X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in New York, USA

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 850 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 20th Jul 2015

I enjoyed my stay at the Local. Located in Long Island City you get the opportunity to see a different side of New York. It was close to the subway, and the rooms and bathrooms were clean and modern. While all the staff were friendly and helpful, I want to give a special shout out to the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 19th Jul 2015

Barmaid babes More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 1549 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

Amazing value for money. Only stayed one night but it provided everything needed for myself and two 11 year old grand-sons. Excellent breakfast provided...easy-going place to stay...would definitely recommend. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Jul 2015

Loved the generous breakfast. More
dreamsofrevolution4369 (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 426 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 26th Jul 2015

The girls at the desk were so helpful and kind :) would love to stay again More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 25th Jul 2015

The people were really nice! They can print for no charge. I loved their clean bathroom and beds, but the air-conditioner was too loud and wifi signal in the room (305) was bad. More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 4227 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 57%
  • 20th Jul 2015

There was no real atmosphere or place to socialise at the hostel. Breakfasts at other hostels were a lot better. We had a particularly negative experience as my friend and I came home at night to find a girl sleeping in her bed. The girl had gone to the wrong room. Apparently her key More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Jul 2015

I had a great stay here, the location is great being only a short walk away from the Empire State Building and Times Square. The reception staff were always very happy to help and assist you with any questions you may have. The beds were made everyday with clean linen and you could collect More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 4148 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 24th Jul 2015

AC broke the second night. Air in the room was pretty stale the entire time (even before the AC broke). Room 404 - just in case no one else reported it. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

I don't usually stay in HI's as they are often off the beaten path, but HI NY was very close to the subway, and a stone's throw from Central Park. Place was massive! Beautiful old building. Great kitchen and outdoor space. Rooms were decent, bathrooms clean. It had a lot going on in More
monka (Canada) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 2987 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Overall I had a great stay. The rooms are small, but have the essentials needed, even mini-frigs, a rare find in hostels. The showers were okay, but the women's restroom 6th floor had black mold on the ceiling of the shower, I never used it again after seeing that. The water pressure More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Jul 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA read some not so great reviews before my stay here and I found most of them to be inaccurate. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was a 17 minute walk to time square (I personally didn't think this was too far) and less than 10 More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 2572 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Q4 Hotel

  • 2909 Queens Plaza North, New York
  • 83%
  • 27th Jul 2015

Great location just across Queens plaza station, you can reach to Downtown Manhattan in a few minutes. I liked the fact that you have ensuite bathroom and despite the train noise the rooms are very comfortable. More
erik78_mx (Mexico) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 34%
  • 26th Jul 2015

1. No free food 2. Small handwasher 3. No SOAP! 4. Smells bad. Me and our friends can't even describe these smell! 5. One Japanese man was farting all night 6. No windows 7. terrible pillow and bed cower More
Anonymous (Ukraine) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1649 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 9th Jul 2015

Great stay! Thank you very much! More
Anonymous (Colombia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 7th Jul 2015

The staff was friendly enough. One in particular I'm not sure his name gave me recommendations of clubs to go to,although I didn't go to the ones he recommended as we found a closer club it was still appreciated. I did n`t like the having to be away from 11-3 or whatever it is, seeing as More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 5472 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 27th Jul 2015

Overall a good place to stay. The place is clean and there is a lovely place to chill out in the back. However, my pet peeve about this place is that the wifi ceases to work or is abysmally slow. It's almost non-existence in the rooms on the upper levels. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Very pleasant stay, comfortable bed and I 2as in nice spacious 3 bed room. Would recommend to other travellers. Handy for the subway. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 548 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 18th Jul 2015

Rooms are OK. Towels and soap are included, which is nice, unlike some other inexpensive places. Neighborhood is great and the gym is a huge plus. I would book again. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

It would be nice to add bedside lamps if possible More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

New York Podcasts

Listen to our New York podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

New York Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

New York Videos

Watch our New York video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

New York Videos

Hostelworld New York Videos

Please give us your feedback