X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 141 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 28th Jan 2016

Great little hostel! It is far away from the city centre (about 5km) but it makes up for it by being like a little home away from home! There aren't many rooms so it's got a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It's also nearer to the coast than other Christchurch hostels. Would More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 14th Jan 2016

The only issue we had was that whoever was staying in the room next to us had music blaring until midnight and after that was turned down they continued to shout and talk very loudly between each other until the early hours of the morning. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 527 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 30th Jan 2016

I thought the hostel was beautiful and cozy! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 30th Jan 2016

I was only in Christchurch for one night, but the staff was very accommodating and friendly to my late check-in and very early check-out. This place provided everything I needed before I flew out of Christchurch airport the next morning. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 237 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 21st Jan 2016

Just arrived in Christchurch and wanted a room to myself to decompress and get acclimated before I travel New Zealand for six months. This was the perfect spot! My bed was comfy, and the room was clean! Also, the garden was absolutely beautiful and a perfect place to relax and read a book. More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 6th Jan 2016

Beds not very comfortable More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2996 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 8th Feb 2016

Unfortunately there was something why we were irritated. We put our food in a box in the kitchen (we were in room 37 but put in 34 which was free)&labeled our bags in the fridge with the wrong room number (by mistake).too When we came back someone emptied the box but not the plastic bags More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Feb 2016

Best value for the money. Perfect way to travel and meet others. The Jailhouse was everything they said they were and more. I would stay here again and highly recommend it t others especially young people traveling on a budget. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 240 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Felt like a very homely hostel, loved the non-bunk-beds. My room and the kitchen/balcony were very light and sunny. The garden was lovely and flowery. Good location for walking to the Botanical Gardens, and easy access to the bus to and from the airport-city. Could have been improved with More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Friendly staff with good information to get around. Overall hostel is clean. nice lounge room and very nice kitchen. As the building has some history so opening the doors of the dorm sounds a bit noisy but overall its good. More
rebecca_chow (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 163 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 30th Jan 2016

I thought the kitchen was really good. I liked the littke yard space to kick around the football and relax. I would add somekind of barrier on the bunk beds. To make them safer. Also maybe a questionnaire added question before booking if people snore. I've been stuck a few times with a More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 29th Jan 2016

The hotel is clean and provides most of the things you would need. They have free wifi, a kitchen where you can cook and a lot of facilities. What I regret is that they didn't have free coffee to propose to the guests and, most of all, most of the guests are staying here in a family More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 984 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 69%
  • 27th Jan 2016

It is not good location, about 20 mins to museum to take bus, the nearest super market also need walk for 15 mins. The first receptionist knew little to surroundings. More
Anonymous (China) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 27th Jan 2016

Only stayed for one night but really enjoyed it. Great, really backpacker-friendly place :) More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 166 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 57%
  • 8th Feb 2016

Felt more like a lunatic asylum More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

The staff keeps the place really clean! And the public places are stocked well for entertainment and socialising. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 98 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 18th Jan 2016

Really good sized rooms and the staff were all lovely and helpful! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 28th Dec 2015

I have stayed here 3 times now and would go back again. It's nothing fancy, just a good stadard hostel in a good location. Perfect for if you're using on of the intercity/naked bus companies as they pick up and drop off right outside the hostel. The bus to the airport leaves from the More
charlotteparker3612 (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 536 Total Reviews

No.10

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 97%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

YMCA Christchurch was in an excellent location just across from the Botanical Gardens and was a short walk to the center square of town. I took the Naked Bus from Picton and the bus dropped off almost right in front of the hostel which was extremely convenient. I was only there for a More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Jan 2016

Very nice and friendly staff, great first night as a backpacker to the area and NZ. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback