X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3451 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Great hostel ever. Really clean. Quite separate shower room. Great morning service. More
Anonymous (Japan) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 20th Jan 2015

One of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in, very comfy and a lot of amenities. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2016 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Immediately felt at home here, as in every HI Hostel so far. Best free breakfast I've ever seen in a hostel, friendly staff, all facilities you could wish for, and a location close to everything. You can even go for a run along embarcadero. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Security too good! Have to show your card before entering the building, which is a bit too much I guess... What if you forget your card? Breakfast less than average good. Only jam and bread... More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1047 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 6th Jan 2015

if you're not taking a shuttle/taxi the hostel itself is very hard to find in fort mason, especially at night! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

The urinal in the boys restroom could use a better flusher. It does not flush well at all. It was an excellent experience and wonderful place and would love to come back some time again. More
mtfreespirit195967 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 673 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 19th Jan 2015

One of the better place I've stayed. Although the location is not in most safe place, staff were very helpful and friendly, place is very clean and security was top notch. I would recommend to anyone and I would stay there the next time when I am visiting San Francisco. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 18th Jan 2015

*** FIRST TIME AT A HOSTEL *** That said I had a great time. The area was a little rough BUT I never felt intimidated by the pan handlers, homeless More
Anonymous (Guadeloupe) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 2128 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Reading the other reviews I found, I was nervous to come- but it was great! Friendly staff, things ran smoothly and it was an awesome location. Things were old but fairly clean. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Jan 2015

it was pretty cool place and nice it was located well near union square and the staffs are very friendly and kind More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 877 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 63%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Saw a mouse in the room where breakfast is served! More
Anonymous (Tunisia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

So many corean. More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 1621 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 15th Jan 2015

We booked the Amsterdam hostal expecting the worse..... it was actually a nice stay. The staff was fun and informative. it is located in a central location with in the city. Free pancakes all morning. The rooms get a little stuffy, but you can always open your windows to get fresh air. the More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 8th Jan 2015

We spent a night only, I wish we could have spent more time. The employees were really nice and the atmosphere was really quite which is just what we needed. Good quality compared to the price we actually paid. I find pretty cool the fact that you have to make your own pancake for free in More
Anonymous (France) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 658 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 11th Jan 2015

The hostel is on a good location. building and rooms are old but kept sufficiently clean. manager is very helpful. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Jan 2015

Honestly this place is the best Hostel experience I've ever had. It's really close to all the major locations in San Francisco and the staff keeps it really well maintained. Free use of computers to find your way around SF, need I say more? More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 61%
  • 498 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 57%
  • 13th Jan 2015

It was okay, not the atmosphere I was expecting and we made bets on whether the crazy homeless lady in our room was going to steal our clothing. She never did, but it was an interesting stay. Cheap, but kinda run down little place. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 9th Jan 2015

Stayed the weekend here. Expected a lot less. It was a nice stay! Value is great and the location is the best when it comes to the BART and MUNI. Staff was cool. The was absolutely NOT any sense of community. Normally I don't mind hanging out in the commons at night before or after I go More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 51%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 43%
  • 25th Oct 2014

First of all, there were no bed bugs. This was the only positive thing. But the place was crawling with cockroaches. The bathrooms looked like they had been last cleaned 10 years ago. The place is extremely noisy (someone always seems to watch TV at full volume, the doorbell can be heard More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback