X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 589 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 4th Feb 2016

I stayed here my first two nights in Auckland and I'm so glad I did! The staff is extremely friendly and all the facilities were very clean. I'm staying there again my last two nights in New Zealand because I liked it so much! I always felt safe and comfortable. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 31st Jan 2016

A really great little hostel. It's really clean, quiet and conveniently located. It's a minute walk from a bus stop and a great little street full of shops. In particular, the kitchen was great. Really clean, well-stocked, and tons of counter space. Only downside-no free, unlimited wifi. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 119 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 21st Jan 2016

What a great place to stay in! All the facilities are clean, well maintained and the kitchen well equipped. The staff is super friendly and gives a great intro about what to see and where to go in the city. The view from the veranda is just superb. Also the huge garden is a great place to More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 30th Dec 2015

I really recommend this place. More
federivas3105 (Spain) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 871 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 26th Jan 2016

A great hostel in Auckland with an amazing staff. Happy to stay there. More
michaelajanetzko (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 26th Jan 2016

Bamber House is pretty awesome. The atmosphere is like a second home and people are very interested in activities. Worth the price, which is a bit more than in the city centre. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 783 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

Great hostel, slightly too expensive but you get what you pay for. Spacious areas, outdoor rooftop attic, very nice bathrooms and shower areas, incredibly charming and nice staff (thx for helping me out with the deposit! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 1st Feb 2016

Great hostel in a great location. Rooms clean and loads of space. Really quiet at night so a great nights sleep too. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 282 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 14th Jan 2016

I was frankly surprised that a hostel could be this good. It was very clean and fresh. It was better than most 3 star hotels I've been to in Europe. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 2nd Jan 2016

Wifi Network cost too high! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 134 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 18th Jan 2016

The best Backpackers we stayed at in NZ. We felt welcome, we loved meeting like minded travellers, the atmosphere was friendly and relaxing. Very comfortable. Loved it More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Jan 2016

Beautiful place! Fav hostel in Nz! Everyone is so welcoming and you are like a family. Free brekki and dinner in exchange of little task like drying dishes. Excellent hostel! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 451 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 26th Jan 2016

Lovely hostel a little bit out of town. Clean kitchen and a nice space outside for eating. Good bed and showers the only downside was how hot the room was as it stopped us sleeping could do with investing in some fans!!! More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 24th Jan 2016

Amazing little hostel. Great relaxed atmosphere and easy to feel part of a 'family'. It's just like home! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 173 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 100%
  • 22nd Dec 2015

Clean, affordable and very friendly stuff! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 7th Dec 2015

I thought this place was great. We checked in and got a free upgrade to a private room which was a great way to start off our trip! The bathrooms were very clean and the location was within walking distant to a lot of the bars and restaurants. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 542 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

stayed in a 2 person room, cozy and a nice change from 6-8 person bunks -- high security so that was comforting -- free unlimited wifi #winning More
catfranzone5234 (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Nice people, good approach. There were more families and older individuals than I expected. Though it made it seem more quality and safer since they found it adequate as well. The place got a bit stuffy since the windows would barely open. But it was bareable. Over all it was a good More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 724 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 74%
  • 11th Jan 2016

Was a great location and had average but free wifi. Only one power outlet in a room was impossible to get around and if you wanted to store your luggage, it was in a locked room quite a ways from the front desk, and they gave the key to anyone who asked. If you wanted to store your luggage More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 9th Jan 2016

You Fan really change mattress... It's like you are sleeping on the floor. More
Anonymous (Slovenia) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback