X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Sydney, Australia

HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1462 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 69%
  • 21st Aug 2014

It's a large, modern hostel with nice facilities. However, you get charged for everything: from towels, to wifi, and there's no breakfast. Not to mention, on everything--even your key card--there's an advert for some tax back company. Seems a bit tacky. Also, the location is quite a bit of More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 15th Aug 2014

beds are very comfortable and wide enough to have comfort sleep. kitchen was very useful, i used it every night it has lots of utensils and plates, seasonings. and we cannot access anywhere if we dont have card, and it makes me feel safe but irritated as well when i forgot to bring it. i More
Anonymous (South Korea) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 107 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 5th May 2014

I don't think that the age range in this survey correctly portrays the age range of the guests I saw at this accommodation. I am 67, nowhere near 41. Glenferrie is a treasure. The property is obviously well loved and maintained - comfortable and a pleasure to stay at. Whenever I return to More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 905 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 9th Jul 2014

I spend 12 days at Blue Parot's - I've been to many hostels so far, but none of them made me feel so welcome and at home as this place. Walking distance to the inner Sydney and close to stations to go the all the good stuff a little further away: Bondi, Manly, Blue Mountains etc... 5 More
Anonymous (Denmark) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 21st Jun 2014

The Blue Parrot has very friendly staff, decent and clean facilities, hand towels in bathrooms, decent location on the edge of Kings Cross with two locked entrances, and lockers in rooms (BYO padlock). Cost is higher compared with hostels in the same area and elsewhere in Sydney, and More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 90%
  • 287 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 15th Jun 2014

Great location, great staff, really clean but needs more plugs in the room More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 27th May 2014

Railway Square was a really nice place to stay, really clean and modern! However it could definitely do with more plugs/sockets in the rooms, perhaps one near each bed. The storage lockers were also expensive which was a pity More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 620 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Love the Sydney Harbour YHA. I always stay here when I'm in Sydney, wouldn't consider anywhere else. The location is excellent, there's always something in The Rocks happening and it's close to circular quay to get around. I usually am in town for the theatre at the Opera House so it's More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 11th Aug 2014

There is very little to be said against Sydney YHA and lots for - it would appeal to all ages, families, groups and solos. Easy to feel at home with veryhelpul staff and an ideal location to discover the city More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 79 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 21st Aug 2014

The staffs are helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 30th Jun 2014

I recommend! Clear, good service and facilities. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 2532 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 23rd Aug 2014

This is a party atmosphere hostel. Even though, I still got an amazing nights sleep and I wasn't disturbed. The people staying were great and the staff were exceptionally helpful. It's modern and they have great facilities. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Arrived to sydney late and I all wanted was to sleep, but when I got to the third floor where my room was I heard a pre party was going on with music and drinks and a big group of people, this party was of course in the mixed dorm I had been placed. They had to leave after a few minutes More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 758 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 57%
  • 20th Aug 2014

I was really happy with the first room I was in- a four-bed dorm with a bathroom ensuite. Unfortunately, on the second night I got attacked by some nasty bed bugs. As it turned out, someone had been moved from my room the night before after complaining of bed bugs but they didn't tell any More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 19th Aug 2014

free wifi is the best part of this hostel. Location isn't nice as Kings cross is a nightlife district, there were strangers hanging around which made you feel dangerous. Only few restaurants nearby. I stayed in a 6 female dorm. Toilets are clean, lockers are big. Room is a bit too dark. More
Anonymous (Hong Kong) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 602 Total Reviews

No.9

  • Big Hostel

  • 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney
  • 86%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Really clean and safe hostel with a pretty good location, 5 minutes walk to central and george street is just a stone throw away. Good value for money since the hostel offer FREE wifi and breakfast!!! Thats pretty rare for a hostel in Sydney! Not the best atmosphere tho, kinda hard to More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 17th Aug 2014

Large lockers in rooms which require your own lock. Location is very close to central station, which is a great spot to explore from, and it is on a main road and is therefore relatively safe. However the area overall isn't the safest in sydney. Staff were friendly and helpful. Generally More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 921 Total Reviews

No.10

  • Base Sydney

  • 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney
  • 80%
  • 18th Jul 2014

Clean hostel and great location. A very big hostel which makes it hard to meet people as a single traveller. Booked a 8dorm but got a 4bed dorm instead, not sure why , i do prefer bigger rooms when travellin alone so wasnt so happy about that. No activities goin on at nighttime , just More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 80%
  • 26th Jun 2014

There wasn't anything specifically bad about Base. It was clean and had a good big kitchen with basic supplies; everything worked. I just didn't like that it was such a big hostel because you don't get that kind of a warm atmosphere when it's different people all the time. And also for a More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Sydney Podcasts

Listen to our Sydney podcasts for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Sydney Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Sydney Videos

Watch our Sydney video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Sydney Videos

Hostelworld Sydney Videos

Please give us your feedback