X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

HOSTEL
  • 94%
  • 475 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Discovery Hostel

  • Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 11th Mar 2015

This is really amazing place !!! It is so close to the main party district and metro station is just 50 meters away. Clean , safety with good facilities. It takes only 15 minutes to go to Copacabana by tube. Most of all I liked the staff - so cool and friendly ! Thank you guys for my More
s_kosev434 (Bulgaria) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Mar 2015

Супер! это реально лучшее место, если вы хотите остановиться в Рио, атмосфера, расположение, персонал, все на высшем уровне, вам не захочется покидать это More
Anonymous (Russia) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 421 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Harmonia

  • Rua Barao da Torre 175, casa 18, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 100%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Lovely place, everything was great. Highly recomend it! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Harmonia is in a brilliant location in Ipanema, close to the beach and the metro. There's a great mixture of people from all over the world and Chris and Saskia, who run it, are always so friendly and helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1082 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Books Hostel

  • Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro
  • 83%
  • 27th Mar 2015

I've stayed at Books before and it was one of my favorite hostels ever, but this time I was a little disappointed. I remember the hostel being cleaner, and this time the bathrooms were very dirty, full of garbage and, sometimes, unfunctional. It was also kinda odd that the staff, at least More
CarolChaves (Brazil) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 22nd Mar 2015

We stayed at Books Hostel for one Week. The room was nice and tidy and there was enough space for everyone. We had such an amazing time at Bookshostel - The bar team was very friendly and made good Caipirinhas :-) The staff is very helpful and friendly as well - they really want that you More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 343 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Maia and Carlos were very helpful! As a solo female traveler, I felt very taken care of during my stay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Located at Botafogo at a nice street, we love the hostel and the staff, they help us with a lot of thinks. They are really friendly and you fell like stay in your own home. The subway are fell blocks close, and you can take a lot of bus at RioSul mall, a shopping, who stay at the end of More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 1556 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 22nd Mar 2015

Perfect hostel. Rodrigo Rodriguez is the man! More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Mar 2015

This is one of the best hostels and best locations in Rio esp if you are new to Latin American world. The guys there are very knowledgeable of the area and give you best advise. Pick this place for a peaceful and fun=filled experience of Rio. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 476 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 25th Feb 2015

very good hostel - stayed for a few nights post carnival, and did everything it needed - very good location, about 2 blocks from the sea, with very helpful and friendly staff. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Feb 2015

The staff were very attentive and extremely nice. They helped us with many things and were also very responsive via e-mail when we had questions before and during our stay. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 313 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 11th Mar 2015

This is an excelent place to stay if you go to Rio. The staff are all nice and helpful people. There was always someone to talk to in the common room. They didn't always speak in English, though. However, I can understand this; if I had met people from my country I would probably also More
knut_petersborg2722 (Norway) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 5th Mar 2015

Very good hostel- good breakfast- nice staff- very relaxed atmosphere. So close to the Gloria Subwaystation- like 5-10 minutes. Thats so close for Rio. Very secure neighbourhood- also at night- especially when you see the rest of Rio... More
rachelleyla6527 (Germany) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 682 Total Reviews

No.8

  • The LightHouse

  • Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • 94%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Nice, small hostel. Staff is very friendly and Silvia the owner was a delight and super dedicated to the hostel. If you get a chance talk with her. Great woman. The location is great, just 3 blocks away from the beach and 2 of Ipanema center. Rooms have AC on during the night which is a More
gsturla (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 26th Feb 2015

Really nice place, staff are great. Bit quiet for me. More
texas_rsw8461 (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 277 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 27th Feb 2015

We stayed at Lisetonga for our last night in Rio. The hostel itself is impressive with cool decorations and common area. For us, its situation at the top of a huge hill was a bit of a deal beaker. It's not easy to come and go during the day. Our stay was a bit colored by the fact that the More
Anonymous (USA) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 28th Jan 2015

Overall a good hostel, short walk to Copacaba beach and Rio bikes also 10 min walk away. Staff were very friendly and available 24hrs a day, hostel pretty clean. Booked a private room which had aircon- massive bonus in Rio! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 144 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 5th Mar 2015

I really liked this hostel especially the atmosphere as it was a place where u could spend all day without getting bored. For me the staff are the most important part of a hostel and although i heard reports that they were cliquey i didn't notice. If i was being critical on small More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Mar 2015

Staff really went out of there way to help! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Rio de Janeiro Podcast

Listen to our Rio De Janeiro podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Rio de Janeiro Videos

Watch our Rio De Janeiro video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Rio de Janeiro Videos

Please give us your feedback