X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 423 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 9th Dec 2014

Fantastic hostel- very clean, comfy beds and a great atmosphere. Staff were very helpful! Everything you could want in a hostel and more! Definitely recommend this place. More
shararehahmadzadeh4866 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Dec 2014

A lot of thought has gone into this amazing place and the staff really made it, especially the super cool Ozzy girl at reception who was really helpful with everything. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 97 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 1st Jul 2014

Awesome hostel great staff. The only bad bit is the giant hill you have to walk up to get to it everday More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 291 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 11th Dec 2014

You come here for the atmosphere. Extremely helpful staff combined with open-minded people make it a perfect stay in one the most interesting cities in the world! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 6th Dec 2014

Staff is really nice and warm, the atmosphere is incredible. Bathrooms could be cleaner. More
rk_celeste (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1017 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 91%
  • 18th Dec 2014

Hostel is a really great place to meet other travellers and have a good time. The owner is extremely helpful and the location is right by the nightlife. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Dec 2014

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Felipe and staff are awesome. Must stay here if visiting Rio. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 456 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 19th Dec 2014

Brilliant hostel, one of the best we have stayed in More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 16th Dec 2014

Stayed for two nights, everything was great! Really close to Copacabana, staff was very friendly and helpful. The private room was clean and big but the door was thin so it was a bit noisy sometimes. Wifi didn't always work. But overall a very good choise for a hostel near Copacabana! More
Anonymous (Finland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1478 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 7th Dec 2014

Good place right next to the beach. Staff were helpful and nice and the Caprihinas are good! My only criticism is that the 6 bed dorms we too small and would be better suited with 4 beds - it's too crammed. And a toaster or toast is machine at breakfast wouldn't go a miss. Otherwise More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 57%
  • 6th Dec 2014

La persona que atendia en el turno tarde -noche no fue amable en explicarnos las facilidadea que existian. Room was very small (and i was in a 4bed room) , 6 bathrooms on the second flor but 3 of them had no lock ... this hostel wasnt what i expected . The location was very good thats it More
Anonymous (Peru) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 907 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 3rd Dec 2014

the only problem was, that the staff called a taxi, driver was drunk, no official taxi and drive back wards aainst the traffic, More
opatat7827 (Netherlands) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 3rd Dec 2014

My biggest complaints were: 1) too many mosquitoes, 2) AC and fans were broken so it was very hot, 3) people were allowed to smoke cigarettes in and near the building, so the smell of smoke was common, and 4) pillows need to be replaced. Other than that, the staff was great, Wifi was More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 402 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 12th Dec 2014

Brilliant little place that feels like home as the hostel can only hold a max of 20ish people. Staff are really interested in your daily activities and all speak English, Sweedish and Portuguese. Good breakfast - amazingly equipt kitchen to cook good meals. Clean with warm powerful More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 8th Dec 2014

Beatrix and Brandon were phenomenal. The bathroom was one of the best hostel bathrooms I've been in after 6 months of travel throughout North and South America - large, bright, cleaned several times each day, no issues with hot water, etc. The kitchen was a little dodgy but otherwise the More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 246 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 17th Nov 2014

Good hostel, amazing staff and well located, just a few blocks from Copacabana Beach. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 14th Nov 2014

We loved the ......staff!!!! They are wonderful!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 242 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 80%
  • 6th Dec 2014

We had no water for the one night we we're here, but the staff knew about it straight away and gave us a full refund for the night, very apologic. It wasn't there fault, as the water was out in the whole area. The only bad thing about this hostel is it's right on top of a hill! Climbing up More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Stayed for 5nights last week and had an amazing time! Wifi was tempremental but that wasn't an issue as they had a laptop for anybody to use if needed. Would love to go back here sometime! The staff and owners are very helpful and will happily organise and book anything you want. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback