X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 276 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 77%
  • 2nd Mar 2015

HOJ has small lockers for each overnight guest. However, in my opinion, a great hostel will provided secure storage for all your valuables not just a small portion. The entry way and front wall of each room is louvered and the other two walls are just as thin. So the odds of begin woken up More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

Great place, would definitely recommend! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 386 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 28th Feb 2015

What a lovely hostel! Beautifully decorated, lovely clean and quiet dorms, lockers and towels provided. The only downside was a bad smell coming from the drains in the toilet/shower area that you could sometimes smell in the common area, but apart from that this place is perfect. Such More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Great hostel in a good location, only couple of minutes to china town, little india, etc.. Great staff, Ben - always so happy and lovely. My friend who calls everyone my dear is also brilliant. Good people! Easy to mingle. The showers are increeeedible. Definitely would stay again and More
Anonymous (Iceland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 87 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 26th Feb 2015

The frontdesk was very friendly and helpful. The suite room we booked was wonderful and has spacious bathroom. Would definitely return for out next trip. Recommended! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Feb 2015

Really nice place, outside looks shabby but they really made it comfy and nice inside. Good atmosphere. Nice roof terrace and even breakfast!! Definitely recommended. More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 119 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 31st Jan 2015

Really good place to stay if you looking affordable and good services for backpackers hostel. More
haisah (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 5th Jan 2015

Brilliant! More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 383 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Huttonlodge

  • No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang
  • 74%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay. The building has an historical vibe. Good staf, average breakfast, bad internet. More
atasamli1888 (Turkey) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Great location with private parking area. The building is spacious. The accommodations are basic hostel fare. Only drawbacks were lack of screens on the window in the bathroom which encouraged mosquitoes to enter our room. We were also visited by a mouse in the night, attracted to some More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 135 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 94%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Located directly in Georgetown, good restaurants and bus stops in walking distance. Very friendly and helpful staff, let you use the computer if no own device. Great atmosphere, even the cheapest rooms look really nice. All in all really recommendable, I would choose Malabar again. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 1st Feb 2015

I did really enjoy my stay in Malabar Inn. They were very friendly and welcoming. I gott help always when I needed and good tips for food and other I asked for. Definitely he only budget place Im gonna use in the future in Penang. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1555 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 24th Feb 2015

The 12 bed dorm was very hot at night. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

This hostel is excellent. The staff is helpfull, location is great, there is a bikecycle rent near the hostel, the bathroom and toilet clean. Everything is great. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 27th Jan 2015

The owners of this guesthouse were super helpful and friendly! The beach is literally right across the street, which is exactly what we wanted. The rooms are rustic (like a camp cabin), but our expectations weren't high. My biggest complaint about this hostel was the noise. The hostel is More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A good, budget option. Basic but Clean, comfortable and friendly, helpful owners. Could be noisy depending on your neighbours as the walls are very thin. For breakfast go to the place on the other corner opposite Guan Guan cafe (on the left as you walk up towards the main road). Their More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 334 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 91%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Had a really good time here! Nice beds with a lot of privacy and clean toilets and showers. The location is great and the hostel has a nice bar downstairs where you easily meet new people. The host, Charlie, is amazing!! He told me a lot and is very funny! He also did my laundry and booked More
anne_huisman9536 (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 30th Jan 2015

Great location. Cool people. Weird smells in some areas. Pod beds are awesome but mattresses getting old. Owner was very cool and bought us free booze! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 257 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Very helpful staff, dorm was clean and finally not rock-hard beds. Unfortunately not any real common room, otherwise really good and cheap for what you get. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Cocoa Mews was probably the best place I stayed in Malaysia. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are super comfortable, the prices aren't bad at all, and the neighborhood around it is great. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback