X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 129 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 77%
  • 15th Aug 2014

This was a stopover night for me so I didnt spend much time, but it has everything you need. Great showers and warm, comfy beds. Kitchen is well equipped and the lounge area is awesome! Comfy couches and big tv for relaxing. It is located next to a large park with great restaurants (the More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 11th Aug 2014

Really good facilities and the hostel was cleaned everytime I was around, also a solid lounge area with a tv and pool table to hang out. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 88 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 13th May 2014

Clean, warm and good facilities. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 9th Apr 2014

This was definitely the best hostel I have stayed in so far, we were only there for one night but it was so clean and felt like home would definitely recommend it!! The staff were really friendly and welcoming! 10/10 all round! More
louisebasey9089 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2326 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 63%
  • 4th Aug 2014

Not much of a vibe here. Still all pretty jail-like. Nice for a novelty perhaps. Free wifi would be good. Bit of a walk into town. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 31st Jul 2014

A must to stay at if your in Christchurch. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 376 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Spa, kitchen, bathrooms and dorms are lovely and very clean. However, I did find the walk from the city centre with my bags a bit of a struggle and wouldn't recommend it for a one night stay unless you have transportation. Also, would suggest earlier reception hours as almost every bus in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Jun 2014

This was a great hostel. The most "homely" hostel I have stayed in in my 3months of travelling. The staff were extremely nice and the beds were the most sturdy bunk beds I've found in any hostel! If you're looking for a party hostel this is not one for you as it is quiet which was perfect More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Really lovely place to stay. More like a homestay than a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 16th May 2014

Unfriendly, unhelpful owners. Cold, dark environment with notices on every single wall reminding you of the house rules. Do not recommend and will never go back. Unfortunate beginning to our new start in this country. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 875 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpful. When we checked in the lady on the desk gave us lots of info on Christchurch and suggested some places to grab dinner as well as giving us a full tour of the hostel. It's very clean and has everything you might need during your stay. Short walk to More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Jul 2014

Room and bed cleaned and walk to city center only in 15 mins and staff very friendly basically this backpackers is very good! More
d958740369 (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 364 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 54%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Very basic place. Not much of an atmosphere. Staff is friendly and location is pretty good. More
evamcavoy (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 23rd Jul 2014

Very noisy as the walls are a bit thin More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 23rd May 2014

The staff were nice enough to let me move into a private room since I was a little sick. The hostel is really central and easy to get to from the airport plus they had free parking for my rental car. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 11th May 2014

Our car was broken into just outside the hostel. The lady at reception shrugged this off almost as if crime is a common occurrence in this area, so be careful when staying here. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 538 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Building is showing its age, but the staff are great, it was comfy, clean, and a bit of free light breakfast is always nice. Free WiFi would be a welcome addition. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Expensive for what it is, people drink and party until late and no one does anything bout it. the breakfast offered wasn't very nice, no sugar. bred isn't good tho. More
Anonymous (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 68%
  • 131 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 2nd May 2014

This was the cheapest private room that I could find for my one night in Christchurch, therefore it was relatively good value for money. It was very basic, but it was fine. The walls were paper thin, so I could hear everything - including what someone was eating in the room next to me. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 3rd Apr 2014

i found condom under my bed when doing last checks before leaving. . . id been there 10 days, and it Definatly wasnt me! haha!!! lots of stinking workers boots left in hallways and idiots talking about football. . . . constantlly!!! but staff were cool, more just idiots staying there, More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback