X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 6th Aug 2014

This hostel was perfect as a solo female character. It was so cosy and welcoming I really felt like I was just at home. It was perfect for meeting other travellers and awesome location! Kylie the owner was amazing, so much fun and very generous. I would recommended this hostel to all More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Loved my stay here. Kylie is a great host and runs a very relaxing hostel with a fun atmosphere. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 17th Aug 2014

I was very pleased with every thing and really surprised with the standard of the accommodation knowing it is normally student accommodation. The restaurant was amazing, everyone was catered for. A good breakfast set you up for the hectic day ahaed. Planning a return visit hopfully next More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Aug 2014

Have stayed in a number of student halls over the years and this was by far the best. Despite being very busy the noise was at a minimum. The breakfasts were great; lots of choice and good standard for canteen food. Public transport links into city centre good and right by Arthurs Seat More
jennieg518899 (England) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 740 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 19th Jan 2015

Great hostel! One of the most plesant experiences we've had. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 17th Jan 2015

This is a lovely hostel. I very very liked. Good brekfast and good staff. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 6488 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 22nd Jan 2015

Nice hostel. We booked a double room and enjoyed a pleasant stay in a tiny but nice room. Just the cold shower in the morning due to limited supply of hot water was a bit disturbing. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Amazing hostel. One of the best I've ever been too.. I would highly recommend!! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 75 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 6th Aug 2014

You know what facilities you're getting when you book a student hostel, even if today's students are luxurious beasts with en suite shower. The staff were very helpful, and knowledgeable about local transport (23.13 last train Edinburgh to Musselburgh, 10 mins; once an hour night buses More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Aug 2014

I enjoy my stay at the Student Residences at Queen Margaret. I got there earlier than I expected. The room overall was very big. The campus was located within a few minutes from the train and bus stations, which was good for my first time being in Scotland. Daryll was very helpful in More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3422 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Had a great time - the staff were very helpful and welcoming, the hostel was very close to the train station and was located in the heart of the action! I can't recommend it highly enough! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 16th Jan 2015

The staff was helpful & friendly. Rooms were outdated as to be expected but the in room lockers were useful and secure. Laundry services were £3.50 and fairly quick. The location was their best feature as it was nearby to many bars, restaurants and transportation. We did not spend much More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 501 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 6th Jan 2015

This hostel was so much better than anticipated! We were confused because the hostel promotes itself as a hotel, but I can see why! The staff was excellent, the beds comfortable and clean, the bar/restaurant area was wonderful. Only 1/2 hour walk from the grass market area, very convenient More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 5th Jan 2015

It was really cozy. They make you feel more like in a hotel/house than in a hostel. The neighborhood is really nice and quiet. Beds are comfortable and the sheets were clean. The toilet and showers could have been cleaner, but they were fine in general. More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1202 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 91%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Awesome loxation with gd facilities at gd price. Recommended. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 7th Dec 2014

Smart City Hostel Edinburgh is an excellent accommodation option for the budget conscious traveller. Excellent facilities. Licensed bar and smoking terraces. Refreshing, dynamic vibe. The free wi-fi is quite slow and unpredictable, but high-speed broadband can be access for a fee. I would More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 4359 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 19th Jan 2015

For only charging me £10 a night, I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked a 4-person female dorm room. But the staff was pleasant, friendly, professional, and eager to have guests come along on the free walking tours and pub crawls that they offer. The lobby, cafe, toilets, and room More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Good and clean .. Nice staffs friendly staffs bathroom are clean .. Overall Happy to stay . More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1510 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 18th Jan 2015

Excellent hostel location, just a shame about being above a pub playing music every night of the week from 10pm. Was a lot of long-termers in, so in kitchen wasn't able to store anything in either of the 2 fridges or shelving area as they were already packed full which meant i went out to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 4th Jan 2015

It's a place to sleep, and that's about it. Small showers, small facilities, and smells to high heaven. Apparently they have people boarding for like months at a time, and those folks don't clean up after themselves,so while I was there they had to move them all to another room to "deep More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback