9

Toilets didn't flush (no water) quite a few times over three days, which was not very pleasant. Next to Monkey Temple and nothing else. About 45 minute walk to Thamel - it's not difficult but it gets pretty hot during the day. Wifi slow but it's Nepal. Some staff good and some not so... four bedroom dorm was fine. I'd say better off staying closer to Thamel. It is cheap but you can find similar in town. Free luggage storage while trekking. Enjoy Kathmandu!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
4.3

The staff were quite helpful with organising taxis and friendly and I also met some cool people which helped. The beds in the dooms were also good because they were not bunks. The vibe of the hostel was pretty grim. The rooms had no fan and the only way to get air was have the windows open which wouldn't usually be a hassle except that there was a pack of dogs just below that barked practically all night. Everyone in the room was effected by it. Also the bathrooms were really dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
6.6

The airport pick up was equal to the price of my stay. The bathrooms rarely had hot water and toilet paper had to be purchased. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The location is very far from the centre of Kathmandu but a short walk from the monkey temple. The hostel is slightly over priced for what it brings to the table, but was a good short stay before I headed off. They let you keep your luggage there for free for a week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • samdalrymple123
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I've been to. Staff are just the best, made some amazing friends, view from the roof is spectacular at night and they actually have a turtle

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Incredible stay at the Sparkling turtle. The staff is incredibly helpful, friendly and fun. They arranged everything for me, from the airport pick up to an amazing trip in the Annapurnas. The hostel is in a quiet, residential street and only a few meters away from shops and the monkey temple.The sparkling turtle attracts guests from all walks of life and I met very interesting people here. The staff also pointed out all the secret spots and insider tips which really made my stay in Kat amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Had an amazing time Thanks a lot See u guys later on 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.6

I LOVED my time at The Sparkling Turtle. The Staff is super friendly and helpful and they really look out for you. They have a restaurant/cafe in the hostel which is very nice since there aren't many places around the area to eat at late at night. The hostel is about a 30-40 walk away from the Thamel shopping district but it's not a bad walk and you can sightsee along the way. The Hostel is right next to the Monkey Temple which is fun to check out! Also, the beds are super comfy!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.