Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
  • 88%
  • 383 Total Reviews


  • 74%
  • 18th Nov 2015

The kitchen was very dirty when I used it at 7:30 in the morning. The desk staff were great. The Wi Fi was a negative for me. Thanks for a good night. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 9th Nov 2015

Really enjoyed my stay in Rainbow Lodge! Female dormitory very good, I come back soon ! Just a bad internet connexion (even if we pay), but the rest is very good ! More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 87%
  • 253 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 21st Nov 2015

Really nice, smiley and helpful staff. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 77%
  • 20th Nov 2015

Good location and very modern, clean hostel with good facilities including a hot tub. Good value. Helpful staff. Can book you activities and busses etc. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (MALE) Avid Traveller

Top Rated
  • 86%
  • 143 Total Reviews


  • 97%
  • 23rd Nov 2015

My friend and I just stayed for one night at Finlay Jacks but I wish we stayed longer to enjoy all the facilities - garden, cool TV room, big kitchen with balcony. We had so much space for all our stuff in our 8 bed dormitory, and really enjoyed having a real bathroom - that felt like More
Anonymous (France) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Nov 2015

The guys at the desk were so helpful and great source of information. No bunk beds, nice to sleep in a regular bed. Bed was very comfortable and very warm. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 780 Total Reviews


  • 71%
  • 16th Nov 2015

The hostel is located in a nice place for tourism.Just no free wifi. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 25th Oct 2015

fantastic! More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 83%
  • 145 Total Reviews


  • 66%
  • 6th Jun 2015

No forks in the kitchen More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 5th Jun 2015

I came to Taupo with a bus in the middle of the night. To Base I had to go two minutees from where my bus dropped me. And it was easy to check in at that time of the night. The downside is that it's pretty loud in the evening and at night what makes sleeping not an easy task. More
stefaniewalther3947 (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 79%
  • 108 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 7th Nov 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay...the only problem was it was too short! They have great facilities (including a swimming pool & games room) and a garden area out the back! It's a nice walk down to the waterfront and not that much further into town. Our hosts were very friendly and More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 11th Jul 2015

New owner, so they are just getting sorted. Welcoming, nice lounge/bar area. Kitchen well equipped. Kitchen/diner area a bit cold but owners are hoping to improve this. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 79%
  • 62 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 14th Nov 2015

Silver Fern is a modern accommodation. Everything is in a state of new, including the cooking utensils (how good is it to use a frying pan that doesn't stick !). Also, every room has a TV (including dorms). Silver Fern Lodge suffer from the vicious circle where it doesn't have good grades More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Avid Traveller

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback