X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 361 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 15th Aug 2015

I honestly loved this place! I originally booked one night and it turned into 4. Patrick is so personable and will help you with whatever you need. His hostel is very nice and clean, I love the area and its safe. Everything you need is nearby. Its outside the city but who cares when you More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 6th Aug 2015

Accommodating. We came in the winter and he upgraded some of us to a more private room. The water was hot and they provided eggs, bread, and coffee for breakfast. Clean. The weather was very cold, there was no heating, and the electric sleeping/heating pads didn't work in one room. Even More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 131 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 7th Aug 2015

super friendly helpful staff great landing pad for overseas travelers ! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time! The place was very clean and comfortable and within walking distance of restaurants and bars. The staff was wonderful- very friendly, approachable and helped us with all of activities. I would stay here again given the chance! More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 570 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 17th Aug 2015

The hostel is clean, safe, and well-run, and the owner is very nice. The free airport transfer is a great bonus as well. It is ideal for people staying in Johannesburg only overnight (which was my situation). However, if you are staying in Johannesburg for a longer period of time and want More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 15th Aug 2015

This is an older hotel - kind of like visiting your grandmother's home. Old, but has charm. The owner Rob is very helpful. Will pick you up at the airport and bring you back. He provides everything you need for breakfast. Everyone was friendly. I liked it there and this will be my More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 154 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

All in all a good hostel, I can recommend it if you need one near the airport. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Really friendly owners, you feel part of the family! Location wise it is fairly close to the airport although taxi ride is needed unless you organise something with bob prior. 150r was required. It is close to shops, not much of a nightlife area although it was a quiet period and the vibe More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 151 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 20th Jul 2015

It was a fantastic experience. I felt so welcomed and safe. Dinner and breakfast were hearty and delicious. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The only two minor negatives Were that the mattress was a bit concave (still comfy) And I wonder if there are enough showers when The More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 7th Jun 2015

Fabulous stay in a fascinating area. The staff are welcoming and helpful, the accommodation comfortable (although there are issues with power as with much of SA so this isnt a problem just for this location, and it can get cold tho the outdoor fires and the ponchos provided are warming). More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 176 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Its really nice to stay in a big house thats reformed into a hostel. The pick up service was also very cool, although we didnt know abt it on time. The light breakfast is a nice touch :) It is far from everything but okay from the park station or airport. It seems a hostel for transitters More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Apr 2015

I stayed there 3 days and although the hostel is located not exactly at the CBD the zone is quite good. Heinz is very helpful and so is Chris. The bar is awesome and breakfast is more than ok. It's a good value for money. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

This hotel is really far from any shops or restaurants. I felt kind of stranded and my only food option was the hotel's restaurant. The menu was very limited. You had to order at the front desk, then go sit in the very cold dining room. The hours were also not very convenient for me. My More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 360 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

it was a good hostel to stay. people are really friendly and the place also location was cool More
Anonymous (Brazil) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Staff was very nice. However these advertisement of this place is incredibly misleading. It is not walking distance from anything, also if you are walking back after dark the street has large sections with no lights, including a lengthy part next to a park with numerous homeless people. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 77%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

It had a relatively good atmosphere and good staff. Its not the most comfortable place to be in but it's cheap and decrypt located in order to get taxis to town. More
Anonymous (India) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 8th Jun 2015

Good hostel if your waiting to head off on a Safari, but far away from the City. cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at and staff very friendly. More
Adeleswain (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 99 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 20%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

I hadn't ever expirienced any other place so bad in my life. The facilities are really bed kept, everething is really dirty. The location is terrible, you barely can go ou even during day light. The staff treat guests in a disgusting way, it looked like I was paying a favor for them to be More
Anonymous (Brazil) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 6th Aug 2015

I booked for a private double bed room with a shared bathroom and they gave me a private bathroom for free. The hostel is very close to Sandton and central areas. I would highly recommend staying here. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback