X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1908 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Great location and well positioned to walk / take the metro to all the sights and airports. Friendly atmosphere and comfy beds. As a solo female traveler, I never felt unsafe walking around the neigbourhood, even at night. More
SierraNZ (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 12th Aug 2014

Really enjoyed my stay! I was fortunate to make some great friends while I was here, and its easily done because the Blue Mountain has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Pros: friendly, helpful staff, yummy breakfasts (3 yuan), good lockers, nice communal area, western toilets More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1690 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 12th Aug 2014

Gret hostel. Stayed in delux double room, very clean More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 8th Aug 2014

We stayed in private room on the first floor at the rear of the building. Nice and quiet. The bar and communal room were good and spacious. It has a nice little outlook over the bamboo and wood decking courtyard, although nothing special. The private room was very cramped, although the More
kallistamist0001266 (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1271 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Very nice Hostel ! good location, and nice atmosphere. The only complaint that I have is the messiness caused by the folks that I was sharing the room with, but thats not the hostel fault right? Well.. overall it was a pretty good hostel. I recommend it! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 26th Jul 2014

After a lengthy check-in process, I was given my room key as standard, and a towel only because I asked for it, by a very unenthusiastic woman. When I arrived in my dorm, I discovered that I should also have been given bed sheets and toilet roll. I was too tired to head back down to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1264 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 8th Aug 2014

It's located right next to a subway station so it's convenient, but it's also quite far from anywhere where you actually want to go (you get to change subways twice in order to get to French concession, and once or twice to get to Nanjing Road/Bund). The room was clean and bed quite hard, More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 7th Aug 2014

Hostel is next to the metro. Staff is not really helpful. They do not even show you the room, washing maschine or the common room. Maybe they just dont want or it is because of their average english. However the place is clean enough to sleep and walk around but I hope they will work More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1308 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 10th Aug 2014

Excellent location close to two major subway lines and great instructions of how to reach the hostels from both. Rooms were very comfortable with wonderful big beds! Staff were very helpful and spoke good enough English to communicate. The bar upstairs served both breakfast and helped with More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 4th Aug 2014

Great hostel in great location, with lots of food nearby and two subway lines in walking distance. My dorm room had been renovated recently and was absolutely spotless. Everyone gets a key card. The wifi worked as well as wifi works in China. The breakfast sandwiches were pretty good. More
cornchipmeteor (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 986 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 10th Aug 2014

The room was really great and large, really clean, with nice design. A bit humid at the 3rd floor maybe due to the laundry Nice staff speaking fluent english ! We enjoyed our stay :-) More
Anonymous (France) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 9th Aug 2014

Had a bad smell in the hallway, but the rooms where nice and clean More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1511 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 7th Aug 2014

Just stayed for a night and got there pretty late. It was a pain finding the place (you've gotta go down a pretty sketchy alley to find the place). The staff were pretty helpful, though. It looks like it may be a fairly nice place to set up camp if you will be staying in SH for a few More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 4th Aug 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. The rooftop bar/patio is a great place to relax and have a few drinks. Highly recommended if you're going to be in Shanghai. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 236 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 86%
  • 12th Aug 2014

This place pleasantly surprised me. It is basically a boarding house of sorts for mostly Chinese travelers. Its large and busy, but its stays clean and the location is great. They have clean bunks and A/c so it so was fine. More
travelswithluke (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 51%
  • 27th Jul 2014

Staff was extremely unhelpful, even though we checked in at an appropriate time the beds were not ready, bathrooms were disgusting and not clean More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 2481 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Hostel is huge, with a nice cafe/sitting area, I was able to meet great people there. The rooms are less nice, there tends to be a nasty smell in most of the rooms with a noisy aircon. The bathrooms are kept clean. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 14th Aug 2014

우선 싱글룸 이용했는데 가격대비 방도 깨끗했고 청소상태도 좋았습니다 늦게일어나서 잠깐 나왔다 들어갔지만 방청소도 깨끗이 되있었구요 호스텔 내부에있는 카페겸 레스토랑에서의 식사도 괜찮았습니다 가격은 More
junhbaek8687 (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1269 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

I was in Shanghai visiting some old friends while I stayed in Mingtown Hiker. The location is good. I was there while the A/C couldn't work well, kind of my fault I didn't see it while I was booking, Shanghai is hot in summer. The wifi connection is not always so good, what bugged me most More
LisaKittyCat (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Jul 2014

The AC wasn't working when I stayed and there were no fans available. Very centric and great public transportation access! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback