X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2739 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 57%
  • 12th May 2015

Hostel is very clean and the architecture is cool but the atmosphere is not the best. Not easy to make friends and there isn't a friendly atmosphere More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th May 2015

Excellent accommodation, definitiely a jail theme but a very clean and modern hostel. The free parking lot was the reason I bokoed the hostel knowing it was a little further from town. It was not far at all, it was approx. a 15 minute walk to get into town and botannical gardens. The staff More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 193 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 18th May 2015

Great place to stay, staff are more than willing to help you with any questions. Probably the best stocked kitchen I've seen in a hostel. Love the fact there are no bunks just single beds! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 25th Apr 2015

Quaint little hostel right next to the park. Very helpful staff, comfortable beds, warm showers. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 465 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 26th Apr 2015

Interesting hostel, more like several small houses on one property. Fantastic kitchen/common room in the house I was in. Hot tub and sauna seemed to get lots of use. Bunk beds are lovely wood but very high. Two outlets for an 8-bed doom is sad, but free and fast WiFi makes up for it. Bit More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 74%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Very clean and cozy. But only two bathrooms for 16 people. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 216 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 54%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Not happy to be told to take my shoes off! It is not in my culture. It is impractical to ask guests particularly with backpacks, or people making several trips to unload their car. A lot of rules explained to us but no interest in us as people. Felt we were intruding on owners kitchen and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 31st Mar 2015

The hostel is located 30min from iSight, buses and the Canterbury museum. Be aware of that when you book this. The "free wifi" is only 50mb which runs out pretty fast. I would not recommend this hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 116 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Confusing directions on website; needs to be fixed. Did make it hard to find when it didn't need to be. Only on street parking and not very much of that. Nice, clean, modern, large bathoom. We had a separate room with a small modern wardrobe and a private balcony. Lots of nice little More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Lovely hostel - very comfortable and nicely decorated. Just slightly out of the way. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 78 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 13th May 2015

Good hostel. We got a 3 bed dorm even though I booked an 8 bed, which was very nice. Kitchen was a bit crowded despite being big. Atmosphere felt social. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 11th May 2015

I didn't spend a ton of time there, so I can't comment on the bathrooms much. Kitchen was great, big, lots of free adds for your meals, helpful staff (though they only open at 8am, which is tough to make most buses). Beds were fine. I loved the historic style of the house. Free wifi if you More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 945 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 63%
  • 15th May 2015

It was just all right. Not clean and room isolation was terribly poor. The staff was very nice though because I arrived after reception hours and had prepared my key and wifi code and all. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 66%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

Pro: Each bed has its own power plug! such an advantage. Lucky I got room 8 (facing front side) and away from kitchen (backside) where party and noise come from mostly. Free internet!, One private toilet/shower is advantage too. Cons: Toilet is not clean. Noise from kitchen, people More
one_d81 (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 470 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 80%
  • 13th May 2015

I stayed at YMCA just for one night. Everything was as I expected: descent. More
Anonymous (France) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 1st May 2015

Squeakiest, shakiest bunkbed set I've ever slept in. Couldn't move a muscle all night for fear I'd wake the whole dorm. Location-wise it's very handy for transport links, but very little atmosphere and not a nice place to chill out in. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 101 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 63%
  • 7th May 2015

Found a pair of underwear under my blanket when checking in ... i doubt they changed and cleaned them after the last person staying there. Staff was friendly but i wouldnt stay for longer. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Fine place to stay for just one night. Wouldn't stay longer. Bed was really bad an very squeaky - if you moved, the whole bunkbed would move! No athmosphere, really. 15 min walk from supermarket which is okay as it's in Christchurch. Staff was very friendly - told me not to buy the wifi More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 470 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 57%
  • 28th Apr 2015

kitchen was messy,dirty and sticky, a lot of furniture was broken no backs to lean on More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 18th Apr 2015

We only spent one night at Point Break Backpacker and I am glad we didn't stay longer... The kitchen and the bathrooms were dirty. As for the room, it has no atmosphere at all and the walls are so thin, it's like you sleep with you neighbours. I would suggest to avoid this place. More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback