X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2490 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 25th Aug 2015

Great atmosphere, good social areas, good location, helpful English speaking staff. Great choice More
bexwoolley4616 (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

Very helpful staff, speaking very well english. Nice terrace, clean hostel, good atmosphere and very central. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1377 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Very good hostel. The location is perfect, it's not in a too busy street but you can easily go anywhere with the metro being just outside the froot door. The staff was really helpful and answered all my questions to organize my next trip. The rooms and bathrooms are all clean. The lobby is More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 7th Aug 2015

Even though it was a bit more complicated to find it after the subway stops at night, it was still a great situation. It's not as main stream as in the Bund but you are more directly in a Chinese neighborhood. And food around is plenty and rather cheap! People who stay there are not just More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2187 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

very good!!! More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Amazing and huge outdoor and common areas. Bar and pool table are fun spots to hang out. Wifi works great throughout the hostel. Loved the bathroom facilities. Great for meeting people. The only thing we didn't like about the hostel was the front door is padlocked after midnight and only More
Anonymous (USA) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1506 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 60%
  • 10th Aug 2015

There were not enough washrooms on our floor. Although there were more on the 3rd floor, you had to walk outside in the rain to get there, and those 2 were taken as well. The rooms and bathrooms were poorly lit, there was no place to hang anything except for in the showers. The beds More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 2nd Aug 2015

The room was simple but nice, the lounge area with the garden and the bar are pleasant, the bar is a bit overpriced but expected in a hostel. The hostel is in a central location and a quiet area. Just lack of atmosphere. The staff can speak enough english. More
Anonymous (Portugal) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1312 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 26th Aug 2015

Good position and the room was spacious and clean. Staff very polite but a bit cold, as Chinese cannot be considered properly "friendly". The only big downside is that the wifi didn't work at all in my room. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 22nd Aug 2015

Location was really perfect, couldn't be better, 2 minute walk from the metro, 10 minute walk to the bund, just perfect. The rooms were good, not really big but very clean and soft beds. The shared bathrooms were really clean. The staff was really Chinese, because they didn't show much More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1719 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 26th Aug 2015

I've stayed at other hostels in Shanghai, but I keep coming back to Le Tour. It has a nice central location but generally quiet surroundings. What's more, the employees there are fantastic, and it's super clean. The Internet connections were also super fast on this visit, and I had a More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 57%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

I wasn't happy with this hostel, there was a group of school children staying there who were very noisy. It didn't come across as a hostel for travelers more as a hostel for schools. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1637 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 86%
  • 18th Aug 2015

Great hostel in a good position for a boy like me!i was in vacation and all i needed i found! Close to people square(in the heart of shanghai) and 5 minutes on foot at the subway metrostation! Good. Andrea More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 12th Aug 2015

I was not very impressed with my stay at the Phoenix. The staff were not helpful and did not offer any guidance on what to do in the area. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was not clean when we arrived. I have been travelling Asia for 9 weeks and this hostel by far had the More
Anonymous (Northern Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 548 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 24th Aug 2015

They gave me free upgraded, nice staff, clean room, a cozy place, I'm coming back for sure. More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 24th Aug 2015

Very nice and helpfull stuff. More
Anonymous (Russia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 357 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 51%
  • 17th Aug 2015

This is basically an average motel advertised as a hostel. No information about the surrounding area or things to do in shanghai, nor is there a decent common room. Air conditioner was not working which made for a reasonably uncomfortable night. Fine if you are desperate for a night's More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 15th Aug 2015

Nice to meet some folks. Staff quite nice and helpful. No AC control in room!!! More
wachholzsebastian3662 (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 936 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 15th Aug 2015

This is very nice place to stay ! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 9th Aug 2015

The beds are a bit too hard but all these rest was cool. The music choice was nice More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback