X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The most beautiful I've ever stayed in! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th May 2014

Clean, warm and good facilities. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 382 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 25th Oct 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Old Countryhouse. Staff was really helpfull. Hostel is nice and clean. (Even the radiators got cleaned!) Hottub and sauna were good. You can walk to the city centre, that takes 15 min. There are bars close and the supermarket is around the corner. Thnx More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The bed was very comfortable, the room nice and warm and the toilet and bath facilities very tidy. On my first night the people outside the room were audible, but I could get to sleep without difficulty. The second night there was some giggling idiot watching something on his laptop in More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 144 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 74%
  • 14th Oct 2014

Decent hostel, showers were a bit temperamental. Single beds are awesome especially after a long flight! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

Dorset is a nice hostel... I likes that they don't have bunk beds. It was quiet and the kitchen and living room has basically all you need. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2399 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 18th Oct 2014

Rooms are very spacious even for a 10-bed dorm. The hostel is not easy to locate though, as from the main road there is only a small sign. Staff seemed a little tired, I thought with such a unique hostel they would be more enthusiastic but instead just mentioned where things are located in More
Anonymous (Singapore) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 18th Oct 2014

Staffs are very kind.Thanks a lots. More
Anonymous (Japan) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 189 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 54%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The locations was miles away from the main city centre at least a 30min walk also a 30min walk from the nearest supermarket ! . Had creepy feeling to the place , the owners where very polite and kind , and the facilities were very clean and tidy. This was just simple the couples very big More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Really lovely place to stay. More like a homestay than a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 886 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 28th Oct 2014

Good to have unlimited wireless and two unlimited-time computers for internet. Helpful attentive staff. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 10th Oct 2014

My first hostel in NZ and very different from the ones I am used to throughout Southeast Asia. An extremely friendly lady at the front desk, excellent kitchen facilities, a very nice back yard. The lockable rooms seem to have 2 bunk beds each but lack storage facilities such as lockers. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 377 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 86%
  • 15th Oct 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hostel kitchen is very convenient. I was concerned the room doors don't lock behind you, and that if a dormmate left it unlocked anyone could come in and get into your open "lockers." However, I didn't have any problems. When I come through More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Even though the building was old, it's clean and cozy. And staff are very friendly and kind. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 2nd May 2014

This was the cheapest private room that I could find for my one night in Christchurch, therefore it was relatively good value for money. It was very basic, but it was fine. The walls were paper thin, so I could hear everything - including what someone was eating in the room next to me. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 58 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Good convenient location, clean room and good facilities. I enjoyed staying. More
Anonymous (Bangladesh) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd May 2014

The staff were nice enough to let me move into a private room since I was a little sick. The hostel is really central and easy to get to from the airport plus they had free parking for my rental car. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 539 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 57%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

Not the right atmosphere. A lot of sketchy people living there and just getting drunk all evening.. The facilities were not as nice as other hostels I've visited for even cheaper More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Building is showing its age, but the staff are great, it was comfy, clean, and a bit of free light breakfast is always nice. Free WiFi would be a welcome addition. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback