X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1906 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 12th Aug 2014

Really enjoyed my stay! I was fortunate to make some great friends while I was here, and its easily done because the Blue Mountain has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Pros: friendly, helpful staff, yummy breakfasts (3 yuan), good lockers, nice communal area, western toilets More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 9th Aug 2014

I loved the atmosphere of the hostel, but there were spiders in the room!!! Yikes!!! More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1688 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 12th Aug 2014

Gret hostel. Stayed in delux double room, very clean More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 8th Aug 2014

We stayed in private room on the first floor at the rear of the building. Nice and quiet. The bar and communal room were good and spacious. It has a nice little outlook over the bamboo and wood decking courtyard, although nothing special. The private room was very cramped, although the More
kallistamist0001266 (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1267 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 57%
  • 26th Jul 2014

After a lengthy check-in process, I was given my room key as standard, and a towel only because I asked for it, by a very unenthusiastic woman. When I arrived in my dorm, I discovered that I should also have been given bed sheets and toilet roll. I was too tired to head back down to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 26th Jul 2014

Everything is average except the location. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1263 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 8th Aug 2014

It's located right next to a subway station so it's convenient, but it's also quite far from anywhere where you actually want to go (you get to change subways twice in order to get to French concession, and once or twice to get to Nanjing Road/Bund). The room was clean and bed quite hard, More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 7th Aug 2014

Hostel is next to the metro. Staff is not really helpful. They do not even show you the room, washing maschine or the common room. Maybe they just dont want or it is because of their average english. However the place is clean enough to sleep and walk around but I hope they will work More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 982 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 10th Aug 2014

The room was really great and large, really clean, with nice design. A bit humid at the 3rd floor maybe due to the laundry Nice staff speaking fluent english ! We enjoyed our stay :-) More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 9th Aug 2014

Had a bad smell in the hallway, but the rooms where nice and clean More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1305 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 4th Aug 2014

Great hostel in great location, with lots of food nearby and two subway lines in walking distance. My dorm room had been renovated recently and was absolutely spotless. Everyone gets a key card. The wifi worked as well as wifi works in China. The breakfast sandwiches were pretty good. More
cornchipmeteor (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 3rd Aug 2014

Construction at Pheonix is done and the place is very clean (no cockroaches). It's located right next to Dashije train station and a 20min walk to the bund ferry entrance (just taxi or mtr it). The street it's on is lively and has great street food. Weekends are a bit loud. Staff speaks More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1511 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 7th Aug 2014

Just stayed for a night and got there pretty late. It was a pain finding the place (you've gotta go down a pretty sketchy alley to find the place). The staff were pretty helpful, though. It looks like it may be a fairly nice place to set up camp if you will be staying in SH for a few More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 4th Aug 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. The rooftop bar/patio is a great place to relax and have a few drinks. Highly recommended if you're going to be in Shanghai. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 236 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 12th Aug 2014

This place pleasantly surprised me. It is basically a boarding house of sorts for mostly Chinese travelers. Its large and busy, but its stays clean and the location is great. They have clean bunks and A/c so it so was fine. More
travelswithluke (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 51%
  • 27th Jul 2014

Staff was extremely unhelpful, even though we checked in at an appropriate time the beds were not ready, bathrooms were disgusting and not clean More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 2472 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 14th Aug 2014

우선 싱글룸 이용했는데 가격대비 방도 깨끗했고 청소상태도 좋았습니다 늦게일어나서 잠깐 나왔다 들어갔지만 방청소도 깨끗이 되있었구요 호스텔 내부에있는 카페겸 레스토랑에서의 식사도 괜찮았습니다 가격은 More
junhbaek8687 (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 12th Aug 2014

the girl work at the bar not so friendly. actually really rude. that disappointed me very much. but the room price is attractive, its good choice for travelers who has tight budget. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1267 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

I was in Shanghai visiting some old friends while I stayed in Mingtown Hiker. The location is good. I was there while the A/C couldn't work well, kind of my fault I didn't see it while I was booking, Shanghai is hot in summer. The wifi connection is not always so good, what bugged me most More
LisaKittyCat (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Jul 2014

Air conditioning was broken during muggy shanghai summer in a room with a window into a hallway and no ventilation. It got ridiculously hot More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback