Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kaikoura, New Zealand

  • 97%
  • 91 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Huge rambling place makes it difficult to find some things like the laundry to the newly arrived. Wall to wall people everywhere. Very friendly all partying and cooking food together. 1 internet computer. Very busy staff. They never had a chance to sit down, we had a private room in a More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 265 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 8th Sep 2015

I loved staying at The Albatross!! Favourite hostel in New Zealand so far - got upgraded to a private double at no extra cost and all the people who were working at The Albatross were really helpful and it had a really fun community feel to it. Free tea and coffee and hot chocolate was More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 1st Sep 2015

The security of this place is 0. We came to check in early, but no one was there until 3:30pm. We had to pee so we decided to go in the lounge were you check in. The bathroom was out of order so we went to the next building with all the rooms. All the doors and windows were open. We went More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 590 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 9th Sep 2015

I was 1 of 3 guests when staying here so I don't know how the atmosphere was but the hostel is pretty good. Comfortable beds and really nice common area. The building looks a little odd from the outside but is nice on the inside. The location is great with the beach just about across More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Aug 2015

I was greeted really well by the owner after a long day sitting in the bus.She told me everything I need to know about places, where to get food and any transportation I need. I also found it interesting to have bulletin board about wonderful outdoor activities and attractions in Kaikoura. More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 126 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 20th Aug 2015

A lovely stay, with clean tidy rooms at an affordable price. Wonderful helpful service, thank you. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 28th Jun 2015

Nice hostel and great view from the balcony. I was disappointed that the hot tub was temporarily out of order. I got free WiFi though, which was nice, as they used to charge for it. I liked the wood stove - it made the lounge nice and cosy. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 108 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 1st Oct 2015

Very good hostel, best receptionist, clean kitchen with all the and very well located. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 4th Sep 2015

Locked myself out of my room at 7:45am. Unfortunately, the reception opens at 9am, which meant over 1h waiting for help. In my case it wasn't a big deal because the view across the bay on to the mountains was just incredible and the lovely french girl who shared her coffee with me and 2 More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 202 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 26th Jul 2015

I recommend this backpacker. The bonus are the pool and spa (plus the free breakfast). My stay was in winter and so the pool was empty, but not the spa, and it was very good to enjoy it after carrying my luggage all the day long :) More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 19th Jul 2015

We stayed in a private double in winter. It was pretty cold but ok once in bed. There are lots of fires which are really nice to sit by. Probably really great in summer too. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback