X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 3704 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 21st May 2015

The hostel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast, including make your own pancakes was a plus. However, our room was very hot (even with windows open and fan running), which made it uncomfortable for sleeping. It's not in the best location in SF, but it is a quick 10 minute More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th May 2015

Expensive but a very good hostel which organises lots of activities More
hurwitzsb6496 (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2151 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 17th May 2015

Great hostel. Bedroom and bathroom are clean. However, it is quite expensive. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 17th May 2015

diamond in the rough More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1109 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 17th May 2015

efficient and friendly staff. one woman (young black, very cheery, personable) on 5/18 aftarnoon shift took time out to point me in the directiion of a great casual seafood place on chestnut street, a trip highlight. cafe staff was helpful, as was the guy who patiently waited for us as we More
Anonymous (USA) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th May 2015

Wonderful staff and location More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 724 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 21st May 2015

Great staff and free breakfast is awesome, location is not ideal More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 13th May 2015

I was recommended by one of the speaker in my class Dr. O'Bannon and she is the manager in San Diego area. The staff in the hostel is super nice and gave me really good advice. The hostel itself is clean, well located (walk distance to Powell station, union square, bike rental place). Lots More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 703 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 69%
  • 18th May 2015

Location was relatively central, close to public transport. It's just north of one of the worst places in San Fran, but avoid Tenderloin and you'll be fine. You need a card to enter the building and to enter all rooms and bathrooms, so security was good that way. Staff were helpful when More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 16th May 2015

Was fairly clean, and linen also seemed clean. No social areas though, so not such a great atmosphere! I was pleasantly surprised to find cooking facilities in my dorm though, which was a generous size and also included a table and chairs. Overall, good stay for a quiet night. More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 920 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 9th May 2015

Very nice and cool hostel :) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 8th May 2015

Kudos to the Asian lady on the staff who upgraded me to a private room on my first night when we discovered I had been mistakenly booked into a female dorm. The design of the bunks makes it difficult and uncomfortable to get down from a top bunk. Good breakfast, very pleasant kitchen and More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 1737 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 19th May 2015

Stayed for a night and the experience was good. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 40%
  • 17th May 2015

Upon arrival at around 1am my wife and I found out we were being put in to separate dorms. They had no other free beds so we just had to suffer the consequences of their useless booking system. When I got to my room I had the squeakiest bunk bed I have ever known so got hardly any sleep. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 2272 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 57%
  • 20th May 2015

Upon arrival, the staff were extremely unfriendly and unwilling to help. The bed was disgusting and dirty. It was extremely loud and I couldn't get to sleep until 2am and then I was woken up by extremely loud music again at 9am. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th May 2015

Bunk beds are noisy. More
mmgalitz (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 58%
  • 530 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 18th May 2015

Very nice place to meet people. Nice kitchen as well More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 9th May 2015

The place smelled funny, it was dirty and the beds made noises when ever some one turned around. The location is horrible , the people there wasn't to nice. And a lot of homeless people. We where scared 80 % of the time. The staff was helpful but first sent us to a full dorm room. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback