X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 67 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 12th Feb 2014

Well really enjoyed my time there at CMA made some awesome friends. Plenty activities to do there and shopping centre's are across the road plenty of bars. train station and Tram system quite close to hostel can be in the CBD in 10 minutes. Very Close to MCG and AAMI Park, Rod Laver More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Jan 2014

Exactly what I was looking for to watch the Australian Open for a few weeks and enjoy Melbourne. Nice walkable location. Minimum week stay makes it feel much more like a home and more comfortable, safe, and secure. Very graciously got free tickets to the Australian Open for all guests. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 595 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 3rd Mar 2014

We booked for 3nights at this place, but after our 1st night we decided to book 7 more nights. We loved staying here at an ensuite room. The staff is very friendly and rembered us and our room number, I think it made our stay feel as close to home as à budget hotel can do. And that is the More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Feb 2014

Nice Hotel. Friendly Staff. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 845 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 77%
  • 11th Apr 2014

Nice hostel, clean bathroom in the room, an easy tram ride from Melbourne CBD. Staff were very helpful, and Saturday nights there's a good atmosphere in the bar downstairs. A bit pricey, but overall a nice place to stay! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 10th Apr 2014

stayed in mixed dorm loved it staff excellent More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 129 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 49%
  • 10th Apr 2014

The hostel is very far away from the center and it takes over 30 minutes to walk to the closest tramstation! If you like metal music it's the right place to stay because the metalbar at the groundfloor belongs the the hostel and there are gigs every night so you can hear it very loud in More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Mar 2014

This hostel is more like a shared house, just the way a hostel should be. Everyone is like a big family hanging out together. Tiff and Guy are very friendly and helpful. Cheap food and drinks in the bar downstairs and free entry into all the gigs. What more can you ask for? Located in my More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 8th Mar 2014

goo location as ever More
ikew2012 (China) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 60%
  • 11th Nov 2013

After reading comments, I decided to stay at this Hostel as it sounded like a quieter option then the ones in town. What I did not expect was to hear the bathroom doors going all night long, so in fact I got very little sleep..... Also, the heating paanels in the kitchen worked poorly and More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 468 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 4th Apr 2014

Fairly good location. While the hostel was quite messy during my stay it wasn't dirty. Bathrooms were spotless. Very social environment. Cool cat. Beds were comfy. More
Sheep2409 (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 4th Apr 2014

Stay at this hostel if you're looking for a big shared house with a family feel where you can smoke indoors. Do NOT stay at this hostel if you're looking for somewhere with conventional hostel services, such as a 24hour reception, good standard of hygiene etc. More
lizdavis903764 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1272 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 11th Apr 2014

This was probably the best hostel I stayed in. The staff was excessively friendly and remembered my name, the place was decent and clean, and the other inmates caused no trouble. I would have given you a five star rating if not for the beds. Do something about the beds! I almost pulled the More
levertvagy6187 (Hungary) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Apr 2014

This place is fantastic - great staff and facilities, good location, be sure to ask lots of questions regarding what to see and do then go on and explore! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 796 Total Reviews

No.8

  • The Nunnery

  • 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy 30065, Melbourne
  • 91%
  • 7th Apr 2014

Great place to stay, people are very friendly. The hostel itself is very nice and the staff very friendly and helpfull. Had a really good time there, if I come back to Melbourne I'll definitely go to the Nunnery. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 6th Apr 2014

Had a really nice room with a tv (luxery!) only real negatives are paying for wifi and the kitchen is extremely small. Had to eat very early to avoid the rush. More
s_h156897 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 143 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 66%
  • 1st Feb 2014

The location of the hostel is great - very easy to find and only a short walk from the city centre. But there was a very weird smell in the room (and the adjacent room) which wasn't pleasant. The kitchen wasn't that clean either. Our room was next to a balcony which got very noisy at night More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 20th Dec 2013

Beds are extremely squeaky and it can be difficult to get on the top bunk. The layout makes it kinda hard to meet people. Room got kinda warm but it was the middle of summer. Really didn't like having to pay for internet but it could have been worse. Overall, it's a pretty good hostel More
mwwalk (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 926 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 97%
  • 8th Apr 2014

great great place to stay!! beautiful deco and lovely staff!! More
Anonymous (China) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 29th Mar 2014

Very comfortable stay in great location for the flying visitor as I was, thanks very much. Good atmosphere, clean rooms, only reluctance to giving full rating is value for money of double room. Think I was overcharged based on my deposit and owing to booking changes...however that's also More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback