X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 3792 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. There was staff around all day cleaning so any yuckiness is due to fellow travelers. Great location and I felt very safe - important since I'm a female on my own. Luggage was very secure when stored before/after check-in/out. Lockers in bedrooms More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Jun 2015

I had a great stay here during my time in San Francisco. The staff was very friendly and helpful! Great location! Always clean! Give you linens and a towel with your key, and even check your bag in the luggage room for extra security if you're checking in/out. The hostel always has fun More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2203 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 26th Jun 2015

Great stay! Just to recommend! More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 25th Jun 2015

Excellent fresh breakfast, staff was friendly and helpful. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1126 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Fantastic hostel and the staff were great. We stayed 4 nights until the 27th June '15 and had a great time. We've stayed in hostels all over Europe and had just come to the end of a month in various hostels along the west coast and can easily say this has been the best one! Hands More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 5th Jun 2015

This is a nice hostel on a great location. I stayed here for five nights and had a good time. The only thing is that the sheets may gave me a rash (I think it were the sheets, because it disappeared the day after I left). More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 759 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Everything was well organised and anything requested or asked was promptly done. There were times when staff, busy with check-ins or outs were asked for help by others and they were always obliging. After a very long time , I found a hostel with just the right pillow for me but alas I have More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Jun 2015

I stayed two nights in a 4 female dorm while attending a meeting. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The general atmosphere in the hostel was very family-like and pleasant, much more comfortable than a "normal" hotel/motel. The shared kitchen is great. I would stay again! A More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 725 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 69%
  • 26th Jun 2015

It was clean and clerk was very helpful. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 20%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Horrific . More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 951 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 24th Jun 2015

Isn't in the cleanest area of the city, but close to bus lines and shopping district. Bring earplugs to sleep at night! Looks a bit rundown and could do better cleanliness wise, but overall acceptable for hostel standards. The one thing that they could improve on would be the shaky bunk More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 24th Jun 2015

Whilst the hostel is close to union square, where a lot of Hotels and Hostels are located, this one is on the outskirts. Although the Hilton is one block away, so is the 'Tenderloin' District - which anyone from San Francisco could easily point to on a map as 'places to avoid'. Most of the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 1760 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 24th Jun 2015

Excellent location, but the atmosphere is not the best. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 13th Jun 2015

The room I stayed was exceptionally dirty. More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 71%
  • 2325 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 37%
  • 16th Jun 2015

Bathroom was filthy and despite effort to ask staff to clean this took a long time and remained sub-standard. Friendly but ineffective staff and full of rude unsociable teenagers. Breakfast selection poor and that's if you could brave the kitchen where every cupboard appears to be More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 13th Jun 2015

Location is really good!. Only take 3~5 minute from subway. But when i came into the room, smell was really awful!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 56%
  • 546 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 54%
  • 13th Jun 2015

The 6 bed door room was really really small. We weren't able to put our bags on the floor so we put them with us, in our beds. The restroom was old and need to be well maintened. However, the location is really good (next to the city center) but the explanation isn't enough and need more More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 12th Jun 2015

I found bedbugs crawling on my bed, and the roommates showed up at 3 am turning on the light and moving things around drunk. When I asked to be replaced in another room, the receptionist completely ignored the fact that I was staying in all female dorms and put me in the mixed dorm. Plus, More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback