X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 55 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 28th Apr 2015

Everything was amazing. A great place. I would tell anyone thinking about melb to look into it. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 28th Mar 2015

Staying at Landing Pads feels more like staying in a house than in a hostel. Because of the 7 night minimum everybody gets to know each other, which is nice. Matt will help you get started with all the necessary stuff: taxes, RSA etc. Its a cool place More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 679 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 22nd May 2015

Power plugs at every bed, great location:-) One of the hostels More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 19th May 2015

I loved this hostel. It has been one of the best I have stayed in. Would defiantly recommend and go back. :) More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1053 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 20th May 2015

Loved my time at Base! Great group of backpackers and really friendly staff! Would love to have stayed longer! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th May 2015

Had a great time here! Staff were friendly and helpful and made me feel so welcome!! Good place to party and meet people of you're travelling alone. Also there's cheap and even free food deals most days. Would definitely come back. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 266 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 3rd Jan 2015

Nice rooms with enough space, great kitchen on a rooftop with places to sit down. Only negative: we got told it takes 90 minutes to the airport, so we planned ahead. But it fook around 5 minutes from hotel to train station, where the bus left for the airport and arrived in like 20 minutes More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 164 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 16th Mar 2015

This YHA is within three blocks of Southern Cross transit station, and right on the Free Tram Circle route---both advantages. As a senior citizen traveling alone, I appreciated that the staff seemed to put me into a dorm that had predominantly senior travelers in it. Younger travelers More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Card for enther doesn't work frequently More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1061 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 20th May 2015

Overall, a very good experience. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 18th May 2015

A very nice hostel. If you're looking for privacy then this is great! Huge lockers, 4 plug sockets per person with some inside the lockers, a personal bedside light which you can dim too, and no communal showers or toilets! However wifi is very expensive. One of the best hostels we've More
Lawrencetaylor (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 992 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 21st May 2015

Clean and conveniently located near the train station. Staff was friendly and reception was 24 hours. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 15th May 2015

Great spot and beautiful historic interior - staff were professional and warm. I was on the second floor and the showers took a little while to heat up but all amenities were kept very clean and tidy. I was only there on a very brief overnight trip for an awards event and probably only More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 618 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 2nd Apr 2015

I've stayed here before and the staff - as always - are brilliant. Was here to do business so a desk for my computer would have been good. I prefer to control my own A/C but they control it it from the front desk and although you can ask them to turn it up or down it because a bit More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Mar 2015

We got a very cheap online-deal, great value for money. The hotel is about 20min. walk from the "free tram zone", but here are some very nice restaurants arround the corner. Furniture is outdated, but the room was clean. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 542 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 9th Apr 2015

great location. great atmosphere, amazing people, cool cozy place. 10 bed room is chaotic and dirty with poor ventilation. kitchen and living area and backyard are messy and a bit dirty and you need to wash other people's dish if you need them. toilets are clean but shower are as clean. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Apr 2015

Staying at collingwood backpackers was a great way to start my trip around Australia. The people, the atmosphere and the location made me feel instantly comfortable. Some of the reviews state that it's only a good hostel for long term staying and I get where this is coming from but I have More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 188 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 18th May 2015

Was a good stay. Friendly staff made it very welcoming and its biggest selling points i would think are, its a cheap bed, close to the CBD, has a bar downstairs and has the potential of making friends with fellow tourists in your dorm.The Bendigo is definitely a place i would be happy to More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th May 2015

i always stay here when in Melbourne and they play great gigs there to on the weekend More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback