X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1954 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 12th Sep 2014

I am a returning costomer and am also recommending this place to all of my friends, it's so central, very friendly and has eveything you need :) More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 9th Sep 2014

It could be more clean. The door lock was inoperable. Free-provided drinking water would also be nice. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1718 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 7th Sep 2014

Had a great stay there, nice Hostel :-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 6th Sep 2014

The hostel does not have an elevator, but everything else was good :) More
Anonymous (Israel) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1335 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 6th Sep 2014

The hostel has due to recent renovations a high standard for China. The location is very close to People's Square, Nanjing Road and the Bund. All of it in walking distance. Within the close neighborhood there are typical Chinese shops and restaurants. The rooftop bar is cozy and offers More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 5th Sep 2014

They didn't reserve the type of room we asked for. When asking for an explanation/discount they said we checked in late. We arrived right when planned to. At 1am after our train got in. For this I blame hostel world for they set your deadline automatically to midnight, which is nonsense. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 1010 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2014

Solo traveller, loved this place, very relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Felt safe and staff were very helpful. Recommend highly. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

Very easy taking subway and seeing shanghai night view. More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1284 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 54%
  • 11th Sep 2014

Hostel has an amazing location but the place was very damp and smelt damp. Bedroom very mouldy. Unfortunately the staff were extremely unfriendly and rude. Didn't want to help with directions or things like how to use the laundry facilities. The bar/communal area was quite nice apart More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 31st Aug 2014

Location and price is perfect, but cleanliness is not much good! As well, stuffs are so so. (Someone is kind, other is so so). More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1530 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 4th Sep 2014

Great hostel, located 10 minutes walk to Jingan Temple on line 2 (which is the line leading to the city centre), staff with great english proficency, very clean facilities. Highly recommended. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 26th Aug 2014

Around of this hostel there are Hotels of three stars with lower prices so why the price? More
Anonymous (Colombia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1277 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 71%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

Good location, nice staff. No wifi in rooms, smoking "room" is exactly the entrance to the hostel so you always have to pass through the cigarette smoke cloud when moving among outside, front desk and the rooms. Actually the cloud even reached inside my room, that's why I rate cleanliness More
zenitse6186 (Czech Republic) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 3rd Sep 2014

We stayed at this hostel for one night on the way to Pudong Int'l Airport. It is conveniently located next to a metro stop. I had to carry our heavy bags up one flight of stairs to the hostel, but once there the whole hostel is on one floor. The staff was nice, the atmosphere was good, and More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 245 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 83%
  • 30th Aug 2014

A nice place to stay and very near to the bund too which was nice. Metro only 10 mins away too. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 29th Aug 2014

While the location is very good and I could stay there for a night, I would not want to stay much longer. Hallways and stairways were smelly. Bedroom was cramped and windowless, although it was air-conditioned and had Internet. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 2510 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 74%
  • 6th Sep 2014

4인실을 썼는데 방이 대개 컸어요 시설도 깔끔하고 무엇보다 좋았던건 조용한 거였습니다. 방음이 잘 되더라구요. 하지만 시내에너 멀어서 관광을 하기연 교통편이상당히 불편하고 푸동 공항까지는 빨리가도 More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 30th Aug 2014

I read many comments about the hard beds. My comment on that: My bed back home(China) is even more hard, so I slept like a baby in the hostel. I quite liked it, even though the accomodation had the usual simple necessities, but most importantly it was clean. The mosquitoes were not really More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 1271 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 94%
  • 29th Jul 2014

I was in Shanghai visiting some old friends while I stayed in Mingtown Hiker. The location is good. I was there while the A/C couldn't work well, kind of my fault I didn't see it while I was booking, Shanghai is hot in summer. The wifi connection is not always so good, what bugged me most More
LisaKittyCat (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Jul 2014

The AC wasn't working when I stayed and there were no fans available. Very centric and great public transportation access! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback