X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 515 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 18th May 2015

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Cosy and homely, never too full with people, as such there's always a great friendly environment. Zion and all the guys that work there are amazing too. Believe all the other great reviews - this place really is awesome! More
CazChe08 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 5th May 2015

I loved Discovery Hostel! Next time I go to Rio I will be staying here again. It has the perfect atmosphere for those just looking to have some fun. It is easy to make friends and the staff is wonderful. LOVED Discovery Hostel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 433 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 14th May 2015

Hostel had a very cosy feel. The beds were some of the most solid, non wobbly beds i've slept in at a hostel! Very safe and in a great location. Also the breakfast was amazing. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 10th May 2015

Love this hostel! Great location - close to the beach and your choice of supermarkets, restaurants, bars, etc. Great space and very clean. Best of all is the vibe. A few drawbacks: cash only, which is more common in Brazil than in other countries, but it's a bit frustrating since it's More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 490 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 8th May 2015

My and I had an amazing experience at Che Lagarto Anita. The staff was amazing, always attentive, helpful and funny. Breakfast was delicious and the commodities were clean and changed everyday More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 1st May 2015

Very helpful staff, good location. More a hostel for couples than people on their own as the common area lacks atmosphere. Good breakfast and the staff were great at advising us where to go and ordering us an airport transfer at 2am. Would definitely return. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 326 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 18th Apr 2015

This is a great hostel. It is about a 10 min walk from the Subway. I used public transport from the bus terminal to there, but since I had bags it was not worth walking all the way up the hill (which is not that far) I got a cab and paid about 10 reais. Staff is amazing and very helpful. More
teacherjucy2556 (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 12th Apr 2015

This hostel is only 5 minutes up the hill from Gloria station. The staff were kind and friendly and the beds big and comfortable. It has an excellent roof terrace and a friendly cat called zebra! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1604 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 15th May 2015

Ecxelent hostel. Best Hostel ever. I would never stay in other hostel when in Rio. Thanks Lemon Team. More
thiferoli3496 (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 5th May 2015

One of the best experiences I've had in my life. I loved that the hostel is just 1 block away from the beach, in a very fancy neighborhood where there are a lot of restaurants and famous bars to go. The staff is great, I made very good friends and I would definitely recommend this place More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1125 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 89%
  • 15th May 2015

Excellent location for a party weekend in Lapa. The bar is energetic every night and you're guaranteed a party! The staff were great - especially the bar girls, Carol on reception and Felipe in his hat. The 6 bed dorm is much better than the 8 so opt for that one.. Breakfast is also More
nickiseaborn9593 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 14th May 2015

The best hostel I've stayed in so far, mainly due to the atmosphere, staff and Felipe! It is true what they all say, he is awesome! You won't regret staying here. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 695 Total Reviews

No.7

  • The LightHouse

  • Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 89%
  • 13th May 2015

Great location very close to the beach. Silvi an Alex really friendly and helpful. Nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Amazing friendly staff. Very clean. Great location! More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 5th May 2015

Cheapest hostel in Impanema so very basic but clean. Only 4 showers for the whole hostel. The bathroom on the first floor has 2 showers and a toilet. It also has a lock on the main door so selfish travellers lock themselves in. That leaves 2 showers upstairs for the whole hostel to More
jmacleod865106 (Scotland) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1001 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 22nd May 2015

The staff is their greatest asset. The bar is great at night and the location is perfect for any backpacker that stays in Rio. Don't look any further for accommodation. You won't have a better time anywhere else. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th May 2015

Loved it! I felt like home >:o) Clean, secure and great staff! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback