X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 509 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 89%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

Pros: The staff are amazing! Willing to help on anyway. By far the best staff I have had to deal with in the past 7 months. Internet is very good an accessible everywhere in the hostel. Beds are comfortable and clean. Very clean hostel overall with good places to relax, watch TV etc and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Great hostel! The two girls at the front desk are so helpful whenever you have a question. They hooked us up with two other travelers d for a taxi ride to a bus stop. we ended up traveling together for 2 weeks and departed as new friends! Thanks for that goes to the hostel staff! The More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 398 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Extremely clean hostel, super friendly and caring owners who are also the staff. Yummy breakfast and they even took care of our special dietary needs! Thx for amazing stay! More
Anonymous (Austria) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Jul 2015

We had such an amazing experience at this hostel. The staff was warm and welcoming and willing to help with what ever they could. They gave us great food and shopping recommendations made some delicious homemade breakfast and always had a smile on their face. We came in on a red way flight More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 241 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 57%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Pros: Location - Close to the bus stop and some nice restaurants. Staff: Were friendly Cons: Internet - Does not work, resorted to using the restaurant below. Lockers: No personal lockers to store your valuables Rooms: Very small and cramped, no room to put you bags, some people had to More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 91%
  • 14th Jul 2015

Great owner/staff. Thanks David and Beto for your great advice and help with what I needed. Beautiful building in San Jose, convenient location to park, main shopping street and bus stations. Breakfast okay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 210 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 6th Jun 2015

I wasn't too excited about staying in San Jose, but this hostel made me reevaluate my initial thoughts. Although the hostel is slightly outside of the city center, it is in a great location for good restaurants, bars/clubs, the university, and boutique shops. I met some great people while More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 30th May 2015

very nice place! super helpful stuff. More
feldtimo5135 (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 770 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 80%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Beautiful building with a pleasant range of facilities. Great sitting down options. Very bubbly friendly staff. The pet dog basically runs the place so if you enjoy dogs eating your food off your plate then you are going to have a smashing time! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Jul 2015

The bathroom didn't look very clean and it didn't have toilet paper. Also, the bed was terribly unconfortable. But the house is beautiful and the staff was amazing! It is also very well located (near parks and restaurants, perfect for a walk), so despite the inconvenience, I would recomend More
Anonymous (Colombia) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 111 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 5th Jul 2015

This hostel is right by a busy street, which made it a bit challenging to get a good night's sleep. This is a nice, clean hostel, however it doesn't have much of a community feel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Jun 2015

Really beautiful hostel with breakfast included for private rooms. At night though, we went out for food and felt slightly unsafe. When returning, the person working the front desk was "away from the desk for 15 minutes" (a sign was posted) and so we weren't let in. We just had to wait More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 53 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 11th Jul 2015

The family is very nice and Gabriel will help you. He brought us to the bus station for free. There is also a lovely dog. The rooms were oke, not very new and there were a few little spiders. The city centre is not close. You can walk, but it will take an hour. The walk is great though, More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 12th Jun 2015

It was a sad hostel. Hard to find. the breakfast was bread and coffee. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 276 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

Nice place, though every San Jose hostel leaves a strange vibe with me... More
robinverstappen (Netherlands) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 14th Jul 2015

I enjoyed my short stay, the staff was nice, the rooms clean and spacy, free coffee is always a big plus aswell. I guess i was lucky that it was not high season and i stayed in a 10 people dorm with only two others. I felt welcome, but had my privacy. Would visit again, thumbs up:) More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 700 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 91%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

This was a great place to start our trip to Costa Rica! The staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Staff even connected us to other travelers going to puerto Viejo so we could share a taxi to the bus terminal. They also called us a cab and gave the driver directions. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 4th Jul 2015

After 7 months of travelling I am yet to write a bad review but the service we received at this hostel still upsets me! We booked a double room and were given a double bed under a bunk in a 6 bed dorm. Yes we had the room to ourselves but in our opinion it's not a double room. The owner More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 111 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 5th Jul 2015

Super nice hostel. Great big old house. Staff were really friendly and a basic but welcome free breakfast. Just a shame it was really quiet More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 18th May 2015

The staff is very friendly and happy to help! For someone who knows little Spanish this was very helpful and much appreciated! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback