X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 8th Jan 2015

A nice cool hostel. Set in an old large house. Spacious dorms, excellent kitchen facilities (as you can always expect from YHA) Atmosphere could have been better but I was only there for 1 night. Lots of older tourists rather than backpackers. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 4th Jan 2015

A nice cool hostel. Set in an old large house. Spacious dorms, excellent kitchen facilities (as you can always expect from YHA) Atmosphere could have been better but I was only there for 1 night. Lots of older tourists rather than backpackers. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2519 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 26th Jan 2015

Great kitchen, absolutely helpful staff, huge amount of "travel inspiration" eg flyers for attractions, accommodations, etc.. And of course the Jailhouse Style - I really liked it a lot! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 25th Jan 2015

Unfortunately they do not think it is a priority to update their website to advise that they do NOT have a shuttle to the train, which is actually quite important when it is a deciding factor in choosing to stay there. Not a hit with us, would not stay again. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 201 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Nice, beautiful and quiet hostel. The beds are good (not noisy!) and they have power points close to the beds, hehe. I would recommend if you like the "house atmosphere" and not a party hostel. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Great place to stay in Christchurch. Felt like a home from home and you feel very welcome. Would recommend! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 917 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 22nd Jan 2015

Nice place to stay in Christchurch, about a ten minute walk from the centre. It is clean and has really good facilities. Staff could be a bit more friendly but aside from that, a really well managed and comfortable place to stay. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Amazing staff and great hostel More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 160 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 24th Jan 2015

Right across the park and a 10 minute walk from the city centre/museum. Clean rooms/bathrooms and good beds. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Super clean, no bunk beds, well equipped kitchen, friendly staff. I liked it! More
anneliecn2595 (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 426 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 18th Jan 2015

Very pleasant garden and room very clean More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Great hostel clean kitchen, bathrooms, beds. Nice spa outside as a bonus!! The staff are wonderful, there was a mix up with our key and they came back afterwards to sort us out. Big negative though they don't let you check into the dorms after 8pm which was a massive pain as we got stuck More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 104 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 12th Jan 2015

Awesome place just to chill and recuperate at bit out of town but really tidy and homely More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Jan 2015

To be perfect they should have some bikes for rent, because it Christchurch is really spread and a bike would be Sweet because the location of the hostel is a little bit far from the downtown area! Just a thought! ;) More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 414 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YMCA Christchurch

  • 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch
  • 86%
  • 22nd Jan 2015

A very good backpackers hostel in central christchurch. Facilities are free except laundry and drying but very affordable (3$ each). The kitchen is great and common rooms nice at each floor. Rooms are average but clean. Security can be improved as in my room there were 4 lockers for 6 beds More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 18th Jan 2015

I had a single room with a balcony which was a bonus. Clean room and spacious. I only used the kitchen for breakfast, but it may be small for cooking in compare to the size of the hostel More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 15th Jan 2015

The staff was really helpful and friendly! The hostel is a 10 minute walk away from everything to see! The atmosphere's great - there's a comfortable lounge and dining area that invites mingling, and a reading room with a good selection of books and board games! the kitchen is clean and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Jan 2015

Everything was pretty good. Very clean, very friendly, nice beds. i would stay there every time again. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Christchurch Podcasts

Listen to our Christchurch podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Christchurch Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Christchurch Videos

Watch our Christchurch video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Christchurch Videos

Please give us your feedback