X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 161 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 100%
  • 21st May 2015

Had an absolutely fabulous weekend staying at the BIG. The house itself is super clean and comfortable. The staff go above and beyond to create an amazing, warm, friendly atmosphere and make sure every guest is having a great time. I was a woman traveling alone and felt super safe and More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 14th Apr 2015

The staff are interested in there visitors . A place to to if you want to stay in touch, happy. Ear plugs provided. Cater for all ages. What more could one want. Just set off the fire alarm . More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 1st Apr 2015

Very helpful staff (available 24/7), cute cat, secure (safe + gate with code). Would be nice if guests could put away their dishes once they're clean (when they think of cleaning them) bc the sink was always packed full with heaps of them and the employees had to do it themselves... More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 5th Feb 2015

A really fun and secure hostel, right on Long Street where things are happening. It could use a bit of a touch-up here and there, but otherwise, a really great value for the money. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 359 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 8th Apr 2015

Problems with parking. Only 3 small parking lots for the whole hostel! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 5th Apr 2015

Amber Tree Lodge was one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Well stocked kitchen, nice lounge area and friendly staff. The only negative was the toilets smelled strongly of urine for the few days I was there. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 539 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 15th May 2015

Atlantic Point is one of the best hostels where I've been so far - very enthusiastic and welcoming staff, nice atmosphere and clean rooms. A big plus also for the tours which they organize! Thanks for the stay and the amazing time that we had there. More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 1st May 2015

hardly ever had such a nice hostel experience; community, Integration of all, good time together, just fun More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1786 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 23rd May 2015

I loved my stay at the backpack. Thank you for having me More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 18th May 2015

I stayed at The Backpack for a week and I was impressed and really pleased that I stayed there. Although traveling alone, I stayed in a 4 bed female room. The room was quiet, extremely clean and completely secure. My experience with the staff was awesome! Everyone was so helpful with More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 106 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 29th Apr 2015

It was clean, the location is central, the staff very much friendly, really value for your money, breakfast excellent. It is just noisy when you enter, but ag its okey. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Great staff, thank you so much for the warm welcome! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 15th Apr 2015

If you want some time outside the centre of Cape Town and explore the peninsula then definitely stay here. The view of the beach was wonderful, staff are very friendly and the rooms are very spacious and secure. Beds are very comfortable More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Stoked is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, at least in the upstairs dorm I was staying in. The beds are comfortable, the linen spotless and the cleaners are there every morning. Henry is excellent and Winny and the others there to help as well whatever your needs or queries. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 157 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Thsi Lodge is very nice and clean. Also a quiet place to relax. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 24th Apr 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much! I have never experienced a hostel this clean and was therefore very pleased with it. The booking however had worked out wrong as there is a mistake in the system that allows you to book a single bed for 2 persons while paying for 2. This is why we did not More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 5th Apr 2015

Great security and great staff ! Had really good moments with some of them ! However, in my 5 days stay, I NEVER had a warm shower... 5 days with cold water is a long time... As for the food, we've been stolen some of ours (goodbye Nutella :'( !) so be careful if you leave some food in More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 486 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 23rd May 2015

There was a weird smell in my room and the staff did not assist me in terms of taking me through the facilities. Alos, information regarding check-in was not available on Hostelworld. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 9th May 2015

I stayed in a private ensuite that was wonderful. The dorms seemed even better, though. Beautiful renovated house with high ceilings and grand rooms. Lovely hostel in a great location - just adjacent to the best parts of Kloof. Great grounds and there's a pool! There's also a cafe/bar More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback