X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 194 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 5th Nov 2014

LOVED this place. I don't often review places but I was so relieved to arrive here and be met by beautiful staff, a stunning location and the ease of having the free shuttle bus to th eSepilo Orang Utan and Sun Bear sanctuary. My favourite part was lying in the hammocks, reading and the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Oct 2014

This was one of my favorite hostels ever! It's so picturesque and relaxing. Everything's made out of wood, the reception/dining area looks like something out of Indiana Jones with a wooden bar and crates for chairs, and the dorms are designed to face the sunrise. It feels like a More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 163 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 14th Nov 2014

Harbourside was ideally located, close to the few food choices that Sandakan has to offer. Very close to Greenview Tour office where we had booked our river and jungle tour, so paying and meeting for departure was super easy. Taxis were plentiful at the end of the block and the bus station More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 31st Oct 2014

I liked the Harbourside Backpackers. It was very clean. Easy to come and go with your swipe card. The lockers are small and in the reception area but they do the job for keeping your valuables safe while you're out. There isn't much to do in Sandakan though. Unless you're happy to take More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 52 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 19th Nov 2014

Actually a B+B inside a jungle resort. Walking distance (5-10 mins) to the Orangutan rehabilition center aswell as the Sun Bear Rehab center which is directly across the road from the Orangutans center, both easily doable in a day. Short ride also to see proboscis monkey sactuary too at More
laurence_bruce (Australia) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 8th Jul 2014

Staff were really friendly! We were expecting a double room for two of us but ended up sharing with someone else. We also expected a private bathroom but had to share. However, the stay was lovely. Really good food and perfect location. More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 80 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 4th Nov 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in Sepilok. This place is literally right next door to the orangutan sanctuary! This means that some of the orangutans visit the resort so make sure you keep your things out of reach and don't get too close! The pool is also lovely and definitely worth the RM5 to More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Excellent location, close to the sepilok Orangutan sanctuary. Quite clean and great big area for socialising. Food available is pricy and average, wifi doesn't work in the rooms , but overall had an enjoyable stay. Would recommend. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback