X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 4298 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 83%
  • 5th Feb 2016

For some reason the kitchen gets locked at night. More
porcelmc5471 (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 29th Jan 2016

I really enjoyed my stay - The hostel is well located, the facilities are not only great but also well presented and explained but, most of all, the stuff was very nice and helpful. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2665 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

The staff was excellent they were friendly and knowledgeable. All of the facilities were clean. The place was very comfortable and it made for a great stay More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Great time. Good service. Good advices. Love it. Great great location More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 73 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 28th Jan 2016

very nice! free meals 3 times a week and fun activities organised by the staff. The sauna is nice and the locker is big. Near Chinatown and NorthBeach and great bars and restaurantsaround. :) More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

The location is excellent for night life, and generally close to all kinds of tourist activities. It can be a bit loud (unsurprisingly) so this isn't the ideal place to stay if you're not a fan partying, loud noise and craziness. Also, in order to ensure security, guests are not allowed More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1323 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

Great hostel, in a good location! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 31st Jan 2016

This is one of the best hostels I've ever been to. The staff is very nice, helpful and friendly. The location is great: In walking distance to Pier 39, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz Tour,... They offer free parking close by, a lot of activities and a comfy "living room". Definitely More
Anonymous (Austria) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 996 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 1st Feb 2016

I loved this hostel. It was probably one of my favourites. The atmosphere was so cool, the staff were super nice and helpful and it was in a great location to access all parts of San Francisco. The only downside was that it is located in a kind of sketchy area at night time, but the More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Jan 2016

We stayed at the hostel for two nights and except the location everything was good! The area seem to be very poor and a lot of homeless people are living on the streets! It was okay walking down the streets on daytime but Not really in the dark! I was glad being there with friends. More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 1996 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 63%
  • 1st Feb 2016

nice place, value for money, friendly staff. clean bathroom. kitchen needs a bit of cleaning attention! a big dirty (green) food waste bin left just next to the gas cooker where travelers cooking food!! this rubbish bin smells annoyingly! should be left outside and cleaned! otherwise okay. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 43%
  • 1st Feb 2016

Once we arrived a rude young girl told us to wait like 30min, they were receiving bad comentaries, we had to wait more, when we could do the check in, we had to clean our beds, there were no numbers on them, at night, a boy come to one out beds and said hey this is my bed for next days, More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 1062 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 14th Jan 2016

Can't beat the value of this location. Is it the best hostel I've stayed at? Probably not, but would go back without a doubt. Bathrooms were very clean, always a big deal. The breakfast offered seemed lacking.....all carbs. Cereal and waffles. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 66%
  • 5th Jan 2016

The rooms were okay, and the common area and breakfast was great. Our only problem was the receptionist screaming at us because we checked out late. Obviously we did wrong, but we actually thought it was an hour later and she screaming was not about to make it better. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (ALLMALEGROUP) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 814 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 6th Feb 2016

This hostel is great. Friendly staff. The cleaning service is super. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 20%
  • 31st Dec 2015

This is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The area is not safe at night. The front door was shattered in the morning. My room smelled awful. Nobody works there at normal hours so there is no way of letting them know your concerns. I had a terrible roommate that made me More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 60%
  • 304 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 31%
  • 2nd Jan 2016

Very dirty places that smells as hell... Toilets are very dirty... I understand that it cannot be furnished as a 5-star hotel, but at least basic cleaning can be provided!!! Won't recommend to anyone! More
Anonymous (Armenia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 19th Oct 2015

One of bathrooms/showers didn't have a lock. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 58%
  • 628 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 25th Jan 2016

Shower and restrooms were not cleaned on a daily basis. Need new towels, sheets and blakets. Need to clean underneath the beds. Overall, friendly staff, great location, great value. Andy has excellent customer service. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 5th Jan 2016

The hostel was dirty! The room too! The receptionist charge you even if you ask to print a paper 1 dollar each. The hostel is sourrounded by homeless. A lot of old people leave in it. Breakfast is not included and bathrooms are always busy and dirty! More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback