X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 134 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 5th Nov 2014

Bob and Joan were great. The grocery store was just up the street and it's not far from the airport. Loved Bob's Bunkhouse. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 26th Sep 2014

Bob and Joan are very very firendly! Felt like home. Everything is clean and organized, nice shower, tasty breakfast (they prepare toasts) and the family was very helpful when giving advice, changing money for a beer and booking tours to the Lion Park and to the city. Close to the airport More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 125 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 18th Oct 2014

I had an amazing experience in Soweto, the hostel is great, the staff very friendly which makes the stay there really cosy and relaxed! More
Anonymous (Greece) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 18th Oct 2014

They offer airport rides, both ways. As the distance is quite far from JNB, it is good to arrange everything ahead. Soweto bike tours arranged from the front door. More
arttulaine (Finland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 318 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 7th Nov 2014

Great beautiful hostel, with nice people. FAR from the city, so you must get a taxi or tour to visit, but it is highly recommended any ways. I would go on the Soweto tour, very sobering.. This place is great if you are self motivated to meet people and see the city. It is very quiet hereif More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Nov 2014

what a hostel should be- friendly yet relaxed More
Anonymous (Northern Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 153 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 8th Nov 2014

It was a very nice place and we felt well from the beginning to the end. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 27th Oct 2014

Disappointing. I booked seven nights, stayed just three. Best thing at GBL are the airport transfers. Breakfast is just corn flakes, milk, instant coffee. My room was never cleaned by a maid and rats could be heard skittering inside the walls. There was a dead rat lying just outside on More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 13th Oct 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the place, it would even be nicer with more guests, but it might have been off season. nice spacious rooms, washing machine, swimming pool, pcs. the only downside are the cooking facilities, since we needed to use the restaurant kitchen, because the (small) community More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Sep 2014

This place is more or less a launching ground for the safari tours that Mo'Afrika runs. It is NOT a good place for backpackers to stay and see a bit of Johannesburg. Getting into town or traveling to see any of the sites (like the Apartheid museum, for example) is quite an ordeal, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 280 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 16th Nov 2014

June is an amazing host. She will know where to orient you. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Nov 2014

Very cool place More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 17th Oct 2014

clean, quiet, safe neighborhood,helpful staff, no internet More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Samantha who runs this is lovely and so helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 508 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 30th Aug 2014

Rob, the owner, is extremely helpful and can provide information on almost any activity or excursion you may have planned for Jo'burg. As well free pickups and drop offs to the airport, Rob can also pick you up from the local train stations should you require. Thoroughly recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Owner is very friendly and helpful. He collects/brings you from/to the airport for free. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 122 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

The new owner, Jason is very helpful and got us a cheap and awesome ride to the airport. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 19th Sep 2014

We got robbed right at the entrance of the hostel! When we arrived the staff didn´t tell us that we shouldn´t park our car outside. I chose Melville because it was supposed to be "safer" and we got our radio, spare tire and ever the steering wheel stolen!!! Choose another place to stay!! More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 64%
  • 189 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 54%
  • 21st Oct 2014

It was ok to stay there but nothing special, the cooker was not working properly and the owner has no knowledge about the places and how to get from a to b. They charge 200 pick up from airport and there are many free pick up hostels . The female dorm is downstairs and when people walk it More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 11th Jul 2014

the owner was helpful and friendly with suggestions of activities to do within my budget. a quiet location a little bit outside of the city and the hostel itself is clean and tidy. i always found the doors to enter into the hostel itself locked and i felt comfortable and safe there. not More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback