X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3514 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 28th Feb 2015

I liked a lot the place but I'm not certain if the price is a little expensive for a mixed shared room (4-people). More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

To all who contemplate staying at USA hostels San Francisco (or anywhere most likely) ...DON'T HESITATE! It was truly one of the most memorable places I've stayed, as I met some amazing travelers. They plan the best activities, and have amazing staff! Thank you to all of them...they've More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2054 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 20th Feb 2015

This is more of the more fun HI Hostels I have stayed in. It's a beautiful old building with excellent facilities. The kitchen/dining area was massive, there's washrooms all over and great common rooms. Would definitely stay again. More
jamiepenno_esq7155 (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 18th Feb 2015

The room and public spaces are good. Staffs are quite friendly and helpful. More
Owen19 (Taiwan) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1063 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Tv not working and tiolets dirty Cafe best food ever ! Don't bother to eat at the wharfs More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

I went to that hostel after being in one downtown. I decided to switch because i didn't feel safe and didn't relate the the location at the downtown one. I loved the fisherman's wharf for these two reasons. It was close to some quiet pubs and, As an alone women of 5'2 i could go out and More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 686 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 40%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Would never recommend this place to anyone, neighborhood is very dangerous during the day, and worse during night time, awful, just awful worst 10 minutes walk I've ever had in San Francisco. Returning to the place after your day tour in the city is a nightmare, u'd rather get a cab, More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 21st Feb 2015

There was not one staff of color or should I say African American that appeared to work there. I sincerely believe Hostels should have a well rounded and diverse staff. Not just acerbic caucasian's at the desk and Mexican females as the cleaning staff. To me SF is one of the greatest More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 2150 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 21st Feb 2015

Perfect location for backpackers and young travelers. All kinds of public transportations are a walk away. Food court, drug store and all the fast food chains are also located pretty close to hostel. Ppl seemed cool and nice, they mingle well. Staffs were okay. Rooms are as always it More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 20th Feb 2015

Great hostel for cheap price! Location was perfect right near union square, cable car, shops. Toilets/showers weren't the best, but for the price I'd still recommend! Staff we're helpful. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 664 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 13th Feb 2015

Great stay overall! There were two showers on the second floor where my room was. During the more busy hours of 9am onwards it can be difficult to get your turn with the shower, so I would recommend getting up early if possible to have the bathroom all to yourself. The card given to me More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 7th Feb 2015

Really nice to have a fridge in the room; would be great if possible to add a small kitchen facility! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 882 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 63%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Saw a mouse in the room where breakfast is served! More
Anonymous (Tunisia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

So many corean. More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 1646 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 24th Feb 2015

The staff was really nice, I loved the free pancakes and your own bathroom!!! I would definetly recommend this hostel More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 18th Feb 2015

As one of the cheapest hostels in San Fran this place was great, spacious dorms with lockers and shared bathroom and overall a very good and clean hostel. A few things prevents it being perfect like no reading lights, meaning at night it's either the main light or darkness and the staff More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 58%
  • 501 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 34%
  • 9th Feb 2015

I was hopeful this would be a positive experience because the location is quite good. I was sorely disappointed. My car was broken into at 1 am during my stay. That isn't the hostel's fault, but it does speak to the neighborhood it is in. The kid who checked me in was surly and dismissive. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 13th Jan 2015

It was okay, not the atmosphere I was expecting and we made bets on whether the crazy homeless lady in our room was going to steal our clothing. She never did, but it was an interesting stay. Cheap, but kinda run down little place. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 43%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 43%
  • 25th Oct 2014

First of all, there were no bed bugs. This was the only positive thing. But the place was crawling with cockroaches. The bathrooms looked like they had been last cleaned 10 years ago. The place is extremely noisy (someone always seems to watch TV at full volume, the doorbell can be heard More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback