X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 61 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay, I really recommend it ! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 487 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 13th Jun 2015

I had a wonderful stay. The staff excelled and were so helpful it added to my pleasure. Everything was absolutely spot on. More
epaddon6545 (New Zealand) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 29th May 2015

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were both clean. 200MB only free wifi and paying per 100/200/400MB/1GB after seems unnecessary. Was a little worried about leaving my bag in the hallway after I checked out. Would be nice if there were lockers or a small storage More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 127 Total Reviews

No.3

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 91%
  • 10th Jul 2015

This hostel was great! The showers were clean and hot, and the Internet, although not free, was cheap and fast! We had a great stay here! More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 27th Jun 2015

Very good hostel. Friendly atmosphere, no alcohol allowed , so no annoying loud backpackers Competent staff Location is good. Easy to reach from the airport, only 10 min walk into the city More
GrafvonTausnitz (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 92 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 7th Jul 2015

There should be at least small lockers somewhere in the hostel that could be used to lock small valuable items in, leaving everything out in the rooms or carrying valuables around with you isn't ideal. I have never stayed at a hostel before that doesn't have some form of lockers available More
seonaidkyle914 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 13th May 2015

nice house,nice kitchen,no free WIFI. More
Anonymous (China) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 571 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Couldn't fault the staff! They were all lovely and happy to help. Loved our stay there!! Really central location. Nice old elevator to the top. 3hrs free wifi to start and really affordable after that. Huge kitchen with everything you could need. Outdoor area and lounge area plenty of More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Jul 2015

great spot in the centre of Auckland. really easy to get to and from the airport and other city links. the rooms are a good size and the facilities are great with hair dryer and straighteners in the bathroom. staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. kitchen is a good size. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 418 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 9th Jul 2015

It is in an ideal location for the airport with a good shuttle. Quiet. Had a nice big lounge area and kitchen. Clean and comfy beds More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 16th Jun 2015

Great hostel for staying when coming or going to Auckland airport cuz it's really close, nice value for it and the have a grat pick up service. All facilities are great and really clean. Owners and staff are sooo nice :) I'd definitely come back! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 768 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 12th Jul 2015

Beautiful old building, nice rooms. Would certainly stay here again. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 30th Jun 2015

Stay at Bamber House for the great atmosphere - it seems to bring out the friendly in everyone and there's plenty of space to mingle (or sit on your own), whether in the dining area or one of the lounges (one with TV, one without). I like the location (walking is 5mins to Mt Eden,10mins to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 416 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 69%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

The hostel is located in a beautiful area with some good restaurants, but to be honest It's better to stay closer to the city. I had to get a bus all the time which was $2.50 so it was not really convenient. The room where I stayed the first night had the roof leaking so it was not really More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 25th Jun 2015

We arrived early in the morning and they had given us the wrong code to get in. Eventually someone on the staff came to let us in but was extremely rude and continued to be rude throughout our whole stay and was not helpful at all. The bathrooms had mold growing in them and we're very More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 106 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 31st May 2015

Excellent hostel, one of the best I ever have in life. People there are super amazing. If you would love to meet some good friends , this is the place ! Thanks every Fatcat backpackers for making my trip super awesome ! More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 9th May 2015

I enjoyed the staff's friendliness. The two meals that came with the cost of the stay was healthy. It was interesting to share in the chores by pulling straws. Being early winter, getting hot water for a shower took a long time to warm up, and there was no hot water to wash dishes. More
kauaisam149 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 277 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 11th Feb 2015

Good value, good .location. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback