X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 1st Apr 2015

Very helpful staff (available 24/7), cute cat, secure (safe + gate with code). Would be nice if guests could put away their dishes once they're clean (when they think of cleaning them) bc the sink was always packed full with heaps of them and the employees had to do it themselves... More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 5th Feb 2015

A really fun and secure hostel, right on Long Street where things are happening. It could use a bit of a touch-up here and there, but otherwise, a really great value for the money. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 156 Total Reviews

No.2

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 97%
  • 14th Apr 2015

The staff are interested in there visitors . A place to to if you want to stay in touch, happy. Ear plugs provided. Cater for all ages. What more could one want. Just set off the fire alarm . More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Apr 2015

We like staying here and staffs are very cool and friendly. The place is like a house with relax atmosphere. You would not feel that you stay at youth hostel, but you would feel that you stay at your friend's place. More
izaul9585 (Thailand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 355 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 8th Apr 2015

Problems with parking. Only 3 small parking lots for the whole hostel! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 5th Apr 2015

Amber Tree Lodge was one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Well stocked kitchen, nice lounge area and friendly staff. The only negative was the toilets smelled strongly of urine for the few days I was there. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 535 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 29th Mar 2015

Very pleasant hostel, friendly staff, cool bar upstairs. A small point for improvement would be promoting hostel activities to make use of the bar area! More
klj12373 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Mar 2015

I really enjoyed staying here and I absolutely felt safe throughout. It isn't far from many places, it was easy for me to get to long street and Camps Bay, and there are lots of bars around. The establishment is outstanding both in appearance and facilities and the staff was very friendly, More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1775 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 18th Apr 2015

Beautiful hostel! Location is great, perfect if you want a quiet place to sleep but still be close to the nightlife as long St is a two minute walk away. Staff are very friendly and the beds are so comfortable! The breakfast was also very nice. Definitely recommend :) More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Thanks for a great stay! Very helpful staff. More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 76 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 15th Apr 2015

If you want some time outside the centre of Cape Town and explore the peninsula then definitely stay here. The view of the beach was wonderful, staff are very friendly and the rooms are very spacious and secure. Beds are very comfortable More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Mar 2015

Amazing! So welcoming. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 102 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Great staff, thank you so much for the warm welcome! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Fantastic atmosphere, amazing staff not only at reception but the bar staff really cheer you up as well with how welcoming they are. Loved the breakfast service and the facilities. Reception go out of their way to make sure you are looked after. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 483 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 17th Mar 2015

Helpful staff, cool atmosphere, great facilities. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Lovely place to stay and very central. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 78 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 27th Jan 2015

Although away from the prime sightseeing of the city centre, this hostel and its nearby buildings is a fantastic set-up. Incredible staff and comfortable facilities. Highly recommend. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Nice atmosphere and staff willing to help when needed. However, according to Hostelworld I should not have had to pay the amount I paid to do the reservation, and I paid it. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 224 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 20th Apr 2015

The location is very good. Also the staf were very nice The only problem was the nois More
Anonymous (Saudi Arabia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 2nd Apr 2015

I really enjoy my long holiday there. Good people good place . sure that my next holiday or long weekend I will be back More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback