X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 465 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 86%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Great place and atmosphere, staff are very friendly and helpfull. Tks Taiane and Sergio. Only downside, they don`t accept credit card, only cash. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 12th Feb 2015

A truly great hostel. It is a short ride on the metro from Copacabana, Ipanema etc but more than makes up for it with its the staff and atmosphere. During Carnival you stay with the same like-minded people for the full week which makes a welcome change from the revolving door hostels. The More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 324 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 74%
  • 18th Feb 2015

- DO NOT put your valuables in the locker inside your room. Someone broke my lock and stole my camera, ipad, cards, and all my money. The staff will recommend you not to take valuebles with you when going out to blocos or party. If you need to leave your valuables I recommend the locker in More
Anonymous (Thailand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 16th Feb 2015

- Clean Hostel - Good Location - VERY helpful staff. Jeff, Carlos, and Mayara were exceptionally helpful. Thank you so much for making our stay as pleasant as possible. We could even make use of the facilities after we checked out. The owner (Carlos), really wants you to feel at home. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1060 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 21st Feb 2015

It was really nice to spend some time at this awesome hotel! Although the location is not that close from the main places in Rio (Copacabana, Ipanema, Corcovado, etc); the place was really cool, the rooms are all very clean and organized, the staff was very helpful and the bar was just More
mollymellado95 (Peru) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th Feb 2015

I never write reviews but I just gotta point out that Books is THE place to stay in rio. Yes, its a party hostel but its different from other party hostels. There is a really community feel here that makes you feel welcome. ThePerfect size. I came here as a solo traveler and it was More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 950 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 19th Feb 2015

Tha staff was amazing! Nice breakfast and really nice atmosphere . Always felt completely safe and although the rooms are very small- I had a lovely time. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Feb 2015

A++++ Loved everybody there!!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 473 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 19th Feb 2015

The staff were very attentive and extremely nice. They helped us with many things and were also very responsive via e-mail when we had questions before and during our stay. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

That was amazing. João de Souza and all staff were very helpful and gave us many tips about the city, were to and were not to go. Much of our trip was done on their advices. The Anita Garibaldi road is a very calm one, 1 square from the tube station and 4 squares from the beach. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1535 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 11th Feb 2015

Great little hostel! Friendly staff, young crowd, good atmosphere More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th Feb 2015

What can I say, first ever time staying in a hostel. Even the cleaners were lovely and they couldn't understand a word I was saying half the time. Recommend to anyone going rio!! Right next to the beach and as well. More
Anonymous (British Virgin Islands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 409 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 97%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Well, Harmonia is a great little hostel. Its extremely homey and has all the facilities that every hostel has these days. The location is superb, a block from the main street of Ipanema and Metro station, whilst the beach is an extra 2 blocks away. What makes this an excellent hostel are More
trentblomfield3406 (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 5th Feb 2015

Simple hostel with great owners, great location, always super clean! More
Anonymous (Poland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 269 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 77%
  • 28th Jan 2015

Overall a good hostel, short walk to Copacaba beach and Rio bikes also 10 min walk away. Staff were very friendly and available 24hrs a day, hostel pretty clean. Booked a private room which had aircon- massive bonus in Rio! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Very nice More
juviecita7718 (Switzerland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Lovely colonial house in Santa Teresa. Decorated with lots of love to details and funky touch. Great people and familiar atmosphere! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 20th Feb 2015

Location of the hostel is awesome, but the walk up the stairs from Lapa is a killer - especially if you're carrying a pack! Staff are very helpful but not the warmest bunch! very clean and cool hostel overall More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 121 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Loved this hostel. Organized, clean, beautiful, charming. The only thing I didn't like was the location of the air conditioner. It stands under the window, and it's very necessary because Rio is too hot. I will always come back to this place. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 9th Feb 2015

Excellent location-- close to the beach, metro station, supermarkets and various restaurants and bars. The staff seems to work hard to ensure the facilities are cleaned daily and well maintained. I stayed in the dorm and found it to be quite spacious relative to other hostels I had stayed More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback