X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The most beautiful I've ever stayed in! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th May 2014

Clean, warm and good facilities. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 380 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Comfortable accomodation, nice folks, convenient location. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Spa, kitchen, bathrooms and dorms are lovely and very clean. However, I did find the walk from the city centre with my bags a bit of a struggle and wouldn't recommend it for a one night stay unless you have transportation. Also, would suggest earlier reception hours as almost every bus in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 143 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 77%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

Dorset is a nice hostel... I likes that they don't have bunk beds. It was quiet and the kitchen and living room has basically all you need. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

Nothing can be seen in the twin bed room, except two small iron beds and a litter basket; no chiar, table, and even no cloth hanger at all. Strangers can easily get into our room either from the window or door. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2386 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 11th Oct 2014

Highly recommend staying here Very clean facilities Really appreciate the quiet time and no alcohol policy It's you're. Looking for a quiet escape. Look no further More
Anonymous (India) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Great hostel !!! Love that it was a jail before. They did a gray job and the place is really nice ! The kitchen is so well furnished ! There is a cinema and a TV room. You can walk to the city or take a bus straight in front. I recommend the hostel :) More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 188 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Really lovely place to stay. More like a homestay than a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 16th May 2014

Unfriendly, unhelpful owners. Cold, dark environment with notices on every single wall reminding you of the house rules. Do not recommend and will never go back. Unfortunate beginning to our new start in this country. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 883 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 10th Oct 2014

My first hostel in NZ and very different from the ones I am used to throughout Southeast Asia. An extremely friendly lady at the front desk, excellent kitchen facilities, a very nice back yard. The lockable rooms seem to have 2 bunk beds each but lack storage facilities such as lockers. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 2nd Oct 2014

the kitchen would need a proper cleaning, as well do the bathrooms. the garden area is quite nice. I was lucky my room was to the street cause there was a lot of noise from the kitchen area. the room was very basic but every bed had a lamp and a socket. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 376 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 86%
  • 15th Oct 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hostel kitchen is very convenient. I was concerned the room doors don't lock behind you, and that if a dormmate left it unlocked anyone could come in and get into your open "lockers." However, I didn't have any problems. When I come through More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Even though the building was old, it's clean and cozy. And staff are very friendly and kind. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 2nd May 2014

This was the cheapest private room that I could find for my one night in Christchurch, therefore it was relatively good value for money. It was very basic, but it was fine. The walls were paper thin, so I could hear everything - including what someone was eating in the room next to me. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 58 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Good convenient location, clean room and good facilities. I enjoyed staying. More
Anonymous (Bangladesh) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd May 2014

The staff were nice enough to let me move into a private room since I was a little sick. The hostel is really central and easy to get to from the airport plus they had free parking for my rental car. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 539 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 57%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

Not the right atmosphere. A lot of sketchy people living there and just getting drunk all evening.. The facilities were not as nice as other hostels I've visited for even cheaper More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Building is showing its age, but the staff are great, it was comfy, clean, and a bit of free light breakfast is always nice. Free WiFi would be a welcome addition. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback