X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 59 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Excellent new and modern hostel. Very large fully stocked kitchen. Free coffee and tea. Clean rooms and bathrooms. TV in my 5-bed dorm room. Never had that before. Free backpack storage when I did the Tongoriro Northern Circuit. The only thing lacking a little was the atmosphere. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

This is a very fancy hostel, not really my type at all. Lots of young, loud kids. The staff were not the nicest, they often seemed annoyed. I only stayed for one night so I didn't really get to experience this place, but definitely not my kind of hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 694 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 20th Mar 2015

The front desk staff were so helpful! They had great suggestions for activities to do, as well as places to eat. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 15th Mar 2015

The 4 beds room is very small with not enough space to store everyone's staff. No curtains on the window and a bit noisy. No WiFi, 3 computers are available at the reception for all the guests. Few showers available whit no instant hot water. The hostel is well located but all the More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Avid Traveller


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 313 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 86%
  • 26th Mar 2015

not anyone's fault in any way, but all I heard was German everywhere. even the germans didn't like that. maybe cool off the marketing in Germany for a while or something. More
bobmeijer (Netherlands) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 24th Mar 2015

Chill atmosphere, very helpful stuff, big kitchen, sauna. More
Anonymous (Estonia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 177 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Excellent location, clean rooms, great breakfast view from the balcony, and one of the best things about this place is the water pressure! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 31%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Checkin staff was dull, the hostel is huge and full of noisy people. No one from staff enforces any kind of order, kitchen is dirty, poorly furnished, WiFi costs 4$/day Beds are uncomfortable. Would never stay there More
Anonymous (Romania) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 117 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 80%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Great hostel with very comfortable beds and great bathrooms. Kitchen a little too small as fridges were over-flowing and one of the two cookers was broken. It was very friendly and easy to meet people. Special thanks to Lily for creating such a fun atmosphere and getting everyone together. More
Anonymous (Northern Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 51%
  • 15th Feb 2015

The kitchen was a complete mess and did not have enough plates/bowls for the amount of people. The walls were paper thin and it was very noisy. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 138 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Found the staff and hostel very modern and attractive. But my stomach churned when i saw the kitchen and although we were there overnight, it was not cleaned from the time we arrived until the time we left. There was no one monitoring the area and it was easy for people to leave their More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Dec 2014

Disappointing to find on arrival both wet tshirt and bikini contests advertised as fun evening activities - not my type of hostel. Limited communal lounge areas. Noisey at night but that's the price you pay for the excellent location. Bunk was incredibly squeaky and wobbly making it More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Best hostel in NZ so far! Super-friendly staff, great value, cool hangout / bar! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 171 Total Reviews

No.8

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay, it was nice to catch up with lots of different people from different cultures More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback