X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3207 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 24th Sep 2014

Really good hostel. Some very nice touches like plugs in the lockers so u can charge ipod or phone and not worry about it. Only down side the room i had was quite near the common room so would hear the pool table or music quite often. Apart from that its very good. And i would stay again. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 24th Sep 2014

No a.c .... Just a fan ... It was so stuffy and hot More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1803 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

The hostel itself was great; friendly staff, the building is excellent and overall downtown is a good hostel. The location is the issue. Being situated in the tenderloin where a lot of crime happens, drug deals happen, scary people happen, it's not ideal for a woman traveller on her own. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Pros Excellent location, Great staff, Great facility. The bunk beds in dorms are solid and stable. I really liked the mobile charging sockets (AC and USB power) and personal reading light in the beds Cons The hostel should upfront mention additional charge of $3 / day / bed while More
basit_a_khan6328 (Pakistan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 971 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

Front desk staff are very helpful and nice. "Cafe Franco" staff are quite aloof and generally not interested in serving you breakfast. There is limited parking, which is very annoying. The electronic door keys often need to be reset, which is annoying. Not a very communal More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 14th Sep 2014

I felt welcomed as soon as I entered the hostel and I really appreciated their help when I was trying to figure out how to accomplish the sightseeing I wanted to do in the short time I was able to be in SF. Thanks! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 610 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 66%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

Very small room and small toilet. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Sep 2014

My 1st time in a hostel. Will stay at one again the experience there was excellent. Location was right More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 791 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 66%
  • 23rd Sep 2014

I put cleanliness as average because I think the kitchen can be more clean and organised, in particular, the washing sink. It is always messy. Perhaps, the management can do something about this. Having said that, the room and the en suite bathroom is very clean and the bed is comfortable. More
Yellowhippo (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 19th Sep 2014

Depressing room. The tv doesn't work. I don't like the neighbourhood. More
willemrelou8115 (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 1518 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

This is a really cool looking hostel that's very comfortable. Staff at front desk are extremely nice and helpful. Rooms are big. Definitely would stay here again. There's also a deal for renting bikes 24hrs at a great price. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 14th Sep 2014

Everything was good. everybody was very nice. the only thing I did not like is that there is no elevator and i had a lot of stuff, the rest was awesome! More
Anonymous (Ukraine) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 616 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 51%
  • 21st Sep 2014

So the staff were less than helpful in terms of their general attitude/hospitality. They seemed much more bothered on what they were distracting themselves with than their actual job. The hostel (more like hotel but not in a good way) was clean but I would say dingy and dated. The location More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 46%
  • 19th Sep 2014

Staff attitude was poor most of the time. Unwelcoming and distant. The security is good, but the facilities make it hard to interact with anyone, in addition to the poor wifi despite the advertisement. The bed was uncomfortable and squeaked a lot. It was a decent hostel, but I've had much More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 66%
  • 1976 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 21st Sep 2014

Very safe, clean, friendly people! Highly recommended! Perfect location! More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 18th Sep 2014

Great location, friendly staff but found atmosphere closed off. Suited to couples or people travelling in a group. Not suited to solo travellers. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 62%
  • 459 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 18th Sep 2014

all in all a good hostel for the money we paid. location seems a bit seedy at first but wasn't actually bad. rooms were not the most modern but they tried keeping them clean and baths were cleaned every day as well. cant complain. you get a good deal if you are not too picky. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 18th Sep 2014

The hostel is really dirty, the aisle smells as urine and the bedding was too old and dirty (my pillowcase was dirty with blood). During our second night there (we had passed five nights there in total) a mouse invaded our room, we talked to the receptionist two time and he put mousetrap More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback