X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 616 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 24th Oct 2014

Just didn't like the breakfast served. The panckages were dry and they burned the muffin. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 577 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 25th Mar 2015

Made to feel very welcome! I will return later on my trip More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 18th Mar 2015

nice location but I was stolen some clothes. maybe housekeeper cleaned. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 263 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 3rd Jan 2015

Nice rooms with enough space, great kitchen on a rooftop with places to sit down. Only negative: we got told it takes 90 minutes to the airport, so we planned ahead. But it fook around 5 minutes from hotel to train station, where the bus left for the airport and arrived in like 20 minutes More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 158 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 16th Mar 2015

This YHA is within three blocks of Southern Cross transit station, and right on the Free Tram Circle route---both advantages. As a senior citizen traveling alone, I appreciated that the staff seemed to put me into a dorm that had predominantly senior travelers in it. Younger travelers More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Card for enther doesn't work frequently More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 82 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 6th Feb 2015

The owner could be a little less stressed out but is tolerable none the less. The atmosphere is great here, a small hostel where everyone gets to know each other since everyone has to stay at least a week. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 24th Jan 2015

I booked to stay at CMA for a week...almost 2 months on and I'm still here! Really good location, close to Melbourne CBD as well as everything Richmond has to offer. Good facilties, comfortable bedrooms & living areas and the biggest video collection I've ever seen! Steve the owner is More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1034 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 17th Mar 2015

best backpackers in Melbourne! amazing facilities. free cinema 24/7! the rooms are big and spacious clean sturdy beds. staff were great let me check in early only wish the meeting room was open to meet people. definitely stay there every time in Melbourne. More
Anonymous (Australia) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Best Hostel I've stayed in since I arrived in Australia, excellent facilities and cleanliness. Would definitely have extended my stay had it not been for the price. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1029 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

Great place with an amazing atmosphere, 2 minute walk to the beach, and all kinds of mayhem on every night! More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 20th Mar 2015

Think I made the wrong choice picking Base because I'm a grumpy old bugger but all the social interaction that's available in the bar/common areas seem to be really good for the more lively of people. The shower was pretty awful if I'm honest, not overly hot water and the water pressure More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1032 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Habitat HQ

  • 333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda, Melbourne
  • 69%
  • 27th Mar 2015

Generally fine. But there is a weird sour smell in the room even I did ask to change one. Later guess because the flooring is Capet n that might absorb the smell over the years. Also the shower room rack are dirty n rusty. Maybe they just need a renovation More
Anonymous (Singapore) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Nice hostel overall. However I found it strange that I had to leave my bags either unattended or pay for lockers after checking out when they had a storage room. I bit cheap of them in my opinion. When I asked about the luggage storage the lady in the reception was rude about it too. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 980 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 43%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Some of the staff were nice, some were really patronising and rude. It appeared clean until we looked closer. The kitchen only has a toaster and microwave so you can't cook anything decent. Building site behind so was woken up at 4:15am. Definitely not a place for backpackers. Local area More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Mar 2015

Staff was friendly, location is excellent! More
drmaureenmurphy188 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1540 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 26th Mar 2015

Great place to stay if you're coming to Melbourne! The staff are awesome, the place itself is one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at and I met a great group of people while I was here. The place itself is right by the free tram zone to the CBD, and its a short walk to Bruswick More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 21st Mar 2015

The kitchen was filthy and common areas not inviting. Guests are expected to make their own beds which was a hassle arriving late in a dorm room and the beds/linen did not look clean. I expected a bit more from the reviews but will not be staying here again. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback