X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 455 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 24th Mar 2015

Had a lovely time, I really had just slept here! I arrived, threw my bags down and ran to the Cricket game!! Then got in late and left at 5:30am. Great atmosphere, and the staff i interacted with were nice! A perfect place, right near Mt.Eden, which is an amazing walk up to see the More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Mar 2015

VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF. VERY CLEAN AND TIDY PLACE/ROOMS. NOT NOISY... DEFINATELY A PLACE TO STAY! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 94 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 7th Mar 2015

This is pretty much a hippy commune,and if your up for that kind of thing you will love it. The atmosphere is so intoxicating and positive you cant help but be happy. Only issue is the lack of loos and showers when there are lots of residents but that's the only setback. Amazing food, More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Amazing community of woofers and backpackers. Atmosphere sucks you in with all the positivity. Great place to meet open-minded people and eat excellent veggie foods. If you want to party and eat food from grease factories, don't come here! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 731 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 6th Mar 2015

The hostel is very nice, stuff is very friendly and helpful. We got to the hostel very late at night ... after midnight... but the key was waiting for us and direction to our room. In the morning stuff helped us check in and out without problems. There is plenty of parking if you have a More
kozlowskaanna899332 (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 5th Mar 2015

We liked it, it was kind of quirky and nice and quiet, which was great for sleeping off jet lag. We only stayed for two nights but would stay there again. More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.4

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 86%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Nice "hotel". Very clean and quiet. If you're not there to meet people, it is a perfect place to stay in. More
Anonymous (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Good overall but really lacks atmosphere and character. Most guests were nerdy Asian types. Liked the gym free trial. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 15th Feb 2015

Really great location with Ponsonby and K road really close. Friendly staff. Rooms are great no bunk beds! Clean and bright and airy. A lovely garden and right by a park. Only thing that could make this better would be free wifi! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Feb 2015

One of the best hostels in Auckland. Great atmosphere, great place. Love everything about it. More
Michaela85 (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 438 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

Good hostel, great location and staff. Room was a tad hot but not bad More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Mar 2015

Fantastic. Probably the best hostel I have been to in NZ - and I've been to a lot! Very friendly staff, good atmosphere and perfect location. Quiet too, not a crazy party hostel which is nice. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 375 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 20th Mar 2015

A solo traveler, I enjoyed the ease to reach the hostel, just a hop off the inner green line and a wee walk down the hill. Not noisy, the odd guest who doesn't have a sense of others, but that is the same in most any place. The staff was available and attentive to my needs and queries. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 20th Mar 2015

Our twin room was tiny with bunk beds instead of the usual twin beds. There was nowhere to put clothes except on hooks on the wall and nowhere to put our cases except beside the bunk beds. We were very glad that we only booked to stay one night at Ponsonby Backpackers and would not More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay, I really recommend it ! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Jan 2015

home away from home More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 241 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 21st Feb 2015

FRIENZ is located in a good location in central Auckland. The near Albert Park was a nice escape from the noisy city centre. My large dorm room was crowded, due to the concert on the weekend, the window was facing the busy Victoria Street. The facilities where alright. Clean toilets and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 14th Feb 2015

Located as centrally as possible, which is convenient for seeing the city. However, our room overlooked the street and the curtains blocked out little to no sunlight, so all the drunken ramblings of people on the street were heard late at night, before being woken quite early by the sun More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 615 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 16th Mar 2015

A really good hostel with excellent staff and facilities! Dorm rooms are really good, exceptionally clean and very comfortable! Already booked to stay here again! More
asamk (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 10th Mar 2015

The best hostel I have been in auckland More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback