X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2592 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 1st Mar 2015

Lovely! Have now been twice in jail in NZ. Contrary to real jail I would have liked to stay somewhat longer. Thankfull I remeber that toilets and showers where controlled and if necessary cleaned several times a day. This shouled be copied by YHA hostels in Australia. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Novel accommodation, well kept and clean, very friendly informative welcome. More
nyb56 (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 206 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Made to feel very welcome by Keika and Alan. The garden was delightful and we loved their beautiful ragdoll cat!! We will definitely recommend Canterbury House. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 6th Feb 2015

Really cute place and it's laid out quite nicely. Very clean and the garden in the back is really warm and inviting. Only thing we would have to complain about is that the owners are a bit... overworked. And it sort of shows in the way they conduct business as many of us mentioned to one More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 66 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 8th Jan 2015

A nice cool hostel. Set in an old large house. Spacious dorms, excellent kitchen facilities (as you can always expect from YHA) Atmosphere could have been better but I was only there for 1 night. Lots of older tourists rather than backpackers. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 4th Jan 2015

A nice cool hostel. Set in an old large house. Spacious dorms, excellent kitchen facilities (as you can always expect from YHA) Atmosphere could have been better but I was only there for 1 night. Lots of older tourists rather than backpackers. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 441 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 2nd Mar 2015

Great place - it's just quite a way out of the city center. The plus for location is that there are food shops and convenient stores around. The place has nice vibe. Internet is a bit slow during peak night time. Be aware. More
mndj (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 19th Feb 2015

I stayed one night at there. It's little bit far from the city center, but you can use bus to get there. There is supermarket just one minute from hostel and also some restraunts. It was really good stay:) More
Anonymous (Japan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 108 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Lovely hostel - very comfortable and nicely decorated. Just slightly out of the way. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 24th Jan 2015

We had a great stay at Haka lodge! It was pretty far from the city, but there were cafes and shops within walking distance to the lodge. The staff was very friendly and willing to answer and questions we had. I would definitely go back and stay again. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 173 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 57%
  • 24th Jan 2015

Too expensive for what it is. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 24th Jan 2015

Right across the park and a 10 minute walk from the city centre/museum. Clean rooms/bathrooms and good beds. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 930 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Overall this is a nice hostel. I stayed here two years ago, and whilst it is still good, I couldn't help but feel it wasn't to the standard previously. The dorm rooms are nice, good beds, which look pretty new. Good cooking facilities, nice back yard to chill out in, and a computer room to More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

One of the better hostels I have stayed in in NZ. Bathrooms upstairs were very clean, if a bit small. The tv room was comfortable and plenty of channels. The kitchen was a good size and we'll laid out. The Wi-Fi wasn't working when I was there, they provided us another option but it seemed More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 433 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 74%
  • 11th Feb 2015

When I was there the place was rammed full there was an extra bed thrown in my 6 person dorm which to be fair wasn't an issue. The bunks are pretty old and squeaky and I was always concerned I was waking people up when getting out of bed to go the toilet. There was a bit of a lack in plug More
JohnnieCowie (Scotland) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Feb 2015

Excellent hostel. Very well maintained. Lovely stay More
brianvmccarthy1407 (Ireland) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 60%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Unfortunatly there was no wifi More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Jan 2015

The staff was really helpful and friendly! The hostel is a 10 minute walk away from everything to see! The atmosphere's great - there's a comfortable lounge and dining area that invites mingling, and a reading room with a good selection of books and board games! the kitchen is clean and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback