X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3147 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 24th Aug 2014

located in downtown, good private space even in a hostel, gorgeous designed like by space master More
mccai7372 (China) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 19th Aug 2014

I met great people in USA hostels! If I can go back to SFO, I will choose it again! The location is great as well. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1751 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 24th Aug 2014

super professional staff. very clean and organized facility. Loved my experience here. THis is what hostelling should be like everywhere! good job HI SF! More
mrios37 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 21st Aug 2014

Wifi and washing machines did not work More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 947 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

We have stayed here several times over the years....we love the location, parking is free! The breakfast that you provide or have available it fabulous. We have stayed at a different SF location hostel, but this is our favorite. Most of the staff that works the desk and in the More
Anonymous (Japan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 21st Aug 2014

Thanks very much for all the help in finding cheap places to replace dodgy sneakers and all the friendly advice on where I wanted to walk to and also helping me find out where to get over to visit a friend in Mission. Also for booking the shuttle. I didn't get to check out all of your More
juliefaye78 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 578 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 66%
  • 24th Aug 2014

Clean and nice place Location close to the center but on the st with a lot of homeless and dangers The service was bad ( actually one guy of the front desk ) Not worth the price! More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 15th Aug 2014

although the staff, the clinliness were very good, the location is not so ideal. It takes about about 10-block-walk to go there and the street is full of homeless people. If you are traveling in group, it shouldn't be a serious matter, but I was a female solo-traveler. Luckly I didn't More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 758 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 20th Aug 2014

All the bad ratings and comments about tenderloin are puzzling to me. O'farrel street is headed towards a dangerous part of town, but in my experience the hostel itsself was in an ok part of the street. Obviously you dont want to wander around late at night alone, but that goes for most More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 7th Aug 2014

They have no parking - you have to pay $15-$20 bucks to leave your car in a parking structure on a nearby street. Room was clean but the walls and curtains were very dirty. There's only 1 tiny mirror in your room; if you wanna get ready, you have to go into the hallway to use a full length More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 1494 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 25th Aug 2014

Staff was very helpful. I am elderly and the staff person carried my bag up two flights cheerfully. I was abe to print out what I needed on the computer -All in all, I would stay there again. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Very good hostel. Feels like hotel sometimes. Location is good tho couple bloks down is pretty dangerous by night. More
Anonymous (Poland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 606 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 60%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

I only stayed one night so it was fine, but what I can only complain about is the RECEPTIONIST, I don't know how long has this person doing his job as a receptionist, but he wasn't really qualified for this position. I am not sure if that's just me or some other people had this experiences More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 17th Aug 2014

A lot of previous reviews complain about the noise. My room was on the 2nd floor (the music studio is in the basement) and the noise was not an issue. And it did stop promptly at 11:15.The staff was very helpful and the facilities were extremely clean. The major downside, as others have More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 66%
  • 1943 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 63%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

Well, I Found myself into a fire in the kitchen because a girl for got the OIL bottle on the grill. No one from the staff even realized that. The kitchen And the pot are old And dirty. The position is ok though. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 21st Aug 2014

The receptionists were not very friendly. The room was very old, with few outlets for charging electronic devices. The shower wasn't working. The quality of the bed was terrible. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 64%
  • 438 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 22nd Aug 2014

It is a good place to sleep...the bed was really good! Don't expect tv, AC or anything like it...it is a basic room for you to sleep...thats all! It worth the money I paid for...and the location was really good...It is totally possible for you to go walking all over the town! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 14th Aug 2014

wasnt at all terrible as the reviews were. the place was actually better than SF International Hostel except for the location. the location is pretty much the only flaw but a very big flaw. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback