X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 330 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Discovery hostel is definitely a great place to stay in Rio. I have done a lot of teaching and would view this the best hostel I've stayed at. The place is clean, staff is super friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious and beds are comfortable. Lapa is great for going out and is close More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Jul 2014

By far, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 376 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 18th Jul 2014

Good location and safe. People are friendly and very helpful to provide any information I need. I had great stays there. More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 17th Jul 2014

Very helpful friendly crew at Harmonia. Thx guys More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 252 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 20th Jul 2014

Lovely people, staff and atmosphere. The hostel is located at the top of a hill (typically Rio) but the views are amazing. Staff were very helpful in advising what to do and where to go! Beds were also very comfy and locks big enought to fit a rucksack! More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 15th Jul 2014

I LOVE THIS PLACE! Cool place and stuff. Really good atmosphere and nice and helpful stuff. the rooms are very good for this price got every facility you need - internet (although not excellent), laundry and kitchen and even a cool music room! Santa teresa is a an awesome More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 824 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 10th Jul 2014

nice bar, great barman, nice crowd, good beds. what more could you want More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 49%
  • 10th Jul 2014

For as much as we paid we stayed in a tiny room with 3 bunk beds. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. We stayed right next to the bathrooms and had drunk people walking in and out of our room during the night. Was not an ideal place to stay. Would not recommend it to someone visiting More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 128 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 24th Jul 2014

The hostel is fine, location is good. The WiFi should work in the whole hostel, it's not hard to do but hostels in South America can't seem to figure this out. Also the computers in this hostel barely work at all, one doesn't even have the monitor plugged in and the others WiFi drops off More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 17th Jul 2014

Beds, rooms, breakfast ect okay, but it was so loud!! Almost every night I had problems to sleep, even if I use earplugs. Common area is located just the way that all the noises come to your room so loudly and they don't have any quiet time. Have spent time maaaaaany hostels and that's the More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1364 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 20th Jul 2014

Great hostel in a perfectly safe location, one block from Leblon Beach! The staff are incredible and will go out with you and make sure you're alright and having the best time. The hostel is set up perfectly to socialize and meet people. Lockers are spacious to fit every size backpack. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 18th Jul 2014

Great hostel, amazing staff and such a friendly people. Ipanema beach just on the corner. Highly recommend! More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 641 Total Reviews

No.7

  • The LightHouse

  • Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 80%
  • 11th Jul 2014

A great hostel in Ipanema. Not a party hostel so not for everyone. It was perfect for my husband & I. It's in a cute little "village" along with some residences and other hostels. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Jun 2014

Had a great stay, the staff were all great and made me feel very welcome. The only issue I had was that the bathrooms were a bit dirty and the hot water wasn't working for a couple of days. Also I felt that increasing the room rates by 400% because of the world cup was excessive. I More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 226 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 15th Jul 2014

Good Hostel if you decide to stay in a private room with comfy beds. it is located in a quiet street in Copacabana, short walk from the beach and groceries stores, bus stops or metro station. Victor at reception is always up to help you, providing information about the area and make your More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 8th Jul 2014

Victor was super friendly and helpful, as was Magdalena. They really looked after us and made us feel at home. The room was functional, very clean and a good size. Breakfast had a variety of fruit, breads and jams. Wifi was reliable. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 18th Jun 2014

Clean, welcoming hostel with decent hosts who manage the place well More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Jun 2014

Stayed here for the World Cup, and my only regret was not staying my entire trip at Cafe Rio. The staff are wonderful, friendly, helpful people, and I met a lot of really cool people while staying there. You should definitely stay at this hostel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 941 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 91%
  • 16th Jul 2014

This place is amazing. Felipe, the owner, even went to the pharmacy with me when I needed medication. Staff is excellent. Only reason not to come to Books would be if you're on a tight schedule. Because everybody always stays longer than planned here.... Love Books! More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Jul 2014

Wow. It was my 3rd stay at Books and I can't get enough of the place. They put on such an effort for the World Cup so there was a real buzz about the place but you could still have cosy chats with the staff over breakfast, or share a meal with everyone in the hostel. No where else in the More
keelinstar9499 (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback