X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 123 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 5th Jul 2014

Great hostel, got a very good deal when I booked, staff very friendly and helpful and had a great night in the bar!would definately recommend More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 5th Jul 2014

Base Taupo is in a good location, is very clean and the staff are friendly yet it gets very noisy at night. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 567 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 9th Aug 2014

It was a pretty noisy night when we stayed, probably because a Rugby team was also there so that affect our stay. Everything else was pretty nice! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 8th Aug 2014

Staff were really kind and fun, the atmosphere was really good, everybody was talking and interacting! The room was nice, good size and warm!! My friends and I had a great time! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 205 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 26th Jul 2014

Excellent place to stay. We are a family of 5 and we enjoyed every moment of our stay here. Good location, friendly staff, good atmosphere and the hostel is really pretty. More
Anonymous (Philippines) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th May 2014

Comfortable stay and no fuss. Just what we needed for the night. Thanks More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 96 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 60%
  • 7th Jun 2014

I've stayed in a number of great hostels, including a different one on the North Island that week, and Blackcurrants Backpackers was one of the worst I've stayed at. The bathroom was stinky, simply set up with not enough ventilation--and the room itself was pretty ramshackle. Also, the More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 15th May 2014

Great hostel, each dorm has it's own attached toilet which I thought was great! No bunk beds as well. Staffs were friendly and informative. Wifi and internet was expensive though. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 156 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 27th Jun 2014

Tiki Lodge was a nice if quiet place to stay in Taupo (though considering its winter, was understandable). Great location near the lake and town, though the staff wouldn't let stay in the common room after we checked out, which was annoying as we had a bit of a wait till our bus and it was More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 23rd May 2014

It's homey, large kitchen, and cozy dining room, very near to the lake and city center, large parking space. The most important thing is, this hostel is not too crowded (dunno in summer). Not the best, but at least very decent. More
Speedsliders (Indonesia) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 153 Total Reviews

No.6

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 86%
  • 10th May 2014

Homies need to head to the states to see how to set up a tight YHA hostel yo More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 9th May 2014

- internet is only for those who are a member, which sucks. In almost any other hostel you get free WiFi. Sometimes not much (20 MB), but beter then nothing at all. - location sucks. It is too far away from the city. There are hostels that are closer by. - staff could be beter. The woman More
Anonymous (Belgium) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 51%
  • 101 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 51%
  • 18th Mar 2014

we didn't enjoy at all, we arrived at 11pm kitchen closed noone in the hostel manager get in the room to wake us up More
Anonymous (France) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback