X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2326 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 71%
  • 19th May 2015

In the dorms it should be forbidden to eat and to stay and talk while other people are sleeping. More common rules in the dorms are necessary. The girls that were sleeping in my room left such a mountain of garbage before leaving and beong noisy like I wasn't there. Solo traveller should More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 19th May 2015

Great hostel, great location, I'd definitely stay here again. The lockers aren't too safe though, so be careful with your valuables. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1427 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 16th May 2015

The Room space is smaller than I thought, but the location is well and reception people are nice. I enjoyed the breakfast very much with friends in hostel. Overall comment is good ! More
Anonymous (Taiwan) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 15th May 2015

Great Hostel right in the city centre of shanghai at peoples square (only 5 minutes walk) from metro station. Very nice housing with a awesome mini garden-terrace inside. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Super friendly staff, great service and good food for low prices. Good More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2050 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 19th May 2015

nice place to stay. half chinese, half foreigners. close by were some small street food places. took us about 15min by subway to downtown. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th May 2015

Awesome Possum More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1558 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 20th May 2015

Overall, excellent hostel. I'll definitely come back next time I'm in Shanghai. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th May 2015

This is the best hostel I stayed in during my three weeks in China. I stayed several nights in different kinds of rooms starting from a fourbed dorm and ending in an eight bed dorm, also staying in the two kinds of single rooms. All were excellent. The staff here are really helpful and More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1342 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 16th May 2015

Great hostel, really friendly with very helpful staff who speak excellent English and go out of their way to help. Would recommend to anyone looking for a hostel in Shanghai. Little but out of the centre but right next to metro and walkable to tianzifang. Cosy bar with pool open until 1. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 7th May 2015

It seemed that the front door was always open even at late night. TYou don't feel secured enough. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 517 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 10th May 2015

Really nice place to stay, big, clean private rooms, great staff and some nice touches like a free beer on arrival. Definitely will stay here again soon. Location ok - but not actually in People's Square! More
badpost5114 (England) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 8th May 2015

This is my third stay at the hostel. Always so clean... People there speak good English, which is not so common in China(which is foreigners told me, I have no language problem at all,) and always do their best to help,its said that beds are hard like rock,but my bed has soft mattress,so More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1659 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 16th May 2015

Quaint, cozy, and comfortable are good descriptors for Le Tour Hostel - Shanghai. We liked our room, enjoyed the terrace bar in the evening and for breakfast the next day and the location was close to the venues we had to visit so we never needed a taxi and could take the nmetro to the More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 14th May 2015

I have been staying at this hostel for over two years and every-time I go there the wifi never works. It rarely works in the rooms if at all, there is always some trouble logging in and at busy times you can not log in at all. For me that is a problem as I need to do business from my More
royhanney1157 (England) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1224 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 17th May 2015

My favorite hostel in Shanghai. Always dependable for meeting good people. More
Mindbender (Canada) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 91%
  • 8th May 2015

Amazing location, highly recommend More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 2693 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 20th May 2015

Very convenient 24-hour check-in/check-out with clean bathrooms and common areas. As other reviewers have mentioned, the wifi is only accessible in the common area. The hostel is close to the subway, grocery store, and mall. Great value for my one night stay. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 14th May 2015

Some staff was not helpful. More
prechath3153 (Thailand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 895 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 54%
  • 15th May 2015

Hostel's location is pretty good. It's very close to the people's square stn. But I was a little bit dissapointed that the vibe isn't social at all. Also public bathroom and shower all smelled bad, so hostel seems to do something for that. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Nice hostel! The girl at the front desk was rude. When I asked her what is the best thing to do in Shanghai she told me That I should look at the map by myself. The place is clean, but the sink on the girls restroom is liking and There is water all over the floor. Good location, easy to More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback