X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 470 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

Comfortable, clean, lovely reception guy, very pleasant area - a good place for my last night in NZ! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Oakands Lodge was all we could ask for from start to finish. We got in very late to the hostel due to a late flight into Auckalnd and the instructions for checking in from Oaklands was quick and clearly stated. My friend and I were suprisingly upgraded to a double bedroom as well. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 95 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 7th Mar 2015

This is pretty much a hippy commune,and if your up for that kind of thing you will love it. The atmosphere is so intoxicating and positive you cant help but be happy. Only issue is the lack of loos and showers when there are lots of residents but that's the only setback. Amazing food, More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Amazing community of woofers and backpackers. Atmosphere sucks you in with all the positivity. Great place to meet open-minded people and eat excellent veggie foods. If you want to party and eat food from grease factories, don't come here! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 749 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 63%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Well situated away from the centre of town. Easy access by bus and with the bonus of a free car park. Two different managers while I was there, one helpful, one not so. I had an ensuite in a cabin at the back. Clean and comfortable but safety issue with access. The path to where the units More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 54%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Not routinely cleaned during the day, no permanent staff to maintain the place. Not enough space to sit in the lounge. No space to prepare and cook. Too many people and not enough facilities. Our room had two bunk beds and was barely big enough accommodate one. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 106 Total Reviews

No.4

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 80%
  • 14th Apr 2015

The staffs are friendly and the room, the toilet and the shower room are clean! If it has more cooking utensils will be better More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 29th Mar 2015

Very secure, a bit of walk -15 minutes- from city centre. Staff very helpful for hints to sell my van, how to get around the area and for the gym of the neighboring YMCA. There is a lack of atmosphere since the place is huge. I think the place is a bit pricey since it's not close to More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 83 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Decent night stay, comfy beds, big kitchen, and many areas to hang out including sunny outdoor porches with beautiful views. Near K road which has a lot going on. Staff was good, but not really there when you needed them. Atmosphere was friendly, though I was only there one night and More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Very clean, great atmosphere, worth the price. A little far away from the CBD but that is why it is great! I would definitely stay there again. However, 2 things to be aware of (1) wifi is very sketchy and hardly ever works for some devices when reception is closed (2) reception More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 389 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Nice hostel little bit far out of the centre but the innerlink rides only between 7am-11pm so if you are late it's a long walk especially the last part is steep on Franklin Rd when you walk uphill. But the hostel was cosy, chill, laid back and clean. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Excellent hostel with a great atmosphere. The guy from Germany working at the front desk was so amazing. Great music playing, lovely garden area in the back for eating meals, hostel BBQ events and more. My favorite hostel stay in all of new zealand. More
english1011438 (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay, I really recommend it ! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Jan 2015

home away from home More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 480 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 18th Apr 2015

One of the best hostels I've stayed in so far! It is a quiet new hostel and very clean. The location is perfect, the kitchen is big, the staff is nice and the rooms are really big. It is a smaller hostel which is good for meeting people! If you are in Auckland, go to the Attic! More
Anonymous (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Especially the staff was incredible friendly and helpful! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 410 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 30th Mar 2015

We had a great stay - you offer everything we hoped for! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 25th Mar 2015

Loved this a lot. Owners were friendly and made an effort. Nice room and great shared facilities. Best free stuff ever! Pool looked nice and sofas in the lounge were best ever in a hostel! Great value and close to airport. Owner does shuttle run to airport for $10 for 2 people More
Timsavage2000 (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 246 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Perfect location right in the city! 5 min walk to the sky tower and the Main Street with tons of shopping. Countdown just down the street. Lovely staff really enjoyed my stay here! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 21st Feb 2015

FRIENZ is located in a good location in central Auckland. The near Albert Park was a nice escape from the noisy city centre. My large dorm room was crowded, due to the concert on the weekend, the window was facing the busy Victoria Street. The facilities where alright. Clean toilets and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback