X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 3870 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 24th Jul 2015

I was extremely pleased with my stay! Just a few blocks off from union square it is super easy to get to and I always felt safe! Facilities were clean and I loved having an outlet and light in the bed! Defiantly one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Jul 2015

This hostel had a great vibe, was extremely clean, great facilities, great breaky and very spacious. I was not disappointed with anything and would highly recommend! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2255 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

I love this hostel. Many comfortable common areas, a great breakfast and great dorm rooms. The location is perfect if you're a first time visitor to San Francisco. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

Overall a great hostel. It was a bit noisy but I think that just comes from it being such a large city. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1137 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 19th Jul 2015

Liked this place a lot! Security was a bit iffy -- I stayed on a ground-floor room, & there wasn't a/c (which fine, I just happened to be in SF on a rare hot day) so windows needed to be opened for air, but no screens. The room was right by the main doors, and people walking by inches More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 19th Jul 2015

Great location- Our male dorm room was super stuffy, old hot bunk beds with little support , and we decided to leave early. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 790 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 17th Jul 2015

A good hostel. Good people. Bar attached to the Hostel which was the best value for money when drinking. Great kitchen if you feel like cooking. More
Fav (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 15th Jul 2015

The room is note ready at the arrival time More
Anonymous (France) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 963 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 37%
  • 16th Jul 2015

The staff here are really bad. They didn't return my passport after I checked out, and they didn't inform me at all until I found out myself later. They said they will mail to me and give me the shipping information and receipt by email. But they only sent me the shipping number without More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 2nd Jul 2015

The location was great, right in the center of the city. The place was clean, quiet, and breakfast was delicious! More
lindsinator20034411 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 739 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 24th Jul 2015

nice room, need more showers and toilets More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 37%
  • 21st Jul 2015

I found my self sleeping on the street because they would not answer the door or the bell after 11pm More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 1792 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 26th Jul 2015

great ensuite bathrooms staff friendly and helpful common areas valuable More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 57%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Overall a very average hostel. We were there over the weekend and there was absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever. We saw a few signs for organised activities but they didn't seem to happen. Good location close to the shops in union square. Some of the staff helpful, especially a girl, but More
Anonymous (England) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 69%
  • 2370 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 40%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Old, very old hostel. You can't lock the door, it's broken, nobody cares. Bathrooms are unclean. Sheets are dirty, I have found hair in it. There's no fun, no great facilities. An absolute disgrace. Urgently needs renovation. More
murzashev6193 (Kazakhstan) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 24th Jul 2015

No sink in our room for four persons and no sink in the restrooms on our floor. We had no possibility to brush our teeth or wash our hands on our floor. I would not recommand the hostel to my friends More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 56%
  • 556 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 26th Jul 2015

The manager was not competent. My card was scanned THREE times (because the first two times had INCORRECT amounts; my card was charged FOR MORE than what my confirmation stated). When I left in the morning, the manager was late in opening the front desk. I had to knock on the door loudly More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 20th Jun 2015

The atmosphere was Not great, the hostel wasn't very social and it was somewhat depressing, I guess it's probably because no one wanted to stay for long. Very cheap hostel but being located in a very dodgy part of town, I felt so unsafe just stepping out the door. The hostel smelt stuffy More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback