X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 13th Jul 2014

This is not only the best hostel I have stayed in in Malaysia but the best hostel I have stayed in ever! I came expecting to spend a few nights here and ended up staying for a week. The dorm is really nice and you have curtains which means you have your own little space. The reading light More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 11th Jul 2014

Don't write your door pass code on the white board outside the door. That's unsafe. More
Anonymous (China) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 52 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 20th Jun 2014

I stayed in the Ladies Room and it was lovely, only 4 beds with our own pods and lockers. It's really well set up and the hosts really care about their guests, Penang heritage and eco-tourism. I got a free bike rental cause I stayed 3 nights - perfect for seeing the artwork and alleyways More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Jun 2014

Very nice staff! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 99 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 7th Jul 2014

fabulous experience here ! staff here are very nice! More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Jul 2014

I love this place. They think of all the details e.g. enough hooks and shelving in the showers, showers separate from toilets, privacy for the female dorm. The staff are lovely and very helpful. You can walk to most of the interesting places. Free breakfast. I recommend it! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 435 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 71%
  • 16th Jul 2014

Some of the stuff spoke good English, unfortunately most of the time we were stuck with staff who couldn't understand a word we were saying which was very frustrating when trying to organise something. Staff not always available. Promised 'ultra speed WiFi', 90% of the time it didn't work More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Jun 2014

Nice boss and staff, very good atmosphere.Clean, safe and good location. I really enjoy the stay in Roommates.If I go to Penang again, I will also choose Roommates. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 91 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 80%
  • 18th Jul 2014

It is a bit far from the jetty if you choose to walk. If you arrive during the peak hour, you can't get a taxi easily. The staff is excellent. They introduced lots of attractions and delicious food over there. The room is small but clean. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Jul 2014

A gemstone! Why? The staff!! Hendrik and Tony are the most helpful and nice people ever!! Its almost rediculous! :) The rest of the place is totally ok, good value for money but nothing special, but it's not important, the staff makes it fell like a 5 star hotel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1408 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 14th Jul 2014

We were concerned about reports of bedbugs but we had no problems. Stayed in private double room. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 14th Jul 2014

The staffs are very nice. More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 374 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Huttonlodge

  • No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang
  • 91%
  • 8th Feb 2014

Very nice lodge, my recommendations More
Anonymous (Czech Republic) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 233 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 91%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Great breakfast! More
Anonymous (Singapore) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 5th Jun 2014

As what is mentioned in most of the comments, the floor in this hostel really makes a lot of noise. But it's okay at night since not many people were walking around. During our stay in ryokan, there was a construction going on next door and they started knocking and drilling at around 8am More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 222 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 25th Jun 2014

The receptionist,who wears glasses, is a decent, honest, helpful guy. He would always give you the best advice. The location is just great., extremely great. More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 24th Jun 2014

Great Stuff. They take 20 minutes to show you the map and nice places. Clean. Nice people. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 337 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 31%
  • 16th Jul 2014

I understand turn over of staff may be a problem with the Industry but the incompetency of the staff and lack of common sense and manners is really going to ruin this Hostel. More
Anonymous (Bolivia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 16th Jul 2014

Dorm was tiny with no window, no lockers and only one power socket, but the beds are comfy. Showers are okay too, and wifi and AC were excellent. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback