Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melaka, Malaysia

  • 86%
  • 610 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 15th Nov 2015

We had no problems with our stay. Location is excellent. We booked a private room and on arrival we had the choice on what room we preferred. The wifi was quite poor in our room but worked excellent in the common area - which is where we spent most of our time anyway. Would stay here More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 13th Nov 2015

Great hostel with a great atmosphere. Nice and clean, so cheap and the location is just perfect. The restaurant next door is a great place to eat. A meal is about RM5 for a good portion and they'll bring it so you can eat it in the social area of the hostel. You'll meet the guy who runs it More
Anonymous (Wales) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 397 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2015

Loved the staff, you can rent a bike pretty cheap, staff will help you with everything, atmosphere was genius. If you're planning on staying in Melaca, Jalan Jalan is definetly recommendable - especially for backpackers. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Jul 2015

This hostel is great and with a wonderful vibe! Staff is very friendly, there are facilities like renting a bike (5MR for your whole stay), you can do laundry here as well and they have a hot shower if you need one. The dorm was very comfortable as well as the common area. Another asset is More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 261 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Initially thought that I'll be staying above the discovery cafe, only to be brought over to the opposite building. Nonetheless, u get what you paid for: a bed and a place to shower:). More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Nov 2015

I was here for 4 days and my only regret is that i couldn't stay longer. Staff were awesome and always friendly, facilities were decent, breakfast was awesome, and the location could not have been any better. I met some awesome people whilst there and will definately visit again if i'm More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 108 Total Reviews


  • 60%
  • 21st Nov 2015

We didn't have high expectations as we were expecting a hostel type environment. We arrived from Singapore hoping to at least have a shower only to find that they had no clean towels left and there was no warm water, we didnt expect hot. They suggested we shower in the morning and they More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Basic hostel at good location .but it's enough .nothing much atmosphere.because there are not so many people like kl ...small place . More
Anonymous (South Korea) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 1033 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

We would come here again still here though it's so good very homely feel not new and modern but very nice to be in a home with your own share fridge and kitchen. Love it Bill n Kim More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 10th Nov 2015

Great, cozy place to stay at when you're in Melaka! We loved it there! The people are great, rooms are ok, the house is really nice and the terrace with the riverview is amazing. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 406 Total Reviews


  • 71%
  • 6th Nov 2015

Good - The staff were lovely and the location fantastic, right on the beautiful river front and 5 mins from Jonker street. Tea and coffee available all day and was great to drink outside by the river! Bad - I was in a room right next to the front door which looked like a concrete cell, More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

When I booked the hostel online, I stated that I would arrive around 6pm. When I arrived at the hostel, around 6:30pm, I was stood at the door, ringing the door bell for 15 minutes. Not ideal after a long journey. However, the lady was very apologetic. The rooms were very clean and the More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 861 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 6th Nov 2015

Awsome place with awsome people. Nice, tidy and easy. Great valve for money More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 26th Oct 2015

Very homely place, extremely comfortable and good location. Bikes available to rent which is very handy, cheap to stay at and plenty of films on the TV so was handy for when it was pissing with rain! However I was irritated that halfway through watching Captain America I was told to turn More
charrjaina (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 764 Total Reviews


  • 43%
  • 13th Nov 2015

i i am very disappointed,last time is my first choice, now is my last choice, the first day i told the malay housekeeping and the reception, ols change to room a tomorrow, but next no change and non clean the room, second day i repeat to both of tham,but still no change when i back 10pm, More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 2nd Nov 2015

Not a very nice hostel in my opinion but unfortunately in Melaka there are not a lot of options. Weird smell in the rooms, stains on the sheets. Location of course very good and beds quite comfy. Most of the time there is no staff around. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 77%
  • 92 Total Reviews


  • 60%
  • 10th Oct 2015

Just a bed for backpacker with a very good location. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Aug 2015

great service from owner & we love the location since it was in front of the river of Melaka More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad

  • 55%
  • 185 Total Reviews


  • 51%
  • 6th Aug 2015

Alright, here is my experience at the Backpacker's Freak Hostel in the nutshell: 1) The room was as small as a prison cell. 2) very stinky and damp! 3) the wardrobe was broken and useless. 4) the bathroom didnt have any hanger so I had to hang my towel and clothes on over the door 5) More
Anonymous (Iran) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 17th Jul 2015

Found the hostel but there was no answer at the front door. Eventually called from my English number and a man came and met us and took us to Hotel LB which was in the road behind - apparently they have a shared reception but there is nothing to tell you this. One lady who worked there was More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback