X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The most beautiful I've ever stayed in! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 388 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 25th Nov 2014

Amazing hostel. A bit out of the city centre, but in Christchurch better shops and eateries in the suburbs than city centre. Really good facilities, very homely feel and most helpful and friendly staff I met in New Zealand More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 21st Nov 2014

Our stay at The Old Countryhouse was really good. The place is clean as a hospital and we really liked that it was clearly not a party hostel. The atmosphere was really relaxed and people enjoyed themselved, that for sure. We would have prefered to have lock on the door to the room and More
lindaorasmus (Sweden) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2432 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

Great hostel, unique and comfortable! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Nov 2014

The kitchen was so well stocked, beds were comfy and warm with extra pillows and towels. recommended. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 6th Nov 2014

Nice atmosphere in this hostel, feels like a bed and breakfast. No bunkbeds which is nice. Reception isn't open very late so if you're coming in after hours might be a problem but we weren't so it wasn't a problem for us. More
beersandbackpacks (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 1st Nov 2014

I have been to dorset house before, but dont think I will return .My room just had people working in construction in it , I was the the only one on holiday. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Good convenient location, clean room and good facilities. I enjoyed staying. More
Anonymous (Bangladesh) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 191 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 17th Nov 2014

Really nice, clean place, but quite a few rules. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 54%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The locations was miles away from the main city centre at least a 30min walk also a 30min walk from the nearest supermarket ! . Had creepy feeling to the place , the owners where very polite and kind , and the facilities were very clean and tidy. This was just simple the couples very big More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 895 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 21st Nov 2014

I was lucky, I booked the wrong day and arrived a day before my reservation, and I've got the last bed. The beds were very comfy, ok, I was road tripping for about 2 weeks before More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Nov 2014

Great place to crash for a couple of nights. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 379 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 66%
  • 4th Nov 2014

Staffs were polite and friendly, An OK hostel, unstable metal bed bunk, the place was within CBD: close to Botanic Garden, Museum, Central Station (bus to the airport) etc. A little bit expensive for dorm type (NZ$33/N). More
wdfjunior (Philippines) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 66%
  • 21st Oct 2014

..very good hospitality, no really clean the room even nice and big. Average . More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 52 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 54%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Did not love this hostel and my first impression almost had me looking for another place. It was hard to get someone at reception, though once I did they were very friendly. I had emailed an inquiry about local travel and never got a reply. Best thing this had place going for it was a More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Taps broken in kitchen, rooms felt dingy and unclean, shower floor constantly wet. backpacker lodge impossible to get into takes about 5 goes More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback