X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 485 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 13th Jun 2015

I had a wonderful stay. The staff excelled and were so helpful it added to my pleasure. Everything was absolutely spot on. More
epaddon6545 (New Zealand) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 29th May 2015

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were both clean. 200MB only free wifi and paying per 100/200/400MB/1GB after seems unnecessary. Was a little worried about leaving my bag in the hallway after I checked out. Would be nice if there were lockers or a small storage More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 121 Total Reviews

No.2

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 97%
  • 27th Jun 2015

Very good hostel. Friendly atmosphere, no alcohol allowed , so no annoying loud backpackers Competent staff Location is good. Easy to reach from the airport, only 10 min walk into the city More
GrafvonTausnitz (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 17th Jun 2015

The wifi is pretty expensive compared to the many other hostels we have stayed in NZ. The staff are lovely! Quiet hostel. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 91 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 13th May 2015

nice house,nice kitchen,no free WIFI. More
Anonymous (China) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 6th May 2015

Great facilities and great stay! I wish there were lockers or safes to store valuables though since I didn't feel 100% secure about simply leaving all my stuff in the room while random people were going in and out but all the guests were very nice and very courteous! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay, I really recommend it ! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 106 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 31st May 2015

Excellent hostel, one of the best I ever have in life. People there are super amazing. If you would love to meet some good friends , this is the place ! Thanks every Fatcat backpackers for making my trip super awesome ! More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 9th May 2015

I enjoyed the staff's friendliness. The two meals that came with the cost of the stay was healthy. It was interesting to share in the chores by pulling straws. Being early winter, getting hot water for a shower took a long time to warm up, and there was no hot water to wash dishes. More
kauaisam149 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 764 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 16th Jun 2015

A key code is required to enter the hostel. I came in and out at various times throughout the day and night during my stay. I never once had to use the key code. I never felt unsafe or in danger but it was unsettling that the front door was never locked. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 13th Jun 2015

Facilities are great, but let down by a couple of details. The showers are very well setup with plenty of room, good drying area and hooks for towel and clothes. However, I'm not expecting perfect temperature from a hostel, but these showers actually switch from ice cold to burning hot. At More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 555 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

Hated the lift, and wasn't working when I wanted to check out More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 30th Jun 2015

This was by far the best hostel I stayed during my trip to New Zealand. Definitely if I come back to Auckland I had no doubt I would pick this hostel again. As an improvement comment, which is not big, but could be added, I was expecting some lockers inside each room as I had in most of More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 415 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 16th Jun 2015

Great hostel for staying when coming or going to Auckland airport cuz it's really close, nice value for it and the have a grat pick up service. All facilities are great and really clean. Owners and staff are sooo nice :) I'd definitely come back! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Jun 2015

Lovely Hostel, real homely feel, staff really friendly and helpful. The only was it cost $7 for wifi which I had hoped would be free, however I did not mind paying this just for one night and it was a good connection. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 413 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

The hostel is located in a beautiful area with some good restaurants, but to be honest It's better to stay closer to the city. I had to get a bus all the time which was $2.50 so it was not really convenient. The room where I stayed the first night had the roof leaking so it was not really More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 25th Jun 2015

We arrived early in the morning and they had given us the wrong code to get in. Eventually someone on the staff came to let us in but was extremely rude and continued to be rude throughout our whole stay and was not helpful at all. The bathrooms had mold growing in them and we're very More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 277 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 11th Feb 2015

Good value, good .location. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback