X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 611 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 91%
  • 11th Dec 2014

I never experience any problem during my stay at Taupo Retreat Bay. I had my freedom respected which was the most important thing to me. I can book the same value in future if around Taupo. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 9th Dec 2014

This place was by far the best hostel I have stayed at in NZ. Not too big, just the right size. Great atmosphere and people. Highly recommended!! More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 131 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 27th Sep 2014

Great place to stay at Taupo: friendly staff, good location and a nice athmosphere. No lockers in the dorms though. More
Anonymous (Finland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 10th Sep 2014

I was upgraded for free on arrival which was a bonus. My double ensuite was spacious and clean. Excellent customer service including booking me onto Barbary cruise that soaked just 10 minutes after I had arrived - a real bonus! Noise from the bar noticeable but bearable. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 240 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 18th Dec 2014

Lovely staff! Big and full equipped kitchen. Rooms and everything very clean. Great people and near to everywhere :) More
Anonymous (Poland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 12th Dec 2014

Very nice hostel, owned by a friendly couple who does its best to make your stay enjoyable (free tea and coffee, pick-ups to and from bus station, movie nights with free pop-corn...). Everything is very clean (for example the staff cleans the kitchen several times during the evening) and More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 102 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 83%
  • 10th Dec 2014

Good atmosphere, free coffee, nice garden and balcony. After taking a shower the whole bathroom was flooded. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 91%
  • 28th Nov 2014

Very nice and helpful staff. Good location, and nice atmosphere. Great facilities. More
Anonymous (Ecuador) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 160 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 8th Dec 2014

Keys were given but no one really used them - not the fault of staff! Just guests being too lazy to lock the door behind them. Staff were very helpful :) More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 27th Jun 2014

Tiki Lodge was a nice if quiet place to stay in Taupo (though considering its winter, was understandable). Great location near the lake and town, though the staff wouldn't let stay in the common room after we checked out, which was annoying as we had a bit of a wait till our bus and it was More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 160 Total Reviews

No.6

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 57%
  • 1st Nov 2014

Staff were extremely rude and unfriendly. Had I not put a deposit down, I would have walked out after our first conversation with the front desk. It seemed she was in a horrible mood and took it out on us. Not the way you want to be welcomed. Big clean kitchen, coed bathrooms (not as much More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 19th Aug 2014

Go and stay there you won't regret Love the dogs there :) More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback