X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 376 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose
  • 97%
  • 25th Dec 2014

That's how a hostel has to be! Clean, comfortable beds, enough space in the rooms, big lockers, great staff, tasty breakfast, information board, etc. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 49%
  • 22nd Dec 2014

I would never stay here. Staff are very rude and unhelpful. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 335 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 10th Dec 2014

Off da hook! No doubt! Pound 4 pound da best place to stay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 8th Dec 2014

I just enjoyed it while I was In & Basic Hostel Lounge..First of all; that hostel is the cleanest hostel ever that I stayed..Paola -who runs the hostel- and staff are so friendly,kind, helpfull and smiley..:) I just feel at home.. Ohh!!.. the breakfast also was just amazing..love it..:) I More
Anonymous (Turkey) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 8th Dec 2014

I found Bekuo at the end of my time in CR which was a shame as I passed through San Jose several times and this place was by far the best hostel I stayed at. The staff are really friendly and the owner makes a big effort to make people feel welcome, even organising nights out with the More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 28th Nov 2014

An absolutely wonderful experience. Helpful, attentive and friendly staff. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in San Jose. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 186 Total Reviews

No.4

  • Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose
  • 69%
  • 22nd Dec 2014

Though others could let people in, the owner was pretty much always there, so relatively secure. The latest check-in is 10PM (though he can be a bit flexible); however, it means no late nights. Location is relatively close to the pedestrian areas and the museums. Atmosphere is lacking; the More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

Showers are amazing ! Nice back patio too More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 71 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 20th Dec 2014

Great place to stay with a great location. Close to the airport as well as the bus stops. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 30th Nov 2014

This hotel was far nicer that I would have ever expected. It is an old house that his been converted. It is very beautiful and very clean. The staff is friendly and it's easy to get to by bus from the airport. Walking time to downtown is about 5 minutes. The only thing to warn you about More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 640 Total Reviews

No.6

  • Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose
  • 100%
  • 18th Dec 2014

This is one of the finest establishments out there! It made San Jose one of my favorite cities! Great staff, and I mean AWESOME! Gorgeous and exceptionally Clean building with all the comforts of home. Amazing kitchen, beautiful garden for relaxing, wonderful, generous and beautiful More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 15th Dec 2014

The 10-bed-dorm has especially one window that cannot be closed or covered with anything, thus it was windy and quite cold in the dorm and I had to wear a pullover in my bed to feel warm enough, other guests were telling the same. The rest was fine. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 594 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 25th Dec 2014

Excellent service and flexibility More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 17th Dec 2014

A good hostel for San Jose for the night. The staff was very nice and helpful, and it was great that they made breakfast in the morning. The only downfall is that it is on a busy and it was hard to fall asleep from a the all the noise. More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 381 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 15th Dec 2014

It is really great place to stay. The rooms are spacious plus the beds are comfortable. Obviously the garden and the swimming pool make it special. The location could be better but well there are no perfect places. The staff working there is very helpful and friendly. For the money it is More
mareksych9478 (Poland) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 7th Dec 2014

This was a great hostel to stay at. It has a cool pool and a nice open kitchen area that was a fun area to hangout and play drinking games with other backpackers. The staff keeps it clean and are helpful, the tourist information is a big plus and very helpful. I will be staying there again More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 92 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 23rd Dec 2014

For the price this place was fantastic. More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 25th Nov 2014

You have to ask for cleaning and new towels . We stay there for 3 nights . More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 100 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 4th Nov 2014

I really liked staying at this hostel. The staff was helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were really clean. The kitchen was big and you had everything you needed. The hostel was really Close to the Tica bus Station, thats the main reason why I booked it. Also the city center and the main More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 25th Oct 2014

Great stay. The staff and other guests were wonderful. Nothing too fancy but exactly what I needed. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback