X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 613 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 19th Jul 2014

This is the sort of place I have in mind when I imagine a proper youth hostel. The design encourages people to socialize, the staff is trained to give the information we all need, solid breakfast, clean, etc. Highly recommend while in KK. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 19th Jul 2014

I stayed in the six bed female dorm, simple but nice and clean with lockers. It's pretty quite but that might just be the location as well. Close to the markets and water front. I had a pair of Birkenstocks stolen from the porch within the first ten minutes of arriving but it could've More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 389 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 54%
  • 22nd Jul 2014

Very, very noisy hostel with cockroaches in the bathroom. The room was relatively clean, but barely slept due to the noise of people walking down the corridor past the room. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Jul 2014

Very clean, basic, quiet hostel. Great value for money. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 227 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 7th Jul 2014

Great staff. They are super courteous and helpful if you bother to ask them anything. The rooms are minimal but are clean and comfortable. My only real problem was the wifi , it's not great. But they do have a computer that you can use so that makes up for it a bit. The hostel has a nice More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Jun 2014

Hostel was very clean and in a great location. Employees were nice and knowledgeable about the area. Solo female traveler in July 2014 More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 157 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 22nd Jul 2014

Great location with a beautiful view if you want to stay close to the nationalpark. Delicious food for a good price. Nice staff and sweet cats that belong to the lodge. :) Noisy during night as it is located at the main street. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Really nice view from the dining room, nice to sit and relax in there (especially after you've climbed the mountain!). You get a generous free breakfast every morning, people are nice, but the dorms are cold! Good location to walk to the park. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 261 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 66%
  • 17th Jul 2014

This was a basic place but the staff was helpful and convenient to the bus line. The labeling of "youth" hostel is loose as there were all ages and lots of families. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 12th Jul 2014

Had some trouble with the booking even though i reserved it on Hostelworld when I checked in at midnight but was able to find a bed. Only a short stay as I had to leave the next morning so can't comment much on the hostel but seems pleasant enough. More
rickykwok (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 112 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 29th May 2014

The room was comfortable and they provided a meal. The only complaint that we had though was the lack of hot water in the showers. Certainly not what we needed after climbing Mount Kinabalu that day! However, this is made up for by the excellent staff. The morning of our departure they More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 18th May 2014

Great place to escape from civilasation. really clean and I met amazing people over there. You can walk to park entrance, but D'Villa is def closer. You should def be ok with cats and insects to stay there, as they are everywhere! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 189 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 66%
  • 18th Jun 2014

Average hostel, good value for money, exceptionally quiet (except for noisy traffic) 6 bed room by myself for 3 nights and didn't see anyone but the lady on reception who was also very quiet! Not ideal for a solo traveller :( I did hear some girls in the room next door but never saw them I More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 10th Jun 2014

Overrated. The room was okay.. the toilet/shower werent. The breakfast amd the filtered water werent that good.. staff was okay More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 132 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 23rd Jun 2014

The rooms were just packed the 10 bed dorm should only be a 4 bed dorm so there is space for luggage. Malaysians watching TV after midnight despite a 10.30 curfew notice above the TV not sure if they were staff of guests but staff member was present. otherwise and slightly below More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 46%
  • 27th Jul 2014

Our stay was terrible. Room had no atmosphere at all. Bathroom was very dirty, pie everywhere. Tap didnt work. Choose an other hostel if possible. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 230 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 63%
  • 6th Jul 2014

Helpful staff, cheap stay. Recommend that you head for the top bunk in the fan rooms as no air movement for the bottom one. We were lucky, only had 4 in a room with 6 bunks- would have been pretty full on with 12!! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 1st Jul 2014

A bit off! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback