X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 221 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 12th Nov 2014

A pleasant stay with friendly staff and guests. The ensuite shower room was very small. Also the way the door to the shower works means the floor gets very wet, so it's hard to keep clothes dry in there. Kitchen could do with new pots and pans. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 86%
  • 3rd Nov 2014

Super cool accomodation, met some great people there, and had a lovely time. The staff were really friendly, and the kitchen/living area was good, easy to start chatting with people. The rooms are really good too, and I love the quilts, they are all hochpoch! More
olympus78667 (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 129 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 27th Sep 2014

Great place to stay at Taupo: friendly staff, good location and a nice athmosphere. No lockers in the dorms though. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Sep 2014

I was upgraded for free on arrival which was a bonus. My double ensuite was spacious and clean. Excellent customer service including booking me onto Barbary cruise that soaked just 10 minutes after I had arrived - a real bonus! Noise from the bar noticeable but bearable. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 592 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 12th Nov 2014

Great place, awesome rooms and the common area is really nice. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The bar is great aswell, Happy Hour results in $4 beers. Bike rental is available for $20 for half a day (4hrs). Would really recommend this place to anyone staying in Taupo. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 11th Nov 2014

Staff was very helpful booking the crossing which is the only reason we went through tongariro. The rooms were nice but ours was right off the climbing wall area and avert thing echoed into the room. The kitchen was nice, but there were some items they didn't have that they should have - More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 99 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 74%
  • 25th Aug 2014

No heating in the room and the heater was unfortunately broken... I took 2 blankets but i was freezing all night. I would go back in summer for sure! Great place overall! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Aug 2014

Really good value for money and super helpful staff. Great view from the kitchen/ balcony for sunset. Could have better heating in the room but the electric blanket made up for that :) More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 157 Total Reviews

No.5

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 57%
  • 1st Nov 2014

Staff were extremely rude and unfriendly. Had I not put a deposit down, I would have walked out after our first conversation with the front desk. It seemed she was in a horrible mood and took it out on us. Not the way you want to be welcomed. Big clean kitchen, coed bathrooms (not as much More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Go and stay there you won't regret Love the dogs there :) More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 158 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 83%
  • 27th Jun 2014

Tiki Lodge was a nice if quiet place to stay in Taupo (though considering its winter, was understandable). Great location near the lake and town, though the staff wouldn't let stay in the common room after we checked out, which was annoying as we had a bit of a wait till our bus and it was More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 89%
  • 23rd May 2014

It's homey, large kitchen, and cozy dining room, very near to the lake and city center, large parking space. The most important thing is, this hostel is not too crowded (dunno in summer). Not the best, but at least very decent. More
Speedsliders (Indonesia) (Mixed Group) Globetrotter



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback