X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 347 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 23rd May 2015

Stayed in over 30 hostels and this one is right up there with the best if them. Genuinely friendly staff, clean, has an Xbox table tennis and pool table. Good location too. And dirt cheap. I could stay there for the rest of my life More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 21st May 2015

Our favourite hostel in New Zealand! Staff were incredible, always on hand to help out and even made the effort to learn our names during our stay. Facilities are great and kitchen is lovely and clean. Free unlimited wifi which is always a bonus and a rarity in NZ. Good selection of DVDs More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 365 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 16th May 2015

All good but part of the floor makes noise when you step on it. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Good place to stay, very close to central area. Facilities are clean and the freebies are good as well. Only one thing I didn't like was the thin wall (you can hear people out in the common area and they can hear you talking in the room) but it doesn't kill anybody so all's good. More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 325 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 19th May 2015

Good place to stay, manager was very friendly and gave us a detailed map of places to go in town, hot pool was decent, only issue was that the soap dispenser in the bathroom did Not get refilled during our three day stay, king size bed was great. More
Anonymous (Canada) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Second time we've stayed here and have nothing bad to say. Big clean rooms, super friendly owners and good location. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 8th Mar 2015

Nice place, staff so friendly ! We arrived at 8 AM after a night in the bus, and they prepared our room asap to let us check in 30min after :). Good atmosphere, small place good to met people. More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Great n relaxed little place! More
petjastoever1981 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 849 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 24th May 2015

Very clean and tidy hostel. Very helpful with trips and getting discount on them More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th May 2015

Crash palace is a pretty cheap hostel but they still manage to give you free stuff like pasta or rice for cooking, spices, instant coffee and provide free dinner or popcorn for movie nights. Plus they have single showers and toilets which makes it feel pretty private. More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 383 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 11th Apr 2015

Nice room. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 21st Mar 2015

This hostel was perfect for what we needed for the one night. Was nice and tidy, close to the park, shops, restaurants and the lake and the staff were also very good. We were also pleasantly surprised that we had our own bathroom as we thought we were to share the bathroom facilities! The More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 85 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hostel is close to the city center. It has a thermal pool . Everything was excellent. Recommended More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 7th Feb 2015

A little bit out of town and not enough plugs in room but very clean and tidy. More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 199 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 49%
  • 7th Apr 2015

It was not nice. I was in a room with old people, one woman was farthing all the time. And there where no lockers. It was warm in the room. The kitchen was dirty. Only good things where the 24h reception, free towel and good mattress. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Our room was just disgusting: dirty, heavyli stained curtains and floor and MOLDY! I've never ever seen a room as moldy as that one. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 14th Mar 2015

you have to get used to the smell of the town. at daytime, it's okay, at nighttime it's almost unbearable - I woke up because of the smelliness. but that has nothing to do with the hostel itself which is absolutely fine. it's on the the high street, very close to the bus stops in front of More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Ideal location next to i-site and pubs. Stayed in a twin room and it was really quiet (a real bonus over crash palace). The room itself wasn't very nice though with only a skylight (can't see it at all from bottom bunk and can see it way too much from top bunk haha) and the carpet in need More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 96 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

It is hard to find something this special in a budget backpapers style accommodation but The Backyard Inn is a first class spot. the showers are great, the beds super comfy, the restaurant makes great food, the staff is super awesome, the decor is cool and the park next door is so amazing. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 10th Mar 2015

Very comfortable the onsite bar is a nice addition. The kitchen area was large the staff gave good advice. Very nice hostel More
neale_morrison9 (Scotland) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback