X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 445 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 86%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Pros : Good location & Nice staff Cons :Difficult to climb beds and the poor & late breakfast (from 8:30 to 10:30 ) Obs. You are twice as likely to have a bad sleep in a triple bunk bed than in a double one. I couldn't sleep properly in my whole stay there. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Jan 2015

A well run hostel with a competent and knowledgeable staff. The hostel is usually full of mostly single people and there is a wonderful communal aspect to it. The proximity to public transportation is amazing and the price is reasonable. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 304 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 60%
  • 19th Jan 2015

I think my expectations were high considering all the great feedback. Carlos seemed like a lovely guy and I think the people who had such great experiences probably stayed at weekends and went out with Carlos. I stayed mid week. I was in a non air conditioned room (I didnt realise some More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Jan 2015

Carlos and his team were superb. Located in a great and safe area of Botafogo with easy access to everything. The guys at the hostel will look after all your needs and queries. Highly recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 115 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Perfect place to stay in Rio. Very helpful and nice staff. Great atmosphere and location. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th Jan 2015

Brilliant hostel with the most wonderful, friendly staff!! Perfectly located just a very short walk from the beach. It has a great atmosphere and made a brilliant start to our stay in South America. Wished we could have stayed here longer! The staff were ever so helpful and there was a More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1034 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 7th Jan 2015

Super cool staff, very good location More
lexjosh (Hungary) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

I was wondering why people consider it hostel as one of the best. At the first sight, you wonder, but you need to stay there to see it. Don't expect much sleep, even if the rooms have airco and are comfortable, its much better at the bar. Good thing, the music stops at 12. After that, More
claudialucia61978 (Colombia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 927 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 8th Jan 2015

the hostel is in the best location in Rio for travelers. Great atmosphere with very very nice and helping staff. the rooms are a little small but once you get used to it, its not an issue. More
Anonymous (Israel) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 5th Jan 2015

One of the best hostels i´ve stayed at by far. The staff are excellent and can help organise any activity you would like to do. Great location- just up the road from the beach and surrounded by shops and ATMś. There is a decent breakfast and bar. I travelled alone and met some really More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 465 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 21st Dec 2014

Great location - close to the metro station and Copacabana beach. Staff was AMAZING !!! Breakfast - not a lot of options but very delicious. It was clean and my room had a very comfortable double bed. More
monicafnegoita6761 (Romania) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Dec 2014

I haven't stayed in a hostel since I was at school so Che Lagarto was a real revelation for me, being more like a budget hotel than I expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Taiese , Enrique and Peter (?) who were welcoming, chatty and assisted me with everything from More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 408 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 83%
  • 18th Dec 2014

Great hostel just a short walk to the beautiful Ipanema beach. The hostel has a good atmosphere and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious and includes fresh fruit, cheese and eggs. The only downsides were the air conditioning only worked periodically and the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Amazing place to stay in Rio! Safe hostel in a great neighborhood! Excellent location and friendly staff! Highly recommend. Will definitely stay back in the same hostel should I visit Rio again :D More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 302 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 18th Jan 2015

It was our second time in santa mix... And its still a great, comfy place to stay. We loved the terrace with its amazing view over the city. Unfortunately, the pool we knew from our first stay is not there anymore, the internet on the roof (where our room was located) wasnt working at all. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 12th Jan 2015

The staff is super nice and helpful. Breakfast is very good and beds are comfortable. The only down part is that your are a bit far from Ipanema and Copacabana...where we will try to be next time. From the metro there is a 10 minutes walk up hill...I easily got lazy to go down/up for More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 254 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Very nice More
juviecita7718 (Switzerland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Jan 2015

Nothing to complain about, very close to the beach and Leme is a great part of rio. Would definitely stay again! More
Anonymous (Norway) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1510 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 89%
  • 19th Jan 2015

Arguably the greatest hostel in Rio, only bad part of our experience was the noise and inconsideration from other guests. Location could not be better! More
maysonjean (Canada) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Surely this must be the best hostel in Rio?! I have just left and am already thinking about when I can go back! Such a great place. The staff are fantastic. I was worried about my swollen feet and ankles but Bia helped me so much. She makes great caipirinhas too. I felt really at home More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback