X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Had a great time here. Matt and the team are helpful if you're looking for work or just chilling for a few weeks as a stop over/ break for party hostels.. There is a knack to perfecting the showers - maximum hot and a nudge of cold! Challenge - get Toby the cat to become your friend. More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Jul 2015

It's a very nice house. The owner Matt is super serious about the cleanliness, which is awesome. Most people are open minded which makes a great atmosphere. Beds are comfortable. The kitchen has just one place to cook but somehow it always works out without waiting. Plus Domino's is around More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 549 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Second stay at Collingwood Backpackers and still just as good! Brilliant homely feel in an ideal location, everyone including the staff were friendly and genuinely made you feel comfortable! I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Melbourne! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Jul 2015

Had an amazing time here. More like a share house than a hostel. Owner's really laidback. Good atmosphere. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 620 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 2nd Apr 2015

I've stayed here before and the staff - as always - are brilliant. Was here to do business so a desk for my computer would have been good. I prefer to control my own A/C but they control it it from the front desk and although you can ask them to turn it up or down it because a bit More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Mar 2015

We got a very cheap online-deal, great value for money. The hotel is about 20min. walk from the "free tram zone", but here are some very nice restaurants arround the corner. Furniture is outdated, but the room was clean. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 783 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 40%
  • 25th Aug 2015

If you like the smell of sewage 24/7, then this establishment is perfect for you. Not only was the sewage smell a constant in the hallway, but also in the rooms; it was a wonderful stench to wake up to. Additionally, the bed sheets felt damp all the time AND upon checkout you have to More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND here! Stuff is super nice!~The bed and sheet are comfortable and clean, everyone has a small light on wall. There has bar under floor. I was so lucky, I got a buy one get one free voucher and $5 for whole Domino Pizza! And there is not cold in the night time. The More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1099 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 20th Aug 2015

I was really impressed by the cleanliness of this hotel. I liked the drinking water facilities on every level and the private showers. The communal kitchen was large and had great views. It was also quiet - and I stayed on the same floor as the gym. I would stay at The Space hotel More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 14th Aug 2015

Loved it. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Staff gave me key to wrong room when I arrived which wasn't fantastic but not a deal breaker :) More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1077 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Great staff, enjoyed the stay. Paid for extended check out times though and got woken up multiple times asking why we hadn't checked out yet. But otherwise a great stay. More
nitajane (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Aug 2015

Overall, had a great experience but the rooms were pretty dirty. They only did slight vacuuming during the day and the bathrooms had mold growing. Definitely could use a deep cleaning in the rooms and bathrooms. All the bathrooms/showers are in-suite. Staff were friendly overall, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 200 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

Friendly staff good atmosphere! It's all good if you dont care about concerts happening downstairs during night time :) More
Anonymous (Turkey) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 31st Jul 2015

The Bendigo hotel was a great place to stay! It's a small place but has a great kitchen and they basically leave you to your own accord, it is easy to get back whenever you want. The location was great, not far from trams and overall a good area. Tiffany and all the staff are super More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 167 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

Very nice experience for me More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 26th May 2015

I have no complaints with the hostel, great location, all staff are friendly and helpful, the most important thing is that the bathroom is always in a clean conditions. Tired of walking and strolling City?just laid back at the rooftop, and meet a new friend there. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1115 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Habitat HQ

  • 333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda, Melbourne
  • 86%
  • 12th Aug 2015

It's was great! Just what I needed for a good price. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 6th Aug 2015

nice hostel, but too many people who were working, so it wasn't that sociable, because then people don't really talk to the new people More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1088 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Lovely place to stay. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 9th Aug 2015

Great experience in the single room. Felt very safe! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback