X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 97%
  • 65 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 6th Jun 2015

I have had a great time at Cafe Rio Hostel. This is an ideal place for those looking for a relaxing stay in Rio as this hostel definitely feels more like a pousada. Its location is also very good and safe and the owners Marcia and Jacques are very kind and always willing to help you. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 571 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 21st Aug 2015

One of the best hostels I ever stayed in. They though about every detail and that's what makes a huge difference. The place is clean, sheets come in a sealed plastic. The bunk beds are attached to the wall and beds have quite a space between them. Each bed has a small shelf on the side, More
nathalieherman3368 (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Best hostel i've ever been in Brazil. - nice staff and atmosphere - located near important places in RIo and the subway - i will recomend to my friends and certainly come back for other trips to Rio More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 455 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Amazing hostel. Finished my trip around South America in Rio and in this hostel. Great staff and a great hostel all round. You are really made to feel at home! Thanks for the stay and the smoothies Chris. More
adamhwilkie (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Aug 2015

I loved staying at Harmonia. The staff was fantastic, the location so close to Ipanema beach was great, and the whole place was very clean and inviting. :) Thank you Harmonia! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 78 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 021 Hostel

  • Rua Dr Sousa Lopes, 12, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 13th Aug 2015

I had a great time here. The staff were great and welcoming. Sheila and Lucas were awesome in providing recommendations for activities, restaurants, and commuting. It had a laid back atmosphere which is great to have especially after a hectic, crazy day out in the city. And breakfast is More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Top marks for this hostel, a really nice place to stay. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 58 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Meiai Hostel

  • Rua Guilhermina Guinle 127, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro
  • 86%
  • 18th Jul 2015

This hostel is very nice. I would love to stay there again. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 11th Jun 2015

Clean room and bathroom, powerplug for each bed, good underbed lockers, helpful staff, nice breakfast buffet, good value for the money. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 1038 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 15th Aug 2015

The staff here is awesome as is the location in Copacabana and the people that stay here. I had a tremendous experience here, and I definitely recommend the hostel. It is fairly clean and has a really good breakfast. The staff though really makes the experience. More
kimbo934394 (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 7th Aug 2015

What a hostel! The staff truly make the place. They have incredible knowledge of Rio and the rest of Brazil and are the most helpful and friendly people I've come across during my travels. The hostel is in a perfect location, barely 5 minutes walk to Copacabana Beach and all shops and More
anisapatel861337 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1684 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Great location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, big bathrooms, nice staff, kitchen for guests and an excellent breakfast for a good price. The building looks a bit old, but it is cozy. The only flaw is that my room was a bit noisy in the morning, since it faced an avenue with considerable More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Great atmosphere for meeting people and partying. More
twj210261 (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 349 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 11th Aug 2015

Loved this hostel. Really charismatic place. Great area to explore real Rio. Roof terrace is beautiful by day or night to look over the city. Easy to make friends. Full kitchen facilities and they sell drinks in the kitchen with an honesty pot. Beds very comfortable. Big secure lockers. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Aug 2015

Very good hostel, great vibe and terrace. Add a better breakfast and it would improve further. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 164 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Kaza Rio

  • R. Haddock Lobo, 23 - 3 floor, Estacio, Rio de Janeiro
  • 57%
  • 26th Jun 2015

it was insanely disappointing to discover that a common area/rooftop closes at 10pm! as a result there's NO place to 'socialize' in the evening... besides your room which in my case was very small and dark. location is BAD. there's nothing exciting around. it's a very non-touristy, rough More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Jun 2015

Crear help! Loved it More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 1179 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Always a fun place to stay with a great breakfast More
cantona20003838 (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 16th Aug 2015

Felipe made us feel welcome immediately as we walked through the door. We stayed in a spacious 10 bed dorm room which had good locking facilities for your things and clean bed linen. The atmosphere during the day is chilled and the outside seating area is a good place to made friends. The More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback