X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 462 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Best hostel in San Jose! and the staff is so nice,and helpful with everything -- can really recommend staying there and hope to get back to San Jose soon More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Apr 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostel Urbano, was originally only going to stay for 2 nights but extended by another 2 nights as we liked it so much. Great breakfast, friendly staff and good location. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 384 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Very friendly staff, helped me to organise transport from the airport, which was hassle free, and were very understanding when I had initial money problems. Also when I had to leave very early, they prepared a small breakfast to take with me. Is a bit of a walk from the centre, not too bad More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 7th Apr 2015

Second time staying here and again it was great. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 224 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 86%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Pedro was very friendly and helpful...Good location...And a nice place to chill out... More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 91%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Great stay! More
kkgarza (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 205 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 24th Mar 2015

This is a fantastic hostel, the owner and staff are so helpful and bent over backwards to help me out. An easy walk to the town centre and all the museums. I'd highly recommend it. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 24th Mar 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our first 2 nights in Central America. Mellow hostel playing good music. Staff are very helpful. The pancake and pineapple breakfast as well as the bunny in the garden were a nice bonus! More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 721 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Its a lovely place to stay in san jose More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Apr 2015

We had a great experience here. The owner was warm, welcoming, knowledgable, and helpful. It was fun to chat with other travelers on the lovely garden patio. There are plenty of options for privacy and shared spaces. The house itself is charming, the location right across from the park is More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 93 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 8th Apr 2015

The stuff in Casa Colon is very friendly and helpful! The shared dorm was clean and beds were comfortable. The restaurant has great dinner! The Bathrooms are fine as well. Unfortunately the breakfast is not included. But nevertheless I can definitely recommend this hostel! More
daenzi (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 4th Apr 2015

The staff was very friendly and helpful! We will stay there again. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 669 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 14th Apr 2015

This hostel served it's purpose as a place to crash before our flight home. There was a lot of places to eat nearby, which was nice. Awesome Irish pub right around the corner that served Costa Rican craft beer which was cool to try. The hostel itself was kind of bland, room was nothing More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Apr 2015

A little noisy, but with earplugs, no problem! Nice breakfast, very, very friendly staff, eager to help with tours, questions, etc. Banks, ATM, sodas, supermarkets within walking distance. Would definitely stay again! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 109 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 74%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Included breakfast, nice. No hot water in the shower though, but no big problem. Not the right atmosphere if you want to meet people, but overall a great place to stay. Would stay again! More
rubbaas4040 (Norway) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Mar 2015

helpful staff, close to the city center but on a quiet block (aside from the noise from the train during the day), room was nice and clean, good coffee available throughout the day.... would definitely recommend! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 265 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 26th Mar 2015

Pros: looks cool, bar next door, no keys needed (reception is open nonstop), easygoing and helping staff Cons: terrible kitchen (cooking almost impossible, pots and dishes like taken from a junkyard, fridge without shelves - no space for more than like 2 people), no towels More
Anonymous (Czech Republic) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

I opted to try this hostel because it described itself as being quieter and a bit calmer than the other "party" hostels, which I have stayed at. Quite the contrary as I never had a hard time getting sleep at those other placeThe room we were in overlooked the courtyard which meant that we More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback