X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Shanghai, China

HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2143 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 26th Jan 2015

It's an alright hostel but it's not great. It's in a fairly good location with access to Nanjing Road, the Bund and a lot of street food. The beds and showers are decent but it's a typical party hostel so it's crowded and noisy. Sleeping wasn't easy as the reception played (rather More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

Hostel has great location, great staff with amazing English and nice hot showers. However the price is quite expensive for the small room size, and the price of drinks etc at the cafe is higher than average for a hostel. The hostel is also fairly noisy at night especially on a weekend as More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1895 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 29th Jan 2015

Sound insulator should be added between rooms, can hear every single word the neighbours are talking abt More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 26th Jan 2015

Perfect at the end of our trip when we needed a little more rest and comfort. The lounge and outdoor area is beautiful! Nice staff More
Anonymous (Canada) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 1450 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 20th Jan 2015

Great location, really nice and tidy room, helpful staff, nice restaurant at the bottom floor and amazingly worm water in the bathroom :) nobody warn me about tea house cheaters and hustlers tho ;] More
Anonymous (Poland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 17th Jan 2015

One of the best hostels I have ever been. The onliest negative aspect is, that there is only one toilet and one shower fo 8 people and there are no public toilets. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 1138 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 16th Jan 2015

I was surprised to have to pay the key deposit, since I'd never needed one before and nothing was mentioned about this on the HW profile nor in the personal e-mail after I paid the deposit. Apart from that, it had everything I needed in a hostel, locker with key, comfy bed & blankets, More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 10th Jan 2015

我住在南京路國際青年旅社。 可是服務員真的不親切。 如果我有時間,一定不住在這裡。 謝謝你。 More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1605 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 29th Jan 2015

LeTour was not only clean and extremely friendly, but also unique with a lot of character like wooden furniture and a rooftop bar. Had a great stay and look forward to staying again soon. More
tkonick7 (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 9th Jan 2015

It was a very clean hostel and had an interesting and cool atmosphere. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 283 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 69%
  • 13th Jan 2015

Location is perfect, the rest is average. More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 9th Jan 2015

The staff was really nice and helpful. the smell on the floor was really akward. the beds were clean, but our private bathroom was dirty and old. there were many backpackers, including loud skype conversation at night on the floor. the location is really nice and central More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 1340 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 8th Jan 2015

Location is premium and they have a nice bar/restaurant in the premises. It maybe lacks a commune room but that's about it. The cats who live in the house are amazing by the way. Extra point for them! More
marcosdemorais5081 (Brazil) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 31st Dec 2014

Very good location and atmosphere inside the hostel. Internet works just fine. I slept in dorm and in private double room, both are amazing considering the price. More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 294 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 49%
  • 27th Jan 2015

We booked a private room and paid extra to have our own space and own bathroom. The shower was disgusting, covered in mold and smelt horrid and we could barely spend any time in it even to use the toilet. The washing machines were terrible. The bed was broken. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Shanghai hidden garden hostel is a great location with a great staff. THe atmosphere was great and the staff was excellent. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming to stay in Shanghai and plan on staying there on my next trip to China! More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 2617 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 19th Jan 2015

The hostel had a very friendly atmosphere. The staff we're extremely helpful and offered a variety of different trips :). However the location was a bit out of town the subway was very close. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 46%
  • 14th Jan 2015

The hot water was inconsistent which was pretty frustrating In the middle of winter. The wifi was abysmal and only worked in the bar or foyer, not in our room which was on the first floor. I felt like their only interest was money which was reflected in their service. Will not return or More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 1316 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 54%
  • 24th Dec 2014

I have stayed at this hostel once before. I chose it again for the convenient location and price. The showers were horrible and the hot water stopped working altogether and the beds we the equivalent of a blanket on cement. I can't recommend this place in the future. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 19th Dec 2014

The staff are very very friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible. The worst thing anout this hostel is that it is very very cold dring the winter. Since the main gate is opened 24 hours , it is always wind getting in the corridor. In addition in the the room where people can get More
Anonymous (Bulgaria) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Shanghai Podcast

Listen to our Shanghai podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Shanghai Videos

Watch our Shanghai video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Shanghai Videos

Please give us your feedback