X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 761 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

Great staff. Very friendly, helped with some tour bookings and very knowledgeable on traveling. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Great facilities and nice and clean! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 271 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 5th Apr 2015

One member of our group lost 100 hk dollars from her pursue that was in a private dorm. The only one to enter the room was the cleaning lady. The staff was informed about the issue but after all didn't do anything about it. Otherwise the hostel was really good, location was perfect, rooms More
Anonymous (Finland) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 4th Mar 2015

The hoste l is getting older and it needs some renovation, e.g. locks in the shower roomand shower control etc. The staf are still friendly. Room rates remain unchanged for a long time. More
hsingbm7426 (Hong Kong) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 451 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Excellent location, and very clean and tidy hostel. Was a bit quiet while i was there and no common/ lounge room area to meet other travellers, but apart from that it's very close to many shopping and market areas and very close to the harbour bar and restaurant strip. staff were lovely More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Amazing Lavender Lodge. OMG this place is so clean and neat and real value for money. The staff just made us feel at home. Ms. Jenny was so adorable and she made us feel at home and also helped us with local tour, taxi etc. We would definitely recommend this place. Love you guys!!! More
Anonymous (India) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 135 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights after climbing Kinabalu and really enjoyed our stay. The girls who run the lodge are very helpful and cook amazing and simple (vegetarian only) breakfast and dinner (dinner for 10MR per person). There is no WIFI so be prepared to completely disconnect More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Nice place n very cool..recommend for all..next time I want stay here again.. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 264 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 8th Mar 2015

A family-run business, the staff were considerate enough and treat guests like a part of their family sometimes. My personal requests were entertained and I was satisfied with my stay there. Toilets and showers are relatively cleaner than the surrounding hostels around. So far my favourite More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Great place to stay! It feels like staying at a local family's house. Lovely staff and location. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 243 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 20th Mar 2015

When I checked in I was quite surprised that I got a bed with what seemed to be a used bedsheet used by a previous guest. Did they actually change the sheets when guests check out? More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 74%
  • 13th Mar 2015

IMHO this hostel is not as bad as said by others here.Toilets and rooms are kept clean.The place is quite a distance away from the city centre but I have a car,so it didn't cause me much trouble.Being a Malaysian,I am used to using rubber hose for personal hygiene and don't depend on More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 138 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Stayed here a few times before.The most affordable accomodation in town with basic amenities, with an advantage of the perfect location at the cultural heart of KK. More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 60%
  • 20th Feb 2015

Positive: location, rooms Negative: staff is not helpful . It is very difficult to ask basic questions about the city and get items that the cost of the room includes ( ex: towels, toilet paper) More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 77%
  • 9th Mar 2015

This hostel is very basic but is great value for money! we stayed here for a few days and returned later because we were satisfied with the service. Rooms are a bit shabby, showers aren't very powerful and there's never any toilet paper, but can't really complain with the price we paid. More
Anonymous (England) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 21st Feb 2015

good things central location right in the cultural heart of KK. friendly staff. easily available parking space behind the hostel. bad things. room 305 (air cond room) did NOT have a power socket for quite some time. u can't charge your gadgets safely unless if you can be at the common More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (MALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 65%
  • 198 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Reservation was not as expected. They need to relocate us in a smaller room then gave us extra bed. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 1st Jan 2015

Facilities are okayokay and more or less clean. We didn't get at least a bed sheet as a blanket only a towel when we asked for it. It's very sad that there is not really a common roomroom. The staff not very helpful they didn't much about to do, even gave us wrong information. There are More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback