X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2199 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 25th Feb 2015

I had an awesome time at that hostel. The staff was very helpful and the crowd was amazing. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

We were impressed with this hostel because of it's price in such an awesome location! But we never expected the facilities to be this good. Everything was well maintained, clear renovations have been made to upgrade the bathrooms and bedrooms and very clean We had one More
meboubou (Canada) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1949 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 71%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

Pros: cozy common areas, comfortable beds, great roommates, cute pets, inexpensive meals, separate toilet and shower stalls with locking doors and hooks for clothes, speedy solutions to problems when manager is present. Cons: floors that smell dirty when mopped, doors and windows left More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

The atmosphere in the hostel was great, the common area really allowed people to meet and chat to each other. There was wifi throughout the hostel but unfortunately I couldn't connect to the lobby wifi, for some reason it just wouldn't work for me, the upstairs wifi did though so it didn't More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1484 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 77%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

The location is really close to the center. The sandwhiches on the rooftop bar are the best in town!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 19th Feb 2015

Awesome place to stay. No complaints whatsoever!! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1359 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 1st Mar 2015

Beautiful and quiet place. Helpful and friendly staff. Specially the girls they can speak English very well. No deposit for the lock, the towel and the slippers. And the most is the perfect location. Very convenient and all good. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 26th Feb 2015

Compared to other hostels I've stayed at, it wasn't more or less clean. The staff was helpfull, Wi-Fi slow but good coverage. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1614 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 18th Feb 2015

I was pleased to see that the computer room is open again. I missed that area when it was closed. The hostel is super clean, and the employees are generally friendly. The restaurant on the third floor is really cozy. Most of the food there is reasonably priced as well. I do, however, More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Already had a couple of stays in this hostel (double room & dormitory). Whenever I am in Shanghai, this is my number one choice. Quality service, good price, prime location. Thumps up :-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1170 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 19th Feb 2015

I stayed 3nights in 365inn hostel. The room condition was pretty good and clean. but The air-conditioner didn't work well. so I felt really cold. and there are bad smell in the toilet. and i think the location of hostel was nice and people was kindly. thank u :) More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 16th Feb 2015

I came in really late BC my flight was delayed. There was someone up waiting for me with my room key when I arrived and I paid in the morning. Good service. Clean rooms. Good location. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 505 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 66%
  • 26th Feb 2015

I got a private room, the facilities were adequate but nothing special. Good wifi. Some of the staff spoke good English so checking in and out was simple. When asked if they could book a train on my behalf, they said I should just go to the train station which wasn't that helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 15th Feb 2015

The hostel was so dirty that I left the same day I arrived. Just couldn't stay there. It is simply too big and you don't feel like a valued guest but like a money-cow ready to milk... More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1323 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 91%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Every staff easy going, especially the girl named Zoe and hard-working cleaner. You can take subway just across the street and easily to find the restaurant nearby,nice hostel! More
zkobex (China) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 19th Feb 2015

I appreciated the staff's willingness to help out in every way and allow for a safe and comfy stay! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 290 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Freezing cold. The staff keeps the heater controls down at the front desk and don't want to turn it on. Maids open the windows at any opportunity. Most of the guests at this hostel are entire Chinese families. This includes grandma and grandpa, babies and children, and even a dog. Yes, I More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 8th Feb 2015

I think that this hostel was made to make travelerl happy and satisfy with their meetings. More
Anonymous (Kazakhstan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 2630 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 77%
  • 21st Feb 2015

That was the second time i stayed at this hostel and again i think it was a good choice. Its clean, the atmosphere is quite comfy and homy and the price for a double room is okay. What i disliked is that the food is a bit overpriced and mostly western food, it would be cheaper if you look More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 21st Feb 2015

I think they need to arrange at least 2 staff at the reception, it took around 15 mins to wait for check-in/check-out More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback