X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 164 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 8th Jan 2016

I had a great time at Lebo's. Staff super friendly, bicycle tour great, nice and clean beds. I walked around and into the center and never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. I really recommend going to Soweto, especially to get to know more about Apartheid. More
Anonymous (Iceland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Jan 2016

A wonderful Place to stay in Soweto, the best way to experience this vibration township! ice dinners and excellent cycling tours! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 107 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 26th Jan 2016

I love this hostel. The people there are awesome, both staff and guests. It's also conveniently located, close but not too close to the central business district. Curiocity has a fantastic vibe as well. It has a really social atmosphere, but it's still quiet at night in the dorms. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 10th Jan 2016

Would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone. Many people I've met on the road after Johannesburg even really miss this hostel because they had such a great time. The restaurant at the back is also really good and cheap. The staff is very helpful and lovely. More
Anonymous (Iceland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 180 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 5th Dec 2015

The hostel really suited us as it's not far from the mall (Eastgate-lots of restaurants, big cinema etc) and the airport and offers secure parking which was perfect as we were just stopping off in Jozi between flights. More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 7th Oct 2015

I highly recommend this hostel, though I rated it's location and staff as average. The staff does not offer information - you have to ask for it. But they are helpful once asked. The location is not near a lot, but it is close to a grocery and not that far from restaurants. The best More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 93 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 27th Oct 2015

I really recommend this Backpackers, the location is quite convenience, the staff lovely and helpful. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 1st Sep 2015

On arrival to Jo'burg I had booked this hostel as was in a safe part of town which is important in jo'burg but the facilities and atmosphere let me down as not many other travelers were there, I had a locker but my girlfriend did not. It said we was going to be in a mixed dorm but we ended More
phillacy (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 57%
  • 28th Nov 2015

There's no free wifi (you hve to pay and it's expensive...). Beds are old and umconfortable. When people are talking in the living room, you can hear everything from the dorms... too noisy... Staff is nice! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 195 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 30th Dec 2015

the manager/owner was very helpful. He helped organize tours with local companies, provided a shuttle service to the city for a reasonable price. (Be aware that there is another 'Doris Street' close by. Make sure you get to the right place) More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 30th Sep 2015

Peaceful and lovely place. More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 150 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

I had a great time at Homebase, definitely outstanding! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 19th Jan 2016

Melville has been one of the best hostels to stay at and I have returned here many of time, the staff are nothing but extraordinary. There are no words for how amazing staying here is.. I love the staff and love how open and welcoming everyone is as well as the standards for the room! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 603 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 27th Jan 2016

The accommodation was exactly what I needed for a reasonable rate. Rob collected me and dropped me at the airport as I needed and even gave me a glass of complimentary red wine. I was very satisfied More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 25th Jan 2016

This is an excellent hostel, so close to the airport. The room and bathrooms were clean, as were the sheets. It was very secure. There was very little noise, although it was so close to the airport. Rob was great, he picked me up from the airport and dropped me off at 5am! There is a hotel More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 377 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Great hostel. Just feels like home. comfy couches, dvds, a pool, a cool bar with a pool table. and Paatrick is an absolute legend. I'll be staying here again. More
rafasreds4874 (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Jan 2016

Iv stayed in four different hostels in joburg in the last 2 visits and easily say this is the best hostel iv stayed in. Its a very safe area and all within walking distance there is a Supermarket, take aways and ATM. There is a lovely garden to chill in and an outdoor swimming pool which More
manhit79179 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 145 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 24th Oct 2015

Nice stay . I was the only guest there that night. Free airport transportation. More
josieluna236918 (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 2nd Sep 2015

Our double room was roomy, clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was good and cooked to order. The hostel is "out of the way" mainly due to the lack of any public transport but the free shuttle on call solved that. There is ample free parking if you come by car and want a base near More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback