X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 632 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Looking forward to stay here every time i went to KK. Good place to stay. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Aug 2014

loved this hostel. great location right beside all the bus sties. very clean and comfy beds. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 394 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 5th Aug 2014

The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Great poster of a proboscis monkey with a boner in the hallway. Light breakfast - white toast and a bit of watermelon - but that seems to be the case everywhere in Sarawak and Sabah. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

Really nice, clean and respectable hostel. I was a female travelling alone and I stayed in a 6 person female dorm and felt completly safe and secure and the best part was it was seriously cheap! A couple of people who have written reviews for this Hostel complained that the staff were rude More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 228 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 20th Jul 2014

We thought it might be though sharing bathroom but it was actually very clean and neat! The only thing we really didn't like was the breakfast (white toasted bread with some chemical butter that stuck in your mouth and very sweet jam) but it's seemingly a standard at all homestays in More
Anonymous (Sweden) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 7th Jul 2014

Great staff. They are super courteous and helpful if you bother to ask them anything. The rooms are minimal but are clean and comfortable. My only real problem was the wifi , it's not great. But they do have a computer that you can use so that makes up for it a bit. The hostel has a nice More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 115 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 5th Aug 2014

a very good hostel with a nice view at the valley. the staffs are very friendly and helpful!!! the rooms are nice and clean! it's close to the nationalpark (2km) and the atmosphere is very nice. perfect place to be :) i can recommend it!!!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 26th Jul 2014

i know is difficut to get hot shower for 24 hours. please do invest more on this. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 159 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 60%
  • 13th Aug 2014

Pros: Near the Kinabalu Park (around 500m), Clean, Helpful staff, Cons: The rooms face the main road. It can get very noisy during the day, The bathroom is very small, No WiFi and poor 3G signal, Poor reception of TV channels, Unappetitizing breakfast, Gloomy room. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 7th Aug 2014

Close to kotakinabalu national park, lovely views from restaurant, good cooked breakfast, but dorm is very crowded with limited shower and toilet facilities if fully occupied More
gaylener9122 (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 263 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 17th Jul 2014

This was a basic place but the staff was helpful and convenient to the bus line. The labeling of "youth" hostel is loose as there were all ages and lots of families. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 12th Jul 2014

Had some trouble with the booking even though i reserved it on Hostelworld when I checked in at midnight but was able to find a bed. Only a short stay as I had to leave the next morning so can't comment much on the hostel but seems pleasant enough. More
rickykwok (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 231 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2014

We had a better stay for 2 nights! I will recommend this to my friends. Keep it up! Very nice and accommodating staff! More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 6th Jul 2014

Helpful staff, cheap stay. Recommend that you head for the top bunk in the fan rooms as no air movement for the bottom one. We were lucky, only had 4 in a room with 6 bunks- would have been pretty full on with 12!! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 132 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 23rd Jun 2014

The rooms were just packed the 10 bed dorm should only be a 4 bed dorm so there is space for luggage. Malaysians watching TV after midnight despite a 10.30 curfew notice above the TV not sure if they were staff of guests but staff member was present. otherwise and slightly below More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 46%
  • 27th Jul 2014

Our stay was terrible. Room had no atmosphere at all. Bathroom was very dirty, pie everywhere. Tap didnt work. Choose an other hostel if possible. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 217 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 12th Aug 2014

Its quite far from the bus station. We have to walk 1 kilometer to nearest bus stop. No free breakfast. The advantages is WiFi available, laundry available and television available. Staff is helpful but not so friendly And also near airport. The compounds and surroundings no so clean. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 29th May 2014

This is always my first choice whenever I need to stay in KK for flight transfer. Their location is excellent, just a 5-10 mins walk from KK T2 airport, and another 5 mins to get to the beautiful beach with amazing sunset. The staffs here are very nice and friendly, and they are being More
ling_chiii1171 (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback