X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Byron Bay, Australia

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 121 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Nice enough hostel. Convenient location near town and the gate to straight to the beach. There's a good atmosphere here, other guests have been friendly. The bathrooms are ok; most are a bit worn. $5 deposit to rent crockery, no free wifi. They are really strict with noise, you have to More
jessicashiels3261 (England) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 5th Jul 2015

Decent hostel with a great surf school! The instructor we had was brilliant and a really nice guy, can't recommend him enough! Only 1 good set of showers in the place... The rest of them are a little worn and a bit dirty if I'm honest. Atmosphere was good but again it depends on the More
ScottDaykin (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 513 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 29th Jul 2015

Came as a group of four having booked a four bed dorm and really enjoyed our stay. The only grievance for me personally was the wifi. I think that most hostels around the world now offer this as free but you have to pay for it here (granted Aus is notorious for this). Everything else was More
Anonymous (England) (MIXEDGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Jul 2015

I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm with an ensuite and was lucky enough to only share the room with my friend and another girl. We had someone come in and clean our living room area and bathroom each day which was lovely. The room also had lockers, which I've noticed many other hostels do More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 564 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 24th Jul 2015

Enjoyed our 2 nights stay, we stayed during the festival so was quite quiet through the night, facilities were clean, good walking distance to the town and the beach, had a great night out at cheeky monkeys, only downside was all the deposits that are not mentioned on hostelworld.com but More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Awsome stay, great deals for Cheeky Monkey across the road if thats your thing. If not, really close to everything else in town. Staff were great people very helpful. Will be staying again More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 337 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 21st Jul 2015

We had a lovely time staying here! The staff were very friendly. We went on the free tour to the lighthouse with Todd who was lovely and offered a lot of encouragement despite us lagging behind on the walk! The tour was amazing and well worth it! The rooms were clean and the atmosphere was More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Jun 2015

Awesome hostel!!! The staff was very friendly! I had the chance to do the walking tour and the BBQ, which was very nice!! :) More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 334 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 27th Jul 2015

Loved how close to the beach it was and all the events they had at night! Very fun atmosphere! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 20th Jul 2015

Lady at reception when we first checked in was very moody and wasn't very helpful. She just told us we can check in "whenever the room is ready". Other travellers using the hostel don't clean up after themselves and leave pans and soggy omelettes in the sink. Other than this the place was More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1296 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 1st Aug 2015

The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly, even the night guy who helped give me directions to the lighthouse at 5am! The first floor was terrible for noise pollution both outside & within the hostel but chances are if you're travelling a lot you're used to it. More
shelbywp (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 10th Jul 2015

Great hostel, the staff were great and really helpful. The kitchen was a good size. The rooms were big. Only negative was the hot tub wasn't on for the whole time I was there :/ More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 257 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 28th Jun 2015

Very clean hostel with good facilities but kicks you out of the main areas by 10pm so you can't really socialise... Was good for 1 night More
worldtraveler508 (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

The hostel was very nice and the staff were very help. Be careful who you room with though as we ended up with a drunk guy who was screaming things in his sleep which was a bit off putting. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 673 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

Great hostel with beautiful, friendly people and nothing but positive vibes. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 16th Jul 2015

The only available cabins (better said tents) were anything but pleasant to sleep in. You can literally hear everything that your neighbour is talking about, or even better was the live music that was going on next door! Thanks for the heads up that we won't be sleeping on Friday nights. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Byron Bay Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Please give us your feedback