X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 138 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 83%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Nothing to do around, good if you have a car or for one night in the city. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 8th Nov 2014

This place is amazing, however the location was not conducive to anything other than this place being a pit stop. This place is easily accessible by transit of taxi or pick up by the hostel, however there is unfortunately, not much in walking distance for food, groceries or shopping. The More
wako420791128 (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 30th Nov 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my time at lebo's! Always felt very safe, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I was able to see many interesting things in Soweto. Thanks! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

Had a good time. But I could point out a negative point: Was travelling with BazBus, from this hostel had to take a shuttle to Joburg BrownSugar hostel. Would think that hostel have to arrange this often but still. BazBus works with timetable, had to leave on monday morning. So they called More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 156 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 29th Nov 2014

Nicest hostel I have ever stayed in More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 19th Nov 2014

We had a lovely double room with an en suite bathroom and a balcony. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was big and comfy. Heinz organised airport pick up and drop off for us, and gave us tips of where to eat out. We didn't use the pool or bar, but they looked nice. The breakfast More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 322 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 30th Nov 2014

a quite, beautiful, clean backpacker hostel with a beautiful backyard, including a pool and braii facilities. the staff and owner are super friendly and obliging. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Nov 2014

Very nice staff! More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 13th Oct 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the place, it would even be nicer with more guests, but it might have been off season. nice spacious rooms, washing machine, swimming pool, pcs. the only downside are the cooking facilities, since we needed to use the restaurant kitchen, because the (small) community More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Sep 2014

This place is more or less a launching ground for the safari tours that Mo'Afrika runs. It is NOT a good place for backpackers to stay and see a bit of Johannesburg. Getting into town or traveling to see any of the sites (like the Apartheid museum, for example) is quite an ordeal, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 290 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 9th Dec 2014

We only stayed here for the one night as we were flying out the next day so brown sugars were perfect for this as it was cheap yet safe and not too far from the airport. Very happy with our stay here. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A huge beautiful hostel: well-equipped, clean, friendly staff, free breakfast and delicious dinner for 65 rand. Free airport pick-up is nice but the location is horrible. Airport transfer back is 250 rand and the hostel is far from restaurants, stores etc. All in all, I'd say it's worth a More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 81 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 69%
  • 12th Dec 2014

Not really vibey, but an affordable stop over and comfortable night's sleep More
DbnTrav4001 (South Africa) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 6th Dec 2014

Add a proper sign outside on the gate. The hand written, small sign is not welcoming. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 516 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 40%
  • 8th Dec 2014

The staff was rude and we didn't feel welcome at all. We felt like we were a nuisance more than guests. The property was very old and worn out, and dirty. The only good thing is that it's located close to airport. WIFI was available four hours a day - 2h in the morning, 2h in the evening.. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Dec 2014

Staff was very nice and helpful. The free airport pickup was great. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 124 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

The new owner, Jason is very helpful and got us a cheap and awesome ride to the airport. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 19th Sep 2014

We got robbed right at the entrance of the hostel! When we arrived the staff didn´t tell us that we shouldn´t park our car outside. I chose Melville because it was supposed to be "safer" and we got our radio, spare tire and ever the steering wheel stolen!!! Choose another place to stay!! More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 67%
  • 107 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 20%
  • 17th Oct 2014

The young guy on reception says some very inappropriate things and makes going to main house very uncomfortable when he is there. No one stays here. It's very awkward and I would not recommend staying here if your travelling by yourself. Everything is very old and run down. This More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Sep 2014

We love the central setting and the wonderful peace and quiet with am interesting history Thank You Jackie Huber More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback