Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cairns, Australia

  • 94%
  • 1136 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 21st Nov 2015

Travellers Oasis was one of the best hostels we have been to on the east coast! It was very clean, the staff was outstandingly helpful and the location is pretty amazing aswell! In the hostel you have a lot of nice areas where you can get together and meet some really nice people! We would More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Nov 2015

Absolutely fantastic hostel- could not fault. Helen and Mickey on reception are so kind and helpful. This hostel has such a home like feel. I stayed here for 6 nights but easily could have made this my home!!! There is a unique vibe which is just so tranquil in a busy city. If ending your More
rosiebeer11 (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 1157 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

Reception opening times are poor! Keep the wifi on all night! There are guests from different time zones. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Nov 2015

Really enjoyed my time here. It was a very relaxed hostel a bit away from the main part of town, but still close enough to walk. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the other guests were very friendly too! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 88%
  • 359 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Cairns was awesome and the Northern Greenhouse suited my needs very well! Friendly staff and a great place to stay! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Great place to stay in Cairns if you don't want the craziness that is Gilligans. There is an awesome area to hang out and meet folks, a really nice pool, and clean big kitchen. The atmosphere is chill. The rooms are OK -- they have aircons but they don't really seem to distribute cold air More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter

  • 87%
  • 492 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Stayed in a private room - brilliant. Try and get there for the weekly BBQ - totally worth it More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 7th Nov 2015

Liked my stay here, so booked till the end of the week!! Staff are great always friendly, rooms are clean, showers toilets clean, nice kitchen area with plates etc to use. Nice garden area. Has transport to and from town which is handy but the walk isn't that bad either, just bring water!! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 1176 Total Reviews


  • 46%
  • 26th Nov 2015

It was obnoxiously loud and felt like I just graduated high school. I got into my room and my bed didn't even have a pillow and when I asked for one, there were none. The bathroom had no hand soap and there was little storage. I also felt like I was in the middle of the club all hours of More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 25th Nov 2015

I had a really nice stay there. Actually the hostel was one of the best I've been to in Australia. Pretty modern and you are close to the city next to everything you need. Awesome the possibility to take a free bus from the airport to the hostel. Thumbs definitely up! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 291 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 12th Oct 2015

Best hostel in cairns! Myself and my missus love it here. Lovely atmosphere - no children running around without clothes on - really relaxed and chilled. Pleasant & Defiantely would stay again. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th Oct 2015

Nice hostel, clean and friendly. More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 489 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

The hostel is awesome! Sam from the reception is an absolute legend, he organised my whole east coast trip with me and knows everything about it! All the other stuff is also super friendly and keep the bathrooms and everything clean and tidy all the time 👍 had an awesome time there More
Anonymous (Austria) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 14th Nov 2015

Really nice hostel. Booked last minute and was impressed. Near to the main town, regular shuttle or 15 min walk. Staff were really helpful and told us the best places to go out in Cairns. Other guests were friendly. Not a party hostel but nice atmosphere. Room and bathrooms were More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 230 Total Reviews


  • 74%
  • 3rd Nov 2015

Great if you want somewhere quiet to stay, the free pizza night is a good effort from the staff to get everyone to socialise with each other as well as the paid bbq on Sunday's. It's a bit of a walk to downtown but they do offer a shuttle on demand from reception which is good. We stayed More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 25th Oct 2015

This was a great place to stay as a base in Cairns. It is quite a walk from the city centre (25 min) especially in the 30C heat! They do operate a shuttle bus into town a few times a day though. I went on day tours to the Reef and Daintree while in Cairns and the tour will pick you up More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 95 Total Reviews


  • 49%
  • 18th Sep 2015

Nice location. Rude staff that couldn't care less. It's more of a family based hostel rather than for young adults, not much of a community. More
BC3197 (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 8th Jul 2015

I stayed in a room with a double bed. All was very clean. Bathrooms always clean. Pancakes each morning were nice. The staff was amazing. They helped me book the best trips that made everything so worthwhile. More
dallasmarley (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 698 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 4th Nov 2015

Such a lovely hostel, great athmosphere, happy staff and nice, laidback people! Love it. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 4th Nov 2015

this backpacker claims to be a relax and friendly place but the staff is actually overly strict on pointless "rules": -we could not access the kitchen to only grab our food 2mn after closing even if staff was inside, -we got charged an extra 5$ to access the common room after check out More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Cairns Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Please give us your feedback