X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1925 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

Location is really convenient for subways or buses to connect to all major attractions. You can stroll to the Bund or Nanjing East Road in 5-10minutes. Bathrooms very clean. Soap was provided next to sinks and toilet paper in toilet stalls. Shanghai is a party city, so you should More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 74%
  • 19th Aug 2014

The location was excellent, the staff reception staff were friendly too. No stairs to climb! I stayed in the Deluxe Double, which had a lofted bed, and a living room-like space below with balconey, altogether a cool space, BUT the loft area had poor ventilation. It was really hot even More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1702 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 18th Aug 2014

A bit far from the city center, but you can reach it easy with the subway (10min by foot) the staff is so nice, I had a really great time there. The cool were the locker, big enough to put your backpack !! Sosafe More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Great hostel experience at Rock and Wood! The common area is conducive to meeting and chatting with fellow travelers. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1317 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 20th Aug 2014

The location of this hostel is absolutely ideal - about a 2 minute walk (or less) from the subway station on a cute little street with a lot of restaurants. The rooms and the general setup of the hostel is very people friendly and extremely attractive - the rooms are filled with large More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Phoenix just renew the locals it's look like a 5 start hotel ... I suggest u do a cooking course to teach us the secret of Chinese cuisine... Alex More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1277 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 20th Aug 2014

Good location close to the train line and very spacious rooms. The kitchen only has a microwave in case you want more. More
jury_josh7100 (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Very nice Hostel ! good location, and nice atmosphere. The only complaint that I have is the messiness caused by the folks that I was sharing the room with, but thats not the hostel fault right? Well.. overall it was a pretty good hostel. I recommend it! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 995 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 57%
  • 16th Aug 2014

It's really expensive compare to the service and rooms More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 10th Aug 2014

The room was really great and large, really clean, with nice design. A bit humid at the 3rd floor maybe due to the laundry Nice staff speaking fluent english ! We enjoyed our stay :-) More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1268 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 37%
  • 24th Aug 2014

The staff are not very friendly and most of them barely know any english so it is not possible for them to be very helpfull. No breakfast served at the hostel. The communal area is quite boring and quite, only a pooltable there to lighten the mood. Instead people who wants to talk and have More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 8th Aug 2014

It's located right next to a subway station so it's convenient, but it's also quite far from anywhere where you actually want to go (you get to change subways twice in order to get to French concession, and once or twice to get to Nanjing Road/Bund). The room was clean and bed quite hard, More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1520 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 26th Aug 2014

Very relaxing stay this time. Nice and quiet. Perfect location away from the hustle and bustle but still somewhat central. It's my home away from home when I'm in Shanghai. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 18th Aug 2014

Very big place, in the summer packed with school classes. Great "living room" with pool and table tennis and a roof top bar. More
moritzkolster9009 (Germany) (All Male Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 2496 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 57%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

Longhour working staff and the bar are high points. But my stay this time (the second in 4 years) was borderlined by behaviors of staff members and wrong transport information I received which made me lose an afternoon. The lowest point came when a older staff member proposed me to go to More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 77%
  • 21st Aug 2014

The staff was very friendly and good English is spoken. The hostel bar is nice. My dorm room was very dirty and smelly, but that might have been because of other room mates. The common shower was cobwebbed and in not all too good condition. The common bathroom which us facing the common More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1269 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

I was in Shanghai visiting some old friends while I stayed in Mingtown Hiker. The location is good. I was there while the A/C couldn't work well, kind of my fault I didn't see it while I was booking, Shanghai is hot in summer. The wifi connection is not always so good, what bugged me most More
LisaKittyCat (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Jul 2014

The AC wasn't working when I stayed and there were no fans available. Very centric and great public transportation access! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 239 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 20%
  • 20th Aug 2014

The online booking failed. The hostel phoned us to say they were full and we had to find alternative accommodation elsewhere. Stressful and disappointing. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 12th Aug 2014

This place pleasantly surprised me. It is basically a boarding house of sorts for mostly Chinese travelers. Its large and busy, but its stays clean and the location is great. They have clean bunks and A/c so it so was fine. More
travelswithluke (USA) (Male) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback