X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 188 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 89%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Overall great place to stay. Nice, clean, great location. Kitchen could have spices. That's just being fussy but just to compare to other hostels. The little things make a difference. Nonetheless, i would definately stay there again and would recommend. In my opinion, best hostel to stay More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Beds a bit squeaky, but fine. Would be great if the kitchen had a couple of very basic ingredients, like most others for the same price (salt, pepper, bread for breakfast etc.). I was there in mid-April and the heating hasn't been turned on, it was pretty cold, so hopefully someone has More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Excellent new and modern hostel. Very large fully stocked kitchen. Free coffee and tea. Clean rooms and bathrooms. TV in my 5-bed dorm room. Never had that before. Free backpack storage when I did the Tongoriro Northern Circuit. The only thing lacking a little was the atmosphere. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

This is a very fancy hostel, not really my type at all. Lots of young, loud kids. The staff were not the nicest, they often seemed annoyed. I only stayed for one night so I didn't really get to experience this place, but definitely not my kind of hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 717 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 28th Apr 2015

Fantastic location and tons of great people to hike Tongariro or go to the thermal Springs with! Rooms were fine, bunk beds were a little unsteady, but comfortable. Like other reviews said, blonde hairs everywhere...weird. Bathrooms were fine, not dirty, but also not really clean. Hot More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 25th Apr 2015

When we arrived the poor girl at the front desk was the only member of staff on duty and although she dealt with everyone as fast and efficiently as she could - it was very apparent she was under a lot of pressure! Well done lady you were very helpful! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 338 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 89%
  • 26th Apr 2015

I stayed here for two nights, but if I would have had more time to travel I would've stayed longer. Mostly because of the nice people I met, the friendly staff and the cute dog ;) the atmosphere was really nice as well. Good common areas, nice room (4 person dorm). They even gave me a last More
kedanne7049 (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 25th Apr 2015

The beds were not that comfortable. The flush was going all the time and the aeration was very loud when you switched on the lights. It was good that I could park my car in a seperate area which is closable with a gate with security code. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 122 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 77%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Nice and clean, great water pressure. Friendly staff More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 10th Apr 2015

We paid a really great price for an en-suite room. The room was clean and comfy, and the kitchen facilities were great, I would definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 173 Total Reviews

No.6

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay, it was nice to catch up with lots of different people from different cultures More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 100%
  • 30th Apr 2015

I stayed at Base Taupo for one night at the end of April. The location of the hostel is great, you've got the lake front at one side of the building, a park at another side and then all the center town shops and food places to the other side! It's also only a 2 minute walk from where my More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 4th Apr 2015

I got to the base hostel and they told me there was an error on the booking with hostelworld.com and As this was a long weekend they were fully booked in all the hostels in town. they didn't give me a solution at the hostel and they told me they have contacted hostelworld to let me know More
gusvallejos (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Best hostel in NZ so far! Super-friendly staff, great value, cool hangout / bar! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback