X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 703 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Excellent hostel. Free bread, cake and drinking water provided. Very nice Staff! Electricity socket prodived for every bed. If i come back, I will stay here again! More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th Jan 2015

Wifi didn't work sometimes, but I think that's Malaysia for you. Beds are comfortable, but the top bunks are a little creaky/wobbly. Other than that a very nice place. Clean, great staff, not too busy and located walking distance to everything. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 429 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 20th Jan 2015

Everything was good. Just that it lacks a common area for everyone to gather and mingle around. Perhaps they could touch-up the tv lounge and put some board/card games in there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 15th Jan 2015

The hotel was very clean, and the showers/toilets were excellent. The staff was wonderful, helpful, and understanding. I didn't like that the AC was on all night, and could not be turned off, because I believe it made me feel a little sick. The linens and towels were changed every day, More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Borneo Gaya Lodge

  • 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu
  • 83%
  • 31st Oct 2014

Excellent value hostel in centre of town with staff being delightful. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 129 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Having to eat vegetarian fare is not suitable for hiking 15 km or more in a day. Having an Internet connection would make it easier to do research for onward plans. Simply having reliable electricity would have been great. Once you get past all of this it is a peaceful retreat from the More
matttop4947 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Great place. A bit far from the national park, about 10 mins walk, but definitely worth it since it´s so quiet and in the middle of nature. The shower (superhot!) and toilet area is HUGE and clean. Take your camera there at night and take docool pics from Borneo´s colourful moths and More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 255 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Decent hostel More
stadiustom4525 (Finland) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 8th Jan 2015

Nice hostel with good atmosphere and nice communal area. Breakfast is simple: white bread with jam/butter and bananas. Good value for your money More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 268 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 24th Sep 2014

I enjoyed my stay there. Staff were REALLY friendly, nice environment & good location. The negatives things that I encountered were - AC was not really cold, low pressure shower and there were few bed bugs in my bed. I told the cleaner about this and she told me they had a 'steamer'? to More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 21st Aug 2014

I don't like the look that the reception staff gave to me when I checked in at 12.30am in the morning, everytime I passed by the reception area and when I wanna check out. She is not friendly with locals I guess. I'm not sure about other dorms but mine was below average. No locker, no More
firdzz5762 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 167 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Most of the hostels near Mt. Kinabalu are super-overpriced, so this place was a good find. It's a 10-minute walk to the park entrance. The family running it seem nice and were quite friendly with me. It has free breakfasts and a great view of the surrounding valley. The dorm wasn't More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Nice place, very near to KK park, helpful and friendly staff. Will come again More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 196 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 60%
  • 1st Jan 2015

Facilities are okayokay and more or less clean. We didn't get at least a bed sheet as a blanket only a towel when we asked for it. It's very sad that there is not really a common roomroom. The staff not very helpful they didn't much about to do, even gave us wrong information. There are More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 11th Nov 2014

If you stay at Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge make sure you get a room on the Jln Dewan side (the others are very noisy from the main street). KBL stands out from local competition in one important aspect - there are no bed bugs. More
lechoo8023 (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 65%
  • 69 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Stay-In Lodge

  • 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 121, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu
  • 86%
  • 19th Nov 2014

Staff super helpful. Pretty loud at night cos right next to a highway but its central and easy to get around. Good wifi and tips for onward travels More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 17th Oct 2014

Everything is good since i did not expect too much. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 63%
  • 220 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 51%
  • 24th Oct 2014

The only good thing about this hostel is proximity to the airport. You don't even get a room key and when I asked for one they said they don't give them out because it is a dorm. Also had an early flight and the gate was closed and locked so had to jump over a fence at 5am to get off the More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 40%
  • 16th Oct 2014

The room was very dirty. There were no blankets or sheets. The toilet and shower were very dirty. A lot of ants came out of the wood in the bedroom. It was close to the airport but far from everything else. Paid for 2 nights but left after 1 because we had such a bad experience. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback