X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 99%
  • 105 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

This is central clean and well run. I visit Edinbugh regularly and this is a very handy. It is up 5 flights of stairs so not great for anyone with dodgey knees but otherwise great. More
funnynaas5480 (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 14th Feb 2015

Hostel in good central location,staff helpful,free breakfast 😊. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 768 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 21st Feb 2015

This was one of my favourite hostel stays to date. The homey atmosphere of the Light House really puts you at ease and makes you comfortable. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the entirety of the hostel was always spotlessly clean. The area it's in is a bit of a jaunt to the big More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 20th Feb 2015

We are a retired couple visiting Edinburgh, so we did not expect high standards and facilities for elderly people. But we were quite delighted with The Light House Hostel. The location was great for us as I could easily get to my meeting and my wife could visit Princess St. and other More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 814 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 2nd Mar 2015

The light, we asked twice to fix it. But none came until we check-out. Overall, staffs were friendly and helpful. More
Anonymous (China) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Mar 2015

Was so cool experience in this hostel , totally clean and with good staff , thanks for all. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 6569 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Loved my stay at Castle Rock! Perfect location, wonderful staff and great accommodations (free hot drinks, cheap breakfast and towel rentals, and good discounts for things to do around the city). I easily could have stayed there comfortably for a longer period and definitely would More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 26th Feb 2015

Big kitchen with enough equipment. Clean bedroom and nice toilets. The hostel has castle feel. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 511 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

This is an ace hostel great rooms great bar and very cheap!!! Ideal location for City centre and 10 mins walk to Murrayfield for Six Nations rugby.. I had a blast and will be back. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Mar 2015

Nice and clean, great staff and good food More
Anonymous (Austria) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3452 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Excellent location right in the city centre, very nice common areas with plenty of opportunities to meet new people, great atmosphere. I've been to other hostels in Edinburgh and I would definitely reccomend High Street!! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

It's a pretty hostel, very central and with proper facilities. I tend to like smaller ones better but still it has a cosy feeling and I had the impression it is especially popular with travellers staying for more than just 1-2 nights in town, so people tended to bond easily in common More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 1513 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

This place had perfect location and for the price, it was great! I felt safe and I liked the deposit for a locker in your room. I had a great time in the city because of this hostel! Free hot chocolate in the morning! More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Jan 2015

Excellent hostel location, just a shame about being above a pub playing music every night of the week from 10pm. Was a lot of long-termers in, so in kitchen wasn't able to store anything in either of the 2 fridges or shelving area as they were already packed full which meant i went out to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 4392 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

great place to stay, friendly, helpful staff, good nightly meal deals from the cafe. only downside, kitchen is very small, there's not a lot of plates or cups and the dining room is quite small. the non-alcoholic drinks from the cafe are quite expensive too £1.60 for a cup of tea! may More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Budget Backpackers had a very unique atmosphere; edgy and colorful, kind of a hipster place. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The hostel also has a cafe/bar area with reasonably priced drinks and food; myself and those I was travelling with spent a lot of time there. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1206 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 91%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Awesome loxation with gd facilities at gd price. Recommended. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 7th Dec 2014

Smart City Hostel Edinburgh is an excellent accommodation option for the budget conscious traveller. Excellent facilities. Licensed bar and smoking terraces. Refreshing, dynamic vibe. The free wi-fi is quite slow and unpredictable, but high-speed broadband can be access for a fee. I would More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 321 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 13th Feb 2015

Found front of line staff, throughtout the weekend very helpful. More
billbillmcfarlan6271 (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Jan 2015

I like the location, I like big kitchen - the great big tin opener is brilliant - and the dining room and sofa area, plus the ground floor seating area - it is nice to have two places to go. The staff were wonderful. Wifi is not the most expensive I've seen but still, in this day and age, More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback