Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel Located at Swoyambhu -15, Kimdole Kathmandu, Buddha Park, Kathmandu.
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Nepal
Kathmandu 7265 Swoyambhu -15, Kimdole Kathmandu, Buddha Park
89% 279
27.7135840 85.2844190
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Nov 2016
7.7

Wifi wasn't great unfortunately and the washing machine was broken whilst we were here but they have a massive roof terrace where we were able to dry the clothes we'd washed ourselves. Staff were very helpful and let us keep our stuff here whilst we went trekking which was a massive help. Location is about 45 minute walk out of the city centre but worth it for the quiet and being so close to the Monkey Temple. Hot showers in the evening were a bonus! And they have actually turtles!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.1

Great place to stay in Kathmandu, a bit away from the craziness of Thamel but still a short taxi ride away. staff are friendly, food is good, great place to meet fellow travelers! I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.4

Very helpful staff and loads of friendly travellers to meet! Lots of great advice on what to do, I had a great time, would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Nov 2016
6.9

Nicely situated next to Monkey temple. The staff is nice as well as the common area / restaurant. Dogs bark a lot on the street but otherwise pretty quiet (no traffic noise). The lack of cleaniless takes the points down: bathrooms are very dirty and one night there was dirty brown water coming from the shower. Also, the linen is not changed after every guest... We saw this as our roomies left and the staff just came to make the bed without changing the linen and then the new ones came in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

The hostel was clean, with great staff. It had a nice atmosphere with everyone very friendly. Also a close walk thamel a major city and the monkey temple which is beautiful especially at sunrise and sun set.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2016
8.9

I ended staying here 8 nights in total. I booked my trek through the hostel as they are partnered with Green Valley treks and they kept my stuff for me while I was away. The location is around a 40 min walk from Thamel but I much preferred being surrounded by monkeys than noise of horns etc. Everyone who worked here are very lovely and friendly. I felt at home here and would definitely recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.4

This place is located just outside the hustle and bustle of Thamel but in prime location for most of the sites to visit in Kathmandu. Located on the door step of the 3 giant Buddha's and the monkey temple this hostel provides the best of both worlds in this great city. We were collected upon our arrival by one of the owners at the airport which was extremely comforting as it was our first time in Nepal. We enjoyed our stay so much we shall be returning to the hostel after we're done in Chitwan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.1

The best thing about The Sparkling Turtle is how it makes you feel like in your own living room. The staff is incredibly sweet, helpful and always want to join in for conversation, for a drink, for dinner. They also do their utter best to accomodate all your needs and questions about Nepali culture and potential sightseeing and hiking trips. They also serve really nice and affordable food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Oct 2016
9.4

Great place... Staff was very kind and helpful. Dorms were clean and the food was decent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.7

I only give "value for money" less then 10/10 as I I booked a private room which was a double so have to pay for both spaces..... but that my choice. This place is awesome. Located 10 mins away from "Monkey Temple" so not in the main noisy town. Food is amazing and the warm welcome and hospitality offered and given by these chaps is next to none. Highly recommend. Great social areas, music and meet other people. They will help you in any way. Thanks guys, see you soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.