X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cairns, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 940 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 17th Mar 2015

Traveller's Oasis was easily the best hostel I've stayed at in my entire life; the people, the culture, the environment - it was all superb. I would gladly stay at Traveller's Oasis any time I'm in Cairns over everything else. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Without a doubt the best hostel I've ever stayed at! Great environment amazing staff. Could not be happier. Thanks to Helen at the front desk for being so lovely and helpful! -Jordan and Justin from America More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 957 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 15th Mar 2015

I expected Gilligans to be a non stop party hostel but in fact was pleasantly surprised that it was a lot more relaxed than I envisioned. They could do with more toilets on each floor as if someone is using the bathroom in your room, you just have to wait until they're finished. Staff were More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 11th Mar 2015

Great loved this hostel one of the best I have stayed at! But was I shame I had to queue forever to check out as they had next to no staff checking people out and they where taking a long time doing so More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 403 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 15th Mar 2015

While tropic days is a little far from the city center(25min walk) it makes up for it by having great facilities, multiple kitchens, and a great BBQ night. Thanks for everything guys! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 9th Mar 2015

This hostel is nice and clean. The staff are good too. The pool is really nice to swim in on hot days and the hammocks are very relaxing and comfortable. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 331 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 10th Mar 2015

First night 90&humid &A/C broken. Staff aware- still barely worked throughout week. Free cereal in morning great. Large groups of school kids throughout the week, completely crowded the place & noisy at all hours. Free wifi great in lounge. One bathroom for 6 girls- no other showers- a bit More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Feb 2015

There are cheaper places to stay if you just have a quick stopover in cairns, the price is worth it if you will stay a while and use all of the facilities though. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1042 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 5th Mar 2015

One of the best hostel in Australia! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 26th Feb 2015

Great stay overall. Nice big rooms and a really chilled atmosphere. Pool area wasn't great and the kitchen was tiny, there was also a cockroach in our room. Reception closes from 12pm until 4pm everyday which is a pain! But despite this it was a really nice hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 257 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 20th Mar 2015

This hostel is very prison-cell chic, old fashioned decor, however the staff are always very helpful and welcoming. It doesn't matter that the hostel is a little basic as you are hardly ever there, so many day trips available in Cairns that you'll be out most of the time. Free Wi-Fi in More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 9th Mar 2015

Good location. Transportation to port was a plus. Pool needs cleaning. Bathrooms were always clean. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 230 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 10th Mar 2015

Nice and clean hostel. Stuff is very helpful and always happy to give their advice. They have shuttle that takes u to the center of the city for free!! Nice and specious kitchen. Rooms are also very specious and affordable. Differential a hostel I'd stay again and recommend. More
kozlowskaanna899332 (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th Mar 2015

Improve the quality of the wifi More
Anonymous (Spain) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 72 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 11th Mar 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights - in general the place was clean but the ladies toilets did have a slight smell for the entire time and the kitchen was an absolute tip at all times despite the best efforts of the reception staff. Disappointed with this YHA as in the past they have been very More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 22nd Dec 2014

The hostel is well situated about a $25 can ride from the airport and right across from Cairns central. The ferry terminal is less 20 minutes walking away as well. The hostel has all the appropriate amenities required for a good stay and the staff are laid back and accommodating. There are More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1669 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 15th Mar 2015

Only stayed one night, but it seemed like a nice place and it was great value for money. Clean, quiet, good facilities. Short walk to lots of different restaurants/bars as well as the supermarket. Right by the water and a short walk to the lagoon. The staff were so friendly and lovely! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 12th Mar 2015

Terrible weather but the hostel compensated with the free wifi and the great rooms (complete with fans and aircon). We had booked a 4bed dorm but ended up getting an upgrade in a twin, so it was even more enjoyable. Very good washing machine and dryer. If you're interested in a More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 420 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 13th Mar 2015

The staff here are great, good advise on excursions and help booking. Don't go during wet season, a lot of stuff is cancelled and quite frankly Cairns is not an entertaining town during the day. The cleaner comes in and picks up rubbish then leaves - not the best. Our room stank and I More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Mar 2015

The best hosel so far in Australia!! Amazing atmosphere !! Far from the center but there is a free bus every hour so it's not too bad More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cairns Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Please give us your feedback