X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 328 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

Best backpackers in Africa. Patrick the owner is a top bloke who constantly goes out of his way to make your stay in Johannesburg as safe, fun and and/or relaxing as you like.... The place has all the facilities and more in a safe and clean environment. Pat even took us out for a beer down More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2015

what a beautiful hostel this place is. situated in a very safe location. the beds are comfy, the bathrooms and showers are superb and always clean. hanging out with Patrick and knocking down some beers with him at his cool bar is a definite must! he knows a lot about his country and can More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 15th Feb 2015

Vey relaxing! More
joelsimbulan9538 (Philippines) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Jan 2015

The staff is amazing! We had a walkingtour with Tando. She has great knowledge and is fun to be around with! The food that is prepared every evening is freshly made and of very good quality. Overall an amazing experience. We will be back by the end of our trip (we have already booked). More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 163 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 77%
  • 4th Feb 2015

Wi-Fi is turned off after 9pm. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 8th Jan 2015

This a very nice and quiet hostel. The rooms are superb, very old colonial style with beautiful wooden floors. The kitchen is very well stocked with cooking equipment and is very clean. The staff are friendly and waited for us for a long time at the airport as there was a big queue in More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 145 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 12th Feb 2015

Joan and Bob were very friendly and very helpful! Very close to the airport, which is great if you're staying a night before a connecting flight. There is not too much to do nearby though. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Nothing to do around, good if you have a car or for one night in the city. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 314 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 8th Feb 2015

This is a great hostel. The staff really make it, they are fantastic. The wifi is a bit slow, and while the complex has great security but it is average in the dorms- not a problem with the great people I shared with! The pool, bar and outdoor areas are super nice and chill, perfect base More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 5th Feb 2015

STAFF: The worst thing about the hostel. Unknowledgeable, unfriendly (for the most part), uninformative and lacking (I don’t think I ever went to reception and didn’t have to wait). They tend to grunt and lack basic manners such as ‘thank you’ when paying. They don’t give you any More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 134 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 13th Oct 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the place, it would even be nicer with more guests, but it might have been off season. nice spacious rooms, washing machine, swimming pool, pcs. the only downside are the cooking facilities, since we needed to use the restaurant kitchen, because the (small) community More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 10th Sep 2014

This place is more or less a launching ground for the safari tours that Mo'Afrika runs. It is NOT a good place for backpackers to stay and see a bit of Johannesburg. Getting into town or traveling to see any of the sites (like the Apartheid museum, for example) is quite an ordeal, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 530 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 26th Feb 2015

The staff is really really friendly. We waited one day for our luggage to arrive in Johannesburg and lost our creditcard. The owner helped us to manage these problems and drove us to the airport few times. Thanks a lot for that! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 14th Feb 2015

The host was really nice to us, helping with the flight we almost miss and driving us on a rush to the airport. There was no WiFi on the bedroom, so we had to go to the living to use whatsapp, fb etc. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 86 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 69%
  • 13th Feb 2015

A pleasant looking hostel, but one with little atmosphere, no lockers in the dorms, no internet, and a staff that is not always attentive. Like other reviewers I too was stranded outside the gate at one point, with no one coming until someone who dropped me off called them (which was a bit More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 51%
  • 12th Feb 2015

Our stay here was completely opposite of what we were expecting from the website and previous reviews. I'm not sure what happened in the meantime. We checked in okay but the front desk staff told us that nothing was available (meaning bar/kitchen) and that was that. He showed us to our More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 94 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Nice place, nice staff, nice people to meet ... You can easily reach Park Station and Sandton with public taxis. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 128 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 54%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Beware, Hostel wanted to charge me for my stay a second time upon checkout. I had paid full amount (without getting a receipt) when checking in. At checkout the hostel questioned my word several times in front of other guests, which was highly stressful and embarrassing. After a good while More
davidkfhall2776 (Sweden) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 15th Jan 2015

New owners had just taken over the place so they were cleaning it up and making changes to the rooms and bathrooms. It's not a very big place so you were often in the middle of this. Also the communal area is not very big and is also the reception. I often had the feeling that I was a More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback