X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The most beautiful I've ever stayed in! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th May 2014

Clean, warm and good facilities. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 135 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 14th Sep 2014

Lovely hostel, feels more like a B&B. Next to the park and close to the Canterbury museum. More
mmroczko7037 (Poland) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Nice quiet hostel with helpful staff and walking distance to everything or on a easy bus route. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2350 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 10th Sep 2014

Very helpful staff! Really helped me plan the rest of my time in New Zealand! More
taramarika (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Sep 2014

Really enjoyed the stay. Great place to visit More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 378 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Comfortable accomodation, nice folks, convenient location. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Spa, kitchen, bathrooms and dorms are lovely and very clean. However, I did find the walk from the city centre with my bags a bit of a struggle and wouldn't recommend it for a one night stay unless you have transportation. Also, would suggest earlier reception hours as almost every bus in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Really lovely place to stay. More like a homestay than a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 16th May 2014

Unfriendly, unhelpful owners. Cold, dark environment with notices on every single wall reminding you of the house rules. Do not recommend and will never go back. Unfortunate beginning to our new start in this country. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 881 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

I liked that this was one of the few places in all of New Zealand with unlimited free wifi. I also booked this place because the towel was included for free. But I didn't realize until late that there was no towel on my bed. I went down to the office as soon as I found out BUT IT ALREADY More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpful. When we checked in the lady on the desk gave us lots of info on Christchurch and suggested some places to grab dinner as well as giving us a full tour of the hostel. It's very clean and has everything you might need during your stay. Short walk to More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 371 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 69%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Staff very helpfull, good location close the city center, but cleanliness and atmosphere bad..... Good value to stay one night... Thanks More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 9th Sep 2014

Wifi very expensive! At almost $30 a night I thought it may have been included. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 132 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 2nd May 2014

This was the cheapest private room that I could find for my one night in Christchurch, therefore it was relatively good value for money. It was very basic, but it was fine. The walls were paper thin, so I could hear everything - including what someone was eating in the room next to me. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 3rd Apr 2014

i found condom under my bed when doing last checks before leaving. . . id been there 10 days, and it Definatly wasnt me! haha!!! lots of stinking workers boots left in hallways and idiots talking about football. . . . constantlly!!! but staff were cool, more just idiots staying there, More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 23rd May 2014

The staff were nice enough to let me move into a private room since I was a little sick. The hostel is really central and easy to get to from the airport plus they had free parking for my rental car. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 11th May 2014

Our car was broken into just outside the hostel. The lady at reception shrugged this off almost as if crime is a common occurrence in this area, so be careful when staying here. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 391 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 8th Aug 2014

It was good, just far from de city center More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 20th Jul 2014

We arranged late check in with the hostel, but the code they gave us to open the side door didn't work, nor did the doorbell to ring the night manager. More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback