X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 3948 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 25th Aug 2015

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! Great staff and facilities, and they had something fun going on every day - I was only there two days and went to a guided pub crawl, walking tour, and a karaoke night in the hostel. The common rooms are REALLY nice and clean. Only thing More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Aug 2015

I had the best time ever! Great location, friendly staff, very clean, young atmosphere... I would stay again and by far it was the best hostel I've ever been to! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2320 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 17th Aug 2015

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hostel is in a really good lokation. Highly recommended. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Lovely hostel, really well decorated, with helpful staff and loads of great facilities like washing machines, free breakfast, a cinema room and trips out into the city. Our shower did back up one evening and we ended up with an unusable shower with lots of dirty water in it but we were More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1163 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Device (e.g., phone, laptop) charging is a problem as there are no charging lockers. That would really help, either in the public areas or the rooms. Or, put a few plugs inside the lockers underneath the beds; that would work, too. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Always coming back there and love it every time! The location couldn't be better;-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 831 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 24th Aug 2015

beautiful building and really nice people More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Awesome atmosphere, great value. Ensuite bathrooms were great although I wish they had fans to drown out some of the noise. Room was cleaned everyday and new towels were given which was nice. Nighttime security was great too. Parking was done nearby but was easy to handle and was priced More
Anonymous (USA) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 981 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 20th Aug 2015

Good hostel with very nice staff for an acceptable price (compared to standard prices in the city). Breakfast is simple but good. There is some room for improvement though: the bathrooms are shared with many people, our room was quite noisy because the windows are old. More
Anonymous (Austria) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 16th Aug 2015

Your late night staff is the worst. One morning around 5am I came down to the lobby and saw someone behind the desk in the office. I say good morning to the young man and got no reply. So, I made eye contact and said good morning again and got no response. So I went to the TV lounge More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 298 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 3rd Aug 2015

It wasn't bad. The staff was friendly overall except for one guy who was just unpleasant. (The older guy) It didn't look to dirty but the roaches were kind of a turn off. Pricey for what you get. No A/C. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 762 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 18th Aug 2015

This is more a hotel than a hostel in the fact that there are no communal areas and for a shared dorm it is pricey. However, it was a nice place to crash for the night with spacious rooms and clean facilities. The staff were super friendly, especially the guy working at reception More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 17th Aug 2015

Really great place. Nice and central location. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 1825 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Excellent place! More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

Really disappointed with my stay in the Amsterdam hostel, staff were rude and unwelcoming as well as very un-helpful when in need of assistance, especially as foreign tourists in country for the first time. Hygiene issue needs immediately addressed as it is a health an safety hazard More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 67%
  • 2427 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 40%
  • 27th Aug 2015

Would not recommend this hostel at all to be honest. The building literally looks like it may crumble. One member of the staff team was accommodating, but the rest were pretty unhelpful and seemed they would much rather be anywhere, but at the hostel. Atmosphere was average - was sometimes More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 26%
  • 27th Aug 2015

The lady at the front desk was so rude I still can't get over how rude she was !! She was on her phone while I was at the desk trying to check in , she didn't explain anything worse hostel dirty and so expensive!! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 57%
  • 571 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 51%
  • 18th Aug 2015

The hostel was ok for one night. The athmosphere was a Little sad. The area where the hostel is located is not save. A lot of strange People around. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 9th Aug 2015

The staff were not friendly, dead pan, in fact. The area is DODGY! Drug addicts and drunks hanging in the street, not safe to walk back at night. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback