X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 316 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 83%
  • 23rd Apr 2015

I spent 3 nights here. Very friendly and helpful staff, they answered the many questions I had ;) Very central location, close to the tourist office, big supermarket and bars. The rooms are nice, with a big locker next to every bed. Spacious kitchen, nice common area. Another good thing More
kedanne7049 (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Apr 2015

What a great hostel! So far the best place where you can stay in New Zealand! The owners are such nice people, always smiling and helpful! The hostel is great with modern equipements, really clean, and it has a free pool and tennis table! The beds are made of wood, so it's not noisy, More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 364 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Good place to stay, very close to central area. Facilities are clean and the freebies are good as well. Only one thing I didn't like was the thin wall (you can hear people out in the common area and they can hear you talking in the room) but it doesn't kill anybody so all's good. More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Mar 2015

Great location! Spacious rooms and clean place! I definitely recommend for a hostel! More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 130 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 8th Mar 2015

Nice place, staff so friendly ! We arrived at 8 AM after a night in the bus, and they prepared our room asap to let us check in 30min after :). Good atmosphere, small place good to met people. More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Great n relaxed little place! More
petjastoever1981 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 321 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 8th Apr 2015

Good clean place More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 8th Apr 2015

Pretty standard hostel, although without bunk beds which is a nice change. No lockers. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 842 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 14th Apr 2015

loud music in the morning but besides that not bad More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Up beat, fun and friendly hostel More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 382 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 11th Apr 2015

Nice room. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 21st Mar 2015

This hostel was perfect for what we needed for the one night. Was nice and tidy, close to the park, shops, restaurants and the lake and the staff were also very good. We were also pleasantly surprised that we had our own bathroom as we thought we were to share the bathroom facilities! The More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 85 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hostel is close to the city center. It has a thermal pool . Everything was excellent. Recommended More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 7th Feb 2015

A little bit out of town and not enough plugs in room but very clean and tidy. More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 14th Mar 2015

you have to get used to the smell of the town. at daytime, it's okay, at nighttime it's almost unbearable - I woke up because of the smelliness. but that has nothing to do with the hostel itself which is absolutely fine. it's on the the high street, very close to the bus stops in front of More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Ideal location next to i-site and pubs. Stayed in a twin room and it was really quiet (a real bonus over crash palace). The room itself wasn't very nice though with only a skylight (can't see it at all from bottom bunk and can see it way too much from top bunk haha) and the carpet in need More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 199 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 49%
  • 7th Apr 2015

It was not nice. I was in a room with old people, one woman was farthing all the time. And there where no lockers. It was warm in the room. The kitchen was dirty. Only good things where the 24h reception, free towel and good mattress. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Our room was just disgusting: dirty, heavyli stained curtains and floor and MOLDY! I've never ever seen a room as moldy as that one. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 96 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

It is hard to find something this special in a budget backpapers style accommodation but The Backyard Inn is a first class spot. the showers are great, the beds super comfy, the restaurant makes great food, the staff is super awesome, the decor is cool and the park next door is so amazing. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 10th Mar 2015

Very comfortable the onsite bar is a nice addition. The kitchen area was large the staff gave good advice. Very nice hostel More
neale_morrison9 (Scotland) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback