X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 252 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

I had great time at the frame guest house!! The interior is amazing with character, loved the staff, very helpful and kind! Very clean, good vibes and great location! I highly recommend to stay there!! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Great place to stay. Very clean. Highly recommended. More
badrk (Saudi Arabia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 531 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Really tidy and hip! Met several other travellers all with a good attitude. Maybe the air-con was a little cold for those in the 16 bed dorm but I had no problem with it. Woke up feeling refreshed and ready to take on the intense heat of George Town. Thank you HOJ! You made my stay in More
PhilParrott (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 29th Jan 2016

Excellent staff, location and facilities. Really enjoyed our stay More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 727 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 31st Jan 2016

The absolute best place to stay in Penang. Hands down! More
Anonymous (Canada) (MIXEDGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Jan 2016

The charm and beauty of this hostel is like no other I have ever seen. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the hostel is in a great location to see all the major sights of Georgetown. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 175 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 15th Jan 2016

Very spacious place, in central location. Lots of street food right outside. Very clean, staff is always helpful. Not overly social though. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Nov 2015

Dorm beds were full so I was in a room, it was good, clean and spacious. Some old pretty architectural elements in this hostel sort of bring you back to the olden days and there a lot of hanging out areas for you to read or chitchat with friends. It is near to the good food as well as More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 145 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Best hostel in Batu Ferringhi. I'll come back :) More
firdzz5762 (Malaysia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 24th Jan 2016

Had a nice stay at Roomies. Nice beds, smiling staff and close to restuarants, night market and beach. However, the beds are veeery close togheter. There's also no place to change clothes, put on sunscreen etc. This could be a irritating problem especielly for ladies sinse men seems to be More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1810 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Clean and functional. Great place to use as a base to explore Penang. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 25th Jan 2016

The hostel is beautiful and well located, but it is the only good things. The staff is not really friendly and I was bitten by bed bugs during my stay...I changed after 2 nights for another plaace More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 310 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 15th Jan 2016

The WIFI did not work in the rooms unfortunately. There was no social/common area and absolutely nowhere for social interaction between guests. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 11th Dec 2015

My stay at ryokan was good but not enjoyable, mostly because the staff just doesn't care at all and are on there phone most of the time. The walls are paper thin and you will hear every noise. Big group of Thai and Malay people stay here and they make a lot of noise and walking between More
davekuiper89 (Netherlands) (MALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 592 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 7th Jan 2016

Good location, near to quite a handful of good food places. Ask for a map at the counter! The uncles at the counter were friendly and helpful. The air-con in the room wasn't cold enough - not sure if someone in the room had turned it down, or the air-con wasn't strong. But at least there's More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Dec 2015

Didn't quite like the idea of leaving the door unlocked (no keys were given) but other than that absolutely AMAZING service, hospitality and cleanliness. Loved the comfy beds - one of the best I've slept on. Was very happy to be getting beds in the biggest room (with windows!) and really More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 389 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Huttonlodge

  • No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang
  • 83%
  • 3rd Jan 2016

strategic location for various must have foods in Penang More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Dec 2015

Central, yet quiet location. Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Basic but satisfactory comfort in room; spacious and clean private bathroom. Breakfast (2 slices of toast, butter, strawberry jam, 1 slice of cake, tea or coffee; no juice, no fruit, no egg, even no lemon for More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 331 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 57%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

On arrival we were greeted by the owner of the hostel who seemed very kind and happy to help us, however when he showed us to our room there was a horrible damp smell. The room also had no windows so was incredibly dark, however the air con was great! Great location though and you just get More
piploarridge (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 29th Jan 2016

This place is not really for alone travellers, since there's no real common room where you meet other people. The beds are nice, the rooms are clean, toilets and showers are clean but water pressure not very good. Took me half and hour to wash the conditioner out of my hair, lol. The More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback