Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Hamburg, Germany

  • 90%
  • 269 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 6th Sep 2015

No hostel experience, because only private rooms - so it is quite quiet. No noise problems (we were surprised, because it is direct on the reeperbahn), but the ear plugs are a great idea. nice room, and big bathroom. the breakfast is expensive, but it is worth it :) More
horst0512 (Austria) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 15th Jul 2015

We weren't crazy about the Reeperbahn, but we knew what we were getting into and if you want to party this location is ideal. The staff were extremely warm and welcoming, and the room was very nice. This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! There was even a TV in our room! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 363 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 26th Sep 2015

This hostel is pretty amazing. in the Commons is brand new, the location is awesome for taking pictures (people actually go to the hostel's location to take pictures of the river and the sunset), getting around (the hostel is just a flight of stairs away from the train station and I More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 25th Sep 2015

A little more description about the location is needed. It just says 200 m from the station. In reality, it's 200m in height so basically up the hill! Could indicate routes for travellers esp with heavy bags!! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 263 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 21st Sep 2015

The staff were very helpful when my plans needed to be changed and also when I needed to go to a place they helped me find the train connections etc. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Sep 2015

Fav hostel!! The lady working is adorable and so helpful. Beds are clean. Out of city centre which is always a nice break but also so close to the train! Bathrooms were amazing and best kitchen in Germany! Would stay here forever More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller

  • 86%
  • 68 Total Reviews


  • 71%
  • 22nd Sep 2015

wardrobes in the rooms should be available More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Sep 2015

Excellent location, knowledgable staff, impressive breakfast. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 2656 Total Reviews


  • 69%
  • 25th Sep 2015

The hostel was almost full when we stayed there. There are not lockers in the room, so you need to leave your bags in a luggage room downstairs. Only one washer dryer (and the dryer doesn't work too well) for the whole hostel. A fun vibe in the bar/common area, but it was a little too loud More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 14th Sep 2015

Not city center but cool neighborhood. rent a bike and go down to the overlook (sweet view) the then make your way west and easily tour the city. Right near the metro too. Pretty pleasant. More
jcharlesn (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 1140 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 29th Sep 2015

Clean & professionally run hostel, well located in St Pauli, 10 mins walk from the Reeperbahn. Staff were super helpful and the 5 Euro breakfast good value. More
lualua839689 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Sep 2015

I really wish the dorm doors automatically locked like in a hotel room. Collectively my four roommates and I never locked the door, but one night a random was sleeping in our room and one of the girls who had reservations had to find somewhere else to sleep. It was very surprising! More
davetcoleman8533 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 2868 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

Nice and clean places with some minor issues. Locks on the bathroom was broken and some of the boxes in the room couldnt be locked. But i see these things as wear and tear and i guess that the will be fixed soon. Otherwise the place was fresh and good looking. But i couldnt shake that More
dan_n_e5128 (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

Great hostel. centrally located in one of the best cities I've been to. Iman and Tom were awesome for helping me out and pointing me in the right direction. Will definitely be back More
Anonymous (South Africa) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 215 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 7th Aug 2015

Too hot but read that in reviews otherwise very clean very nice and friendly staff bar doesn't really know whats going on but there's alcohol... More
dmperez4 (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Not a bad place, but pretty boring. It's really out of the way too and a small hike to the metro station. The staff was kind of awkward, unfriendly, and didn't seem to know much about the area. The place was clean, simple, and quiet. Not my favorite but nothing that bad. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 163 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 4th Sep 2015

Arcade Hostel is pretty swanky for young travelers. After a week in crowded hostel dorms, our own clean room here - with pre-made beds and shower - was exactly what we needed. They offer German breakfast: bread, meats, yogurt, coffee, tea. The location is 30 min from the city center, so if More
ellacargill (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 6th Aug 2015

I spent one night with 2 friends of mine. I first thought it was too far away, not easy to reach with public transport. But it was worth it. We had a very quiet and enjoyable stay. The hostel is located close to a main street. However, the isolation ist very good and we could not hear More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 467 Total Reviews


  • 63%
  • 30th Sep 2015

wifi didn't work in the rooms making everyone stuck on their phones in the common area. atmosphere was lacking More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 28th Sep 2015

Some places seem to be a magnet for grouse people and good times. This is one of those places. Though it's a couple of train stops (or 30 mins walk) from the CBD, you'll struggle to tear yourself away from the local hipster area. There's many reasons why you should stay here, but More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Globetrotter

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Hamburg Podcast

Listen to our Hamburg podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Hamburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Hamburg Videos

Watch our Hamburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Hamburg Videos

Please give us your feedback