X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 125 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

Very nice and helpful people. Thanks a lot! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 30th Aug 2014

Tipptopp! It was clean, bedclothes were washed, the people from the hostel were very lovely and organises shuttle from the airport, to and from the shopping mall and finaly to the station. In the room it was a little bit drafty, but it was ok. We liked it at all! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 143 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Great stay at Ghandi's. Was a bit quiet, but was the off season. Pick up from airport very helpful! Thanks Chris for taking us where we needed to go. Heinz runs the place and does a great job! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Nice kitchen, FREE internet plus it was the fastest I've come across in SA so far, the hostel its self is beautiful and everything is uncomlicated. There were 2 dogs lounging around that were very sweet. the only thing I didn't like was the big birdcage but thats just me who thinks birds More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 127 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 10th Sep 2014

This place is more or less a launching ground for the safari tours that Mo'Afrika runs. It is NOT a good place for backpackers to stay and see a bit of Johannesburg. Getting into town or traveling to see any of the sites (like the Apartheid museum, for example) is quite an ordeal, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 21st Aug 2014

From the moment I was greeted at the airport to the moment I was dropped off (airport) Moafrika proved to deliver what it promissed. The receptionist, property magager (Mark), talented team of cooks and Jonathan (bartender) genuinely added to the grand gamut of such unique african More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 307 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 1st Sep 2014

The Host can organize trips for you which are pretty cool. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 19th Aug 2014

We were doing a saffari nearby Joburg and stayed at mbizi and we had an absolutely great time there! They've got very comfy beds with really nice electric blankets, spotless toilets and a big and well equipped kitchen. There's also a nice collection of DVDs in the living room and an More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 121 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 8th Sep 2014

I really wanted to stay in Soweto and this place allowed me to do so. The staff was extremely nice, friendly and helpful. They made a considerable effort to help me to do everything I wanted to do and to see everything I wanted to see. I am very grateful to them for all of their help. The More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Awesome hostel. The shuttle to and from the airport was a little pricey, but the hostel itself was well-priced, with great breakfast and dinner available for a reasonable cost, very helpful and kind staff, nice fire and bar and places for people to meet each other, and a great 4 hour bike More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 258 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 5th Sep 2014

This was my second time to stay at Brown Sugar. They are very friendly and welcoming and the ambiance is great. I highly recommend this spot. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 28th Aug 2014

A door to the washroom in the ensuite (Palm #4) would be much appreciated More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 113 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Amazing! Definitely will come back there. Safe, clean and a great atmosphere. :) More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 27th May 2014

We booked a room for two people and as we arrived they told us that our room wasn't available anymore. Luckily out friends switched the reservation with us so that they stayed in the dorm and we could have the room. Unfortunately the room was a really small cabin with one bed for one More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 503 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 30th Aug 2014

Rob, the owner, is extremely helpful and can provide information on almost any activity or excursion you may have planned for Jo'burg. As well free pickups and drop offs to the airport, Rob can also pick you up from the local train stations should you require. Thoroughly recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Owner is very friendly and helpful. He collects/brings you from/to the airport for free. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 68 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 21st Apr 2014

Loved my stay. a big shout out to the staff esoecially AJ More
seldaveli3394 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Samantha who runs this is lovely and so helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Jul 2014

Friendly & helpful staff. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback