Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Durban, South Africa

  • 91%
  • 59 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 17th Jul 2015

great place and location. for the price, I might expect just a little more (soap and hand towels in all bathrooms and showers, perhaps towels for guests), but all in all, I enjoyed my stay here a lot. More
jrenstro7121 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 91%
  • 53 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 17th Aug 2015

Loved this place. Gary and Lia are your top notch hosts! Thanks so much for helping me get my camera back! :) Their kids, Tristan and Taryn, are darling! :) I love this place for its homely vibe, wide open space, security, cleanliness, and cute cabins! They upgraded my booking for free and More
LadyVanessa (USA) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 91%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Enjoyable short stay More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller

  • 88%
  • 76 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

Great backpackers! Really nice location and facilities. I really enjoyed my stay! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th May 2015

Beach & super market in walking distance. Very clean & staff are helpful and friendly. Great stay, although it is a drive away from the main area of Durban which is also pleasant. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 154 Total Reviews


  • 63%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

Stayed in a girl dorm where the smoker s area was right in front of our room. It was verynoise, couldn't get any sleep. Rooms were clean. My shower wasn't hot. The bar chad a great atmosphere. Staff was nice. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 5th Sep 2015

Pros: Location, near Florida street. Cons: Very uncomfortable bed. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 74%
  • 192 Total Reviews


  • 74%
  • 5th Jul 2015

The hostel have a good location, with easy acess for the public transportation. The bedrooms are clean and beautiful. One problem its a wifi, just 3 hours per day and dont work very well all the time. It is forbidden to drink your liquor purchased in the supermarket they have a bar, but More
mayarataroco4532 (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 64%
  • 124 Total Reviews


  • 69%
  • 15th Aug 2015

I can't recommand for the family or couple. It's really just tostay 2 orthree nights max. The location is quite well, but the hotel is a bit dirty and old. I slept in the bedroom with a broken window. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Durban Podcasts

Listen to our Durban podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Durban Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Durban Videos

Watch our Durban video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Durban Videos

Please give us your feedback