X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sydney, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 1734 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 20th Apr 2015

the internet is for extra charge... that is sad! and also... no wake up call.. but that is alright as i am the last person in the world who doesn't have mobile phone to set up alarm =) More
Anonymous (Ukraine) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Location was awesome and it was very clean. Would stay here again if I'm ever back in Sydney. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 2910 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 22nd Apr 2015

The local library had free internet, you can too. I would rather pay for umbrellas than internet. As you know, travelers depend on internet to get around and make accommodations. Super frustrating to not have free internet. I am sure there are financial reasons, as explained in your More
tylerwool5442 (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Great overall and a really cool place. Only down side was the wifi and internet services were not free. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 971 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Really friendly staff. Social atmosphere and met a lot of nice people More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Atmosphere could be better. There's a group of people who live there and just stick together. Some girls are not even greeting. One just thinks she owns the place because she has been there for so long and just turns lights though others want to read. Nice location though. More
alina_kasulke492 (Germany) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 670 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Great hostel! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 13th Apr 2015

Although Sydney Harbour YHA is pretty expensive for a hostel, I felt it was definitely worth it. First, the rooms have great security (I love lockers inside the rooms). Second, the location is perfect and it is so easy to get to all that Sydney has to offer. In addition, the Big Dig More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 94 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 18th Feb 2015

Good hostel with a very nice rooftop. The staff is awesome too. They should promote more activities for the people staying at the hostel. One guy kept snoring like a pig each night as he was always drunk and had no respect for the other guests. This made my experience really bad at the More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 26th Dec 2014

One of the best hostels i have ever been to. Great facillities. 10-15 mins walk from burwood train station. Nice place to stay if you are looking for a silent place to stay in sydney. More
Anonymous (Israel) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 868 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 74%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Stay was allright. Good atmosphere, nice dorms and roof terrace. Quite expensive, as everything in sydney. Luggage storage with a code that was shared knowledge for all guests. Staffmember that was around when i got in was rude. Also happened to stay in the same dorm as him; i have not More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Had a fab time at this hostel, Liz is awesome, very friendly and knowledable. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again :-) More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 322 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 91%
  • 28th Mar 2015

Somewhat lacking that good time hostel vibe. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 25th Mar 2015

Friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean location. Everything a traveller needs ;-) More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 167 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 94%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Located at the quiet end of Glebe Point Rd, which has everything; chrmists, convenient stores, restaurants, book shops, etc. The hostel is clean and well looked after. Kitchen is organised and has everything. Bus stop is right out the front door, about 15 minutes to city centre by bus. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th Mar 2015

Great location and very helpful staff. Our only issue was that the 'parking' listed as a facility of the hostel on hostelworld.com is in fact just street parking that can be found at multiple hostels around Sydney. This needs to be updated to 'street parking' (or similar) as we assumed it More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 770 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 86%
  • 11th Apr 2015

Ideal for a short stay as close to everything in the CBD and 30 seconds from Central Station so you don't lose any time travelling in and out of the city. Not bad value for Sydney. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 10th Apr 2015

Very clean place to stay in. The rooms, toilets, showers, kitchen and hang out area were spotless. It was also pretty secure with locks for each dorm which required the same key to enter the building when it got late. Staff were nice and facilities were pretty top notch. Only small More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 670 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Big Hostel

  • 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney
  • 77%
  • 20th Apr 2015

Was a nice a hostel, having a bathroom for each 4 bed dorm was great, and the common room and kitchen were spacious and chilled out. There were so many rules everywhere though, and although we understand they might be needed the tone of all these notices was a bit unfriendly. There were a More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 8th Apr 2015

Nice hostel close to Sydney Central Station. Short walk of George and Pitt Street. Nice big clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms. Good free breakfast. Would stay here again. More
olijordan6727 (England) (Male) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Sydney Podcasts

Listen to our Sydney podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Sydney Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Sydney Videos

Watch our Sydney video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Sydney Videos

Hostelworld Sydney Videos

Please give us your feedback