X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2771 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 30th Jun 2015

Lovely place with great staff. The fasciliites are great and the special touches make it a lovely place to stay. It is a short walk into the city and the beds are very comfortable. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 30th Jun 2015

If I wasn't stuck traffic I'd missed it! Signage is a must! Internet was slow 5pm on and the advertised Netflix seemed to work because of internet jams! Extremely unique setting, everything you need and staff were more than willing to help me find way! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 202 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Great hostel! Feels like your grandma's home and I liket it! haha Great showers and very clean facilities. I have intentions to come back!!! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2015

Dorset house was clean and warm...which we liked. It seemed like a long, cold walk from the bus stop...which we didn't like. Everything else was fine tho. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 118 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Confusing directions on website; needs to be fixed. Did make it hard to find when it didn't need to be. Only on street parking and not very much of that. Nice, clean, modern, large bathoom. We had a separate room with a small modern wardrobe and a private balcony. Lots of nice little More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Lovely hostel - very comfortable and nicely decorated. Just slightly out of the way. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 469 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 15th Jun 2015

Everything is fine and bathroom is clean. Great stay and recommended! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 26th Apr 2015

Interesting hostel, more like several small houses on one property. Fantastic kitchen/common room in the house I was in. Hot tub and sauna seemed to get lots of use. Bunk beds are lovely wood but very high. Two outlets for an 8-bed doom is sad, but free and fast WiFi makes up for it. Bit More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 218 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 30th Jun 2015

The place is clean. But the room is a bit smelly. The place itself is quite hard to notice because it's located inward and no close to the main road. They even have a cat you can play with More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Not happy to be told to take my shoes off! It is not in my culture. It is impractical to ask guests particularly with backpacks, or people making several trips to unload their car. A lot of rules explained to us but no interest in us as people. Felt we were intruding on owners kitchen and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 27th Jun 2015

This YHA is a fairly basic hostel, and was satisfactory for simply providing a bed for the night. I think if I was staying in Christchurch longer I would go elsewhere as the atmosphere was not the same as other YHA hostels I have stayed in or indeed non-YHA ones either. However, it was More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 6th Jun 2015

I only stayed one night but it had everything I needed and the staff were so helpful! Except the guy in the morning was a bit moody but it wasn't a problem. Good shower facilities and comfortable beds. Right next to the Canterbury museum which is where most coaches pick up to go to other More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 946 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 63%
  • 15th May 2015

It was just all right. Not clean and room isolation was terribly poor. The staff was very nice though because I arrived after reception hours and had prepared my key and wifi code and all. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 66%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

Pro: Each bed has its own power plug! such an advantage. Lucky I got room 8 (facing front side) and away from kitchen (backside) where party and noise come from mostly. Free internet!, One private toilet/shower is advantage too. Cons: Toilet is not clean. Noise from kitchen, people More
one_d81 (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 473 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 80%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

The twin room was great but the kitchen could be better. It is too smal and not very clean. Th cleanliness is not the fault of the staff, but the students who stay there. More
Anonymous (British Virgin Islands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 2nd Jun 2015

Not enough power points in the rooms... Difficult when trying to charge your phone and camera. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 144 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Long corridors with a lot of doors but didn't seen my people. The people we did see deffinatly seemed to be working and staying a while. Clean bathrooms More
ashleigh446391 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 565 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Nice cosy hostel with pleasant staff. Showers were hot, my room was quite spacious and bed was comfortable. More
misscaitrionaarnold2156 (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 29th May 2015

Nice backpacker, but no free wifi !! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback