X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 344 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 13th May 2015

Received a room upgrade which was a pleasant surprise and much appreciated after a long flight. The room was comfortable, and electric blanket came in handy as it was colder than I expected. Patrick was easy to chat with and arranged airport pick up/drop off with one of his drivers which More
hoo_haa_chilli2583 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Apr 2015

I love Mbizi! There is a great atmosphere at this hostel and it is super convenient for the BazBus, Safaris to Kruger and the airport. It was a great first stop for me on a month long trip, and I came back here, twice(!) when coming back through Jo'Burg. It is not in Central Jo'Burg, by More
rachaelaellis2976 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 146 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 30th Mar 2015

we enjoyed staying at lebo's and in soweto in general. chico is really cool and we liked speaking with him. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 16th Mar 2015

I want to give this place a good review, as the people are friendly and the bed and bathroom were clean. However, the bicycle tour is R450 -- which is a LOT of money to rent a bike for 4 hours with a low-paid guide (who gets little of that R450). I ended up booking with a competing More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 71 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Sleek Backpackers was all in all a nice place to stay. The only problem was that it was far away. I mean, there was not much things to do in Randburg and it took ages ro go somewhere with public transportation. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 5th Apr 2015

You couldn't find a better place in Johannesburg, even if you spent much more money! More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 338 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 5th May 2015

Great hostel with helpful personel! More
mackanfkp (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd May 2015

A great place to stay. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 175 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Its really nice to stay in a big house thats reformed into a hostel. The pick up service was also very cool, although we didnt know abt it on time. The light breakfast is a nice touch :) It is far from everything but okay from the park station or airport. It seems a hostel for transitters More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Apr 2015

I stayed there 3 days and although the hostel is located not exactly at the CBD the zone is quite good. Heinz is very helpful and so is Chris. The bar is awesome and breakfast is more than ok. It's a good value for money. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 544 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 14th May 2015

The owner was very helpfull, kind and there for us. There's a nice home-like feeling. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th May 2015

Super friendly host. Very helpful and welcoming. Relaxed atmosphere. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Really friendly owners, you feel part of the family! Location wise it is fairly close to the airport although taxi ride is needed unless you organise something with bob prior. 150r was required. It is close to shops, not much of a nightlife area although it was a quiet period and the vibe More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Hi, we really felt well at bobs bunk house. It was a nice stay and our first station in SA. Bob helped us a lot with planing our further trip and all the people around where really friendly. Overall a nice stay - toilets showers and beds where clean as well :). Jonas, Andi and Lisa More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 40%
  • 18th Dec 2014

I could not find this hostel. Not on the map nor from people in the neighborhood. Spent 1 hour in a taxi trying to find it. I was told from another hostel owner that the manager had died. I did not get refunded by hostel world. =( More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 124 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Hi, It is maybe my third stay at this Establishment and it is always fun, I have been to over 200 hundred Hostels and this is Probably one of the best ones in Africa in terms of facilities. The downside is that Camping is no longer and option, this is bad news for some of us who are More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Beware, Hostel wanted to charge me for my stay a second time upon checkout. I had paid full amount (without getting a receipt) when checking in. At checkout the hostel questioned my word several times in front of other guests, which was highly stressful and embarrassing. After a good while More
davidkfhall2776 (Sweden) (Male) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback