X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 229 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 77%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

The only thing this hostel lacks is an enthusiastic staff. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 14th Jan 2016

Professionally run hostel. Staff are always on hand to organise tours for guests. While I was there, everyone seemed to just sit around watching movies so there wasn't a very sociable atmosphere. Everything else was great though! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 210 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 6th Jan 2016

Amazing location. Right in the middle of the jungle, really near to orangutan sanctuary. Helpful staff - organized river cruise for us and free shuttle to sepilok. Would stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 22nd Dec 2015

A bit out of the way but they provide a free shuttle and it is an awesome setting, lots of hammocks to laze about it when you're not seeing the orangutans and sun bears. Good food too that isnt' too expensive, definitely recommend this place. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 77 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 25th Jan 2016

Front desk said I could not get a bus to semporna at the junction but bus company said I could. Wasted 60 ringgit taking a taxi there just to drive right by the junction. Thanks staff!! More
izzysix (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 97%
  • 8th Jan 2016

Further out of the way than others but worth the walk. Still only about 10mins from the Orangutan centre. The dorm room was basic but cheap, the shower was warm, if a little weak. wifi was only available in the restaurant and I spent most of my time there. The food was exquisite tho More
mrronankelly1496 (Ireland) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 88 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 69%
  • 8th Jan 2016

The pool was under maintenance which was a big disappointment.Staff like to congregate in the restaurant and sometimes it feel a little unwelcoming. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th Dec 2015

Wish they had told me pool was closed but great place to visit sepilok. Make sure you reconfirm your taxi for the next day though, don't think they booked mine at 6am as asked and manager ended up zooming me to the airport! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 66%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 60%
  • 28th Nov 2015

The best part about the hostel - because it empty no one was on the wifi so I could video call home but maybe because of low season it definitely wasn't the place to meet people Also when I arrived there was no water so I was not able to have a shower after spending 3 days in the jungle More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 12th Nov 2015

A nice place to stay around for a couple of days. Zu, the owner is very kind and helpfull and makes you feel like home. The breakfast is standard but helpfull in the morning. The rooms are clean, with ac and hot showers. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 57%
  • 72 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 31%
  • 4th Sep 2015

The hostel was extremely dirty. The kitchen area used for the cafe (which was closed) was disgusting. Dirty dishes, overflowing rubbish, dirty sides. It looked like no one had bothered to clean in days. There were breakfast plates still hanging around on tables in the cafe. The bathroom More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback