X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Hamburg, Germany

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 258 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 15th Jul 2015

We weren't crazy about the Reeperbahn, but we knew what we were getting into and if you want to party this location is ideal. The staff were extremely warm and welcoming, and the room was very nice. This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! There was even a TV in our room! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Jun 2015

This was a great place to stay. Very clean and pretty. Staff were very nice and helpfull. I highly recommend it and i will definately stay here again. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 252 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Staff helpful and freindly, the hostel is a bit far from the centre but it is next to a metro station. Not an ideal environment to meet people, but still not impossible either. Everything was clean and kitchen was good. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 14th Aug 2015

A great little hostel which i would have rated higher if it was in a better location. Admittedly the train station was a 2 minute walk and then the train was 15 minutes into the city, but it was at least a 30 minute trip to the nearest supermarket. I understand though it's main purpose is More
scottstevenson901429 (Scotland) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 353 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 14th Aug 2015

Good location, awesome breakfast and friendly staff!!! but there are few bathrooms and all of them are dirt... but if I go to Hamburg again I guess I will stay there! More
Belmiro (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 29th Jul 2015

The hostel is located above the metro station so very convenient. Be aware before you book, there's an extra charge if you don't hold an Hosteling International card (3.5 euros) so ended up costing us nearly 30 euros each! This included breakfast which was a cold buffet and din't seem More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1095 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

May be open lobby one hour earlier, at 7am, could be profitable. More
Anonymous (Russia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 17th Aug 2015

The hostel was OK: nice atmosphere, WiFi works and I used the kitchen everyday (it's also easy to meet new people there). It's not close to the city centre but it's just a 2 minutes walk to the bus stop or the Reeperbahn. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 58 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 17th Aug 2015

Nice rooms and friendly staff. there are no lockers in the rooms though so you do need to be careful. also this hostel doesn't have a common area, it is above a restaurant but you aren't going to meet people here. it was a nice quiet stay but definitely not a party place. More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 28th Jul 2015

Great experience. More
Anonymous (Croatia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2742 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 57%
  • 25th Aug 2015

This was not a hostel, but a cheap hotel in a terrible location. If you love to be welcomed with rude people working at reception, very expensive breakfast for what you get, and the inability to order food at their bar (which they advertise as a super neato thing) because their cook was More
PhD_guy421 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 25th Aug 2015

It's close to central station. Rooms are big and clean. Toilet and shower are way too small. More
Anonymous (Estonia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2620 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Good bet. Comfortable. far centre More
Anonymous (Japan) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 71%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Meininger's name is misleading because it is not in the City Center of Hamburg. It is in fact west of the city right down the street from the Altona train station. The location is not bad though and the subway is very easy to maneuver. It also is within a 15 minute walk, or two subway More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 215 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 7th Aug 2015

Too hot but read that in reviews otherwise very clean very nice and friendly staff bar doesn't really know whats going on but there's alcohol... More
dmperez4 (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Not a bad place, but pretty boring. It's really out of the way too and a small hike to the metro station. The staff was kind of awkward, unfriendly, and didn't seem to know much about the area. The place was clean, simple, and quiet. Not my favorite but nothing that bad. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 161 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 6th Aug 2015

I spent one night with 2 friends of mine. I first thought it was too far away, not easy to reach with public transport. But it was worth it. We had a very quiet and enjoyable stay. The hostel is located close to a main street. However, the isolation ist very good and we could not hear More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 30th Jul 2015

I can recommend when you travel by car. More
mrmpcz963 (Czech Republic) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 436 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

One of the best hostels I've been too in 3 weeks of backpacking. So much so that I decided to stay another day. Atmosphere was great and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Great little kitchen and close to Lidl to buy food and cheap drink. Very easy to walk to St Pauli which has a More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 20th Aug 2015

The Hostel is in the north of an area with many bars and 20 minutes walking time away from the party area around the Reeperbahn. A Supermarket is nearby and the S- and U-Bahn reachable within 10 minutes. Rooms etc. are clean and staff is verry friendly. Lockers are in the room or in the More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Hamburg Podcast

Listen to our Hamburg podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Hamburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Hamburg Videos

Watch our Hamburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Hamburg Videos

Please give us your feedback