X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 360 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 17th Nov 2014

Open your mind. And you will see. From booking two months in adVance to leaving I was treated very well by the staff. From places to go and see and things to do More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 15th Nov 2014

Wonderful experience, great amenities, knowledgeable and helpful staff, flexible on everything, big room, clean bathroom, hot showers. Fantastic overall experience! More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 180 Total Reviews

No.2

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 97%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

Showers are amazing ! Nice back patio too More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 13th Nov 2014

An excellent place to start your trip in Costa Rica. The owner David is very friendly and knows everything about traveling in CR and what to do and the best places there. He takes good care of his guests. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 329 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 31%
  • 9th Nov 2014

Breakfast was nice.Room was clean. More
Anonymous (Japan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Nov 2014

This is a great hostel in a beautiful area, with the most woderful hosts. Totally reccomended! Thank you for everything and see you next time! More
Anonymous (Romania) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 67 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 30th Oct 2014

This has to be the best hotel I have stayed in. Huge place, close to all the bus terminals. Don't miss it. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 30th Oct 2014

Room pretty smelly and the lights from outside would reflect inside the room at night and you could hear the people talking and laughing at night from the lavatory of the WC area. No power plugs inside the room, that was very unconfortable when needed to charge batteries!! Staff very nice More
elen_giulietta2222935 (Spain) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 626 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

We (as a couple) really enjoyed our stay with this hostel, got a private room for a really cheap price and worth it and breakfast is include, you cant get better for the price and quality. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

Beautiful hostel with a lot of spirit, history and atmosphere. It is on the quieter end of the hostel scale (suited me), but I still had plenty of interactions with the other guests. Well run in a very personable way, the place seems like a real labour of love. Could do with an extra More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 371 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 12th Nov 2014

It's close to the airport but not a great base location for doing Eco tourism. The hostel is decent but the city isn't very nice. Barbwire and barred windows on almost every home and business. Next time I would choose a coastal location. You can't beat a beach town atmosphere for relaxing More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 8th Nov 2014

I have stayed here several times while on route through San Jose to somewhere in Costa Rica. It suits the purpose perfectly. The rooms are basic but clean and the atmosphere around the pool and bar is great. There is an info desk with everything you need to know about what to do and how to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 183 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 13th Nov 2014

I cannot praise this place enough. Best place I stayed in Costa Rica. The staff are amazing, every single one of them is unique, social, and has great suggestions, advice, and stories. It's a very laid back place, super social - but everybody respects the rules. Don't go here if you want a More
Anonymous (Norway) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Nov 2014

Just go here. Clean, comfortable, unbelievable friendly and helpful staff. Hot showers, awesome clean communal kitchen. Social, but quiet hours are politely enforced to the benefit of all. Best hostel I've been in. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 86 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 9th Nov 2014

The place felt more like a hotel than a hostel. I felt very safe in the area. Staff was always helpful and friendly and available 24 hours. The rooms are simple but perfect for a place to stay. It was a bit noisy at night but that's expected in a big city. Wifi was on and off but that More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Very comfortable place to stay. Helpful staff and good facilities, including all day coffee and a pretty outdoor terrace for smokers. Some good information available e.g. All the bus times and routes. Fairly convenient to the city and in a safe area so walking around OK.. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 579 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Highly recommended. Great common areas and an overall great vibe. Lots of public computers for use, and the staff is really helpful for organizing anything. About a ten/fifteen minute walk from the downtown shopping district. Will stay here again while in San Jose. More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 10th Nov 2014

Awesome breakfast! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 99 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 4th Nov 2014

I really liked staying at this hostel. The staff was helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were really clean. The kitchen was big and you had everything you needed. The hostel was really Close to the Tica bus Station, thats the main reason why I booked it. Also the city center and the main More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 25th Oct 2014

Great stay. The staff and other guests were wonderful. Nothing too fancy but exactly what I needed. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback