X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Durban, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 58 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2016

Pat and Keith are extremely kind and generous people. Even though they are slightly further than most places, they offer rides to central locations. They also are a great source of local information. If you're looking for a relaxing stay in a safe area, this is the place to be! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 3rd Jan 2016

A little bit out of town, but the owners make up for this by selflessly shuttling tourists around town for a very minimal fare. The atmosphere here is very relaxed, as it's in a residential neighborhood. The owners are extremely knowledgable about Durban, and very helpful, kind and More
jpokarney7334 (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 23rd Oct 2015

Great hostel with really friendly staff. Elmo was great and incredibly helpful. Great breakfast in the morning. Quiet and comfortable. In a very safe area to walk around but quite far from the centre of town More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 93 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 60%
  • 4th Feb 2016

It was extremely quiet while I was there so was nice to relax. No push on day trips and when I asked they said walk to a rock pool. If you are a surfer then it will be fine but no lessons. More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

Always a pleasure More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 52 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 69%
  • 5th Nov 2015

No hot water in the dorm during 3 days. Far from good beaches ex:Ushaka Beach Manager Michael was lovely. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 11th Sep 2015

I really liked staying here and the only regret is that I could not stay for longer. This hostel is extremely relaxed, you won't find huge parties but if you're looking for intellectual conversation and a friendly atmosphere right on the beach, then look no further. I do think the More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 205 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Very friendly staff (: Thank you! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 17th Jan 2016

Internet advertised as free but limited to 3hrs/day and only worked for 2hrs in our day stay. That's not okay. The roof top bar is very nice but somehow unfortunately empty. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 183 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 23%
  • 8th Jan 2016

I would only recommend this hostel if you don't plan on sleeping and just want to party til 5 am. The staff is very unhelpful and you can't tell if they are guests or actually work there. Only shower that worked had only cold water that barely came out. We tried to go to bed but instead More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 6th Jan 2016

If you are looking for sleep this hostel might not be the one for you. Loud Musik from the bar that was well hear able in my room ever night. More
me_chrissy5617 (Germany) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 48%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 20%
  • 23rd Nov 2015

No tv in the rooms.rooms not smelling good parking very far .i slept in the car More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 31%
  • 7th Nov 2015

My stay in this hostel was litterally the worst I have ever had. The place is dirty as a trashcan, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned in ages. The staff allowed a party to take place in the court which is in the middle of the hostel with all the rooms facing towards it. I didn't More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Durban Podcasts

Listen to our Durban podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Durban Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Durban Videos

Watch our Durban video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Durban Videos

Please give us your feedback