X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 776 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 11th May 2015

The location very near to all types of market. The girls at counter are very cooperative and gives you the information about the places where you can visit in Kota Kinabalu and near byfor e.g. Ranu Hot water spring, lubwan island ,KK National park and islands by boat. One Computer at More
tambolipoona (India) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th May 2015

The hostel is right next to the bus station, so it's easy to get there from the airport, and it's easy to go to mount Kinabalu. So location is good, the breakfast is average (the coffee is VERY good) More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 456 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 1st May 2015

I have no complain except it would be nice if the they have tv lounge or / rest area / i.e sofas for the TV areas for the guests to relax and unwind. More
SiratSam (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Apr 2015

My friends and I stayed here for 4 days and the moment we stepped in, we immediately felt warm hospitality of the staff. Throughout our stay, they were very helpful in planning our activities. The hostel in general (the rooms, the shower/toilet area, eating area) is immaculately clean. The More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 274 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 1st May 2015

Nice staff; we were able to book a tour to the jungle through them (was excellent!); lockers for valuables available; great location especially for Sunday market. Spacious common area. Room had no window, but A/C works so it was ok. Wi-Fi signal good. Bathrooms are clean. Breakfast is More
ivavucak635 (Croatia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 25th Apr 2015

I had a very good stay at Akinabalu. The staff were very friendly and willing to help at any moment. Th only minor gripe I have is the lack of wifi reception in the rooms, and sometimes the computers do not have internet connection. Other than that, I'd be happy to stay at Akinabalu again. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights after climbing Kinabalu and really enjoyed our stay. The girls who run the lodge are very helpful and cook amazing and simple (vegetarian only) breakfast and dinner (dinner for 10MR per person). There is no WIFI so be prepared to completely disconnect More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Nice place n very cool..recommend for all..next time I want stay here again.. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 266 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Perfectly fine hostel, in a good part of town near to shops banks etc. loads of information on tours and I found the best prices were to book at the hostel after a lot of shopping around! Hot showers as well which is a nice treat! As always you get what you pay for but I've paid the same More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 8th Mar 2015

A family-run business, the staff were considerate enough and treat guests like a part of their family sometimes. My personal requests were entertained and I was satisfied with my stay there. Toilets and showers are relatively cleaner than the surrounding hostels around. So far my favourite More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 68 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Great place to stay on a budget which is close to the harbour-side night markets and restaurants. Simple breakfast of toast, fruit and coffee/tea. We paid for a 6 bed girls dorm and ended up staying in a three bedder (3x double beds) which we had completely to ourselves for the first More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Globetrotter
  • 74%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

The hostel is quite central, it's fairly clean and the Staff are really helpful. In the room I was in there was only one plug socket which was located at the head of someone else's bed so it was a bit difficult to charge anything - there were sockets outside and in the dining area. Overall More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 4th May 2015

Nice atmosphere, and good communal area. Even extended my stay by 3 nights because I enjoyed it so much More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Stayed here a few times before.The most affordable accomodation in town with basic amenities, with an advantage of the perfect location at the cultural heart of KK. More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 69%
  • 252 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 29th Apr 2015

Nice place to stay for 1 night More
Anonymous (Russia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 28th Apr 2015

Great stay, only point of criticism the mattresses More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 66%
  • 75 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 66%
  • 29th Apr 2015

Pretty much get what you pay for, good location and the staff are helpful and friendly, but regularly no toilet roll in the toilets; and smoking areas directly outside the rooms on each floor mean the smoke comes in through the windows & door, plus get people congregating there on a night More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 9th Mar 2015

This hostel is very basic but is great value for money! we stayed here for a few days and returned later because we were satisfied with the service. Rooms are a bit shabby, showers aren't very powerful and there's never any toilet paper, but can't really complain with the price we paid. More
Anonymous (England) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 64%
  • 198 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Reservation was not as expected. They need to relocate us in a smaller room then gave us extra bed. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 1st Jan 2015

Facilities are okayokay and more or less clean. We didn't get at least a bed sheet as a blanket only a towel when we asked for it. It's very sad that there is not really a common roomroom. The staff not very helpful they didn't much about to do, even gave us wrong information. There are More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback