Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Colombo, Sri Lanka

  • 90%
  • 118 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 27th Nov 2015

Great, clean hostel. Large lockers that fit pretty much every backpack. Nice showers and super helpful staff that is knowledgeable about Sri Lanka as a whole, not just Colombo. A bit pricey, but one of the best hostels I've stayed in. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 21st Nov 2015

Loved out stay at Drift B&B! Very clean dorms, spacious, good showers and lovely staff. But best of all is the breakfast - it's absolutely Devine. And all for 4usd! Pancakes, nice toast, jam, watermelon, papaya, omelette, freshly squeezed passion fruit juice and tea/coffee. It's also just More
Anonymous (Singapore) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 276 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 25th Nov 2015

Very friendly staff. Place where people stay one or two nights, then move on. Weirdly you have to pay half a day extra for late checkouts (after 11) and early checkins (before 12). More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 16th Nov 2015

I do t have anything overly positive or overly negative to say about this hostel. It was a great place to stay a few days, and very close to the beach. I can tell that much effort goes into cleaning each day, which is appreciated. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 174 Total Reviews


  • 63%
  • 20th Nov 2015

little bit far from Colombo city center but right by the beach with plenty shops 5 min walk. nice terasse and cozy place with kitchen on the rooftop More
sistamadi (France) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 18th Nov 2015

My experience was poor but this wasn't solely down to the hostel. Colombo just isn't a place for backpackers yet. It was my first night in Sri Lanka and I just wanted to move on. The owner was really friendly and helpful. There was no sheet for the bed and no toilet roll in my room. I More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 107 Total Reviews


  • 63%
  • 20th Oct 2015

The bedrooms are great, air con, fresh sheets, the downfall was there was no window for natural light. The washroom is uncomfortably humid there and they don't provide shampoo and shower gel like other hostels. It's very safe with cameras and a security guard on the door. The atomosphere More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 18th Sep 2015

I got there early but wasn't allowed too check in early as a previous review had mentioned and wasn't allowed to cancel my second night which was irritating and no sympathy from the staff. Location was good but low season so very quiet. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 250 Total Reviews


  • 26%
  • 13th Nov 2015

The security of Clock Inn Hostel, Colombo is unacceptable. The entrance door is generally left open. They have a keypad system but neglect to use. Up 3 flights of stairs are the dorms rooms starting 201. The main door for the dorms remains open, often. I stayed in the dorm closest to More
Anonymous (Scotland) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

Very clean. Very nice staff. The AC made everything better in Sri Lanka. Would definitely go back again! More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 76%
  • 105 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 11th Oct 2015

We stayed in the hostel for only one night, it was good value for the money, the Colombo Center is not very close (but connections are okay), but you can have a nice walk on beach nearby, watch nice sunset there, have a snack in beach restaurant, ... The staff was also really friendly , More
Anonymous (Slovenia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 15th Jun 2015

I don't feel like this place is really a hostel. It's overpriced for what it's worth. The staff are friendly though and ready to help you with planning, however they don't speak much English and the help they offer, though genuine, is not of much use. The location is a little out of the More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 74%
  • 192 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 14th Sep 2015

Not really a hostel, but a great place if you stay that side of town. No kitchen but plenty of food places near by as well a KFC. Beach near by is ok More
Tourbiker (USA) (MALE) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 7th Sep 2015

The location is great, it's near the beach however it's quite noisy in the morning because of the school nearby. The staff are super nice, friendly and helpful! Breakfast is huge and delicious, also cheap! No lift, so it could be tired if you bring more than 2 luggages, the bathroom is More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback