X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in New York, USA

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 405 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 23rd Oct 2014

Great hostel, brand new and well located in a former industrial neighbourhood. There are a number of delis, a diner and bars nearby. And there's even a climbing club 2 blocks away. The bar at the hostel has some great American micro-beers, nice bartenders, the atmosphere is good. One More
joachimnijs4811 (Belgium) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 23rd Oct 2014

Stayed at The Local for 3 nights in October - it was a great hostel! Everything was clean and well kept, rooms had good storage, the beds were amazing! so comfy. There was great atmosphere and always things to do. And it was quiet! Really close to the city but there was none of that city More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 3655 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful, location was very close to subway, activities everyday for guests, rooms were ok and the bathrooms weren't the cleanest due to too many people sharing them but the overall stay was good. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 15th Oct 2014

This was my first time staying at a Hostel. I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the experience, from the atmosphere, to the cleanliness, to the location. The only negative feedback I have, and my roommates shared the same opinion, was that the bedroom was way too hot to sleep More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 3128 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 27th Oct 2014

Best hotel in NYC, and I stayed in 3. Why pay 200 for mediocre service? I paid 50 and had no expectations. All the reviews are correct. I stayed in the female dorm and then the private. The private was really nice for only 80 usd. (Small, though. Not a problem). The bathrooms are cleaned More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 26th Oct 2014

I called the hostel,3 hours after I booked and before the check-in time and explained that I was at the airport and had a problem with flying to New York ,so to transfer my booking for the day after.They suggested to send an e-mail. I did sent TWO e-mails and three phone calls. Next day More
Anonymous (Greece) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1409 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 9th Oct 2014

Was extremely impressed with the cleanliness and size considering its location in Manhattan. Would absolutely visit here and recommend to any traveling through Manhattan looking for affordable and accessible accommodations. Can leave luggage onsite once checked out, although not locked, More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 6th Oct 2014

Easy checking in. Room was clean, bathroom was clean. Breakfast was very good. Hostel has the right size, not too big. And the crowd was not super young either what made the hostel more quiet. That being said I only stayed there a Monday night, so I cannot tell whether it might be noisier More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 971 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 8th Oct 2014

Hostel is in a great location right next to times square and broadway, breakfast is pretty reasonable too. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 29th Sep 2014

Very good location! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2108 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Q4 Hotel

  • 2909 Queens Plaza North, New York
  • 74%
  • 27th Oct 2014

Except the poor WiFi it's a great place to stay at a clean and safe place with professional staff. More
cybasurfer (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 24th Oct 2014

Overall, we had a nice time and do not regret our choice. We would likely recommend the Q4 hotel. The only bad points are the noise (from very close railways) and also the fact that during our stay, there was a group of noisy teenagers (but difficult to avoid when staying in a hostel). More
letelliermathieu609 (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1149 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Harlem YMCA

  • 180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York
  • 91%
  • 5th Oct 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the Y and can only recommend it! One little thing that could be improved: bars or hooks or sth. to hang towels and clothes in the bathrooms and places to put the soap in the showers. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 26th Sep 2014

I love the place. For sure im going back because for me this place is safe to stay, its clean, plus near to subway and of course w friendly staff. They have gym, pool and free sauna too. The amount that i paid is not expensive compare to the other hostel,so what can i ask for? More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 310 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 66%
  • 23rd Oct 2014

Good - easy subway to city, did printing free of charge, room pretty spacious Bad - $3 for a towel, no powerpoints / shelves anywhere near top bunk (difficult to charge at night), no lockers in bedroom (outside), neighbourhood felt a little ghetto (but safe enough) More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Good service. We liked our stay at this hostel. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 203 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 9th Sep 2014

One stop from JFK airport,5 min walk from subway. Laundrymat just across the road,convenient for people travelling light. Very reasonable to do wash and dry load. Basic but clean. 15 mins in subway and ur in times square. Definitely recommend. : ) More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Nice that we could be picked up from airport! Room smelled like smoke, that was less nice. Breakfast was good, could be more varied though. Staff was friendly. Location was great, close to the airport. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 5091 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 25th Oct 2014

Great cocktail hour, breakfast. Great place to meet friends, because everyone so friendly More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 24th Oct 2014

The staf was very friendly and Always very helpful, polite with a smile on theire face. Especially we would like thank a very nice girl in the reception "from Armenia we think she came" wich helped us set up the possibility to attend a fantastic adventure in a local Brookly Church on the More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

New York Podcasts

Listen to our New York podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

New York Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

New York Videos

Watch our New York video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

New York Videos

Hostelworld New York Videos

Please give us your feedback