X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 350 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Hostel Urbano was an amazing hostel, that really became my home away from home. The staff is so great! They were all super friendly, fun, informative, and willing to help out with anything I needed. The pancakes, fruit, and coffee in the morning were also a great way to start the day! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Sep 2014

This hostel is awesome in every way!! Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, and great atmosphere. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 321 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Simply great! Rooms and bathrooms are pristine and clean. Breakfast is fabulous, delicious pancakes and really nice terrace to enjoy it. Staff is ultra friendly and always happy to lend a hand. People said is not close to the airport...but why you need to be close to the airport when More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 6th Sep 2014

It's a good hostel, clean, secure and great internet and bathrooms. This place is everything that most of the party hostels around latin america aren't. The matresses are a little uncomfortable but for the nights I was there is quite and peaceful. This is the sort of hostel that I would More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 172 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 83%
  • 20th Sep 2014

Great location, close to everything, I walked for food/bus stations without ever taking a taxi. Vibe is super quiet, great place to be if you're not in to the party hostel scene. Staff was helpful though not as much as previous reviews indicated. Would stay here again when I need a quiet, More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 5th Sep 2014

The owner David knows everything about Costa Rica and he is very helpful. He answers your question with all the details and try to give you all the available info he has. Really appreciated. Location is very good, clean neighbourhood, quiet. Not a party hostel, instead, you can meet so More
rachelxinhk (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 80 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Very comfortable place to stay. Helpful staff and good facilities, including all day coffee and a pretty outdoor terrace for smokers. Some good information available e.g. All the bus times and routes. Fairly convenient to the city and in a safe area so walking around OK.. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2014

This place was truly amazing. Don't let the outside fool you, it does look a little rundown, but once you enter it is beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. More
cmoreno86196 (Mexico) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 558 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Everything is great, very friendly staff, good “gallo pinto“ for breakfast with toasts and smoothies, huge common area with a large flat screen tv, two sofas and a well equipped kitchen, wifi is working good, relaxing atmosphere, no party hostel. The beds are okay, but some of them More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Had agreat stay at Gaudys, very nice helpfull staff. They send a driver to pick me up from the airport and called a taxi to the bus station. Pretty clean rooms, good facilities and nice athmosphere. 15 min walk to city center. More
Anonymous (Serbia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 176 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 43%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Would've been ideal had it not been for one of their workers who we felt constantly harassed by, didn't mind the trash bins overflowing for 2 days or that one of the showers was broken, but he was bluntly rude. I cannot recall his name, but he is blonde. The 1st day there he was drinking More
cmoreno86196 (Mexico) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 30th Jul 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Bekuo. The staff was nice and eager to help. I had a little problem the morning I was supposed to leave (the taxi they told me they reserved never showed up.. same thing happened to two other travelers that morning), however I just walked a little to the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 608 Total Reviews

No.7

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Everything was great I just wish they had one more shared bathroom with a shower. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. Locals were a bit confused about the park name, referred to it as 'parque central'. Safe, secure hostel. Good international ambiance! Highly recommend staying there!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 364 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 17th Aug 2014

solid choice. I stayed twice and would stay there again. very social. a bit of a long walk to a lot of the bus stops but near the city centre More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 2nd Aug 2014

Clean toilets and kitchen!!! Only 2/5 computers worked & internet was really slow! Dorm 6 is way too close to pool area at night - really noisy! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Our first hostel and we were so pleasantly surprised that we arrived at such a lovely place. Really helpful staff and close to all that's happening More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Jun 2014

It was the perfect place to star the vacation. Perfect location. The staff was most helpfull. I would definitely come back again. There was a mix of ages and cultures. If you want to mix, you can but if you want solitude there are plenty of spaces to do so. Loved it More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 233 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Castle Tam Hostel

  • Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose
  • 97%
  • 9th Sep 2014

2 kitchens, great staff, very secure! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

Great Location, great staff, clean rooms and bathroom. I liked that it has a quiet atmosphere and the staff maintain the place. I would stay here again. Its in a safe area near the university so there are a lot of places to eat. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback