X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Melbourne, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 92 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 28th Nov 2015

I enjoyed my stay at CMA a lot, especially the great atmosphere and the lovely people. It doesn't feel like the typical backpacker hostel. it's more like sharing a house with friends! The location is very good as well, just 10 minutes by tram to the city center. i definitely recommend if More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 2nd Sep 2015

I booked in for one week at cma and had such a good time I extended my stay. Steve is great and is very helpful with jobs and is very knowledgeable of the local area. Would definitely recommend this hostel to any one!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 14th Jan 2016

Love this hostel, booked for 2 weeks and been here nearly a month. Everyone is so friendly, the house is kept really clean and the beds are really comfy!! The location is great, Brunswick is a cool suburb and 20 mins from city on a tram/train. Highly recommend Landing Pads! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 12th Jan 2016

The hostel is nice with a great atmosphere. I think that the bedrooms are too overcrowded though! More
imanorm121 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1012 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 31st Jan 2016

Staff were amazing and great service More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 29th Jan 2016

The guest house was great! Accommodated us well when we were early for check in and check out. Kept our bags secure when we weren't in a room. Security was great when we forgot our code in to the guest house. Great price and in a great location minutes from a train station which was close More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 622 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 20th Dec 2015

Great place to stay on the corner of West and North Melbourne. If you're looking into checking out the more interesting areas of Fitzroy, Collingwood, and Carlton, it's a great location to stay. Clean as any hotel or motel I've ever stayed in, the 24hr/7day staff were always helpful More
marching3651303 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 10th Oct 2015

Positive: friendly staff and shampoo etc in the shower Negative: some repairs in the room necessary More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 992 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Super nice hostel! Very clean and modern. Beds were super comfortable! Also in a great location, walking distance from the city centre, restaurants and shopping! Really enjoyed our stay and would definetly recommend! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 24th Jan 2016

Was very good I had a blast, staff are helpful! Very clean and totally central. Would go back again only thing I would say was the rooms need air Con I was in a 12 dorm and it was roasting some nights!! Other than that excellent More
jacksonhighlander16 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1729 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

It was a cool hostel and very clean probably the cleanest I've ever stayed in but it didn't have a communal area other than the bar downstairs which was a nice bar but quiet and not the easiest to meet people. Also a lot of people had been staying there a long time but they were all really More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 27th Jan 2016

Awesome Location and really friendly Staff! They helped me to Plan my Trip Along The Great Ocean Road and were always helpfull, whatever you asked. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1200 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 5th Feb 2016

We booked a double room with a bathroom. The view from our room was against a wall. That was not so nice. And the cleaner didn't made our bed. The rest was fine, good service at the reception and nice view from the rooftop More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

Too expensive for backpackers but i think its the same all over Australia.. also they book airport shuttle but dont tell you that you have to take another bus and not the skybus and because I was in the rush and didnt found the other company and i had to pay twice!! More
Anonymous (Belgium) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1199 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 1st Feb 2016

Very well organized hostel with good organization of services, laundry, night activities and tv room. Thought would organize some activities themselves instead of have only leaflets and rooms could be cleaner. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Great security, I felt happy to leave my valuables in the lockers which are not always available at hostels More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 97%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Excellent location. Comfortable rooms. Systems in place. Thanks Joan and Evan. More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 27th Jan 2016

good facility for the money, good security and clean bathrooms/showers. kitchen was a bit lacking, and rules are unrealistic to be followed by guests. More
ZACKGUTCHES (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 77%
  • 17th Jan 2016

Great hostel. Very well organised with lockers for food and in the rooms and tubs for the fridges and food storage. Do an amazing free BBQ on Mondays. Rooms were big and clean. And there are a lot of communal areas. Really good shower. The only drawback would be that the kitchen is quite More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 12th Jan 2016

Room was good with fridge and fan and sink but no air con which was horrible when it was 42 degrees! Especially on a night. Pub downstairs which was cheap ish with a good social area outside to drink and smoke. Really good free BBQ on Monday nights. Showers and toilets were clean. Free More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Melbourne Podcasts

Listen to our Melbourne podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Melbourne Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Melbourne Videos

Watch our Melbourne video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Melbourne Videos

Please give us your feedback