X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 439 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 21st Feb 2015

Excellent location if you do not want to be in the cbd. Very quiet location .parking was on street which could be tight at times More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 19th Feb 2015

This hostel is great you want a calm, quiet place. It's got the beautiful Mt Eden right next to it with pretty nature and it's only a short bus ride from the centre. The staff is really friendly and helpful, I enjoyed it allot! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 87 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 10th Feb 2015

A little like a Hippie Community, relaxed and open people, vegan food, guacamole every day during our stay. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 24th Jan 2015

A community! Best place to spend time in Auckland if you enjoy the outdoors. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 716 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 16th Feb 2015

A little further out of the city than intended (the walk home took a bit longer than the 30 mins and uphill) but otherwise fine. Easy parking and close to local restaurants/street shops and Mt Eden. Perfectly silent for a great night's sleep. Would definitely come back again. Thank you More
annie_whitaker70 (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 11th Feb 2015

Beautiful building with a homely feel. Facilities, rooms and bedding are kept very clean. A long walk in to town cetre but only a 10 minute bus ride from right outside the door. The view from nearby Mount Eden is a must More
manoks9612 (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 69 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 15th Feb 2015

Really great location with Ponsonby and K road really close. Friendly staff. Rooms are great no bunk beds! Clean and bright and airy. A lovely garden and right by a park. Only thing that could make this better would be free wifi! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 8th Feb 2015

Really good hostel! Can highly recommend this one. Nice staff, brilliant location near Ponsonby rd and adorable old buildings just next to a park. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 363 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Had a really nice stay here, staff is really friendly as the other travelers i met there. Probably one of the best hostel in town ! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 9th Feb 2015

Friendly staff, great location. Room was definitely "cosy". Surprised I had to pay for wifi, very unusual these days. It would be better to add a couple of dollars to the bed rate and then offer free wifi. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 399 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

It was really easy to find. Bathroom facilities were clean. Free wifi was really helpful. The room was a bit warm. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Really sociable hostel with a great big clean kitchen and a toasty machine! 3 common areas in addition to an outside deck area never makes this hostel feel cramped. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable and willing to help you with all your queries even if off duty. There is also 3 hours More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YMCA Hostel

  • Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland
  • 97%
  • 11th Feb 2015

A couple of suggestions: a bigger room to allow for people to eat, cook, and socialize together would be great. As well, recycling could be supported by having each floor with facilities. Thanks for a great experience More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 5th Feb 2015

Great service from staff. Allowed me to stay an extra night at the discounted price I originally payed for. Security staff were very chatty and tried to help me out with a screwdriver. Thank you staff of YMCA. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 412 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 5th Feb 2015

I had a 4 bed dorm for myself but out of the window was a huge air condition or fan or anything and that was so loud even when I closed the window! And the button for the light was outside the door, but ok that was not really a problem Everything was clean More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 25th Jan 2015

Everything was fine, no particular complaints, mostly clean, and chilled, good bathrooms. Could do maybe with a fan in the bedroom, pretty toasty in mid-summer. There are 2 kitchens but the layout means that there isn't enough space for one person to cook and another to wash up so making More
Paraguero (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 490 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 30th Jan 2015

Great location, friendly staff, pretty quiet. More
dfourrier (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 25th Jan 2015

Lantana Lodge was a lovely place to stay, down the bottom of a very steep hill it provided a bit of exercise on the way up. It's located in a super pretty corner of Auckland - Parnell, we had a lovely time walking the streets around this vintage, artsy area. The hostel itself was a nice More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 240 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 21st Feb 2015

FRIENZ is located in a good location in central Auckland. The near Albert Park was a nice escape from the noisy city centre. My large dorm room was crowded, due to the concert on the weekend, the window was facing the busy Victoria Street. The facilities where alright. Clean toilets and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 14th Feb 2015

Located as centrally as possible, which is convenient for seeing the city. However, our room overlooked the street and the curtains blocked out little to no sunlight, so all the drunken ramblings of people on the street were heard late at night, before being woken quite early by the sun More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Auckland Podcasts

Listen to our Auckland podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Auckland Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Auckland Videos

Watch our Auckland video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Auckland Videos

Please give us your feedback