X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Hamburg, Germany

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 280 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 1st Feb 2016

Staying at the Pyjama Park Hostel was absolutely the best choice! It is located at the famous Reeperbahn and St.Pauli Station is like a 3min walk, so you can get to any place really fast! The staff was really really nice and welcoming and also recommended some bars to us. The interior More
Anonymous (Austria) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 5th Jan 2016

Great place to stay while in Hamburg, very nice staff, fantastic location and rooms are tidy and stylish. More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 83 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

More of a hotel than a hostel. No common area. Perfect if you want a quiet night of sleep. The wifi was not working. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 31st Dec 2015

Nice rooms, great internet but no common area to chill out and meet people. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 282 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 30th Dec 2015

It was a good hostel, close to the metro and a grocery store as well as having a good kitchen. The lockers were also big enough for a back pack. The rooms were spacious and had a table and chairs. The staff were ok, the person who checked me in mixed up my reservation for a friend's and More
Anonymous (USA) (MIXEDGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 17th Dec 2015

The staff didn't really speak English, so anything except the payment was difficult to discuss. More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 165 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 4th Feb 2016

This hostel is great! The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and it was easy to get to the city center with public transportation. I highly recommend this hostel! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 4th Sep 2015

Arcade Hostel is pretty swanky for young travelers. After a week in crowded hostel dorms, our own clean room here - with pre-made beds and shower - was exactly what we needed. They offer German breakfast: bread, meats, yogurt, coffee, tea. The location is 30 min from the city center, so if More
ellacargill (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2711 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 43%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

Meininger is always a good choice, just had a bad experience at this one. Had a lock on my locker and went to get dinner, came back someone had broke my lock and stole my valuables(over $1000 worth). Hostel doesn't have cameras in enough spots and it is possible to go unseen from room to More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 6th Jan 2016

Female, USA, traveling alone! Meininger was quiet, which was what I wanted, and still close enough to Altona station. I stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm, which was clean and had individual lockers. I also liked that the toilet and shower were in separate rooms. Staff were good to me, and the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 3184 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 4th Feb 2016

Amazing location right next to subway stop and bus station. Breakfast was definitely not worth it but otherwise overall a great hostel. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 31st Jan 2016

Good hostel. Good location. Nice staff. Dont go for the breakfast if you want more than cold bread and cheese and cereal. Waste of money in my eyes. Apart from that I recommend. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1232 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 5th Feb 2016

At first I was a bit concerned about staying in a shared room... My experience staying in Backpackers St. Pauli turned out great! The hostel is clean and comfortable. I recommend you taking medium size bags/luggage so you can easily store it and lock it in the lockers the hostel More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 29%
  • 5th Feb 2016

Our 3 night stay at Backpackers started strangely as the front desk of the hostel is located in a bar next door. The staff were not nearly as accomodating as other hostels I´ve stayed in. They did not have any options for pub crawls, hostel hangouts, etc. The bed sheets were not clean More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 382 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 1st Jan 2016

Great location: less than 15 min walking from St. Pauli (party and pubs neighbourhood) and 10 min with train from the Hauptbahnhof. The included breakfast is great, but there aren't that many options for lunch in the hostel bar. They offer dinner for about 7 euros, but I didn't try it. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Dec 2015

It was my 3rd to stay in Jungendherberge hostel. Every time in there I am really satisfied about their facility, service and breakfast! If I visit Hamburg again, then I am sure that I will visit there as well. Very good location near amazing harbor :) More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 544 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 29th Jan 2016

Pretty cheap and nice enough facilities. They gave me a key for the front door and a key for the bedroom but I never had to use either- everything is always unlocked. Nothing bad happened but it felt a little unsafe. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 23rd Jan 2016

the hostel was good but there was no wifi connection in the rooms and the rooms were a little bit cold. More
Anonymous (Turkey) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Hamburg Podcast

Listen to our Hamburg podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Hamburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Hamburg Videos

Watch our Hamburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Hamburg Videos

Please give us your feedback