X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 371 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 13th Sep 2014

A lovely hostel, very friendly and felt likle home! Great Wifi and Comfy beds with very clean shared bathrooms! Dorms had 3 story bunk beds which looked a bit high but they were more sturdy than ones in other hostels! They even let us come back and use the wifi after we had checked More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Great place to meet other travellers. All staff were very helpful, the hostel is clean, homely and close to everything as the subway is just round the corner. If I return to Rio I'll be staying here. Thanks for a great stay. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 385 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Very good location and very helpful staff. I recommend! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Aug 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and it was all we needed. There was hot water, a comfy bed, good internet, and a decent breakfast. The location is perfect for a day at the beach or is a short walk away from the metro to see the sights. The staff were extremely helpfully and fully of energy and More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 269 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Brilliant place!! Definitely recommend it to anyone!! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Santa Mix is super!! Really great location close to downtown Santa Teresa (super cute bohemian neighborhood with great restaurants and outdoor bars) and the Gloria metro station, safe and quiet neighborhood. The rooms had air conditioner, fans, and lockers, the beds were comfortable, and More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1413 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Very good hostel great location and equipment. missing more afternoon activities within the hostel More
Anonymous (Chile) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Book a full room for more privacy More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 854 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 19th Sep 2014

Walk on the beach is very well located. Just 3 blocks away from Copacabana. It is a touristic neighborhood, with many policemen and people walking around so in my opinion is really safe. However, you always need to be careful. The staff was always there to help and advise us. Dominik is a More
Anonymous (Greece) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Sep 2014

5 minutes to join Copacabana beach!! The staff is very kind and polite. Very niuce hostel to spend some days in the beautiful Rio More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 437 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Very friendly staff who take time to explain the local area. This was such a welcoming place - thank you. Great location, really good price and completely good experience. Thanks so much for the welcome and the time you gave us. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Jul 2014

The staff at reception were fantastic and extremely helpful. Wifi dropped in and out a bit was fine. It is situated a little further from the beach than others but is extremely close to a subway which was great to get around, especially to Lapa. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 236 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

Che Lagarto is one of those places where you feel exactly how you feel at home. I can't thank the staff enough! Really clean private room and really good breakfast! I only had a little problem with the shower but they fixed it on the same day. Coming back to the hostel next time in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

We'd like to thank the excellent staff at Che Lagarto, Santa Clara for making us feel so welcome. It makes such a difference when you are a long way from home. The staff were incredible; the location perfect for the beach and the hostel was extremely clean with a wonderful atmosphere. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 177 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 91%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Great hostel, helpful staff, nice restaurant with good breakfast. Good area with shops, restaurant and metro nearby. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Great staff, awesome building and loved the open bbq área. Its in a much nicer área tan copacobana More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 717 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 25th Sep 2014

IT WAS FANTASTIC More
Anonymous (Bahamas) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 14th Sep 2014

The location is great, just one block from Ipanema (and a few meters more to Leblon) beach. However this is a big hostel and sadly doesn't feel like one of those place which are truly made with love. My dorm room was in a building across the street from the main place with ugly dirty More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback