X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 149 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 28th Jul 2014

One of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. The location couldn't be more central, the staff were very helpful and it was exceptionally clean. So good in fact that we booked an extra night there! More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 24th Jul 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The whole hostel is very clean. It's very easy to meet other people in the TV/computer room or in the kitchen. The people who work there are also very friendly. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 186 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 26th Aug 2014

I managed to see past 1 of the members of staff having very little customer service skills and there not always being running water and the rest of my stay was faultless. It felt like a proper countryside retreat that I should have paid twice the price for. It was the perfect base to go More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Surrounded by jungle the spacious dorm has mesh walls for fresh air and to admire the view, the cooked breakfast was excellent, as was the free shuttle to sepilok attractions and the helpful and friendly staff. My only suggestion is to install a bug zapper in restaurant and dorm for the More
gaylener9122 (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 67 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 9th May 2014

Perfect if your staying in Sandakan for a few days. Its right next to a shopping mall and the sea front. Although not much to do in Sandakan, this hostel provides info and help with anything you need. Room is clean and wifi strong. Ensuite available. The cafe on the third floor serves a More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 20th Apr 2014

Really good hostel! The owner was like a mother for us! She really wants your stay to be perfect! I would highly recommend the mangroves and fireflies tour - it was awesome! Looking forward to come back one day! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 51 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 8th Jul 2014

Staff were really friendly! We were expecting a double room for two of us but ended up sharing with someone else. We also expected a private bathroom but had to share. However, the stay was lovely. Really good food and perfect location. More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 4th Jul 2014

Only 1 toilet for the dorm rooms. When we were there it blocked. After mentioning to the reception they fixed the problem. But still it would have been nice to have another toilet in the building More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 92 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 69%
  • 2nd Apr 2014

I had originally reserved two nights at this hostel but checked out in the middle of the night (2am) my first night there because the beds were full of bed bugs! The girl on the bottom bed of the bunk woke me up she was scratching so much and we looked at her bed, it was swarming with bed More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Excellent location, close to the sepilok Orangutan sanctuary. Quite clean and great big area for socialising. Food available is pricy and average, wifi doesn't work in the rooms , but overall had an enjoyable stay. Would recommend. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 21st Mar 2014

A bit to quiet for your average backpacker but fantastic for nature enthusiasts. No lockers in the dorm and only 1 shared key. there is a pool and gym available to guests. the orang utans sanctuary is unbelievably close. 1 or 2 nights would usually be enough unless you want some More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback