X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 530 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 26th Aug 2015

The guy at the reception is an angel! He's really nice! The place is really well secured and is really clean. It's a bit far from every activities, but as I noticed, it looked like you're far from everything in San Jose, there's always traffic! The atmosphere at the hostel was pleasant, More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

Best hostel at the end of a four week trip in Costa Rica and Nicaragua. Friendly staff, very clean and nice breakfast. Good location in student area, nicer than downtown in my opinion. Would stay there again if I'm back in San Jose. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 410 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 69%
  • 31st Aug 2015

The hostel is nice and clean and good for a stay. Location is good and they serve a nice breakfast! When we stayed there, it was quiet and not a lot going on. No activities and a bit boring. They don't accept creditcards, although they say they do on the website. More
wandadewinter9918 (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 17th Aug 2015

I stayed at the hostel on my first and last couple of nights in Costa Rica. I found it was very clean, well organised and managed. The staff is very attentive to any need you have and will gladly assist you with anything. I went on a 2 day trip and they gladly stored my big bag with no More
Anonymous (Israel) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 214 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 26th Aug 2015

Really great hostel with lovely staff, construction going on though makes it hard to sleep in properly past 7 :( More
Anonymous (Australia) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 12th Aug 2015

Place has an awesome atmosphere and the staff was absolutely amazing ! Only downside is that the bathrooms are limited for the amount of people that are there and no lockers for your gear. The breakfast pancakes are amazing ! Stay here ! More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 246 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 86%
  • 18th Aug 2015

A pretty quiet place, with only about 20-24 beds, though the place is huge! I stayed there for only one night, and found the owner (David?) to be incredibly helpful, full of advice. I don't like the idea of not having my own locker, though he has his reasons, and I still found that my More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 57%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Pros: Location - Close to the bus stop and some nice restaurants. Staff: Were friendly Cons: Internet - Does not work, resorted to using the restaurant below. Lockers: No personal lockers to store your valuables Rooms: Very small and cramped, no room to put you bags, some people More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (COUPLE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 789 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 94%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Nice place to stay, clean, good price & location (close to bus stations that you will certainly need & downtown). Friendly staff. More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 6th Aug 2015

Casa del Parque was the perfect home away from home. The staff was extremely helpful and the location was perfect. Everyone I met there was friendly and sociable. Every time I am in San José I will stay here! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 115 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 31st Aug 2015

clean, friendly and helpful staff, nice bathroom. A welcoming environment. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 15th Aug 2015

We had a nice stay. The girl at the front was super helpful and the rooms were excellent. The only downside is the location. We came to experience the local food and the culture, but we're only treated to Pizza Hut and subway. But for a nights stay in San Jose, it doesn't get any better More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 112 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 6th Jul 2015

The hostel was located in a convenient part of town. Was able to walk to attractions, food, and parks! The Hostel itself was very nice and the facilities were top notch. Stayed in a private room, so can't comment on the dorms. The private room was spacious and the AC was a nice addition. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 5th Jul 2015

This hostel is right by a busy street, which made it a bit challenging to get a good night's sleep. This is a nice, clean hostel, however it doesn't have much of a community feel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 55 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 54%
  • 1st Aug 2015

The owner was quite welcoming. It felt more like a homestay than a hostel which is fine however I believe that to accommodate tourists the rooms should be spruced up - all the room contents were quite old and felt worn out. The linen smelled of damp. The shared bathroom was open and had no More
joanawang1588 (Portugal) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 11th Jul 2015

The family is very nice and Gabriel will help you. He brought us to the bus station for free. There is also a lovely dog. The rooms were oke, not very new and there were a few little spiders. The city centre is not close. You can walk, but it will take an hour. The walk is great though, More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 280 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 28th Jul 2015

Really friendly staff but oh my goodness the noise at night! Had to get up at 4.30 for a bus and the music below my window only stopped blaring at 2.00. if you are a "party traveller" you'll like it, if you want to relax and catch a few Zzzs maybe not.... More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

Nice place, though every San Jose hostel leaves a strange vibe with me... More
robinverstappen (Netherlands) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 713 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 100%
  • 8th Aug 2015

One of the best hostels I've ever been to. Good location w/ everything you need within walking distance including bars, a park and outdoor markets. The hostel itself is very clean and well kept. Has a good communal area but not a party hostel. Great breakfast in the morning and a wonderful More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 69%
  • 5th Aug 2015

In the beginning it was really nice,staff was very friendly,room was alright. We stayed for 4nights. However,we had the feeling that it got worse every day. Staff seemed to be only interested in their tours&couldnt give us any other tips what to do and became unfriendly. The last night we More
thats_mine2781 (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback