Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

  • 92%
  • 7859 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 29th Nov 2015

Warm, friendly, secure, free teas and coffees, film screenings, quirky environment. Only minus when I stayed the upper floor showers and toilet were all out of service. Optional continental breakfast for £1.50. Will definitely be back. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Nov 2015

Castle rock is an excellent hostel!! It's very clean, organized and well located! The staff is great also! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 956 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 20th Nov 2015

The only hick with this hostel is the very few bathrooms it has but since everything else is topnotch, it's still worth going back there. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Great hostel in a fab location. Really friendly staff (Isobel) and amazing that continental (help yourself) breakfast is included for 17 pound a night. Will defiantly be going back soon. Thank you ☺ More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 227 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 27th Nov 2015

Baxter hostel was such a great choice the location was perfect straight across from waverley station, the staff are so helpful and friendly - breakfast was included and our private room with ensuit was great! More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 1st Nov 2015

Overall I had a really good stay at The Baxter. The rooms were well set up with lockers, individual lights and power outlets at each bed. The wifi could be improved in the rooms as it didn't work most of the time and it would get very crowded and noisy in the kitchen especially in the More
Anonymous (Australia) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller

  • 91%
  • 145 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 21st Sep 2015

Poor shower facilities. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 18th Sep 2015

Location is brilliant. The cheap price is also good, but unfortunately it reflects the low standard. I have to say that this is one of the most shabby hostels I’ve ever stayed in. When you enter the hallway, you are basically welcomed by an unpleasant smell and a pile of mess (clothes, More
betinehuflaatten338 (Norway) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 144 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 26th Nov 2015

Very secure and clean. The 'pods' you stay in are very private and cosy, by far the best thing about this hostel. Location good but I would say the 'old town' across the bridge would be slightly more convenient. Staff good. Kitchen and living area slightly cramped but has everything you More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 17th Nov 2015

Good location and nice bed. You will receive a code to enter the hostel/ room/ open yout locker, thus you don't have need any pad lock. It's a great idea. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 1675 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 26th Nov 2015

Great hostel. Clean and fun. Free walking tour great. And their cafe us cheap and delicious (I had to change hostels due to it booking out but kept returning to the cafe) More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 25th Nov 2015

Staff was really friendly on reception, except for the bar and the cafe! Those areas were terrible! Though, the room was very good and the toilettes inside the room is also a plus. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Avid Traveller

  • 90%
  • 131 Total Reviews


  • Phoenix II

  • 106 Hanover Street, Edinburgh, Edinburgh
  • 91%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Good experience overall. However, the manager was away, so I had to ask fellow travelers about little things like explaining where everything is and how towel hire worked. They were all very helpful, which speaks loads to the friendly culture at the Phoenix! Hot water in the sinks would be More
laurahayden2129475 (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 11th Nov 2015

No toilet paper. The staff is never there. After a day out my bed had been given to a new guest. Asked for three days to get a receipt and they never gave me one. Photos are misleading, showing very spacious areas, in reality the rooms are packes with beds and there is very little space to More
cinkuki4217 (Chile) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 148 Total Reviews


  • 71%
  • 20th Aug 2015

noisy doors continuously in the accommodation. They cannot close quietly under any circumstances. some younger cliental are oblivious to other people on campus and showed no consideration at 2.00 am and 3.00am in particular. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Excellent place to stay during the Festival; several buses from city centre to Halls. Good facilities, excellent breakfast included. Right by Arthurs Seat for those feeling energetic and wanting good view over the city and surrounding area. More
jennieg518899 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 89%
  • 84 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 14th Aug 2015

It was nice to have a place to cook our own food. However, previous guests hadn't done the best job of getting all the food off the dishes, so we had to wash some things before use, but not too big of a deal. The staff were really helpful. And it was really nice to have on site laundry More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Avid Traveller

  • 87%
  • 1262 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 25th Nov 2015

Excellent in every way. Only caveat being that the light in the toilet had a life of his own More
donald6014 (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 17th Oct 2015

Excellent hostel! Great location, nice bar with a full menu. Very clean too. Also friendly staff. Favorite hostel I've stayed in out of 3 in Edinburgh. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback