X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2399 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 23rd Jun 2015

Would stay here again. If the restaurant would have a bigger menu everything would be just perfect More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Had a great time here! Excellent location, really close to the bund, nanjing road and the metro station! The staffs here are very friendly and are always willing to help! Especially the guy at the bar (edison I think his name was) and the guy and the girl at the reception. The More
yinglun95 (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2100 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 24th Jun 2015

This was a wonderful stay with excellent staff and friendly guests. There is no elevator here so one of the staff members offered to bring my 50lb luggage up 4 flights of stairs. I presume most guests at the hotel travel much lighter than I. The only negative thing I have to say about this More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

Really enjoyed my stay at Rock & Wood - it has a really nice atmosphere. As it's quite a new hostel, everything feels really fresh & bright. Really like the extra wide dorm beds! The communal areas feel super friendly & pleasant for socialising or recuperating. Helpful staff. The only More
kristeltracey2151 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1459 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 19th Jun 2015

The best thing in this hostel is the location but you need to remember that you are in China so it will be difficult to find anything better paying almost nothing. The atmosphere is not good once there is no place in common where you can meet and talk to people but a bar that is More
fiorenzi (Brazil) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 11th Jun 2015

Both the sheets and my room had the pervasive smell of damp mildew throughout my 3-day stay. The wi-fi wouldn't work in my room either... had to go to the cafe/bar area to use the internet and even then it was unreliable. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1357 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

Really friendly and helpful staff. The girl who's running the bar makes excellent cocktails and really makes an effort in getting people to interact with each other. Great girl! The staff behind the counter is also really friendly and can help you with anything More
annebelledebruijn (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 69%
  • 17th Jun 2015

Just soso More
Quintogosling (China) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1682 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 27th Jun 2015

Le Tour is one of the best hostels I stayed in while living in China. The only issue I had was finding the subway station. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Very good hostel, would recommend. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1590 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 26th Jun 2015

People usually stay at hostels because we travel on budgets. When you have your bar charge 150% increases on their products, you become no better than the 5 star hotels. The prices are silly for a hostel. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 14th Jun 2015

The hostel was very clean and spacious. It was located very near the metro. The room was beautiful-- the only downside was that the entire bathroom (toilet included) had a glass wall facing into the room. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1260 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 74%
  • 20th Jun 2015

This hostel is all about its location - it is just a few steps to Nanjing Road and within walking distance to Shanghai's most famous attractions. I booked a deluxe double room and a regular double room. Both of them were ok for hostel standards, but the smell was unbearable. The room was More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 20th Jun 2015

Overall a great place to stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was good but a bit on the small side, it was difficult for more than one person to move around at once. The hostel was really clean with good facilities. It is close to the metro and there More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 528 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 66%
  • 18th Jun 2015

Our room smelled like a bathroom. And it's not actually located on the People's Square, it takes about 15 minutes to walk there. The staff did their job, but not that friendly. More
Anonymous (Norway) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 10th Jun 2015

I stayed in this hostel before - but I came back and didn't have such a good experience. The location is good, the hostel is nice enough. Someone needs to have a word with the guy at reception about his service sense though. It doesn't cost anything to make a bit of conversation when the More
badpost5114 (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 325 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 80%
  • 13th Jun 2015

One of the cleanest hostels I've been in China, however Wi-Fi has been quite a problem, even on the computers in the common room... Unless you only need to access Chinese sites (I'm not talking about blocked sites, but sites I usually use without VPN and work) More
Anonymous (Romania) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 12th Jun 2015

All great, except very very very slow WiFi. Sometimes it's not working at all More
alexgilev (Russia) (MIXEDGROUP) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 417 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 91%
  • 10th Jun 2015

The private rooms feel like a proper hotel! Staff was truly amazing, they went the extra mile to help us and were really caring. More
Anonymous (France) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 5th Jun 2015

Hostel staff really friendly.and helpfully! Only issue we had was being woke up several times jn the morning by the other residents who live in the dorm. More
robeastham1985 (England) (All Male Group) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback