X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Francisco, USA

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 3274 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 86%
  • 18th Oct 2014

Not the cheapest, but easily the best hostel in San Fran. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Oct 2014

Great place for fair price considering San Francisco standards. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1852 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 77%
  • 18th Oct 2014

Double room had triple bunk bed. 4 person dorm was a bit cramped. Breakfast was nice and location of the hostel was very central. Questionable value for money on the double room. Dorm was reasonably priced. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 17th Oct 2014

A great hostel, in a great location. Happy to stay and will come again! Had a private room which was lovely, clean and slept surprisingly well, it was very quiet at night even though the hostel was busy. More
taraninsell6265 (Canada) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 987 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 21st Oct 2014

great location friendly helpful staff More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 12th Oct 2014

This is a nice hostel if you don't mind being a bit out of the city center. Fishermans warf is really nice and you can easily walk to the golden gate bridge. Shared facilities such as the kitchen and common room are great. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 622 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 54%
  • 12th Oct 2014

It's a good place to relax with young people. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 9th Oct 2014

Staff very professional, facilities and beautiful way of how the structure is developed inside. Materass very confortable, room, common areas and kitchen super clean. Big choice of adaptors for electronic devices. Nice bar next to the reception where u can taste a good selection of beer. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 827 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 71%
  • 13th Oct 2014

Very good value for money - although if I could change anything, I would have liked some sockets near a mirror, and also the 'no toilet paper down the toilet' seemed pretty unsanitary as we had to put used toilet paper in the bins. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 12th Oct 2014

The TV room was out of service, cause somehow the power wire was missed. The staff didn't do anything about it, but say "sorry". More
Alencar (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 1546 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 20%
  • 11th Oct 2014

Worst hostel experience ever! Do yourself a favour and Hostelling International is 100 times better and at the same price Facilities: the hostel is old, unmaintained, decrepit and dirty The hall carpets were nasty and smells. The actual room is small and bed are old, rusty and the More
anhviet121744 (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 5th Oct 2014

The Amsterdam Hostel is in a very good condition. the 6-bed-dorms have an own bathroom (-> clean) and the kitchen is equipped quite good. Public transportation is nearby as is the Union Square. I had a good stay there. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 626 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 83%
  • 8th Oct 2014

I was in a 4-bed dorm. This was like a regular hotel room, so small (there were bunks) but quite secure. Also locked storage for luggage. The lower floor is devoted to music practice rooms, complete with drum sets and sound systems (free for guests if you want a place to practice!). The More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 2nd Oct 2014

I loved the hostel! The bathroom was clean in the evening when I was taking a shower, but some people are quite messy so it could be dirty in the morning. Otherwise, great! More
Anonymous (Slovenia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 67%
  • 2009 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 16th Oct 2014

The staff is amazing, the location is wonderful, you can meet people all around the world, they give you clear information I would come! More
Anonymous (Colombia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 13th Oct 2014

It was cheap and in cluded breakfast and easy to find. The room was a little smelly and the carpet was dirty. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 61%
  • 474 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 14th Oct 2014

Your hospitality is/ was very much appreciated. Please visit StopOrganHarvesting.org, and help stop the persecution of Falun Gong. Thank you. :-) More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 4th Oct 2014

Location is a bit far from city center. Staff was very helpful. Room doors weren't closing properly and bathrooms are functionless. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

San Francisco Podcasts

Listen to our San Francisco podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

San Francisco Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

San Francisco Videos

Watch our San Francisco video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld San Francisco Videos

Please give us your feedback