Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

  • 89%
  • 485 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 9th Sep 2015

Great free unlimited WiFi throughout hostel, nice idea of almost small self contained houses, bit of a walk into though and more power points would be great More
rdijkste (Netherlands) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Home away from home feel... Keep coming back :) More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 86%
  • 2854 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 28th Sep 2015

Stayed here for one night with 2 young kids. Was going to book for 2 nights but lots of reveiws said that it was a cold place. Noted the hot water bottles in our rooms so was thinking we would freeze. But we were warm and cozy and wished we had stayed longer. Kids learnt to play pool and r More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Sep 2015

Nothing bad to say ! ☺️ More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 86%
  • 122 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 1st Oct 2015

Nice Hostel. Friendly Staff. Good Facilities including free Wifi, however the communal area's felt like a little like a library. Good as a stopover hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 26th Sep 2015

We were very happy with this hostel experience. We had a TV in our room and the coffee, tea and kettle made it feel like a hotel. We would definitely recommend this hostel. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 219 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 18th Sep 2015

This place is a house, so the facilities are way nicer than at a regular hostel. About a 15min walk to the city center, wifi is expensive, & I got cold at night. But I would still stay there again, because it doesn't feel like a hostel, it feels like someone's home (which it is lol.) More
acechettini1470 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 30th Jun 2015

The place is clean. But the room is a bit smelly. The place itself is quite hard to notice because it's located inward and no close to the main road. They even have a cat you can play with More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 212 Total Reviews


  • 51%
  • 12th Sep 2015

Hostel is good. But I didn't feel good. Very bad atmosphere, backpackers were no warmfull, even staff, was not warmful and smiling. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 17th Aug 2015

Great hostel. Felt very much like a little home. It was very empty when I was there so it was SO quiet. Reception was very nice and helpful. Right near a park. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 119 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 8th Sep 2015

I would stay again, very helpful staff . More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Confusing directions on website; needs to be fixed. Did make it hard to find when it didn't need to be. Only on street parking and not very much of that. Nice, clean, modern, large bathoom. We had a separate room with a small modern wardrobe and a private balcony. Lots of nice little More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 955 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 1st Oct 2015

Only point of improvement would be the old beds, springs would stick out at some places and make sleeping difficult. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 20th Sep 2015

We only overnighted here, but our room whilst a little cramped and not clean (rubbish on the floor was covered in dust) it was comfortable enough for one night. Staff were slow to respond to door and desk buzzers, but once they arrived were friendly and helpful. Definitely fine for a More
anzacjack (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller

  • 79%
  • 90 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Great and excellent location! Took only a minute to reach the bus stop! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 27th Jun 2015

This YHA is a fairly basic hostel, and was satisfactory for simply providing a bed for the night. I think if I was staying in Christchurch longer I would go elsewhere as the atmosphere was not the same as other YHA hostels I have stayed in or indeed non-YHA ones either. However, it was More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 78%
  • 493 Total Reviews


  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 100%
  • 30th Sep 2015

Had a great stay here in a twin private room, great location: only 10mins away from town centre and the restart mall and just opposite the gardens. The staff were super friendly from check in to check out, and the rooms were spacious with comfy beds, I especially liked the electric More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Excellent place, all was cleaned and tidy, the people is kind and helpful, I recommend this hostel More
Anonymous (Colombia) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 76%
  • 566 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Nice cosy hostel with pleasant staff. Showers were hot, my room was quite spacious and bed was comfortable. More
misscaitrionaarnold2156 (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 29th May 2015

Nice backpacker, but no free wifi !! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Avid Traveller

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback