X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 614 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 24th Oct 2014

Just didn't like the breakfast served. The panckages were dry and they burned the muffin. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Sep 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Miami Hotel Melbourne and we loved it. Great value for money, comfortable rooms which are serviced daily, access to a well equipped kitchen, close to public transport and a very short walk to local cafes and restaurants. Thoroughly recommend. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 961 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 24th Jan 2015

Really close to South Yarra train station and grocery store. Room very small but clean and efficient. Would have loved real coffee instead of instant for breakfast. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 11th Jan 2015

This is a very nice place to stay in an excellent location. It's very clean throughout. The breakfast is the best we have come across in Australia. The wifi works well in the common area but is a little slow in the rooms. A big downside though is there is no oven or hob in the kitchen, More
Anonymous (Wales) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 1000 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 69%
  • 22nd Jan 2015

A pleasant enough stay had no real issues with hostel just massively overpriced, would stay again if not so expensive More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Jan 2015

cool area of melbourne, wonderful staff and overall a very fun place to stay More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 447 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 26th Jan 2015

Great place to stay. Would be great is this place would serve breakfast too. One thing that annoyed me was the noisy street but you know what you sign up for when you book something opposite a train station. Also the rooms need better ventilation - More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 18th Jan 2015

Good hostel but somewhat overrated for the price. Good wifi but limited coverage to rooms was frustrating. Beds, rooms, & facilities are average (lounges were very good though). Staff were professional but not very friendly. More
szritchie9799 (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 998 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 24th Jan 2015

Nice Hostel near the center of Melbourne. Everything was clean, good kitchen. Friendly stuff and a nice sunroof with a good view. More
Anonymous (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Greatly enjoyed my stay here. Only complaint would be the value for money; hostel was more expensive than I had paid anywhere else and you had to pay 5AUD for 24 hours of internet. That said, this seemed to be standard for Melbourne. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 261 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 3rd Jan 2015

Nice rooms with enough space, great kitchen on a rooftop with places to sit down. Only negative: we got told it takes 90 minutes to the airport, so we planned ahead. But it fook around 5 minutes from hotel to train station, where the bus left for the airport and arrived in like 20 minutes More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 78 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Friendly atmosphere, it's literally like one big family, smiles all round, couldn't ask for much especially Steve who went out of his way to help and giving sound advices... Throughly enjoyed my time there.... More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Nov 2014

CMA is a fantastic hostel. It is largely populated by long term, working travellers, which gives the hostel more of a shared house atmosphere. Everyone is very open, friendly More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1490 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

Overall, a good experience, thanks! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

fantastic staff, but internet is expensive. would recommend you make use of the numerous wifi hotspots around melbourne for free internet. very clean and spacious bathrooms. laundry, a bar, next to the free tram. More
Anonymous (Slovenia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 993 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 77%
  • 25th Jan 2015

Try to get a place in the guest house. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I thought it was rather expensive: two people sharing a tiny room with bunk beds. We did appreciate the TV. The kitchen facilities were good and the breakfast was nice. They could do with some new bathmats! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 992 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Habitat HQ

  • 333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda, Melbourne
  • 77%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Decent, good location, helpful staff. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Uncomfy beds but otherwise all round good hostel More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback