X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 473 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 18th May 2015

The staff was so friendly and helpful!! This hostel was clean and so nice. Even though it is in San Pedro, it was only a quick bus ride to the heart of San Jose. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 27th Apr 2015

Really nice place to chill out- TV off at 10 in the lounge was great. Great facilities and the private rooms are nice- one recommendation is to not get the room by the front door as you will be up at 7am with everyone moving around in the reception- apart from that all good! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 231 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 2nd May 2015

Only stayed here one night so can't comment too much. Staff were friendly and very secure hostel. There is a 12am curfew so be aware of that. Also I only saw one bathroom for the whole place, wasn't an issue because it was empty when I was there. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Apr 2015

Great nights sleep, crisp clean sheets, fresh towels amazing breakfast!! Betu looked after us so well, with great information and made us an amazing breakfast, he was so so helpful, a truly wonderful host! This was our second time staying, and if I'm back in San Jose I'll stay there More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 385 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Very friendly staff, helped me to organise transport from the airport, which was hassle free, and were very understanding when I had initial money problems. Also when I had to leave very early, they prepared a small breakfast to take with me. Is a bit of a walk from the centre, not too bad More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Second time staying here and again it was great. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 731 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 15th May 2015

This hostel is amazing. Feels like a luxury hotel, but with hostel price. The host, Roger, is really kind and charming. We were supposed to stay one night but we loved the place so much so we stayed three nights. Would go back anytime, and we hardly recommend this place for anyone going in More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th May 2015

The staff are really helpful and it is excellent place to stay for this price. I recommended to book trips by them as well - very good organisation, easy and convenient. One of the top hostel on my list ! :D More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 206 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 9th May 2015

Fantastic hostel. I had a private room that was clean, comfy and had it's own bathroom. Security had to buzz you in every time to actually get into the hostel and you could lock the room. Location is great. You can walk to lots of bars, grocery store and the shopping mall. Staff were super More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 24th Mar 2015

This is a fantastic hostel, the owner and staff are so helpful and bent over backwards to help me out. An easy walk to the town centre and all the museums. I'd highly recommend it. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 71%
  • 25th Apr 2015

Overall, this is an ok place to spend a couple of nights. The public bus from the airport actually stops at the bus stop in front of the hostel. However, I learned this through experience. I think the hostel should have this explanation on their website, and inform those who call for More
Anonymous (Turkey) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Feels more like a hotel. Noisy area (car alarm going off in the morning both nights). Staff didn't have any tips for exploring the city and said to get out of San Jose. Hard to meet people, not many are hanging out in the lobby. Overall a good place to stay if you are looking for a More
danauprix1348 (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 110 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 66%
  • 13th Apr 2015

The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay. The people who stay are generally older and there wasn't much interaction between guests. The staff were not that friendly, one in particular was quite cold towards us. The shower is also not great. Wasn't hot for me once, even though I used More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Included breakfast, nice. No hot water in the shower though, but no big problem. Not the right atmosphere if you want to meet people, but overall a great place to stay. Would stay again! More
rubbaas4040 (Norway) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 680 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 69%
  • 2nd May 2015

We turned up having booked two beds but when we arrived only had one available for us so we had to sleep in our hammocks in one of the communal areas which was fine by us but we had paid for two beds! Despite that atmosphere was fairly good and airport pick up was smooth. Good open plan More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 1st May 2015

Rented the double bed private "suite" which was basically a crusty room located behind the laundry room. Way over priced for the room. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 267 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 100%
  • 18th May 2015

Only problem was the night the disco was open. Not what I wanted More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 2nd May 2015

Good place to stay for visiting San Jose. The kitchen is big and clean and they a big common area with tv and games. They just have three bath rooms for all the dorms though. The breakfast was two times just Pancakes and Cornflakes, which was okay for two days. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 443 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 20th Apr 2015

To noisy at night, the walls are like curtains and that f--- train. Very helpfull stuff specially the guy that works daytime at the reception, unfortunally we did't got his name, he help us a lot with information about where we where going next. He recommended us Tortuguero and it was More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 29th Mar 2015

BUYER BEWARE** Reserved a room 6 weeks in advance for myself and two others. Arrived in San Jose at 9pm and arrived at the hostel for them to tell us "the hostel is booked we don't have a room for you." When I said I'd paid a deposit and reserved weeks ago they said "sorry, it's our busy More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback