X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 480 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Home away from home feel... Keep coming back :) More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

I loved my stay here! The facilities are extremely clean, I was impressed! Comfortable beds, great kitchen area and lounge. Free wifi too! The staff was very friendly and welcoming. It's a little bit of a walk to the CBD but not too bad. Loved the spa as well. Would 100% stay here again More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 105 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 28th Aug 2015

The hostel was great! the kitchen was HUGE and had everything you needed, tons of games and movies and lots of lounge areas. I'd definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

Arrived to a locked yha where apparently I was meant to receive an email about the code to get in while I was on the airplane? Greeted by a rude staff member and pointed to an envelope with keys in it. Minimal bathrooms. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2827 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 60%
  • 29th Aug 2015

Very cold in room, was nice that they provided hot water bottles & extra duvets :) but the room itself with its wooden floors was freezing. Room was tiny - aware of the Jail cell atmosphere but for a higher price than the other hostels I had stayed in Chch for the same type of private More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Staff were brilliant - very positive, upbeat and helpful. The front area was very warm but the rooms were freezing - even though the heating was apparently on (I spoke to a couple of others who agreed as well). Also the security, while ok, was not quite as good as I was expecting. More
jessachronican3860 (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 209 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 17th Aug 2015

Great hostel. Felt very much like a little home. It was very empty when I was there so it was SO quiet. Reception was very nice and helpful. Right near a park. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Wifi didn't seem to work very well in the lounge and didn't work at all in the room. More
jennadrummond8833 (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 118 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Confusing directions on website; needs to be fixed. Did make it hard to find when it didn't need to be. Only on street parking and not very much of that. Nice, clean, modern, large bathoom. We had a separate room with a small modern wardrobe and a private balcony. Lots of nice little More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 949 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 24th Jul 2015

Has a very social kitchen and lovely garden, this is definitely a place to visit in the summer. Only issue for me is that people who were staying there for a long time and working in the city tend to dominate the place, which detracts from the feel somewhat. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Jul 2015

I only stayed for one night. The bed was comfortable and each had its own light and plug. It seemed like a nice social place even though I didn't really get a chance to socialize due to my short stay. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 88 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Great and excellent location! Took only a minute to reach the bus stop! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 27th Jun 2015

This YHA is a fairly basic hostel, and was satisfactory for simply providing a bed for the night. I think if I was staying in Christchurch longer I would go elsewhere as the atmosphere was not the same as other YHA hostels I have stayed in or indeed non-YHA ones either. However, it was More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 491 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Excellent place, all was cleaned and tidy, the people is kind and helpful, I recommend this hostel More
Anonymous (Colombia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 21st Aug 2015

The hostel has a very small kitchen and is always very dirty. Old food and dirty dishes everywhere. The livinrooms for watching tv or reading were always full of people and late at night was very noisy because of drunk people in the aisle. The room has really noisy beds. You can not move More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 218 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 30th Jun 2015

The place is clean. But the room is a bit smelly. The place itself is quite hard to notice because it's located inward and no close to the main road. They even have a cat you can play with More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Not happy to be told to take my shoes off! It is not in my culture. It is impractical to ask guests particularly with backpacks, or people making several trips to unload their car. A lot of rules explained to us but no interest in us as people. Felt we were intruding on owners kitchen and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 145 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Long corridors with a lot of doors but didn't seen my people. The people we did see deffinatly seemed to be working and staying a while. Clean bathrooms More
ashleigh446391 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback