Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

  • 90%
  • 887 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 23rd Oct 2015

Really friendly staff and a lovely place to come home to in the evening. Would definitely stay again More
Anonymous (Portugal) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 22nd Oct 2015

Great staff, clean rooms, awesome breakfast (with hot cocoa and peanut butter!), and really nice atmosphere. Switches for toilets and showers are CRAZY complicated. Honestly. But it was sorta fun. Our private room had an 'airwick' air freshner that made us sick - especially considering More
omridor1973 (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 96 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 12th Nov 2015

Gt location, value on trips via hostel, pleasant staff, met interesting people, recommend More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 8th Nov 2015

Maria and team were hospitable, friendly and very helpful. They also assisted with booking tours and their tour guides are knowledgeable and fun! Shoutout to Ryan (an excellent guide specialising in jungle treks, insects, birds and orchids who has guided Nat geo and other nature More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 478 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 2nd Nov 2015

During our holiday trip to Sabah we stayed in Lavender Lodge twice. We couldn't make a better choice! Second time was like coming back home. The hostel nicely situated close to night market, big mall. Janny and Dan who run this place are great people very friendly and helpful. They did More
Anonymous (Poland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 8th Oct 2015

Excellent stay, very nice room (equal to hotel standards) with a window, clean bathroom, best shower we ever had in Borneo and good breakfast. Pleasant stay and we would definitely recommend lavender lodge to others staying in KK More
merckxbarbara1447 (Belgium) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 147 Total Reviews


  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 100%
  • 1st Sep 2015

We are a group of 5, this is my second stay in this hostel. They offered to pick us up at airport in the early morning (3:30am!). The staff are nice and helpful, The hostel is clean and quiet, a TV with lots of channels in common room, wifi is fast. We will definitely stay again next time. More
Anonymous (China) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Showers and toilets are small and cramped. Not enough power points to charge your gadgets (only 1 per dorm). More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 83%
  • 287 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 11th Nov 2015

This is a very basic hostel but it has everything you need for a cheap few nights in Kota Kinabalu. The staff are quite helpful and it's always nice to have a free breakfast! More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 91%
  • 6th Nov 2015

Should provide a locker in the dorm More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 72 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Great budget accommodation, very clean and excellent location. Only downside is wifi didn't work in our room, had to use it in the lobby. No big deal for us though. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Jun 2015

Verry nice! Perfect as we could not expect! More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 151 Total Reviews


  • 34%
  • 17th Oct 2015

Two of the staffs was terrible, so lazy. The toilets, bathroom are dirty, same to the common area. No wifi provided. Even no network as well in this area. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 9th Sep 2015

Really nice mountain lodge in the area of Mt. Kinabalu - it takes approx. 20 min by foot to the parc entrance. Rooms are nice. You can get a vegetarian meal for RM 10 in the evening. Good sandwich for breakfirst. Bring warm clothes, because temperatures are around 20°C. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback