Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
7.4

We were recommended to stay here and it didn't really live up to expectations. They didn't change the sheets on our beds, my girlfriend found a GoPro that the previous occupant had left under the pillow. There wasn't enough bathrooms for the shared rooms. And it's a mooch from town. But the social bar/restaurant area was good and getting free breakfast for the price was great. Overall I guess you get what you pay for. Some people kept returning their and obviously loved it. It's just not for me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.7

Simply great, loved it, would recommend will stay again when in the Kathmandu area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
10.0

These guys are great, thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I went trekking for a few days came back and decided to stay here for the rest of my trip. Nice to away from Thamel (much quieter) but still close enough for a cheap cab or a short walk. The place was clean and I couldn't ask for better staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Amazing staff, very nice and helpful and made you feel very welcome! Great location close to the monkey temple, and walking distance from the most important things to see in Kathmandu. All in all a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
7.1

The staff there also wear a sour and sullen face. Everything is charged including hot water 10 for a bottle, mineral water 40 a bottle

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

It's a nice hostel with a good staff. I made many friends during my stay there and enjoyed the area where it's located near the Monkey Temple. It's nice to be in a quieter part of the city away, but it's still close enough to Thamel that you can go there and enjoy the nightlife if you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
7.1

Staff was awesome! The hostel is near the monkey temple but nothing else. Decent beds with warm blankets. It was okay for a night but won't be staying again on my way out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
10.0

Easily one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. If you are looking for a great experience in Kathmandu, this is the place to start! Amazing staff, great food and real hot showers (a rare commodity in Nepal, you'll find). The guys there will help you out with anything you need and get you where you need to go, hassle free! They can also book tickets and travel for you cheaper than if you try to figure it out on your own. Keep in mind, It's not in central Thamel but it's an easy walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel you will end up falling in love with the people. The owner is amazing and will do anything to help you. It's location is outside of the thamel area but they have bike hires available or walking takes about 30 minutes. The cafe has decent priced food and it all made from scratch. I noticed regular travelers kept returning and I understand why. Because of the guys than run the place are amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • livonashoestring
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Great staff - really close to the Monkey Temple, but of a trek to the city centre / Patan but not too far (cheap cabs)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.