Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

  • 89%
  • 4144 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 19th Nov 2015

My favourite hostel in the world! Friendly and knowledgable staff, great location for day trips that the hostel organises, good security with charge points In lockers, nice communal rooms, laundry and reading room, everything you could want in a home from home More
brodybaby3724 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Nov 2015

Amazing hostel. Probably the best I have ever stayed in (and that's out of a lot!). Perfect location, can walk easily to union square or the ferry building. Very clean. And the activities are a great way to meet people & organise things to do together. Wifi is awesome which is what you More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 2554 Total Reviews


  • 86%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Good hostel, amazing location, and the price is better than just about anything else in San Francisco. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Clean bathroom and tub. Bagels apples and oj for breakfast More
cjp2007 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 85%
  • 1256 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 12th Nov 2015

I can't charge my phone inside the room,expect that everything is okay.The map at the front desk is extremely useful.And the free sticker of the city is also very cute! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Great place, great location, great city. Thank you. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 934 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 21st Nov 2015

Great! Nice place and great staff! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 15th Nov 2015

I would have preferred that the hostel had onsite laundry facilities. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 75%
  • 1040 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 15th Nov 2015

I stayed for 4 nights and i wouldn't stay for more. the beds and bed mattresses are garbage and noisy so if someone comes in late the whole room knows about it. the staff seem like they don't even want to be there most of the time. the atmosphere is almost non existent, good place to crash More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 7th Nov 2015

It was clean, conveniently located, and has free breakfast, but I didn't like it. 1-bunk beds are old/squeaky & not attached to the walls. If the other person moves at all, it shakes a lot & you wake up (I'm a heavy sleeper!). 2-hostel is enormous, with tons of guests, so it creates a More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller

  • 74%
  • 788 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 2nd Nov 2015

The staff are amazing! Super knowledgeable and very friendly. The place is always clean. Housekeeping always nice and friendly More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 29%
  • 15th Oct 2015

I had a horrible experience, when I arrived late in the evening (after advising the staff thst I had a late flight), there was no one there or instruction to let me in. I had to find alternate arrangements for the night and they still charged me. I did not feel safe here and it was very More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 73%
  • 1914 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 15th Nov 2015

Nice staff, nice people. Pancakes! More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 11th Nov 2015

Great hostel experience. Comfy common room, friendly guests, and helpful staff right in the heart of San Francisco. Great value for the money -- had a great time! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 68%
  • 301 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 19th Oct 2015

One of bathrooms/showers didn't have a lock. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

It wasn't bad. The staff was friendly overall except for one guy who was just unpleasant. (The older guy) It didn't look to dirty but the roaches were kind of a turn off. Pricey for what you get. No A/C. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 59%
  • 613 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 28th Oct 2015

This place is is a rough neighborhood, expect to see crackheads. Helpful reception! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 31%
  • 20th Oct 2015

The worst hostel I've seen so far. I stayed in many hostels in Latin America and I never saw such a bad hostel. There was trash under the bed like cups, cigarettes and smashed paper, and it stayed there for all 5 nights. The furniture is very old. There was a white armchair in the room More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback