X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 656 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 19th Sep 2014

No complaints here. KK itself is a little bland but I liked this hostel quite a bit. At first you think its tiny, but that actually makes it kind of cozy. Very easy to meet people here and they are always stocked with coffee/tea/toast. Prices are really reasonable too. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 18th Sep 2014

i have been to many hosteler in the world.but this one is not good enough.the staff is good.but the facilities are poor and it’s noisy at night.the public area is not big enough.its clean—that is good More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 401 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 21st Sep 2014

5 star service from helpful and friendly staffs. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th Sep 2014

Wonderfull friendly staff with a five star service. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 236 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Basic dorms, basic showers, basic breakfast, but does the job. Very nice staff More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 6th Sep 2014

location and price are exellent,but the mix room has no aircon,and the fan is broken More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 121 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 63%
  • 21st Sep 2014

The listing says that there is a restaurant. They just make you vegetarian dinner(only option) for 9RM if you want it. It's good but I was originally under the impression that there was a real dining facility on site that was open for other mealtimes, not dinner. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Very helpful and kind staff. Beautiful view of the mountain and valley. Very relaxing and good food cooked by the hosts. More
martieahmann8874 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 268 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 24th Sep 2014

I enjoyed my stay there. Staff were REALLY friendly, nice environment & good location. The negatives things that I encountered were - AC was not really cold, low pressure shower and there were few bed bugs in my bed. I told the cleaner about this and she told me they had a 'steamer'? to More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 21st Aug 2014

I don't like the look that the reception staff gave to me when I checked in at 12.30am in the morning, everytime I passed by the reception area and when I wanna check out. She is not friendly with locals I guess. I'm not sure about other dorms but mine was below average. No locker, no More
firdzz5762 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 161 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 60%
  • 13th Aug 2014

Pros: Near the Kinabalu Park (around 500m), Clean, Helpful staff, Cons: The rooms face the main road. It can get very noisy during the day, The bathroom is very small, No WiFi and poor 3G signal, Poor reception of TV channels, Unappetitizing breakfast, Gloomy room. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 8th Aug 2014

The only good thing about this lodge is it is close to the park. It is on the major highway, traffic noise was very very very loud, even at night! The room seemed to be trembling when constant trucks passing by. I could not sleep well for 2 nights when I stayed there. the owner, an More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 191 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Nothing bad to say! Well located, good staff, quiet, not expensive! We stayed a week :) More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

- close to the city - one staff was a little bit unfriendly, but okay - good location for a stopover More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 132 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 23rd Jun 2014

The rooms were just packed the 10 bed dorm should only be a 4 bed dorm so there is space for luggage. Malaysians watching TV after midnight despite a 10.30 curfew notice above the TV not sure if they were staff of guests but staff member was present. otherwise and slightly below More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 68%
  • 217 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 12th Aug 2014

Its quite far from the bus station. We have to walk 1 kilometer to nearest bus stop. No free breakfast. The advantages is WiFi available, laundry available and television available. Staff is helpful but not so friendly And also near airport. The compounds and surroundings no so clean. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 29th May 2014

This is always my first choice whenever I need to stay in KK for flight transfer. Their location is excellent, just a 5-10 mins walk from KK T2 airport, and another 5 mins to get to the beautiful beach with amazing sunset. The staffs here are very nice and friendly, and they are being More
ling_chiii1171 (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 67%
  • 234 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 54%
  • 16th Aug 2014

This place is an annoying, not quite walkable distance from the town, located in the middle of an automobile repair area by the side of the motorway. I would reccomend it if you are very low on cash and need somewhere to stay on short notice. I cannot complain, the place was functional and More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2014

We had a better stay for 2 nights! I will recommend this to my friends. Keep it up! Very nice and accommodating staff! More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback