X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 356 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 20th Jul 2015

We only stayed here one night, but we really enjoyed ourselves. They have a great bar and backyard with a pool, and the inside is very welcoming. They have a nice tv area with lots of dvds to choose from which is a nice change. As everyone has said, Patrick is fantastic and makes you feel More
Backpacker2 (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 9th Jul 2015

Patrick hosts in the house where he grew up. It's clean, quiet, well-equipped, safe, and friendly. More
nilknarf863396 (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 97 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Àcoustic backpackers to me is home away from home . You just have to relax and organise your self as you would normally do back at home . More
Anonymous (Cameroon) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Jul 2015

I am satisfied More
Anonymous (Cameroon) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 20th Jul 2015

It was a fantastic experience. I felt so welcomed and safe. Dinner and breakfast were hearty and delicious. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The only two minor negatives Were that the mattress was a bit concave (still comfy) And I wonder if there are enough showers when The More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 7th Jun 2015

Fabulous stay in a fascinating area. The staff are welcoming and helpful, the accommodation comfortable (although there are issues with power as with much of SA so this isnt a problem just for this location, and it can get cold tho the outdoor fires and the ponchos provided are warming). More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 139 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 71%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

This hotel is really far from any shops or restaurants. I felt kind of stranded and my only food option was the hotel's restaurant. The menu was very limited. You had to order at the front desk, then go sit in the very cold dining room. The hours were also not very convenient for me. My More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 559 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 28th Jul 2015

airport pickup was a winner and very quick. the garden was good for chilling all day and Rob is super helpful. it's a perfect place to stay over waiting for the flight without having to drag all your kit into Joburg More
isaberton1482 (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 10th Jul 2015

Rob and his team did a wonderful job. Down to earth. Value for money. As a start of a (backpack) holiday this place is perfec. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 154 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

All in all a good hostel, I can recommend it if you need one near the airport. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 4th Apr 2015

Really friendly owners, you feel part of the family! Location wise it is fairly close to the airport although taxi ride is needed unless you organise something with bob prior. 150r was required. It is close to shops, not much of a nightlife area although it was a quiet period and the vibe More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 129 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time! The place was very clean and comfortable and within walking distance of restaurants and bars. The staff was wonderful- very friendly, approachable and helped us with all of activities. I would stay here again given the chance! More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Stay was fine, helpful staff. Only stayed one night More
Anonymous (Australia) (COUPLE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 352 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 16th Jul 2015

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner was excellent, they cooked the vegetarian option just for me and it was vert good. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 27th Jun 2015

The place is very nice, the staff also. Just one thing the place is a little remote from shops and town center. More
PatrickAroundTheWorld (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 176 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 77%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Its really nice to stay in a big house thats reformed into a hostel. The pick up service was also very cool, although we didnt know abt it on time. The light breakfast is a nice touch :) It is far from everything but okay from the park station or airport. It seems a hostel for transitters More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Apr 2015

I stayed there 3 days and although the hostel is located not exactly at the CBD the zone is quite good. Heinz is very helpful and so is Chris. The bar is awesome and breakfast is more than ok. It's a good value for money. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 77%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

It had a relatively good atmosphere and good staff. Its not the most comfortable place to be in but it's cheap and decrypt located in order to get taxis to town. More
Anonymous (India) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 8th Jun 2015

Good hostel if your waiting to head off on a Safari, but far away from the City. cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at and staff very friendly. More
Adeleswain (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback