Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

  • 87%
  • 212 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 7th Oct 2015

We loved it here, really clean. Bathrooms were nice beds a little squeaky but it was ok. Could have lockers in the rooms but otherwise security was good. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Sep 2015

i enjoyed my stay here. Close to the harbour, but there's not a lot to do or see in the area unless you get a bus or taxi. very clean and comfortable. There's a great little common room with a TV, lots of dvds to choose from and two PCs but its quite quiet. More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller

  • 85%
  • 72 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 12th Nov 2015

For a traveller this is a lovely bit of luxury on a budget as you can stay in a dorm room but still feel like your staying in a fancy resort as you can use all the facilities. We loved this place with its relaxing atmosphere, beautiful setting and amazing food. The staff were so lovely and More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 18th Oct 2015

This is a resort and not a hostel so you don't quite get the backpacker atmosphere, but it's still a really nice place to stay in Sepilok. It's really close to the sun bears and Orangutans and they can organise tours for you from the resort. Food and drinks are quite expensive here More
joeevo90 (England) (MALE) Globetrotter

  • 84%
  • 100 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 12th Nov 2015

A nice place to stay around for a couple of days. Zu, the owner is very kind and helpfull and makes you feel like home. The breakfast is standard but helpfull in the morning. The rooms are clean, with ac and hot showers. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 16th Jul 2015

the manager was very nice and helpful. He helped me book my river cruise to Kinabatangan and bus ticket to Semporna. He also cooked a delicious meal for breakfast. Very nice place to stay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 82%
  • 86 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 5th Aug 2015

A very enjoyable stay. We loved the jungle feel of the place. Great restaurant and pool. It's very close to everything we wanted to see - the orang-utans & the sun bears, and the proboscis monkeys were not too far in a taxi. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful except for one More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 29th Jul 2015

We stayed in the dorm room here, the single beds were nice instead of bunk beds. The room was basic but comfortable, the fan kept us cool. It had a cold water shower but this is standard for the area. The resort is in an ideal location, just a short walk away from the Orangutan Sanctuary! More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Globetrotter

  • 81%
  • 208 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 6th Sep 2015

This is a great retreat close to Sepilok. Relaxing place with plenty of hammocks and chilled areas. Staff really helpful and the transfers in and out of key attractions are a big plus. More
p_maxwell1757 (Northern Ireland) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 1st Sep 2015

Great spot in jungle mixed with palm trees. We had a ridge hut by ourselves up on the hill with very comfortable bed & incredible views down through the jungle to the river & up the other side from the little verandah. Backpackers stayed in a longhouse. Location is a few k's from Sepilok, More
karen6953 (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

  • 55%
  • 72 Total Reviews


  • 31%
  • 4th Sep 2015

The hostel was extremely dirty. The kitchen area used for the cafe (which was closed) was disgusting. Dirty dishes, overflowing rubbish, dirty sides. It looked like no one had bothered to clean in days. There were breakfast plates still hanging around on tables in the cafe. The bathroom More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 51%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Please clean the restrooms more often and help your guests with the breakfast. Also give more keys for the dorms . More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback