X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kyoto, Japan

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 174 Total Reviews

No.1

  • OKI's Inn

  • 542-2 Furukawa-cho Higashiyama-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto
  • 91%
  • 21st Feb 2015

Couldn't ask for better hospitality. The house is nice Japanese wooden style, sleeping in futon on tatami. The wall maybe a bit thin. The transportation is good. There is bus stop and metro, the main transportation mean in Kyoto (JR line only reaches few attraction places in Kyoto, More
Anonymous (Thailand) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 24th Jan 2015

Fantastic hostel in a traditional building with good facilities. The location is very good and makes getting around Kyoto easy. Taka and Yuka were the most amazing hosts too! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 765 Total Reviews

No.2

  • IchiEnSou

  • 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, Kyoto
  • 100%
  • 24th Jan 2015

ichiensou was best hostel among i stayed. clean and all staffs were kind and friendly. if i visit kyoto again, i w'll choice ichiensou again.! if u want to experience traditional japan's style u must go ichiensou!!! More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Staff speaks fluent English and very helpful, place is very clean and comfortable, easy to get to from kyoto station More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 569 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 27th Jan 2015

Piece Hostel is just as charming as the city it is located in. The modern design of the building makes you feel like you are staying at a expensive hotel instead of a budget hostel. I felt very welcomed by the staff, and I really enjoyed the sushi event they hosted. Clean, perfect More
Anonymous (USA) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 26th Jan 2015

I recommend this modern hostel. The best structure that I saw in hostels in general. Everything is new, modern and clean. The staff is helpful. I just would like to have good music at the bar.. it helps better atmosphere! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 577 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 26th Feb 2015

This hostel was amazing, great location, friendly staff, and I would highly recommend staying there! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

My only two issues were that the WiFi was quite spotty and the rooms got a bit warm at night. Other than that, the hostel is a great place to stay. The location is fantastic and the staff are very helpful in assisting you with whatever you may need. It was clean, had a place to lock your More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 283 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 12th Dec 2014

Great place to stay at! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Nov 2014

Great Location (possible to walk there from Kyoto Station) and very helpful staff! But be aware that this is a japanese house with sliding doors and thin walls (which means it can get cold in the night and you hear your neighbour's voice through the walls. But all in all a nice place to More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 94 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. Though personally, I found that the hostel somewhat lacks character. The staff is helpful, and I can't complain about that; however I do feel that they could have been more engaging. I attended the events hosted by the hostel on several occasions, but I failed More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

This was a great place. It was spacious, clean, organized, and everything had easy to understand instructions in English and other languages. The wi-fi was decent enough. There was lots of free parking and the hostel was near a bus stop. (You can buy a day-pass for the bus right at the More
withbackpack (US Virgin Islands) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 313 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Amazing traditional ryokan in suburban kyoto. Fantastic staff and facilities, just make sure you get a JR rail pass to save you money! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 29th Dec 2014

Very good location, within walking distance to the kyoto tram lines and a JR line. The owner is very friendly and provides you with a cute hand drawn map of kyoto and the attractions with recommended places to visit and eat! Rooms were clean and cosy, although one of the bathrooms is More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 291 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto
  • 97%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

you plan to visit kyoto, you should definitely go to juyoh hotel. Very cheap for a single private room, the staff is extremely kind and helpful. well situated (about 10 min by feet from kyoto station). if you go there, you should take your breakfast at ginko cafe ( 50m at the left of the More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Feb 2015

I had a perfect stay here. The ladies at the desk were the sweetest and incredibly helpful. They go out of their own way to make your stay amazing and comfortable. They even gave me an origami crane :) I would highly recommend this hostel ❤️ More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 239 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Guesthouse Bon

  • 63-2 Kamimonzen-cho Murasakino Kita-ku Kyoto Japan, Kyoto
  • 86%
  • 28th Feb 2015

I'll be back. 👍 More
kds999 (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 28th Feb 2015

I stayed at Guesthouse Bon for one night and it was great! The owner was very kind to me from the very beginning and helped me get around the tourist spots and near the guesthouse. You get to sleep in a room with tatami floor on a very comfortable futon. The only downside is that while More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 53 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Quite a walk from the kyoto station, especially with luggages.... But once you're there, you get great value for your money... More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

Fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback