X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 664 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 74%
  • 8th Dec 2014

facilities average as the staff told at entrance there were some WiFi problems, they were quite persistent and offered solution not really working. The conformation email was a bit harsh and right in your face, especially as your over 40, discussed it with the staff . Understand the More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Dec 2014

One of the best hostels I have ever been to. Friendly staff and good location. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 395 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 12th Dec 2014

Quiet location away from the city centre, but easy to get to the city ($2 by bus, frequent service.) Plenty of shops, cafes and pubs nearby in Mount Eden village; supermarket about 15 min walk - open until midnight; on bus route to airport. And that's in addition to the friendly and More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 2nd Dec 2014

Great place to stay. Johnny was very helpful and answered all my questions. WiFi was sketchy sometimes, buy Epsom library is fairly close for faster WiFi access during the day. Definitelu recommended. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 334 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 5th Dec 2014

I chose to return to this relaxed and easy going hostel . Smallish and perfectly placed with unobtrusive staff More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 26th Nov 2014

Nice and beautiful place in a cool are of Auckland. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 81 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 19th Nov 2014

To have breakfast and dinner together is really awsome and it had a perfect taste! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 30th Oct 2014

Awesome community setting! Beware if you want luxury this isn't for you. It's a place where you hang out on old couches and help with dinner and cleaning. It's a cozy place when just arriving in a new area and the people are super helpful. Bikes were available for a small fee for a great More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 398 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 13th Dec 2014

Cooking area could be bigger and in better condition (its just one dirty unit with 2 hot plates where one falls apart and is very unsafe). We were told that the empty, broken fridge is there for over 9 month. The shower has lots of mold. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 26th Nov 2014

Good hostel with free unlimited wifi that is really quick! Stayed here both times I was in Auckland. Recommend it! More
Anonymous (Wales) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 322 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 9th Dec 2014

Best hostel ive stayed at so far on my trip, clean, extremely central, helpful and friendly staff and generally great hostel....even had communal hairdryer and straighteners!! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Dec 2014

Really sweet and helpful staff! Great place and location. Not really a party hostel, people seem to keep to themselves. However, still managed to get a good group going on their outdoor patio with a few beers. Incredibly clean kitchen. Bathrooms are a little janky. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 438 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 63%
  • 12th Nov 2014

Helpfull and friendly staff! Poor toilet/bathroom facilities. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Nov 2014

Pretty central, good rooms and friendly staff! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 210 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 26th Nov 2014

Excellent hostel, nice common room area, lots of free stuff like BBQs on Fridays and ice cream in Wednesday. The Thursday pub crawl is decent too, not like normal ones where you get ripped off and the bars are lame. Re other comments about the dirty bathrooms, they have had a complete More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 25th Nov 2014

I had to work while i was in the hostel but there wasn't freewifi in the hostel and the paid service was really expensive, because of that i had to spend a long time in a coofe hear the that offered 1GB free wifi a day. However people in the recepion is really friendly, but the the laundry More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.9

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 97%
  • 8th Dec 2014

Very friendly staff and clean hostel in a very good area connected to CBD. More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Oct 2014

Great little hostel. A short walk from queen street. Up by the hostel is a small shopping area. Subway and some nice cafés. I had a private single very nice room. Clean. Had a bed, chair, mirror, table and a wardrobe. Wish it had a tv though. Kitchens, showers, toilets, laundry and More
Shakyjake1989 (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 26th Nov 2014

The staff was awesome...so helpful...great kitchen...good mix of people More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 13th Oct 2014

The actual hostel itself is a beautiful building however the rooms are very basic for the price, with very basic facilities and also heard someone banging on the door downstairs at about 3am which was a bit surprising. Felt more like a B and B rather than a hostel - More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback