X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 497 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Overall, fantastic. Only problem was that for one of the days, the internet wasn't working for about 10 hours, and on the other day, it didn't work in our room (had to use the common areas instead). More
stevenmcrane3318 (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Overall a great stay, the hostel is clean, the staff is friendly, and it is definitely a bargain for the price. For whatever reason the atmosphere was a little odd, most of the other guests seemed to have no interest in one another, but this was definitely not a reflection of the place or More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 392 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 1st Jun 2015

Staff is great and do everything for their guests. They set up our rafting trip to Pacure, and made to-go lunches. Location is within walking distance of the central market (2nd avenue). Lots of shops too. Interesting if you want to see the bigger city life (it is gated and looks More
Anonymous (USA) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 31st May 2015

A very nice and clean hostel with a nice, calm and safe atmosphere! The beds are good and the bathroom clean with hot water. Good Wifi in the communal areas! Nice area with restaurants and grocery stores in close walking distance. The staff is nice, especially their personal driver, who More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 234 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 74%
  • 12th Jun 2015

Very clean and really nice, bathrooms more like what you would expect from a hotel! However, wifi wasn't great and atmosphere very quiet whilst we were there. But would stay again! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 31st May 2015

Location was the best part for me, and one of the owners was very helpful in orienting me in a new country and around the city :-) More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 209 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 6th Jun 2015

I wasn't too excited about staying in San Jose, but this hostel made me reevaluate my initial thoughts. Although the hostel is slightly outside of the city center, it is in a great location for good restaurants, bars/clubs, the university, and boutique shops. I met some great people while More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 30th May 2015

very nice place! super helpful stuff. More
feldtimo5135 (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 753 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 94%
  • 25th Jun 2015

The best thing about the place is that it feels like home! The staff is like family and are willing to help in everything! Roger is the man! More
Anonymous (Israel) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Brilliant! More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 51%
  • 12th Jun 2015

It was a sad hostel. Hard to find. the breakfast was bread and coffee. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 31st May 2015

I had an excellent experience at Nomadas Backpackers! More
mastrorocco4986 (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 107 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 18th Jun 2015

Luckily the dorm was full so I got a free upgrade to a double room. The hostel is perfectly located for people arriving/leaving on Ticabus. Due to the set up and decor you really don't feel like you're in a hostel at all. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 23rd May 2015

This place was excellent. After all the cross-country traveling we did, it was very nice to come back to a clean, modern, and quiet spot for a couple of nights. If you're looking for party central, maybe think Pangea, but Casa Colon was absolutely perfect. Low key, very affordable More
danielsterlingcross6438 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 271 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 74%
  • 30th May 2015

My only real complaint about casa yoses is the noise. The first two nights we stayed there, our room was very near to the outdoor patio area and even with the windows closed, we could hear music blasting from the speakers until at least 3 in the morning. I understand that people like to More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th May 2015

Only problem was the night the disco was open. Not what I wanted More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 693 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 71%
  • 10th Jun 2015

Practical accompdations at a practical price. More
Anonymous (Puerto Rico) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Jun 2015

For my first time traveling abroad alone, the guys at the hostel made everything very easy and were very welcoming. They answered all my questions and made me feel right at home. I appreciate it very much and would highly recommend Gaudy's! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 112 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 66%
  • 13th Apr 2015

The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay. The people who stay are generally older and there wasn't much interaction between guests. The staff were not that friendly, one in particular was quite cold towards us. The shower is also not great. Wasn't hot for me once, even though I used More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Included breakfast, nice. No hot water in the shower though, but no big problem. Not the right atmosphere if you want to meet people, but overall a great place to stay. Would stay again! More
rubbaas4040 (Norway) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback