X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 301 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 94%
  • 1st Apr 2014

i love this place. the persons who are working there are great, the rooms are great, the breakfast is fine and i am always happy to stay there. thumps up More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 31st Mar 2014

Great hostel good location great helpful staff More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 515 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 80%
  • 8th Apr 2014

Casa del Parque is our own little haven during our trip to Costa Rica. We are always coming back, choosing our next destination from there. The hostel is directly at Parque Nacional, you can walk into the centre easily. The warm welcome by Roger and Haylie (?), the beautiful garden terrace More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Apr 2014

Between the friendliness and willingness to assist of the staff, the comfortable atmosphere and the company of the others guests we really felt like we had been a part of a unique and beautiful community for a few days. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 138 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 94%
  • 9th Apr 2014

A great place to stay! The guy was helpful More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 9th Apr 2014

This place is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. The owner takes guest comfort and safety very seriously, and is super helpful and flexible. I will be back the next time I fly in or out of San Jose. It also has the cheapest cab option from the airport, which really makes the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 289 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 5th Apr 2014

Paula is a very nice owner, always bringing you help,information and ways to save money and do nice travels, tours and the staff is quite lively and jokers sometimes..part of the fun! I do liked the space and the house, the clean is outsanding! Paula is always pending to have a spotless More
Anonymous (Austria) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Apr 2014

This hostel is a surprise. Relaxing and clean rooms, very nice staff - that is always open to answer all kind of questions, and nice kitchen, lounge, dining and common areas. Home made pizza is amazing and so are the included breakfasts. I cant think on other hostel to go the next time I More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 24th Nov 2013

The hostel was very basic , very clean and spacious The staff and owner very considerate and kind More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 161 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 4th Apr 2014

100% recommended More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Feb 2014

This was an amazing hostel, and very very social! Met some great people, including the owner Brian who invited us out to reggae night at the local bar roots and bought a few rounds! The breakfast is great (pancakes and fruit) and the kitchen is huge and well stocked. So many great More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Mi Casa Hostel

  • 150 mts North from the west corner of I.C.E´s bui, Sabana Norte, San Jose
  • 77%
  • 31st Mar 2014

I swear our bed had bed bugs!! We booked a double room, since it is just my boyfriend and I traveling but the staff gave us a room with 5 single beds..... ???? The shower had no shower head. The free computer use/internet was nice. Also big outside area which was chill. And we liked that More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th Feb 2014

The guy who worked at night, went up and down the hall making too much noise. He was opening and closing doors etc . With out any concern for people trying to sleep. Then when he was supposed to get me up at 6:30. , he was asleep. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 509 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 74%
  • 17th Feb 2014

staffs were so kind : ) and hot cakes was good :) More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Feb 2014

We really liked our stay at Gaudy's! We actually decided to stay there again when we returned to San José for the second time. Really friendly staff that can help you out with everything you need and the laundry service was quick and excellent :) More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 210 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 10th Mar 2014

the private room was very small but clean. The private bathroom (with key) was disgusting and dirty with dirty towels, a sandy bathtub and no place to shower (it was a giant jacuzzi tub with a shower nozzle dangling from it) so i had to use the regular bathroom which had little to no hot More
andreazolna (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Feb 2014

The bathrooms and plumbing are in constant need of fixing! More
Anonymous (Egypt) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 201 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Castle Tam Hostel

  • Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose
  • 89%
  • 6th Apr 2014

Great hostel, has all those little touches you want when staying at a hostel but for a much cheaper price, definitely reccomend and will be staying here again More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 27th Mar 2014

staff was very helpful and kind , located next to bars restuarents and mall . we really enjoy our stay there ! will be back again for sure . More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback