X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Lake District, England

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 76 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 8th Aug 2015

Nice quiet location, but poor phone signal. Ideal for getting into nature. Plenty of walking trails nearby and staff are good at recommending hikes. I came here to look for a job and the staff were good on suggestions also. More
Ikas90 (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 6th Jun 2015

Hi, I loved that there were all ages at the hostel. Families with babies and young children, students from the field centre, and the rest. Lovely location. Mrs Axtmann More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 89 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 7th Aug 2015

Situated away from main area, Windermere and 15mins coach ride from Ambleside. Beautiful scenery surrounding. Pros: standard YHA hostel, great security, big dorm room. Cons: kitchen away from main building, without shelter (rains frequently) More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

My friends and I had a lovely stay- thanks! More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 286 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Lovely place in glorious location right in the middle of the Lake District by Windermere Lake. Lovely bar with good and affordable meals. All linen provided. Would come again anytime. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 29th Jul 2015

Clean, comfortable hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Only comment is that the car park is far too small and perhaps the hostel should cover the cost of parking in the nearby pay&display area for the customers that they cannot accommodate in their car park. The dorm room would More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 156 Total Reviews

No.4

  • YHA Windermere

  • Bridge Lane, Troutbeck, Windermere, Cumbria, Lake District
  • 77%
  • 12th Aug 2015

Hostel is in a really nice place, with fantastic view. Room was clean and nice, beds were comfortable. Staff was kind of bored, and demotivated. Pizza in the restaurant is awful and expensive, better to go to somewhere else to eat. More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 1st Aug 2015

Hostel isn't the easiest to get to if you don't have a car. Its a long walk up a hill or a £8 taxi. Hostel it's self was good and very clean More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 113 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Really nice athmosphere, we enjoyed our stay More
Anonymous (Ecuador) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 13th Aug 2015

Kendal Hostel is cutting edge funtctional genius! It is a fund of English Lakes District information, as friendly as the folks at home, parked contentedly amidst England at its very best. Note that the Stagecoach buses manage to probe the English Lakes like a deft fleet of brain surgeons, More
aloha490 (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

Clean, well managed, friendly. Everything as I expected. Would stay again. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

the showers were good but not every one goes to the lakes just to walk is thorney how just for walkers . the idea of long corridors isnt to good for me noise factor of other people in my case i was in centre of two other rooms trying to communicate to each other . More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YHA Keswick

  • Station Road, Keswick, Cumbria, Lake District
  • 80%
  • 15th Aug 2015

One of the best YHA hostels I've been to in terms of location and staff. We paid for a cooked breakfast (£5), which was good. Note that the hostel does not have its own car park and it would have been good to know about local parking arrangements before we arrived. Some of the More
rcmundy7281 (England) (All Male Group) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 12th Apr 2015

I was checking out this hostel for a future cycle holiday. It was perfect for my needs. The only drawback was the steps to the main door where I would need to take my bike and paniers. I am sure I will still stay there. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 370 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 74%
  • 25th Aug 2015

I never saw any "staff", but the place seemed to be reasonably well-maintained, although it would be nice to have instructions as to how to operate the TV. Security is good, except that the code is the same for all of the rooms, so anyone could go into any of the rooms at any time. It More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Could do with having a pack of cards as there was only 1 game and 1 jigsaw. Also I could not find a hair dryer . I stayed in room 2 and unfortunately I had the worst mattress and spent 2 nights with springs sticking into me. I did not see the warden but I did report a minor problem to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback