X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sydney, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 1591 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 80%
  • 19th Dec 2014

Bounce is very conveniently located next to central station which makes it easy to get to and from the airport. The staff were friendly and the other guess were super friendly too. Good size rooms and a great roof terrace where you can bring your own alcohol (a must for any traveller) and More
riawebb7790 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Dec 2014

Please make sure you tell your guests the power outlets are inside the lockers. No one of our room knew that. We were all fighting for the two outlets inside the room. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 934 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 10th Dec 2014

The only hostel I would stay at whilst visiting Sydney...well located, clean and comfortable rooms, however it is the hospitality of the owners Effie & Sasha, that makes this a stand out. Great atmosphere and an easy place to meet fellow travellers. I highly recommend the Blue Parrot More
OzTaylor (Australia) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 10th Dec 2014

Had a lot of fun, met a lot of nice people, location and hostel itself was very nice too, even though it may be a bit pricy, it's totally worth it! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 108 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 28th Oct 2014

Awesome place, very good location to get anywhere via train, bus, or ferry. Great breakfast, very clean facilities. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 637 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 21st Dec 2014

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone traveling in the Sydney area. Not only is it a modern hostel with a wonderful view, it is built on an archaeology dig site of old world Sydney. Nice facilities, great location and quiet. If you are traveling without much luggage, the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Dec 2014

Great hostel for all ages and type of traveller. Great location with amazing views of Sydney Opera House. Really clean, good staff and excellent facilities. Can't believe it for the price in the centre of Sydney. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 2685 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 94%
  • 26th Dec 2014

We booked last minute a std twin private room and found ourselves with a occupied room, due to some system error. The staff moved us to a deluxe twin for 2-3, more spacious and comfortable, being the previous one really small, barely containing the bunk-beds. The hostel is for young ones, More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 17th Dec 2014

Great location with spacious dorms. Helpful staffs. I would definitely suggest to bring your earplugs if you are kind of traveler who can't sleep in noise. The bar plays extremely loud music till 2-3 in the morning for 3 nights I stayed. Wifi is only free for 1 hour on your first day. I More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 748 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 51%
  • 25th Dec 2014

The place was dingy and generally pretty cheap. Good value for money but it's not a place we'd choose to stay at again. More
Anonymous (Colombia) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Dec 2014

Great little hostel to stay in. Staff were friendly and extra accommodating. Not super clean as the building is a bit older but still comfortable to stay in. Highly recommend this. More
glen_adams (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 717 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 11th Dec 2014

Good hostel. Good location. Lights sockets and lockers in dorms. Good size and clean kitchen. Good cinema room. Vending machines More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 8th Dec 2014

Fine, location is good.. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 624 Total Reviews

No.8

  • Big Hostel

  • 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney
  • 97%
  • 17th Nov 2014

Really good hostel, specially if you are looking for a long stay accomodation. The only thing is that the air conditioning was too high in the common area and I caught a cold More
Anonymous (Spain) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 4th Nov 2014

Great location, safe and clean. Easy to walk everywhere and easy to get to from airports/train stations. Felt very comfortable as a solo female traveler. Appreciated having a safe, reasonably priced hostel option that wasn't in the noisy Kings Cross area. Big kitchen & free breakfast a More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 306 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 13th Dec 2014

We love this hostel, stayed for a week and were particularly impressed by the location and the set up of the hostel. We met a great group of people there. We would only suggest that they make more of an effort to get the backpackers together for nights out. And somehow improve the More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 1st Dec 2014

The bathrooms could be cleaned more often in such a big hostel. And Wifi could be for free! The location is perfect for visiting the city and the rooms are ok. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 220 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 63%
  • 27th Nov 2014

No lockers at the hostel and the front doors(both sides of the building) were open all night. The hostel itself is nice but overpriced. The lady that works there (manager I think) was nice enough but never seemed to be at reception. Not far from Newtown. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Thankyou so so much. My partner and I have travelled the world and stayed in many hostels, and we were slightly apprehensive about the standard of Aussie hostels. Well can I just say we had an amazing time and I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone!!!! Thanks to More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Sydney Podcasts

Listen to our Sydney podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Sydney Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Sydney Videos

Watch our Sydney video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Sydney Videos

Hostelworld Sydney Videos

Please give us your feedback