X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 875 Total Reviews

No.1

  • The Nunnery

  • 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy 30065, Melbourne
  • 74%
  • 12th Sep 2014

The room was a bit dirty and the beds were not that comfort but overall it is a nice hostel. The fact that the wifi is paid is really a bummer. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 8th Sep 2014

Colonial style building situated 3 km north of Melbourne CBD. Although it was safe and clean the showers hot water was malfunctioning. I did not try the other showers though. Recommended but for only a short stay. However it was advertised the Skybus would would "drop you off at their More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 928 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 9th Sep 2014

Really friendly place with loads going on! Bar at night always busy with a good atmosphere, staff were great also! I stay in a mixed 8 bed with was fine with ensuite! Would and have recommended this to a friend and definitely would stay again More
Jennwatson19881196 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

10/10 in all departments! Loved every moment of our stay in Base St Kilda. Super friendly staff, immaculate private room with the best shower ever (the small things... its kind of a big deal), had heaps of fun at the bar with cheap drinks and live music, free BBQ for dinner. All round More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 211 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 21st Jul 2014

Superbly welcoming Hostel, in one of the best locations you could ask for in Melbourne. I might even have to pop back at some point. More
aclines1909 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Double private room was small, but warmed up fast with good heater. Also, bed and linen was good quality, with a warm doona. Water in shower was always hot. Cleaner comes in morning to clean everything, otherwise by the evening, the kitchen is pretty ordinary - quite messy. No staff in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 163 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Cannot sing their praises loudly enough! I would recommend this hostel in a heartbeat. Great place, staff are helpful and friendly, the owner is accommodating. What more could you want? More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 70 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 3rd May 2014

Really enjoy my stay here. Good place to relax not as busy as big hostels Only 5 min train journey away from the cdb and shops ar all close by hostel More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 610 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

It was a good choice of accomodation but it was bad luck we were there just when the guest kitchen was closed because of refurbishment. That will be good for future guests though. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 1st Aug 2014

This was the first time for me at the MIAMI. We where a little bit out of town, but I did not know that the TRAMS were just up the road in Victoria street. Having always stayed in Spencer Street this took a little getting used too. The room was perfect. 2 beds for 2 blokes. The Hotel was More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1376 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

Could not fault the Home at The Mansion, as it was close to the hospital, which was my main reason in staying there , I would highly recommend the Mansion for anyone that was in Melbourne and required this type of accommodation, it was as its name stated and felt like Home. With kind More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 30th Aug 2014

Website didn't specify what was provided linen-wise which would have been helpful My daughter's mattress was very lumpy but my bed was comfy. (room 8 top bunk on right) Floorboards creaking could have been annoying. Showers are great. I liked that the windows open & can get fresh air. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 913 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 28th Aug 2014

One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at worldwide. A big hostel with advantages like a rooftop deck and spa, bar etc, but disadvantages being not really having a personal experience, and it is not 18+ so some teens were on our level which I'm not used to in hostels. But for what we More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Aug 2014

the cleanest hostel i've ever been in Melbourne. great facilities. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 817 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 29th Aug 2014

Very friendly staff, good location in St Kilda, and very nice private room, at a decent price. Towels and fridge/coffee-tea included in the private rooms. More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th Aug 2014

All fine - would stay there again. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 592 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

Amazing hostel! If it was a little cheaper, I would have probably rated higher- I think Australia in a whole is to blame. I will definitely come back and recommend to anyone hesitant More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Aug 2014

To stay at Ritz Hostel was a very good decision. It was the best way to start in Melbourne here, I got in touch with lots of people, probably 90 % was german :) It is a very safe place and everyone in very friendly and helps you. And its really not to loud there.. I enjoyed the free More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback