X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 54 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 71%
  • 18th Aug 2014

Nice quiet and cosy hostel; great for travellers who rather like a more home-y place to stay and not crowded place. Really like the bed styles - capsule-like beds with individual partition and curtains for privacy and also means no mozzies! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Jul 2014

I have stayed in many hostels around the world and I must say the at Tofu was one of the few best I have ever been. Great owners, Joyce and Lucas. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Its a great quaint hostel, rooftop patio view of ocean, close to the beach. Staff were really friendly, accomodating and breakfast was quick and authentic malaysian. All around great value! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Aug 2014

Roomies, is fantastic! I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and it was great. The location is good and is close to everything you need. The staff were veery helpful and told me places to visit. I would definitely stay here again. More
kyliemoody3207 (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 102 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 15th Aug 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Really friendly and helpful staff, great facilities - large lockers, an awesome top floor lounge, clean and fantastic semi-outdoor shower/toilet facilities, perfect location in the heart of Georgetown. Only minor problem is that it can be a little More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Jul 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet, working Wifi, breakfast (cereals and toast) included, free tea and coffee the whole day. Staff was very helpful. I had to pay for a locker in the lobby area but nobody told me before and their websites advertises that lockers are all free - be aware of that. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 456 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Laundry facilities very convenient! Wifi a little weak in the rooms. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Clean place, Air conditioned (important in hot places), Friendly staff, Good location, Met a lot of like minded people. More
Anonymous (India) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 98 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 83%
  • 18th Aug 2014

I had a single room no sharing. The air con worked well. The place was quiet except for when a couple of kids ran around all night. Recommended place as felt very safe there despite being single young woman traveling on her own. More
sandybhu7249 (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Close range to hipster cafes and line clear nasi kamdar. Just about 10minutes walking distance to Komtar and Prangin Mall (also the bus station). Limited halal food around that area, so muslims do take note (: clean and cosy, staffs are very friendly and helpful. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1431 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Please change the out of shape pillows. Don't let children keep running outside the room (wooden floor, can you imagine how noisy is that?!) before 12pm, It was really really annoying. I was staying in room 5, I'm pretty sure there were bed bug. My legs are bitten all over. Extremely More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 7th Aug 2014

very good More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 26th Jul 2014

Great atmosphere and staff. Location is supremely central. Only point to pick on is that the noise isolation is pretty bad! Bring some ear plugs if you're gonna stay here! More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Jul 2014

Would be very happy to stay here again, safe, secure, private curtained off bunks. Lovely staff and great location. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 13th Aug 2014

A very nice, clean and friendly place to stay! Would recommend highly to anybody looking for a cool place to relax and not being to far away from the main attractions! More
joshyarnell7642 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 13th Aug 2014

Great location. I was in a 6 bed dorm. Room clean. Only real downside was the beds were extremely creaky. This meant you'd wake up every time the person sharing your bunk moved. Communal areas big but could have benefited form breakfast making facilities. Showers and toilets clean and More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 233 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 91%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Great breakfast! More
Anonymous (Singapore) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 5th Jun 2014

As what is mentioned in most of the comments, the floor in this hostel really makes a lot of noise. But it's okay at night since not many people were walking around. During our stay in ryokan, there was a construction going on next door and they started knocking and drilling at around 8am More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 228 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Perfect location, great Indian restaurant across the street. Staff was nice and everything was perfect for the price. The walls were a bit thin and the bed a bit too soft, but we really enjoyed our stay here! More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Staff, Howie, was extremely helpful providing me with everything from where to find good food to directions. Overall, very clean. Would definitely recommend to others. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback