X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 104 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 77%
  • 11th Jul 2015

New owner, so they are just getting sorted. Welcoming, nice lounge/bar area. Kitchen well equipped. Kitchen/diner area a bit cold but owners are hoping to improve this. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Best hostel in NZ so far! Super-friendly staff, great value, cool hangout / bar! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 356 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 22nd Jun 2015

Excellent hostel with staff that are very welcoming and resourceful. The atmosphere here was one of the best out of any hostel I've stayed at. The rooms were cozy and the beds were pretty comfortable too. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 20th Jun 2015

Very nice hostel overall. Great kitchen with ample prep-space. The bathrooms were clean and well stocked, and the staff on duty were very friendly and helpful. Our room was fab too. Not bang on the lake front, but hardly a hike away. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 213 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 60%
  • 21st Jul 2015

The bag storage room is not locked. The TV room is too small and acts as a walkway between bedrooms and kitchen and so people are in/out all the time. Good kitchen + facilities. VERY uncomfortable bed - mattress against the slats!! Poor drainage in the bathrooms leaving a smell. Shower More
Anonymous (Ireland) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Not the best place. Very very weird smell in the whole upper floor? Dorm room heater only worked half the time and lots of stains on the carpet. The eating area was so cold in the morning you could see your breath. Also, the showers had no benches or anything to speak of, so a lot of my More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 748 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 29th Jul 2015

First time ever staying at a backpackers and everything about the hostel was 100% Such a good vibe, lovely people, cleaning was spot on, kitchen facility perfect! Definitely will go back to visit again x More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 11th Jul 2015

One of the best place i have been in NZ,, just excellente,, really nice staff More
Anonymous (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 143 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 66%
  • 6th Jun 2015

No forks in the kitchen More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 5th Jun 2015

I came to Taupo with a bus in the middle of the night. To Base I had to go two minutees from where my bus dropped me. And it was easy to check in at that time of the night. The downside is that it's pretty loud in the evening and at night what makes sleeping not an easy task. More
stefaniewalther3947 (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 124 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 86%
  • 14th May 2015

Great place to be, good value for the price, I loved the kitchen and the TV room. The rooms are very nice and clean, no bunk eds which makes the rooms look bigger and more comfortable. No complaints from my point of view! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Nice and clean, great water pressure. Friendly staff More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 175 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 94%
  • 16th May 2015

It was a very pleasant stay, great staff and service> everything was easy!! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Excellent new and modern hostel. Very large fully stocked kitchen. Free coffee and tea. Clean rooms and bathrooms. TV in my 5-bed dorm room. Never had that before. Free backpack storage when I did the Tongoriro Northern Circuit. The only thing lacking a little was the atmosphere. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

This is a very fancy hostel, not really my type at all. Lots of young, loud kids. The staff were not the nicest, they often seemed annoyed. I only stayed for one night so I didn't really get to experience this place, but definitely not my kind of hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback