X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 476 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 31st Jul 2015

Lovely little hostel bit of a walk from town but didn't make much difference. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms and facilities were good. Sadly didn't see the famous Max! More
MeganRaw (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 15th Jul 2015

Great hostel, very quiet, very clean, even the dog is really friendly. Good showers, free wifi and free tea and coffee. The best one i've been in Christchurch, just a little more expensive than the others but totaly worth it. More
Anonymous (Uruguay) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 206 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Wifi didn't seem to work very well in the lounge and didn't work at all in the room. More
jennadrummond8833 (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Great hostel! Feels like your grandma's home and I liket it! haha Great showers and very clean facilities. I have intentions to come back!!! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 28th Jul 2015

Free wifi was great for keeping in touch with my partner. Most hotels don't even offer free wifi throughout so really appreciated this feature. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 27th Jul 2015

The kitchen was crowded but the second kitchen was mostly out of order. It was very clean and the people at the desk were uber helpful. It's a pretty good spot. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Male Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2798 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 20th Jul 2015

Friendly staff and clean facility? More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Great Staff, both girls I spoke with at the front desk were helpful and friendly. It was a perfect location as well to walk to see the All Blacks at AMI Stadium More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 118 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Confusing directions on website; needs to be fixed. Did make it hard to find when it didn't need to be. Only on street parking and not very much of that. Nice, clean, modern, large bathoom. We had a separate room with a small modern wardrobe and a private balcony. Lots of nice little More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Lovely hostel - very comfortable and nicely decorated. Just slightly out of the way. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 85 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Great and excellent location! Took only a minute to reach the bus stop! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 27th Jun 2015

This YHA is a fairly basic hostel, and was satisfactory for simply providing a bed for the night. I think if I was staying in Christchurch longer I would go elsewhere as the atmosphere was not the same as other YHA hostels I have stayed in or indeed non-YHA ones either. However, it was More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 948 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 21st Jul 2015

I only stayed for one night. The bed was comfortable and each had its own light and plug. It seemed like a nice social place even though I didn't really get a chance to socialize due to my short stay. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 15th May 2015

It was just all right. Not clean and room isolation was terribly poor. The staff was very nice though because I arrived after reception hours and had prepared my key and wifi code and all. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 481 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 66%
  • 28th Jul 2015

You should put sponge in the kitchen to keep hyigene. More
Anonymous (Japan) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 19th Jul 2015

Clean, helpful and friendly. No climbing wall though. More
rhammat640 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 218 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 30th Jun 2015

The place is clean. But the room is a bit smelly. The place itself is quite hard to notice because it's located inward and no close to the main road. They even have a cat you can play with More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Not happy to be told to take my shoes off! It is not in my culture. It is impractical to ask guests particularly with backpacks, or people making several trips to unload their car. A lot of rules explained to us but no interest in us as people. Felt we were intruding on owners kitchen and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 144 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Long corridors with a lot of doors but didn't seen my people. The people we did see deffinatly seemed to be working and staying a while. Clean bathrooms More
ashleigh446391 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback