X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 166 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 26th Sep 2014

Great place to stay, amazing staff, great location and good atmosphere. Always something going on. Lovely little garden where everyone sits and hangs out. Small and cosy so get to know everyone. Not like some of the bigger ones where it's hard to make friends. Have stayed here on 2 More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Sep 2014

I like the hostel so much that I've decided to stay here indefinitely! More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 959 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 15th Nov 2014

The staff were helpful and friendly, room was small, but the beds were comfortable and clean. Being a Saturday night and with a room facing the road it was crazy noisy, but you get that in St Kilda. The 'where's wally' party seemed awesome. Overall, a great place to stay. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 10th Nov 2014

This was my first time staying at Base. I loved it! After roughing it through Indonesia and the Philippines, it felt so good to do my own laundry and cook my own meals! The kitchen and laundry room were kept very clean. Base was the best party in town every night of the week! Sanctuary More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 613 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 24th Oct 2014

Just didn't like the breakfast served. The panckages were dry and they burned the muffin. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Sep 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Miami Hotel Melbourne and we loved it. Great value for money, comfortable rooms which are serviced daily, access to a well equipped kitchen, close to public transport and a very short walk to local cafes and restaurants. Thoroughly recommend. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 357 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 20th Nov 2014

Heavily staffed so always somebody around to help. Kitchen gets a little dirty but that's down to the guests, and there is always a staff member trying to get on top of it! Rooms spacious and clean. Bar inside hostel = very little atmos in hostel due to NO alcohol rule. Free wifi but poor More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 18th Nov 2014

Loved this hostel and great location right near flinders street station and CBD. Everything was clean and rooms were well equipped. One of the best lounge room set ups I have ever seen with the large steps, meant that there was plenty of room for everyone to have space. Would highly More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 211 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 21st Jul 2014

Superbly welcoming Hostel, in one of the best locations you could ask for in Melbourne. I might even have to pop back at some point. More
aclines1909 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Double private room was small, but warmed up fast with good heater. Also, bed and linen was good quality, with a warm doona. Water in shower was always hot. Cleaner comes in morning to clean everything, otherwise by the evening, the kitchen is pretty ordinary - quite messy. No staff in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 53 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 19th Oct 2014

I stayed in this little hostel for one week and had such an awesome time! Fitzroy is the place to be and Tramstop 14 was one of the best backpackers I've ever stayed! The owners are so cool and caring! O for Awesome! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 3rd Oct 2014

My favourite hostel in Australia so far, the owners are so helpful, the beds are really comfy plus great showers, and the location is amazing! Great atmosphere in the hostel, and everyone is super friendly, its a bit smaller than most hostels so you get to know everyone really well. Great, More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 925 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 18th Nov 2014

Beautiful gardens and courtyards. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Nov 2014

The Nunnery is excellent value for money, the staff was very friendly and although we were not the typical hostel clientele (mum with 12year old daughter) we had a great time and would stay there again. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 952 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 20th Nov 2014

One of the best hostel I've been to. Fully renovated, very well thought, comfy, very clean and the location is awesome. The staff was also very helpful. I'd definitely go back there on my next trip to Melbourne More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 19th Nov 2014

Rooms very clean and spacious. NO free wifi. Kitchen big and clean (cutlery can be borrowed for 20$ deposit). Rooftop and lounge area closes at 9pm - this doesn't help the atmosphere... (I am happy about the no noise rule, but 9pm is really early). Very calm, no noise, bathrooms get More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 945 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 3rd Nov 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely décor as I walked in. It was exactly what I was looking for and I will definitely be back! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 30th Oct 2014

Accommodation was just what we were looking for. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 7th Nov 2014

CMA is a fantastic hostel. It is largely populated by long term, working travellers, which gives the hostel more of a shared house atmosphere. Everyone is very open, friendly More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Oct 2014

Great location, easily accessible by public transport. Hostel has a great atmosphere, people are really nice and of similar mindsets, perfect for a longer stay. Steve is, friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the city. The rooms themselves may look a bit dated but they're comfortable More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback