X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2048 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 24th Nov 2014

Such a rad hostel! I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It's not incredibly close to any major attractions but it's perfect for making you walk around and seeing the neighborhood. Close to line 2 and 10 which gets you where you wanna go. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Great place and brilliant value. It isn't a party hostel, more laid back with a friendly vibe. A pool table and good communal lounge helped this. They also make a good (but not cheap) coffee and have various cheap food options. The only real drawback was that there weren't planned hostel More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1819 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 66%
  • 21st Nov 2014

I lived in Shanghai R&W Youth Hostel. Actually, I'm a little disappointed. My roommates made the room dirty and messy...and some were rude and misbehaved... That made me want to leave ASAP but the hostel manager wouldn't care about you. Facilities were old but ok. Washing machine and the More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 12th Nov 2014

There was work going on while I was staying which was a bit annoying. Located quite far from the centre (ie. the Bund), but only 5 minutes to the subway with a direct line to the centre. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1390 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 74%
  • 21st Nov 2014

The hostel is in a good location, but I recommend staying somewhere at or near the Bund instead. If you stay at the Pheonix and are troaveling alone I recommend staying in a room with others because the single room is a bad decision for the amount of yuans I had to pay for three days and More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 20th Nov 2014

Great location in Shanghai, in a popular street with great food. The staff was very kind , I recommend this hotel More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1092 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 22nd Nov 2014

Nice place, very convenient location, very clean and staff speak English very well. Not much of a traveler's vibe but I was only here for one night so it didn't bother me... More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 21st Nov 2014

1st floor was smelly which i could smell it in the lobby... The bathrooms are quite inconvenient as there are no space to put your clothes in some of the rooms. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1579 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 1st Nov 2014

Good hostel in a good location. Pros: Lots of nearby shops and restaurants and a 10 minute walk from the subway. Showers powerful and hot, comfy beds with decent lockers in the rooms. Great location for French Concession and other nearby attractions. Cons: Hostel is difficult to find More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 31st Oct 2014

The Bar was open until 1am. I was talking to my friend, eat pizza day drinks lot of beers, and I haven't seen that time was after 2am. The girl was right there just waiting for.us, never told us a word that it was time to close. I really appreciate that, I want to.say a public BIG THANKS, More
Anonymous (Venezuela) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 270 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 14th Nov 2014

Enjoyed the party night arranged by the guys at the hostel where they wanted to show off their cocktails. This bought everyone together to meet and greet which was fun. Not many other backpackers here as this hostel seemed to attract mainly Chinese students who were in the city for job More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Nov 2014

I had a great time there, really love the beautiful cosy yard they have. People there are fiendly and helpful, definitely worth the price. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 264 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 22nd Oct 2014

It was really nice to spend some nights in your hostel. You have realy nice staff and you brought all the easyness possible. Thanks =) More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 6th Oct 2014

I gave the facilities only poor grade because in our room we didnt have internet. In order to use the wifi we had to go out and sit in the hall. Other than that everything was fine. More
Anonymous (Hungary) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1319 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 54%
  • 1st Nov 2014

my room was for 8 persons but the staff add 1 another persons into those small room, so it becoming 9 persons in the small room!! the internet doesn't reached my room so if I want to use it, I have to move out from my room or go into the lobby. it sucks More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 26th Oct 2014

Good - Location and Laundry facilities! Cafe / Bar was also great and the 6RMB Tsingtao at reception was a good bargain! Poor - Communal bathrooms and toilets were not clean enough and often the toilet paper bins were full of dirty, smelly tissues (maybe consider using sealed or covered More
mattbacon19857478 (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1303 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 13th Nov 2014

The hostel is very cold during the winter time maybe use the heating more. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 12th Nov 2014

After arriving I got very poor room, with bad smell, different what presented online. After complaining they gave me good room and this was ok. I recommend to book the ones which have bathroom en-suite and bright windows. More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 2572 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 77%
  • 20th Nov 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights, the first in a 4-bed dorm and the other 2 nights in a private room. On the first night, the receptionist allowed me to swap rooms as one guy's snoring was unbearable. Staff very friendly, private room comfortable, with decent internet speed. Easy to get More
jaymatt508776 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 37%
  • 14th Nov 2014

This hostel is brutal. Yes it's cheap, but it also has the feel of a prison. The showers are bad, the staff is slow and not very friendly..and unlike many hostels out there, they don't rent towels...oh wait let me rephrase that, they tell you they rent towels for a depoist of 40 RMB, but More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback