X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 193 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 100%
  • 16th May 2015

Great hostel, very clean and tidy. Well kept place and provides guests with a lot of space and things to do inside if you fell not on a mood to go outside. More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 6th May 2015

Great stay here. Good value for money. Good hostel More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 722 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 77%
  • 21st May 2015

1 Because they have a licensed bar you can't drink your alcool at the hostel. 2 Internet is not free. 3 washing machine 3$, dryer 2$; you need 2 cycles to get your clothes dry. I think they try to do too much money and your back, which is a shame. More
taillandiervirgil8756 (France) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 57%
  • 20th May 2015

The room smelt, there were hardly any showers and toilets!! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 342 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 15th May 2015

Nice layout. Loved the sauna. Would recommend this hostel. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 8th May 2015

Excellent hostel, amazing staff. You just need to tune the piano and you'll have the perfect hostel!! More
Anonymous (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 60 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 91%
  • 21st Mar 2015

Excellent new and modern hostel. Very large fully stocked kitchen. Free coffee and tea. Clean rooms and bathrooms. TV in my 5-bed dorm room. Never had that before. Free backpack storage when I did the Tongoriro Northern Circuit. The only thing lacking a little was the atmosphere. There More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 80%
  • 14th Mar 2015

This is a very fancy hostel, not really my type at all. Lots of young, loud kids. The staff were not the nicest, they often seemed annoyed. I only stayed for one night so I didn't really get to experience this place, but definitely not my kind of hostel. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 122 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 86%
  • 14th May 2015

Great place to be, good value for the price, I loved the kitchen and the TV room. The rooms are very nice and clean, no bunk eds which makes the rooms look bigger and more comfortable. No complaints from my point of view! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 16th Apr 2015

Nice and clean, great water pressure. Friendly staff More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 174 Total Reviews

No.6

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 94%
  • 16th May 2015

It was a very pleasant stay, great staff and service> everything was easy!! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

A few blocks away from the waterfront, perfect hostel if you want to have a good night sleep to do the tongariro crossing. Kitchen is good, nice staff. And no bunk beds in our room! :) More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 103 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 97%
  • 13th Mar 2015

Best hostel in NZ so far! Super-friendly staff, great value, cool hangout / bar! More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 100%
  • 30th Apr 2015

I stayed at Base Taupo for one night at the end of April. The location of the hostel is great, you've got the lake front at one side of the building, a park at another side and then all the center town shops and food places to the other side! It's also only a 2 minute walk from where my More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 4th Apr 2015

I got to the base hostel and they told me there was an error on the booking with hostelworld.com and As this was a long weekend they were fully booked in all the hostels in town. they didn't give me a solution at the hostel and they told me they have contacted hostelworld to let me know More
gusvallejos (Argentina) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback