X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kyoto, Japan

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 578 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 10th May 2015

This hostel has everything you need! Close to the trainstation, very friendy staff, great atmosphere, super clean! Only disadvantage is the distance to downtown Tokyo (40 min walk, or take te metro). More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 9th May 2015

So, this hostel is more or less perfect. Location, amenities, staff, etc. all perfect. The only thing I can complain about is the WiFi being subpar which is sort of surprising given it being Japan. Anyways, excellent hostel, 9.5/10, 10/10 if they improve their internet though. More
dan0430 (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 55 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Didn't really know what to expect when booking a capsule ryokan but what we ended up getting we were very happy with! small, but well thought of rooms with mod bathroom accessories (toliet and shower). the staff were great, very helpful and they seemed to have something happening most More
Anonymous (Australia) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Quite a walk from the kyoto station, especially with luggages.... But once you're there, you get great value for your money... More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 265 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 18th May 2015

absolutely loved my stay here. you have your capsule but it was actually quite spacious. it was private because it has curtains. you have a desk which holds a storage that you can lock your valuables in. there's space for my suitcase and backpack. i would suggest getting one with Windows More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th May 2015

a hostel that stores your luggage before your arrival and even after you moved out until late at night – a fantastic service for backpackers! i came back late to pick up my luggage and even could have a shower before I go. Incredible nice and helpful staff. Bikes to rent are also in More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 724 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 23rd May 2015

I stayed for one night in a female dorm. I didn't use the common room facilities but I had a great sleep and the bathrooms were kept really clean. The hostel is in a great location right in the middle of the Teramachi shopping street area and a quick walk from the Hankyu Kawaramachi More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 22nd May 2015

A bit stuffy in the bedrooms, especially when you close the curtains but clean bathrooms. However, a big shout out to the staff who were amazing and incredibly helpful - thank you! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.5

  • OKI's Inn

  • 542-2 Furukawa-cho Higashiyama-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto
  • 100%
  • 10th May 2015

This is absolutely the best hostel I've stayed at in Japan. Excellent space, clean facilities and the owners are very friendly and hospitable. Literally 1 minute away from the Subway Tozai Line (Higashiyama Station) and you can walk to Gion in 10mins :) More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th May 2015

A gorgeous hostel with a real japanese feel to it, Taka and Yuka made my stay in Kyoto the best! So helpful and kind. Great location for temples and shrines, also a subway a minute away. Would definitely come back again! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 1535 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 24th May 2015

I can't find any reason to complain this hostel. It's the best hostel that i've ever stayed. Nice and strong English communication staff, beautiful atmosphere, cleanliness, and 5-7 mint walk to JR kyoto. Strongly reccommended !!:) More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 20th May 2015

Location is within walking distance of Kyoto station. Also 2-3 stops away from downtown Kyoto. My only (major) complain in this hostel was the reception was closed too many times during the day unlike I have seen in any place. It is closed from 22:00-09:00 and 14:00-15:00. Ensuite room More
indranil2u (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 781 Total Reviews

No.7

  • IchiEnSou

  • 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, Kyoto
  • 89%
  • 2nd May 2015

Staff gave me a kindness and friendship.Made me feel like stay at my home.they speak English well,easy to contact.Atmosphere is relax and peace.Lacation is good. More
Anonymous (Thailand) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 29th Apr 2015

I had a brilliant stay at IchiEnSou guest house. I was delighted to find I had bagged a traditional floor bed for my 3 night stay. What a lovely place, run by a wonderful family. Nice vibe too, met lots of great and likeminded travellers and was in a really handy spot for the gion district More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 99 Total Reviews

No.8

  • TANAKA-ya

  • 5-352-8 Miyagawa-suji, Higashiyama, Kyoto
  • 100%
  • 16th May 2015

Simply great and friendly place to stay! Lady Tanaka is so kind, she informs and she is helpful in every way. The room has everything you need. It's located close to everything but in some wat it is also away from all the crowds. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th May 2015

Very welcoming host, Tamie. The guesthouse is located in an old area of Kyoto, good for walking around, and convenient for catching buses to see the sights. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 333 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto
  • 91%
  • 16th May 2015

Small quiet hostel in a great location close to bus and subway and walking distance to gion and the shopping area. Lacks a good common area and there are only two showers. The ladies who work there are lovely and very helpful. More
LJHarris7797 (USA) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 13th May 2015

Nice owner, good location and all you need for a stay in kyoto. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 74%
  • 9th May 2015

Nice and clean environment... Around 15 mins walk to Kyoto Train Station.Covenient shop and restaurant around the corner.The only downside is that the toilet is at level one and you can hear your neighbour talk throughout the night. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Very nice place and staff! More
iosoi906 (Italy) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback