X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 178 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 30th Jul 2015

Perfect place. No complaints. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Loved the place. Really clean. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good, real eggs and toasts. More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 7261 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 30th Jul 2015

Castle Rock is probably the best hostel I have been too. It's located right across from the Edinburgh Castle, so you're right in the middle of all the sites. Comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are communal but do a very good job of making sure you have privacy when in the shower. Best part More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 29th Jul 2015

Remember visitors to throw toilet paper inside the bin and not the toilet, since it gets quite dirty and make that toilet unavailable. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 1289 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 31st Jul 2015

I love this hostel. It was like going back to a college dorm, except w/ a bunch of individual common showers/toilets stalls. Everything was clean, awesome bar with pool tables/beer pong, and a piano upstairs, safe rooms and entry, and ideal location next to the castle. Not to mention had More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 30th Jul 2015

I thought it was a good hostel good location, but I don't believe they should place a group of 11 guys in on room if they are a group, they should be in a seperate room as everyone knows 11 guys one room don't show a lot of respect to the other guest. They are loud, turn lights on and More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

By far my favorite hostel to stay at!!! Very safe, friendly environment. Close to everything in the city. And, lots of extra things like a nice kitchen to use, straightening irons, etc... More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 3rd Jul 2015

The Hostel was very cozy and quiet, but very close to all of the attractions we wanted to see in Edinburgh More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 870 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 26th Jul 2015

A place where good to return at the end of a tiring day. More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 20th Jul 2015

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. It was in a beautiful house, so it was more like staying in a bed and breakfast, although still for the cheap price of a hostel. The atmosphere was very homey and comfortable. The hostel was very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 589 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 49%
  • 31st Jul 2015

The staff people weren't really helpful or nice. More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Jul 2015

I would definitely recommend this place to fellow travellers. If your looking for somewhere to chill out and relax this is the place. I only stayed for one night but loved it. The staff are awesome and very helpful, they will even book tours of Scotland for you at a discounted price. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Everything was great apart from the toilets. This because they were not clean. But i guess that does not depend pn the staff, more what kind of people live in your corridor. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Staff contact a pleasure as all SO FRIENDLY. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 4614 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 31st Jul 2015

The location is phenomenal, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the bedrooms are clean, the building is secure, the food and bar options are good, and the price is great. What more could you want? More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 27th Jul 2015

A great hostel. Rooms could be cleaner, ours smelt a bit funky but nothing that was super off-setting. The security was intense but appreciated. Location good just a slight hill up to the royal mile. Great value for money. More
Anonymous (Canada) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 3666 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 91%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Great location and staff. Rooms were small but comfortable. Breakfast available for almost 1.90euro. No complaints. One suggestion I have is to add more hangers in the bathrooms and bedrooms. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Jul 2015

We originally booked just two nights but decided to stay a bit longer because we liked the hostel/city so much. We had to change rooms as we were booking the extra nights last minute, but the staff were really helpful. The staff were also good for advise with tours/things to do and made an More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1560 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 97%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

I stayed there just for two days but it was such a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh. It is located right in the centre of the most important places to visit in the city, for an affordable price. Moreover, the free pub crawl organised on thursday lets you easily meet many backpackers. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 17th Jul 2015

The hostel overall was good, great location, but the room was a bit too small for 4 people and smelly. I think it's due to the ventilation. It was too cold outside to open the windows, but there was no ventilation inside. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback