X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 383 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 14th Oct 2014

I don't know how to mention high and low points, because I've just seen high points. It's a really clean and organized place, everything is new, lot's of facilities, it's located just some steps of the subway station and the staffs are so helpful. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Oct 2014

- you can give just a little bit better exchange rate, in hostel was 2.1, at the exchange office 2.45 :) More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 392 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 2nd Oct 2014

Certainly one of the best hostels I've ever been to. Located just some 10 walking minutes from Praia de Ipanema, this place offers everything for a relaxed stay. It's not a party hostel at all, but if you like a quiet athmosphere with more of a "family" feeling, that's the perfect place. More
apeteruk8112 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 26th Sep 2014

Great hostel, walking distance to copacabana and ipanema. Staff and atmosphere is great, located in the compound of other hostels. Only problem was that the aircon in the room wasnt working, and the bed frames and mattresses were old. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 271 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 7th Oct 2014

As always the stay was great and i had an enjoyable time. More
Anonymous (Trinidad And Tobago) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Brilliant place!! Definitely recommend it to anyone!! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 866 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Especially the new staff was amazing and everybody was very committed :) I would definitely recommend it More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 5th Oct 2014

Probably one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in. Very nice and extremly helpful staff and great atmosphere! More
chneusser6769 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 439 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 14th Oct 2014

Good hostel. Nice and clean. Rooms are pretty small. There is no where to put your bag so you end up stumbling over it all the time trying to get to the bathroom etc. this hostel is good for couples as it's more of a hotel. Main issues were there was a really strange smell in the room my More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 29th Jul 2014

Very friendly staff who take time to explain the local area. This was such a welcoming place - thank you. Great location, really good price and completely good experience. Thanks so much for the welcome and the time you gave us. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1422 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 5th Oct 2014

Very safe and good location. Near the beach, bus stations, restaurants and shopping area. The organized tour packages are great! Pretty cool ambiance. More
sj_alv (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Sep 2014

A really great hostel in a superb location. Staff are awesome and incredibly helpful. Good facilities including a decent kitchen and lots of bathrooms. Would recommend! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 237 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

Che Lagarto is one of those places where you feel exactly how you feel at home. I can't thank the staff enough! Really clean private room and really good breakfast! I only had a little problem with the shower but they fixed it on the same day. Coming back to the hostel next time in More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

We'd like to thank the excellent staff at Che Lagarto, Santa Clara for making us feel so welcome. It makes such a difference when you are a long way from home. The staff were incredible; the location perfect for the beach and the hostel was extremely clean with a wonderful atmosphere. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 189 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 14th Oct 2014

Just stayed one night there. Very nice and helpfull staff! Clean rooms and lots of bathroom ;) More
chneusser6769 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Oct 2014

Refugio Hostel ! really good hostel in Rio! the price is good and nice staff have great "cafe da manha" too! More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 229 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 13th Oct 2014

Nice place to meet people, all the staffs are really helpful. Even the uphill thing is just like an exercise. More
meredithree (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 9th Oct 2014

Good hostel for the value, great location, and great accommodations. I didn't appreciate being given the third degree about doing laundry after I paid for it and having someone keep asking me if I paid and then getting other hostel workers to ask me if I paid again, but that was a minor More
dallasman04 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback