X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 340 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 21st Apr 2015

Absolutely phenomenal place to stay. You meet some great people there and the atmosphere is so conducive to chatting at the bar about travel stories and meeting new people. Definitely recommend this place to anyone that wants to know how to travel around SA and meet come amazing people. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Very nice and peaceful place, especially friendly staff, exellent to relax and recreate, including a Swimmingpool and sunny garden. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 144 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 30th Mar 2015

we enjoyed staying at lebo's and in soweto in general. chico is really cool and we liked speaking with him. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 16th Mar 2015

I want to give this place a good review, as the people are friendly and the bed and bathroom were clean. However, the bicycle tour is R450 -- which is a LOT of money to rent a bike for 4 hours with a low-paid guide (who gets little of that R450). I ended up booking with a competing More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 71 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Sleek Backpackers was all in all a nice place to stay. The only problem was that it was far away. I mean, there was not much things to do in Randburg and it took ages ro go somewhere with public transportation. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 5th Apr 2015

You couldn't find a better place in Johannesburg, even if you spent much more money! More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 332 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 27th Mar 2015

I stayed in one of the single rooms and it was all good. The staff is always so friendly and the hostel has a nice atmosphere. When I'm in Johannesburg this is the hostel I always come back to. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 27th Mar 2015

quiet and safe, good facilities, and nice people, but not really a party atmosphere after 10pm. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Really friendly owners, you feel part of the family! Location wise it is fairly close to the airport although taxi ride is needed unless you organise something with bob prior. 150r was required. It is close to shops, not much of a nightlife area although it was a quiet period and the vibe More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Hi, we really felt well at bobs bunk house. It was a nice stay and our first station in SA. Bob helped us a lot with planing our further trip and all the people around where really friendly. Overall a nice stay - toilets showers and beds where clean as well :). Jonas, Andi and Lisa More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 123 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Hi, It is maybe my third stay at this Establishment and it is always fun, I have been to over 200 hundred Hostels and this is Probably one of the best ones in Africa in terms of facilities. The downside is that Camping is no longer and option, this is bad news for some of us who are More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Beware, Hostel wanted to charge me for my stay a second time upon checkout. I had paid full amount (without getting a receipt) when checking in. At checkout the hostel questioned my word several times in front of other guests, which was highly stressful and embarrassing. After a good while More
davidkfhall2776 (Sweden) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 173 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Its really nice to stay in a big house thats reformed into a hostel. The pick up service was also very cool, although we didnt know abt it on time. The light breakfast is a nice touch :) It is far from everything but okay from the park station or airport. It seems a hostel for transitters More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Apr 2015

I stayed there 3 days and although the hostel is located not exactly at the CBD the zone is quite good. Heinz is very helpful and so is Chris. The bar is awesome and breakfast is more than ok. It's a good value for money. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 40%
  • 18th Dec 2014

I could not find this hostel. Not on the map nor from people in the neighborhood. Spent 1 hour in a taxi trying to find it. I was told from another hostel owner that the manager had died. I did not get refunded by hostel world. =( More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 538 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 20th Apr 2015

For people looking for a nice, clean space to sleep that is close to the airport, Shoestrings is an excellent option! Rob is a very warm host, the airport pickup is perfect, and there is a good food option nearby. Perhaps not so much in the city for exploring, but an A++ location for More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 22nd Mar 2015

It was fine. Your run of the mill hostel, bit tatty, but perfectly serviceable. The owner is really nice, and does a lot to make your stay good. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback