X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2754 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 6th Feb 2016

The hostel has a mix of people - some older, some families, some college age people but also a good amount of English-speaking people. Location is great - close to Nanjing East Road and the Bund and also walking distance to Yu Yuan Gardens, People's Square and, if you like walking like I More
sudoncan (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 5th Feb 2016

Friendly staff and a top location More
Anonymous (Liechtenstein) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1744 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 5th Feb 2016

The staff is amazing and the facilities super ok. Nice rooftop terrace and bar. Had the chance to be there for Chinese New Year and the hotel's owner and staff went beyond amazing to give us an unforgettable night of delicious food, fun games (with presents!) and even karaoke at a More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Nice warm and powerful showers in the dorms, clean everywhere, helpful staff, good wifi, great rooftop terrace where it was easy to meet people. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 393 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 77%
  • 21st Jan 2016

The hostel is located in a very good area and it's quite clean. The staff could have been nicer. Overall I had a good experience there. More
Anonymous (Italy) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 9th Jan 2016

Location is the best, will be returning to this hostel next time. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 2436 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 57%
  • 7th Feb 2016

I would recomend to improve the decoration of the room.It was a bit too simplistic. Additionally, i found it a bit dirty. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

facilities were impeccable . nice design food was not so great. microwaved stuff id say. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1459 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 28th Jan 2016

I needed stopover in shanghai before going back to korea. It was really nice to stay there all staff are so kind and speak english well :) my roomates are chinese and very cool as well. but it was so cold in my room...I woke up 3 times cuz of cold. Exept for cold,everyhing is More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

The staff speaks good english and is very helpful. The hostel is in front of thr metro station and that's perfect to move from one place to another. More
mrfloyd228563 (Argentina) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 586 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 5th Feb 2016

We were a party of 3, stayed in private room. Rooms were clean, comfortable but no windows. Hostel location is central, only 5mins from metro but it's 5mins away from everything else, it's down a quiet alley so no shops or restaurants on the same street. The English level is not that good More
Anonymous (Wales) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 23rd Jan 2016

Clean and comfortable! Bed too small for two Western People! Subway rumbling underneath the Hostel! Privat Room i had had no Windows! There Are other Hostels closer to people's square which are also good and cheaper! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1523 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 7th Feb 2016

Great location, good for price paid and the staff very helpful. Would recommend to stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 31st Jan 2016

Cleaner comes in to clean really early despite if you are still sleeping. Only hot drinking water is provided for free. Staff are minimally helpful. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 498 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

I loved this place! It's amazing! Kind of didn't want to leave in the end... More
Anonymous (Bosnia And Herzegovina) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 25th Jan 2016

Good location, 10 min walk from metro station. Clean but the hot water was not working sometimes we where there.. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1631 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 30th Jan 2016

Great Hostel, clean, and cosy ambiance. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 15th Jan 2016

Good : location / price / room / food Bad : Athmosphere and staff. Not welcoming for an hostel. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1793 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 83%
  • 27th Jan 2016

Compared to other hostels I've visited in other cities in china not the best. Common living room is very nice and cosy, but rooms are very cold and hard. The toilets and bathroom are down the hall and the ventilation is not that great. When I came into shower room I couldn't see anything More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 26%
  • 24th Jan 2016

there is no heat and the facility is essentially outdoors, so it was freezing & the showers had no hot water. I arrived late & hungry so I went upstairs to get some food at the cafe. The man working was watching t.v. on the couch and refused to serve me (even though they were still open More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback