X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 164 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 94%
  • 4th Jun 2015

Absolutely loved the B.I.G, the staff and other travellers were friendly, helpful and welcoming. A great location close to shops, waterfront and easy access for taxi. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast was outstanding! The only thing I was upset about were the staff that worked front More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 31st May 2015

This place was amazing. The staff was unbeatable. It was a great little house and you almost felt like you were at home. The included breakfast was one of the best I've seen. I loved it here and would definitely stay here again. More
junior74 (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 85 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 24th Apr 2015

staff are awesome, very friendly & helpful all the time. I stayed in a private room so can't speak of dorms, but the kitchen is really big & fully equipped, the patio outside is awesome, & there's a sitting area for eating/socializing while cooking, as well as a TV area with couch. it's More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 1st Apr 2015

Very helpful staff (available 24/7), cute cat, secure (safe + gate with code). Would be nice if guests could put away their dishes once they're clean (when they think of cleaning them) bc the sink was always packed full with heaps of them and the employees had to do it themselves... More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 361 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 7th Jun 2015

Good staff, good place and wonderful location More
stefanolond74284 (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 8th Apr 2015

Problems with parking. Only 3 small parking lots for the whole hostel! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 549 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 27th Jun 2015

i loved it More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Jun 2015

I really appreciate the hostel, staff is lovely and help me for every single thing. About the hostel, the breakfast could be better, and they should change bed linen every day for more cleanliness. I stayed 3 days and they did not even change the bed one time. More
Anonymous (Benin) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 13th May 2015

Cozy stay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Apr 2015

We stayed a week and it was home from home for us. Very relaxed atmosphere and great staff. Great location as well. Could have stayed another week easily. Highly recommended by us. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 28th Apr 2015

all of the facilities are really new and nice, very clean. nice kitchen, awesome patio overlooking the beach, small tv loft area. our private room was very small and inside a dorm room, so didn't feel too private. Henry is a great staff member, offered suggestions for what to do & we ended More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 15th Apr 2015

If you want some time outside the centre of Cape Town and explore the peninsula then definitely stay here. The view of the beach was wonderful, staff are very friendly and the rooms are very spacious and secure. Beds are very comfortable More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1799 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Awesome, the staff were the best More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th Jun 2015

Very friendly staff, breakfast spread was one of the best I've seen in a hostel. All communal areas had a good feel to them, this is a really nice place to stay. More
becky_1423620 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 109 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 14th Jun 2015

Extremely professional place with great facities and security. The staff are very helpful and responsive. There is a lively bar and restaurant which can cause trouble sleeping if you are making it an early night, especially if you are given a room on that side of the building. This is the More
conormcgee1559 (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 7th Jun 2015

The rooms were very small. The bathroom was not clean, there were cockroaches in it. The cleaning staff went through my things and they even threw something away without asking. That is something, what is just not acceptable! The kitchen was dirrty and much to small for such a big hostel. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 158 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 28th Jun 2015

The stay was great. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Thsi Lodge is very nice and clean. Also a quiet place to relax. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 80 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 8th May 2015

So glad I decided for the Green Elephant as my first Cape Town hostel, so much I booked it again when I returned to Cape Town . Great location and very frinedly staff which makes you feel at home directly, especiall thanks to Edwina . Loved the garden bar where always nice interesting More
retinafunk (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 27th Jan 2015

Although away from the prime sightseeing of the city centre, this hostel and its nearby buildings is a fantastic set-up. Incredible staff and comfortable facilities. Highly recommend. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback