X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 98%
  • 116 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 94%
  • 11th Oct 2014

The staff is so nice and very helpfull. The breakfast is really good. The atmosphere is very nice. Its a very good place for stay for a few days. You can go anywere in taxi very easy in only few minutes. If i come back to cape town, i will try to go there. More
imanolgi5570 (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 30th Sep 2014

This is by far my favorite hostel I have ever stayed at!! The staff was absolutely freakin awesome! Ivor, Milou, Tal, Amy, Jess all felt like long lost friends. They we're welcoming, friendly, and always helpful. I loved the atmosphere of the hostel, and inviting place to meet and make new More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 309 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The owner was great and super helpful, as were all of his staff. Beautiful place, not too huge so it maintains a cozy intimate feel. Great kitchen (which not a lot of hostels have), living room and patio area. It feels a bit like you're a guest in someone's house in a great way. The More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Sep 2014

really recommandable. nice people, excellent location. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 484 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 10th Oct 2014

That were one of the best hostels I've ever been! The staff is amazing, Chico is a great guy, there's always something to do, everything is clean and neat. Once in CPT, stay there and you won't regret. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Oct 2014

Amazing guests and staff during my stay. A great social atmosphere for meeting people, but at the same time, bar shuts down early so you can go out in the city if you want to keep the party going or can go to sleep if you've got an early adventure planned the next morning. The location More
josephmacdonald1978 (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 68 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Definitely the best choice in obz. Staff is really good ! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 20th Aug 2014

For us the hostel was very convenient because we knew somebody in the area. For other poeple it might be a bit far out. We didn't use much of the facilities as we were in the second house and often out with friends. The second house is two streets down from the original backpackers and has More
lischenfuehring1465 (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 1687 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 9th Oct 2014

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Everything from the staff to the atmosphere at this place is just fantastic! The staff will help you with everything you need while youre in Cape Town and also make you feel like your home! Lisa is just the funniest person you will ever meet! More
Kjandreassen (Norway) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 6th Oct 2014

Lovely place, helpful staff, clean and beautiful bedrooms. Internet doesn't work well anywhere, but with patience you can work ir out. All the recomended tours were amazing! More
pativelloso1270 (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 61 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

We are really glad we chose this place for our week in Cape Town. Trevor and Matt were really helpful and there was good communication from them before we arrived. Our private room was very spacious and since the hostel was quiet when we stayed it sometimes felt like we had a whole More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th Jul 2014

Matt, the guy who owns the hostel, also owns a travel agency on the first floor and every single recommendation he gave us was amazing! Super helpful guy, would definitely recommend this place to anyone. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 779 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 83%
  • 10th Oct 2014

my bed sheets were stained in an off-puting way... otherwise the hostel was great! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 3rd Oct 2014

Good hostel but not well taken care of. Light fixtures are broken. Bathrooms not very clean but manageable. Saw a dead cockroach from the day before which again goes to the point for the need to take care of the place. Staff were nice and helpful. Location was really great and quiet. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 350 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 20th Sep 2014

We had a nice time at the hostel, location is perfect, very close to the Waterfront, there are loads of good shops, cafés and restaurants right next to the hostel, staff are very helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

We had a very goed stay at the big blue b/p. The kitchen was very clean. We sleep at a dorm for female it was really good. Big blue is 10 minutes walk to waterfront. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 239 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 6th Sep 2014

This was definitely one of the best hostels we have ever stayed in. It's a beautiful place, the location couldn't be better and the staff is amazing. We will definitely come back to the Zebra Crossing when we are in Cape Town again and recommend this place to everybody who goes there. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

I stayed in a private single for two nights and had a great visit. The staff was super kind, everything was clean, and the cafe was a great perk. Also, the location is perfect for walking everywhere! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback