X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 348 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

The hostel was really lovely. The atmosphere was nice. My only downside was that the dorm was tiny. It was hard to even find a place to put your bag! Other than that it was great. Very clean, the staff were helpful and it was pretty cheap. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Excellent hostel with a superb and dedicated staff, good location and great atmosphere. More
roberta13111 (Hungary) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.2

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 91%
  • 9th Mar 2015

cosy familiar hostel, very nice to meet people in a lovely atmosphere with a nice basic breakfast included More
Latem (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Mar 2015

What a lukka joint. Great location, great staff, Great B.I.G place. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 528 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 16th Mar 2015

I was in a quad and my only comment would be that I wish there were more bathroom/showering opportunities rather than 1 bathroom for 4 people More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 6th Mar 2015

Great facilities and location is good for the V&A waterfront. If you want a bit more chill time and enjoy a few drinks this is a great place. I found it to be a bit clicky but this was probably because I didn't spend too much time at the hostel. Maybe better for younger travellers who want More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1759 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 69%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Friendly staff, but dorm room too expensive and way too much noise from the road - sounded like trucks were driving through the room! Breakfast a bit pricy also! No wifi-connection in the room! Come ooon! its 2015 - even the cheapest home-stays or hostels in fx. thailand and Vietnam has More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Feb 2015

The Backpack was a fantastic place to stay. I couldn't fault the hostel, location, people (guests & staff), activities and the city of Cape Town. Highly recommended as your first choice if there is a room available. As with anything in life, you get what you pay for and the Backpack More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Wonderful location within view of the station as you arrive by train (which is completely safe). Amazing views, amazing rooms More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 8th Feb 2015

Stoked has the perfect location, incredible staff and you just won't want to leave. Easy to get stuck there. First choice in Muizenberg and some of the best hostels I know. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 78 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 27th Jan 2015

Although away from the prime sightseeing of the city centre, this hostel and its nearby buildings is a fantastic set-up. Incredible staff and comfortable facilities. Highly recommend. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Nice atmosphere and staff willing to help when needed. However, according to Hostelworld I should not have had to pay the amount I paid to do the reservation, and I paid it. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 56 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 20th Jan 2015

Lovely place with very friendly staff. Enjoyed my stat,will definately stay there again More
Anonymous (Zimbabwe) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 24th Dec 2014

Had a great stay at 33 south. The staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities are neat and clean. Few bathrooms meant queueing on occasion. The thing we like best is the 24hr reception desk. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 482 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 17th Mar 2015

Helpful staff, cool atmosphere, great facilities. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Lovely place to stay and very central. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 96 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 18th Mar 2015

Room was clean and secure. Our bedroom door did not close fully unless we locked it. The WiFi is weak in the rooms and is best in the lobby. The restaurant/bar is always loud and crowded during the day, but closes around midnight. Staff are friendly but sometimes unprofessional. Airport More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Feb 2015

Everything was perfect, except for the fact that the plugs in the room didn't work and the wi-fi is really not reliable. The atmosphere is great, free breakfast is perfect, staff is friendly and helpful, and the music playing in the bar area/beer garden is awesome. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 220 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 57%
  • 8th Mar 2015

The deposit which we made online to confirm our reservation was told us as not being payed to the hostel when we arrived there, so that amount of approx. 120 ZAR was charged double to us.... Beds were of poor quality even for hostel-used travelers. Wlan was charged at additional 20 ZAR More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Best hostel ever More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback