X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 508 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 97%
  • 25th Apr 2015

One of if not the best hostel ive stayed in, staff so friendly, helpful and put the time into ensuring there is plenty for you to do day or night! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Apr 2015

awesome place with awesome staff More
mjandrews873699 (New Zealand) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 485 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 1st May 2015

Very helpful staff, good location. More a hostel for couples than people on their own as the common area lacks atmosphere. Good breakfast and the staff were great at advising us where to go and ordering us an airport transfer at 2am. Would definitely return. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 21st Apr 2015

Decent hostel. Very clean and the staff are awesome, but not much of an atmosphere to meet people. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 428 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 86%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Very friendly staff, very helpful. Nice communal space, relaxed atmosphere and a cool crowd. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Could do with air con in all the bunk rooms as despite the fans provided it was very stuffy at night. Staff were great and a credit to the hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1107 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 89%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Felipe is a legend! Party hostel! Friendly vibe and staff. A little hard to have that quiet night after a few days of partying :-) Felipe knows everything and is so helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Apr 2015

Fantastic and welcoming hostel, definitely the best of our trip More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1590 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 27th Apr 2015

Nice hostel but the wifi is terrible and it's too loud in the rooms. More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 23rd Apr 2015

It is a little too pricy during the weekend but it's definitely a good hostel. Located right next to Leblon beach but far away from the lapa area (45 reals approx). Breakfast is good and rooms are not overcrowded. Staff could smile a little more! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 691 Total Reviews

No.6

  • The LightHouse

  • Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 17th Apr 2015

This is one of the best hostels I've ever been. Silvia (the owner) and all the staff are really friendly. They clean the rooms and the bathrooms every day. The breakfast is really good including some local fruits. The wifi is really good for a hostel. It is a small and quite hostel with More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Apr 2015

I can't say enough about these guys, they were fantastic. The hostel is in a prime location to the beaches and amazing cafes, shops and clubbing. Sylvia is brilliant and gave an amazing overview of the city my first morning, maps and guides. The whole works. When I wanted to stay More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 361 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 28th Apr 2015

A very friendly and quieter hostel located in the residential neighborhood of Botafogo. It's about a 25 minute walk to Copacabana beach or Sugar Loaf! Plenty of restaurants and a grocery store nearby. The wifi was pretty spotty and refused to work when it rained. Showers were a little weak More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

Great, friendly staff that were super helpful by helping me manage with the airport and airlines in recovering my lost bags in record time! The atmosphere of the hostel is also great - I wish I had more time and was there under less stressful circumstances, it would have been More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 322 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 18th Apr 2015

This is a great hostel. It is about a 10 min walk from the Subway. I used public transport from the bus terminal to there, but since I had bags it was not worth walking all the way up the hill (which is not that far) I got a cab and paid about 10 reais. Staff is amazing and very helpful. More
teacherjucy2556 (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 12th Apr 2015

This hostel is only 5 minutes up the hill from Gloria station. The staff were kind and friendly and the beds big and comfortable. It has an excellent roof terrace and a friendly cat called zebra! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback