Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

  • 95%
  • 53 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 19th Sep 2015

The place is perfect for young spirited travellers. With an artsy location, very friendly staff and an atmosphere of a student dormitory it was a pleasure to stay and meet the people there. More
anarch (Bulgaria) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2015

Curiocity Backpacker it's an amazing place. People were so nice. I want definitely go back to this amazing backpacker!! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 155 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 23rd Sep 2015

it was an amazing experience to stay at Lebo's Soweto!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 20th Jul 2015

It was a fantastic experience. I felt so welcomed and safe. Dinner and breakfast were hearty and delicious. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The only two minor negatives Were that the mattress was a bit concave (still comfy) And I wonder if there are enough showers when The More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 366 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Patrick is a very welcoming and hospitable host. The venue was perfect for my trip, thanks! More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 5th Sep 2015

The thing that surprised me the most was the extremely poor location. Completely out there in the middle of nowhere, I guess it's a good place if you're going to the airport the next day. They should be much more clear on their website that this is not for you if you don't want to spend More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Globetrotter

  • 87%
  • 160 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 30th Sep 2015

Very warm welcome, the owner would do anything to make you feel at home and she's really helpfull and friendly. We had a short but really nice stay there :) good acces to the airport. More
jennifer-picaud5180 (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 26th Sep 2015

Great hostel, amazing atmosphere. The owners were great, always willing to help. There's a lso a nice pool area. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 86%
  • 136 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 25th Sep 2015

Great hostel, but our room was a bit stuffy/noisy. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 23rd Sep 2015

The location is great. The hostel is located in a walkable, safe, and restaurant/bar heavy neighborhood. My sole complaint relates to the hostel's shuttle service to the airport. On arrival, the shuttle driver was over 30 minutes late. And on departure, the shuttle driver didn't even More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 579 Total Reviews


  • 60%
  • 1st Oct 2015

The owner was really friendly and always willing to hel. very vlose to the airport. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 11th Sep 2015

Location good if you only need a place to stay close to the airport. Friendly reception and airport pick up., ok kitchen and enough brekky for me. More
Pinkki (Finland) (Female) Globetrotter

  • 84%
  • 177 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 6th Sep 2015

Ghandi's generally has a slightly older crowd. They have a good knowledge of local tours and activities and will shuttle you around Joburg for a very cheap price. The bar's decent and the most relaxed dog lives there in history (even I was fine with her and I don't like dogs). The More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 366 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 4th Oct 2015

This hostel is a one stop shop. It provides free airport pickup, breakfast (cereal, yoghurt & eggs), dinner for 70 Rand, pick up & drop off services around Johannesburg at reasonable rates, tours to Soweto & Apartheid museum, bar, ATM (1000 Rand limit), lovely outdoor seating. Staff are More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 17th Sep 2015

I had a single room for the night which was very small but fine and clean. My only slight issue was that it was called "GLASS" this was because it was basically a conservatory and had a glass roof! This was not too much of a problem as I was getting up early so the light did not bother me More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 79%
  • 141 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 2nd Sep 2015

Our double room was roomy, clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was good and cooked to order. The hostel is "out of the way" mainly due to the lack of any public transport but the free shuttle on call solved that. There is ample free parking if you come by car and want a base near More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

This hotel is really far from any shops or restaurants. I felt kind of stranded and my only food option was the hotel's restaurant. The menu was very limited. You had to order at the front desk, then go sit in the very cold dining room. The hours were also not very convenient for me. My More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 77%
  • 112 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 17th Sep 2015

The wireless doesn't work in the rooms. The staff were super helpful and knowledgable, especially connecting us with our safari company who were late picking us up. The avocado/bacon toast is delish! More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 11th Apr 2015

a nice place with a friendly chief :-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback