X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 123 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Really great stay. Very warm, family environment and hosts are hard to beat. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 8th Jul 2014

Bob and Joan make you feel very welcome and comfortable. Their property is close to the airport and I will definitely be back soon. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 303 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 19th Aug 2014

We were doing a saffari nearby Joburg and stayed at mbizi and we had an absolutely great time there! They've got very comfy beds with really nice electric blankets, spotless toilets and a big and well equipped kitchen. There's also a nice collection of DVDs in the living room and an More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Aug 2014

I stayed at this hostel for four days and found it to be excellent. The facilities are clean and comfortable. The atmosphere is welcoming and guests share pleasant common spaces. Two things that are outstanding in this hostel are the great showers and the neatness and cleanliness of the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 21st Aug 2014

From the moment I was greeted at the airport to the moment I was dropped off (airport) Moafrika proved to deliver what it promissed. The receptionist, property magager (Mark), talented team of cooks and Jonathan (bartender) genuinely added to the grand gamut of such unique african More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Very close to the airport. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 141 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 74%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Nice kitchen, FREE internet plus it was the fastest I've come across in SA so far, the hostel its self is beautiful and everything is uncomlicated. There were 2 dogs lounging around that were very sweet. the only thing I didn't like was the big birdcage but thats just me who thinks birds More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 25th Jul 2014

Good clean place, clean linen, hot water, free wifi, electric blanket, room heater, very economical with free airport pick-up, I was given en-suite double room for the price of single, nice gentlemean managing it, others were friendly too, free breakfast, cooking facilities if you want to More
Anonymous (Sri Lanka) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 120 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Awesome hostel. The shuttle to and from the airport was a little pricey, but the hostel itself was well-priced, with great breakfast and dinner available for a reasonable cost, very helpful and kind staff, nice fire and bar and places for people to meet each other, and a great 4 hour bike More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 19th Jul 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Lebo's Backpackers. Great service and welcome in SA! I really felt home in Soweto. Will def' go back! More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 254 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 25th Aug 2014

This hostel had great service and was very clean. My only complaint is that it was a bit deserted... I was the only guy staying in the common room (designed for 12 beds!). Not sure why that was (I visited August 26 & 27, 2014)--maybe Johannesburg just isn't popular with young people. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 15th Aug 2014

it would be nice to have a playlist (eg. spotify) running in the lounge and a quiet outside area rather than the radio that has a lot of fast talking comercial breaks. it would be a more comfortable atmosphere. Loved the food! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 113 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Amazing! Definitely will come back there. Safe, clean and a great atmosphere. :) More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 27th May 2014

We booked a room for two people and as we arrived they told us that our room wasn't available anymore. Luckily out friends switched the reservation with us so that they stayed in the dorm and we could have the room. Unfortunately the room was a really small cabin with one bed for one More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 498 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 66%
  • 21st Aug 2014

Rob was friendly and great in picking me up and dropping me back at the airport. The wendy house/ cabin that I stayed in was clean but in a poor condition, was drafty, and the furniture was as basic and old as one could get. There was mound on the bedroom ceiling and showers. Overall, More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Good place to be near the airport with free transport from/to there. Rob is a gentile person. More
gozubmercado3138 (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Samantha who runs this is lovely and so helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Jul 2014

Friendly & helpful staff. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 66%
  • 53 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 74%
  • 25th Jun 2014

The beginning of our stay was a bit hectic. Not a single small table in the room, no hanger in the wardrobe, no towels in the bathroom and water in the shower icy cold in a tough winter time! Though the following day we appreciated a fixed warmer shower and the company of other mates like More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback