X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 106 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 11th Apr 2014

It is an awesome accommodation and a really nice start for a trip to South Africa. Bob and Joan are so friendly and help you with everything you need. The accommodation is quite far away from the center, but they have their favourite cab driver, bringing you everywhere for a cheap price. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Mar 2014

Thanks Bob and Joan for an excellent short stay at your place. I will recommend to friends when they come to Jo'burg. Marlon More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 273 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 12th Apr 2014

Patrick was a great host, remembered all guests names and made the effort to introduce everyone. The vibe at this place is awesome, and Patrick and Matt are just genuine good guys. Make sure you do the city tour with jobur, most informative and hilarious day ever. Thanks guys! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Apr 2014

Patrick and Mathew made me feel at home straight away, inexpensive pickups from the Airport and great local Knowledge of JoBurgh. Patrick will organize any Baz bus trips of tours you want to take. The Hostel has a homely feel which helps you relax and get to know other travelers in the More
andrewmurray40137951 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 101 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 27th Mar 2014

Super friendly Staff, nice chillout area, park with lots of children playing right in front of the hostel. Felt very welcome by the staff and the locals in the area. I will come again! Having Lockers would be cool (I never felt that my belongings were in danger though) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th Nov 2013

Great place, one of a kind. Best way to explore Soweto. Staff were all helpful. Bike tour is a must. Food was excellent - highly recommend the dinner. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 19th Mar 2014

I liked this place. The kitchen was amazing. Only thing I miss out was wifi and lockers in the room. It was lack of people staying there, but as I leaved early in the morning it didn't matter that much. The pool and bar was cool. More
Grodolf (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 14th Mar 2014

The Ghandi Hostel was an excellent choice for us. We were picked up at the airport by Chris who was friendly and helpful. The hostel provided a breakfast of cereal and coffee or tea but has a beautiful kitchen which allows guests to cook what they wish. There is a small grocery store More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 469 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 30th Mar 2014

Extremely convenient but definitely no frills. The owner will gladly pick you up from the airport which makes it the best choice if you're catching an early morning flight. But don't expect much to do or a whole lot of atmosphere. I stayed in a private room one night that wasn't too More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Mar 2014

The reception was excellent and were dropped at the airport terminal at 6 AM, which is very appreciated. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 208 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 30th Mar 2014

Helpful and friendly staff. When the bar closed they asked us if we wanted to buy some alcohol and continue the party outside instead. Very much appreciated! Nice breakfirst! Good WIFI. They don't serve lunch and dinner if too few people stay there, but 15 minute walk and you have lots of More
Grodolf (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 25th Mar 2014

This is a cool hostel, you can read the description about the history on it. Using their shuttle service is a bit pricey unless you have other people who need to travel at the same time. But I found the staff helpful, and enjoyable. The breakfast was really nice, especially since its More
papageorge98326 (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 30th Mar 2014

The hostel is in a beautiful villa, and you feel very comfortable, like in your home. The location is great, close to pubs, restaurants and a supermarket. It is also easy to reach the center of Johannesburg, just taking minibus and spending only 9 rands. The kitchen is very well equipped More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 6th Feb 2014

Safe neighborhood near 7th av with bars and restaurants. The hot tap in the shower burns you when you touch it. No wifi in the rooms. Good place to overnight. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 83 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2014

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, the hostel was clean and comfortable and a convenient distance to everything I needed. I had an amazing time at Accoustix!. I would definitely recommend this backpackers to everyone! Thank you :-) More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 31st Jan 2014

the place has a very nice backyard and pool and outside sitting area. the common areas were used a lot and there was always somebody to chat with. the doorm rooms itself are small and good enough for sleeping. kitchen was well equipped and clean- bathroom facilites & kitchen were cleaned More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 185 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 51%
  • 17th Mar 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The owner smoked weed and drank beer most of the time I saw him which didn't make a good impression. The place was almost empty and the internet was very slow. I didn't see anywhere you could put your valuables when you went out, which didn't do anything because More
Grodolf (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 14th Mar 2014

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The area is central and not too far from the airport. My only real complaint is the cleanliness. Not sure how clean the bedding was!! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 115 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 14th Jan 2014

very friendly staff and a nice place to stay! More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 21st Dec 2013

The staff at Moafrica were amazing, really helpful and friendly. The dorm is also really nice with great facilities. The only issue I had with this hostel is that it is in the middle of nowhere, any time you want to leave the guesthouse you must request a taxi and pay quite a price for it More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback