X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 160 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 6th Feb 2016

Fabulous place, probably the best hostel ive ever stayed in. The pods give excellent privacy, staff very welcoming and super central location More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 31st Jan 2016

Great place! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 8111 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 7th Feb 2016

Excellent position. friendly staff, warm rooms and well decorated building. I loved the view from the balcony and the free coffees. Sadly no information was given about the check out time at the time I checked in and very unexpectedly I had been charged for a key cut. Law doesn't admit More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 6th Feb 2016

A very nice hostel, where I always stay when visiting Edinburgh. :-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 244 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 6th Feb 2016

Really enjoyed my stay, only thing lacking was a tv room or some space/couches to properly chill. And a separate girls bathroom! Lovely hostel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Jan 2016

I stayed for 4 days in The Baxter and it was great! Everything was perfect. The staff is very kind and helpful, the dormitory and the bathroom are always clean. There is a functional kitchen and the breakfast (included in price) is very good. The atmosphere in the hostel is as quiet as More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1014 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Great stay in a well located hostel. Congratulations for the community dinner on Thursday with Cristina giving interesting insights about the name of the hostel, religion and purpose of life. Rooms are big enough to be comfortable, bed sheets perfectly cleaned, lockers with a good size and More
cristobalms (Croatia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

For the price it's very well. Just 2 things: the hostel is a little bit far of the center and the room are mix, like every hostel but I was the only girl with 5 boys. You don't feel very good. Apart that, it's very well! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1875 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 60%
  • 7th Feb 2016

Bar staff gives zero shits about you..go away is there attitude! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 5th Feb 2016

The heater did't work... after some discussion we were allowed to change the room. But the window did not close properly and it was kinda loud at night. Bathroom could be cleaner. Value for money not granted. Location was good. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 14th Aug 2015

It was nice to have a place to cook our own food. However, previous guests hadn't done the best job of getting all the food off the dishes, so we had to wash some things before use, but not too big of a deal. The staff were really helpful. And it was really nice to have on site laundry More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 1266 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 28th Dec 2015

Some of the rooms near to bar is bit noisy..else other facilities are fantastic.. Real value for money.. More
Anonymous (India) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Nov 2015

Excellent in every way. Only caveat being that the light in the toilet had a life of his own More
donald6014 (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 4945 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 74%
  • 7th Feb 2016

The showers were cold, both in the morning and in the evening. Aside from that it was very nice, the atmosphere seemed very fun and the staff were friendly. The bunk beds were fairly large and the room was clean. Plenty of outlets and multiple USB outlets. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 5th Feb 2016

Awesome location for a hostel with a really good vibe! Walking distance to anywhere you would want to go in Edinburgh, including places for a night out. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1655 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 26th Jan 2016

Facilities limited. Only 2 women's toilets for the whole hostel, only 1 bedroom light, so when someone wanted to go to bed at 10 they turned out the main light and that was it for everyone in the room. communal space = 2 settees in reception/ couple of tables in the kitchen. No proper More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 23rd Jan 2016

The room was very warm. I woke up very hot a few times, which is unusual because I am typically much colder than everyone around me (and I NEVER get too hot when I sleep), so I would imagine that the temperature would be even worse for others. The kitchen and sitting area were warm as More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 221 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 27th Jan 2016

Fantastic place, amazing location and friendly staff. No bunk beds make for a very comfortable sleep, I can not fault this place in any way... It is truly the most luxurious and unique hostel in Edinburgh by far. More
Anonymous (Dominica) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 21st Jan 2016

When I first walked into the Phoenix, I did judge it a bit harshly. It's not the easiest to find and there are a lot of stairs to walk up when you have a big bag.. however, once I was settled in, the Phoenix was actually pretty great. The kitchen/ common room area was well stocked, they More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback