X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2233 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 20th Mar 2015

Wow, this hostel really is incredible. Friendly an sociable staff, great atmosphere every night, the whole place is constantly being cleaned, large rooftop area with views of Pudong, large dorms, clean bathrooms. I wanted to stay longer but they were fully booked! More
stuartblackadder150 (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 20th Mar 2015

The location is close to subway station. Staff is nice. However, the shared bathrooms are smelly! More
Anonymous (Vietnam) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1973 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Very friendly staff!!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 17th Mar 2015

We didn't get the rooms we booked - staff was moderate friendly and helpful - I don't know how they got the cleanliness award but our room was so dusty and not very clean - floor and sinks were full with hair. Location was not that great, ca 10mins walking distance to next underground. More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1508 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 19th Mar 2015

This hostel was wonderful and in a great location, very close to peoples square. It was too bad there wasn't more going on in the bar but the staff was very helpful and the rooms were big and clean. I haven't stayed at a better hostel. More
Iwishihadatardis (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 18th Mar 2015

Great location...easy to find...metro nearby and some sightseeing spots on foot available...recommend!!!! More
damacp1378 (Slovenia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1371 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 14th Mar 2015

Love this hostel, I'll be back again. Great staffs, just one of them is too shy to speak... Delicious food and really good coffee. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 12th Mar 2015

Perfect location for a stay in Shanghai- very close to lots of cheap eats, stores and multiple subway lines. The private suite is cozy but very secure. The showers were really warm with great water pressure as well. We were very pleased with the facilities. The staff was very nice and were More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 507 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 66%
  • 26th Feb 2015

I got a private room, the facilities were adequate but nothing special. Good wifi. Some of the staff spoke good English so checking in and out was simple. When asked if they could book a train on my behalf, they said I should just go to the train station which wasn't that helpful. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 15th Feb 2015

The hostel was so dirty that I left the same day I arrived. Just couldn't stay there. It is simply too big and you don't feel like a valued guest but like a money-cow ready to milk... More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1178 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 6th Mar 2015

Excellent location, good price, average staff, bad WiFi signal. The baths and the kitchen were nice, but the bunk room I stayed in was too small for six people and we kept bumping into each other. More
Anonymous (Spain) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 1st Mar 2015

good location,just 2 min. walk from east Nanjing Road metro station.The room is really small,there is a restaurant named 德兴馆,the noodle is supper,don't miss that. More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 294 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Required 200CNY of deposit, though this is not written in Hostelworld.com... Search and ask: the introduction of the hostel is poor. We discovered after 4 days there is a micro-wave in... the bathroom. If you want your room to be cleaned, explicitly say you want the room and the shower More
Rubruck (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Freezing cold. The staff keeps the heater controls down at the front desk and don't want to turn it on. Maids open the windows at any opportunity. Most of the guests at this hostel are entire Chinese families. This includes grandma and grandpa, babies and children, and even a dog. Yes, I More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1620 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 3rd Mar 2015

Very clean, quiet place, with all basic necessities. Wifi in lobby/first floor only. We stayed 2 nights and don't have any complaints! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 18th Feb 2015

I was pleased to see that the computer room is open again. I missed that area when it was closed. The hostel is super clean, and the employees are generally friendly. The restaurant on the third floor is really cozy. Most of the food there is reasonably priced as well. I do, however, More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1329 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Generally, it's a pretty nice place to stay, especially the location, which is only 1 minute's walk from the nearest metro. Also, the staffs were nice and helpful. The only disadvantage is that there's no access to Internet collection in the room (Anyway, you can always collect to wifi in More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 7th Mar 2015

Nice place. Staff very welcoming and very helpful ! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 2641 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 66%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

I only stayed for one night and it was fine. IT'd be great to note that the MRT at the airport stops working at 10:00 pm not 11:00 as I had to take a bus to town and then taxi, despite the information on hostel's website. The staff and facilities at the hostels are ok as is the value for More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 18th Mar 2015

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff is helpful and speaks English well. The 8-bed-dormitory I stayed in was comfy, I liked it there. A little cold in the lobby when I was there (early March) but otherwise a nice place to socialize (bar and pool table!). Free use of the More
Anonymous (American Samoa) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback