X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 671 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 18th Oct 2014

Great hostel to meet other solo travelers! The staff was great! Big and clean beds. The locations is in a shady location, but there is lots of security More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 12th Oct 2014

Nice hostel. There was a bar nearby (maybe underneath) that had music pumping until the wee hours. Definitely sounded like it was worth checking out if we hadn't of been climbing the next day! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 408 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 21st Oct 2014

The staff are very nice to anwer our question and help us call the taxi etc. The room is very clean. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Oct 2014

This is one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good location. Definately recommend to others. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 240 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 11th Oct 2014

The room was super small. Way smaller than expected, but it was perfectly functional. It felt very prison like as the cement walls were just cold slabs of stone. The AC didn't work but the fan was more than enough. It's not like we spent much time in the room anyways. The shared toilet and More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Basic dorms, basic showers, basic breakfast, but does the job. Very nice staff More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 124 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 18th Oct 2014

The friendliness of the staff that got up as early as 4 in the morning preparing breakfast for us that is participate in Climbathon Kinabalu. So cool!! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 17th Oct 2014

Owner was really friendly and helpful. I was there for the climbathon and he gave me a lift to the finishing point to catch the other race. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 191 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Nothing bad to say! Well located, good staff, quiet, not expensive! We stayed a week :) More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

- close to the city - one staff was a little bit unfriendly, but okay - good location for a stopover More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 164 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Nice place, very near to KK park, helpful and friendly staff. Will come again More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Very good location near the entrance of Kinabalu Park. I stayed in the dorm room/bunk beds where noise from the highway (trucks roaring nearly all night), others in the room with cell phones going off at all hours (recommend you bring ear plugs or noise cancelling headphones), and the More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 268 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 24th Sep 2014

I enjoyed my stay there. Staff were REALLY friendly, nice environment & good location. The negatives things that I encountered were - AC was not really cold, low pressure shower and there were few bed bugs in my bed. I told the cleaner about this and she told me they had a 'steamer'? to More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 21st Aug 2014

I don't like the look that the reception staff gave to me when I checked in at 12.30am in the morning, everytime I passed by the reception area and when I wanna check out. She is not friendly with locals I guess. I'm not sure about other dorms but mine was below average. No locker, no More
firdzz5762 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 68%
  • 234 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 54%
  • 16th Aug 2014

This place is an annoying, not quite walkable distance from the town, located in the middle of an automobile repair area by the side of the motorway. I would reccomend it if you are very low on cash and need somewhere to stay on short notice. I cannot complain, the place was functional and More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2014

We had a better stay for 2 nights! I will recommend this to my friends. Keep it up! Very nice and accommodating staff! More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 68%
  • 132 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 23rd Jun 2014

The rooms were just packed the 10 bed dorm should only be a 4 bed dorm so there is space for luggage. Malaysians watching TV after midnight despite a 10.30 curfew notice above the TV not sure if they were staff of guests but staff member was present. otherwise and slightly below More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 65%
  • 219 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 40%
  • 16th Oct 2014

The room was very dirty. There were no blankets or sheets. The toilet and shower were very dirty. A lot of ants came out of the wood in the bedroom. It was close to the airport but far from everything else. Paid for 2 nights but left after 1 because we had such a bad experience. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

Nice and quiet place. There is a nice terrace, very relaxing. The hostel can be reached easily by walking from the airport, which is a big advantage. Staff was very friendly, I felt myself like at home. The cleanliness is on Malaysian level. More
mariadzunkova6408 (Slovakia) (Couple) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback