X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The most beautiful I've ever stayed in! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 385 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 57%
  • 8th Nov 2014

Spa is really nice! Please update the 'how to get there' info on hostelworld. Hostelworld says it's 6 dollar with a shuttle from the train station. In fact you have to prearrange shuttles. I was lucky that one shuttle had 1 seat for me left, and it was 7 dollar. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 30th Oct 2014

It was a great relief to find such good quality accommodation after having had bad experiences at two other backpacker hostels in Christchurch. I would only stay at this venue in future. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2427 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 13th Nov 2014

The kitchen was so well stocked, beds were comfy and warm with extra pillows and towels. recommended. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Lovely friendly staff. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 147 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 6th Nov 2014

Nice atmosphere in this hostel, feels like a bed and breakfast. No bunkbeds which is nice. Reception isn't open very late so if you're coming in after hours might be a problem but we weren't so it wasn't a problem for us. More
beersandbackpacks (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 1st Nov 2014

I have been to dorset house before, but dont think I will return .My room just had people working in construction in it , I was the the only one on holiday. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 189 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 54%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The locations was miles away from the main city centre at least a 30min walk also a 30min walk from the nearest supermarket ! . Had creepy feeling to the place , the owners where very polite and kind , and the facilities were very clean and tidy. This was just simple the couples very big More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Really lovely place to stay. More like a homestay than a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Good convenient location, clean room and good facilities. I enjoyed staying. More
Anonymous (Bangladesh) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd May 2014

The staff were nice enough to let me move into a private room since I was a little sick. The hostel is really central and easy to get to from the airport plus they had free parking for my rental car. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 892 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 13th Nov 2014

Nice place with helpful staff and good atmosphere. The wifi is free and unlimited and fast! Good place to do your laundry as detergent was included in the washing price. Walking distance to city centre, parks and supermarkets. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Nov 2014

Great hostel. Lovely reception lady, Connie who was very helpful and friendly. A great atmosphere in the hostel with free wifi, tea, coffee, seasoning and spices! A bit of a walk to the centre not too much though around 10-15 minutes. Supermarkets are 20 minutes away, Countdown and Pak n More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 379 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 66%
  • 4th Nov 2014

Staffs were polite and friendly, An OK hostel, unstable metal bed bunk, the place was within CBD: close to Botanic Garden, Museum, Central Station (bus to the airport) etc. A little bit expensive for dorm type (NZ$33/N). More
wdfjunior (Philippines) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 66%
  • 21st Oct 2014

..very good hospitality, no really clean the room even nice and big. Average . More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 52 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 54%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Did not love this hostel and my first impression almost had me looking for another place. It was hard to get someone at reception, though once I did they were very friendly. I had emailed an inquiry about local travel and never got a reply. Best thing this had place going for it was a More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Taps broken in kitchen, rooms felt dingy and unclean, shower floor constantly wet. backpacker lodge impossible to get into takes about 5 goes More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback