Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Hamburg, Germany

  • 90%
  • 271 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 6th Sep 2015

No hostel experience, because only private rooms - so it is quite quiet. No noise problems (we were surprised, because it is direct on the reeperbahn), but the ear plugs are a great idea. nice room, and big bathroom. the breakfast is expensive, but it is worth it :) More
horst0512 (Austria) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 15th Jul 2015

We weren't crazy about the Reeperbahn, but we knew what we were getting into and if you want to party this location is ideal. The staff were extremely warm and welcoming, and the room was very nice. This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! There was even a TV in our room! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 71 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 9th Oct 2015

Great value for money, very friendly staff, clean and big rooms, great location. Definitely recommendable! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 22nd Sep 2015

wardrobes in the rooms should be available More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 275 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 19th Nov 2015

Is this really a hostel? It was more like a Boutique Hotel. Really nice, friendly staff and helpful staff. The cleanliness too was also first-rate and our room was cleaned every day. The location was alright and it was pretty easy to get into central quickly enough. Next time I book More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Oct 2015

Excellent location and very friendly reception. The room was perfect for the money we paid. It is definitely the best choice for accommodation at an affordable price. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 2673 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

My only complaint is that there was a TV in the room! Which some rude guy kept watching in the middle of the night while I was trying to sleep. TVs do not belong in hostel rooms! Otherwise everything about the hostel was fantastic and clean. More
louiselouiselouise11829 (Australia) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller
  • 69%
  • 16th Nov 2015

The staff is very nice and helpful, but the some guests are bad, I stayed in mix dorm, the boys are so noisy overy night, I can't sleep. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 1177 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Another wonderful stay here. Staff's extremely friendly and helpful, location is perfect and the atmosphere very much down to earth. Just a terrific hostel! More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Nov 2015

Best adress in Hamburg! One of the best hostels I every stay. Relaxed and very helpful staff, great location (10 min to the Reeperbahn or Schanzenviertel) and nice kitchen! I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the great people! :) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 372 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Very nice and clean place excellent location. The hostel required a special membership, they charged me over 7 EUR extra . I did not see this extra requirement in the confirmation I received via Hostelword - in the section of booking conditions. It was a complete surrpise for me, the fact More
bulcsuszekely4418 (Finland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Gefehlt hat ein Badvorleger sowie Handwaschseife. Alles wirkt sehr steril. Ich denke das klnnte man gemütlicher gestalten. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 163 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 4th Sep 2015

Arcade Hostel is pretty swanky for young travelers. After a week in crowded hostel dorms, our own clean room here - with pre-made beds and shower - was exactly what we needed. They offer German breakfast: bread, meats, yogurt, coffee, tea. The location is 30 min from the city center, so if More
ellacargill (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 6th Aug 2015

I spent one night with 2 friends of mine. I first thought it was too far away, not easy to reach with public transport. But it was worth it. We had a very quiet and enjoyable stay. The hostel is located close to a main street. However, the isolation ist very good and we could not hear More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 2988 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 24th Nov 2015

Very nice overall, however some staff (only a couple not many!!) could come across to guests as annoyed/ didn't want to be there/ rude on ocassions. The hostel overall though was clean and tidy and a nice place to stay! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Nov 2015

One of the best hostels I have ever been :) Great atmosphere in hostel's hall, staf at your disposal and always prone to give you all advices you need about the city. More
Anonymous (Serbia) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 215 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 7th Aug 2015

Too hot but read that in reviews otherwise very clean very nice and friendly staff bar doesn't really know whats going on but there's alcohol... More
dmperez4 (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Not a bad place, but pretty boring. It's really out of the way too and a small hike to the metro station. The staff was kind of awkward, unfriendly, and didn't seem to know much about the area. The place was clean, simple, and quiet. Not my favorite but nothing that bad. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 515 Total Reviews


  • 46%
  • 25th Nov 2015

You get what you pay for. To vibe is weird, the people don't smile, and the place smells of sausage and toilets. If you want a place to sleep for the night then this is the place. Other than that, its no party haven. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Nov 2015

The showers only had cold water running :( More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Hamburg Podcast

Listen to our Hamburg podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Hamburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Hamburg Videos

Watch our Hamburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Hamburg Videos

Please give us your feedback