Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kathmandu, Nepal

  • 97%
  • 391 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 21st Nov 2015

Very nice hotel and great location (close to Thamel but not noisy!) ! The rooftop garden is awesome!!! And the bar cool! More
cyrilleleclere2671 (France) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 25th Aug 2015

Well, we had a great time time in this place during our stay. We came here to stay through the reviews in this site and actually it turned out to be perfect. Everything what we deserved was there. The staffs, the food and the nice owner makes us more feels like we were in home. Hope More
Anonymous (United Arab Emirates) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 95%
  • 988 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 2nd Nov 2015

Elbrus Home is a must for any traveller in KTM, just 5m from the heart of busy Thamel, this peaceful and beautiful hostel is in perfect location. The staff Khem and Ali make you feel very welcome. The rooms are clean, private, very comfortable beds and 24/7 hot water. Free breakfast in the More
Anonymous (Australia) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Nov 2015

Our hosts were very gracias. They stayed up late to let us in from late events. They also welcomed us to participate in the Tihar celebration. They were very knowledgeable about the area to help us find ways to explore Kathmandu and other areas of Nepal. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 94%
  • 337 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 7th Nov 2015

The staff is very helpfull, and this hotel is great value for money. Will go there again without second thinking! More
cyrilleleclere2671 (France) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 24th Oct 2015

Great location and a very clean and pleasant place to stay right next to Thamel. The roof top terrace is good as well. Thanks! More
vallis (England) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 94%
  • 137 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 8th Oct 2015

Excellent location and well looked after by staff, very accommodating. Early breakfasts, luggage storage etc. happy to stay here again. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 130 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Very welcome and friendly family, and a very homely atmosphere. Excellent location near Thamel but set back so you can get a good nights sleep. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Kathmandu. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 31st Jul 2015

since a few years i wanted to go to nepal. this year i knew i will do it..for may i planned everything and then the earthquake happened :( but nevertheless i came (some month later) and iam SOOOO HAPPPY...i found the right guesthouse with such lovley nepali people. i got to know that the More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 80 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 28th Oct 2015

It's in the very center of Thamel (a big market, one of the places to see in Kathmandu). It's in a quiet backyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are many restaurants and (trekking-)shops just around the corner. It's a great place to start your trip in Nepal. If you stay in More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 26th Oct 2015

The hostel is very clean and not noisy. Hard to find if you don't know Kathmandu well. Good cheap breakfast. More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 83 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 17th Oct 2015

Stayed here on two separate occasions in October 2015 in between trekking trips and will be coming back again for sure. Staff are fantastic and very helpful and the cafe on the roof is brilliant with decent food. Great location tucked away off the main road and security guard on the More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 6th Oct 2015

Incredibly helpful staff! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 77 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 11th Nov 2015

Very nice hotel. I stayed in the common dorm and beds are super comfy, shared bathroom smells like some chemical product but it's fine. Staff is super welcoming and they really make you fell home. Breakfast is very good and food in general in the restaurant is good too, you can find More
alerojaspinto (Chile) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 5th Nov 2015

Really enjoyed staying at the shangri la hostel, owner and staff are really helpfull. Always looking for solutions no matter what question you come up with. i would suggest they install a doorbell or an personal alarm for the reception desk for when you arrive at night, sometimes it More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 98 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 19th Aug 2015

Sarita and family are excellent hosts. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback