Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

  • 96%
  • 92 Total Reviews


  • Mi Casa Hostel

  • 150 mts North from the west corner of I.C.E�s b, Sabana Norte, San Jose
  • 97%
  • 24th Sep 2015

Very safe, clean hostel. The TV area has some nice leather couches, and the outdoor area has a little bar and upstairs seating area. It was very clean and the staff was super-friendly and helped us get to the bus station. Definitely would recommend this place if you're spending a night More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 93%
  • 546 Total Reviews


  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 7th Oct 2015

Hello. I like hostel. It is cool. The pancakes are really good. The Canadian makes the top pancakes of 2015. I will have to return to review for 2016. If you request it, the Canadian will serenade you whilst he cooks pancakes. Some of the lights on the terrace are out. Sad times. They have More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 29th Sep 2015

Great Staff, great location and great hostel. Caters for every need Weather it be a few drinks to kick off the night or relax on the couch nursing a hangover. Easy walk to banks, supermarkets and only a easy 20min walk into San Jose itself. Loads of public transport and directly in front More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 89%
  • 222 Total Reviews


  • 74%
  • 3rd Oct 2015

The staff was amazing. The breakfast was even better...but the bathroom was not clean enough and the internet only worked in the living room (fix that people)...anyways, a good place to stay :) More
Anonymous (Panama) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 29th Sep 2015

I took an impromptu painting class at the hostel with a really cool guy. Everything else was amazing too! Breakfast, clean, bunny, staff :) More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 88%
  • 414 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 1st Oct 2015

perfect and nice place! very friendly staff More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 15th Sep 2015

This is a very lovely place to hang your hat and get your head down. The staff are such wonderfully helpful people and are multi lingual so communicating is a breeze. In my humble opinion the rooms are a little over priced and you can get similar rooms with the same offerings for much More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 87%
  • 247 Total Reviews


  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 86%
  • 18th Aug 2015

A pretty quiet place, with only about 20-24 beds, though the place is huge! I stayed there for only one night, and found the owner (David?) to be incredibly helpful, full of advice. I don't like the idea of not having my own locker, though he has his reasons, and I still found that my More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 57%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Pros: Location - Close to the bus stop and some nice restaurants. Staff: Were friendly Cons: Internet - Does not work, resorted to using the restaurant below. Lockers: No personal lockers to store your valuables Rooms: Very small and cramped, no room to put you bags, some people More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (COUPLE) Globetrotter

  • 87%
  • 116 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 31st Aug 2015

clean, friendly and helpful staff, nice bathroom. A welcoming environment. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 15th Aug 2015

We had a nice stay. The girl at the front was super helpful and the rooms were excellent. The only downside is the location. We came to experience the local food and the culture, but we're only treated to Pizza Hut and subway. But for a nights stay in San Jose, it doesn't get any better More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 807 Total Reviews


  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 83%
  • 11th Oct 2015

It was a nice place to stay. My boyfriend and I just needed a place to spend the night and get some rest before heading out of San Jose and found a great place to do so in Casa del Parque. Towels were extra- charge and we HAD to ask for toilet paper, but other than that, the place is More
Anonymous (Costa Rica) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Sep 2015

It had very clean roomsrooms and bathrooms, also the people where super kind,politepolite, helpful and fun. The hostel is like an old Costarican mansion so it has an air of magic. I highly recommend it :D More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 287 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 9th Oct 2015

Nice common area, next to a bar and some other bars around so it can be a little noisy. Great breakfast More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 28th Jul 2015

Really friendly staff but oh my goodness the noise at night! Had to get up at 4.30 for a bus and the music below my window only stopped blaring at 2.00. if you are a "party traveller" you'll like it, if you want to relax and catch a few Zzzs maybe not.... More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 115 Total Reviews


  • 57%
  • 22nd Sep 2015

I arrived after 3pm and told check in was at 3:30 when it states 3pm at the notice board. I booked through hostel world and paid a deposit, yet I had to pay full price ($15) upon arrival. The staff at the time said he didn't have change so I paid later in Colones, was given a terrible More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 6th Jul 2015

The hostel was located in a convenient part of town. Was able to walk to attractions, food, and parks! The Hostel itself was very nice and the facilities were top notch. Stayed in a private room, so can't comment on the dorms. The private room was spacious and the AC was a nice addition. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 86 Total Reviews


  • 83%
  • 10th Oct 2015

Great hostel with very friendly staff and good pickup service. Is little bit out from San Jose center but you can catch the bus and the staff are very helpful pointing you in the right direction. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

We both loved staying here for the two nights we were here. The staff are really nice and it's very secure. It's a perfect place for easy going backpackers who want to see how some people live in Costa Rica. It's a great and affordable place for your first couple nights in Costa Rica. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback