X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3331 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 16th Nov 2014

I literally cannot give any complaints about this hostel. People who are looking to meet people and socialise will find it incredibly easy. The atmosphere in the common area is great, and the staff do well to bring people together. I travelled alone and met great people. If you are looking More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 14th Nov 2014

Smell in my room was not good (206), also very hot, but other than that I was happy with my stay. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1905 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 9th Nov 2014

Simple, delicious breakfast! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 8th Nov 2014

Staff were very rude daily. Decent room toilets always smelt and were dirty. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1004 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 20th Nov 2014

Would definitely stay again! Great location and friendly staff! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 4th Nov 2014

Great hostel close to the marina and fisherman's wharf area. Safe secure with a great staff! Thanks More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 640 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Nice place with cool hangout-area and bar with lots of good beer! I really like my stay, I could definitely come back to this place. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 11th Nov 2014

This hostel is worldclass hostel! Even if some people might be afraid by the homeless in the street, they won't bother you if you don't speak to them. The atmosphere is great in the hostel! It is perfect to meet international travelers, students. You can have a good rest at the bar after a More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 847 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 54%
  • 14th Nov 2014

Full of rude people. Generally quite dirty and the key card system is a little dodgy. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't go back. More
morgie_joynt884354 (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 9th Nov 2014

The lockers could be opened using a screwdriver. They give you a washcloth not a bigger towel. The localization is excellent More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 633 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 9th Nov 2014

Very, very centric hotel, and very clean. Stay away if you want to socialise (there's no kitchen or social spaces here, tho you have fridge in your room). What got me is that is very quiet despite being in the city centre. I will recommend 100%!! More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 25th Oct 2014

Overall very clean. I love how there's a sink in the room along with clean towels and blankets. More
Anonymous (Cambodia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 1569 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Good place to stay in san francisco! The hostel is located near to union square and you can get transportation to anywhere in the city. I feel safe in it. I like the room I stayed - there was a ensuite. The staff was pretty helpfull. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the breakfast - only More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Nov 2014

I have stayed at the "European hostel" before staying here and it is safe to say the Amsterdam hostel is at least 4, no, 5, times better. The staff are super nice in Amsterdam where as in European they are rude unhelpful and try to cheat you of money. And the Amsterdam is cheaper. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 70%
  • 2043 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 20th Nov 2014

I like the security, you have to show the key to get in. apple cinnamon pancakes with maple syrup :) chilling on couch on 1st floor free coffee all day ***** More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th Nov 2014

I think the beds were not in a good shape. Otherwise the hostel was clean, had a very good location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. More
egroeg_du8853 (Romania) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 61%
  • 485 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 34%
  • 8th Nov 2014

The smell on the street is terrible. The write up about this location is either extremely old or has always been false. No views, no bar, no silverware. Dirty and smelly. I will say the clerk really tried to be helpful however without success. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 7th Nov 2014

Not the nicest hostel I've stayed in but I got what I needed from it - a shower and a bed for the night. The bathrooms were dirty and the staff was a little rude. I wouldn't stay here again. More
meemeemary (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 51%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 43%
  • 25th Oct 2014

First of all, there were no bed bugs. This was the only positive thing. But the place was crawling with cockroaches. The bathrooms looked like they had been last cleaned 10 years ago. The place is extremely noisy (someone always seems to watch TV at full volume, the doorbell can be heard More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback