X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 538 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 30th Jun 2015

The staff is friendly and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is delicious. The community feels like a family. More
srlasken (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 29th Jun 2015

I've travelled in Hostels throughout the world and this is by far the best one I have come to stay in. This feels like a house, with a welcoming feel and comforting ambiance. It is impeccably clean. The breakfast is amazing. Homemade French toast, banana pancakes, fresh papaya etc. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 443 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Great hostel. Maybe a little quiet but it is low season. Awesome breakfast of fresh fruit and ham and cheese rolls. It is also kept spotless and super clean. Security is great with a night watchman and someone on reception all the time. The staff and owner are amazing. Really great place More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Jun 2015

This pousada is one of the best place to stay in Ipanema, moreover the owner Christian is really helpfull for anything in Rio he gives the time needed to arrange you what you want. The entire staff is so friendly, really cool, anyway Harmonia makes you feel home. Nothing to say about More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1633 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Only suggestion I would make is to add indivual lights for each bed in the dorm rooms, as the price is high for a hostel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

Good hostel but most of the staff weren't very friendly. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1020 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 30th Jun 2015

Great hostel! Especially the staff! they are all very friendly and always ready to help! They all know Rio from end to end! The hostel is located near the metro, main bus stops and the beach, between the redeemer and sugarloaf. It's very clean for my patterns. housekeeping everyday. Great More
marcelobuffo (Brazil) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 24th Jun 2015

Excellent helpful staff who made the trip a brilliant experience. Keep up the good work Dominick and the local ladies. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 70 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 10th May 2015

Vidigalbergue is a pleace to stay. If you really wanna experience Brazil, you have to stay in this amazin hostel. The view at the breakfast table is amazin, and also the staff is very friendly! bus stops, beaches and everythid is close (walking distances) Im sure ill go back to rio, More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Lovely staff and a fun place to stay, staff were really helpful with booking our onward travel More
leighmartin2491 (England) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1144 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 71%
  • 26th Jun 2015

A no holds barred party hostel, amazing atmosphere and if your inclination is to party in Lapa, then this is the place for you. Facilities are very average and the place isnt that clean, but it is what it is. I specifically wanted to party that weekend in Lapa, so I had a blast. More
trevorgeffin4722 (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 20th Jun 2015

I stayed here only because I wanted to be close to the Saturday night party in Lapa. It was good for that since it is really close. Otherwise I wouldn't stay here, it is definitely a party hostel with really young vibe and if that's your thing, then cool, have fun. If not, it will be hard More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 332 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 29th Jun 2015

Like a home in Rio thanks to an awesome staff. Good music, party and cool atmosphere on the rooftop. Great breakfast. Super clean. One of my favorite hostel in Brazil. Wonderful experience. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Jun 2015

Had a blast. Clean toilets, decent breakfast, Wi-Fi, Netflix, great rooftop and BBQ. Also made some good friends during my stay with whom I went traipsing around Rio. Washing machine wasn't working - get that fixed and this place is perfect! Comfortable beds and spacious rooms... More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 702 Total Reviews

No.8

  • The LightHouse

  • Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 77%
  • 17th Jun 2015

Staff very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Good wifi connection. Thought expensive. Paid 75 reals for 8 bed dorm. Across the yard paid 40 for 5 bed dorm. On the hostelworld.com site the hostel said "selling out soon" but I was the only guest in the dorm during four day stay. More
Anonymous (Japan) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 4th Jun 2015

Wonderful hostel, perfect for exploring. Fantastic staff who couldn't be kinder or more helpful. Absolutely recommended for anybody looking to explore Rio and relax on Ipanema. More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 505 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 25th Jun 2015

Hostel was nice and clean, staff were helpful, breakfast was nice! Shower was cold because hot tap is broken (room 106) and wifi was poor at times. Overall a great stay!!! More
danvet (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Nice hostel, friendly staff, breakfast was good, facilities basic but decent. More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback