Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

  • 93%
  • 343 Total Reviews


  • 63%
  • 8th Oct 2015

Staff were friendly and very attentive. Private room was great! Atmosphere was lacking and there wasn't really a common area/place/kitchen we could see or we're told about. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Sep 2015

Very relaxed hotel! With very friendly staff and good facilities More
Anonymous (Australia) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 760 Total Reviews


  • Hostel Che

  • Calle 6, entre Avenida 15 & Avenida 20, Playa del Carmen
  • 100%
  • 14th Nov 2015

Awesome hostel! Friendly staff. We loved the chill vibes and the rooftop terrace for drinks and appreciated the ladies night :) Great location. Great place for backpackers and single travelers to meet new friends. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 11th Nov 2015

The place was wonderful and the atmosphere great. It's a great place to meet friendly faces. There were a few incidents where people claimed they had some money taken out of their wallets, but hard to confirm it was true. Would recommend. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 91%
  • 621 Total Reviews


  • The Yak

  • Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, Playa del Carmen
  • 83%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Great hostel with lots of arranged activities and planned games. Great bar and chill out area. The baggage storage was a great help. Great kitchen facilities. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 19th Nov 2015

The Yak has a lovely courtyard with hammocks, seats, the bar and breakfast served daily. Unfortunately, we stayed in a double room, and this room badly let it down. It was a very large room, but it was dark, with poor air circulation, didn't seem clean and really smelt overpoweringly of More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 130 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 29th Oct 2015

What an amazing hostel! The people staying there and especially the staff!! Ceci and Diego were really nice and great to hang out with. I would definitely recommend this place, especially if you know some Spanish and/or are looking for a more authentic time in Playa. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 90%
  • 127 Total Reviews


  • Hostel Playa

  • 25th Avenue with 8th Street, Downtown, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen
  • 63%
  • 19th Nov 2015

I stayed one night here in a dorm right next to the plaza. I got woken up so early by all the noise outside as it's right on the main road and theres no windows just mesh. Not a lot going on here either, a couple of people in the common areas but that's it. Very clean and secure and More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 8th Nov 2015

Great hostel! Planned to only stay 2 night but stayed 4 instead. Staff are super friendly and helpful, great breakfast, good common area to meet other travelers. Free bedding, towel and soap! 5 bed female dorm was comfy with plenty of room, top bunk was a little hard to get up and down as More
loumiddleton9584 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 157 Total Reviews


  • Casa Che B&B

  • Coral negro Esquina Biajaica de la Mar, Playacar Fase 1, Playa del Carmen
  • 97%
  • 3rd Nov 2015

Casa Che B&B was a little difficult to find at first, but we were warmly welcomed and delightfully surprised by such a bright, clean, open and peaceful place in a great location. We stayed in a spacious room up on the 2nd floor (thank you for the free upgrade!!) with one of the biggest More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th Oct 2015

I had a great stay and everything was according to the description. I would only suggest a few things that could only improve what is already good: a larger mirror in the rooms, a box to the shower because the water was all over the toilet and a better sign cause we had a hard time to find More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 185 Total Reviews


  • Hacienda del Sol

  • Calle 2 Nte Mz 228 LT 6 Y 7, Entre Av 120 Y 125 Nte, Col Ejido, Playa del Carmen
  • 100%
  • 9th Nov 2015

This is the perfethct place to place to stay if you want a more authentic Playa Mexican experience. Its about a half hour walk from the beach so the neighborhood is considerably quieter, cheaper and theres no hawkers offering ridiculously priced goods and services on the street. Local food More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

Fantastic hostel! Seems bit out of town but actually incredibly simple get around in he collectivos for 50 pesos. One of the staff is amazing with a weath of knowledge and advice for the area. Wish I had stayed longer. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 1156 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 16th Nov 2015

There were so many great things about this hostel. The atmosphere, the staff, the beds, the breakfast, the cleanliness. Loved it all. The only negative was the karaoke that would go on all night in the bar next door making it nearly impossible to sleep. It was just that little bit too More
helenwarner6761 (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 20%
  • 15th Nov 2015

Did not have a good experience, this place is dirty and smelt like a nightclub. Would not recommend to anyone, it also felt quite unsafe. Very unclean, the man at the front did not spell English, we paid for the hostel and checked out within 10mins once we saw the rooms. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 69 Total Reviews


  • 43%
  • 26th Sep 2015

just one thing made traveler feel so fear! most of guest is from argentina! and they don't seem to travel . i think they just visit mexico for a job. that's why i feel they are illegal alien... don't need say about facilities how it does. not so clean. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Couple) Globetrotter

  • 83%
  • 139 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 9th Jul 2015

Very good location only negative points: shower and bath small and dirty, beds not too comfortable but ok Nice staff and atmosphere! More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback