X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 26th Mar 2015

This is a simple but very welcoming place. I loved my stay there and recommend to any girl planning to visit the city. It is in the very centre of the city, near most touristic attractions, restaurants and supermarkets. For me (and my huge backpack), the best thing is that it is 10 minutes More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Great place to stay! Kylie the owner is super nice and incredibly helpful. Very laid back atmosphere. It's close to the bus station, but a bit of a walk to the main attractions of the city. Totally worth it though. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 803 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Perfect accomodation! People are very agreable and respectful. The staff makes all they can to help you. The kitchen is a very pleasant place where you can cook and store what you want. It is also a place of meeting. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Apr 2015

The hostel is one of the cleanliness I've stayed in. If you're a solo traveler this is a great hostel to stay while you're visiting Edinburgh. The lounge on the bottom floor is a great place to meet many other solo travelers and enjoy hundreds of movie selection. The only downside to the More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 6774 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 24th Apr 2015

I had a great time. I really like how well the house is adapted to be a hostel and the decoration. I loved every single detail. The staff was amazing. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 24th Apr 2015

This was my first stay at a hostel and I think I've been spoiled! The quality for price was outstanding and the facilities were wonderful! More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 944 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 20th Apr 2015

This hostel was centrally located making it easy to walk to everything. The room i had was really big so there was lots of space for everyone. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't much common space so it made it harder to meet people. There was only the bar, which you More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Apr 2015

This hostel is little bit far from train station but it would be a good advantage to walk near to edinburagh. Except for this one, It was perfect hostel. I felt very convience like my house When i was lying down on the bed, I can see the edinburah castle!! Reasonable Price As well More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 3519 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 69%
  • 11th Apr 2015

The location is right in the middle of Edinburgh (old town). The shower stalls were uncomfortably small. The cleanliness of the bedsheets felt a bit dubious. The room itself was cosy and comfortable. The whole place looks a little dinghy but is well-decorated. You must pay for the More
Anonymous (Myanmar) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Hostel room and bed is clean, but the bed i have both power point failure and the bed light also not function. More
dericccw (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 534 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 20th Apr 2015

I like this hostel. Rooms are very big and warm. Showers are very good and food is very big! I would like to come herer again. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Very nice and friendly More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1527 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 74%
  • 21st Apr 2015

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable! Bathrooms were a little small but at least they were clean. Wifi was good throughout the rooms. Staff was a little questionable at times; I went to my room to grab a sweater and freshen up, I had a friend waiting in the common area where the More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Apr 2015

For a small hostel, this one was great. The room sizes were perfect for the number in each and the common areas were quite nice. Only issue is the small number of toilets and showers, but they really can't do much about that. The area it is in (right on the royal mile) is absolutely More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 111 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 31st Mar 2015

Good hostel but it is a bit small / crowded. The kitchen area is difficult to get in and out of etc. The rooms are also crowded but I appreciated the international powerpoints and the bed was comfortable. The staff were lovely and the location is great! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 31st Mar 2015

Great stay! The staff are very nice, and there's someone to help you 24-7! But the stairs are pretty tiring... More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 4448 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Great hostel in an amazing location. I loved the bright decor and the room cards which kept everything locked and safe. Everything was very clean, even the communal bathrooms, which were obviously cleaned fairly often through the day. Staff were slow to check us in, they seemed in no hurry More
Fricka (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

The best thing about Budget Backpackers was the location- right off the Royal Mile and easily accessible to all of old town. I would probably stay here again just for that, and the fact that there were lockers in the rooms (bring your own lock). It wasn't a very friendly hostel, both the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1321 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 18th Apr 2015

I had a great stay at Argyle Backpackers Hostel. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th Apr 2015

Great location and facilities (kitchens well equipped and maintained), I had a very pleasant stay. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback