X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 346 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 20th Aug 2014

A little out of San Jose centre, but good buses meant it was easy to get into town. Mixed dorms had lots of plug points and individual lockers. Private rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean. Kitchen area, including dining table and tv room were always available plus a pool table between More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Aug 2014

This place is great for San Jose! In a really nice area with a good selection of restaurants and bars. The hostel has lots of things to do, there's a pool table, TV lounge area, garden, massive book exchange! I stayed there one night and when I go back to San Jose I'll stay here for sure! More
Toogood (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 319 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 16th Aug 2014

Staff was amazing! The neighborhood is quiet but nowhere near the airport. Clean throughout. Shared bathrooms only. Kitchen available moderately. Great patio:) no lockers in house though security of house was maintained scrupulously. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Aug 2014

A lovely place in San Jose! The loveliest! How can you not choose inandbasic as base to plan your trip in Costa Rica? Ask what you wish at the owner Paula and at her staff, they will help you in every things. Last but not the least you have to try their pizza, it's amazing! And I'm More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 171 Total Reviews

No.3

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 86%
  • 5th Sep 2014

The owner David knows everything about Costa Rica and he is very helpful. He answers your question with all the details and try to give you all the available info he has. Really appreciated. Location is very good, clean neighbourhood, quiet. Not a party hostel, instead, you can meet so More
rachelxinhk (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Hostel Van Gogh is a very nice place to stay! It is very clean, safe and quite! The good thing is that it is not a party hostel. The bed I slept was really comfortable and the house is cosy. The owner David has a lot of knowledge about San Jose and of Costa Rica in general as well. He More
christianveldtrup6076 (Germany) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 80 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 28th Aug 2014

Very comfortable place to stay. Helpful staff and good facilities, including all day coffee and a pretty outdoor terrace for smokers. Some good information available e.g. All the bus times and routes. Fairly convenient to the city and in a safe area so walking around OK.. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 27th Aug 2014

This place was truly amazing. Don't let the outside fool you, it does look a little rundown, but once you enter it is beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. More
cmoreno86196 (Mexico) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 605 Total Reviews

No.5

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 91%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. Locals were a bit confused about the park name, referred to it as 'parque central'. Safe, secure hostel. Good international ambiance! Highly recommend staying there!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Very low price for a night in the dorm, quiet area, beautiful and spacious building, very clean too. If you're looking for a place to party, that's not the right one, but if you just got out of a long flight and need a good night's rest, this is a great hostel. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 555 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Everything is great, very friendly staff, good “gallo pinto“ for breakfast with toasts and smoothies, huge common area with a large flat screen tv, two sofas and a well equipped kitchen, wifi is working good, relaxing atmosphere, no party hostel. The beds are okay, but some of them More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Very clean and spacious common areas. Nice breakfast included. Helpful staff. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 175 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 43%
  • 6th Sep 2014

Would've been ideal had it not been for one of their workers who we felt constantly harassed by, didn't mind the trash bins overflowing for 2 days or that one of the showers was broken, but he was bluntly rude. I cannot recall his name, but he is blonde. The 1st day there he was drinking More
cmoreno86196 (Mexico) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 30th Jul 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Bekuo. The staff was nice and eager to help. I had a little problem the morning I was supposed to leave (the taxi they told me they reserved never showed up.. same thing happened to two other travelers that morning), however I just walked a little to the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 231 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Castle Tam Hostel

  • Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose
  • 97%
  • 9th Sep 2014

2 kitchens, great staff, very secure! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

Great Location, great staff, clean rooms and bathroom. I liked that it has a quiet atmosphere and the staff maintain the place. I would stay here again. Its in a safe area near the university so there are a lot of places to eat. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 62 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 6th Aug 2014

Our first hostel and we were so pleasantly surprised that we arrived at such a lovely place. Really helpful staff and close to all that's happening More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 26th Jun 2014

It was the perfect place to star the vacation. Perfect location. The staff was most helpfull. I would definitely come back again. There was a mix of ages and cultures. If you want to mix, you can but if you want solitude there are plenty of spaces to do so. Loved it More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 97 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 71%
  • 18th Jul 2014

Very dark place. The walls are filthy and cleaning isn't the best but decent. Burning incense bothered me but others like it. Hostel was fairly quiet with the exception of loud groups in the early morning. Great location. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 16th Jul 2014

We enjoyed the stall and other visitors very much. The outside kitchen and eating area is a great area to meet and talk in. But this is a old building and our bathroom was really not able to made clean. I would prefer staying at a newer building. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback