X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 815 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 13th May 2015

Friendliest staff I've ever met at a hostel! The place really feels like you're staying at the house of a good friend you've known for years. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 2nd May 2015

It was a really good hostel,like in a house with an atmosphere cosy . It's a good idea to put slippers. Each rooms were clean and handy ,it was perfect . I felt like in my house. More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 6886 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 21st May 2015

Perfect atmosphere, perfect location, perfect staff. I'd only improve one minor detail - add extra hooks for towels etc near the sinks. More
v1979v (Lithuania) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 19th May 2015

Not a bad place to stay. My dorm bed was right next to the door, which had a massive lightbulb above it which was on all the time. Bring an eye mask and some earplugs (as I did) and you will be alright. Good location, nice staff, a bit of a party hostel. In general a fun place. A little More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1019 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 19th May 2015

Great atmosphere and staff were super energetic and helpful. The whole atmosphere of the hostel was terrific. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 17th May 2015

good gostel, really convenient. Everything was made so that you feel good. It is a very big hostel, so if you look for a calm and convivial atmosphere, this is not the right hostel. Common room looks sometimes like a night club...people are yelling in the corridors at 11 pm... if you More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 111 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 14th May 2015

I stayed here for two nights and wish I could have stayed longer. The atmosphere was relaxed and inclusive. Perfect for a solo traveler. Zoe, the girl In charge, was sweet and competent. The breakfast was better than most with homemade bread and yogurt plus the normal cerals, coffee and More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th May 2015

Fantastic place to stay for girls (and ladies) looking to explore Edinburgh. The place was warm, welcoming and like a home away from home. I especially liked the little touches like freshly baked bread in the morning, and access to a hairdryer and straightener. Thanks ALLGIRLZ for a More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 3555 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 13th May 2015

Very nice and helpful staff. In a neat old building, but that meant the rooms were on the smaller side. Not a big deal though, there was still room to move around. Really strange smell in the whole building though. All my clothes smelled like the hostel days after we left. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 10th May 2015

Loved the hostel! Especially the location! Clean dorms, helpfull staff comfortable beds... everything I needed! I would definetly come back! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 540 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 19th May 2015

Professionally run establishment, with all the facilities you could want. Safe and secure. Only complaint was bathrooms could use a more frequent clean, but even then things weren't bad. Thanks for the stay. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th May 2015

Very good place to stay great staff great accommodation will recommend to people in Australia wen l get home thanks fore a wonderful stay . More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 1532 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 74%
  • 8th May 2015

Nice Hostel, friendly staff. 6-bed-dorm was a bit small and did not seem really clean. But it was still ok, especially for lne night. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 21st Apr 2015

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable! Bathrooms were a little small but at least they were clean. Wifi was good throughout the rooms. Staff was a little questionable at times; I went to my room to grab a sweater and freshen up, I had a friend waiting in the common area where the More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 4490 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 19th May 2015

Fantastic location! Hot showers depend on your timing and which stall you pick. Toilets don't flush very well. Staff were not the friendliest, they just stared at the computer screen and never looked up. More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 17th May 2015

Bathrooms, both en suite and shared were dirty, as were towels. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1330 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 14th May 2015

A nice quiet place in a nice area near a park; a friendly helpful staff. More
Anonymous (Russia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Apr 2015

I had a great stay at Argyle Backpackers Hostel. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 114 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 31st Mar 2015

Good hostel but it is a bit small / crowded. The kitchen area is difficult to get in and out of etc. The rooms are also crowded but I appreciated the international powerpoints and the bed was comfortable. The staff were lovely and the location is great! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 31st Mar 2015

Great stay! The staff are very nice, and there's someone to help you 24-7! But the stairs are pretty tiring... More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback