X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 504 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 22nd May 2015

Great place to stay with great hospitality and service from the management. Love the unique interior decor which preserves the original look of the heritage building and open air concept. Would definitely recommend to friends. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th May 2015

Fantastic hostel! Rooms have everything you need, comfy bed, personal light, socket , good air con, big lockers. Bathroom is clean. Nice space for socialising, very friendly staff. Perfect location, near to other backpackers and bars and easy to get to and from the bus stop. Would stay More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 338 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 20th May 2015

Loved my stay at HOJ. Nice hostel with great facilities and cool social atmosphere. The staff are fantastic!Tori and Zoe are very welcoming and go out of their way to make this place great. It's quiet enough to chill out and read a book but social enough to find someone to chat to or More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th May 2015

Staff and owners are so helpful and friendly. Highly recommended as its close to Chulia St. Very hospitable and flexible! There is a.reason why they were voted best.hostel in Malaysia More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 98 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 21st May 2015

The rooms were amazing and adequately furbished - in fact they even had a rain shower. The staffs were utmost polite and went to great lengths to ensure I had a comfortable and easy-going stay. There was a peculiar odor in the reception area but it definitely vanished the next day after I More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 20th May 2015

Nice stay but far from Georgetown if that's what you're after... But it's super close to the beach which is nice. If you take the large dorm, the reception is in the same room so it's safe but lacks some privacy. Showers are clean and I love the personal curtains on the beds! Would More
Anonymous (Canada) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 19th May 2015

Good hostel but temperature in the room was really high despite the use of fan + air conditionning More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 7th May 2015

Really nice stay and super friendly staff. Good breakfast and yummy coffee. Comfi beds. Only thing is one of the staff (an indian guy) peeped through the shower while I was in it and also hung out and smoked in my 4 bed dorm. But here the management was very nice and there are More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 250 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 21st May 2015

Lovely hostel. Only idea is maybe some juice or small fruit with breakfast. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 5th Apr 2015

Great location for exploring Georgetown. It was really quiet, clean and had air conditioning which meant I slept really well here. The beds were really comfy too! It had a secure front entrance which was good and a locker (we had to buy a padlock). There didn't seem to be that many guests More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1611 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 11th May 2015

We stayed in the dorm,beds are great,Nice and firm matress good airco.great stay,gold hostel!!! More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 9th May 2015

Very clean. The walls are quite thin, I could hear the next door conversation even with my ear plugs on. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 347 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 69%
  • 27th May 2015

They clearly have a bed bug problem and I'm not sure how well it's being dealt with. Should have listened to my boyfriend when we were being taken to our room and there was mattresses out on the deck and he said that was a sign of bed begs. Sure enough, my bunk was infested. I was moved More
Anonymous (Canada) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th May 2015

Highly recommend place to stay, with welcoming staff and great atmosphere More
Anonymous (British Virgin Islands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 144 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 74%
  • 23rd May 2015

I was in a double room. The bed is huge. That's good! Pillows need to renew are thin and hard. Staff is very friendly. Very polite owner and helper they will give you all information that you need. Hostel is calm. Nice terrace. toilets very clean and shower is ok. Maybe needs to improve More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 9th May 2015

The recommendation of food and places to visit by the staff is very useful! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 27th Jan 2015

The owners of this guesthouse were super helpful and friendly! The beach is literally right across the street, which is exactly what we wanted. The rooms are rustic (like a camp cabin), but our expectations weren't high. My biggest complaint about this hostel was the noise. The hostel is More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A good, budget option. Basic but Clean, comfortable and friendly, helpful owners. Could be noisy depending on your neighbours as the walls are very thin. For breakfast go to the place on the other corner opposite Guan Guan cafe (on the left as you walk up towards the main road). Their More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 385 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Huttonlodge

  • No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang
  • 74%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay. The building has an historical vibe. Good staf, average breakfast, bad internet. More
atasamli1888 (Turkey) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Great location with private parking area. The building is spacious. The accommodations are basic hostel fare. Only drawbacks were lack of screens on the window in the bathroom which encouraged mosquitoes to enter our room. We were also visited by a mouse in the night, attracted to some More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback