Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Colombo, Sri Lanka

  • 89%
  • 112 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Generally a great hostel. I really enjoyed the facilities and the staff. Security seemed a little bit lax to me with respect to no key being needed to enter the building/accessing the floors. There is 24/7 reception which helps alleviate this concern but people can get tired! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 22nd Sep 2015

Just fifteen minutes away by tuk tuk from the train station, a stroll away from the seafront. I didn't see much of colombo but I can say that after staying at Drif BnB I really considered staying for longer. Nices staff and really helpful! More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 86%
  • 263 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 20th Sep 2015

I stayed here arriving at 4am after landing in Colombo. Staff we're accommodating in offering me an early check in, however I felt the price of this was steep (double the cost of one night). Lovely, clean, secure accommodation and only a couple minutes walk to the beach. Wouldn't really More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Sep 2015

Great place. Right near the beach, shops and train station. Really friendly and helpful staff. All the trimmings you could ever need and quite possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Thank you for a great stay! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 86%
  • 98 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 27th May 2015

My stay was great,so good that i decided to extend.Priyani and her husband are lovely and very helpful,they help me with an adaptor, directions, and everything.My room is cosy but the wifi wasn't so good,so I tell Priyani and she provide me a solution very quickly I need the wifi to work More
lyllis (Brazil) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 16th Apr 2015

A nice, friendly, very safe and familar place! The woman who owns it is a real sweetheart, very helpful and kind! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 243 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

Very clean. Very nice staff. The AC made everything better in Sri Lanka. Would definitely go back again! More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 20th Aug 2015

no hostel athmosphere in the common room, only some old men sitting there watching cricket on tv; good size of the rooms; clean bathroom More
Anonymous (Austria) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 105 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 18th Sep 2015

I got there early but wasn't allowed too check in early as a previous review had mentioned and wasn't allowed to cancel my second night which was irritating and no sympathy from the staff. Location was good but low season so very quiet. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 18th Sep 2015

I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in City Rest, Dorm room ,a bit small but ,comfortable at same time. Breakfast was the usual fare-cereal,tea,coffe,toast,fruit,etc.,etc in a buffet style. Staff were very helpful.When checking out,I decided to buy a S.Lanka sim card for my phone,,and the More
Jovannacita (Ireland) (Male) Avid Traveller

  • 83%
  • 104 Total Reviews


  • 43%
  • 15th Jun 2015

I don't feel like this place is really a hostel. It's overpriced for what it's worth. The staff are friendly though and ready to help you with planning, however they don't speak much English and the help they offer, though genuine, is not of much use. The location is a little out of the More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

Nice hostel, good rooms, clean and a great staff. They were very kind from the moment I arrived until the checkout. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 148 Total Reviews


  • 74%
  • 30th Sep 2015

Good place to stay in colombo. This hostel feels clean and basic. Close to the beach and friendly staff! Owner gave us some usefull tips for our journey into sri lanka! More
finalxan (Netherlands) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 28th Sep 2015

Need to fix the leak window in the dorm, warm water would be good, just the standard barrel on the roof would do, if you had a beer fridge it would be great. Recommend for high, I.e. dry season. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 77%
  • 111 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 19th Sep 2015

Very nice staff More
Anonymous (Romania) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 4th Sep 2015

Has great potential - modern, good facilities and lots of backpackers. BUT the hostel was dirty and the biggest disappointment was that the staff were unhelpful and preoccupied with smoking/ ignoring us. If you are lucky enough to get a top bunk you can dismiss any form of sleep More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

  • 76%
  • 190 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 7th Sep 2015

The location is great, it's near the beach however it's quite noisy in the morning because of the school nearby. The staff are super nice, friendly and helpful! Breakfast is huge and delicious, also cheap! No lift, so it could be tired if you bring more than 2 luggages, the bathroom is More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 3rd Sep 2015

Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Not a party hostel but a good place to chill out. More
Anonymous (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback