Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • liv_d-s6468
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
9.1

I stayed here 4 nights before I went trekking and enjoyed it so much that I stayed again for another week afterwards. Everyone you meet here, whether the staff, owners or other travellers is what makes this place special. It's a super relaxing environment, with great food available most of the day. No lockers but that wasn't a problem for me at all. If you need assistance with anything they are only too willing to help. Can't wait til my next stay in Nepal so I can come back to the Turtle

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
10.0

Awesome staff, relaxed atmosphere, nice location, I definitely strongly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.0

We were very happy with our experience at the Sparkling Turtle, the staff were all really friendly and the food was great. The portion sizes were good, but just watch out for the additional taxes. The location is good if you want a bit of break from the busier streets of the city and the view from the rooftop is lovely. We felt very welcome and the atmosphere was nice. Just note that they do run a trekking & tour company from the Hostel. Overall we would definitely recommend this Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing staff. Amazing food. Amazing accomodation. Everyone went out of their way to make sure my friends and I had an amazing time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

We loved our stay at the sparkling turtle hostel! We stayed for 4 days before trekking and a few days after. The staff and owner really give a personal touch and make you feel so welcome - we really recommend a stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
6.9

Great value for money and much more calm and quiet than places near the center. A bit to far from Thamel to walk more than once a day, and the area around the hostel is not very interesting. Staff was generally friendly though some also a bit too friendly for my taste. Also a lot of joint-smoking in the common area by both staff and guest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
7.7

I did really enjoy this hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful and everything was clean. But there were no locks on the dorm doors and no lockers. I knew going into this place that it was far away, but it is about a 40 minute walk to the shopping, bars, and restaurants in Thamel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.7

Clean rooms and toilets. Nothing special but great value for money. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
9.4

Superb, Good hospitality. location is good as it is far away from crowd of thamel. service and people are excellent. also you get complimentary breakfast. cheers!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

What an amazing place! Great staff, great atmosphere, amazing food (try the panner burger)... The only problem is the really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really * internet connexion. It feels like there's no wifi at all haha :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.