X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 351 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 94%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

Excellent hostel with staff that are very welcoming and resourceful. The atmosphere here was one of the best out of any hostel I've stayed at. The rooms were cozy and the beds were pretty comfortable too. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 20th Jun 2015

Very nice hostel overall. Great kitchen with ample prep-space. The bathrooms were clean and well stocked, and the staff on duty were very friendly and helpful. Our room was fab too. Not bang on the lake front, but hardly a hike away. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 199 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 13th Jun 2015

Really good hostel. Clean, friendly staff, comfortable beds, hot good pressure showers. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 31st May 2015

Hostel is well located, in a few minutes you are at the most important places. Kitchen was clean and more than enough cooking facilities. Beds felt a bit old, I woke up in a hole. Unfortunately you had to pay for the wifi. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, felt really welcome. Thank you More
laurens1508 (Netherlands) (MALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 123 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 14th May 2015

Great place to be, good value for the price, I loved the kitchen and the TV room. The rooms are very nice and clean, no bunk eds which makes the rooms look bigger and more comfortable. No complaints from my point of view! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Nice and clean, great water pressure. Friendly staff More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 735 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 43%
  • 26th Jun 2015

The staff was really rude during my stay and it's not what you expect when you are paying for at least a decent service. The hostel was not clean, beds and showers included. Very disappointed. I will never visit this hostel again More
Anonymous (Mexico) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 25th Jun 2015

Annoying hostel. Sounds strange but the doors are extremely loud. You can't close them quietly. Some of them even not when you open them. Staff was friendly Location was good in Taupo More
GrafvonTausnitz (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Excellent new and modern hostel. Very large fully stocked kitchen. Free coffee and tea. Clean rooms and bathrooms. TV in my 5-bed dorm room. Never had that before. Free backpack storage when I did the Tongoriro Northern Circuit. The only thing lacking a little was the atmosphere. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

This is a very fancy hostel, not really my type at all. Lots of young, loud kids. The staff were not the nicest, they often seemed annoyed. I only stayed for one night so I didn't really get to experience this place, but definitely not my kind of hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 175 Total Reviews

No.6

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 94%
  • 16th May 2015

It was a very pleasant stay, great staff and service> everything was easy!! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Best hostel in NZ so far! Super-friendly staff, great value, cool hangout / bar! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 142 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 66%
  • 6th Jun 2015

No forks in the kitchen More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 5th Jun 2015

I came to Taupo with a bus in the middle of the night. To Base I had to go two minutees from where my bus dropped me. And it was easy to check in at that time of the night. The downside is that it's pretty loud in the evening and at night what makes sleeping not an easy task. More
stefaniewalther3947 (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback