Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

  • 92%
  • 7620 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 3rd Oct 2015

Best hostel i have stayed in, they have thought of everything. And its a beautiful building inside More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 30th Sep 2015

I enjoyed the location as well as the facilities provided by the hostel. I thought the staff at Castle Rock was not very helpful. I would ask them questions about things to do, how to get to certain locations, and they would give me the most vague answers ever and then return to watching More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 215 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 22nd Sep 2015

The Baxter has great staff; it's clean; the beds are comfortable; it's in a great location; and it is central to the train station, bus stops, and the tram. There are lockers and plugs next to every bed, which was a plus. Only drawback to this place is how loud it can get in the mornings, More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Sep 2015

The staff is amazing, they are very kind, smiling and they are able to put you at your ease quickly. I have felt "at home"!! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 142 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 21st Sep 2015

Poor shower facilities. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 18th Sep 2015

Location is brilliant. The cheap price is also good, but unfortunately it reflects the low standard. I have to say that this is one of the most shabby hostels I’ve ever stayed in. When you enter the hallway, you are basically welcomed by an unpleasant smell and a pile of mess (clothes, More
betinehuflaatten338 (Norway) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 1525 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 28th Sep 2015

This hostel is well thought out. There are cubbies for charging your phone and outlets and lamps next to every bed! No outlets in the bathrooms, though. Beds are very comfortable and the room I was in was spacious and had big windows that looked out onto Grassmarket, and up on Edinburgh More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 27th Sep 2015

The best hostel I've ever stayed in, we had an amazing room with a direct view onto the castle. Everything was very clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The kitchen had good tools and was clean the entire time. Definitely recommend staying there! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 130 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 20th Sep 2015

Modern and very comfortable. Although a little more expensive than other hostel, but it is worthed because I feel like have my own room in the pod bed. All facilities are clean. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Sep 2015

The staff were really friendly and went over and above, I arrived early but they let me check in early and also was happy to keep my valuables that would fit into th locker in the reception. It was clean and the sleeping space was greatgreat, th breakfast in the morning was really good and More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 913 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 4th Oct 2015

This was one of the best hosteling experiences I have had, which had everything to do with the wonderfully kind and helpful staff. Thank you for everything Lighthouse crew! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Sep 2015

I loved everything about this hostel. Love their attention to little details like the extra plugs for every bed, designated locker for every bed, no shoes policy, etc. The atmosphere was extremely nice. The staff went an extra mile to help me with the questions. Good location from town in More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 148 Total Reviews


  • 71%
  • 20th Aug 2015

noisy doors continuously in the accommodation. They cannot close quietly under any circumstances. some younger cliental are oblivious to other people on campus and showed no consideration at 2.00 am and 3.00am in particular. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Excellent place to stay during the Festival; several buses from city centre to Halls. Good facilities, excellent breakfast included. Right by Arthurs Seat for those feeling energetic and wanting good view over the city and surrounding area. More
jennieg518899 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 89%
  • 84 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 14th Aug 2015

It was nice to have a place to cook our own food. However, previous guests hadn't done the best job of getting all the food off the dishes, so we had to wash some things before use, but not too big of a deal. The staff were really helpful. And it was really nice to have on site laundry More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Avid Traveller

  • 87%
  • 101 Total Reviews


  • Phoenix II

  • 106 Hanover Street, Edinburgh, Edinburgh
  • 74%
  • 28th Sep 2015

It was a nice stay and the guy who worked there--Kevin--was a stud. But you cannot compare your expectations at this hostel with what you have experienced with more popular backpackers hostels. Truly, if you are looking to pay cheap, have a pretty solid location, and just be independent, More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Sep 2015

Great little hostel, excellent community, always had someone to go grab a drink with or talk to. The manager there, Kevin is awesome. More
flaggmo4315 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 86%
  • 4748 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 1st Oct 2015

My first time ever in a hostel. Didn't know what to expect, I found the best atmosphere I could imagine. Everyone was so friendly, from the staff to the travellers. I went on my own and I was never on my own. I enjoyed it so much that I ended up staying one more night. The location is More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 25th Sep 2015

the staff was very helpful with any question and the locatin is quite good :) More
Anonymous (Portugal) (Female) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Edinburgh Podcasts

Listen to our Edinburgh podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Edinburgh Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Edinburgh Videos

Watch our Edinburgh video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Edinburgh Videos

Hostelworld Edinburgh Videos

Please give us your feedback