X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 667 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 83%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Always a pleasure to stay at Urban Retreat, just a shame I had to share a rickety bunk with a fidgety sleeper. More
nikkijay89 (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 16th Feb 2015

Party hostel. Twin rooms don't have windows to the outside and are super hot and stuffy. More
julianeuhof8873 (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 57 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 97%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Awesome stay, and a big cheer to the friendly staff. If I have to come back to Topau, I will knock that door. Take care guys, and keep going that way! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Overall a clean and comfortable hostel with good bathroom and kitchen facilities away from the busier centre of Taupo. Beds were comfortable. Staff were not the most friendly and not willing to go the extra mile to help out. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 291 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

No free wifi which ideas a bit of a pain. But lovely double room with en-suite and TV, more like a hotel room! Big, well-equipped kitchen and free tea/fresh filter coffee/milk More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 17th Feb 2015

Great hostel with a great atmosphere. Staff are lovely and gave me a lift to the bus. Only bad thing is a lack of free wifi, and the wifi itself is quite slow. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 137 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Found the staff and hostel very modern and attractive. But my stomach churned when i saw the kitchen and although we were there overnight, it was not cleaned from the time we arrived until the time we left. There was no one monitoring the area and it was easy for people to leave their More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Dec 2014

Disappointing to find on arrival both wet tshirt and bikini contests advertised as fun evening activities - not my type of hostel. Limited communal lounge areas. Noisey at night but that's the price you pay for the excellent location. Bunk was incredibly squeaky and wobbly making it More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 114 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 51%
  • 15th Feb 2015

The kitchen was a complete mess and did not have enough plates/bowls for the amount of people. The walls were paper thin and it was very noisy. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 9th Feb 2015

Super friendly staff, and helpful with all activities bookings. I'll make sure to come back here whenever I am in Taupo. More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 169 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 31%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Checkin staff was dull, the hostel is huge and full of noisy people. No one from staff enforces any kind of order, kitchen is dirty, poorly furnished, WiFi costs 4$/day Beds are uncomfortable. Would never stay there More
Anonymous (Romania) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 8th Feb 2015

Very nice hostel. Clean and tidy and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 171 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay, it was nice to catch up with lots of different people from different cultures More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback