X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 341 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 20th Aug 2014

A little out of San Jose centre, but good buses meant it was easy to get into town. Mixed dorms had lots of plug points and individual lockers. Private rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean. Kitchen area, including dining table and tv room were always available plus a pool table between More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

This place is great for San Jose! In a really nice area with a good selection of restaurants and bars. The hostel has lots of things to do, there's a pool table, TV lounge area, garden, massive book exchange! I stayed there one night and when I go back to San Jose I'll stay here for sure! More
Toogood (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 165 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 89%
  • 21st Aug 2014

David the owner is the best!! He is so helpful and nice! Its a great place to stay in the City!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Aug 2014

Breakfast not before 8 o'clock. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 539 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Gaudy's is a solid hostel, I stayed here twice during my five weeks in Costa Rica. The staff are friendly and helpful enough, there's a lot of people coming through, but since it is San Jose, it isn't the kind of place you'll go to have the time of your life. It's convenient, the kitchen More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 16th Aug 2014

I was content with the dorm space, it was clean and there was space to store my things. The staff were all extremely helpful. I'll be staying there again the next time I go through San Jose. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 315 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 16th Aug 2014

Staff was amazing! The neighborhood is quiet but nowhere near the airport. Clean throughout. Shared bathrooms only. Kitchen available moderately. Great patio:) no lockers in house though security of house was maintained scrupulously. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 22nd Jul 2014

Comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great with a wide selection of options. They gave us great advice on where to go and how to get there. Very helpful and we would definitely recommend In&basic to other travellers. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 170 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 30th Jul 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Bekuo. The staff was nice and eager to help. I had a little problem the morning I was supposed to leave (the taxi they told me they reserved never showed up.. same thing happened to two other travelers that morning), however I just walked a little to the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Jul 2014

Awesome place with a really nice staff, beautiful hostel where you just feel like home. Great common areas, good basic breakfast. Thanks alot!!! More
Anonymous (Finland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 78 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 13th Aug 2014

Very helpful staff, they were extremely polite and helped us with a rafting tour and let us leave our luggage with them while we spent a few days on the coast. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 12th Aug 2014

This hostel is very comfortable and clean, rooms are huge for the price. Beds are very big, bathroom was nice. The staff is 24 hour and very pleasant and helpful. Only downfall is it is close to a rail and the tram honks often starting early in the morning, wifi is also spotty when you get More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 590 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

In all my travels up and down South and Central America, this hostel ranks in the top three ever that I've stayed at. Big rooms and a great atmosphere, if you want to go to bed at a reasonable hour, quiet hours start at 10, but if you want to stay up later, there is a room with a More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 18th Aug 2014

It's not clean to have a cat running around everywhere, when I entered the room it was on my bed. When giving advice they alwas say to get to the bus station 1 hour early and it's not necessary. They need to put more outlets in the dorm, there was just 2 or 3 for 10 beds. More
Anonymous (El Salvador) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Our first hostel and we were so pleasantly surprised that we arrived at such a lovely place. Really helpful staff and close to all that's happening More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Jun 2014

It was the perfect place to star the vacation. Perfect location. The staff was most helpfull. I would definitely come back again. There was a mix of ages and cultures. If you want to mix, you can but if you want solitude there are plenty of spaces to do so. Loved it More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 230 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Castle Tam Hostel

  • Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose
  • 97%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

Great Location, great staff, clean rooms and bathroom. I liked that it has a quiet atmosphere and the staff maintain the place. I would stay here again. Its in a safe area near the university so there are a lot of places to eat. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 5th Jul 2014

Honestly, it wasn't what I expected. I thought the vibe would be fun like other hostels but it wasn't. The staff were "ok" but they could have been better. Some of the guests seemed pretty racist and anti-social. When I traveled to the beach-side and other parts of Costa Rica, the people More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 95 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 18th Jul 2014

Very dark place. The walls are filthy and cleaning isn't the best but decent. Burning incense bothered me but others like it. Hostel was fairly quiet with the exception of loud groups in the early morning. Great location. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 16th Jul 2014

We enjoyed the stall and other visitors very much. The outside kitchen and eating area is a great area to meet and talk in. But this is a old building and our bathroom was really not able to made clean. I would prefer staying at a newer building. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback