X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 833 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 69%
  • 9th Feb 2016

I stayed for two nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm - it was bearable but I wouldn't recommend it to friends. It was probably a decent hostel once. Unfortunately now it is really run down, too small for the number of guests, and a lot of things are broken/on the verge of breaking. It is in the More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 8th Feb 2016

Staff very helpful and friendly on arrival. The room was really nice and in a quiet, but centre of town location. Check in and out was efficient and I would thoroughly recommend staying there. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 312 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 10th Feb 2016

Great hostel, really happy with my stay here! Amazing balcony to watch the sunset alongside huge lounge and nice sized kitchen area. The beds are comfy and don't squeak (like most metal beds in hostels). Free breakfast was a plus and you don't have to pay to store your bags when you're More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 2nd Feb 2016

Wonderful place to stay on the lake and watch the sunset. Definitely would stay there again. More
egkoehler (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 163 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

Good hostel, nice facilities, wifi is good even though hard to connect to sometimes. Rooms are clean, but the mattresses not really comfy and the beds really squeeze. Convenient location, and very welcoming and helpful staff! More
Anonymous (France) (FEMALE) Globetrotter
  • 94%
  • 1st Feb 2016

Amazing Hostel! More
sabrinabackpack (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 410 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 60%
  • 7th Feb 2016

My booking was cancelled with no reason. More
Anonymous (Indonesia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 25th Jan 2016

Great hostel. Fantastic staff who can sort out tours for you. 10 minutes walk to the lake. Free shuttle to the bus stop if you need it. Wifi was a bit ropey unfortunately. Would stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 126 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 29th Jan 2016

A very friendly place to stay, we would certainly stay there again. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

Kitchen was dirty and so there were flies everywhere. They had an electric fly killer which looked as though it hadn't been emptied for quite a while. It's a shame that people can't clean up after themselves, but the hostel should be more vigilant and penalise the culprits. It would also More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 63 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 11th Jan 2016

We had a Great stay and instead of 2 nights even 3....:-) loved the 5 bed room :D More
Anonymous (Germany) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 14th Nov 2015

Silver Fern is a modern accommodation. Everything is in a state of new, including the cooking utensils (how good is it to use a frying pan that doesn't stick !). Also, every room has a TV (including dorms). Silver Fern Lodge suffer from the vicious circle where it doesn't have good grades More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 156 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 77%
  • 13th Jan 2016

Not a lot of space in rooms, sundeck is nice, kitchen is not the best, staff was great, no atmosphere More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 5th Jan 2016

Room was not clean when we checked in and had marks all over the walls. Kitchen was dirty and poorly equipped. Hostel generally looked like it was overdue for a renovation. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback