X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 632 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

We had a fabulous stay. We stayed with children in the family room. Claudia and Juan were both absolutely fantastic and very responsive. They helped us sort out all our itinerary issues. This is a multigenerational hostel and not a party house. We would definitely stay here next time More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

I felt like the advertisement was misleading in making you think it was a more lively hostel. San Jose is definitely more of a stop over than a destination. I payed for five nights but only stayed one. Not really the hostels fault though. San Jose just needs to better invest in its city More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 212 Total Reviews

No.2

  • TripOn Open House

  • Calle 39,Barrio Escalante 400N 100E, Del CTRO Cultural Norte Americano, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 9th Feb 2016

We were in San Jose for only one night before heading to Puerto Viejo but TripOn made us want to stay longer! The staff was incredibly friendly and made an effort to interact with their guest which created a wonderful atmosphere. The bathrooms and beds were clean. The wifi is strong no More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 8th Feb 2016

Staff was very helpful! More
Anonymous (Romania) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 443 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 13th Jan 2016

Nice Owner which can give you lots of advice for onward travel, buying a sim card and so on ... No lockers but you can leave valuables at the reception. Good Wifi. More
stefanmm9468 (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 11th Jan 2016

Hostel is in a good location, and safety is good externally, but there are no locks on the dorm doors. Surprisingly given the other reviews, the service was surely, and grudging. Only other flaw was a door that was jammed, so could only be opened with an almighty noise, not exactly great More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 304 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 74%
  • 10th Jan 2016

Facilities were nice, warm water, outlets, everything was in working order. The staff seemed a little disorganized when we arrived, but nothing serious, and they were very helping in arraigning an early morning cab to take me to the airport. The only downside is that the location is very More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 3rd Dec 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff :) Thank you guys for all your help! More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 113 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel 1110

  • Ave. 14 St. 11 #1110, 500 mts. East from clinica Biblica Right hand yell, San Jose
  • 86%
  • 26th Oct 2015

Great staff! They helped me find some cool street art around the city. The free breakfast was good too! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

I was disappointed that the washing machine is broken. The wifi was weak sometimes. The building is cool. Breakfast is great. The staff are helpful. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 315 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 57%
  • 4th Feb 2016

Not so clean. Only 6 lockers in 10 bed dormitory (2 destroyed), 4 available. Worst thing : very very noisy ! Load music until 3am from the bar beside the hostel, every night except Sunday, bar closed Bar co-owned by the owner of the hostel. If you want to sleep, don't stay here ! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

I went to Costa Rica for work, and found Casa Yoses through Hostelworld. When I arrived, I was immediately greeted by Fee, who was both friendly and helpful throughout my stay. I had a single room on the top floor, but shared bathroom facilities, that were cleaned daily. For an affordable More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 284 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 94%
  • 6th Feb 2016

Great Place to stay! I really enjoyed the atmosphere. Please update the description to arrive by bus at the hostel. I couldn't find the right one on av2. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 5th Feb 2016

Great place to stay while in San Jose. The staff and atmosphere is amazing. Great facilities. Would definitely go back. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 272 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 74%
  • 17th Jan 2016

I enjoyed my stay here, it was quiet and clean. Front door was very secure, but I would appreciate lockers, at least for my smaller goods. The shower had great water pressure and temp control and the bed was comfy. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good location; walkable distance to city More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Jan 2016

Great place More
Anonymous (Panama) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 880 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 5th Feb 2016

This is a mansion from the 1920 turned into hostel, so you feel as if visiting the rich aunt in San José. Close to parks, museums, restaurants, and walking distance to downtown. Lovely house, flowers and artbooks everywhere. Ended up staying more days. The guy in charge is really helpful More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 1st Feb 2016

only one shower for dormitory and "private room" is too little i think. also the private room was not very private. Taxi service was excellent, but the staff wasn't very happy with our many questions and not very helpful. More
Anonymous (Austria) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 24th Jan 2016

Helpful staff. Very quiet during night. Nice coffee and warm showers. More
Anonymous (Norway) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 14th Oct 2015

Quiet hostel with lovely people. Family stay. The location of the hostel is not very central but a bus station is close by. The breakfast is included, simple but good. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback