X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Byron Bay, Australia

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 281 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 77%
  • 24th Jan 2016

The room was large and clean and had lockers and comfortable beds. Key card access was good for security too. The hostel doesn't have a great social vibe due to strict drinking rules and lack of places to sit as a big group, so if you're looking to meet people it would be better to head More
Anonymous (England) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 16th Dec 2015

Good almost across the board. Security and location were typical. Staff was generally nice but sometimes seemed strangely impatient with guests. The atmosphere chill but fun. A good balance. Cleanliness was average. The amount of sand on the floor in my room was a bit much. Had a pool. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 661 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Fun! Had a bbq where everyone came out and was literally all you can eat. Then everyone from the hostel went over to cheekys together including the staff who drank with the people staying! Really liked this hostel nice people def recommend More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

I had a really good time at Backpackers Holiday Village. It has a very sociable atmosphere, where you can meet other people staying at the hostel. My room was in an apartment with two rooms with two bunk beds each and a living room with TV, kitchen and bathroom. You could choose either to More
Claripolll (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 212 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 51%
  • 1st Feb 2016

Not very friendly staff. SUPER HOT! Hard to sleep. The kitchen is an oven. No free wifi. No coffe. Very noisy. Staff only cares about surf camp going on there. They have priority. More
javierjacomet6023 (Argentina) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 31st Jan 2016

Clean bathrooms and kitchen. Shuttle bus from town to the hostel was great. Nice range of activities in the evenings too. Only negative was probably the heat in the rooms, ceiling fan did very little to cool the room down. More
hannahphill93 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 412 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 5th Feb 2016

I had such an amazing time at Aquarius!!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

The nicest hostel I have stayed in during my 2 months travelling. Great kitchen! Very sociable hostel but not in too much of a party way. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the dorms were kept clean and tidy. Only downside for me was the lack of security. Doors to rooms were More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 372 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 66%
  • 28th Jan 2016

I didn't enjoy my time at Cape Byron YHA but it depends what you're looking for. If you want to read, relax, and keep to yourself, Cape Byron is for you. If you want to socialize, party, and have activities to participate in I would recommend going elsewhere. One good thing - there was a More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 28th Jan 2016

Great location. Staff were excellent- very welcoming and friendly! Facilities were good, especially in the kitchen and the free use of bikes and body boards! The beds were comfy too. However, the wifi was rubbish and the bathrooms had seen better days, besides that, this was one of the More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 602 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

The bathroom in our 6 bed dorm was gross! Even after the cleaner had been in the floor was hairy and covered in dirty water. Pretty expensive for a pretty average hostel, however the location was beaut. It was a bit annoying to have to pay a cash deposit for crockery and such, but even More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

The hostel room wasn't very clean or tidy when we arrived. Although a cleaner came each day, the floors and bathroom were still unclean. The worst part about the hostel were some of the staff members. While some were very nice and helpful, others were plain awful. Not only unhelpful, but More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1394 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 24th Jan 2016

I've stayed at Nomads Byron a number of times over the past 18 months. My main disappointments are that the spa's are never full or in use and the smell of the rooms. I find out on the first day when we arrived on Sunday, that a bloke got so drunk he shat on the balcony and vomited on the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 19th Jan 2016

French girl behind reception with brown hair was really abrupt and rude mannered when she was serving us. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 762 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 43%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Worst hostel I've stayed in after nearly 2 years traveling, couldn't leave quick enough. Very highly priced for facilities lower than a basic campsite. Staff were rude and unorganized expecting checked in guests to swap room every night when extending rather than taking 2 minutes to move More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 20th Jan 2016

A really enjoyable hostel. If you get to know people in different areas (eg camping zone, teepee's, etc) the Arts Factory can feel more like a mini-resort. I booked for two nights but ended up staying for six. I note that some people grade down this hostel because its location is a 10 More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Byron Bay Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Please give us your feedback