X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 588 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Excellent hostel e staff. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Aug 2014

The light house hostel is in a fantastic location to Edinburgh city central. It is very clean and has a homely feel, aided by the no shoes policy. Staff are very helpful and welcoming in the hostel. The kitchen facilities are amazing, good stock of breakfast and coffee are perfect to More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 6104 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 20th Aug 2014

It value for money is great, to be a Hostel it is really good! But, one fact upset me a lot: I've book 2 nights, and unfortunately I had to stay each night in one different room, not really a problem for me. What pissed me of was the fact that I had to check out and check in again! Get out More
bruno_vcg5427 (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Facilities: there seemed to be only one female toilet for our 12 bed dorm (room 42) - but having said that I never had difficulty getting into it, so maybe there were others I just didn't find. Breakfast rolls delicious. Location perfect for sightseeing in Edinburgh. Staff very helpful, More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 17th Aug 2014

I was very pleased with every thing and really surprised with the standard of the accommodation knowing it is normally student accommodation. The restaurant was amazing, everyone was catered for. A good breakfast set you up for the hectic day ahaed. Planning a return visit hopfully next More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Aug 2014

Have stayed in a number of student halls over the years and this was by far the best. Despite being very busy the noise was at a minimum. The breakfasts were great; lots of choice and good standard for canteen food. Public transport links into city centre good and right by Arthurs Seat More
jennieg518899 (England) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 1476 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 74%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Paying so much for a dorm room was a necessary evil in a stupidly expensive city, even more expensive during "Fringe". Hostel was fine though, Aussie girl at reception was really nice and helpful, best thing was the location. More
stokesy2464094 (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 8th Aug 2014

Basic hostel facilities, but fantastic location right on the Royal Mile amongst all the attractions of Edinburgh. Staff are amazing, they were having a staff dinner when I arrived and offered me food and drinks as they had plenty, very friendly and made my stay very comfortable as a solo More
mcgratherin3529 (Australia) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 447 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 16th Aug 2014

excellent More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 13th Aug 2014

The socket locker is too small. Some plug have to convert twice in order to match the socket in United Kingdom,but the plug will be too big to let it totally put in the locker to lock it. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 99 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 57%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

This hostel was clean, but had no free wifi. The price was expensive, hopefully due to the festival and not their ordinary prices. It was difficult to find and most people did not know what street I was talking about when asking for directions. I would have preferred to stay where there More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Jun 2014

Excellent More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 4189 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 21st Aug 2014

Fantastic location, clean good-size bedrooms, plus a kick-ass bar ! More
Anonymous (Uruguay) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Very nice hostel and most of all very nice staff!! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 3263 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 17th Aug 2014

This hostel had the best atmosphere out of any I've stayed at. Our check-in guy was super nice and remembered us during our whole stay, I wish I could remember his name. Really can't beat this hostel's location either. Beds were okay, comfy enough and the place could be cleaner, but More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Aug 2014

Everything is very good!! But can't charge my mobile in the room :( More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 292 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 5th Jul 2014

Lots of hevy traffic just outside the hostel makes it difficult to sleep. Two main roads on both sides. Very very hot in the corridoors and in the rooms (we tried two different rooms) but they where the same. No free wi fi - very bad!!! The manager seemed very busy and 'hard', the staff More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Jun 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, absolutely lovely place. Corin and "Matt" were specially brilliant, we're very grateful for a wonderful stay in Edinburgh. Thais and Cristina More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 5500 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Great experience, a friend recommended this place and I would definitely recommend as well. Very friendly staff, GREAT LOCATION, kitchen and cooking area was way more than I expected, room was clean and neat with lockers provided. I would definitely recommend. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 18th Aug 2014

good pub in the hostel More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback