X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 270 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 4th Mar 2015

The hoste l is getting older and it needs some renovation, e.g. locks in the shower roomand shower control etc. The staf are still friendly. Room rates remain unchanged for a long time. More
hsingbm7426 (Hong Kong) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 735 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 18th Mar 2015

Friendly and accommodating staff! Will surely stay here when i get back to Kota Kinabalu! More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Mar 2015

Thanks to the very friendly young staff. I stayed at Masada 3 times, no complaints! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 445 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 4th Mar 2015

This is a lovely hostel, it's clean, in a great location, the staff are friendly and knowlegable and there's a nice breakfast. The wifi works too. I stayed 2 nights and I've just returned for my second visit, no doubt I'll return again and probably again whilst I explore this area of More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 26th Feb 2015

The staff here go out of there way to make this a safe and clean place to stay. But the internet works very poorly. Answering e-mails at night, the net connection fades to one bar, then completely disconnects at random. Also, my room had no windows---not a big deal to me but some people More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 134 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Nice place n very cool..recommend for all..next time I want stay here again.. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 21st Feb 2015

Beautiful location but a bit tricky to get to More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 264 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 8th Mar 2015

A family-run business, the staff were considerate enough and treat guests like a part of their family sometimes. My personal requests were entertained and I was satisfied with my stay there. Toilets and showers are relatively cleaner than the surrounding hostels around. So far my favourite More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Great place to stay! It feels like staying at a local family's house. Lovely staff and location. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 240 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 20th Mar 2015

When I checked in I was quite surprised that I got a bed with what seemed to be a used bedsheet used by a previous guest. Did they actually change the sheets when guests check out? More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 74%
  • 13th Mar 2015

IMHO this hostel is not as bad as said by others here.Toilets and rooms are kept clean.The place is quite a distance away from the city centre but I have a car,so it didn't cause me much trouble.Being a Malaysian,I am used to using rubber hose for personal hygiene and don't depend on More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Stayed here a few times before.The most affordable accomodation in town with basic amenities, with an advantage of the perfect location at the cultural heart of KK. More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 60%
  • 20th Feb 2015

Positive: location, rooms Negative: staff is not helpful . It is very difficult to ask basic questions about the city and get items that the cost of the room includes ( ex: towels, toilet paper) More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 168 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 51%
  • 1st Mar 2015

At night it's very cold in there and the hostel provides very thin blankets. I slept in 2 sweaters and was still cold. Hostel also doesn't provide hot water for tea/coffe (you have to rent an electrick cettle for 5 MYR for that). Food also was rather bad. In general it was the wprs hostel More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Most of the hostels near Mt. Kinabalu are super-overpriced, so this place was a good find. It's a 10-minute walk to the park entrance. The family running it seem nice and were quite friendly with me. It has free breakfasts and a great view of the surrounding valley. The dorm wasn't More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 69%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 77%
  • 21st Feb 2015

good things central location right in the cultural heart of KK. friendly staff. easily available parking space behind the hostel. bad things. room 305 (air cond room) did NOT have a power socket for quite some time. u can't charge your gadgets safely unless if you can be at the common More
ilyasr2 (Malaysia) (MALE) Globetrotter
  • 74%
  • 14th Feb 2015

I personally thing this place is value for money and located at a very strategic location. Will definitely come again if we are on low budget travelling. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 65%
  • 198 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Reservation was not as expected. They need to relocate us in a smaller room then gave us extra bed. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 1st Jan 2015

Facilities are okayokay and more or less clean. We didn't get at least a bed sheet as a blanket only a towel when we asked for it. It's very sad that there is not really a common roomroom. The staff not very helpful they didn't much about to do, even gave us wrong information. There are More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback