X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 361 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 29th Aug 2014

Discovery was by far the best hostel we have stayed at, Enrique and his staff were extremely helpful and made the place feel like a home away from home. Great bar and outdoor courtyard and all the other amenities that you expect from a great hostel. We also booked transfers and excursions More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Aug 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. As a solo female traveler I felt 100% safe in the hostel and the neighborhood. Close to the Metro, downtown Rio, restaurants and shops. Excellent location. If you are not a fan of heights, be sure to ask for a lower bunk because the high ones More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 385 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Very good location and very helpful staff. I recommend! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Aug 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and it was all we needed. There was hot water, a comfy bed, good internet, and a decent breakfast. The location is perfect for a day at the beach or is a short walk away from the metro to see the sights. The staff were extremely helpfully and fully of energy and More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 266 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

I came for the second time to santa mix on less than a week because everything in Paraty was sold out! I booked late at night but when we arrived Jorge was there waitibg for su with our beds ready! Once again, Gabriel, Jorge and Marce shined, thats why we decided to go back! Nothing feels More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Aug 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel! O arrived late, 2;30am and Gabriel was there to help me out! Marce, who does the breadas y and cleaning is very accomodating and nice! Love the atmohphere! The WiFi is pretty good! There is hot water! The metro and bus station is close by! The More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1400 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 6th Sep 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! One block from the beach, in a very nice and safe area of Rio. Individual bathroom/toilets, big lockers in the rooms and computers available to use. The staff are all friendly and fun to hang out with. Has a great atmosphere with lots of people from More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

Best hostel I've been to. Staff are the best. Great common area for meeting people More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 844 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 5th Sep 2014

I was staying for one night in one of the Misti hostels and it sucked. They were overbooked and canceled my booking so I randomly landed in the walk on the beach. My time here was amazing. The staff is incredibly nice, especially Alessandra and Bo, the owner. If you need help with anything More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Very good hostel, close to Copacabana Beach and very secured! The dorms are a little bit cramped, but the staff is awesome! More
thomasguilb (France) (All Male Group) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 166 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Good hostel. Very clean, good wifi, free towel and good breakfast. Lovely roof terrace to sit on and kitchen well kitted out. The staff were particularly helpful. Would happily stay again. More
pamelaneil2439 (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 9th Sep 2014

Hostel parece ok, mas detalhes fazem a diferença. O atendimento é ok, os banheiros não foram limpos, a cama é boa! localização longe da praia. Faltam algumas coisas. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 234 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

We'd like to thank the excellent staff at Che Lagarto, Santa Clara for making us feel so welcome. It makes such a difference when you are a long way from home. The staff were incredible; the location perfect for the beach and the hostel was extremely clean with a wonderful atmosphere. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 21st Aug 2014

kitchen space isnt massive compared to other hostels we have stayed in and they could do with a few kitchen utensils but apart from that the hostel is great and we fully reccomend it if you are staying in rio and want a little more than just a hostel but at great prices More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 224 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 5th Aug 2014

I loved this hostel and consider it to be one of the best stays I've had throughout all the years that I have been traveling. The staff is super helpful and very friendly and caring and create a great welcoming atmosphere right off the bat, the location is very close to the beach and the More
Anonymous (Russia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 30th Jul 2014

Really nice hostel! More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 706 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Very good breakfast, very caring staff and a beautiful breakfast area/lounge. The rooms are clean and big enough for the number of people sleeping in there. No additional equipment like pool, billard, books etc. Too expensive in my opinion. More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 29th Aug 2014

It's a good Hostel. Great location. 1.5 block from the Ipanema beach and very near Copacabana (by bike, bus, taxi, etc). At relative wkg distance to the subway (~ 15 minutes) and in a apparently very safe area from Rio. Cleanliness is also a strong point. It's very tidy (specially for More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback