X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Kyoto, Japan

HOSTEL
  • 98%
  • 592 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 10th Aug 2015

More like a hotel with dorms. Free breakfast was great, everything was new and finished to a very high standard. Wifi could be better. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

Small but perfectly clean and functioning room. Very quiet. Free breakfast was brilliant :) More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 219 Total Reviews

No.2

  • OKI's Inn

  • 542-2 Furukawa-cho Higashiyama-ku Kyoto-shi, Kyoto
  • 100%
  • 12th Aug 2015

Really great location, close to the subway and a bus stop around the corner that stops at some tourist attractions. The Gion area and nearby temples are within walking distance. The guesthouse was spotless and the beds comfortable. Taka and Yuka were very helpful and gave good advice on More
AMD2704 (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

Yuka and Taka welcomed me so warmly that it touched me. They didn't have to be so kind but they still did it, giving me advice, guiding me, chatting about many things even though they had work. They were always smiling, and thanks to them I enjoyed my short stay in Kyôtô a lot more than More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 61 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 8th Jul 2015

What an amazing staff! They're always there to help you.The rooms are really great, always clean and comfy. Close to the station and with a good atmosphere. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Jul 2015

I intended to stay for two nights but stayed for four as I liked it so much. Every aspect of my double room was well thought out with all mod cons. They also had complimentary toothbrush etc for guests. The staff were just lovely and incredibly helpful with every thing. I would More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 372 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Had a wonderful time at this hostel, definitely got my money's worth, meet some great people, was in the center of beautiful historic Gion, and the hostel building itself along with the wide variety of facilities the hostel offered was top notch. Pride and care are definitely exhibited More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

very cozy hostel, very clean and spacious. staff are helpful and friendly . located in a very quiet and lovely neighborhood . japanese style house which is very adorable ! More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 878 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 26th Aug 2015

It's clean, comfortable, and in a great location. The 14 bed dooms and the 8 bed dorms are both very nice and they all have plugs right next to the beds, and separate reading lights, which is so handy! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Great hostel! Great staff! Great location! The rooftop deck was amazing and all the facilities were nice and clean! Would definitely stay here again! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 102 Total Reviews

No.6

  • TANAKA-ya

  • 5-352-8 Miyagawa-suji, Higashiyama, Kyoto
  • 86%
  • 7th Aug 2015

Nice, well-situated, Japanese-style hostel. Facilities are minimal, however. There is just one shower and one toilet, and there is no elevator. Would also be much-improved if AC were available in common areas. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th May 2015

Simply great and friendly place to stay! Lady Tanaka is so kind, she informs and she is helpful in every way. The room has everything you need. It's located close to everything but in some wat it is also away from all the crowds. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 80 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Guesthouse Soi

  • 509-2 Shimouma-machi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto-shi, Kyoto, Kyoto
  • 94%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

A really lovely guest house in Kyoto! The staff were very friendly and Maki and her family even invited me to join them for a delicious home made dinner while I was sitting in the common room one evening. Extremely comfortable beds, and fairly conveniently located (easy to catch a bus and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

This is probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! Awesome breakfast, very friendly staff, and clean modern facilities. My only complaint is that lockers are small- couldn't even fit a 13" laptop! Please provide a place for guests to store larger valuables such as iPads and More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 517 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2015

Very helpful staff and beautiful building More
Anonymous (Pakistan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 10th Aug 2015

Good hostel. Have to take a bus to it but otherwise it's good. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 372 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto
  • 94%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Kyoto has been the best place I have visited so far both in Japan and on the rest of our journey. This was fully aided by staying at Jiyujin. The staff are very friendly and their enthusiasm really makes you feel welcome straight away. The rooms are comfortable and well ventilated and the More
tjess3141 (Scotland) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 13th Aug 2015

The room that I stayed in smelled so bad that I couldn't sleep well. I was able to talk to the staff the next day to get some air freshener. I've stayed at many hostels before and I understand sometimes it just smells, but this was more than a normal smell that I couldn't stand. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 261 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

This place was great. A mix between a guesthouse and a traditional home. I couldn't expect more from it, but I'm not surprised anymore in Japan, service and hospitality there are a must. Clean, convenient, with a very helpful staff who give you tips to plan your trip. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Jul 2015

I can definitely recommend this place. We thought it was a little bit hard to find, but the location is nice and easy to get around the city from. The staff was superb and went out of their way to help us out and give us tips on what to do and see. We stayed in the twin private japanese More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback