X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 403 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 30th Jul 2015

We had a great stay at House of Journey, the staff were brilliant and helped us with travel arrangements and tips on what to do in Penang. We did get lost on the way to the Hostel as the directions given weren't particularly great so perhaps they could be looked into :) But all in all More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Everything is Nice! But maybe should have ask for more blankets, super cold at night. Oh yeah, the squeaking sound from bed and floor are kinda epic though More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 110 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Stayed at the Roomies Suites and they are much, much nicer than the building that they're in! I loved the design of our room with its ensuite and everything feels very safe and clean. The staff are very helpful and gave great recommendations of where to go locally. They can also give More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 19th Jun 2015

the best way to connect people and know new people. it's too exhausted to climb to 4th floor. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 575 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 1st Aug 2015

I enjoyed the stay at 80s guesthouse. Location was really strategic in the heart of Georgetown. I did not however enjoy the creaking floorboards. As they creaked way too much in the wee hours of the morning. Also, there was only one working toilet working during my time there so that More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 30th Jul 2015

Give my thumps to the staff. He is friendly, helpful and informative. Nevertheless, the AC in the room I stayed was not quite cool as it supposed to be. I did turn the temperature down to the lowest but still it was not cold. Plus, since the second floor is wooden, it is quite annoying More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 547 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 25th Jul 2015

I really enjoyed it here and extended my stay two days while knowing many other choices are available nearby. Close to many Indian and Chinese good options at great prices. A/C could be stronger in the bunk room but the ceiling fan helped. Curtains on beds offer lots of privacy if you can More
dzldrvr8021 (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 24th Jul 2015

One of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in! Comfy beds, clean, great location and the most helpful staff ever! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 257 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 27th Jul 2015

1. Give some information at the notice board, e.g.Top 10 places tosightsee in Penang,10 Best street food in Penang...etc. 2. Change the locker in the guest room because it always make noise and disturb other people sleeping. 3. Provide a proper tips box in the front desk. If the More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 17th Jul 2015

bad customer services, no hospitality More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 150 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 91%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

Great place, the owner provided maps and told us where we could go, which busses there were, where to do our laundry etc. Nice and clean rooms (ours did not have a window, but we did not mind). Perfect location, close to bus terminal and historic city center. Very quiet, definitely More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Nice hostel. I will use it again next time. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The WiFi connection should be improved. It became unstable often. More
Anonymous (Japan) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 28th Jul 2015

I've been to Penang often; this is best hostel I've tried so far. Beautifully renovated heritage building, spacious 8-bed dorm, long comfortable beds, practical showers. Breakfast went beyond the usual bread and jam (but you'll have to buy coffee or make your own with their hot water More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Pretty damn good hostel! Extremely friendly and helpful, and it was spot on in the heart of Georgetown only a few minutes walk from the Jetty. Also pretty clean. More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1653 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 28th Jul 2015

I really enjoyed the stay at the Old Penang Guesthouse! The location was amazing, and the atmosphere there was the best I experienced on my stay in Asia so far. Definitely recommend staying there! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 26th Jul 2015

It is good choice if who would like a cheap and good hotel. More
Anonymous (Thailand) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 141 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 7th Jun 2015

It is good value for money. However, the only odd thing about it is that you cannot prepare your own food as use of kitchen (stove/etc) is not allowed by tenants. This means living on canned food or having to pay furtunes to the nearby extraordinarily expensive restaurants (yet some More
makkoub25045270 (Jordan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 295 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 29th Jul 2015

Everything was absolutely fine for us at the hostel. Good location in Georgetown right next to the main backpacker road. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Wonderful stay with great atmosphere and a great value of friendly and interesting people! More
Anonymous (Ukraine) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback