X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 25th Sep 2014

Nice place in safe area, very helpful staff, close to the airport, rooms clean and tidy with everything you need. I would definitely stay there again! More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

Safe, clean, quiet, historical building with good maintanence. You may not find many people living there. You have to be proactive if you need help as the staff are quite cool. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 26th Sep 2014

Bob and Joan are very very firendly! Felt like home. Everything is clean and organized, nice shower, tasty breakfast (they prepare toasts) and the family was very helpful when giving advice, changing money for a beer and booking tours to the Lion Park and to the city. Close to the airport More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 18th Sep 2014

Great place to stay in Jo'burg. Near the airport. But it's a little bit far from the city center. Even though, I loved it. Nice places for eat nearby. More
falves7 (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 13th Oct 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the place, it would even be nicer with more guests, but it might have been off season. nice spacious rooms, washing machine, swimming pool, pcs. the only downside are the cooking facilities, since we needed to use the restaurant kitchen, because the (small) community More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Sep 2014

This place is more or less a launching ground for the safari tours that Mo'Afrika runs. It is NOT a good place for backpackers to stay and see a bit of Johannesburg. Getting into town or traveling to see any of the sites (like the Apartheid museum, for example) is quite an ordeal, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 123 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 3rd Oct 2014

Charming place, good bike tour, private room for single was great. Bunny chow was delicious! More
jeweldavies9394 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Oct 2014

Great team and great opportunity to know Soweto. I truly recomend. Do also the 4 hours bike tour. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 313 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 4th Oct 2014

The hostel is a little far from downtown, but you have atm and food very close. You can also book tours that include transport, so the distance is not a big deal. Patrick is very nice and helpful and does great sprongboks.the beds are really confortable and electric blanckets are great in More
pativelloso1270 (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Sep 2014

Mbizi is a great spot to hang out in Jo'burg. They have an awesome vibe, whether you're there just to relax, or hit the on site bar. Really good collection of movies, wifi, breakfast, close to the airport,cheat more could you want?! Patrick will help you out with any needs at all as well. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 268 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 28th Sep 2014

interesting for 1night, nothing exceptionnal More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 27th Sep 2014

I DONT recommend staying at the Brown Sugar because the staff is extremely rude, unlike all the places we stayed in South Africa where normally people are friendly. The Brown Sugar does not seem to Africa, unfriendly staff. We hired a tour of service in the hostel and an official of the More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 505 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 30th Aug 2014

Rob, the owner, is extremely helpful and can provide information on almost any activity or excursion you may have planned for Jo'burg. As well free pickups and drop offs to the airport, Rob can also pick you up from the local train stations should you require. Thoroughly recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Owner is very friendly and helpful. He collects/brings you from/to the airport for free. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 117 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 57%
  • 19th Sep 2014

We got robbed right at the entrance of the hostel! When we arrived the staff didn´t tell us that we shouldn´t park our car outside. I chose Melville because it was supposed to be "safer" and we got our radio, spare tire and ever the steering wheel stolen!!! Choose another place to stay!! More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Amazing! Definitely will come back there. Safe, clean and a great atmosphere. :) More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 68 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 21st Apr 2014

Loved my stay. a big shout out to the staff esoecially AJ More
seldaveli3394 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Samantha who runs this is lovely and so helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Jul 2014

Friendly & helpful staff. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback