Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

  • 91%
  • 439 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 20th Sep 2015

The great place to hang-out! More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 17th Sep 2015

Great Hostel, loved my stay there. Went back to this hostel after visiting Langkawi and recommended to friends. Staff is very helpful. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 275 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 15th Sep 2015

Really good hostel that provide a lot for you for a great price. Free cookies and breakfast :) I stayed in the cheapest dorm which is basically the same as the slightly more expensive ones so you don't need to pay more, close to the centre of George Town and the staff can help with getting More
laurenboard (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Sep 2015

Very good hostel! More
joesivakorn (Thailand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 125 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 24th Sep 2015

My has never changed, the olace is absolutely amazing and neat as expected More
Anonymous (Djibouti) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 11th Sep 2015

We are two ladies stayed at the mixed dorm for 2 nights. We had a very good experience and hope we could hv a chance to come back again. The location is fantastic, near the beach, food, bus stop, night market, and Hard Rock Cafe for late night music. The staff, Mr.Dhuku is fabulous, he is More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Globetrotter

  • 90%
  • 634 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 3rd Oct 2015

it was good, I decided to stay extra one night More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 27th Sep 2015

I love everything about this hostel. Especially Farah who greets us very nicely though we check in very very very late. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 573 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 28th Sep 2015

It was a very small and homey place. The staff was very nice and easy to talk to. The beds were also very comfortable, big, and the curtains gave us more privacy. I would definitely come here again :) More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Booked with roommates and when we got there we got told we was staying in roommates 2. This was fine as it's pretty much opposite, in the same looking building. We were seen to by a lovely lady most of the time. When we asked how to get anywhere she told us how to get it by public More
Anonymous (England) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 1702 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

We stayed at the double room with ensuite bathroom. Very clean. Location was excellent!!!! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 29th Sep 2015

Maybe the management could upgrade the wi-fi connectivity. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 179 Total Reviews


  • 40%
  • 29th Sep 2015

The Ukrainian girl who worked there was the only pleasant thing about our stay. The other lady was constantly sour faced, unhelpful and down right rude. Every time we'd ask for advice it was as if we were doing it to irritate her and she gave us the wrong info constantly don't know if this More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Friendly staff. Great location. It's not at a main road, so less noisy. Value for money indeed. Loving the art by Julia Volchkova. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad

  • 86%
  • 141 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 7th Jun 2015

It is good value for money. However, the only odd thing about it is that you cannot prepare your own food as use of kitchen (stove/etc) is not allowed by tenants. This means living on canned food or having to pay furtunes to the nearby extraordinarily expensive restaurants (yet some More
makkoub25045270 (Jordan) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 152 Total Reviews


  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 83%
  • 16th Sep 2015

We had a lovely stay at Malabar as 3 bagpackers, the staff were very helpful with everything we asked and one of us even left a phone and they are mailing it back to us! Good location in the centre of Georgetown and you get what you pay for! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 4th Aug 2015

Great location, very near the free hop on bus which was useful. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Left my sunglasses behind & they got in contact to let me know they were keeping them safe. Could have done with a safe to lock away passports etc, but general security was good. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback