X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 119 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 13th Jun 2014

Moafrika was a very comfortable lodge. Staff was really friendly and gave good service. The food was totally divine! Cant wait to go back in October as they arranged a Kruger Safari for me witch will be real awesome! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Jun 2014

I stayed at MoAfrika Lodge and it was really nice. the staff were extremely accommodating and the food was so nice. They made a very nice bomb fire and i had some local beer from South Africa and it was really good. i will definitely go back there before i go for my Safari that they More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 118 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 8th Jul 2014

Bob and Joan make you feel very welcome and comfortable. Their property is close to the airport and I will definitely be back soon. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 29th May 2014

This is located close to the airport with nearby shops 10 minutes away. Very clean bathrooms and dorms. A large bar area and chill area. The owners help organising shuttles and finding activities in Johannesburg and tours throughout Africa. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 289 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 20th Jul 2014

Patrick (the owner) is a very nice guy. I had a family issue and he was very kind to me. The airport pick-up was at the time and everything happened well. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 3rd Jul 2014

Close to airport but far from any attractions. Expensive Taxis needed to get anywhere so would be more useful for those with a car. Patrick, the owner, was an excellent and welcoming host and accommodation was very comfortable and homely More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 135 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 1st Jul 2014

Overall excellent experience. Nothing to complain about.. Really. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 19th Mar 2014

I liked this place. The kitchen was amazing. Only thing I miss out was wifi and lockers in the room. It was lack of people staying there, but as I leaved early in the morning it didn't matter that much. The pool and bar was cool. More
Grodolf (Sweden) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 238 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 19th Jul 2014

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, great place to stay! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 11th Jul 2014

Nice place but it needs more bathrooms and showers, in the main builtding there is only one in the first floor and it has to be shared with a lot of people. Nice breakfast, and the free pick up from the airport is a plus. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 112 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 13th Jul 2014

location was good but far from the airport, it took 450zar by meter taxi. sorry for no public transportation. tt but good tour around the soweto by bicycle. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 7th May 2014

very good place, very nice staff, good trip! ;-) More
Anonymous (Reunion) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 491 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 14th Jul 2014

The best thing with the place is the location for a quick and easy stopover in Joburg. Rob is quick and helpful with the pickup and dropoff. The facilities are ok with nice kitchen and tv, dorm bed and mattreses are caving in quite a bit and needs to be renewed. Wifi turned on between More
reeop (Sweden) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 63%
  • 13th Jul 2014

Convenient to airport. Rob picks you up from airport. A bit scruffy but ok for a night while waiting for transit. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 107 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 27th May 2014

We booked a room for two people and as we arrived they told us that our room wasn't available anymore. Luckily out friends switched the reservation with us so that they stayed in the dorm and we could have the room. Unfortunately the room was a really small cabin with one bed for one More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 23rd May 2014

Get robbed in Front of the Hostel (20m away) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 84 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 37%
  • 15th Jun 2014

It was my plan to visit this hostel. But The give me wrong infromation about the pick up. So i was force to stay someware else More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2014

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, the hostel was clean and comfortable and a convenient distance to everything I needed. I had an amazing time at Accoustix!. I would definitely recommend this backpackers to everyone! Thank you :-) More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 67%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 51%
  • 13th Jul 2014

Very plain decor - even in a 'deluxe' double en suite we had only a bed so all our stuff had to lie on the floor, which is a problem anyway but especially when ants are so quick to appear! Our bathroom was pretty grimy, but the communal kitchen was always spotless; however the oven didn't More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Johannesburg Podcasts

Listen to our Johannesburg podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Johannesburg Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Johannesburg Videos

Watch our Johannesburg video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Johannesburg Videos

Please give us your feedback