Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

Top Rated
  • 97%
  • 370 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 17th Jul 2015

Great place right in middle of town owner is fantastic will help you as much as he can Give you tips to fill in your day and tell you of free stuff to take advantage of Free wifi which is brilliant More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

Dave's Hostel is very friendly and homely ! It's much more than just coffee & tee and wifi for free. You get a free hair dryer, hair straighter, hot water bottles and other food for free.. When you looking for a "partyhostel" and want to meet other people, it's the wrong one but when you More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 93%
  • 443 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 3rd Oct 2015

Shoutout to Barry (I think) who helped me sort out activities! Very good hostel, right in the centre of town, friendly staff, good facilities (ping pong table much appreciated). More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 29th Sep 2015

Everything was great overall, except that our room was across from the kitchen and it was SO loud til quite late. Having common areas that are ok to be loud can be tough but the most echoing place in the building isn't the best option. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 92%
  • 346 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 27th Sep 2015

Excellent Stay! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 19th Sep 2015

Wonderful stay at Rotorua Central Backpackers. Everyone is extremely friendly and the rooms are quiet most of the time. Very relaxing, and amazing beds! Also so nice to have free wifi! More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 388 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 14th Sep 2015

This hostel was nice. It was clean and friendly atmosphere. Nothing bad to say. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Really good, clean accomodation with good facilities. Close to the city centre More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 894 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Good location, well equipped kitchens, good entertainment. Little minus for the beds... bunk beds but being on top we both experienced them as unstable and... Prices are sometimes better through Hostelwold than direct so we booked online in front of the hostel to save 3.50,each. More
Andrevw (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Thank you so much for a lovely stay and for making me a free vegetarian meal on the Friday night! That was so nice and I highly recommend this hostel :) More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 102 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

The staff are really helpful, it has a lovely communal atmosphere and I especially like that there's a pool and a bar with a big screen. I was in an upstairs room and the floor was quite squeaky so I hate to think what it must be like to be in the room below me so I would definitely More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 13th Jun 2015

Very close to the city , and clean and warm rooms and facilities .. good value . More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 99 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 26th Sep 2015

Friendly personal at the reception. The room was tidy and it was nice that it had a private bathroom. There was music playing in the hallway which you could hear inside the room. This was a negative point. Luckily the music was out later on the evening. Also, I missed free tea or coffee. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 25th Sep 2015

The hostel is cheap so you get what you pay for. Bathroom was pretty gross, old pubes in bathtub,and there is no actual 'bar' on site. It's a 15 min walk from the Tourist Office and the wifi only works in reception. However, staff were lovely and really helpful and kitchen was good. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 201 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 6th Jul 2015

Quite simply one of the best hostels we've ever stayed in. Were in an ensuite double room- as good as many hotels we've been in. Everything was super. Highly recommmended More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 7th Apr 2015

It was not nice. I was in a room with old people, one woman was farthing all the time. And there where no lockers. It was warm in the room. The kitchen was dirty. Only good things where the 24h reception, free towel and good mattress. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback