X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 3621 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 31%
  • 18th Apr 2015

Very disappointed with professionalism of the management. An incident happen, my belongings being stolen. Each staff member contradicts what the next one says. The manager, Ryan, differs whom was reported at the locker when the lock is cut. I am not a detective, but with security cameras More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Install night lights in the bedroom.. So people can see when the come in late and not di stride the others.. Thx! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2105 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 17th Apr 2015

rough neighborhood, awesome hostel though! i had a blast but with all those homesless and drug addicts around there, definitely not the safest of areas in SF best hostel i've been at in the states, en par with int'l ones! More
tobiasberardo88 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Apr 2015

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel! Excellent location, close to transit, restaurants and shops. Helpful staff. Everything was very clean, breakfast was delicious (bagels, oatmeal, fruit and coffee) and I also appreciated the filtered water machines. I especially enjoyed the large bathtub More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 713 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 18th Apr 2015

Having stayed in a few SF hostels, I was beginning to realise that you get what you pay for - there are some real dives in SF, and after a few nights I decided to pay a little extra and come here. And I got more than what I paid for - the rooms are relatively spacious, with reading lights More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Staff are wonderful and so helpful - lots of suggestions of places to eat, go out, thrift shops and other rad places. Super clean and always something going on. Neighbourhood kinda shady but if you're smart about avoiding certain streets it really doesn't matter. The staff are pretty good More
sange_tierney2769 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1092 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 21st Apr 2015

Always an awesome place over looking the golden gate bridge and Alcatraz. They could offer a little more food at the breakfast, otherwise a great and comfortable place to stay. More
photopilot (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Great hostel. The location was perfect, staff very helpful and many fun activities were planned. I would highly recommend this hostel and would not hesitate to come back. Thank you for a great stay! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 688 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

the best stay I had in month! More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 8th Apr 2015

There is no public space whatsoever, which completely ruins the atmosphere and makes dorm style rooms much much less satisfying. The beds were quite rickety, and therefor loud. Every movement created squeaks. The mattresses were covered in a plastic that doesn't breathe at all, and makes More
joehelbing4809 (USA) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 902 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 15th Apr 2015

it would have been nice to have a vanity or desk in the shared dorm, maybe at the window? I'm sure Ikea has one that might fit :). Also might have been nice to be able to sit up straight on the bottom bunks. Otherwise everything was great! I didn't use the laundry, community spaces or the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 14th Apr 2015

I really like this place, and everytime I come back is always getting better, nice peoples More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 1707 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 14th Apr 2015

I don't know why people would feel this place is bad in any way. I've been to my part of hostels around the world and this one is definitely one of the better ones! Modest, but good! If you're backpacking this is the perfect location for downtown SF. Being one, like in a lot of major More
Anonymous (Denmark) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 14th Apr 2015

I stayed there for four nights and the locations and staff were amazing! However, there was a weird smell that I think it came from carpets. I probably had bad luck and coincided with strange and with dirty guests. I think the breakfast can be definitely improved maybe with more options, More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 2234 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 66%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Pretty good value hostel comparing to other hostels but breakfast is poor because i do pancake by my sellf. Too crowd and not so comfortable to have breakfast. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 19th Apr 2015

Great hostel in the heart of San Francisco. Good atmosphere with 2 common rooms i prefer the 1st floor. Because it's not much that cold :-). The facilities are ok. I really love the free pancakes in the morning. Never experience that. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 60%
  • 515 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 60%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Its an OK location More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

AAE was a good place to stay and the price was very good. I have stayed in express hotel as well and to me they are somehow the same with AAE being cheaper and having a kitchen where we can actually meet other interesting people. I believe the cleanliness is quiet ok. Some comments are bad More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback