X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 3570 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 28th Mar 2015

The hostel is located in a great place! It offers a bunch of activities. The atmosphere is great and the staff is always willing to help you. Great experience! More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 28th Mar 2015

Very impressed. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2081 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 26th Mar 2015

Dining area too small to handle nos. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 24th Mar 2015

Good hostel and the staff are very friendly and provide an excellent service. I think the hostel would benefit from more and better toilet and shower facilities however the rest of the hostel is comfortable and modern. Really big lockable storage under the beds for all your items! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 699 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 27th Mar 2015

Nice room, clean towels every day. Helpful staff and good breakfast! The location is not ideal (didn't feel safe going out at night), but is waking distance from downtown. More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 21st Mar 2015

I can't ask for more. It saves me a lot of money. It is in unsafe neighborhood ( tenderloin). The bed, room, bathroom are clean. I am satisfied with this hostel. Definitely back if I am in SF More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1075 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 10th Mar 2015

The cafe was lovely for breakfast with the bench seat overlooking the water. More
Anonymous (Australia) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 4th Mar 2015

Disappointed with the showers. They were pretty dirty and had little privacy. There was no lock, just a curtain. Also there were a lot of 'older' people staying at the hostel, however that was my bad for not doing better research. Also the atmosphere was pretty dull, people were very much More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 677 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 71%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

Great hostel for the money. Im sure it isnt a regular occurence, but there was one day of our stay when both the water and power were shut off for about 4-5 hours. They had notified guests of the water but i think the power poblem was unexpected. Staff was ok, not too welcoming though. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 18th Mar 2015

A clean private room with a double bed and free wifi = a great deal. Bathrooms are shared, but they're separate rooms with locking doors, not stalls. Primary problem was the music practice rooms downstairs. Band practice was supposed to stop at 11 pm (according to the front desk guy for More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 2198 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 27th Mar 2015

You can't beat the price. You get what you pay for. This is definitely the cheapest hostel in town, and of course if you are not high maintenance you will be just fine staying in this hostel. I'm a girl stayed in a mixed gender 4 beds room. I really liked the location. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 46%
  • 27th Mar 2015

Basic.. No shets ir blankets..elevator not working More
Anonymous (Venezuela) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 895 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 15th Mar 2015

As a 76 year old single woman, I found the location -- easy access to everything, including restaurants, shops, the metro, etc. -- excellent. The private room with private bathroom was adequate with its TV, small Refrig., and Microwave. The elevator needs a major rehab . . The newly More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 5th Mar 2015

It is a great hostel in the center of the city. It has great facilities and it is very secure. Nice breakfast too! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 1679 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Very clean! Highly recommended More
Anonymous (Bolivia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 26%
  • 21st Mar 2015

I couldn't get wifi in the room, no place charge my laptop, phone in the room. It's not really clean and the smell in the hostel is awful More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 61%
  • 510 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 63%
  • 19th Mar 2015

The room was small, people had there stuff every where we couldn't even get in the door there was cigarette butts on the floor, hair every where, mirror was disgusting, the shower was horrible took about an hour to wash shampoo because the water pressure was so slow. Location was ok, guy More
Anonymous (Scotland) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 13th Mar 2015

This was the worst hostel I have ever been! Everything was dirty, the restroom was the worst, the room smelled really bad, and the people there were really weird. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 43%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 43%
  • 25th Oct 2014

First of all, there were no bed bugs. This was the only positive thing. But the place was crawling with cockroaches. The bathrooms looked like they had been last cleaned 10 years ago. The place is extremely noisy (someone always seems to watch TV at full volume, the doorbell can be heard More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback