X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 659 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 27th Jan 2016

This is one of the best hostels I've ever been to. I felt like I was at home with family and I would stay at Discovery again in a heartbeat. They do a great job of bringing everyone together and really encourage you to get out and explore Rio. Comfy beds, staff who become friends, good More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Jan 2016

The staff were all so welcoming and helpful which made me feel at ease having just arrived in Brazil! The hostel was clean and the rooms were great AND they manage to keep a great atmosphere in the hostel. I always felt I could just go and ask the staff if I needed anything from a More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 491 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 21st Jan 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It's small, cozy and the staff is amazing! It feels like a home away from home, I really recommend it! It feels clean, it's close to the beach and the area feels safe. Also, the home made banana bread we got for breakfast was awesome. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th Jan 2016

Can't beat the location! Best in Rio. Loved the size of this place, under 20 people which kept the place feeling very relaxed and chill. Great vibes here. Very cute and comfortable accommodation. Awesome staff! Highly recommended! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 56 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

I really liked this Hostal! It was a very nice view to the ocean. More
Anonymous (Chile) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 29th Dec 2015

A really nice place to stay, great view over the sea, good breakfast and a beautiful place to stay. Staff is really friendly and you feel home directly. It's a little far from downtown or Copacabana but there are good bus connection so there is no problem. I would definitely recommend this More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 6th Jan 2016

Wow- amazing hostel (this is how it should be done)! Staff were really kind and helpful, everything was bright and clean and the air con in our room was much appreciated in the height of summer. Breakfast was really good too. It's only downside is distance from Metro but this area is great More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Jan 2016

a computer to use is available, quiet-not a party hostel, clean and organized, the couple is very helpful, family feeling to the hostel, breakfast is good. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 1156 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

A very good hostel to meet others travellers. The staff is very helpfull and so friendly. A great way to start your visit in rio is to stay in this hostel. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 28th Jan 2016

Staff were absolutely fantastic. great hostel with great atmosphere. Only thing rooms are too small for the number of people More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 021 Hostel

  • Rua Dr Sousa Lopes, 12, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 21st Jan 2016

I would give you 150% if i could. The staff does literally everything so that you feel satisfied and comfortable. Thanks a lot guys! I can highly recommand you! Nice location between copacabana and center. Clean bathrooms, clean rooms/beds. Big lockers for the luggage. Nice selfmade More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 17th Jan 2016

All in all a very nice hostel in a great location. Only problem I had was paying in cash for a portion of the stay and then girl who took it claimed we never paid. In the end they did the right thing and allowed us to stay, just make sure to get a receipt! More
Anonymous (Canada) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 64 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 23rd Jan 2016

Alma Santa is one of the best hostel/ guest houses I have stayed in. I've been all over Europe and South America and this place is unique. Friendly and helpful staff; Paulo, Dani and Alexander are a delight and super charming. The breakfast is good, the showers are great, beds comfortable More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Jan 2016

We have never ever enjoyed such friendly, helpful and outstanding staff. Unless you are disabled or extremely geriatric dont even consider going anywhere else. More
thehealthconnection6000 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1793 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 27th Jan 2016

Very convenient location. Easy access to beach , restaurants and public transportation. Staff working at front dest speak good English. More
Anonymous (China) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Jan 2016

Very good hostel, great staff, good atmosphere. The bar makes sure you're certain to meet other travellers. The rooms are a little small, but the beds are comfortable enough. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1256 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 86%
  • 23rd Jan 2016

It was a good stay. Proper party hostel, phillipe is great and organizes a lot of fun stuff for everyone. Would definitely come back! More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Jan 2016

Felipe is the best host i've ever met. He will do anything to help you even in his hardest hangover! Always there when you ask him something. The hostel is great, the real party atmosphere, facilities, clean bathrooms, fast wifi. It's close o everything right in the center of the bohemian More
Anonymous (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback