X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 815 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Super close to the airport bus stop. Staff were friendly and was allowed to check in a bit early which was good. Stayed in a 4 bed female dorm which was spacious and had a spot for your pack. Air con in the room was good. Bathrooms were fine, pretty clean although no soap for the basin in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 27th Jun 2015

great little hostel! it is a bit hard to find as the street signs in the area aren't great but it's clean and everyone has their own locker. unfortunately as we were sharing a room we weren't allowed a key to our actual room but just our lockers and the owners thought it was weird that we More
Anonymous (Australia) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 463 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 17th Jun 2015

Incredibly clean and friendly super helpful staff, also great value would recommend to anyone visiting KK! More
adamsteele5682 (England) (MALE) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 21st May 2015

The location wqs perfect and the staff were very helpful and warm. I hoped though that the staff had more knowledge about the various sites to see in Kk.. :-) More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 141 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 15th Jun 2015

Had a fantastic time during my time at kinabalu mountain lodge. Although a tough time during and after the earthquake the staff there did everything to make us feel very comfortable and at home, and the hostel itself suffered no damage from them. big thanks to BJ for the amazing food and More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 2nd Jun 2015

Great position, breathless landscape from terrace. Courtesy More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 281 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 60%
  • 2nd Jun 2015

We booked the wrong month and only noticed when I received the survey email about my stay. I emailed the hostel and they wouldn't let me rectify my mistake, even though we are still coming next month. More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 24th May 2015

I enjoy my stay here. really nice place to hang up, the little garden & pantry, awesome. Highly recommend for staying. Well done. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 10th May 2015

Thanks for your great hospitality! We have written a nice review and, hopefully, it will help to bring more costumers. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 14th Apr 2015

It's a very basic place but only a few meters away from the park entrance. Location and the price are the best thing. It's run by na old lady and her family so it has the feel of a homestay. Simple but good home made cooking. Clean rooms, old bathrooms, hot shower, great views, nice More
Anonymous (Portugal) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 269 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 23rd May 2015

Excellent location with Sunday Market right down the stairs (if you are into wholesale accessories that you could see everywhere else in Asia), max. 15 minutes walk away from all the diving agencies and one of the biggest malls in KK. Breakfast was toasts and really bad coffee. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 21st May 2015

The property was secure and clean. There is a nice backpacker's atmosphere and all the necessary amenities are there. The location is smack dab in the middle of city centre! Very convenient! The staff is also friendly. More
guisers (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 201 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 69%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Reservation was not as expected. They need to relocate us in a smaller room then gave us extra bed. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 71 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Great budget accommodation, very clean and excellent location. Only downside is wifi didn't work in our room, had to use it in the lobby. No big deal for us though. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Jun 2015

Verry nice! Perfect as we could not expect! More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 265 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 57%
  • 25th Jun 2015

Staff were nice enough but I wouldn't say they were a great bunch. We arrived late (After midnight) and the guys just wanted to send us to our room. I had to come back and ask for wifi password, location of bathroom and hours for breakfast. Our AC didn't work so we just asked for a More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Jun 2015

Short trip to visit my son and girlfriend as they're studying in Malaysia. Staff were great and very helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 141 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 57%
  • 18th May 2015

Although the location is very good. The staff is only sitting there, and does not really help you to look for activities, and lacks enthousiasm. In the hostel, there was a guy in the living room 24/7 watching stupid TV movies, and killing the atmosphere for everyone else. The breakfast is More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 4th May 2015

Nice atmosphere, and good communal area. Even extended my stay by 3 nights because I enjoyed it so much More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback