X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 417 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Freemans lodge

  • 65 Wellington street, Freemans bay,Auckland, Auckland
  • 94%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

Very neat, I can book again. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 482 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 3rd May 2015

Nice and cosy little place. Really has a home feel to it (it is actually in a house). A little out of town (30min walking or 10min by bus) but enough shops right atthe corner to survive. Great atmosphere thanks to great common area (though the dining area could be a little updated). WiFi More
Anonymous (France) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

Comfortable, clean, lovely reception guy, very pleasant area - a good place for my last night in NZ! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 101 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 5th May 2015

A great place to relax if you're stressed out take a day or two to unwind befor going on an adventure. it will set the tone for the rest of your trip and put your mind in the right place for traveling and remind you that it isn't always about pushing yourself to see everything as quickly More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

The staff and guest were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was conducive for meeting quality people. The work shops were fun and informative. Unfortunately someone walked off with my pair of Keens which cost me quite a lot to replace at Kathmandu. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 108 Total Reviews

No.4

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 80%
  • 14th Apr 2015

The staffs are friendly and the room, the toilet and the shower room are clean! If it has more cooking utensils will be better More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 29th Mar 2015

Very secure, a bit of walk -15 minutes- from city centre. Staff very helpful for hints to sell my van, how to get around the area and for the gym of the neighboring YMCA. There is a lack of atmosphere since the place is huge. I think the place is a bit pricey since it's not close to More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 13th May 2015

nice house,nice kitchen,no free WIFI. More
Anonymous (China) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 6th May 2015

Great facilities and great stay! I wish there were lockers or safes to store valuables though since I didn't feel 100% secure about simply leaving all my stuff in the room while random people were going in and out but all the guests were very nice and very courteous! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 757 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 2nd May 2015

I just wanted to say thank you to Bamber house for the comfortable accommodations during the short duration of my stay. Norman, the manager was very warm, hospitable and kind. He was very helpful with providing information of things to do in Auckland and made stay in Auckland that much More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 1st May 2015

Nice private twin room with ensuite. Shower definitely could have done with a scrub. Electric blankets and heaters provided. Laundry facilities available at additional cost. Kitchen was functional but a bit untidy. Wifi is only available in the common lounge and other guests were friendly More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 503 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 9th May 2015

Absolutely loved our stay at The Attic, we stayed in a private twin room upon arriving in NZ and it was lovely. Unfortunately it was just a bit too expensive for us so we've moved elsewhere, but it's definitely worth the money. Clean, comfortable, beds had soft sheets, great chill out More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 7th May 2015

The Attic Backpackers is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Great, helpful, reliable staff, clean faciilities, friendly travellers. They also have a sweet patio. The Attic is the right amount of socializing and partying without getting too rowdy. Next time I'm in Auckland I will More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 399 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 74%
  • 16th May 2015

Bit expensive for what you get but then again is in very good location - easy walk into Auckland and great access to buses. Think it's more for people staying a while? More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 4th May 2015

The hostel was nice, it was calm and had comfy beds. My room had a locker (small) in which you could store valuable items. The hostel is located in a really cute street and there are restaurants nearby. The only thing I would change is the bathroom (the space for the shower is really More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay, I really recommend it ! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Jan 2015

home away from home More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 410 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 97%
  • 30th Mar 2015

We had a great stay - you offer everything we hoped for! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 25th Mar 2015

Loved this a lot. Owners were friendly and made an effort. Nice room and great shared facilities. Best free stuff ever! Pool looked nice and sofas in the lounge were best ever in a hostel! Great value and close to airport. Owner does shuttle run to airport for $10 for 2 people More
Timsavage2000 (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback