X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 88%
  • 56 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 16th Jan 2015

Awesome stay, and a big cheer to the friendly staff. If I have to come back to Topau, I will knock that door. Take care guys, and keep going that way! More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 10th Jan 2015

Overall a clean and comfortable hostel with good bathroom and kitchen facilities away from the busier centre of Taupo. Beds were comfortable. Staff were not the most friendly and not willing to go the extra mile to help out. More
Anonymous (England) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 641 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 66%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

Our greeting from staff..brilliant Room 2..toilet, shower, etc, filthy Extremely hot, no window Air conditioning not working well More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 17th Jan 2015

Big hostel that is close to the water, supermarkets and shops. Small bathroom for a lot of people and it was pretty dirty. Rooms at the back were LOUD as people kept slamming the doors and bottles were being emptied at 630 on Tuesday morning... Maybe try somewhere quieter if you value More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 271 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 89%
  • 28th Jan 2015

Only stayed one night but found staff friendly and helpful large communal area and plenty of space and facilities in the kitchen More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 25th Jan 2015

Private double room was lovely. A bonus with an ensuite and TV. Felt really comfortable. Hostel was always clean and free coffee was pretty darn good! Hotel staff were friendly too. I'd definitely recommend staying here. Only the location could be better. A 10/15 minute walk to the lake More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 84%
  • 136 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 77%
  • 6th Jan 2015

Found the staff and hostel very modern and attractive. But my stomach churned when i saw the kitchen and although we were there overnight, it was not cleaned from the time we arrived until the time we left. There was no one monitoring the area and it was easy for people to leave their More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 30th Dec 2014

Disappointing to find on arrival both wet tshirt and bikini contests advertised as fun evening activities - not my type of hostel. Limited communal lounge areas. Noisey at night but that's the price you pay for the excellent location. Bunk was incredibly squeaky and wobbly making it More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 162 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 89%
  • 8th Dec 2014

Keys were given but no one really used them - not the fault of staff! Just guests being too lazy to lock the door behind them. Staff were very helpful :) More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 110 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 91%
  • 19th Jan 2015

So cool place with top facilities and nice garden. Me and my friend got a four bed dorm all to ourselves! More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 9th Jan 2015

Overall it wasn't a bad stay at the Blackcurrent, there wasn't too much atmosphere owing to the large turnover of people who were staying in Taupo just to do the crossing obv. Not the hostels fault! Security is a bit weird as most people leave the sliding doors to the room open to let a More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 76%
  • 166 Total Reviews

No.7

  • YHA Taupo

  • 56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, Taupo
  • 100%
  • 23rd Jan 2015

I enjoyed my stay, it was nice to catch up with lots of different people from different cultures More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 27th Dec 2014

I can book it again, I had a lovely stay. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback