X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 397 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 19th Jan 2015

Best vibs ever!!! you can't find better place in s José and surrounding! !;) More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 18th Jan 2015

We booked a private room with ensuite bathroom and it was more than expected when we arrived. The room was huge for just us two and we loved it. The only strange thing is both my friend and I woke up (at different times) to something strange... if you believe in that kind of thing... More
cynthiabtruong3071 (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 347 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 24th Jan 2015

wow, this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in! Paula and her staff are so friendly, I arrived after 11pm at night and was hungry, but the kitchen was closed so she have me some Oreos and an apple which was sweet. this place is spotless clean, and smells good and you instantly feel More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Mixed feelings about this hostel. It was definitely clean and great value for money. The staff were first class at being helpful advising me on how to catch a bus to Nicaragua and another guest who needed to see an eye doctor. However the kitchen was out of bounds from 9.30pm. I had been More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 191 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 20th Jan 2015

Stayed there and loved it! Very good atmosphere and had a very good mattress, totally clean everywhere. David the owner is very helpful and one of the nicest persons i met so far travelling. I would definitely recommend it to a friend! Only exception: it's not a party hostel! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Dec 2014

The hostel Van Gogh was amazing and also the owner David was really helpful! Great location, good bed, nice and clean facilities! If I will have opportunity to come back to San Jose I will definitely stay at this hostel! More
Anonymous (Slovakia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 193 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 14th Jan 2015

Wonderful place More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 5th Jan 2015

Very nice stay. Staff super nice. More
stephnadeau650 (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 98 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 27th Dec 2014

Great place to stay while in San Jose. Affordable, clean and spacious room. FrI ended and helpful staff. Will be staying here again before heading back home. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 23rd Dec 2014

For the price this place was fantastic. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 658 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 94%
  • 24th Jan 2015

I loved this place! The staff was very friendly and helpful in helping me get around San Jose safely. I felt very safe here, I would recommend this place to anyone. Plus, as an added bonus there is a resident cat and a beautiful park right across the street! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Jan 2015

The staff is helpful and the atmosphere was nice. My room was very big and comfortable, a bit dark though However, I would definitely recommend to change the windows and doors (one window was broken in a corner) to decrease traffic noise at night and increase security. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 630 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 21st Jan 2015

the staff were fantastic. Really helpful! The home made pancakes for breakfast were delicious. More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 19th Jan 2015

Facilities were OK but what the guy at reception was really helpful organizing trips from San Jose. Good place to start a trip to Costa Rica. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Great place to stay if you need to get to the Norte Atlantico/transporte Cobano bus. Cheap and quick taxi, but also easy to walk. The hostel is really easy to spot from the city bus from the airport. It can be a little loud in the rooms that face the main street. Ear plugs :) Overall More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

Its worth the money More
Anonymous (USA) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 405 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 20th Jan 2015

Great location and great space. A larger hostel that is great for meeting people. .The kitchen could definitely use an upgrade but otherwise, the space was fantastic and the free coffee good. There was also an issue with the wifi the duration of our stay but not all that important given More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 7th Jan 2015

pretty old place and therefore in the according condition. serves the purpose though. wifi wasn't working while we were there. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Mi Casa Hostel

  • 150 mts North from the west corner of I.C.E´s bui, Sabana Norte, San Jose
  • 69%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Ok for an overnight stop, as it's really close to the airport, not sure i'd want to stay longer there though. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback