X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1684 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 77%
  • 10th Apr 2014

Great location. Located near East Nanjing Rd Station and only 5 mins from the Bund and on Line 2 connecting Pudong Airport and Hongqiao Airport and Train Station. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 7th Apr 2014

Overall positive. We had a three bed room with ensuite. Small but suited our needs. Slightly annoying that lamp and bedside light both did not work but perks of a TV and kettle. Bathroom clean. Beds clean and comfy. Did not eat but had a couple of drinks in the bars. Seemed friendly and More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1542 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 14th Apr 2014

The hostel was great, the sleeping arrangements are pretty much the same for all places but the downstairs lobby space was great for working and I suspect when it's busier it's good for social aspects. The location is good too, not too far from metro and shops nearby. One of my favourite More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Apr 2014

I loved the luxury of the private room!! Very good value for my money! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 442 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 1st Apr 2014

Beautiful shabby chic facility. Loved the whitewash More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Mar 2014

Large group of us...16 in total teaching in Suzhou for 2 weeks went to visit shanghai and stayed here. loved it that much we came back the following weekend!! Only complaints was that one of our 4 bed dorm rooms had no mattress so beds were very hard but all other rooms were fine 100% More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1179 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 8th Apr 2014

Great place to stay when visiting Shanghai. Walking distance from a lot of sites and very close to peoples park station, so very well connected. We had a great time here, would stay again. Thanks More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 4th Apr 2014

Location and hostel bar scene great . Decent food good coffee. Love the hostel cat. More
lenalin81510 (Malaysia) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2316 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 11th Apr 2014

The hostel was in a great location, very easily accessed from the subway. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable, not the hard beds that are usually found in China. It is a very foreigner friendly hostel. The restaurant/bar in the lobby was very well designed and a More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 11th Apr 2014

The location is quite good. But first, before we arrive I email the hostel staff some important questions but she never reply me; second, the bathroom smells REALLY REALLY BAD (private bathroom); last, it is quite obvious that the staff are more friendly to non-Chinese, which makes me feel More
Anonymous (China) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1209 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 28th Mar 2014

We had a good stay at this hostel, which is conveniently located near the subway's circle line, making it a good base for sightseeing. Dorms and bathrooms were fine and usually clean, good value for your money anyways. A disadvantage was that both the free pc's and the WiFi were More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Mar 2014

amzing location.helpful staff.thank you for the staff.tank you jianing .all of you.thank you for everthing.i will back. More
Anonymous (Iceland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 846 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 83%
  • 1st Apr 2014

I've stayed in the Mingtown youth hostel in Nanjingroad, Shanghai for 5 days in early Apr 2014. The hostel has a best location to travel Shanghai - We could get to the Nanjingdong-ru subway station on foot within 5 minutes, and the Bund within 10 minutes! And the staffs are very kind and More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 31st Mar 2014

Great location for metro and local sights. Staff very friendly and helpful and room looked like it had been refurbished the bathroom was very clean and new looking. Would recommend. We are 2 ladies in our 60's and felt very safe. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1412 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 10th Apr 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, very convenient that the private rooms come with towels and even shampoo/shower gel. The location is good, right on the intersection between 2 subway lines and close to the French Concession. The room was very nice, comfortable beds and very clean. Will More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 6th Apr 2014

Location isn't the best. Good atmosphere, great place to meet other travelers. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 391 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 31st Mar 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hostel on the one hand it's located in the best possible place. this comes at a prizes because the house is realy old and you see that when you enter the hostel. The roof top bar is amazing. the rooms are clean, the bathroom facilities are avarge, water is More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 21st Mar 2014

Location is fantastic and you cant beat the view from their bar. That said, probably one of the worst beds i have ever slept on (I was in a bunk), and being stingy on providing paying guests with something like toilet paper is a little extreme. Bathroom and shower facilities leave More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1248 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 69%
  • 11th Mar 2014

The staff were excellent, the management was not. There was construction work during my stay that I was not told about beforehand - no notice or announcement made before booking. The construction work was done throughout the night, including a fork lift outside my window, moving rubble all More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 15th Feb 2014

lacated in the middle of food street. Nearby has a number of good foodstuff. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback