Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
7.1

The staff there also wear a sour and sullen face. Everything is charged including hot water 10 for a bottle, mineral water 40 a bottle

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

It's a nice hostel with a good staff. I made many friends during my stay there and enjoyed the area where it's located near the Monkey Temple. It's nice to be in a quieter part of the city away, but it's still close enough to Thamel that you can go there and enjoy the nightlife if you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
7.1

Staff was awesome! The hostel is near the monkey temple but nothing else. Decent beds with warm blankets. It was okay for a night but won't be staying again on my way out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel you will end up falling in love with the people. The owner is amazing and will do anything to help you. It's location is outside of the thamel area but they have bike hires available or walking takes about 30 minutes. The cafe has decent priced food and it all made from scratch. I noticed regular travelers kept returning and I understand why. Because of the guys than run the place are amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • livonashoestring
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Great staff - really close to the Monkey Temple, but of a trek to the city centre / Patan but not too far (cheap cabs)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

I can't rate this place any higher. The best atmosphere of any backpackers I've ever stayed at. The staff go so far out of there way to help, the communal areas make socialising with other travellers pleasantly inescapable and the location is close enough to Thamel to feel a part of it all but far enough out to take a quiet minute to reflect over your love of KTM. 10 out of TEN

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
9.1

An extremely sociable place. Great vibe, the common area is great and it's very easy to meet new people. The location is good, even though not in Thamel. The staff was very nice and hospitable. The manager helped me in a way which is not granted when I had a medical issue. This place has definitely made my Nepal experience much better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, a little bit far away from the center. Nice staff, owner is sometimes a little bit ... well ... too much business man and less hostel owner, if you know what I mean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
5.7

It's fine to spend couple of nights in this hostel It's just a place to rest at night not really the best to chill in Would be perfect for one night or maybe if it's a group travel defiantly not for solo traveler Nothing unique here but it's a quite location far from Thamel noises, not the best walk to there though Staff were normal and always had to wait in queue for the hot shower Poor breakfast as well and kind late for an early morning person

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
10.0

There's business..and there's family. I truly can't thank the boys at Sparkling Turtle for taking care of me enough. Came looking for a place to sleep, left with a group of brothers :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.