X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2684 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 13th Apr 2015

The best, most clean hostel I have stayed in. And I have been travelling for 9 months. The kitchen is phenomenal and everyone was friendly! Very pleasant experience More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 11th Apr 2015

Great place to stay! Very interesting history of the jail, well preserved, great to have a cast iron door for security! Very clean, great facilities, very well maintained. Beds were very comfy. A great stay. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 54%
  • 27th Mar 2015

Reception closed at 6 so I had to wait outside until someone staying in the hostel let me in. Shower was cold and awful. No atmosphere whatsoever. Staff member who I spoke to the next day was miserable too. Absolutely miles from the nearest shop. Only positive was that I wasn't in a bunk More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 26th Mar 2015

The hostel is a very nice hostel and is clean. The reception is closed between the hours of 0800 and 1800, which means you have to have a code to enter the building. There are no staff present outside of these hours, which can prove to be problematic. If you arrive late, the reception More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 460 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 13th Apr 2015

I loved this hostel! Its exactly as it sounds - a cosy,old country house feel,but with modern facilities! City is 15mins walk.I stayed in House 1,big spacious dorm room and also tv room,kitchen etc. I loved the personal touches like fresh eggs, a travellers cookbook and many other things. More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

The hostel looks great and feels great. It's very spacious with loads of facilities which are all in excellent state. The downside is the location: it's a pretty long walk into town, which I had previously estimated to be shorter, so that was a big disappointment. It is also a relatively More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 215 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 54%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Not happy to be told to take my shoes off! It is not in my culture. It is impractical to ask guests particularly with backpacks, or people making several trips to unload their car. A lot of rules explained to us but no interest in us as people. Felt we were intruding on owners kitchen and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 31st Mar 2015

The hostel is located 30min from iSight, buses and the Canterbury museum. Be aware of that when you book this. The "free wifi" is only 50mb which runs out pretty fast. I would not recommend this hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 71 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 8th Jan 2015

A nice cool hostel. Set in an old large house. Spacious dorms, excellent kitchen facilities (as you can always expect from YHA) Atmosphere could have been better but I was only there for 1 night. Lots of older tourists rather than backpackers. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 4th Jan 2015

A nice cool hostel. Set in an old large house. Spacious dorms, excellent kitchen facilities (as you can always expect from YHA) Atmosphere could have been better but I was only there for 1 night. Lots of older tourists rather than backpackers. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 111 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Confusing directions on website; needs to be fixed. Did make it hard to find when it didn't need to be. Only on street parking and not very much of that. Nice, clean, modern, large bathoom. We had a separate room with a small modern wardrobe and a private balcony. Lots of nice little More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Lovely hostel - very comfortable and nicely decorated. Just slightly out of the way. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 938 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 63%
  • 28th Mar 2015

I stayed in a mixed 4 bed dorm and the room was comfy. Very big minus that there were no lockers for valuables. I was lucky to share a room with a Swedish staff member, otherwise I wouldn't have known where the bathrooms are located. The bathroom only for ladies was clean and ok but the More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Mar 2015

I had a good start in nz with this hostel. It has a nice atmosphere and the free BBQ was awesome even for vegetarians. I'm happy that I've stayed there. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 454 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 71%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Brilliant location for bus transfers but that's about it More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 6th Apr 2015

I stayed in the 10 person dorm it was like I was in army barracks! I think it would be nice if they could put up pictures or paint the walls different colors More
marchemily5874 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 97 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 51%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Wifi didn't work though there is free wifi on the corner at a Burger King. Very quiet hostel, no atmosphere. Out of town. Up an alley from a busy main road. Never many people around. Staff were friendly and helpful when asked. Cold rooms. Very small showers and toilets. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Really small beds with terrible pillows and really thin duvets. I had to roll my pillow into a cigar just to use it I had to wear all my clothes to bed because the whole hostel doesn't seem to have heating and the single pane windows lets more cold air in. People sit about in the common More
rosshowieson1398 (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 459 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 12th Apr 2015

I really liked this hostel! The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was quiet and security was good. The location at this time of year would not be suited for a long stay, but in summer I'm sure the place is buzzing with beach goers! Great cafe downstairs serving lovely coffee and More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 5th Apr 2015

A nice hostel in a great location (just a few minutes walk from the beach). The staff are lovely and there is a cute café downstairs. The only real criticism I have is that the facilities could have been cleaner, but even then they were better than those at some hostels. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback