X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 17th Aug 2014

I was very pleased with every thing and really surprised with the standard of the accommodation knowing it is normally student accommodation. The restaurant was amazing, everyone was catered for. A good breakfast set you up for the hectic day ahaed. Planning a return visit hopfully next More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Aug 2014

Have stayed in a number of student halls over the years and this was by far the best. Despite being very busy the noise was at a minimum. The breakfasts were great; lots of choice and good standard for canteen food. Public transport links into city centre good and right by Arthurs Seat More
jennieg518899 (England) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 6th Aug 2014

This hostel was perfect as a solo female character. It was so cosy and welcoming I really felt like I was just at home. It was perfect for meeting other travellers and awesome location! Kylie the owner was amazing, so much fun and very generous. I would recommended this hostel to all More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Loved my stay here. Kylie is a great host and runs a very relaxing hostel with a fun atmosphere. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 6418 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 24th Dec 2014

Excellent location, friendly staff, and clean. Christmas surprised gifts to all residents are amazing. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Dec 2014

had an amazing time, people were very friendly...the staff is super nice! attended the christmas party which was a lot of fun. More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 710 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 22nd Dec 2014

Lovely staff, great local knowledge for our short trip, helpful with taxis, really fabulous Thank you! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Dec 2014

While the Hostel was a little bit out of the Centre of town, the staff went out of their way to provide quick routes into town either by bus or foot. Great lounge and kitchen with people always filtering though. Enjoyed my stay More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 488 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 5th Dec 2014

I spent a weekend with my sister and we found it really nice in several ways! It's an affordable place, it looks really nice and its facilities are the necessary, clean and near. The staff was very attentive and we didn't find it far from the city centre as we are very used to enjoy More
Anonymous (Colombia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 27th Nov 2014

really liked the place, welcoming, would recommend it. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 75 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 6th Aug 2014

You know what facilities you're getting when you book a student hostel, even if today's students are luxurious beasts with en suite shower. The staff were very helpful, and knowledgeable about local transport (23.13 last train Edinburgh to Musselburgh, 10 mins; once an hour night buses More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Aug 2014

I enjoy my stay at the Student Residences at Queen Margaret. I got there earlier than I expected. The room overall was very big. The campus was located within a few minutes from the train and bus stations, which was good for my first time being in Scotland. Daryll was very helpful in More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 3381 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 21st Dec 2014

Really recommend! Good location, good public areas, nice staff and competitive price. More
Anonymous (China) (MIXEDGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Dec 2014

We entered High Street Hostel and were welcomed by a lovely receptionist who seemed very passionate about Edinburgh but also someone playing the Piano in the Lobby. We loved it right away! Our room was warm and the beds comfortable with powerpoints next to every bunk. There was great wifi More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1503 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 12th Dec 2014

A great place. Will definitely recommend to future traveler friends. The hostel is in an excellent location, right on the royal mile. I felt secure with my stuff having free lockers provided and security check when you enter the hostel; which was very much appreciated. The staff were More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 6th Nov 2014

Enjoyed my stay at RMB! Great location, nice and clean, beds were surprisingly comfortable, very respectful other guests. Only complaints: staff seemed a little clique-y, not particularly open, and the breakfast seemed fairly expensive for what it was. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 4309 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 24th Dec 2014

This hostel was the best that i've ever been so far! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 22nd Dec 2014

Excellent hostel! Helpful staff, good food at the bar, great atmosphere. It's been the third hostel of my trip so far. It was the cheapest one, which worried me at first, but it was the best one! I'd recommend it to everyone! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1198 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Awesome loxation with gd facilities at gd price. Recommended. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Really good hostel! I only spent one night, but worth it. Only comments is that Wifi need to be improved (really slow, only if you pay you can get a better one...). Heating was not on that night, and it was a bit chilly, but manageable. All in all, I like the atmosphere, and the room (I More
Liz17 (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback