X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 883 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 24th Sep 2014

Great value for money, as there's a lot included in the price: free brekky, soup on Wednesday, sausage sizzle on Friday, pancakes on Sunday, pub crawl. Building is stunning and the common areas are nice to hang out. Only bummer was they don't do refunds when you decide to leave early. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 17th Sep 2014

The mattresses were poor (though I think they are in the process of upgrading), the rooms were a bit small, the kitchen and other areas often a bit dirty....but somehow it works. Proof of this is that virtually everyone stops longer than they intended. It's very social, people are nice and More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 71 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Great Hostel. Feels like a home. Very good for long term stay. Steve is extremely helpful with everything. We would defintely stay here again. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 3rd May 2014

Really enjoy my stay here. Good place to relax not as busy as big hostels Only 5 min train journey away from the cdb and shops ar all close by hostel More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 936 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 28th Aug 2014

The location is amazing, 1 minute walk to the tram and train station and a 2 -3 minute walk to Chapel st. Not much of a socializing hostel but I would definitely stay again. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay with you. The only complaint would be the noise in the bedroom corridors from the visiting school groups. It was hard to sleep on those nights, and I had to keep getting up and asking them to be quiet. Also, I had to eat food in the computer space in the dining More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 930 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 25th Sep 2014

Great staff, very professional! Brilliant atmosphere around the hostel (especially when the bar's open) and plenty of theme nights to keep you occupied. Would definitely stay there again when in Melbourne. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Sep 2014

Really friendly place with loads going on! Bar at night always busy with a good atmosphere, staff were great also! I stay in a mixed 8 bed with was fine with ensuite! Would and have recommended this to a friend and definitely would stay again More
Jennwatson19881196 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 211 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 21st Jul 2014

Superbly welcoming Hostel, in one of the best locations you could ask for in Melbourne. I might even have to pop back at some point. More
aclines1909 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Double private room was small, but warmed up fast with good heater. Also, bed and linen was good quality, with a warm doona. Water in shower was always hot. Cleaner comes in morning to clean everything, otherwise by the evening, the kitchen is pretty ordinary - quite messy. No staff in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 164 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 1st Sep 2014

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Rather a shared house than a hostel. Very social. Rezeptionist Gemma does an amazing job! She makes good brownies as well ;) More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Cannot sing their praises loudly enough! I would recommend this hostel in a heartbeat. Great place, staff are helpful and friendly, the owner is accommodating. What more could you want? More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 610 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

It was a good choice of accomodation but it was bad luck we were there just when the guest kitchen was closed because of refurbishment. That will be good for future guests though. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 1st Aug 2014

This was the first time for me at the MIAMI. We where a little bit out of town, but I did not know that the TRAMS were just up the road in Victoria street. Having always stayed in Spencer Street this took a little getting used too. The room was perfect. 2 beds for 2 blokes. The Hotel was More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1386 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 24th Sep 2014

The staff are quite helpful to me...:) More
jessicalyq83 (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 21st Sep 2014

Really relaxed and friendly atmosphere which was really helped by the fantastic staff. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 919 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 19th Sep 2014

Absolutely unbelievable! Best hostel I've ever stayed in! We booked for 3 days and ended up staying 10. The bar, Cinema room, Gym, and kitchen were all excellent, but the piece de resistance was most definitely the roof top! We spent a lot of time in the hot tub or sunbathing on the More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 13th Sep 2014

This hostel was the best! It had been recommended to me by a friend; I was not disappointed. Exceptionally clean, big kitchen with lots of fridges and cooking space, several individual washrooms per floor, and the location is very central to attractions or trams. I hope to visit Melbourne More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 821 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 13th Sep 2014

As an "over 50" couple we were looked after by being roomed away from the communal area and as we were advised the staff made sure the other "younguns" were quietened down by 11 pm. Only downfall was having to park on the street for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed as the parking is limited More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 30th Aug 2014

All the staff are really nice and help you out if you have any problems. There's a nice atmosphere and it's great they put on a free BBQ every Sunday. Would def stay again! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback