X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 66 Total Reviews

No.1

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 94%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Clean, close to the center, very nice! More
mmroczko7037 (Poland) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Room was good, bathrooms were super clean. The kitchen was pretty lacking though. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 6th Sep 2014

What an awesome place. This hostel is perfectly located and is immaculate but at the same time with tonnes of character. The atmosphere is such that it is a magnet for cool people and I had some great chats to some fellow adventurers at heart. More
abelcrawford1140 (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 1st Aug 2014

This is your home away from home. Most people here stay for several weeks and have jobs, so not too noisy at night. Also, everyone keeps it clean. People hang around in the big kitchen (where there are two big wooden tables) and the living room and are glad to meet new faces as well. The More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 349 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

The kitchen, bathroom and common room are nice. Well located in Auckland if you wanna stay close to Mount Eden (great place to stay btw). The rooms are quiet nice, you have only simple beds which is nice. However, they wanna save energy so the plugs turn off every 45 minutes and you have More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Jul 2014

I stayed in a single room and it was wonderfully quiet in such a cool location. Staff are really sweet and friendly. I like the energy-saving principle of the timed powerpoints, but there was only one in my room and I had to choose between charging my camera and putting the heater on. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 361 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 5th Sep 2014

Nice and oldfashioned rooms More
Anonymous (Russia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 30th Jul 2014

Very friendly and homely place to stay :) More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 314 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 54%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

Some staff members have attitude problems More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Aug 2014

Very nice little hostel! Cozy TV room, easy to get to know people. Staff was fantastic! Andy spent a LOT of his time to help me plan my NZ trip. Got me on the Stray bus, which was awesome! More
Anonymous (Norway) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 550 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 7th Jul 2014

Not very good. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 6th Jul 2014

Nice place to stay, the only real disappointment was that there was no free wifi, unless YHA members. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 193 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

Nice hostel, very clean, the staff is friendly and competent, the position is really good in the CBD. Good choice! :) More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 13th Jul 2014

The code for the front door change so often and when it's too late and the reception is closed it happens that you are locked outside because you did not get the new code number More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 421 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Owner was very friendly... Place had a great feel seemed like a great backpackers lovely people. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 21st Jun 2014

Borders Beyond looked to me a Home right after I first stepped into the kitchen/living room, where other people where living their stay as house mates. It does not feel to be in a pack and go, fast and busy place, it got atmosphere!!It is not a huge hostel, therefore allows for quiet More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 104 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Newton Lodge

  • 27 Cross Street, Newton, PO BOX 68571, Newton, Auckland
  • 94%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Really nice, very clean and the staff couldn't help enough. Nice crowd and perfect location, just outside of the main stretch and in a funky area with some great cheap food places. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 24th Aug 2014

Bathrooms were clean enough but kitchen and bedrooms full of bags of food all over the place. The residents watch films but leave their cups and snack packets out for staff up pick up the next day. Wierd atmosphere, said hello to every person I saw but was lucky to get a response. Really More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback