X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 176 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 97%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

Great staff , organise you tours and do ask their restaurant recommendations ! How showers , great breakfastcommunal hostel. Was thinking of staying at the other hostel in he areaglad we didn't. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 6th Aug 2015

Staff They are so amazing in BIG. They always helped to make a special day. When I was arrived, I was alone and do not know what to do. In this time Milou suggested to go out and I could enjoyed the first day. Cleanliness When I arrived from the day, the room always clean and neat. More
yunisha (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 373 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Walking distance to Long Street, but much quieter than staying directly in Long Street. Dorms as well as kitchen and other common rooms were very clean. Friendly staff and especially nice fellow travellers! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Aug 2015

Amber Tree Lodge is a really nice and comfortable place, with a very kind staff We felt at home from the first moment. The free breakfast is tasty and the kitchen is well equipped to prepare your own meal. But there are also a lot of restaurants nearby. Although the lodge is situated in a More
Anonymous (Belgium) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 556 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Absolutely the best hostel that I have ever stayed in, out of all of the hostels that I have tried around the world. The hostel is always organizing activities for the guests, and the atmosphere is very lively so it is easy to meet new people. The hostel is located in a safe neighborhood More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 13th Aug 2015

Great staff but hostel didnt regulate its 10.30 keep quiet rule which meant that both nights i was there i was kept awake until 2.30 am by super loud parties that were going on in the bar area. Would not stay again simply because of that . More
cassandrasealy (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 122 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Great and friendly staff that are very helpful and will go out their way to go above and beyond. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Aug 2015

Unfortunately just two days prior, I received a notice that although my reservation had been confirmed several weeks prior, Once Hostel revoked my reservation due to overbooking. They scheduled us at another hostel in town, which was nice but a bit of a hassle. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 13th May 2015

Cozy stay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Apr 2015

We stayed a week and it was home from home for us. Very relaxed atmosphere and great staff. Great location as well. Could have stayed another week easily. Highly recommended by us. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1824 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

It's more expensive than other hostels around Long Street but has clean and neat linens and bathrooms. The bed in dorms is really comfortable and clean and the breakfast is the perfect. I can get many kinds of bread, fruits, cheese, cereal, teas and coffee. The staff is very kind and More
Anonymous (South Korea) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 11th Aug 2015

This is a more laid back and quiet hostel. The facility is attractive and comfortable. Every area is spic and span. The beds and bedding are perfect for a good night's rest. The breakfast was a buffet with everything. I felt this hostel was not a bargain but you did get what you paid More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 159 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Good location (near the beachfront/ stadium) in an area where are no other hostels. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Jun 2015

The stay was great. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 86 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 20th Aug 2015

For some reason people kept putting dishes away in the kitchen at 5 AM? More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 24th Apr 2015

staff are awesome, very friendly & helpful all the time. I stayed in a private room so can't speak of dorms, but the kitchen is really big & fully equipped, the patio outside is awesome, & there's a sitting area for eating/socializing while cooking, as well as a TV area with couch. it's More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 81 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 29th Jul 2015

My husband Ben and I absolutely love staying at Stoked. It's central, clean and the atmosphere is awesome. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Apr 2015

all of the facilities are really new and nice, very clean. nice kitchen, awesome patio overlooking the beach, small tv loft area. our private room was very small and inside a dorm room, so didn't feel too private. Henry is a great staff member, offered suggestions for what to do & we ended More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 494 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 7th Aug 2015

My stay at Ashanti was definitely good. The staff was very nice and helpful and the other travelers were incredibly awesome as well. Only down side was, that the music got louder and louder the later it got, but if you kindly ask them to turn it down, they will. Maybe the security pin More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 23rd May 2015

There was a weird smell in my room and the staff did not assist me in terms of taking me through the facilities. Alos, information regarding check-in was not available on Hostelworld. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback