X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Lake District, England

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 12th Oct 2014

For self catering, New Ing Lodge loses some of its gloss! The kitchen is far too small and the stove barely works. It seems a shame when every other aspect of the Lodge (the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the rooms the very building itself) is way above average. I would stay More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 260 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 21st Jan 2015

amazing place right on the lake. I would recommend this place to anyone going to the lake district. staff are very knowledgeable about hikes in the area. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 17th Jan 2015

This is a really excellent hostel. The staff and facilities were great, and they have a generous amount of parking. They are located just a short walk away from Ambleside's shops and restaurants. I would not hesitate to stay here again the next time I am in Cumbria. More
Anonymous (Australia) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 82 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Loved this place. It's a quiet big-house style hostel tucked back in the beautiful landscape of Grasmere. The staff was super nice too; we couldn't have enjoyed it more. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 7th Nov 2014

Staff were friendly, location was great. A little expensive for the room however I think most places in the Lake District are quite pricey so in that respect good value for money. Would stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 67 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Really nice place, I would recommend! But the beds make A LOT of noise. (i got woken up in the middle of the nice by someone just turning). But it was a nice stay, thank you! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Lovely hostel, friendly staff. Only issues were noisy mattresses and that you couldn't get a wee cuppa! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 147 Total Reviews

No.5

  • YHA Windermere

  • Bridge Lane, Troutbeck, Windermere, Cumbria, Lake District
  • 91%
  • 11th Mar 2015

I had a great time at YHA! Not many people around when I was there but very friendly atmosphere. Nice and clean, with plenty of lockers in the rooms and personal socket for charging. Off in the sticks a bit but that was nice in its own way (beautiful setting with views of the lake). Staff More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 19th Feb 2015

It was an excellent hostel. It has a very beautiful view, it's clean and the breakfast is delicious (but it is not in the price). It is about 10mn from the bus station by walk but it is not a problem because the landscape is very beautiful. It was mostly families who stayed there (we were More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 12th Jan 2015

Overall this was a good stay. However, the reception is not open 24hr as stated in facilities (sign posted on the front door advises that reception hours are 08:00-10:00 & 17:00-20:00), very annoying when you arrive at 2pm expecting to be able to leave your bags and explore, although the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 49%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Felt extremely ripped off staying here - no heating on in mid November, which meant our wet shoes never got dry for the next day, there was no soap in the toilets but we did manage to find some in the kitchen - although in the kitchen there were no hand towels so presumably people were More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 331 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 6th Mar 2015

We found it a little odd that there is no reception and everything is done on a sort of do it yourself basis. It's perfectly ok, but would be nice to have someone to talk to if you have any questions or queries. The rooms are great, really comfy beds and there are sinks in the rooms, which More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 20th Feb 2015

Positives - it was very clean. Cool common room with beanbags. Close to train/bus. A few walks posted downstairs. Negatives - 1 combined toilet and shower for the whole hostel. 1 power point in a 6 bed room. Need to know - You need the correct change because you pay in an envelope, not More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback