Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

  • 96%
  • 75 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 10th Nov 2015

The view can't be beat! It's gorgeous! They run a fire every night as well which is really nice. The atmosphere is very chill, the family is very nice. Matt even ran a movie on his laptop for me. It's a bit far out of town, so you have to pay for a shuttle or drive your own car. The food More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 24th Oct 2015

We had a wonderful time at African Array Lodge! We were made very welcome and given great tips on things to do in Plettenberg Bay. The view was INCREDIBLE! We sat out enjoying it over breakfast and read by a fire outside at night - gorgeous! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 63 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 2nd Nov 2015

It may have been nice to know about the cats roaming around in the communal areas. I have a cat allergy and was unprepared and a bit caught off-guard. Thankfully my allergy isn't too bad that I had to relocate, but it would have been crucial to know that if my allergies were worse than More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 16th Oct 2015

The hostel is very well located in the centre of Plet, close to everything (nightlife, restaurants, beach...). Rooms and facilities are very clean and well maintained. Their garden is an excellent place to chill out. Cons: Staff seemed a little indifferent and security was a joke! They More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Avid Traveller

  • 87%
  • 92 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

Good hostel More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 14th Nov 2015

Not half bad! More
glenster171300 (England) (Male) Globetrotter

  • 80%
  • 116 Total Reviews


  • 46%
  • 9th Nov 2015

From the photos on the Internet and the description we had the expectation to arrive in a beautiful five star Backpacker. What we found was nothing like that. The common areas were cheaply furnished and especially the kitchen was not welcoming at all. We had a booked a double room that was More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 18th Sep 2015

It is mostly a chalet style hotel, with only 2 rooms dedicated as dorms, so if you're expecting a hostel atmosphere this isn't exactly the place. However, it is neat and clean, has a great self catered kitchen, as well as a lovely lounge. Staff, as usual in SA, go out of their way. A More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller

  • 77%
  • 66 Total Reviews


  • 43%
  • 20th Sep 2015

Wifi was not working. Tent was unclean when we checked in (there was a bra left in the tent). Bed has a musky smell. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

Wild spirit was an amazing experience. The bar & seating area set on a lovely wood framed deck over looking a large forest. Beautiful moon and sun rises. Food both dinner and breakfast were excellent, staff insisted on doing the washing up which was amazing. There are walks from the More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Plettenberg Bay Podcast

Listen to our Plettenberg Bay podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Plettenberg Bay Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Plettenberg Bay Videos

Watch our Plettenberg Bay video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Plettenberg Bay Videos

Please give us your feedback