X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1964 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 15th Sep 2014

Loved the place, nice cozy space, clean, comfortable beds, offers breakfast which could be improved, will def stay again, thanks More
Rachel23 (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 12th Sep 2014

I am a returning costomer and am also recommending this place to all of my friends, it's so central, very friendly and has eveything you need :) More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1726 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 17th Sep 2014

Stayed one night in dorm, enjoyed the common area in the lobby. Staff was helpful and speaks good English. Bathrooms and showers are small, but clean. A little far from everything, but easy to get around with the subway, which is a 10-15 min walk from the hostel. Would stay again. More
Firefly90 (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 7th Sep 2014

Had a great stay there, nice Hostel :-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1339 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 80%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Each dorm room has one bathroom... that could be inconvenient in an 8-persom dorm room. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 9th Sep 2014

New Wooden bed and simple and convenient interior is very good~! Through the hostelworld, the price is very reasonable~ I have a believed hostel in shanghai! More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1016 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Solo traveller, loved this place, very relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Felt safe and staff were very helpful. Recommend highly. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 4th Sep 2014

I really enjoyed the time there Thank you so much guys More
Anonymous (Mongolia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1285 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Not as good as I expected! except one girl the staff was not too helpful and seemed annoyed or shy..rooms were too small,very dark, ac too cold,mattresses were really bad.. on the other side location is perfect, and bar area very nice but little expensive. its ok to stay there but More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Hostel has an amazing location but the place was very damp and smelt damp. Bedroom very mouldy. Unfortunately the staff were extremely unfriendly and rude. Didn't want to help with directions or things like how to use the laundry facilities. The bar/communal area was quite nice apart More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1533 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 12th Sep 2014

A good hostel with very clean bathroom facilities. It is just 10-12 min walk to metro station so I found it easy to get around. I didn't particularly like the large communal area where everyone sits in silence on their phones- the atmosphere was quite unfriendly. However, that was the only More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Great hostel, located 10 minutes walk to Jingan Temple on line 2 (which is the line leading to the city centre), staff with great english proficency, very clean facilities. Highly recommended. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 245 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 83%
  • 30th Aug 2014

A nice place to stay and very near to the bund too which was nice. Metro only 10 mins away too. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 29th Aug 2014

While the location is very good and I could stay there for a night, I would not want to stay much longer. Hallways and stairways were smelly. Bedroom was cramped and windowless, although it was air-conditioned and had Internet. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1281 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 71%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

Good location, nice staff. No wifi in rooms, smoking "room" is exactly the entrance to the hostel so you always have to pass through the cigarette smoke cloud when moving among outside, front desk and the rooms. Actually the cloud even reached inside my room, that's why I rate cleanliness More
zenitse6186 (Czech Republic) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

We stayed at this hostel for one night on the way to Pudong Int'l Airport. It is conveniently located next to a metro stop. I had to carry our heavy bags up one flight of stairs to the hostel, but once there the whole hostel is on one floor. The staff was nice, the atmosphere was good, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 2512 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 63%
  • 12th Sep 2014

The hostel was a bit far from downtown but at least it was close to the metro. They had a tour listed to a water town close by but when I requested the tour they said they were not offering any tours at the moment The staff didn't speak very good English but they were nice overall More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 6th Sep 2014

4인실을 썼는데 방이 대개 컸어요 시설도 깔끔하고 무엇보다 좋았던건 조용한 거였습니다. 방음이 잘 되더라구요. 하지만 시내에너 멀어서 관광을 하기연 교통편이상당히 불편하고 푸동 공항까지는 빨리가도 More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 1271 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

I was in Shanghai visiting some old friends while I stayed in Mingtown Hiker. The location is good. I was there while the A/C couldn't work well, kind of my fault I didn't see it while I was booking, Shanghai is hot in summer. The wifi connection is not always so good, what bugged me most More
LisaKittyCat (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Jul 2014

The AC wasn't working when I stayed and there were no fans available. Very centric and great public transportation access! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback