Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
  • 88%
  • 362 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 24th Sep 2015

loved this hostel More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 12th Sep 2015

Such a nice place to stay. Really clean so many facilities to use. Kitchens nice as very communal nice to make friends. Staff were brilliant helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 86%
  • 232 Total Reviews


  • 69%
  • 25th Sep 2015

Fantastic view of lake Taupo from the decking! Nice room and even got upgraded to an ensuite room free of charge which was a nice surprise! More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 19th Sep 2015

Tiki Lodge was generally great - staff really helpful, free breakfast a huge plus, & location is perfect for pretty much everything you need in the town. Free parking also a plus. Lockers are outside the rooms. Only thing that let the place down was the people on a Kiwi Experience staying More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 84%
  • 129 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 20th Sep 2015

I enjoyed my time at this hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful and good atmosphere in the hostel generally with people chatting etc. Nice decent sized kitchen and generally good facilities. Would stay here again for sure. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 16th Sep 2015

awesome place to stay! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 759 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 14th Sep 2015

Sadly only stayed here one night dude to lack of time but by far one of the best hostels I've stayed in New Zealand in the past month. It's only small but location is pretty good as staff are the best, very helpful. Recommend to anyone travelling alone or in groups through taupo. More
lukeeccey (England) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 13th Sep 2015

Awesome place, good music and very friendly and helpful staff! More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 80%
  • 144 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 6th Jun 2015

No forks in the kitchen More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 5th Jun 2015

I came to Taupo with a bus in the middle of the night. To Base I had to go two minutees from where my bus dropped me. And it was easy to check in at that time of the night. The downside is that it's pretty loud in the evening and at night what makes sleeping not an easy task. More
stefaniewalther3947 (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 77%
  • 104 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 11th Jul 2015

New owner, so they are just getting sorted. Welcoming, nice lounge/bar area. Kitchen well equipped. Kitchen/diner area a bit cold but owners are hoping to improve this. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback