X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 334 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 17th Mar 2015

I ended up staying 2 nights more and after my trip to Cape Town, probably i will be back here. Its far away from the city but close to the airport. Patrick is an amazing host! He recommended me a taxi driver that took me everywhere for a reasonable price comparing to the tours that u More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Only stayed the night, as location is great in relation to the airport, with transfers organised through Patrick, who runs the hostel. If you're looking for somewhere close to all the attractions, this isn't the hostel for you as it is quite a way out of the city, but great for that first More
rebeccagill1479 (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 143 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 43%
  • 16th Mar 2015

I want to give this place a good review, as the people are friendly and the bed and bathroom were clean. However, the bicycle tour is R450 -- which is a LOT of money to rent a bike for 4 hours with a low-paid guide (who gets little of that R450). I ended up booking with a competing More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

One of the best and most interesting accomidations we had during our stay in South Africa! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 328 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 17th Mar 2015

Nice place! The single rooms might not be for people with problems to sleep as they are small wooden cabins surrounded by trees and you might hear the rain during the night. But if you like it, great experience! The hostel and its people are lovely and the whole experience was funky. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 6th Mar 2015

Too bad that they don't offer a free shuttle to the airport... More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 166 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 15th Mar 2015

Room was clean and secure. Free pickup from the airport was convenient. Staff were friendly and approachable. Free WiFi was great, but was only available in the bar and not in the bedroom. Also, the WiFi was turned off at night. The costs of additional services (airport drop off, More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 27th Feb 2015

it is very quite so great if that's what you are after. I went to study so great for me. Chris will pick up from the airport which is great and reliable, if a bit pricy. To get in to town I used soft taxies R 10 and they take you into centre. Hop on hop off bus excellent and really More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 146 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Hi, we really felt well at bobs bunk house. It was a nice stay and our first station in SA. Bob helped us a lot with planing our further trip and all the people around where really friendly. Overall a nice stay - toilets showers and beds where clean as well :). Jonas, Andi and Lisa More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 12th Feb 2015

Joan and Bob were very friendly and very helpful! Very close to the airport, which is great if you're staying a night before a connecting flight. There is not too much to do nearby though. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 534 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 22nd Mar 2015

It was fine. Your run of the mill hostel, bit tatty, but perfectly serviceable. The owner is really nice, and does a lot to make your stay good. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Good value for money for a one night staying waiting for your connection. The owner is very friendly and the airport shutte he offers to the airport for free makes a big plus to the service becuse taxies are expensive even for a 2km distance (I have paid 10 euros for a three minutes More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 135 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 40%
  • 18th Dec 2014

I could not find this hostel. Not on the map nor from people in the neighborhood. Spent 1 hour in a taxi trying to find it. I was told from another hostel owner that the manager had died. I did not get refunded by hostel world. =( More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th Oct 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the place, it would even be nicer with more guests, but it might have been off season. nice spacious rooms, washing machine, swimming pool, pcs. the only downside are the cooking facilities, since we needed to use the restaurant kitchen, because the (small) community More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 129 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Hi, It is maybe my third stay at this Establishment and it is always fun, I have been to over 200 hundred Hostels and this is Probably one of the best ones in Africa in terms of facilities. The downside is that Camping is no longer and option, this is bad news for some of us who are More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Beware, Hostel wanted to charge me for my stay a second time upon checkout. I had paid full amount (without getting a receipt) when checking in. At checkout the hostel questioned my word several times in front of other guests, which was highly stressful and embarrassing. After a good while More
davidkfhall2776 (Sweden) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 87 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 13th Feb 2015

A pleasant looking hostel, but one with little atmosphere, no lockers in the dorms, no internet, and a staff that is not always attentive. Like other reviewers I too was stranded outside the gate at one point, with no one coming until someone who dropped me off called them (which was a bit More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 51%
  • 12th Feb 2015

Our stay here was completely opposite of what we were expecting from the website and previous reviews. I'm not sure what happened in the meantime. We checked in okay but the front desk staff told us that nothing was available (meaning bar/kitchen) and that was that. He showed us to our More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 94 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Nice place, nice staff, nice people to meet ... You can easily reach Park Station and Sandton with public taxis. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback