X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 504 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Tidy and neat. I've never seen such a cleanliness in a hostel. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Clean accommodation in quiet Mt. Eden. However, there were many long-term residents here when I arrived-very loud and cliquey. All lockers in the dorm room were taken by the long term residents (some were using 3-4 lockers) and refused to move items. Decent place with friendly manager and More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 420 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

Convenient, quiet place to stay when traveling in and out of Auckland airport, friendly staff/owners and easy airport pickup. A bit on the expensive side but worth it for the convenience. More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Jul 2015

It is in an ideal location for the airport with a good shuttle. Quiet. Had a nice big lounge area and kitchen. Clean and comfy beds More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 135 Total Reviews

No.3

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 91%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

The hostel was good, the facilities are good however the WiFi isn't free and neither is the parking. My vehicle got towed on my checkout and I was not happy about this seeing as there should be free parking and exemption for backpackers staying at the hostel. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Good location. Very functional. No male bathroom on our floor, so one person in our group had to go downstairs. Other than that decent hostel. Staff very helpful More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 96 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 7th Jul 2015

There should be at least small lockers somewhere in the hostel that could be used to lock small valuable items in, leaving everything out in the rooms or carrying valuables around with you isn't ideal. I have never stayed at a hostel before that doesn't have some form of lockers available More
seonaidkyle914 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 13th May 2015

nice house,nice kitchen,no free WIFI. More
Anonymous (China) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 25th Aug 2015

Nice friendly hostel. Accommodating staff. More
reeesy (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 590 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 15th Aug 2015

We were there for the Bledisloe cup (All Blacks vs Australia) so it was a very bust night for the hostel and they had a lot of one night stays (including us). Unfortunately we were kept awake a lot of the night due to very drunk travelers screaming and crying outside our room. Not great More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 9th Aug 2015

Average hostel, the common area didn't seem that inviting. There were enough facilities around but not very much to make it stand out. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 777 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Big house, nice staff and clean rooms. Bus just 2min walking distance, free internet which is huge and an awesome common area. Recommend it. More
Anonymous (Zimbabwe) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Aug 2015

I have been 3 times at Bamber House during my stay in New Zealand the past 5 months and i will always come back to this nice house. The manager was always helpful and very kind, people are open and easy talking to. Kitchen and bathrooms are clean, i loved the fireplace in the huge living More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 108 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 31st May 2015

Excellent hostel, one of the best I ever have in life. People there are super amazing. If you would love to meet some good friends , this is the place ! Thanks every Fatcat backpackers for making my trip super awesome ! More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 9th May 2015

I enjoyed the staff's friendliness. The two meals that came with the cost of the stay was healthy. It was interesting to share in the chores by pulling straws. Being early winter, getting hot water for a shower took a long time to warm up, and there was no hot water to wash dishes. More
kauaisam149 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 472 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 14th Jul 2015

All the staff at the hostel was just great in all ways, very friendly and helpfull! The atmosphere there was nice and very close to nice restaurants and coffees. It was a pleasant experience being there! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 21st Apr 2015

Timelimited wifi and paying for hot showers is poor. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback