X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 614 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Lovely hostel! Very clean and nice facilities and good idea to use slippers inside, it makes you feel like home. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommended, best hostel in Edinburgh! More
Anonymous (Czech Republic) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Ricky and staff were great hosts, and the hostel was amazing! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 6172 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 74%
  • 17th Sep 2014

We arrived and none of the beds in the room were made which was fixed pretty quickly when we asked. Also there is like only literally one bathroom cubical exclusively for women so just be prepared for the unisex shared bathrooms. More
asimpson123 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Sep 2014

I've been traveling through Europe for 10 years now and this is the best hostel I've ever been at. I randomly found this place on internet prior to my travel to Scotland, and I am very satisfied with my choice. you can trust the excellent (and numerous) reviews that are posted on the web More
sherlock908461 (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 17th Aug 2014

I was very pleased with every thing and really surprised with the standard of the accommodation knowing it is normally student accommodation. The restaurant was amazing, everyone was catered for. A good breakfast set you up for the hectic day ahaed. Planning a return visit hopfully next More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Aug 2014

Have stayed in a number of student halls over the years and this was by far the best. Despite being very busy the noise was at a minimum. The breakfasts were great; lots of choice and good standard for canteen food. Public transport links into city centre good and right by Arthurs Seat More
jennieg518899 (England) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 20th Aug 2014

The rooms and facilities were very clean. Staff were super friendly and helpful with any questions I had. Great wifi connection with nice continental breakfast offered in the morning. I especially loved that it was from 6-10am so I didn't feel I had to get up super early to make sure I got More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

This hostel was clean, but had no free wifi. The price was expensive, hopefully due to the festival and not their ordinary prices. It was difficult to find and most people did not know what street I was talking about when asking for directions. I would have preferred to stay where there More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 75 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 6th Aug 2014

You know what facilities you're getting when you book a student hostel, even if today's students are luxurious beasts with en suite shower. The staff were very helpful, and knowledgeable about local transport (23.13 last train Edinburgh to Musselburgh, 10 mins; once an hour night buses More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Aug 2014

I enjoy my stay at the Student Residences at Queen Margaret. I got there earlier than I expected. The room overall was very big. The campus was located within a few minutes from the train and bus stations, which was good for my first time being in Scotland. Daryll was very helpful in More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 3291 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 9th Sep 2014

The hostel was very convenient to the railway station. The kitchen was very good. The bathrooms and showers on the floor were very small. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 9th Sep 2014

a great hostel, i never was in a hostel before, and the experience was really good! the hostel is in the middle of the old town which is perfect coz you're at 10 minutes by walk to all the main attractions. u dont have to spend money for transports. people at the hostel were really nice, More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1487 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 8th Sep 2014

I always enjoy staying here. It's a small hostel with a friendly vibe. Kitchen facilities are not great but I enjoy the atmosphere too much to complain. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 6th Sep 2014

We experienced spots on our sheets when we arrived as well as dirty floors. We were also told numerous times that it was exceptional that a group of 8 was accepted to stay there ... Which made us a little confused due to two things: 1 - why did it have to be mentioned 4 times within the More
Anonymous (Denmark) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 458 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 1st Sep 2014

I think it is more appropriate to call this a mini-hotel. It was one of the most luxurious hostels I have stayed in! Staff was great and rooms and beds were clean. A must-stay if you are in Edinburgh! More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 29th Aug 2014

It's a good place to stay, the only small problem is that there is only one toilet on each floor and there are 2 rooms with 12 beds each. More
ortegabeltran7288 (Mexico) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 4213 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 91%
  • 18th Sep 2014

Staff was very friendly and warm welcoming. The accoutrements was excellent, colorfoul and modern. Hostel is situated in centre of Edinburgh! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 10th Sep 2014

The four-person room was well insulated from the noise of the rest of the hostel, but being on the first floor with single-glazed windows, the noise from the street was quite loud and I found it impossible to sleep without earplugs. The mattress was rather uncomfortable, but it was roughly More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Not too centrally located with respect to the Old Town but, still, within a walking distance from the Royal Mile. The facilities are modern and spacious. The staff is helpful and competent. This hostel is certainly a very good choice for those who want to get to know historical Edinburgh. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 13th Aug 2014

The hostel was great - really clean and friendly staff. Also good to have a lift to get to the room. The food and drinks available weren't great though. The croissants were dry and the coffee was really foamy - but this isn't a big issue there are plenty of places nearby to get breakfast. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback