X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 122 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Lovely staff member (english lady) safe, clean and tidy. Nice facility with lots of showers and toilets! Close to lots of food places as well! Had a lovely stop over here! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 14th Jul 2014

Nice place. Not too far from the city center and nakedbus stop. Room was quite cold in the morning (there was only one small electric heater set on automatic and unadjustable timer that did not last the whole night). More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 88 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 13th May 2014

Clean, warm and good facilities. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 9th Apr 2014

This was definitely the best hostel I have stayed in so far, we were only there for one night but it was so clean and felt like home would definitely recommend it!! The staff were really friendly and welcoming! 10/10 all round! More
louisebasey9089 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2316 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 21st Jul 2014

Arrived really late and was freezing cold. Didn't realise there was hot water bottles/extra blankets as it was dark in the room already - people asleep. No free wifi. Facilities clean, everything worked, good kitchen area and eating area. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 17th Jul 2014

It was a little cold in the dorm rooms, however, there was plenty of hot water, excellent shower pressure and the bedding was warm. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Really lovely place to stay. More like a homestay than a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 16th May 2014

Unfriendly, unhelpful owners. Cold, dark environment with notices on every single wall reminding you of the house rules. Do not recommend and will never go back. Unfortunate beginning to our new start in this country. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 874 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 21st Jul 2014

Room and bed cleaned and walk to city center only in 15 mins and staff very friendly basically this backpackers is very good! More
d958740369 (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 13th Jul 2014

One of the dirtiest hostels I've been to. The bathroom was constantly disgusting and literally didn't want to put my stuff anywhere in it. The kitchen was far too small for the amount of people in the hostel (it was full due to lack of hostels in Christchurch) and there was no living area More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 373 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 19th Jun 2014

This was a great hostel. The most "homely" hostel I have stayed in in my 3months of travelling. The staff were extremely nice and the beds were the most sturdy bunk beds I've found in any hostel! If you're looking for a party hostel this is not one for you as it is quiet which was perfect More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 6th Jun 2014

Very quiet hostel but was a great place if you want to chill in peace and quiet More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 359 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 54%
  • 3rd Jul 2014

Staff were unhelpful, room was very noisy and cramped, ceiling was only 6 inches above the top bunk bed. Nothing happening in the locality, no bars or restaurants. Wifi was expensive. Not my favourite. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 17th Jun 2014

Good rooms and restaurant but kitchen is shocking for amount of guests the hostel holds More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 23rd May 2014

The staff were nice enough to let me move into a private room since I was a little sick. The hostel is really central and easy to get to from the airport plus they had free parking for my rental car. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 11th May 2014

Our car was broken into just outside the hostel. The lady at reception shrugged this off almost as if crime is a common occurrence in this area, so be careful when staying here. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 534 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 60%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Too many first-trip travellers, disrespectful people without any consciousness of what is sharing a room. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 17th Jun 2014

Nice place to Stay More
sanka8572 (Sri Lanka) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 68%
  • 131 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 2nd May 2014

This was the cheapest private room that I could find for my one night in Christchurch, therefore it was relatively good value for money. It was very basic, but it was fine. The walls were paper thin, so I could hear everything - including what someone was eating in the room next to me. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 3rd Apr 2014

i found condom under my bed when doing last checks before leaving. . . id been there 10 days, and it Definatly wasnt me! haha!!! lots of stinking workers boots left in hallways and idiots talking about football. . . . constantlly!!! but staff were cool, more just idiots staying there, More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback