X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 138 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 19th Jan 2015

The staff is amazing! We had a walkingtour with Tando. She has great knowledge and is fun to be around with! The food that is prepared every evening is freshly made and of very good quality. Overall an amazing experience. We will be back by the end of our trip (we have already booked). More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 18th Jan 2015

We were really happy with the experience, although we found the cost of breakfast a little high. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 327 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

Best backpackers in Africa. Patrick the owner is a top bloke who constantly goes out of his way to make your stay in Johannesburg as safe, fun and and/or relaxing as you like.... The place has all the facilities and more in a safe and clean environment. Pat even took us out for a beer down More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2015

what a beautiful hostel this place is. situated in a very safe location. the beds are comfy, the bathrooms and showers are superb and always clean. hanging out with Patrick and knocking down some beers with him at his cool bar is a definite must! he knows a lot about his country and can More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 143 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Nothing to do around, good if you have a car or for one night in the city. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 8th Nov 2014

This place is amazing, however the location was not conducive to anything other than this place being a pit stop. This place is easily accessible by transit of taxi or pick up by the hostel, however there is unfortunately, not much in walking distance for food, groceries or shopping. The More
wako420791128 (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 161 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 8th Jan 2015

This a very nice and quiet hostel. The rooms are superb, very old colonial style with beautiful wooden floors. The kitchen is very well stocked with cooking equipment and is very clean. The staff are friendly and waited for us for a long time at the airport as there was a big queue in More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 4th Jan 2015

Very nice historical house! The dorms are nice and clean and with ensuite showers and toilets. Rooms are beautifully decorated, very spacious and probably best value for money if you are two or more. Facilities are good, the kitchen is very big and so is the courtyard with a pool - not More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 305 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 12th Jan 2015

Great hostel. Lovely staff. Highly recommend in Jo-burg More
philipjyoon1109 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Even though the hostel is at some points a bit outdated (kitchen, showers), in general the hostel is a good place. A con is that there is no night guard at the hostel. It happened twice during my stay that people were locked out (on a Joburg street) because there was no staff to open the More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 20th Dec 2014

when we arrived, we rang the bell as it is written on the gate (several times), nobody answered. we gave several phone calls, nobody answered. we could hear both the phone and the bell ringing inside the building. after 5-10mn weused the hooter, and the gate opened. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 12th Dec 2014

Not really vibey, but an affordable stop over and comfortable night's sleep More
DbnTrav4001 (South Africa) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 13th Oct 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the place, it would even be nicer with more guests, but it might have been off season. nice spacious rooms, washing machine, swimming pool, pcs. the only downside are the cooking facilities, since we needed to use the restaurant kitchen, because the (small) community More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 10th Sep 2014

This place is more or less a launching ground for the safari tours that Mo'Afrika runs. It is NOT a good place for backpackers to stay and see a bit of Johannesburg. Getting into town or traveling to see any of the sites (like the Apartheid museum, for example) is quite an ordeal, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 525 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 46%
  • 18th Jan 2015

The location close to the airport is good but the facility is in very poor condition. The furniture is a collection over the past 30 years, most of the dining chair seats are broken, the sofa is very much worn out. It is very difficult to find staff, especially if you arrive in the later More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 8th Jan 2015

I saw rats running around in the garden near heaps of garbage, I felt a bit uncomfortable about the rats. The linen was also uncomfortable and outdated. Some of the doors were also unlocked at night, and upon arrival there was no reception, anyone could just walk in and cause damage or More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 63%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

The girl in the reception is very friendly and helpfull. Swimming pool always dirty in the kitchen only 2stoves works.... this mean that cooks 1 person per time. Internet connection is not really reliable.... i saw a guest had to go buy his tkt at the airport because there was no More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 29th Dec 2014

Lovely quiet and spacious place on a short walk from Melville! So no taxi needed! Only 'complain' would be: a bit faster wifi (but this is a first world problem, obviously) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 94 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Nice place, nice staff, nice people to meet ... You can easily reach Park Station and Sandton with public taxis. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 24th Aug 2014

Was only there for a nap and a shower but seemed to be a cool hostle vibe. I would def stay there in the future More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback