X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Penang, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 181 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 17th Nov 2014

Small Hostel, clean and good location. There isn't really a common room, so if you like to socialize it might not be the best place, but it didn't matter to me. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 16th Nov 2014

Everything was great. Very cool layout at the place. Though you pass the toilets, it never smells, probably due to the open roof concept. Excellent. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 31st Aug 2014

This is the place to stay if you're heading to Georgetown, lovely hostel, a very warm atmosphere and really friendly and open owners. The location is perfect and the pod beds are just very cute and comfortable. The hostel is located in a quiet area! We loved "coming home" from pur More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 18th Aug 2014

Nice quiet and cosy hostel; great for travellers who rather like a more home-y place to stay and not crowded place. Really like the bed styles - capsule-like beds with individual partition and curtains for privacy and also means no mozzies! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 74 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 9th Nov 2014

Roomies Penang is the best Hostelworld place I have ever stayed in! Highly recommended! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 1st Nov 2014

I was the only guest here for my stay which was a shame, but the staff were very friendly and welcoming and I am sure with other people around it would be great! Great roof terrace to hang out on, great location - less than 5 mins walk to the beach and night market just opposite. Curtains More
emilie_castellano3213 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 109 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 60%
  • 7th Nov 2014

Noisy Location More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 24th Oct 2014

Staff were very helpful and knowledgable. Very friendly and hospitable too! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 116 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Malabar

  • No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang
  • 97%
  • 16th Nov 2014

i really enjoy the stay! its so near with the famous attraction Most recommended! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Nice quiet and clean hostel. Overall good. It would be better for a group of friends and family. More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 481 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 17th Nov 2014

Nice clean small place. Helpful staff. Wifi was shaky but that seemed pretty true in Penang in general. Curtains, power source, and light for each dorm bed. Breakfast (included) is toast and if you want to hard boil your own eggs. Free coffee, tea. More
partonalexj45 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Keep up the good work! More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1474 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 14th Nov 2014

Located just about 15 minutes walk from the Jetty/bus terminal, Old Penang guesthouse had serve us well during our stay in Penang. You basically get what you paid for, a decent place to sleep, walking distance to main attractions in Georgetown, free breakfast/wifi and great hospitality by More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 7th Nov 2014

I have stayed at Penang Guesthouse a few times as I like the price and the location. It is a pain if you have a car as there is no car parking. Unfortunately, the last time I stayed I got bitten by bedbugs very badly. This has never happened before, so I was disappointed with my last More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 314 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 51%
  • 10th Nov 2014

Poorly ventilated rooms, horrible breakfast, often times no toilet paper in bathroom, dripping water from ceiling everywhere. More
mascolad1755 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 2nd Nov 2014

Great place to stay very sociable stayed in the 12 bed dorm air con clean etc some really nice restaurants near bye check out red garden. Ask for Charlie can help you organise anything tours visa etc More
tommyhughes115752 (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 380 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Huttonlodge

  • No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang
  • 80%
  • 19th Oct 2014

Overall, my companion and I enjoyed our stay. Located in the periphery of Georgetown, which we didn't mind as we had fun walking around and exploring. Room was pretty small, though bathroom was relatively big. There were not hot water readily available for late-night hunger pangs, though More
khfang (Singapore) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Oct 2014

Thanks for the hospitality! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 136 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 63%
  • 24th Sep 2014

The beds are extremely creaky and uncomfortable. Super hard to meet people unless they are in your dorms. Facilities and staff are okay. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 14th Sep 2014

This is a nice hostel close to Kompta where you can get the bus to and from Penang. In the middle of Chinatown where you can get some great food. There are some really nice features in this hostel, as well as being clean and tidy. The staff are helpful and pleasant. At weekends the place More
Anonymous (Wales) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback