X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cairns, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 958 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 13th Apr 2015

It has been one of the best hostels I have ever been to. The staff was really kind and helpful (reaaaally!!) , the atmosphere was great and the rooms were comfy. Thank you very much for everything I had a great time with you! Cheers, Eugenie More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Fantastic! Ended my East Coast tour here. Cleanest hostel I stayed in, homely, and run by extremely friendly and competent staff. Most rooms are single beds instead of bunks and there's good kitchen space. Quieter than the party hostels in the main strip of town but only five minutes away More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1050 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Excellent value hostel, very friendly and welcoming staff who are more than happy to help with any day trips or tours you'd like to do. Perfectly placed for access to Coles at the Cairns Central shopping centre. Great evening activities all week including films and fireshows. Highly More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 27th Mar 2015

Awesome, very amenable to special circumstances re late arrival early departure More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 415 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Incredibly helpful staff, beautiful and serene surroundings. The perfect place to chill out between your Queensland adventures. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Apr 2015

I cannot rave enough about Tropic Days! The Monday BBQ is a must do! It is cleaned daily and the bathrooms are amazingly clean. The outdoor area is great for socializing and meeting fellow guests. The staff are amazing! So helpful with any questions I had and also suggested/booked all my More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 975 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 11th Apr 2015

awesome. most people stay here so bump into lots of east coast mates there. always something on. nightly free food (when buying a drink) is great value as you can just buy a softie. don't forget to use your keycard to get discounts at the bar tho!! clean rooms and kitchen with lockers and More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 4th Apr 2015

In three months of travelling I have never had worse customer service. The staff are absolutely terrible. It's worth noting that if you are travelling with someone, it's in no way guaranteed you will be put in the same room (most people I met were separated despite it being such a big More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 238 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 10th Apr 2015

This is the cleanest hostel I have stayed in since being in Australia. They have a regular free bus into the town center but its also nice to walk into town along the esplanade. Tracy and Simon are so nice and extremely helpful. I can't really fault the place. I would definitely stay there More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Very cool, chilled out hostel. Would definitely recommend :) More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 261 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Just wish they had lockers in the rooms. More
Anonymous (Canada) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Pretty good hostel. It's not really in downtown Cairns (about a 15-20 min walk away), but other than that, everything was good value. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1676 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 8th Apr 2015

It was great, lovely people and lovely friendly staff. Kitchen and rooms were kept very clean, was very quiet as well. We also got a free upgrade which was awesome so my friend and I had our own room to share together. Definitely would stay here again if I come back. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Overall, a good hostel to stay in. The major negative was that the wifi was extremely poor and only worked well next to one table, while also being outside. Some positives were the location, cleanliness, and a free towel upon checking in. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 334 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 10th Mar 2015

First night 90&humid &A/C broken. Staff aware- still barely worked throughout week. Free cereal in morning great. Large groups of school kids throughout the week, completely crowded the place & noisy at all hours. Free wifi great in lounge. One bathroom for 6 girls- no other showers- a bit More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Feb 2015

There are cheaper places to stay if you just have a quick stopover in cairns, the price is worth it if you will stay a while and use all of the facilities though. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 77%
  • 11th Mar 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights - in general the place was clean but the ladies toilets did have a slight smell for the entire time and the kitchen was an absolute tip at all times despite the best efforts of the reception staff. Disappointed with this YHA as in the past they have been very More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 22nd Dec 2014

The hostel is well situated about a $25 can ride from the airport and right across from Cairns central. The ferry terminal is less 20 minutes walking away as well. The hostel has all the appropriate amenities required for a good stay and the staff are laid back and accommodating. There are More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 282 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 74%
  • 10th Apr 2015

"over a pub" is a huge understatement, especially if you're in the rooms above reception, facing the club area, which has no walls, and there's a concert on (almost every weekend). I was warned but my whole room shook till 1am. red food was good though and reception staff were nice More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 9th Apr 2015

The free meal is nice, you can choose one of two dishes. I couldn't really make use of it cause there was just one day they had a vegetarian option... With that said, carnivores go for it! Wifi is limited to 500mb per day. More
Anonymous (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cairns Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Please give us your feedback