Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

  • 93%
  • 124 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 12th Nov 2015

Haka Lodge was a pleasure to stay at, Not only did I have an relaxing experience the Wonderful Hostess Cheryl & Rach made my stay pleasant I could not thank these two stunning woman enough for what they did for me I am so grateful. The other guests were very quiet & pleasant they made no More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Nov 2015

Excellent hostel in most ways I can think of. Friendly and helpful staff, pleasant atmosphere and great facilities. Spotlessly clean. The only downside is the location: the area is nice enough, but it is a few km outside Christchurch. We had pleasant weather and enjoyed the walk – those More
Anonymous (Norway) (Couple) Avid Traveller

  • 90%
  • 492 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 4th Nov 2015

Really good hostel! Aside from the long-ish walk into the city, (it's not that bad - but you can take the bus if you're impatient like me) it was one of the best hostels I stayed at in NZ. The staff was amazing and super helpful / friendly. Free wifi is always a plus. Very quiet and cute. More
madelineboliver (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 31st Oct 2015

A very comfortable and well equipped hostel. Staff very pleasant and helpful. I woluld recommend this hostel. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 88%
  • 222 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 18th Sep 2015

This place is a house, so the facilities are way nicer than at a regular hostel. About a 15min walk to the city center, wifi is expensive, & I got cold at night. But I would still stay there again, because it doesn't feel like a hostel, it feels like someone's home (which it is lol.) More
acechettini1470 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 30th Jun 2015

The place is clean. But the room is a bit smelly. The place itself is quite hard to notice because it's located inward and no close to the main road. They even have a cat you can play with More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 135 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 13th Nov 2015

Private room had an incredibly comfortable bed and was spotlessly clean. Hostel location is OK, but the staff and facilities were first rate. Expensive, but we would stay again given all the positives. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Honestly, christchurch gets a bad rap and for what it has to offer after the craziness its really amazing. The beds here are so comfy and don't shake or make noise when trying to get on them (yay) location is great i just wish the grocery store was closer ... More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller

  • 86%
  • 964 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 1st Oct 2015

Only point of improvement would be the old beds, springs would stick out at some places and make sleeping difficult. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 20th Sep 2015

We only overnighted here, but our room whilst a little cramped and not clean (rubbish on the floor was covered in dust) it was comfortable enough for one night. Staff were slow to respond to door and desk buzzers, but once they arrived were friendly and helpful. Definitely fine for a More
anzacjack (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller

  • 84%
  • 2894 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 17th Nov 2015

Great novel location, well worth staying. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Jailhouse rocks! Really good hostel all round with some great small details such as individual lights and plugs by each bed. The building and prison theme is great. Very good kitchen, showers and toilet. Unfortunately when we arrived their server was down so no wifi, the staff were good More
Anonymous (England) (ALLMALEGROUP) Avid Traveller

  • 84%
  • 219 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 25th Nov 2015

This was an excellent backpackers. The facilities, staff, building, location, grounds etc were all ideal. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 6th Nov 2015

I loved it! The beds were so comfortable and it was awesome they weren't bunk beds. The location was cool because it was within walking distance to the botanical garden, the park, and the re-start mall. When I called in to the hostel to tell them we weren't going to be able to be there by More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 149 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 8th Oct 2015

Thank you so much. We really like our stay and the transfer service is so sweet. More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

  • 79%
  • 92 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 4th Nov 2015

old building perfectly located just across the road from the bus stop. Nice touch of 2 pillows and 2 blankets per bed. Only 2 female toilets (hasn't been an issue for my short stay) More
Anonymous (France) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 7th Oct 2015

Big and spacious and an incredible kitchen. Excellent location and very friendly staff. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 77%
  • 512 Total Reviews


  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 54%
  • 10th Nov 2015

There are no lockers at all. No poweroutlets in the bathrooms. "Fully stuffed kittchen has 1 Medium or bigger sized pott so I had to wait 45 minutes for 2 others to finish their cooking until i could have my turn. But the Worst: stuff is very unfriendly and does not seem to appreciate to More
jennifer_kessler1011 (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Nov 2015

Mean loved it More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback