X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 2448 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 24th Jul 2015

Really really good. Lovely roof terrace, huge lockers with padlock provided by the front desk. Toilets and bathrooms were very clean, and soap provided at the sinks. Beds were big enough for me (I'm 193cm) and comfortable. There were no problems even coming back into the hostel More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 21st Jul 2015

I had a private room so that was nice after sharing a room for two weeks. The room was clean but not great. The staff was amazing, they are the reason I had such a great stay. I went to a friend and they helped me get right into a taxi with the correct address and everything. The Internet More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1369 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 60%
  • 8th Jul 2015

Ok hostel in Shanghai, close to Metro. The room (single) was moldy and damp. The clothes couldn't dry and the sheets felt a little bit wet. The staff were not that helpful and service minded. As all mention before us, the wifi sucked. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 6th Jul 2015

I lived in a private room without a bathroom. The room was clean and well-equipped--a TV, a kettle, cups, and a hair dryer available. There was a very cozy common room with a TV and a pool table there. I didn't like the toilet because there was a terrible smell there during my stay. The More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2145 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 28th Jul 2015

Had a very good time at rock & wood! Staff was nice and friendly. Check in went quick and easy. You have to pay a deposit of 100 ¥ for the key card. Location is fine, near subway which was convenient. Would choose this place again :) More
TravelingSam (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

Very nice hostel, great social bar area. More
Benbarron (Australia) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1482 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 25th Jul 2015

Fantastic location, right by People's Park, but tucked away in a small side street so doesn't feel too crowded. Rooms were basic but clean, although showers aren't brilliant. Atmosphere was quite lacking - there weren't many people in the bar / public areas at breakfast or in the evening More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 25th Jul 2015

리셉션 체크아웃시 직원이 한명이라 붐벼 대기시간이 좀 길었던것과 카드결제만 되는 점이 불편했습니다. (During check out, there was only one staff at the reception so it took awhile for me to check out and also not accepting card was big down fall for More
Anonymous (South Korea) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1704 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 26th Jul 2015

The best youth Hostel we had during our 15 days trip in East China. More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

Staff was very kind and helpful! More
Anonymous (Panama) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1288 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 80%
  • 27th Jul 2015

The hostel itself is really nice. The staff, however is not super friendly. There were some staff members that are cool and try to help, but the majority just get their job done. It can be inconvenient when you need information about the city and cool places to go, because they aren't much More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 26th Jul 2015

Ok place, didn't really spend much time in the limited social space as I was visiting friends. reception staff efficient but not particularly friendly or personable - when leaving the girl did not pause her phone call once! private room nice, good bed and hot shower. Coming in very late More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1615 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 19th Jul 2015

The staff was really helpful and smiley, a rarity in my trips through China. 谢谢你们! More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 18th Jul 2015

Wifi never worked the whole time I was staying there. Beds were a think foam sheet of about 1.5cm depth and very uncomfortable. Because I couldn't get online to book tickets I asked staff to help me with their computer but only offered to help if they charged an extra 10% commission from More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 425 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 14th Jul 2015

It's a wonderful one in Shanghai I guess, It's quite cheap, We have 18 people in total. so it was too many but they helped to arrange for us. thank you so much More
Anonymous (China) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 27th Jun 2015

Just spent two nights at this hostel and really liked it! The location is not super central, but it's a 5 min walk to the subway - line 2, from where you can easily go to most of the main spots in Shanghai. I got a private room and it was nice, it didn't even feel like a hostel. The staff More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 377 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 18th Jul 2015

it's inside a kind of neighborhood and it seems dirty, but when you get inside the hostel its nice, the 3 bed room was a little bit humid. in general a nice place to stay near subway station. More
Anonymous (Mexico) (MIXEDGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 21st Jun 2015

Cheap and cheerful hostel great location in pudong. An old hostel in one of the only older areas in pudong left so probably won't be there for a long time. But a good hostel and at the price you can't go wrong More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 342 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 63%
  • 14th Jul 2015

Awesome location and the staff was very helpful and nice. The hostel is quite clean but the room we got was very stuffy and smelly because of being right next to another building ;-( More
Anonymous (Italy) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 12th Jul 2015

Very central - within 5 minutes walking distance to the bund and central shopping areas and restaurants! Was more like a dorm rooms than a hostel - a lot of chinese students living here and not so many people travelling through, so not a great hostel to meet other people. But very cheap More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback