X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 89%
  • 8th Nov 2014

Excellent, I definitely will come back More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 31st Oct 2014

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff were so hospitable and lovely that I felt that we had been friends for years after only a few short days. Nothing is too much hassle. The trips that they coordinate with the other companies are excellent, all that you have to tell More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 312 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The owner was great and super helpful, as were all of his staff. Beautiful place, not too huge so it maintains a cozy intimate feel. Great kitchen (which not a lot of hostels have), living room and patio area. It feels a bit like you're a guest in someone's house in a great way. The More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Sep 2014

really recommandable. nice people, excellent location. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 69 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Great place! Nice people and good facilities! Il be back!!! More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Definitely the best choice in obz. Staff is really good ! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 492 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 3rd Nov 2014

Really good hostel. Very clean, good facilities and helpful staff. Great location for waterfront. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 26th Oct 2014

A great hostel with lovely private rooms. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. They even went out of their way to help me when the battery of my car went dead. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 1697 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 21st Nov 2014

This was my 7th time in Cape Town and of course I stayed in The Backpack again. Best hostel in the Town! The only downside of the hostel is, their lovely receptionist Lisa supports Arsenal. What a pity! More
Anonymous (Turkey) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 15th Nov 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in this hostel and once again it doesn't disappoint. The recommendations for things to do are helpful,the staff is helpful, everything is very clean and neat, the showers are fantastic and the breakfast is great. I like the location because it is not More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 70 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 9th Nov 2014

Really great place. The rooms are clean and modern, and have their own bathroom. The lockers are huge, and you also get an extra locker behind your bed with plugs inside so you can charge your phone or laptop safely when you're gone. The place offers activities every day, the place is More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd Oct 2014

Stay was very good, however, I kept bumping my leg on the clipboard hanging next to my bed due to the beds being rather close to each other, which was a bit annoying. Maybe just my clumsiness though :D. Also, it was very dark on the bottom bunks and more than two plugs for four would have More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 20th Oct 2014

perfect place for couples or people who prefer it chill. although, the bar scene is a minute's walk away, this place is a great escape. very quite and safe environment. otherwise pretty basic, but well worth the money! staff is very friendly and willing to help out with any plans More
Anonymous (Austria) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

We are really glad we chose this place for our week in Cape Town. Trevor and Matt were really helpful and there was good communication from them before we arrived. Our private room was very spacious and since the hostel was quiet when we stayed it sometimes felt like we had a whole More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 785 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 1st Nov 2014

Sometimes loud due to the street but pretty calm at night, cleanliness okay but not outstanding. All in all a very nice stay, cool location, friendly Staff and good breakfast. Would definitely book again More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 21st Oct 2014

2200 hour quiet time not observed. Staff indifferent to our concerns. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 213 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Cool atmosphere, nice people from all over the world. Great for having a beer and making new friends. Staff is awesome, knowledgable about tours which they can arrange for you at a good price. Ow and cheap beer! Rooms are clean, beds are good, water is warm :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Sep 2014

great atmosphere and cool staff. personally, i think a bathtub in a hostel is quite unhygienic. really good location close to shops and bars and 10-15min walk to the train station. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 1st Nov 2014

Friendly staff. If one needs to stay exactly in Muizenberg, the location is great next to the railway station and within a walking distance from bars and restaurants. The seven bed dorm is cool with one of the beds on a mezzanine floor which makes sleeping there almost feel like sleeping More
Anonymous (Finland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Kia and Jeremy are the best! More
morganrr (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback