X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 351 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 17th Jun 2015

One of my favourite hostels I've stayed in. Safe, friendly and fun. Thanks Patrick! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 21st May 2015

Patrick is Super friendly host. Very helpful and welcoming,airport pickup is perfect, Relaxed atmosphere. I love Mbizi ... More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 139 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 71%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

This hotel is really far from any shops or restaurants. I felt kind of stranded and my only food option was the hotel's restaurant. The menu was very limited. You had to order at the front desk, then go sit in the very cold dining room. The hours were also not very convenient for me. My More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 148 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 7th Jun 2015

Fabulous stay in a fascinating area. The staff are welcoming and helpful, the accommodation comfortable (although there are issues with power as with much of SA so this isnt a problem just for this location, and it can get cold tho the outdoor fires and the ponchos provided are warming). More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Jun 2015

Really enjoyable stay in a double room. No frills and we were cold due to power problems and a winter cold spell but the staff were so welcoming and the ambience warming. Great stay in friendly Soweto! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 549 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 6th Jun 2015

Great hostel. Host provided pick-up from the airport which was very convenient. Thanks! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 14th May 2015

The owner was very helpfull, kind and there for us. There's a nice home-like feeling. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 75 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 8th Jun 2015

Good hostel if your waiting to head off on a Safari, but far away from the City. cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at and staff very friendly. More
Adeleswain (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 1st Jun 2015

Really nice, clean and friendly staff. More
Adeleswain (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 346 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 18th Jun 2015

the bad, the beds in the mixed dorm are really hard and very short, the bottom bunk was maybe 30 inches tall. The bathroom in the mixed dorm is awkwardly laid out. The showers themselves are individual stalls but you don't have a private place to disrobe. The staff was sometimes hard to More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 25th May 2015

Decent stay. Comfortable facilities with lots of couches inside and out, pool table, swimming pool, braai facilities, ATM, nice environment to meet people and talk. Wifi was a bit slow and the room was a bit cold in May. We used the free airport pickup, which was nice. The area is More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 176 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Its really nice to stay in a big house thats reformed into a hostel. The pick up service was also very cool, although we didnt know abt it on time. The light breakfast is a nice touch :) It is far from everything but okay from the park station or airport. It seems a hostel for transitters More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Apr 2015

I stayed there 3 days and although the hostel is located not exactly at the CBD the zone is quite good. Heinz is very helpful and so is Chris. The bar is awesome and breakfast is more than ok. It's a good value for money. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 152 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

All in all a good hostel, I can recommend it if you need one near the airport. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Really friendly owners, you feel part of the family! Location wise it is fairly close to the airport although taxi ride is needed unless you organise something with bob prior. 150r was required. It is close to shops, not much of a nightlife area although it was a quiet period and the vibe More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 125 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Stay was fine, helpful staff. Only stayed one night More
Anonymous (Australia) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Hi, It is maybe my third stay at this Establishment and it is always fun, I have been to over 200 hundred Hostels and this is Probably one of the best ones in Africa in terms of facilities. The downside is that Camping is no longer and option, this is bad news for some of us who are More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback