X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Lake District, England

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 81 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Loved this place. It's a quiet big-house style hostel tucked back in the beautiful landscape of Grasmere. The staff was super nice too; we couldn't have enjoyed it more. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 7th Nov 2014

Staff were friendly, location was great. A little expensive for the room however I think most places in the Lake District are quite pricey so in that respect good value for money. Would stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 66 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Lovely hostel, friendly staff. Only issues were noisy mattresses and that you couldn't get a wee cuppa! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 18th Oct 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Looking forward to the summers for my next trip. More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 12th Oct 2014

For self catering, New Ing Lodge loses some of its gloss! The kitchen is far too small and the stove barely works. It seems a shame when every other aspect of the Lodge (the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the rooms the very building itself) is way above average. I would stay More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 5th Aug 2014

Good, quiet, clean and comfortable, would stay here again if in the area More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 254 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

Fantastic location on the waterfront. Easy to walk into Ambleside town as well as catch a bus to wherever you want to go in the Lake District. The staff were friendly. The downside was only having 2 toilets and 1 shower on the floor which meant had to wait in line. There was never soap in More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 8th Aug 2014

great place right next to the lake, great views and perfect location, staff are really helpful with directions and suggestions for walks. More
isaacb6125 (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 321 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 20%
  • 24th Oct 2014

i cancelled my reservation before i even went. why dont you do a better job on your website More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 11th Oct 2014

The staff hassled us about being a half-hour late on our checkout, like we'd committed some great crime. And when we tried eating our breakfast after checking out, we were constantly told that we're late, and were not allowed to eat in peace as the cleaning lady kept giving out to us about More
Anonymous (Latvia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 89 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 49%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Felt extremely ripped off staying here - no heating on in mid November, which meant our wet shoes never got dry for the next day, there was no soap in the toilets but we did manage to find some in the kitchen - although in the kitchen there were no hand towels so presumably people were More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 26th Sep 2014

Major concern: cleanliness. It's below what I expected in a country like the UK. For the price I didin't expect the Savoy but I expect a minimum. The common room and my room were, very simply, dirty. In the 3 days I was there not once did someone go in my room and on-suite to check on More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 69%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

Awesome helpful staff. Great value food options. Clean More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

Canteen should be 24 hours and need entertainment facilities More
Anonymous (Bangladesh) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback