X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sydney, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 1625 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 21st Jan 2015

The rooftop view is amazing! It's a really clean hostel and the staff is friendly. :) had a good time! More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 19th Jan 2015

I was very satisfied with bounce's service. I felt that bounce was exellent after another backpackers. If you plan to stay, do not hasitate! More
Anonymous (South Korea) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 945 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 21st Jan 2015

Great hostel!! V easy to meet people, chilled but always someone going out, very social, v friendly staff and good location, defo recommend!! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 12th Jan 2015

Absolutely amazing. Great atmosphere, clean, good facilities, great location. Real quality backpacker experience. The staff takes it above others though, they are stars, every single one of them. Thanks for the great stay guys. More
Anonymous (Hungary) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 644 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Very close to the Circular Quay (15 min from airport) considerer some stairs in the way if your are traveling no too light. Very clean. Amazing view to the Opera house from the terrace...can't think in a better one. As every HI is full of stupid school kids/old people. but close to very More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Dec 2014

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone traveling in the Sydney area. Not only is it a modern hostel with a wonderful view, it is built on an archaeology dig site of old world Sydney. Nice facilities, great location and quiet. If you are traveling without much luggage, the More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 93 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 26th Dec 2014

One of the best hostels i have ever been to. Great facillities. 10-15 mins walk from burwood train station. Nice place to stay if you are looking for a silent place to stay in sydney. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Great value for your money. The hostel is in very good condition, I enjoyed my stay! More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 2731 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 9th Jan 2015

Really enjoyed my stay at Wake Up! It's close to everything. The guided city tour on Fridays and Wednesday's are highly recommended! But, for the price they should include som kind of breakfast even if it's a really simple one. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 7th Jan 2015

This place was a lot of fun. The cafe and bar downstairs made it easy to meet people. It's downtown and easy to find. And the staff are very eager (perhaps sometimes a little too eager) to organize events. Had to pay for wifi, but the price wasn't too terrible. Complaints: the "security" More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 726 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Very convenient location as super close to metro station with escalators!! Spacious rest area & kitchens. Sth needs to be improved are, water tapsss in shower roomsss are really hard to be turned off, really a waste of water! Please fix it ASAP. More
chelseasea (Hong Kong) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 23rd Dec 2014

Clean rooms with lockers. Liked the movie room, great location. Staff were friendly. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 309 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 17th Jan 2015

I liked that it was close to the coach and train stations. The staff were informative, the lounge area inviting and great coffee at the little cafe. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Great location, clean, friendly staff, good cheap wifi More
suetheronlondon2298 (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 762 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 49%
  • 5th Jan 2015

This is the dirtiest hostel I stayed in: cockroaches in the rooms (my roommate found one in her suitcase), stinky common room with ripped off couches. The worst experience I have had over my month long stay in hostels in Australia. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 69%
  • 2nd Jan 2015

The staff is friendly and the bathrooms are clean generally. There is a large table outside to eat, which is significant. I booked for a 6 bed room but they put me in a 8 bed room (I realized it after my stay). It was a mess in the room, someone left slamming the door several times in the More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 639 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Big Hostel

  • 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney
  • 74%
  • 19th Jan 2015

Unfortunately it seemed like there were quite some groups of friends that were staying longer than what should be accepted. Although this might have only been the case in my dorm, the atmosphere was not great and their intention of making the room into their home did not contribute to More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 9th Jan 2015

A good hostel! Nice kitchen and helpfull! The toilets was not that clean and smelled a bit. But otherwise its a nice hostel with free breakfast! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 222 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 63%
  • 27th Nov 2014

No lockers at the hostel and the front doors(both sides of the building) were open all night. The hostel itself is nice but overpriced. The lady that works there (manager I think) was nice enough but never seemed to be at reception. Not far from Newtown. More
Anonymous (Wales) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 23rd Nov 2014

Thankyou so so much. My partner and I have travelled the world and stayed in many hostels, and we were slightly apprehensive about the standard of Aussie hostels. Well can I just say we had an amazing time and I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone!!!! Thanks to More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Sydney Podcasts

Listen to our Sydney podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Sydney Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Sydney Videos

Watch our Sydney video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Sydney Videos

Hostelworld Sydney Videos

Please give us your feedback