X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3182 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 10th Sep 2014

The towels seem only to have been dried off and not completely washed; they smell. Some of the rooms are a bit stuffy but that is due to the lack of air ventilation in the rooms. Yes, there are windows, but still. Overall, I enjoyed my stay there very much! The atmosphere and the More
uri_woll3977 (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Awesome place, great atmosphere and the Movie theater is a bonus if you just want to chill. Take a walk with Natalie around the city and get some knowledge. I'd stay here again, but avoid the Tenderloin if you are checking in at night. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1783 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 8th Sep 2014

An excellent place to stay and it has everything you need and more. Great breakfast and really nice staff. More
padraigdever7638 (Ireland) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 6th Sep 2014

One of the best hostels I've ever been. The only thing that really should get improved is the wifi - if you get a connectiom (which is really hard) the Internet is really slowly More
tomp82 (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 960 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 31st Aug 2014

Loved my experience, wished I could have booked more nights over there! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Aug 2014

Good place with good view. Close to public transit. However, the days I went is Labor Day weekend, and snce there is no restriction of age, they were too many kids,which made hassle. Except that, overall was great. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 594 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 60%
  • 31st Aug 2014

The place is in a very bad neighborhood, lots of homeless and suspicious people in the night, rotten places and very loud if you have a room frontside. The staff is really good but it is too expensive for what you get. Breakfast contains of bagels, peanut butter and marmelade... More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 24th Aug 2014

Clean and nice place Location close to the center but on the st with a lot of homeless and dangers The service was bad ( actually one guy of the front desk ) Not worth the price! More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 776 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 4th Sep 2014

The window in my room (#209) were REALLY dirty like it has NEVER been wiped since day one. It would have been helpful to rent out locks for the lockers in the room. I explore a lot of cities alone but was scared by the mere amount of bums/crackhead roaming streets at night.... More
buecaltaly8780 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

Nice and helpful staff, location near Union square, so it´s easy to find. Clean room and bathroom, the linen smell amazing. We loved free breakfast, delicious pancakes and cereals. Perfect place to stay for few nights. More
Anonymous (Czech Republic) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 610 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Overall good stay. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 25th Aug 2014

Looks very dodgy from the outside as is currently going through a lot of building work, but inside is smart and all the rooms and bathrooms are clean and tidy. Even include a sink and mini fridge! Very good value for money and only a 15 min walk from Union Square. Booked it last minute but More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 72%
  • 1507 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 74%
  • 5th Sep 2014

Reasonably priced hostel in an expensive city. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 30th Aug 2014

Staff was sub-par. Didn't appear to be too friendly. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 65%
  • 1958 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 7th Sep 2014

I think this hostel it's great when you can not afford a fancy hotel, and besides that I also think for the price you pay your getting a great deal. More
Anonymous (Colombia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 5th Sep 2014

I feel like this place should have been cheaper for what it was. The location is great & it has a good communal area & kitchen. However I slept really badly as the windows are so thin & there were people outside talking loudly on the street all night. There were only 2 plug sockets in the More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 63%
  • 448 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 23%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Never again would I EVER stay in this place. Stop putting your guests in the outhouse/ shed on the fourth floor! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 40%
  • 9th Sep 2014

Bed bugs. Enough said. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback