X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2014 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 14th Oct 2014

The place is easy to get to and in quite a central location. The facilities were alright, nothing flash. The internet however was quite poor in terms of speed, not sure if it was because there were too many people using it. It's a bit strange how the bathroom area is quite open and in the More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Oct 2014

Great Location, helpful staff, good atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone staying in Shanghai. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1770 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 21st Oct 2014

Nice hostel a few blocks away from the metro. Definitely more of a hotel feel than a hostel. Staff wasn't the friendliest but overall helpful. Would be a good place to go if you were going with a group. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 20th Oct 2014

The hostel is very clean, staffs r helpful. it is a place for tourists who prefer quiet hostel instead of party place. As there is at least 60% of guests r working in shanghai and choose this place for long stay, and lots of ppl r in business trips...so you will see lots of ppl wear formal More
ywy09164114 (Taiwan) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 255 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 19th Oct 2014

It is not the first hostel i stayed in shanghai, but it is absolutely the best one for me. I did enjoy the time i stayed here. It is a place full of surprise, you will know about it after you go there by yourself. Though it takes a few mins to walk from the closest metro station. I hope More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 17th Oct 2014

Thanks for appetizing food. Love it! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1361 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 19th Oct 2014

The location is awesome, if you want to you can explore all the major sights by foot. The staff is always friendly and helpfull and the interior is really nice. Only at night it can get really noisy from the street, but I guess thats a problem all over Shanghai. If you got your Oropax it More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Oct 2014

I stayed only one night but loved it. The bar on the roof is really nice :) If you arrive at the airport take the metro to get there. It is easy and so much cheaper than taxi (costs 20-30 times more). More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1047 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 19th Oct 2014

Still my hostel of choice while passing through Shanghai. More
Mindbender (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 15th Oct 2014

Good location and clean. Maybe not the friendliest place but still met some people so all good! It has everything you need. More
gem_6469220 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1308 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 15th Oct 2014

extremely good hostel. good food, good service, extremely good location. the rooms and facilities are very good. there is even a drier for the cloths after washing them, i would recomend the hostel to add some more place for hanging cloths after washing because the space available is very More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 3rd Oct 2014

Stayed here for four days and really enjoyed my time. The place is central and has great food. The only downside to this place is that it has no atmosphere...if your looking to meet loads of fun people I'm not sure if this is the place. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1565 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 74%
  • 13th Oct 2014

No wifi in rooms are a bummer. No hot water late at night. More
engeldv2855 (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 11th Oct 2014

I've stayed at Le Tour Traveler's Rest Y.H. several times in the past few years and not much has changed in that time. I love the location and the staff are always friendly and helpful however I felt it was lacking a bit in atmosphere this last time I stayed there - mainly because the More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 256 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 80%
  • 6th Oct 2014

I gave the facilities only poor grade because in our room we didnt have internet. In order to use the wifi we had to go out and sit in the hall. Other than that everything was fine. More
Anonymous (Hungary) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 29th Sep 2014

Nice hostel, super clean, nice staff. We booked a double room and we got an upgrade to the family room, lucky us ;) Room and facilities really clean, it's really close to public transport, and walking distance from the Bund. It's the only hostel with self-washing machine and self-dryer we More
Anonymous (Italy) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1294 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 18th Oct 2014

The staff is speaking English in a good way. They are very interested to Support their guest as much as possible. Their safety tips are very helpful. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 22nd Sep 2014

Spacious rooms, staff were very helpful, excellent location, right next to the metro. Dont waste any money on the dryer though, i had my clothes in there for 4.5 hours and they still came out damp... More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 2543 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 74%
  • 15th Oct 2014

It is still nice place, but 2 years ago it was cheaper, breakfast was included and most of all it was much more clean, now is absolutely not. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 6th Oct 2014

Everyone was really nice. We had a 2 person room and everything was clean and comfortable. It was overall a really great stay but we did not try the cafe they have. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback