X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 325 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 26th Sep 2014

Excellent in so many ways. I'm a picky person in terms of cleanliness and this hostel delivered above all my expectations (I usually find dirt in these type of hostels, but not a speck of dust on this one, great job!). The breakfast is excellent, succulent fresh fruit, an almost More
Anonymous (Uruguay) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

The owners were really helpful during my stay and are very knowledgable of the local area. A really secure hostel just on the edge of San Jose close to some nice shops and resturaunts. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 353 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Hostel Urbano was an amazing hostel, that really became my home away from home. The staff is so great! They were all super friendly, fun, informative, and willing to help out with anything I needed. The pancakes, fruit, and coffee in the morning were also a great way to start the day! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Sep 2014

This hostel is awesome in every way!! Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, and great atmosphere. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 175 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 26th Sep 2014

I loved my stay here!! David who owns the hostel goes the extra mile to help with everything from organising tours to cooking you breakfast. I could have stayed here longer. Loved it!!!! More
hippymania20005217 (Northern Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 20th Sep 2014

Great location, close to everything, I walked for food/bus stations without ever taking a taxi. Vibe is super quiet, great place to be if you're not in to the party hostel scene. Staff was helpful though not as much as previous reviews indicated. Would stay here again when I need a quiet, More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 81 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Very comfortable place to stay. Helpful staff and good facilities, including all day coffee and a pretty outdoor terrace for smokers. Some good information available e.g. All the bus times and routes. Fairly convenient to the city and in a safe area so walking around OK.. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2014

This place was truly amazing. Don't let the outside fool you, it does look a little rundown, but once you enter it is beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. More
cmoreno86196 (Mexico) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 619 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 16th Oct 2014

Everything is more than excellent! It's the best hostel I've been to in quite a while. Super clean and the staff is amazing. I recommend this place to everyone More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 15th Oct 2014

I arrived late and tried the buzzer, and started to get quite worried when they didn't answer and all the windows were dark. I waited almost 10 minutes for someone to come let me in. In the following days it was hard to find staff around - sometimes they left completely. When I did find More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 561 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 14th Oct 2014

They were awesome I got sick and they offered to go get medicine for me even!! 36$ for a taxi and hostel is awesome!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 6th Oct 2014

The guy at the reception asked me for my plans the next day and tried to convince me not to go (even though I planned to go to Arenal, which is a very touristic and recommended place), and I think he didn't like the fact he had to be awake at 5am when I left. The hostel is old, and I felt More
Shirgi (Israel) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 177 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 29th Sep 2014

Yummy pancakes breakfast. Great staff. Good lounge room to chill. TV room as well. Clean rooms. Only issue - beds don't have reading lights, and there is only one light in the dorm that I stayed in. That light isn't bright enough to allow one to read books etc. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 43%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Would've been ideal had it not been for one of their workers who we felt constantly harassed by, didn't mind the trash bins overflowing for 2 days or that one of the showers was broken, but he was bluntly rude. I cannot recall his name, but he is blonde. The 1st day there he was drinking More
cmoreno86196 (Mexico) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 364 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 17th Aug 2014

solid choice. I stayed twice and would stay there again. very social. a bit of a long walk to a lot of the bus stops but near the city centre More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

Clean toilets and kitchen!!! Only 2/5 computers worked & internet was really slow! Dorm 6 is way too close to pool area at night - really noisy! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 238 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Castle Tam Hostel

  • Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose
  • 83%
  • 10th Oct 2014

Friendly staff. If you want a good sleep than stay here. It looked sketchy but quickly found out it's the opposite after going down town San Jose one night. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 2nd Oct 2014

Good place close to the university so it's close to lots of bars and restaurants. Safe to venture out and staff are very helpful More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 97 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 18th Jul 2014

Very dark place. The walls are filthy and cleaning isn't the best but decent. Burning incense bothered me but others like it. Hostel was fairly quiet with the exception of loud groups in the early morning. Great location. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 16th Jul 2014

We enjoyed the stall and other visitors very much. The outside kitchen and eating area is a great area to meet and talk in. But this is a old building and our bathroom was really not able to made clean. I would prefer staying at a newer building. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback