X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 112 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The B.I.G

  • 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town
  • 97%
  • 18th Sep 2014

Amazing!!! Have never stayed in a lovelier hostel. So much attention to detail. Staff is really welcoming every guest and being helpful. You can't but have a great time at the BIG!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Sep 2014

By far the Best Hostel Ive seen so far.. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 302 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 5th Sep 2014

Thanks again for everything. I had a wonderful relaxing time at your hostel (loved the garden). Wally Umali More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 5th Sep 2014

Lovely hostel, beautiful little garden and a balcony looking over the Table mountain, really nice homely atmosphere. Perfect if you want to relax in the evenings rather than party. They definitely tell the truth about comfy beds on their website (we stayed in both twin room and a dorm). More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 475 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Very good bar, parties and staff! It's a very friendly environment, and very well maintained facilities. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Sep 2014

All of the staff are very friendly and excited to get everyone in the hostel to experience Cape Town as much as possible. I would definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 66 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 20th Aug 2014

For us the hostel was very convenient because we knew somebody in the area. For other poeple it might be a bit far out. We didn't use much of the facilities as we were in the second house and often out with friends. The second house is two streets down from the original backpackers and has More
lischenfuehring1465 (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 29th Apr 2014

Awesome place to stay, the staff were amazing and incredibly friendly and helpful. I found it a bit far from the waterfront/CBD/long street but otherwise was pretty awesome More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1684 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 54%
  • 24th Sep 2014

We booked the hostel because of the good reviews on hostelworld but we were really disappointed. The staff wasn't very friendly and our room was OK but looked much worse than all the other hostels we stayed in and payed that much money for. Most importantly, the atmosphere in the hostel More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Sep 2014

The best hostel that I stayed!!!! Excellence atmosphere! Good localization! Was perfect took my breakfast looking for table mountain! The staffs are great! When I came back to Cape Town I booking again!! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 61 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

We are really glad we chose this place for our week in Cape Town. Trevor and Matt were really helpful and there was good communication from them before we arrived. Our private room was very spacious and since the hostel was quiet when we stayed it sometimes felt like we had a whole More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th Jul 2014

Matt, the guy who owns the hostel, also owns a travel agency on the first floor and every single recommendation he gave us was amazing! Super helpful guy, would definitely recommend this place to anyone. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 233 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

I stayed in a private single for two nights and had a great visit. The staff was super kind, everything was clean, and the cafe was a great perk. Also, the location is perfect for walking everywhere! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 25th Aug 2014

Perfect location, close to the center and even though close to a main road it is very quiet during the night. Nice small cafe inside. More
Anonymous (Czech Republic) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 775 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 9th Sep 2014

This place was excellent, really good end to my rtw trip. The staff were like friends, great advice on tours, where to shop etc. My bed was clean, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, it's got a great vibe but the bar shuts in time for sleep, great mixed cloud, it's in a great More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Sep 2014

Had a great experience! Really appreciate the advice Andy gave me about tours and overlanding. Now on my way to Kenya:) More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 434 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 8th Sep 2014

Ashanti was a great place to stay, highly recommended. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Very helpful people. Thanks More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 347 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 77%
  • 20th Sep 2014

We had a nice time at the hostel, location is perfect, very close to the Waterfront, there are loads of good shops, cafés and restaurants right next to the hostel, staff are very helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

We had a very goed stay at the big blue b/p. The kitchen was very clean. We sleep at a dorm for female it was really good. Big blue is 10 minutes walk to waterfront. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Cape Town Podcasts

Listen to our Cape Town podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Cape Town Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Cape Town Videos

Watch our Cape Town video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Cape Town Videos

Please give us your feedback