X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 715 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 71%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Hostel was leaking from the roof, but the beds were fine and staff was friendly. More
Anonymous (USA) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 9th Apr 2015

Beware this is a nomads hostel and therefore the rooms are rather dirty and smell. This is more due to the clientele attracted by this type of party hostel. I was in the 6 bed mixed ensuite, I don't think it was with the extra money as the bathroom wasn't very nice and was located beside More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Female) Avid Traveller


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 187 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 86%
  • 12th Apr 2015

Beds a bit squeaky, but fine. Would be great if the kitchen had a couple of very basic ingredients, like most others for the same price (salt, pepper, bread for breakfast etc.). I was there in mid-April and the heating hasn't been turned on, it was pretty cold, so hopefully someone has More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 12th Apr 2015

There was no toilet paper on the of the bathrooms for 2 days and there were only 3 woman's toilets for the hostel. You have to pay $4 to use the internet. The staff was really friendly but the beds were just foam and you could feel the wood planks under them and two other girls in my room More
daydreamingthatsme1079 (USA) (Female) Avid Traveller


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Excellent new and modern hostel. Very large fully stocked kitchen. Free coffee and tea. Clean rooms and bathrooms. TV in my 5-bed dorm room. Never had that before. Free backpack storage when I did the Tongoriro Northern Circuit. The only thing lacking a little was the atmosphere. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

This is a very fancy hostel, not really my type at all. Lots of young, loud kids. The staff were not the nicest, they often seemed annoyed. I only stayed for one night so I didn't really get to experience this place, but definitely not my kind of hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 331 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 17th Apr 2015

Very friendly, clean, spacious. Loads of room in the fridge! Staff were great at reorganising our hiking and skydive days. Comfy bed. Would definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 97%
  • 16th Apr 2015

One of the best hostels I've ever been. Super clean and with an eye on detail (they have spices do for cooking and hangers for jackets and towels at the bed) super happy we end up there :) Just a pity don't have free Wi-Fi.... More
Anonymous (Spain) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 120 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 10th Apr 2015

We paid a really great price for an en-suite room. The room was clean and comfy, and the kitchen facilities were great, I would definitely stay here again. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 3rd Apr 2015

Great hostel - very friendly staff, well cleaned! More
Anonymous (Austria) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Best hostel in NZ so far! Super-friendly staff, great value, cool hangout / bar! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 173 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay, it was nice to catch up with lots of different people from different cultures More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 139 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 49%
  • 4th Apr 2015

I got to the base hostel and they told me there was an error on the booking with hostelworld.com and As this was a long weekend they were fully booked in all the hostels in town. they didn't give me a solution at the hostel and they told me they have contacted hostelworld to let me know More
gusvallejos (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Found the staff and hostel very modern and attractive. But my stomach churned when i saw the kitchen and although we were there overnight, it was not cleaned from the time we arrived until the time we left. There was no one monitoring the area and it was easy for people to leave their More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback