X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 695 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 14th Jan 2015

The good: Well-equipped kitchen. Free wifi with 200mb vouchers per night. Bathrooms were clean and available. Room was relatively clean. Hostel was quiet at night. Plenty of free parking. The bad: Location is in a suburb-type area that is about 45-60 walk to the CBD and wharf. It is a More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 11th Jan 2015

Staff is awesome and super helpful. Rooms have plenty of space and a locker for locking up valuables. Good, fast, free internet is helpful. Only complaint would be that it's not in city center, but the bus is easy enough. More
junior74 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 83 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 6th Jan 2015

I adore it here, could have stayed forever!! Wonderful friendly people, very comfortable communal spaces, amaying home cooked meals 3 times a day, and all the beauty and fun you could want. I loved the yoga deck, nightly volleyball games, fires, and easy mornings. Definitely reccomend! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Nov 2014

To have breakfast and dinner together is really awsome and it had a perfect taste! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 414 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 60%
  • 13th Jan 2015

I cancelled my booking by e-mail through Hostelworld but this cancellation was not relayed to Oaklands Lodge. A cencellation fee was then charged to me. Appreciate if you could reverse the fee. Malakai More
Anonymous (Tonga) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 12th Jan 2015

Friendly, helpful staff. Good big kitchen with multiple hobs- lots of people can cook at the same time. The place was clean and secure. Quiet location, sociable hostel but rooms were quiet so easy to have an early night if you want it. Would recommend More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 347 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 12th Jan 2015

Bathrooms were TOO small. Other than that, great staff, really great location and cozy accomodations. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 25th Dec 2014

Nice hostel, bit out of town but bus stop nice and close. Right near a busy high street with loads of bars, restaurants and shops. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 358 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 22nd Jan 2015

Nice hostel and everything. But the reception is closed between 11pm and 8 am. Be careful if you arrive by a night flight. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 18th Jan 2015

A good hostel with a great location. The kitchen has good facilities and is kept clean. The dorms are basic and clean. The staff are really helpful and friendly More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 21st Jan 2015

As a mature couple we were delighted with our private room. The shared facilities were kept very clean and it was very relaxing and an excellent start to our two months in NZ. Location near Ponsonby and the park was great and only a half hour walk to ferry terminal. Highly recommend . More
nyb56 (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 26th Nov 2014

The staff was awesome...so helpful...great kitchen...good mix of people More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 406 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back. The room and bathrooms were clean, however the kitchen upstairs was very dirty and there were no plates to put my piece of toast on. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 20th Dec 2014

Very good hostel regarding the price ; calm, clean and very well located. Better for backpackers who are working and would like to stay longer. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 329 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 11th Jan 2015

A good fun hostel. Worth every penny. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Dec 2014

Nice hostel with garden in beautiful suburb. On the downside, we had only one bedside lamp working, the other one and the main light did not work. Also, the information that the hostel put on hostelworld.com about the airport shuttle prices was outdated so that was not a nice surprise to More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.9

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 80%
  • 3rd Jan 2015

The ceiling of the showers is reflective, which means the person in e next cuibcle can watch you shower, and vice versa. Also, the shower cubicles bad no dry area for towels and clothers. The whole cubicle got wet. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 28th Dec 2014

Very stressing communication with reception re: the parking, was given a chit for 1st night all good, 2nd day went to pay again and given another chit and told it was valid until I left, which was Thurs 1st January. On vacating on the 1st my car had been towed away and I was fined $250, More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 223 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 15th Jan 2015

I found this hostel very unfriendly, including the staff who didn't appear to want to help you with anything. The room was cramped and noisy. A lot of the people appeared to be living there and ready had friend groups. No free wifi and the computers are super slow. The only good thing is More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Only 4 old computers, you have to pay for wifi and its quite expansive. More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback