X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 416 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 13th Nov 2014

Great lodge, very clean throughout and within 15 mins walk to Jesselton Jetty or a easy $3 taxi fare if feeling lazy. Night markets directly behind and a huge seafood dining place just across the street. Washing across road also very cheap to get done. Breakfast basic, toast and some fruit More
laurence_bruce (Australia) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 4th Nov 2014

We really enjoyed our three nights at the lavender, the staff were brilliant, Daniel was so helpful, he helped us book our trip to mount Kinabalu and they let us store our big rucksacks while we climbed the mountain and then we spent the night after there to recover after the climb! The More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 691 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 18th Dec 2014

Staff are incredibly helpful and kind. They do a great job keeping the place clean and guests happy. Breakfast can be taken at any time. Location is far enough to be quiet and relaxing while in walking distance of the jetty, bars, food, etc. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 30th Nov 2014

Will definitely recommend this place More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 247 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 11th Dec 2014

Excellent location――Gaya Street, makes everything close to it, Tourism Board, post office, night market …… And its sanition and shower devices are definitely the best among a lot of similar hostels for backpackers. Admittedly in my person I don't like the no-key room cuz I was More
tianfujinyi (China) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 24th Nov 2014

The family that runs this place are lovely and will do anything to help you out (ask them about boat trips as they have discount vouchers). Facilities and place are basic, you get what you pay for, but no complaints. Definately a good launch pad for further adventures. More
Anonymous (England) (MIXEDGROUP) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 83%
  • 31st Oct 2014

Excellent value hostel in centre of town with staff being delightful. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 127 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Great place. A bit far from the national park, about 10 mins walk, but definitely worth it since it´s so quiet and in the middle of nature. The shower (superhot!) and toilet area is HUGE and clean. Take your camera there at night and take docool pics from Borneo´s colourful moths and More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 29th Oct 2014

To be fair this hostel is in the middle of nowhere but as long as you know that it is fine - I just needed it for the night before climbing Mt Kinabalu. It is quite a steep up and down hill from the main road if you are walking. Despite them not having my booking I was put in a dorm More
naidaway7734 (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 192 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 11th Nov 2014

If you stay at Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge make sure you get a room on the Jln Dewan side (the others are very noisy from the main street). KBL stands out from local competition in one important aspect - there are no bed bugs. More
lechoo8023 (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Nothing bad to say! Well located, good staff, quiet, not expensive! We stayed a week :) More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 167 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Most of the hostels near Mt. Kinabalu are super-overpriced, so this place was a good find. It's a 10-minute walk to the park entrance. The family running it seem nice and were quite friendly with me. It has free breakfasts and a great view of the surrounding valley. The dorm wasn't More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Nice place, very near to KK park, helpful and friendly staff. Will come again More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 268 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 24th Sep 2014

I enjoyed my stay there. Staff were REALLY friendly, nice environment & good location. The negatives things that I encountered were - AC was not really cold, low pressure shower and there were few bed bugs in my bed. I told the cleaner about this and she told me they had a 'steamer'? to More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 21st Aug 2014

I don't like the look that the reception staff gave to me when I checked in at 12.30am in the morning, everytime I passed by the reception area and when I wanna check out. She is not friendly with locals I guess. I'm not sure about other dorms but mine was below average. No locker, no More
firdzz5762 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 66%
  • 235 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 54%
  • 16th Aug 2014

This place is an annoying, not quite walkable distance from the town, located in the middle of an automobile repair area by the side of the motorway. I would reccomend it if you are very low on cash and need somewhere to stay on short notice. I cannot complain, the place was functional and More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2014

We had a better stay for 2 nights! I will recommend this to my friends. Keep it up! Very nice and accommodating staff! More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 64%
  • 69 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 19th Nov 2014

Staff super helpful. Pretty loud at night cos right next to a highway but its central and easy to get around. Good wifi and tips for onward travels More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 17th Oct 2014

Everything is good since i did not expect too much. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback