X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 466 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 3rd May 2015

Please do arrange to provide a few pair of slippers for toilet. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 1st May 2015

Great hostel, got the important things right: Great shower and bathroom facilities. Very good bed and very good bed linen. Has a nice atmosphere and quiet at night. One night there was a bit of sewage smell all around the main court, but that might just be Penang... Would gladly stay More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 323 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 25th Apr 2015

Very nice place to stay. Staff were lovely and helpful, be nice to have a sofa area but not much space for one. The hostel itself is beautiful, showers fantastic. The beds comfy though the wooden walls made it quite noisy. I personally found it fine but I know others wouldn't. Wifi was More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Excellent hideout for the crushing penang summer heat! Comfy and low key, delightful and very knowledgeable staff(rason the malay guy, the girl from Hawaii and specially the Chinese girl was so charming, knowledgeable and sweet!). Squeaky clean. Excellent air con. Plenty of food around. More
Anonymous (Spain) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 97 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 1st May 2015

Good job!!! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 25th Apr 2015

At first I didn't like the idea that the histel is located in an ugly big concrete building, but then I was positively surprised by the staff, the nice rooftop terrace & cute little chillout balcony, the awesome breakfast in a banana leaf:) and last but not least the best beds I slept in More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 248 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 5th Apr 2015

Great location for exploring Georgetown. It was really quiet, clean and had air conditioning which meant I slept really well here. The beds were really comfy too! It had a secure front entrance which was good and a locker (we had to buy a padlock). There didn't seem to be that many guests More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 26th Mar 2015

The hostel was very quiet, good if you want a good night sleep not good if you want to meet anyone else on your travels. Thought it was overpriced compared to other hostels in the area. Would stay somewhere else. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 128 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 23rd Apr 2015

Good location, the room is very clean and tidy. Everything is good enough except WIFI. The wifi signal is very unstable. Both my cell phone and laptop can hardly connect to the wifi. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

It's one of the nicest Malaysian hostels I've stayed in. I'll be coming back:), so just shortly: nice staff, very bright & spacious dorm, met great people. Loved the colours & the light, also: the very best backpacker's breakfast!!! Thanks! More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 97%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Just a little too noisy as the walls are thin. But it wouldn't bother you if you're a deep sleeper. Will recommend to - EVERYONE! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 21st Mar 2015

The security could be improved by offering a locker to visitors. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1595 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 2nd May 2015

Really lovely hostel, clean and good location. Staff are friendly and always willing to help with directions etc. Nice relaxed atmosphere, easy to meet people. Would definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 1st May 2015

Could have better wifi coverage throughout the hostel, and additional power outlets in the room More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 27th Jan 2015

The owners of this guesthouse were super helpful and friendly! The beach is literally right across the street, which is exactly what we wanted. The rooms are rustic (like a camp cabin), but our expectations weren't high. My biggest complaint about this hostel was the noise. The hostel is More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A good, budget option. Basic but Clean, comfortable and friendly, helpful owners. Could be noisy depending on your neighbours as the walls are very thin. For breakfast go to the place on the other corner opposite Guan Guan cafe (on the left as you walk up towards the main road). Their More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 385 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Huttonlodge

  • No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang
  • 74%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Nice place to stay. The building has an historical vibe. Good staf, average breakfast, bad internet. More
atasamli1888 (Turkey) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Great location with private parking area. The building is spacious. The accommodations are basic hostel fare. Only drawbacks were lack of screens on the window in the bathroom which encouraged mosquitoes to enter our room. We were also visited by a mouse in the night, attracted to some More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 342 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 28th Apr 2015

This was my second time staying here and Charlie just makes this place, love it. Also love that every bed is completely private with a wall and blackout curtain More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 23rd Apr 2015

Charlie is a real character and will always be around to help. The bathrooms could have been a bit better and the water heating isn't great, but it's quite hot in Penang so this wasn't too much of an issue. I really liked the dorm pods! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback