X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 102 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 100%
  • 20th Jun 2014

I loved my stay at B.I.G. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Even before my arrival they sent me a list of optional activities and excursions and booked a tour for me in advance. The room was clean, there was a shower and a toilet inside the room. My bed was very comfortable. I More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

One of the best hostals I've been! Very nice staff, very helpful. Hope to be back soon!! Thanks Chakana, Ivor and Amy! Please continue like this! More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 294 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Thank you to Steve and all the staff for making us feel at home, we met some great people and had an awesome time in Cape Town. Wish we could have stayed longer! More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 5th Aug 2014

Excellent! More
Anonymous (China) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 468 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

Absolutely loved my stay here. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Cape Town. Great hostel, great location, lovely friendly staff and just an all round awesome place to stay. Definitely didn't want to leave! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 30th Jul 2014

Awesome hostel. Great common areas and bar. The Wednesday night braai is amazing. Excellent staff. Great location with a short walk to the waterfront. Nice dorms, comfy beds and lockers with powerpoints inside. A great stay. Was sad to leave and would stay again. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1662 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Good atmosphere, very close to long street - 10 min walk, also close to green market for souvenir shopping at bargain prices. Well organised arrangement for tours. Foreign currency enchasing facilty. They changed US$ at 9.4 which is same as what I got at airport form travellex after More
Anonymous (Sri Lanka) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jul 2014

The staff was super friendly and very helpful. They very very knowledgable about tours and the city. The bar is a great place to have a drink and meet other travelers. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 29th Apr 2014

Awesome place to stay, the staff were amazing and incredibly friendly and helpful. I found it a bit far from the waterfront/CBD/long street but otherwise was pretty awesome More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 27th Apr 2014

Green Elephant Backpackers gave me the best start to my trip around South Africa! As soon as we arrived we were made welcome by Nyasha on the front desk. We straight away signed up for a hike up Table Mountain, which Nyasha guided himself, and had the best trip! He was continually helpful More
markeyjessica (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 227 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 4th Jul 2014

The hostel was excellent, I stayed in a single room which had a heater and a very warm duvet. Showers were cold with a couple of groups staying there. Kitchen included kettle, microwave and small stove for cooking with pots and pans available. Was a bit grotty as people have to clean up More
rainey_317804 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 23rd Jun 2014

The hostel is safe, clean and good value for money. However, there should be no smoking inside the hostel's compound. Clients were smoking just outside their rooms near to the office and kitchen. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 1st Apr 2014

Great start to our South African trip at this hostel. Facilities are great and staff are really helpful (booked us a great deal on a shark dive). John is an absolute hero! Location is perfect just at the top of long street. Recommend to anyone. Phil More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 766 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Fantastic experience, meeting people was incredibly easy and even with people in and out on a daily basis my stuff was fine. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Jul 2014

Breakfast is delicious, so are the drinks at the bar. Staff was very accommodating. Wi-Fi is very poor and should be fixed. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 429 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Very helpful people. Thanks More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Jul 2014

We felt us very cool at Ashanti. Thank you More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 19th Jul 2014

Matt, the guy who owns the hostel, also owns a travel agency on the first floor and every single recommendation he gave us was amazing! Super helpful guy, would definitely recommend this place to anyone. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 13th Jul 2014

Excellent week stay at One World Lodge. Organized my entire week at the Travel center connected to the hostel. It is right on the end of long street so it is super easy to get around to see stuff. The South African Museum is right around the block where you can get on a hop on hop off Red More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback