Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Durban, South Africa

  • 95%
  • 54 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 17th Aug 2015

Loved this place. Gary and Lia are your top notch hosts! Thanks so much for helping me get my camera back! :) Their kids, Tristan and Taryn, are darling! :) I love this place for its homely vibe, wide open space, security, cleanliness, and cute cabins! They upgraded my booking for free and More
LadyVanessa (USA) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 91%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Enjoyable short stay More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller

  • 91%
  • 60 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 23rd Oct 2015

Great hostel with really friendly staff. Elmo was great and incredibly helpful. Great breakfast in the morning. Quiet and comfortable. In a very safe area to walk around but quite far from the centre of town More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 17th Jul 2015

great place and location. for the price, I might expect just a little more (soap and hand towels in all bathrooms and showers, perhaps towels for guests), but all in all, I enjoyed my stay here a lot. More
jrenstro7121 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 86%
  • 84 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 17th Nov 2015

Always great to stay with them. Great food too! More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Oct 2015

After returning from backpacking in Israel for 3 weeks I wanted to experience the same in SA. I must say Blue Sky far exceeds the standards of the backpacking places I found abroad. The place is fantastic and caters for all a backpacker could ever need. The bathrooms are 5 star - More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 79%
  • 165 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 15th Nov 2015

This place has amazing staff and huge common areas, so if you're a solo traveler and want to party, this place is great. It's also in an incredible location. However it is loud, and even with the staff's best attempts to keep it clean, I still saw roaches scuttle across the dorm beds More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Well,is a party hostel. With everything you expect from a place like this. Its Well located,you have loud music and nice people drinking everynight. In otherside you will not sleep a lot - even if staying in a faraway room,cause you will have drunk people coming inside or talking loud on More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 76%
  • 195 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 25th Nov 2015

Great atmosphere and vibe. Location close to bus routes (People Mover busses), Ushaka and a Fast Food place. Safe parking behind lock-up. There were a nice mix of travelers from Europe. Reception Staff could be more friendly. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 5th Jul 2015

The hostel have a good location, with easy acess for the public transportation. The bedrooms are clean and beautiful. One problem its a wifi, just 3 hours per day and dont work very well all the time. It is forbidden to drink your liquor purchased in the supermarket they have a bar, but More
mayarataroco4532 (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 58%
  • 127 Total Reviews


  • 31%
  • 7th Nov 2015

My stay in this hostel was litterally the worst I have ever had. The place is dirty as a trashcan, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned in ages. The staff allowed a party to take place in the court which is in the middle of the hostel with all the rooms facing towards it. I didn't More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 22nd Oct 2015

I loved Banana Backpackers, but be warned it is NOT for the high maintenance type of people. I loved the community and the people I stayed with. Staff was great. The only complaint was the cleanliness and facilities. It just needs a little renovating to be honest. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Durban Podcasts

Listen to our Durban podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Durban Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Durban Videos

Watch our Durban video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Durban Videos

Please give us your feedback