X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 447 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 24th Mar 2015

Fabulous hostel. Couldn't ask for anything more. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 21st Mar 2015

The staff members at the front desk were knowlegdeable and engagiing. The pancake breakfast with cut up fruit-strawberries and pineapple- was sublime. The other backpackers and tourists were friendly and inquistive. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 372 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

+ Very clean hostel (they clean the bathroom almost every time is used) + Not very close to city centre (it's reachable by foot if you like walking: I did it many times). It's in a quiet area in San Pedro district where with a little walk you can find malls, bars and discos. + Great More
MilanRen (Italy) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 20th Mar 2015

I stayed at In N Basic on 03/20/2015. I was met at the door a person that was very kind and helpful. The hostel is CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN. They put a huge effort to maintain the place to a high standard, and I think that this also encourages the people who stay at the hostel to treat the place More
dychui4060 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 217 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 94%
  • 26th Mar 2015

Great place to stay in a cool building with an inside 2nd floor courtyard. Great location, good staff, Wifi was a bit spotty. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 9th Mar 2015

This was a lovely hostel really conveniently placed in San Jose. David was an absolute star, full of great advice, especially as to how to see and get around the city cheaply - a must on a student budget! The courtyard is a nice place to kick back and could only be improved with more (and More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 205 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 24th Mar 2015

This is a fantastic hostel, the owner and staff are so helpful and bent over backwards to help me out. An easy walk to the town centre and all the museums. I'd highly recommend it. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 24th Mar 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our first 2 nights in Central America. Mellow hostel playing good music. Staff are very helpful. The pancake and pineapple breakfast as well as the bunny in the garden were a nice bonus! More
Anonymous (Canada) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 707 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Absolutely loved it here!!!! Amazing staff, super laid back atmosphere, and a gorgeous house!!! I will always come back here when coming thru San Jose!! Plus the neighborhood felt safe, there are a ton of bars and good eats just two blocks away!!!! Love the park across the street which is More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 18th Mar 2015

seems more like a hotel than a hostel, the house which looks like an old mansion is amazing! staff was helpful and friendly! the hostel's taxidriver was the best, keep him! :) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 108 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Included breakfast, nice. No hot water in the shower though, but no big problem. Not the right atmosphere if you want to meet people, but overall a great place to stay. Would stay again! More
rubbaas4040 (Norway) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Mar 2015

helpful staff, close to the city center but on a quiet block (aside from the noise from the train during the day), room was nice and clean, good coffee available throughout the day.... would definitely recommend! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 89 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 29th Mar 2015

Large, very clean hostel. Stayed in a dorm room that was clean though a bit loud from traffic outside (bring earplugs). The staff were very helpful and the wifi was very fast. There is no kitchen to use but there is restaurant options inside. It's about a ten minute walk to the Centro area More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 12th Mar 2015

More of a hotel with bunk beds then hostel, but I had a really good stay. Located very close to the downtown, the hostel also has a seating area and a bar within if you fancy a quiet few at the hostel. A good place to stay, would recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 659 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 46%
  • 25th Mar 2015

Dodgy little place not what I expected. The traffic was so loud at night, couldn't sleep. The beds were pretty dirty. Location unsafe for female to walk around to supermarket. Very outdated hostel. Their marketing is much better than what it is. I would not return. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 18th Mar 2015

The staff was so friendly and helpful. Andrés makes a great breakfast every moring of pancakes and fruit. Everyone is so understanding when trying to navigate you plans for the stay. I stayed in the 8 bedroom room. Every night was so safe, and I never had a problem with safety or More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 260 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 26th Mar 2015

Pros: looks cool, bar next door, no keys needed (reception is open nonstop), easygoing and helping staff Cons: terrible kitchen (cooking almost impossible, pots and dishes like taken from a junkyard, fridge without shelves - no space for more than like 2 people), no towels More
Anonymous (Czech Republic) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

I opted to try this hostel because it described itself as being quieter and a bit calmer than the other "party" hostels, which I have stayed at. Quite the contrary as I never had a hard time getting sleep at those other placeThe room we were in overlooked the courtyard which meant that we More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback