X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2467 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 74%
  • 15th Dec 2014

Nice hostel but not much going on if you're traveling alone. Not much of the typical meet and greet and make friends for life going on. Also need more knowledgeable staff on so they can recommend stuff, not just fellow travellers who don't know local hang outs. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 15th Dec 2014

Such a cool place to stay! The staff were pretty cool too, very chilled and didn't make any part of it stressful at all and always there for any questions. Loved how the original cells were kept, giving the place an atmosphere. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 395 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 14th Dec 2014

The staff was amazingly nice. The people at the hostel were great. Perfect atmosphere. The only thing I thought was that it was pricey for the location. I paid 42$ for my night and it wasn't in the city center which sucked. I must admit that the location it was at did have cheaper shops so More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Dec 2014

This place was great. They have multiple houses on the property, each with separate facilities which was pretty cool. It's a little bit out of the city centre but the walk doesn't really take too long. There was quite a relaxed feel to the place - which may be due to the hot tub and the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 152 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 30th Nov 2014

I Have stayed for 3 nights and met 3 different staffs each days, both are nice and helpful but on 29th Nov, I met a Japanese gal who has informed the staff that she would check in after office hours and she also got the reply that the staff would leave her the key and info in the More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 26th Nov 2014

Good hostel - only complaint is it got cold at night and the provided blankets were woefully inadequate More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Good convenient location, clean room and good facilities. I enjoyed staying. More
Anonymous (Bangladesh) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 905 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 16th Dec 2014

Friendly staff. Good kitchen facilities. Would be good if the rooms had storage lockers, but otherwise no complaints :-) More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 8th Dec 2014

The staff was amazing and the rooms and facilities were very clean and well kept! Only and short walk to the city center as well. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 93 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 9th Dec 2014

The kitchen was dirty, but rooms were good. More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The most beautiful I've ever stayed in! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 193 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 15th Dec 2014

A nice place, indeed a homestay rather than a hostel. No staff just elderly owners. Reduces speed of service but adds tranquility to the atmosphere. Free internet is limited to 50Mb. Towels provided. Bunk-bed in the dorm was squeaky but not dramatically. A bit limited kitchen space but More
Anonymous (Russia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A great place to stay if you want some peace and quiet. Extremely clean and great bathroom and kitchen facilities. Free washing machine + clothes line was also a bonus! Not great if travelling alone and looking for a sociable scene, and just a bit too far from shopping/ supermarkets unless More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 389 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 83%
  • 8th Dec 2014

The front desk lady ,the day of my check out, could be more helpfull and nicer, The thing is that she New that I was waiting for shuttle to go to the railway station, and when the guy showed up in an unmarked van I was outside waiting already to accelerate the process,he went in ,shout More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 4th Nov 2014

Staffs were polite and friendly, An OK hostel, unstable metal bed bunk, the place was within CBD: close to Botanic Garden, Museum, Central Station (bus to the airport) etc. A little bit expensive for dorm type (NZ$33/N). More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 54 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 29th Nov 2014

Very nice place. After a few nights in huge-overcrowded hostels in Sydney, I really liked At the rigth place. The owner ist very nice and helpful! There is a well-appointed kitchen and a big common room with TV. Free Wi-Fi is available in the library - 10 min to walk. Next big supermarket More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Did not love this hostel and my first impression almost had me looking for another place. It was hard to get someone at reception, though once I did they were very friendly. I had emailed an inquiry about local travel and never got a reply. Best thing this had place going for it was a More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback