X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2281 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 19th Apr 2015

Blue mountain was perfect , pity about the city Easy to set people as communal facilities are awesome More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 11th Apr 2015

I stayed in a private twin room, shared bathroom; room was pretty small, one bunk bed and shelf, with no outside window, but clean. I was alone and it would've been a squeeze for two people plus luggage. Shared facilities were always clean and didn't really have to wait to use them. There More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2015 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 83%
  • 15th Apr 2015

Very nice place to stay for a couple of days or more. You can have a cheap beer while playing pool for free or enjoy the cute little garden. More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Very good, value for money hostel in the heart of Xining. Near (walking distance) of all the mosques, the park and has great supermarkets and eateries across the road. Staff were very helpful too when you needed anything. Only minor issue was that Wi-Fi was a bit slow and inconsistent at More
brian_o_halloran9913 (Ireland) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1394 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 18th Apr 2015

Stayed here before and would not mind staying here again, Staff really nice specially on my check in day when I arrived at 6 am much earlier than the check in time, she arranged a temporary bed for me to rest till I could get mine. Thanks ! Keep it up ! More
easyrider (India) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Really nice hostel, big open courtyard in the middle, cheap drinks helpful staff, fantastic locations, definitely would recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1532 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 66%
  • 18th Apr 2015

Great location close to a major metro hub, and nice large, eight bed dorms. The staff, however was unfriendly and did not speak English very well. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 12th Apr 2015

One of the worst hostels during my 6-hostel trip. The night staff barely spoke english and were not helpful in dealing with a cab driver, who took me for a bit of a ride and was asking too much money. Would not book a shuttle from the airport for me, forcing me into the 50min taxi cue. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 512 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Great location but off the beaten path, creating a quiet environment to stay at! It was great to see Chinese locals but also foreigners staying, young people, old people, even families! More
marianiech (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Rock hard beds and full of Chinese students More
Anonymous (England) (MALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1640 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 24th Apr 2015

Really enjoyed our stay here. Wished it could have been longer. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 16th Apr 2015

a nice hostel that's not too far from a metro station which is only a few stops from the Bund. More
knott19723993 (England) (MALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1334 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 74%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Last weekend I stayed with two friends of me, for three nights in this hostel. We really did have a great time. The location was really good. Opposite the hostel is a subway station and within 8 minutes walk you are in a buzy street with a lot of smal shops. The room is just okey. It was More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Mar 2015

Generally, it's a pretty nice place to stay, especially the location, which is only 1 minute's walk from the nearest metro. Also, the staffs were nice and helpful. The only disadvantage is that there's no access to Internet collection in the room (Anyway, you can always collect to wifi in More
Anonymous (China) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1204 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 66%
  • 19th Apr 2015

While having an enormous bathroom with separate toilet/shower was nice, I would have rather had a decent sized room. The 3 sets of bunk beds were practically touching each other and there was no room to maneuver around the room. The location was great, very close to the metro and lots of More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 14th Apr 2015

This hostel is really nice, location is amazing, right next to Nanjing Dong Lu, but in the same time not noisy at all. Room was big, with ac, TV. More
Anonymous (Russia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 890 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 69%
  • 14th Apr 2015

Nice hostel! The girl at the front desk was rude. When I asked her what is the best thing to do in Shanghai she told me That I should look at the map by myself. The place is clean, but the sink on the girls restroom is liking and There is water all over the floor. Good location, easy to More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 13th Apr 2015

NIce breakfast!! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 305 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 16th Apr 2015

They didn't sweep in the 5 nights I stayed there but generally great relative to other hostels in China. Two decent PCs to use in the activity room if you need to do some planning. Tons of people to meet and travel with! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 12th Apr 2015

The building is a bit tired, but everyone there was great. The staff bent over backwards to make maps and write things down in Chinese, so i could get around. The rooms were good, not great. I had a single room , and it was just fine. The sweet part of staying here is the location to More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback