Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel Located at Swoyambhu -15, Kimdole Kathmandu, Buddha Park, Kathmandu.
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Nepal
Kathmandu 7265 Swoyambhu -15, Kimdole Kathmandu, Buddha Park
86% 261
27.7135840 85.2844190
the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
9.7

Absolutely phenomenal. Staff was so helpful with arranging transportation and guides for those trekking. Gear rental is also available. Definitely made my Nepali experience even better, just because of the Sparkling Turtle. So clean, so nice, safe, and so chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Very good hostel! The owner picked us up from the airport and happily took us to an ATM on the way to the hostel. When we arrived he showed us around and explained that if we needed anything just to ask. He offered us excursions (but we already had some booked so kindly declined). The staff were always around and very friendly making sure that we were doing ok! The food here is amazing, we had daal bhat for both days and it was very tasty and very cheap! Would definitely come back here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.4

This is a very nice place to stay. The staff is really friendly and helpful. They have arranged good airport transfers and other taxi rides, also printed my boarding passes. I stayed 5 nights at this hostel and I would come back if I visit Nepal again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
8.9

I thought the location would be cool since it was close to the monkey temple and it is pretty cool. Monkeys came over to the balconies. The only downside to the location is that it is a 30+ min walk to Thamel where everything is happening. Walking back at night is a little scary. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast meals but hey it was free . I was in Kathmandu for 4 days. if you like it more quiet then this is the perfect hostel....except for those damn pesky dogs that bark all night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
10.0

Great to be out of the hassle of Thamel. Great helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
8.0

Great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
9.4

This is the best option for those who want to be away from the chaos of the Thamel Centre, but still be able to get in and out of there easily, plus you're next to the Monkey Temple and amazing view of whole Kathmandu. The atmosphere and staff are great and definitely add a charm to the place; they're always with a smile on their faces and willing to help. The facilities and cleaningness are not of a 5star hotel, but you "get what you pay for", and should understand different cultural habits

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
6.9

Toilets didn't flush (no water) quite a few times over three days, which was not very pleasant. Next to Monkey Temple and nothing else. About 45 minute walk to Thamel - it's not difficult but it gets pretty hot during the day. Wifi slow but it's Nepal. Some staff good and some not so... four bedroom dorm was fine. I'd say better off staying closer to Thamel. It is cheap but you can find similar in town. Free luggage storage while trekking. Enjoy Kathmandu!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
4.3

The staff were quite helpful with organising taxis and friendly and I also met some cool people which helped. The beds in the dooms were also good because they were not bunks. The vibe of the hostel was pretty grim. The rooms had no fan and the only way to get air was have the windows open which wouldn't usually be a hassle except that there was a pack of dogs just below that barked practically all night. Everyone in the room was effected by it. Also the bathrooms were really dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
6.6

The airport pick up was equal to the price of my stay. The bathrooms rarely had hot water and toilet paper had to be purchased. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The location is very far from the centre of Kathmandu but a short walk from the monkey temple. The hostel is slightly over priced for what it brings to the table, but was a good short stay before I headed off. They let you keep your luggage there for free for a week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.