X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 53 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 28th Mar 2015

Staying at Landing Pads feels more like staying in a house than in a hostel. Because of the 7 night minimum everybody gets to know each other, which is nice. Matt will help you get started with all the necessary stuff: taxes, RSA etc. Its a cool place More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Landing Pads is a fantastic place to start your stay in Australia. More of a share house than your typical hostel, LPs is full of people looking for work, or already employed. The owner of the hostel, Matt, is a top guy who is always willing to help with the job hunt or trips around town More
johnsteies1018 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 637 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 3rd May 2015

Great place, free wifi, clean, good stay but very loud doors and creaky beds. Would stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 27th Apr 2015

This was definitely a top quality hostel only downside was the lack of wifi in the rooms Other then that it has everything you could want! Seriously, so good to stay somewhere with peace of mind More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 162 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 16th Mar 2015

This YHA is within three blocks of Southern Cross transit station, and right on the Free Tram Circle route---both advantages. As a senior citizen traveling alone, I appreciated that the staff seemed to put me into a dorm that had predominantly senior travelers in it. Younger travelers More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Card for enther doesn't work frequently More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 264 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 3rd Jan 2015

Nice rooms with enough space, great kitchen on a rooftop with places to sit down. Only negative: we got told it takes 90 minutes to the airport, so we planned ahead. But it fook around 5 minutes from hotel to train station, where the bus left for the airport and arrived in like 20 minutes More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1052 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 21st Apr 2015

The best hostel, I've been in!!! More
Michaela85 (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 18th Apr 2015

Great space, will definitely use again. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1043 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 19th Apr 2015

Bathrooms in dorms were kept clean but not floors in dorms or hallways. Staff were helpful. More
clairemckinnon8385 (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 71%
  • 6th Apr 2015

Well its obviously a party hostel, but it would be nice if there was a common area for socializing other than the bar. Bar staff were very rude when i asked to order food instead of alcohol on 7/4/2015. Once they found out i wanted food they acted like i wasnt there until I left to get More
Andrewjohnpollock1170 (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 618 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 2nd Apr 2015

I've stayed here before and the staff - as always - are brilliant. Was here to do business so a desk for my computer would have been good. I prefer to control my own A/C but they control it it from the front desk and although you can ask them to turn it up or down it because a bit More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Mar 2015

We got a very cheap online-deal, great value for money. The hotel is about 20min. walk from the "free tram zone", but here are some very nice restaurants arround the corner. Furniture is outdated, but the room was clean. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1061 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Habitat HQ

  • 333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda, Melbourne
  • 83%
  • 1st May 2015

great hostel close to the beach and a 20 min tram ride to the city More
Florbaires (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

It's a nice backpacker hostel, but quite a number of people are staying here and finding jobs. They have been staying for maybe 2 week or 1 month, treating the mixed dorm as their home and this cause the room become really messy and full of alcohol smell. The hostel should maintain the More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1563 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 1st May 2015

Love this hostel and its location. Staff are very friendly. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne!! More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 6th Apr 2015

Good hostel in a good location.It is a shame that this hostel still charge for wi-fi as now most of hostels around the world do not charge for this service More
Anonymous (Spain) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1049 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 60%
  • 16th Apr 2015

I only stayed two nights and was out most of the day so didn't really see much of the hostel, but but for a bed for the night it was good and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was really good. They the things that they put on of an eveing sounded really good (not that I really had More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 14th Apr 2015

I never expected it to be so good! There is a real homely feeling as soon as you walk through the door, all the people staying there are very friendly and welcoming. The staff are so helpful and go out their way to help you in any way they can (Alyse, Matt, Jackie, Jen, Nikki, Harriet). More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback