X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 271 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 11th Apr 2014

Great place, awesome staff. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 1st Apr 2014

we really enjoyed our stay and would gladly come back. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 83 Total Reviews

No.2

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 100%
  • 9th Apr 2014

By far and away the best hostel experience I've had, though regretfully I was only able to stay one night. The premises were still being renovated at the time, but all the rooms were pristine. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and the kitchen area clean too. Most importantly, the More
devinrfitzpatrick6746 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Apr 2014

Fantastic backpackers. Best I have stayed in in Cape Town and my most recent stay was my second time there. The atmosphere, facilities and furnishings are fab. Staff are amazing - knowledgeable and accommodating. I will be back in a couple of weeks! More
emmairvine691361 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 58 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 10th Feb 2014

LOVED this hostel and enjoyed our stay altogether. I can't think of a bad word to say would recommend to anyone!!! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 5th Feb 2014

nice place. just in the end of long street. very convenient for everything. matt is friendly and helpful with his lovely little girl small. i'll be back! More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 431 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 13th Apr 2014

Great atmosphere, good facilities and friendly staff. Excellent location in Cape Town. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2014

This hostel provided a truly memorable experience. It was constantly clean and secure (there were multiple lock systems to access your room, as well as lockers for valuables). There was a party every night, yet situated so that it would not disturb your sleep. HOWEVER, the real strength More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1613 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 69%
  • 11th Apr 2014

I don't understand the hype or why they claim to be the best hostel in Africa. I was traveling there for months and can tell you that is absolutely untrue. While the staff are incredibly nice and helpful, the hostel itself is just your average hostel. It isn't particularly nice, the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Apr 2014

Good location More
cmck1985809 (Ireland) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 263 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 11th Apr 2014

Easy going people More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Mar 2014

I like the most- the ambience of hostel created by absolutely helpful and great staff there. Its clean! Hostel offers to its guests kitchen facilities so that you can prepare your own food!!There 's a bar and even pool (not olimpic size though ;-)Dorms could be a bit more spacious but all More
joannastanuch138 (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 2nd Mar 2014

It has been wonderful at green elephant. Everyone is so nice and we felt right at home there. Many thanks to Nyasha, Marlon and Olwethu, and to all the rest as well. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 20th Feb 2014

Nyasha and the crew were very helpful and super friendly. Made my short stay in Cape Town a good one. Thanks Guys, Marlon. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 406 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 6th Apr 2014

Just got annoyed with one of your African male cleaners, who clearly was prejudiced towards me, because of my ethnicity of being a coloured person. I comfronted him. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2014

Ashanti Gardens is a very nice, lively Place to stay. Breakfast on the balcony with a glance on Tablemountain is fabulous! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 75 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 6th Feb 2014

Very welcoming and competent staff, a great location. The flaws came from the facilities : the room had only one plug behind a bed, which was not practical at all. A fan on the celling would have been better. The beds made a lot of noise. A lack of intimacy in the toilets. Otherwise More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 1st Feb 2014

Awesome location, decent rooms. Only complaint was one of the older staffers (Eastern European accent) was not very helpful. Asked for directions in the morning after checking in he gave me very vague and essentially useless directions/advice. Ended up asking a cabbie who contradicted much More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 4th Apr 2014

The staff seemed annoyed if we where asking for a pillow... Cleanliness in the kitchen was awful, everything else was clean and nice (bedrooms/ bathrooms and living room). More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 24th Feb 2014

I have stayed here before and will definitely stay again. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback