X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 671 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 83%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Always a pleasure to stay at Urban Retreat, just a shame I had to share a rickety bunk with a fidgety sleeper. More
nikkijay89 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 18th Feb 2015

The reception closed earlier than I expected (9pm) I had not checked before arriving and only just got there in time. Our room had no window, but the facilities were clean, drinks at the bar were cheep and the communal area was very pleasant. Would stay here again :) More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Avid Traveller


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Awesome stay, and a big cheer to the friendly staff. If I have to come back to Topau, I will knock that door. Take care guys, and keep going that way! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Overall a clean and comfortable hostel with good bathroom and kitchen facilities away from the busier centre of Taupo. Beds were comfortable. Staff were not the most friendly and not willing to go the extra mile to help out. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 296 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Aftermy second faultless stay I thought I would write my thought. Great facilities, friendly, clean hostel. Large kitchen and many communal areas. Friendly and welcoming staff. Thanks fir a great stay guys. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 25th Feb 2015

I enjoyed my stay here, met some great people! The staff is really friendly and helpful, they even gave me a lift to the bus after I'd checked out! There should be air lockers though, and the baggage storage room is just a unlocked room where people can come and go as they like. Other than More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Found the staff and hostel very modern and attractive. But my stomach churned when i saw the kitchen and although we were there overnight, it was not cleaned from the time we arrived until the time we left. There was no one monitoring the area and it was easy for people to leave their More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Dec 2014

Disappointing to find on arrival both wet tshirt and bikini contests advertised as fun evening activities - not my type of hostel. Limited communal lounge areas. Noisey at night but that's the price you pay for the excellent location. Bunk was incredibly squeaky and wobbly making it More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 114 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 51%
  • 15th Feb 2015

The kitchen was a complete mess and did not have enough plates/bowls for the amount of people. The walls were paper thin and it was very noisy. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th Feb 2015

Super friendly staff, and helpful with all activities bookings. I'll make sure to come back here whenever I am in Taupo. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 169 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 31%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Checkin staff was dull, the hostel is huge and full of noisy people. No one from staff enforces any kind of order, kitchen is dirty, poorly furnished, WiFi costs 4$/day Beds are uncomfortable. Would never stay there More
Anonymous (Romania) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 24th Feb 2015

yeah this place is dope! More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 171 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay, it was nice to catch up with lots of different people from different cultures More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback