X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Cartagena, Colombia

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 136 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

I had a fantastic stay at Hostel Mamallena. The staff was friendly and helpful, the AC at night was clutch, the ensuite bathroom to the dorm was clean (although I was woken up by them cleaning it twice), the atmosphere in the courtyard was great, and the location is fantastic, right in the More
kbrodgesell2923 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Congratulations Stuart ! Amazing hostel :) Special thanks to the receptionist who Works in the morning shift, she helped me a lot :) More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2333 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Once again amazing. This is my second stay and I would keep doing it. This time we played soccer organized by Jason, gracias Jason and we had a blast playing next to the muralla. Of course the area very safe clean and comfortable. Always able to drink with the people you meet or chill out More
anthonyaangulo703 (Colombia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 14th Aug 2014

El Viajero is very big and I'd say it's more run like a hotel.The cleaniest hostel I stayed in colombia and amazing atmosphere too.Unlike other hostels though, you do not have priority over your bed in the dorms and must pay in advance for how many nights you will stay.Unaware of this, I More
Anonymous (Portugal) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 124 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 11th Jul 2014

Great service, good location and comfortable sleep. The only concern I had was the shower, which isn't very private (there are decorative holes in the wall, through which others in the hostel may watch you if they chose) and isn't very organized (there is no place to put your clean clothes More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 9th Jul 2014

Nice hostel, was quiet during my 3 day stay. Good sturdy beds with large lockers at the head of the bed which I personally liked. Beds also had a curtain which gave your own space. Air conditioning was a welcome luxury in the heat of Cartagena. Overall good stay! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 65 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Pros: - wifi was good - close to major sites and attractions. - excellent security Cons: - stayed in 10 bed dorm with no aircon and room was extremely hot and uncomfortable. - the kitchen is not allowed to be used. - bathrooms were constantly wet, smelly and dirty. - no lockers for More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 20th May 2014

Very helpful owners. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 683 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 13th Jul 2014

Makako Chill Out Hostel was in an excellent location within the old city of Cartagena. However don't expect cleanliness, we saw quite a few cockroaches around and the bed sheets were not particularly clean. If possible, try to reserve a room with air conditioning - the 5 person room at the More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 5th Jul 2014

This hostel is poorly ran, and makes no sense in terms of how it is ran which doesn't make it as chilled out as other hostels including party ones. Everything is difficult- difficult if you have an issue with your room, no tabs so money on you at all times, if you want to extend this is More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 88 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Mama Wady was great. Had a very good time the night we stayed there. Location is excellent, just a couple of blocks from the ciudadel, and our room was provided with two fans that helped us get through the hot night smoothly. The staff was the best part though: we got to know Mama Wady and More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 15th Jul 2014

door is open all the time, basic hostel but good price for what it is worth. looking for a basic hostel, this is a good choice More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 529 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 51%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Rudest staff on the planet. Tours are a complete rip off, that's if they even bother to book them for you. They aren't patient with no Spanish speakers. Location is good but wouldn't recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 71%
  • 4th Aug 2014

The staff were so lovely and the place is good value for money, however one of the beds had bed bugs. Not so fun! And there's only one shower/toilet. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 68 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 28th Jul 2014

I forgot my shoes in the hostal and came back a week later to see if they were still there... and they were!!! Pretty cool and honest staff. Thank you!! More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 23rd Jul 2014

Staff were very helpful - but not always available and hard to track down. The walls were peeling and the floor dirty. The air-conditioning unit leaked all over our luggage leaving it soaked for the flight home. The free breakfast was a bread roll. I don't like being too down More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 259 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 8th Aug 2014

I met some great friends at Media Luna, we all traipsed off to do the mud bath in the volcano and spent our time floating and drinking beer in the pool. The rooftop parties were amazing, the pool a life savior in the heat of Cartagena, and the security great on nights they opened the roof More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Great vibe and location. The Wednesday night party in the hostel was a highlight. The only issue was the heat...make sure you book a room with air conditioning! In Cartagena air conditioning is a necessity not a luxury. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 28th Jun 2014

Great staff. Quito was really helpful and lovely. Good budget option. The room is hot, but Cartagena is hot. The mixed dorm with air conditioning would have been a better choice. It's above a club so best to bring ear plugs. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 20th Jun 2014

Can someone please turn the music off? More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback