X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cairns, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 1015 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 24th Jun 2015

This was one of my favorite hostels in Australia. Staff is so friendly and welcoming, and helped me make the most of my time in Cairns. Location is five minutes from the buses and trains, less than ten to a grocery store and mall, and fifteen to everything else in Cairns. Also, this hostel More
gmbettencourt8484 (USA) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Everything is always super clean and the staff are the friendliest! I've been travelling for over 3 years across NZ and oz and this is definitely one of my favourite places I've been to! Really chilled out vibe, people to party with or if you want a More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1078 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Staff could not be more helpful and friendly- nothing is too much trouble. Nice, relaxed, quiet hostel. A really comfortable stay. Not a long walk to supermarkets or the centre of Cairns. Would definitely stay again! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Jun 2015

Beautiful hostel with a very relaxed atmosphere, had a wonderful time staying here. Very clean rooms and good facilities for a nice price. More
Michielve (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 445 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

It was actual one of the nicest hostel I have been so fare in the last few months. Bit out of the city, but with a shuttle service, really relaxed and with a pretty outdoor area. The atmosphere is familiar and so comphy. Nice crew as well, can't complain! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 19th Jun 2015

Clean hostel Good staff Safes in the room But Location is sh$*&@ About 30 min walk into the city. They have a shuttle bus but it's departing to seldom Also The garden is only open till 22:00 bit no one cares so you have a lot of loud people sitting teehee and talking The More
GrafvonTausnitz (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 214 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Dorothy is a very helpful hostess! Much appreciated. Down side: 30 minute walk to the reef fleet terminal. So either book a pick up service (since castaways did not offer courtesy buses for us in the morning) or Stroll along the esplanade!. Also there is only one socket in our room and More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 23rd Apr 2015

Warm and friendly staff, clean and tidy. I would like to recommend it. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1039 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

I was very pleased with my stay at Gilligans. We were in room 331 which was fortunately quiet. If you are not a party animal I would advise requesting a quieter area as one friend was in a room and was kept up by music. Modern bathroom, spacious room, very comfy beds and great kitchen and More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 19th Jun 2015

I stayed for a week in this place, I got a room but apparently there was an overbooking, then I got a different one, no sleeping at night, every night till 6 or 7am making noise inside the dorm! this hostel is just a spring break place, they just simple want your money they dont care if More
dondemauro7440 (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 82 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 7th Jun 2015

Improve the Internet connection as it was a bit poor in my opinion More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

Average hostel, pancakes in the morning are a really good idea, not much atmosphere however and didn't meet people very easily. Wouldn't stay here again but it is fine for a bed for the night! More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 249 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 13th Jun 2015

A little bit out of the centre More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 4th Jun 2015

Staff is good, professional, friendly. Free shuttle to town. Will arrange all tours you need or find info you want for activities. Breakfast is 2 types of cereal, sliced bread, PB, jelly, milk, coffee. Shower has good power-hot water. Bed is comfortable, rooms are spacious-good fan. AC is More
feraltyger1104 (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1711 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 14th Jun 2015

We had a double room with Air-Con which was great. Good atmosphere for those looking to meet other travelers. Kitchen and toilets could be a bit dirty, especially kitchen. Not enough burners for cooking during the busy times in the kitchen. But nice enough for the price. More
jorr10127387 (USA) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 66%
  • 6th Jun 2015

Good for 20 dollars per night. No lockers in the rooms. No fridge in the kitchen just a little one in your own room. If you have to stay few days it's a good hostel. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 431 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 1st Jun 2015

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Calypso. I enjoyed the fact there was 2 kitchens, the one upstairs offers more privacy, their offer for free wifi in the communal area was good too and I like the social area with settees too. Some of the staff were really helpful however some were not - I More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 29th May 2015

We stayed two nights longer than planned, hostel is awesome! Was recommended from a friend and was definitely worth it! Too bad that it is a bit out of city but it's actually a good point as well. Only thing is that the fridge upstairs was so loud! Thought it's getting louder every day More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 340 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 2nd Jun 2015

Great value stay, so close to everything with excellent activities included. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 10th Mar 2015

First night 90&humid &A/C broken. Staff aware- still barely worked throughout week. Free cereal in morning great. Large groups of school kids throughout the week, completely crowded the place & noisy at all hours. Free wifi great in lounge. One bathroom for 6 girls- no other showers- a bit More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cairns Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Please give us your feedback