X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melaka, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 441 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 11th Dec 2014

I have not a single bad word to say about this hostel! It's insanely cheap and has possibly the best and most chilled atmosphere of any hostel I've been in. Lee really makes the hostel like your mini family for however long you're staying in Melaka, he shows you amazing local places to eat More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 9th Dec 2014

YES. I have been hostel-ing for 9 years & my stay at Jalan-Jalan was one of the loveliest. The hostel is both charming & a bit dingy, 'shabby chic' if you will, w/ excellent value for private rooms w/ fan & mossie net. Strong WIFI, hot water. But that's not the highlight - it's the social More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 346 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A truly great stay. The hostel itself is quite basic, but very comfortable, and consists of two buildings/homes roughly 50m away from each other. Victor was very welcoming and is a truly genuine person. The self-styled 'PR Manager' of Jalan-Jalan, Lee, made the hostel a great place to More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 23rd Oct 2014

It would be nice to have more than one room with air con and toilet area closed so we won't share it with lizzards. More
Anonymous (Portugal) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 628 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 29th Nov 2014

Keep up the good work! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 21st Nov 2014

My 2nd stay here. But this time I stay in mixed dorm instead. The bed is super comfy, good atmosphere (with rooftop garden, garden shower and what seems to me like Balinese living hall), air-con working great. Best hostel / guest house / budget stay ever. Will definitely stay here again if More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 158 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 28th Nov 2014

Friendly and helpful staff More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 28th Nov 2014

The dorm is actually in a different building a block away from the cafe, just a few minutes walk though. 5 minutes away from jonker street and other tourist attraction. More
irfan_halimi (Indonesia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 759 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 29th Nov 2014

Howard and Andrew were absolutely brilliant, so helpful, provided a great atmosphere and really made an effort to introduce everyone to each other. Took us on a bike ride to the local's markets then we all ate the food with beers on the roof terrace. Howard gave us restaurant More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 26th Nov 2014

Ver well located, nice staff willing to help you, lovely terrace, good WIFI connection... Thumbs up for this place! More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 917 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 60%
  • 15th Dec 2014

The security here is so excellent, they don't even let you stay! I arrived late in the evening around 11 or so and the never answered the door. I had to find a spot next door which cost more than I was looking to spend. Poor form River View, poor form. More
bckwrdrvltn (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Dec 2014

River View Guest House has been going for some years now, but the charm of the old Chinese shop house endures. Gleaming wooden floors upstairs, a flower-fringed balcony, the downstairs lounge that stays cool during the afternoon, it is all very pleasant. The business has grown. There is More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 72 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 83%
  • 16th Nov 2014

Kitchen and wash/shower rooms need upkeep. Beds squeak so loud and there might have been bed bugs? But Stanley was a lovely host! Location is great - with access to the river at the back. I'd definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Lokasinya sangat strategis, dekat dengan Malaka River, Jonker Street dan Bangunan Merah. Pemandangan Melaka River dari belakang hostel sangat menarik. Sayang, fasilitas dan kebersihan kurang serta banyak hal memerlukan renovasi dari tempat ini. Tapi para stafnya sangat baik dan ramah. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 382 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 8th Nov 2014

Very friendly host, helpful, courteous and polite person. More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 25th Oct 2014

This is my second time to Oriental Riverside Residence, miss Wan, since he's not working there anymore, move to another place, but the lady who replace Wan place is very nice, Yan the owner, still hang up there sometime, overall, Oriental Riverside Residence is a very nice place, enjoy More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 82 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 11th Dec 2014

i had a great time here! There were awesome people staying there and the staff is amazing and always willing to help. There is a fun vibe about the place when u meet strangers and a fun with the staff too....the hostel is overall good and i will be recomending to my friends if they go to More
Anonymous (India) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Nothing to see here. If you're looking to meet people and have a home base for Melaka this isn't it. The space is TINY, it's basically a reception, a bathroom, and 3 giant dorms. The staff are not friendly at all. A lot of the people here have the "live in" feeling. Like they stay here More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 55%
  • 180 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 43%
  • 26th Jul 2014

Stayed here as it was Hari Raya and there was no other budget friendly rooms in Melaka. We were in a cramped dorm room, sheets weren't clean and it was so hot with only one small fan to cool the whole room. The room was probably worth the 10MYR we paid but the second night we changed rooms More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller
  • 63%
  • 8th Jul 2014

Basic 4 bed dorm, no lockers, more or less clean. i had to pay at the hotel nearby. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback