Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Montevideo, Uruguay

Top Rated
  • 90%
  • 244 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 13th Nov 2015

Caballos Locos is a good, sound hostel: the facilities, rooms, kitchen, bathrooms (great showers)... are good, secure, spacious... The staff are cool, friendly, helpful and professional... The place has a lot of light (e.g. in the common-room area)... There is quite a nice area outside... More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 11th Oct 2015

Great place, the workers speak great English. Breakfast us reasonable - dulce con Leche was a nice touch. A bit far from the main nightlife area which was about 5 mins walk. But only 10 mins from Ciudad Vieja. Showers had plenty of hot water but they were a little cramped. Awesome local More
chogm548789 (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter

Top Rated
  • 89%
  • 394 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 19th Nov 2015

Beautiful house! Very nice stuff! I found it pretty clean. It was a bit empty when I was there but there would a lot of options to meet the other guest. At the bar or by the pool for example :) breakfast was very uruguay (very sweet) but there was plenty :) as far as I can judge the area More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 19th Nov 2015

Never saw a hostel that clean! And the staff was very friendly and helping with all our questions. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 89%
  • 294 Total Reviews


  • 74%
  • 10th Oct 2015

A very laid back Hostel with really nice staff! They even helped us getting an Asado going in the middle of rain. It was quite clean but the only set-back was that one shower wasn't working and the other was just 2 showers in one room without any curtain to separate them. Even More
stamina (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 4th Oct 2015

Very comfortable beds with lots of layers for colder nights. Location by the beach but a short bus ride into main town. Staff were very helpful with any questions we had. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Showers powerful and warm with lots of space. The common area was comfortable and More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 206 Total Reviews


  • 57%
  • 28th Oct 2015

The place was pretty empty which didn't help the atmosphere; the place needs some refurbishing as it very old and many parts of the place (e.g. dorms, kitchen, bathrooms) are falling apart. There always seemed to be a lack of toilet paper in the bathrooms too. Was disappointed given the More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 16th Oct 2015

Close to the old city. Staff were amazing. Helped us with everything we needed. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller

  • 85%
  • 112 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 16th Nov 2015

Good hostel, clean, friendly staff. There's lockers in the rooms and a pretty good breakfast (toasts, cereal, coffee and pastry). The only thing I was disappointed about was the kitchen. There's no oven and only two little camping stoves. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 21st Aug 2015

the breakfast wasn't good, no eggs or cold cuts nor cheese. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 1405 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 19th Nov 2015

The staff was very helpful and welcoming. During our stay they were organizing parties and events like barbecues, small acoustic concerts, pizza night. The worst part is the price, quite expensive for a hostel (and the most expensive in Uruguay). Also, their web page said there was a More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 15th Nov 2015

It's what it promotes to be. You have nice dorms, mine had bathroom within and air conditioned. And has a súper nice backyard to drink and chat with others. I liked it. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 674 Total Reviews


  • Pocitos Hostel

  • Avenida Sarmiento 2641, esq. Fco. Aguilar, Pocitos, Montevideo
  • 86%
  • 31st Oct 2015

Good vibes and a lovely backyard! More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 18th Oct 2015

Really homely feel with a log fire whenever the temperature dropped. When i visited it was pretty cold and quiet, but Pocitos was the perfect warm home for the situation. Staff were really great helping me do what i wanted to do, and for the slim pieces of sunshine i got, the garden was a More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller

  • 82%
  • 227 Total Reviews


  • 71%
  • 8th Oct 2015

Great location and lovely staff. Bathrooms were good and clean! As mentioned - the breakfast is basic (just bread with spreads). My main issue was the dorm...lovely and clean, but the room is in between the front door and the reception so was incredibly noisy As the main entrance door More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 21st Aug 2015

The common room and the reception are in front of the rooms, so it's noisy till midnight. After that no. The staff is very helpfull. More
marijanbirus4120 (Croatia) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 79%
  • 169 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 5th Oct 2015

Will definitely return again when passing through Montevideo. Calm and comfortable atmosphere in October, perfect to unwind after lengthy travel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Jul 2015

We enjoyed the friendly staff and good location (in Ciudad Vieja, 5-10 min walk from many sights), as well as the deli meat sandwiches for breakfast. Only negatives were cramped bathrooms and you have to track down one of the owners to unlock the front door every time you leave or return. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback